BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

AC Gonzalez Concrete Construction & Remodeling

Phone: (210) 725-7859 Fax: (210) 923-9400 335 Wainwright St, San Antonio, TX 78211 http://www.acgonzalezcontractors.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AC Gonzalez Concrete Construction & Remodeling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AC Gonzalez Concrete Construction & Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 17, 2010 Business started: 10/08/2002 Business started locally: 10/08/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Amado Gonzalez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Amado Gonzalez, Owner
Business Category

Concrete - Custom Contractors - General Roofing Contractors Contractors - Framing Siding Contractors Basement - Remodeling Windows - Installation & Service Concrete Contractors

Alternate Business Names
A C Gonzalez Concrete Construction
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    335 Wainwright St

    San Antonio, TX 78211 (210) 725-7859

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I hired Mr. ******** to pour a concrete patio and sidewalk at our home. We laid out the design with custom touches, picked a brownish red for the color, discussed the sprinkler system heads that I would have capped and which sprinkler heads Mr. ******** would form around for the patio. Mr. ******** agreed to do everything we discussed. His crew came to form the patio and sidewalk on one day and then came back to pour the concrete the next day. Well....He poured over a sprinkler head that was formed around the day before the pour, his crew knowingly cracked a main sprinkler valve and then poured around it, his crew had honey combs on all exposed surfaces, and Mr. ******** used a different color than my husband and I picked at the time of the estimate. The color is pink. We have a pink patio!! He also placed some bricks on the corners of steps on the patio without discussing this with my husband or myself. Mr. ******** was present on the whole job. As of this day, Mr. ******** patched the honey combs, took out the bricks and patched it (color does not match), and refuses to be responsible for the sprinkler repairs, and he said we picked the color and it will get darker. Its been a year and the color has gotten lighter. It is just a lighter pink. I would not recommend this contractor.

Desired Settlement: Refund us for the charges incurred for the sprinkler system damage and refund us for the color fee since the color was not the color we chose. We are having the patio and sidewalk resurfaced due to it being pink.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear that one of our customers has been dissatisfied with our services. This is the first time in over 15 years we have received a complaint about out workmanship. I clearly remember doing the job mentioned in the complaint and it is the first time ever, in all our conversations, that we hear that she was not content about the color of the patio. She had the opportunity to give us her input and told us she was happy with the job and paid us in September 2012 when the job was done. I cannot do anything now if after over a year she no longer wants the color on her patio. As for the bricks she says we placed without her permission, our company would never buy additional material and do more work for free, unless our customer asks us and becomes part of the work agreement. She did asks us to place those bricks on there and once again was satisfied with the final product before paying. We are sorry about the issues with her sprinkler system and she did call us saying we had poured concrete over one of the sprinkler heads but she was unable to tell us what the cost for repairing that single sprinkler would be. If she would be willing to give us an estimate for the cost of that specific sprinkler head as well as giving us more detail as to where exactly it happened ( the patio or the sidewalk) then we would be open to assisting her in that matter. 

Our company strives to assist our customers with any custom concrete work and apologize to the couple who now feel unhappy. We do not take payments for our labor until the customer agrees with the final product so this complaint, over 15 months later did take us by surprise. We would be more than willing to converse with these customers and discuss the exact cost of repairing this one sprinkler that she states was covered by concrete. Please feel free to send us a picture of the issue as well as an approximate cost to ************************* and we will arrange a time for us to communicate and try to find a reasonable agreement. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The contractor’s response is false.  I did inform Mr. ******** of the color of the
concrete, and he informed me, that it would get darker in time.  It has gotten lighter.  At the time of bidding, my husband and I
asked Mr. ********, if he could place our own bricks on the edge of the steps
in the sidewalk, and he told us yes.  At
the time of the pour, I had noticed the lack of bricks on the steps and brought
it to Mr. ********** attention.  He said,
that he forgot.  He stated, that he could
place bricks on the edge.  I told him not
to place any bricks on the edge, because it would look bad since the pour was
done and the forms were already removed. 
I then went inside my home and when I returned outside, I noticed that
Mr. ******** had a brick place don each corner of the steps.  I told him, that I did not want those there,
because he did not install them the way we had agreed.  He removed the bricks, but the concrete had
dried enough to make the design and repair color not match.  The only fix would have been to remove and
re-pour concrete, and Mr. ******** was not going to do that.  We were forced to live with it.  As far as the sprinkler system, I did inform
Mr. ******** of the broken sprinkler valve, and he refused to pay for
repairs.  It had to be moved because
there was not enough access to get to it. 
At the same time, we set up a time for Mr. ******** to pour matching
colored concrete in the old valve hole. 
He never showed up.  My husband
had to make the repair but was unsuccessful on the color match.   We recently realized that a sprinkler head on
the edge of the patio flowerbed had concrete poured over it.  At the time of bidding, Mr. ******** stated,
that he would frame around two sprinkler heads that were on the edge of the
flowerbed that bumps up against the patio. 
If you look at the patio, it is obvious that the patio was framed
according to these two sprinkler heads. 
However at the time of the pour, one of the heads was poured over.  I called Mr. ******** and informed him of
this issue, and he said to me, that he was not paying for repairs.  He told me all I had to do was dig out from
under the patio, cut the line, and move the head. 

We made payment before we were aware of the sprinkler
problems.  We made payment from the
information that the concrete would get darker. 
We made payment on good faith, that if we had any problems, then Mr.
******** would be responsible.  Mr.
******** did not show good faith after payment. 
If he had agreed to pay for repairs as his response stated, then I would
not have resulted to contacting The Better Business Bureau.  Mr. ******** refuses to be responsible for
the mistakes and that is why I have made the complaint.  My husband and I took a lot from this
contractor and did not want to make a battle about our issues, but the
sprinkler head was the last straw.  It is
important to inform others.


Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response:

Ms. *********, 

 

 

I have included in this first email, the "estimate" for the current sprinkler totaling $160.00, dated 12/5/13, and a current picture of where the sprinkler head is missing in the curved space in the flower bed.

 

I am also emailing a separate email with the "receipt #349130" for the previous sprinkler issue totaling $194.20 on October 6, 2012, that Mr. ******** refused to be financially responsible for.  As I stated in my complaints, there are several issues, that were never resolved along with the current sprinkler issue.  I also included a picture of the previous sprinkler issue with the sprinkler valve in the second email.  The sprinkler company had to move the valve, and we had to fill in the hole with concrete that does not match, because Mr. ******** did not show up for our scheduled appt. to make necessary fixes.  You should be able to see the valve in the flower bed at the top of the picture and the gray colored concrete is where it was at the time, that Mr. ********'s crew busted it.  I also included a picture of the corner bricks that were added after I said not to, and a picture of the color of the pink concrete in the second email as well.  I understand, that the only fix for the bricks is to rip out the concrete and re-pour, but we do not want the crew back of the hassle.  We realize, that we are forced to live with it.  As for the colored concrete, we realize again, that we have to live with the color, but we believe, that we should not have to pay for the coloring since the color did not darken as Mr. ******** stated to me and my neighbor that was present the day of the pour. ***** would not let me send all the pictures together in one email, so this is the reason for two separate emails.  If there is anything more needed, please let me know.  Thank you and have a great weekend!!

 

**** ******

Business Response:

Ms. *********, 



It took us some time to retrieve our archives from 2012 but attached you will find the final receipt signed by the lady who filed a complaint where she: approved of the job done, paid her balance, signed off on it, and additionally said "looks great". If she had been so unsatisfied with our work from get go then she would have not paid the balance, signed the invoice nor written (in her own handwriting) that the job "looks great". 



This is the reason why our company was completely taken by surprise when she filed a complaint over a year later. Her complaint has been unnecessary and false, when we did as she specified in 2012. We tried working with her but it is to no avail.  I hope this helps clear up our company name and the hard work we have done for over a decade now. 



Please let me know if you are able to retrieve attachment. 



Thank you, 



** ********

Consumer Response:

*****

 

I am emailing you in regards to the recent responses, that I received.  I did not get an email informing me that there was a response from the company on 1/21/14, and I just received a notification for yesterdays response.   

I am not accepting, what he turned in.  If he were to read and accept my complaints, then he would understand that the problems that I want fixed or that I have complained about are problems, that could not be seen at the time of job completion or he said would be fixed over time.  It is obvious, that he does not want to pay for the sprinkler damage or concrete color.  

 

Tami  Chaney

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1