Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Custom Concrete Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Custom Concrete Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Custom Concrete Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 20, 2007 Business started: 04/03/2004 in TX Business started locally: 09/01/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Terry Leos, Owner Mr. Tony Leos, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Terry Leos, Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Concrete - Custom Contractors - General Home Improvements Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Concrete Products Floor Materials - Retail Concrete Curing & Treating Materials Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete

Alternate Business Names
CCS - Custom Concrete Solutions Create A Floor Create-A-Floor Creative Concrete Solutions Custom Concrete Solutions
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 17305 Ih 35 N Ste 114

    Schertz, TX 78154 (210) 651-5844 (210) 651-9950

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I and our three young children recently moved to San Antonio as part of a military move. We purchased a foreclosed home with a plan to remodel it with stained concrete floors. We searched for several contractors online and contacted several that we thought had experience and good online reviews. Unfortunately, the only one that was available during the time period we preferred was CCS. The first warning sign with CCS is that **** **** showed up two hours late for our initial estimate. He had promised to be at our house between 8:00 and 8:30. At 8:30 I called his office to find out where he was and he answer the phone. He had completely forgotten about our appointment. He explained that he was “leaving now” but didn’t end up showing up until around 10:30. Meanwhile, me, my wife, and our three kids sat in the house (which did not have running water at the time) and waited. The second warning sign with CCS is their standard contract. CCS requires half of the payment up front and “receipt” of the other half within 3 days of the project’s completion. Their contract goes on to state that they will seek a contractor’s lien on the home if they do not receive the second half of the payment within that 3 days. Clearly, disputes with customer’s over payment is something CCS has thought a lot about and had a lot of experience with. We have since learned that many other contractors don’t require upfront payment because they let their work speak for itself. CCS can’t afford to do that because their work is simply substandard. The first day of the job (Aug 2013), **** showed up about 4 hours late. This was a recurring them every time **** was scheduled to come to our house and do work. He always had some other job he had to “stop by and do one thing really quick.” Really quick always turned into 4 hours. Job scheduling is clearly a problem for **** and *****, who either perpetually underestimate the amount of time it takes to do these jobs or work at a uncommonly deliberate pace. The job was schedule to last for 5 days and it turned into 7. My final big mistake was that I met **** at the job site on the final day and paid **** the second half of the bill without carefully inspecting the job. The floors were wet and **** said we needed to wait at least 12 hours before walking on the floors. Since we only had 3 days before payment needed to be received, I wrote a check based on what I could see from the front door, which was wet and covered in a thick layer of wax. All along **** assured me that the floors were looking great and to call him if we needed anything else. He assured me he always stood by his work and sees all jobs to complete, no matter what. This was simply a lie, as we quickly learned. The next day we came back to the home to start moving in and the floors looked awful. Everything from the uneven overlay to the botched application of the stain to the botched application of the sealer and wax. I can honestly say that of the approximately 1100 square feet of work, there was one patch of 50 square feet or so that looked like a professional job, the rest looked like the stain had been spilled on the floor by accident. There were large black puddles (we chose a medium brown color) right next ghastly white spots. **** had told us that it would take a couple of days for things to “wear in” and while we had our significant doubts, we were trying to give **** the benefit. After a few days we called up **** and ***** and explained that we thought there were major problems with our floor. We sent pictures and **** agreed to come back out and look. Unfortunately, it took him two weeks to come back and take a look. As soon as he did he said, “yep, this is awful, I’ll come back and fix it, I always stand by my jobs and I will not stop until this job is fixed”, or something like that. Unfortunately again, it took another two weeks for **** to come back to fix it, sending us back to a hotel for three days while **** attempted to fix the problem. He made slight improvements in certain places by stripping the wax and seal and attempting to put the sealer back on but as we had suspected, this was a botched job from the beginning and resealing and waxing did not fix the problem. After that attempt to fix it, we decided to get another contractor to take a look at our floors. We wanted another opinion. The contractor agreed to come out, showed up exactly at the time he said he would, and took a look at our floors. Quite frankly, this contractor was horrified. Even the 50 square foot section that we deemed “acceptable” did not meet industry standards according to this contractor. This contractor was not trying to make a sales pitch to us and he advised us to seriously consider going with some other flooring option, like laminate or carpet. If we wanted him to try to fix our floors, he urged us to go look at his showroom first so we would get an idea of what his work quality standard is and what we could expect our floors to look like if we wanted to stick with concrete floors. He also suggested that we attempt to get money back from CCS since CCS had clearly failed to meet even bare minimum industry standards. After meeting with this other contractor, I again contacted **** and ***** (In October 2013) and politely explained that we had another concrete professional take a look at the floors. I tried to be as diplomatic as possible, explaining that I understand sometimes things don’t go as planned and I did not want to get into a dispute with CCS but that we needed to fix our floors. I asked for 50% of our payment to be refunded so we could have our floors fixed. We have not heard from **** or ***** since. I have sent approximately a dozen emails and left about a dozen messages and **** and ***** refuse to engage us in any discussion. They have their money and that’s all they care about. I have even tried calling from unknown phone numbers but they carefully screen all their calls. I suspect they both have a fair amount of experience in avoiding dissatisfied customers. Once we brought in another contractor to inspect ****’s work, they likely realized they couldn’t continue to tell us that they provided a quality product. **** has an enormous ego and views himself as a recognized expert in San Antonio concrete staining and likely didn’t take too kindly to another contractor questioning his work. After about 4 weeks of being ignored by CCS, we finally decided to simply move on. We visited the other contractors showroom and were blown away by the way he was able to overlay and stain concrete. He explained to us that we could expect our floors to look like that if we hired him to fix our floors but that he would have to start over (i.e. grind our floors down, overlay them again, stain, seal, and wax). This contractor quoted us a very good price (I think he cut us a break because he felt badly for how we had been treated by CCS) and we hired him to fix our floors. He showed up on time on day one with a professional crew. They worked tirelessly to get the job done and literally transformed our floors from disaster to spectacular. After they completed the work, I sent **** and ***** one last email to show them the before and after pictures and again asked that they consider refunding half of our payment. This was in late November of 2013 and as you might guess, I’m still waiting for a response. Maybe the most disappointing part of our experience with **** and CCS is that **** was fairly vocal in his religious beliefs. He frequently spoke about how he goes to church and how he would have trouble doing certain jobs (such as evicting people from homes) because of his belief system and how he prides himself in how he treats people. The way **** and ***** have treated us, mainly by ignoring us ever since we requested a partial refund and informed them that we sought a second opinion on our floors, is contrary to any legitimate customer service standard, let alone a model of Christian behavior. Our experiences with these two contractors were as different as day and night. Aside from the stark contrast if work quality, the second contractor did not require any upfront payment. I suspect the second contractor never or rarely has disputes with customers over payment. Even though we had already paid to have our floors done once and paying for them a second time was a huge budget hit, we were happy to pay the second contractor because he and his team did such a great job and treated us with the utmost respect. I cannot say the same for **** and ***** at CCS who took advantage of our trusting nature.

Desired Settlement: CCS charged us $6,493 for work that we had to have completely redone. All along I have only asked for a 50% refund, which I have felt is generous considering the terrible service performed and terrible customer service. A 50% refund comes out to $3246.50. If CCS is unwilling to refund this payment, I sincerely hope the BBB provides appropriate warnings that are reflected in its rating system in order to prevent other consumers from similar experiences. We checked on CCS's BBB rating before we hired them and the A plus rating was one of the reasons we hired them.

Business Response: *** **** ** ****** *** ******* **  *****

 

 

REF:  Case No. *******

 

To Whom It May Concern:  
In reference to the above case number CCS does not feel a response is
warranted for the below reasons:

 

As with all our clients a contract is signed prior to start
of each project (Please see attached contract signed by **** *********).  CCS worked the entire week and weekend to get
this project completed for *** *********.  
 

 

CCS’ scope of work was completed on Monday, August 26,
2013.  **** and His wife ****** *********
approve the floors for completion on
August 26, 2013, customer was completely satisfied and remaining balance was
paid in full by *** *********.

CCS e-mailed **** ********* instructions on how to
maintain his decorative concrete floors.

 

Thursday August 29, 2013 8:04 a.m. **** ********* sends a
message stating how the floors look great, but some areas are dull.   CCS
did address the customers concerns and went above and beyond our scope of work
by stripping and re-sealing the entire house at N/C for materials or labor. 

A text message and voice message was received by ******
********* stating how she loved the floors and thanked us. 

 

Please refer to the attached contract documents page 3:

 

EXHIBIT A,B & C

Exhibit A:

3.  Existing home not prepared for decorative
concrete.  Contractor will try his best
to prep floors but no guarantees on how the stain will react with the concrete
surface.

 

Exhibit C:

2.  Existing home not prepared for decorative
concrete.  Contractor will try his best
to prep floors but no guarantees on how the stain will react with the concrete
surface

3.   Acid
stain floors offer a natural mottled look with no two areas alike in appearance
or color even within a slab.  Wide color
variations, and various depths of color is normal.  No exact preview of the final color(s) can be
totally achieved. Unlike paint, ****** Stone Tone Stain reacts with the minerals present in the
concrete.  Each concrete slab accepts the stain in varying degrees of
intensity.

 

Two Months later *** ********* became very demanding and
threatening with outrageous accusations about our company.   *** ********* has left CCS numerous messages
via phone and e-mail demanding and threatening the company going into detail of
what he is going to do.     These
demands & threats are taken very serious and will not be taken lightly,
proper officials have been informed.

 

 

 

*** ********* did not take the proper steps outlined in
the contract (Please refer to the contract Article Three ARBITRATION) If any differences shall arise
between or among contractor and customer, it would go through Bexar County
courts acting as arbitrator, not the BBB.

 

CCS’ scope of work was completed on Monday August 26, 2013,
**** ********* and His wife ****** approved
the floors for completion on August 26, 2013 customer was completely satisfied
and remaining balance was paid in full by *** *********.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Please a few pictures of the work performed by Custom Concrete Solutions. It was horrific work and **** told us not to worry about the way it looked immediately following his final waxing because it needed to "wear in". Additionally, it was wet and we could not walk through to take a final look at the floor. I paid **** on the spot because I thought he was an honest man. Unfortunately we trusted the wrong people. The attached pictures say it all. We had to pay someone else to completely redo our floors. CCS flat out cheated us and we don't want it to happen to anyone else. 

Regards,

**** *********