Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Artistic Concrete & Masonry

Phone: (830) 755-4295 View Additional Phone Numbers -----, Boerne, TX 78015 http://www.artisticconcreteandmasonry.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers decorative concrete & stone work brick, block, stone, scoring, stamped concrete, overlays, foundations, paves, hardscapes, retaining walls services


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Artistic Concrete & Masonry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Artistic Concrete & Masonry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Artistic Concrete & Masonry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 10, 2008 Business started: 11/01/2006 Business started locally: 11/01/2006 Business incorporated 06/08/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Berdych, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Richard Berdych, General Manager
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Mason Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Patio Builder Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Concrete Products Concrete Reinforcements Fountains - Garden, Display Water Gardens Fountains & Ponds Mason Contractors Equipment & Supplies Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete Contractors - Retaining Wall Outdoor Kitchens Building Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Charge
Alternate Business Names
Texas Artistic Concrete & Masonry LLC
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Artistic Concrete & Masonry has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • -----

    Boerne, TX 78015 (830) 755-4295 (210) 430-1078

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the summer of 2014, we contacted ******* ******* of Artistic Concrete regarding replacing some stones around our swimming pool that had begun flaking quite badly, leaving debris in the pool every time it rained. Mr. ******* came to our home and looked at the problem and assured us that he saw this issue quite often and that he had developed a process to deal with it. He indicated that we should have no further problems with the rock disintegrating if his company addressed the issue. We advised Mr. ******* that we would consider his quote and get back to him. A few days later I contacted Mr. ******* requesting references. He e-mailed me a list of companies and individuals that spoke favorably of his company's work. We scheduled the work on July 24th. Several weeks later Mr. ******* arrived one morning and dropped off a rock mason who was to take care of repairing and replacing the damaged and deteriorating rock, mortar and grout. In a short conversation with the mason, I discovered that he is not an employee of Artistic Concrete, but a sub-contractor. This was a surprise to me since ******* led us to believe that he had full time employees. At any rate the mason did a very poor job in his 2 plus days at our home. He totally trashed our pool and spa twice, causing me to spend 5-6 hours cleaning up the large amount of debris that he allowed to fall into the water. He made absolutely no attempt to keep anything out of the pool. When I called ******* about the matter he said something about putting on his scuba gear to clean the pool and that time I also mentioned that some of the stones that were to be replaced had not even been touched. Mr. *******’s response was that they now didn't need replaced and could be sealed instead. The mason advised us that the next crew would handle the finishing touches. Overall we were very dissatisfied with the mason’s work as several areas that needed repair were untouched and the finishing work on the grout was very poor. For instance, there were tool marks and cuts left in the grout and stone without any attempt to smooth out the grout. The waterfall repair was a complete failure and looked worse than when he started and was still leaking. I contacted Mr. ******* and told him that I thought we were a long way from a finished product. He was very upset, but agreed to send a crew out to address our concerns. A few days later the same guys that I assumed to be Artistic Concrete employees returned and worked several hours to try to salvage the job and clean up the mess. They worked to try and remove the tool and cut marks in the grout and things looked a little better when they were finished, although they again inexplicably left the deteriorating stones, opting to apply large amounts of sealer even after we repeatedly expressed our concerns. At this time we did not realize that the end wall of the pool which was part of the job had not been completed. A couple of days later, I paid ******* the balance due. At that time I requested that a receipt and warranty information be sent to me. After several days, and several e-mails and calls, Mr. ******* e-mailed what could almost pass for a receipt. At my insistence, he included a statement that the problematic stones that his crews had refused to replace would be removed and replaced as originally agreed should they continue to flake into the water. I repeatedly requested information about the warranty on the rest of the job, and Mr. ******* simply ignored me. It seemed to me that once he was paid, he considered the matter closed. Eventually he e-mailed us a vague semi-warranty on the rock repair and sealing. The sealing work done on the stone surrounding our pool began to fail almost immediately, and on October 18, 2015 I contacted Artistic Concrete and asked what could be done. On Oct. 20th, ******* messaged me that someone would be out "after November 1". After no contact for another 5 weeks, I e-mailed ******* on November 30th, reminding him that something needed to be done. I also told him that the situation was getting worse, as the rock that had been sealed, and the sealer product itself was peeling badly. On December 5th I was still asking for some help. Keep in mind that we had paid for the job in full back in September. Around Dec 19th (may not be the exact date) a man I believe to be *******s foreman came to our home along with another Artistic Concrete employee and two rock masons. We all looked over the pool area and everyone agreed that the original work had failed. We settled on a plan to give the area a full power wash to remove all remaining deteriorating rock and whatever sealer was still there, replace some more stones, and apply a different sealer, this time by rolling it on for better coverage as opposed to spraying the product on, which was done the first time. It was explained to me that the sealer used initially was not suited to the type of rock we have. So, it finally looked like something was happening. The Artistic employees left the masons to do the work. The rock masons made some headway, performing the power wash and setting some additional stones. On 12/19 I received a voice mail from the foreman, telling me that the rocks were set and we were "on the schedule for the next week". I took this to mean that the sealer would be applied at that time, and maybe we could wrap things up. I heard nothing until January 30, when I texted the foreman to see if we were still "on the schedule". I got a response of "see you soon". We heard not a word for several more weeks, so on 3/16/2015, I texted *******s foreman again to let him know that since nothing had been done after the masons washed away any residual sealer back in December, more stone was flaking badly into the pool. I got no response so I e-mailed Artistic Concrete with the same info, and got the same results. In my opinion, we have been more than patient with Mr. ******* in trying to resolve this matter and get the product/service we paid for. However we have lost faith that Mr. ******* knows how or has the skills to fix the problem with our pool. After months with no contact whatsoever, we informed Mr. ******* and his foreman on March 29th that we had given up on them entirely and requested that they not return to our property. Keep in mind we were not even sure if they were still in business as they were completing unresponsive to our requests. Miraculously, I got an immediate response from Mr. *******. His explanation seems to be that the weather between October 18th and March 29th "has not been conducive" to complete the repairs. He also reminded me that he has other customers.( Apparently the weather doesn't affect all jobs equally) ******* agreed to honor our request to stay away from our home, and said he would not be liable for paying another contractor to fix the mess he left us with. In closing, after 6 months we are back where we started, only with a much lighter wallet. We are asking for a refund of $1114, which represents 75% of the amount we paid for the pool area work. There was other work performed by Mr. ******* at additional cost which is not a part of this dispute.

Desired Settlement: We are asking for a refund of 75% of the amount paid for the work that was supposed to be done on the pool stone and concrete.

Business Response:

*** – you have made it abundantly clear that you are unhappy with the work performed by our company at your home.  Our original signed contract for the work at your home was completed to your satisfaction and paid in full.  We then were notified by you that there were some areas of concern that we were to come back to work on, since we do guarantee our work.  We also had a verbal agreement with you to return (weather-permitting) to seal your coping, that we did not install.  When we reached out to you to set up an appointment earlier this spring, the weather was still a major factor for making the repairs.  Shortly after that, we received texts and emails forbidding us to return to your home or come to your property.

 

Since we notified you via email that we would honor your request to not return to your home to complete the punch list of items of concern or to seal the coping, we therefore are not held liable for compensating another company you wish to hire or returning monies paid by you to us for the original work.

 

Thank you. 

******* *******

Artistic Concrete & Masonry

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:Of course we are unhappy with the work Artistic Concrete
performed. A large portion of the work failed within a few weeks, some was not
done as agreed and some was never done at all. And yet, Mr. ******* still has
our money. Apparently ******* is sticking to the ridiculous premise that the
weather kept him from working every day between October 18th and the end of
March (162 days). I defy Mr. ******* to prove that his
company shut down during this time period. If he can show that the weather kept
his crew idle that entire time, as he wants us to believe, we will withdraw our
complaint. Since we all know that isn't the case, let's try to stick to the
facts. There is no truth whatsoever that anyone from Artistic Concrete "reached
out to set up an appointment earlier this Spring". We received a three word text
from an Artistic employee on January 30th, and heard nothing
more until we contacted ******* and his foreman around the end of
March to tell them that we had given up on them entirely. In my opinion, telling
******* to stay away from our home was nothing more than a formality, since he
had no intention of fulfilling, his contract that we had paid in full many
months prior. It would have been nice if this project would have been as
important to Mr. ******* as it was to us, and had just been done right the first
time. We paid top dollar for sloppy, unprofessional results that are not even
close to what we were promised. Instead of taking responsibility, owning the
mess he created, and making it right, Mr. ******* tries to shift the blame to
the weather and even to us. If he spent 10% as much time concentrating on
keeping his word as he does making up excuses, we probably wouldn't be where we
are........out a large sum of money with very little to show for it. We are
still asking that Artistic Concrete return 75% of the money paid for the pool
area, approximately $1114. As for giving Artistic a second chance to straighten
up the total failure they abandoned us with, we feel that we already gave Mr.
******* and Company 162 chances.

Regards,

*** *****

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a disagreement about the work that was performed at our home. Repair was to take one week. Repair has gone into 4 weeks and we are not satisfied with the outcome and asked owner to come to our home to discuss the work. The estimates that are trying to bill us for work that was not done and double billing of work from 1st estimate to 2nd estimate. 1st estimate had saw cut control joints as well as second estimate has the same thing on it. Owner did not have 1st estimate in hand when he wrote the second estimate that we did not sign. I came home and put the two together and noticed that there were things that were being double billed on. Also pressure washing was on second estimate and was not performed. Work is not finished and we had to haul away material and mess, as well as they used our deck brush and broke it. The concrete edges were not finished, the tape and concrete was not removed from drain as well as the skimmer lid was only half painted. The colors it turned out was not what we picked. We picked a light brown coping with a grey deck. It is all terra cota brown. VERY BRIGHT We also tape recorded the foreman discussing what we would be doing to the deck. In it you hear me tell him " I told owner I hate this spray deck stuff, I thought you would be staining our deck not painting it." He then went on to say the spray deck if removed would leave scuff marks. That he would spray the deck with stain after painting it a second coat ( never got painted a second coat) broom finish it and them add charcoal for dimension. All they did was paint it once spray it once and put a sealer on. This proves that on the original invoice we were told that the deck would be done. Owner is now claiming that the color was only for the coping. That is not what we were told. I was at work when the owner wrote the second estimate and gave it to my husband who was home sick with the flu and strep throat. Once I got home and looked at both estimates I was like, this guy is trying to rip us off. We waited to say anything until they asked for more money fearing they would not come back. Owner is harassing us by calling my husband and work making excuses instead of coming to our home to discuss this.

Desired Settlement: We have asked for the bill to be fixed as it should to dismiss the pressure washing, the saw cut control joints as well as the deck color. This was what we understood was in the original bid. The only thing that they did in the second bid that we did NOT SIGN was repair a few cracks (trying to charge 1800 for that). We have already given this guy $3450.00. All they did was remove flagstone, put new concrete around pool, added a small new area, painted my deck with paint, sprayed some stuff on it and sealed it. They did repair some small cracks but it is very visible where it was done, edges of deck aren't painted and sides as well. Didn't even do it how we wanted it done or the color we wanted. We were scared to say anything fear they would not show up as they would only show up and work a few hours. Then they also wouldn't show up when they told us they were going to. When we would call them they would not answer or return our calls for days. Myself or my husband was at home throughout the entire process and they never pressure washed our deck. Owner claims they did as well as sawed out control joints from flagstone they removed? Didn't happen. The paint that they claim cost 500 that is added into bill was 175 the workers left the receipt in my yard and they are marking up the paint 286%. We offered to pay 1000 more and call it done but owner refuses and makes excuses about coming to look at the work. We will not pay any more money until he comes over looks at the work and we agree on the final payment.

Business Response: All work performed at the home of ***** & ****** ******* was performed according to the contracts (1 signed and 1 they refused to sign) and at approval
of the home owners.  Claims that pressure washing was not completed are untrue. This is a process that is part of the color and stain work performed at
their home.  Color choice samples were made on-site and were approved by the homeowner prior to application.  We have photos of the before and after of
their new pool deck that they say wasn’t done.
 
We went the extra-mile to please this customer.  Many attempts have been made to make restitution as well as to collect monies owed for the completion of the job. 
 
Balance due for all work completed is $1,850.00.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On 9/5 We called a lady in the office after speaking with *******. We asked for the owner to come out and look at the work. Owner yelled at us and threatened us. Finally after speaking to the office lady it was agreed that we would pay the 1575.00 that we have a receipt for as the final settlement. They asked that in return we let the BBB know it was settled. Complaint has not come back to us until now.

We received a threatening voice mail message from ******* on 9/21 saying we still owe 1850.00. He was acting belligerent calling my family alcoholics, he called the BBB alcoholics and said he was putting a lien on my home and was going to sue us.

Please see the receipt for final payment. Also see the concrete work that was done and has lifted out of the ground and looks terrible.

We have also called ***** today to see why this owner is calling us to make threats.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response:

**** - I spoke with ******* this morning re: the above referenced complaint by the *******s...I am attaching the before and after photos of this job.  At this point, he is standing behind the fact that the *******s owe the remaining payment for the completed job ($1,850.00) and all details written in the response dated 9-21-14 (that the *******'s rejected).

 

I am the only "lady" in the office that the *******'s refer to in their rebuttal.  As a matter of fact, I do not work at the actual office or answer phones....I work from my home for ******* and go to his office one time per week to pick up mail....I did not take any payment over the phone from the *******s nor am I authorized to do so (Square payment of $1,575.00 which they refer to).   I have not spoken with either ***** or ****** ******* at any time, except for September 22, 2014 when I spoke with Mr. *******, as I happened to be at the office when they called.  

 

******* has a customer, who is an attorney, that offered his services to contact the *******s re: this situation.  I am in the process of contacting him, per *******'s direction.

 

I am not sure of the process with the BBB at this point...we obviously do not want a "mark" against us.  I am the conduit to *******, as he is in the field working, most days. The best way to contact me is via email - I monitor daily.  If you need to contact me via telephone, the best days to reach me are Mondays and Thursdays at my  home # ************. 

 

Thank you for your guidance in this situation.

 

***** (office assistant) 

 

for ******* *******

Artistic Concrete & Masonry************  ******** ************  ***** ************  ****** **********************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On 9/3/2014 I sent an email to artistic concrete asking for owner to come to the work site to discuss the billing and work. We were upset with the color and the finish as well as other items listed. Please see attachment. Owner once receiving this email refused to come to our house and started cussing and threatening to kick my husbands butt. My husband was at work and kept hanging up on ******* because he would not listen. Mr. ******* then called the office and explained what was happening and the lady who answered had just received the complaint from the BBB. She apologized and asked what she could do to make it right. We told her to look at the two invoices and that we were being billed for duplicate work as well as we had not signed the second work order. We tried to talk to ******* but he was irrational,  combative and belligerent. He even threatened to come over and bust up the concrete around our pool. Luckily my next door neighbor is a police officer and his wife stays at home so we know she would call the police if she saw anyone trespassing on our property. 

We told office lady her we would pay for the original work and what we owed was the balance of 1575 paid on 09/05/14. She agreed and charged our card. ******* then called my husband the next day and told him I hope you are happy, I don't need anymore of your money and that I have other customers. It was my impression that we were done. Then two weeks later we get a call from ******* (we have it recorded) of him stating crazy things and calling us alcoholics and that he would sue us and put a lien on my house. It was a very disturbing call and upset my entire family. If he tries any further contact with us we will call the police. This is harassment, extortion and slander. 

So once we received the BBB complaint response from ******* we called and spoke with office manager. She had no prior knowledge of speaking to us, we do not know who we spoke with but it was whoever ran our debit card for 1575.00.

In addition we paid for 1450 worth of new concrete to be poured and it has popped out of the ground and is a trip hazard for my kids. We paid 2500 down another 925 and 1575 for a total of 5000.  That is 100 more than the original quote. 






 



Regards,

****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Artistic Concrete & Masonry
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart