This Business is not BBB accredited

A & M Concrete

Phone: (432) 631-8700 Fax: (432) 614-5570 View Additional Phone Numbers 5249 W Witcher St, Odessa, TX 79763


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A & M Concrete include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for A & M Concrete include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & M Concrete
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2012 Business started: 10/25/2004 Business started locally: 10/25/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Arturo Chavez, Owner Mr. Johnny Wilber, Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arturo Chavez, Owner
Business Category

Concrete Contractors Foundation Contractors

Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5249 W Witcher St

    Odessa, TX 79763 (432) 631-8700 (432) 557-1962

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called them out to get a quote for concrete work and ******, their salesman initially showed up and then ****** did shortly after to work up the costs. We agreed to the quote that day of $5800 and on March 17th we made our down payment of $2900. They said it would be a week or two before it would be complete. On March 19th they came to set our forms. Via a text message ****** (salesman) told me they would do the concrete on the 28th. That day came and the work was not done. I called ****** to ask why and he said it was April 28, not March 28. That was never specified in his text. So our yard was left destroyed for 6 weeks and 5 days before the concrete was even poured. We expressed our dissatisfaction with this because of the spikes that could be dangerous to our dogs and small children. We had expressed that we wanted our back walk way to slope down to ground level at the fence opening so it would not have to be cut at a slant because of the slope. When we saw how the forms were set we knew that they didn't understand how we wanted it to be. I would have had to be dug down into the ground to keep the slant from being right a the gates swing way. So I called ****** to let him know it wasn't done correctly. He told me to call ****** ****** (the boss). So I called ****** to let him know and he said they still had work to do and not to worry. The morning of April 28th I called ****** to remind him of the issue in hopes that it would be fixed. He was out of town at a funeral so he texted me and asked that I call ******. I called ****** and it went to his voice mail box and I left a message giving detailed instructions on how we wanted the back walkway to slope down and be level at the fence so it would open. I received another text from ****** stating he just talked to ****** and made clear what needed to be fixed with the back walk way. Once we got home that day immediately I saw that nothing had changed for the back walk way and there was a large slant at the back gate. The issue I was trying to avoid they made no attempt to fix before pouring the concrete. This was problem #1 because our gate can only swing in since we have metal posts on the outside of the gate which doesn't allow us to make the gate swing outward, without having to redo the whole fence. Our second problem was they took it upon themselves to start cutting the bottom of our gate with a hand saw. The bottom was jagged and uneven and they kept cutting more and more so they could open the fence. In cutting it with a hand saw they ended up breaking pieces of the gate off. I was furious and told ****** this is exactly why I contacted him and ****** twice because I didn't want to have to cut my gate at an angle because it would leave a large gap at the bottom. He told me that's the only way they could do it... I knew this was a lie. He said he would go buy a sweep to put on the bottom of the gate to make up for the space that would keep other animals out and keep our dog from getting out. They left with us still unable to lift the gate unless we both lifted up on it. And even then we could only open it so far. ****** said he would come May 1st to fix the issue and remove the dirt they was suppose to be removed around the forms. When we got home the dirt had been removed but we found that the issue with the fence had not been resolved. All they did was put the little sweep inside of our fence and left. At this point they were wanting their final payment for the concrete work. I asked ****** to come and look at what our fence looks like so we can get the issue resolved. He came out and we told him we liked everything except for them not doing the back walkway like we liked and tearing up our fence and not fixing it like they said they would. He looked at it and said he didn't want to have to tear out the concrete but he would write up a contract to have the fence fixed and he would also give us a $200 discount off of our total cost. He looked at what all would have to be fixed on the fence and wrote it up. I wrote a check for the remaining balance due (minus the $200 discount) and he shook our hands and said he was going to get this taken care of and he was also appreciative of us recommending them to our friend, ***** *****, who just put in a contract with them to get work done. I felt that ****** was a man of his word and would make sure that this issue would be resolved quickly. He did tell us that the industrial sweep he was going to order could take a few days to get in but that he would call us when it got in. So I didn't contact ****** back until May 12th, via text, asking if the part had came in to fix the fence. He said he would call ****** to see if they had came in because he knew they had ordered them. He said ****** was going to check when he got back to Odessa. I never heard anything back. May 14th, I asked ****** if he ever heard back from ****** and he said no but he was having a meeting with him that day after lunch and he would ask. I text ****** back later that day and he said since they were a special order they wouldn't be there until Friday (May 16). May 19th I text ****** again telling him we still had not heard from ****** about fixing our fence and we'd like to have it done before we go out of town. Again, ****** tells me ****** was going over there (to Brazos) to check to see if it was in. I asked him if it would be fixed this week and he never responded to my question. At this point I was starting to realize we were getting the run around but I was trying to be patient and understanding. Later that day I text him, again, asking if he had heard back from ******. ****** tells me he is trying to get answers from him and gave me ******'s number. I told him I would rather not have to go back and forth between them them. That I understood if ****** isn't giving him an answer but we are starting to get an uneasy feeling since it is taking so long to get fixed. His only response was "OK". May 20 - I text ****** asking if he had heard from ******. He said that ****** was working a job and we was going by Brazos after 2 to check to see if it was in. I hear nothing back. May 22 - I called ****** that morning to find out what was going on. He says "Oh ****** said yall were just gonna take the money." I said "What money?!? No one has ever said anything to us about money" ****** proceeds to say he doesn't know what is going on and he was going to call ****** and that he'd call me back. Needless to say he never called me back so I text ****** at 3:53PM - "So what is going on? I would hate to think after being strung along for 3 weeks that all of this was just a lie". ****** replied "Nothings a lie - he said he has the ticket were his pay for the sweeps- he is going to check and see if there are in in the morning but as of now they are not in yet". I then asked him why did you say ****** said I was just going to take the money instead? ****** replied "He said that was 1 of ur options." I tell him that I was never told that and that we are trying to be patient and understanding but it's been 3 weeks now and we have no answers and no one seems to be bothered by it but us. Again he said he would call after he went to Brazos in the morning. May 23 @4:25pm I had not yet heard from ****** so I text asking if he had any news. I get no response. May 27 - I'm done dealing with the company so my husband, ******* ********, calls ****** to ask him what the deal is. ****** tells him the sweeps have finally came in and that he would come fix it that day. ****** does not come that day because he said he was too busy that day but he would have it fixed on Wednesday, May 28. May 28 - The fence is not fixed and ******* calls ****** around 4pm to find out why. ****** says the sweeps weren't going to work so he was out buying new materials and a new gate so they could make the gate swing out instead of in. ******* asked him if he was going to fix it that day and ****** said Yes, that he was buying the supplies and gate as they spoke and he would be there shortly. 6pm and ****** hasn't shown up. ******* calls again asking why they weren't there. ****** gives him the excuse that it's been a long day and he had to take someone to the ER... My husband replies that it's been a long day for him too but we are going on 4 weeks now and our fence isn't fixed and you keep saying you are going to fix it. ****** says okay I'm going to come first thing Saturday morning and fix the gate. I already have the new one. ******* asked what time, ****** says 8am. May 30 - That evening ******* calls ****** to verify that he was going to be there the next morning so we can put our dog in the house and unlock the age. He said he would be. May 31 - 8:40am 1 employee shows up in our alley. The gate is never opened or worked on. By 9:15am no one is in the alley or working on the gate. My husband then calls asking why no one was there ****** said the guy was out buying parts for the fence and then proceeded to tell ******* that we owed him $200 and he wasn't fixing the fence until it was payed and hung up on him. ******* tells me to look at the second document ****** wrote up and it lists all the items that were to be purchased with a cost of $200. NEVER during our conversations did ****** ever tell us this would come at an additional cost to us which is exactly why our signature is no where on it. I NEVER would have agreed to pay them to fix something they broke. I called ****** and left a voice mail telling him I don't know what type of scam they are running but I'd be taking action on it. At this point we were done talking to him. ****** called and left a voicemail saying he was coaching his sons games and would get back with me. I never heard back from him. June 2 - I texted ****** asking why ****** told my husband we still owed $200 and he wasn't going to fix it until it's paid. ****** replied: "I've only heard one side of the story but he told me that he asked your husband to pay him when the job is finished and your husband told him that he is not obligated to pay him anything because his signature was not on the contract. So therefore he was not going to work for free". I replied "So you are telling me when you were talking to us about fixing our fence- that yall messed up- that you were intending for us to pay for it too?? The only reason we paid the remaining balance was because you gave the discount and yall putting it in writing that you'd fix it ...that wasn't suppose to be at our expense. I thought you were being genuine in resolving this issue. We never signed anything agreeing to pay for the fixing of what yall broke." ****** replied: "It was $200 that was still owed on the original contract, nothing extra". I responded "You discounted that for us without us even asking for one! I just wanted my fence fixed! If the job would have been done the way we asked in the first place we wouldn't be having this conversation. It's bad business to discount something for your companies wrong doing and then charge it back for labor costs to fix something yall broke!" ****** replies: "Sorry for the misunderstanding - I thought yall understood when I wrote up the new contract." I replied: "That is a bunch of bull! Don't take me for a fool - that's why you didn't have us sign the second contract because I never would have paid for it" ****** replied: "What??!!" Again i replied to clarify my statement: "The second contract for fixing the fence... we never signed it. You knew I wouldn't have signed it if I would have saw you were trying to charge us back what you just discounted. That was very sly and backhanded of you. Bad Business." ****** replied: "No your wrong! I've been trying to help resolve this in a professional manner - I do not appreciate your accusations - please refrain from testing or calling me anymore" I replied: "Well a man of his word would have fixed it even at his own cost - I'll make sure people know your smile and handshake mean nothing. Don't worry you won't be hearing from me anymore". That was the last I heard from them and intend for it to stay that way. We have been nothing but patient and understanding but after continually receiving the run around there comes a time when you stop being nice. We paid a lot of money to have this concrete poured and the only issue we have is not doing the back walkway as requested and breaking our back gate. This issue could have been resolved easily but they decided to not resolve it at all.

Desired Settlement: At this point we no longer want the company coming on our property or contacting us. We want to be able to open our fence without having to lift it up so it doesn't drag on the concrete or leave a large gap at the bottom of our gate. We want to be refunded for the amount of the back walkway so we can have it removed to have it fixed as we originally requested and the fixing of our fence.