Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides computer laptop parts and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Parts-People.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Parts-People.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Parts-People.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2004 Business started: 05/01/2002 Business started locally: 05/01/2002 Business incorporated 09/14/2004 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nathan C. Morgan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nathan C. Morgan, President
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair Computers - Dealers Computers - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
Parts-People.com Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Parts-People.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2929 Longhorn Blvd Ste 101

    Austin, TX 78758 (866) 816-5254 (512) 339-1990

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary: Paid for a "complete" repair service but did not receive it and company unwilling to correct problem unless I paid them twice (the amount) Details: On 5/19/16 I hired the company to do a "complete" laptop repair. This included box, shipping, diagnosis and repair. The repair was to take 5 days. I contacted them via e-message 4 days after they received it (on 5/27) because I had not heard from them, and the repair was to take 5 days. Instead of communicating back the same way, they called. I asked them to email. I had to ask 3 times (that time to be emailed) before they finally did. That was day 5. They stated my laptop need a new motherboard and sent me an invoice. I happened to notice they were going to change the configuration of my laptop without my knowledge or permission. You see they did not notify me that they did not have the needed part, but they had a lesser part they wanted to sell. I felt this was very dishonest not to tell a customer. We (customers) pay a premium to have fast, more powerful computers. Why would I want to put a lesser part (causing a slower performance) in it just because they wanted to make a sale? NOT! And they did not even tell me. When I questioned the company, they said it would take some time to find the correct part. So I got the correct part and had it sent directly to them (with their permission). I told them the part # to expect to receive, the tracking number, and I let them know when they received it and by whom. When the company got the part on 6/16 (it took two tries to get the needed part), it took 3 more days till they shipped it back. That's a total of 8 days to repair vs. the 5 I paid for. And in case this come up from the company, part of the additional delay was lack of communication on their end. They reached out to me to call them versus email yet again for something they already had from me a week or two prior (payment info). I received the laptop back on 6/23. In communicating with them further, I found out by accident they installed a part they had no idea was correct or incorrect. Their words were we did not verify (the part) just installed it. I was in utter disbelief. Incompetence and negligence I thought. I'm glad it wasn't a blood transfusion that could kill if wrong. I asked for a prepaid return shipping label so they could "complete" the job. So far I have not received it. I have been told I will need to pay a second time. I told them of course I was unwilling to do that. By the way, the word complete comes from their website. It states they provide a complete repair.

Desired Settlement: Do a "complete" job as I paid for (clear, zoomable snaps please of motherboard so I know) or a full refund ($145)

Business Response:

* *****,

 

Hi, this is ****, VP of Parts-People.com. Sorry to hear about the issue. We want to make sure you're happy with our service so I want to give you the following information first. From my research, the only 2 boards that Dell made that had the higher CPU speed(or same as your original speed of 2.3ghz) where the Dell p/n's *****  and *****. These 2 p/n's have exactly the same specifications(Intel i7-4712HQ 2.3Ghz 2GB NVIDIA GT 750M) so if you can look into your system properties of your laptop(right click on my computer, then go to properties) and see that the system processor is a "Intel i7-4712HQ 2.3Ghz", then you can be assured that the part number installed into your laptop was the same specs as what you ordered and is either a ***** or a ***** p/n motherboard.

Please let me know if this info helps. We're willing to refund the $100 of labor ($45 was for shipping and that has already been paid to *****) So let me know if that also helps.

 

I'm sorry if **** didn't take a picture of the part number for you but maybe he was confused based on this email message from you:

 

"On Thu, Jun 16, 2016 at 2:36 PM, ********************* <*********************> wrote:

    Just so you know. You received the part at 1.30p your time this morning (*** @ ****).

    I have the pre-paid return shipping label for the bad replacement motherboard. I'd want to take a snap of both sides of the motherboard before it ships back to the seller. I'm guessing you would rather not be involved with this, so the bad part should just come back to me with the system. Let me know if you feel otherwise please.

    I also still do not know if I am moving this weekend. I expect to know by tonight. If it is ready to ship today, I can use my work address. Just let me know please.

    Thank you."

Please let me know if you would be okay with the $100. refund and if we can help you further via email or by phone. The board we installed is exactly what you ordered and like I said, if it's a 2.3ghz, then it is the exact specs as your original. Let me know if it should have been something else from your understanding.

 

Thanks,

**** ******

********** ex ***

 


8/16/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 28, 2016, I emailed parts-people.com because the i7 processor I purchased on 2/17/16 stopped working on 7/27/16. My dad has built/repaired pc's then laptops and then cells phones as his sole profession since 1996. I explained to them how we tried booting from a cd and then tested the memory and hard drive, and that the laptop only came back after we put the old i3 processor back in. To be sure, we put the i7 back in and the laptop couldn't get past startup, like it was doing before we put the i3 in. I asked to have a replacement sent to me since the i7 processor is still under warranty. Their response was to accuse me of an incompetent installation of the i7 by questioning whether we used thermal past. Then their email stated that I would have to mail them the i7 processor, and only when the i7 passed their testing equipment would they honor their warranty. No where on their website or through any previous emails is it stated that the warranty is honored if and only if the part passes their exclusive testing equipment. Their email response also did NOT contain any information or procedures for sending the i7 back to them. I emailed them back stating that we used Arctic Silver 5 (the best thermal past on the market) with each and every change out. I also questioned how was I to know that they were telling the truth since I cannot be there to see the read out on their machine. I also stated that the person working on my laptop has done this work professionally since 1996 and that I know the processor does not work in my laptop. Their response was to tell me that their equipment does not lie and that they have been doing this kind of work for 10 years. 20 years versus 10? Hmmmm? And again there was no information or procedures for sending the processor back to them. Clearly, they have shown a complete disregard for me as a customer. Since their initial response was so unprofessional, I immediately thought that they had no intention of EVER honoring their warranty. Their continued communication has remained unprofessional, and now I know they NEVER had any intention of honoring their warranty.

Desired Settlement: At first I wanted a replacement, but because of their complete rudeness and unprofessionalism, I want a full refund of $129.95 on the i7 processor immediately.

Business Response: ******,

I am very sorry for the trouble you've had in getting a rma replacement processor for you laptop. You emailed your request to ***** and he's new to our company, so he was being extra cautious to not do something wrong. In most cases we just send a replacement out but since it has been almost 6 months since purchase it is understanding for us to verify the part is bad and is our part first before sending a new part. ***** also stated that based on your email he had the impression that you were using the i7 CPU(the cpu purchased from us) while testing the hard drive and the memory on your laptop? - this is not possible if the CPU is defective, but I understand if he read it your email wrong.

Once I saw your BBB complaint(and email correcsponce with *****) I agreed we should have just sent you a replacement right away because it seems obvious that the CPU is giving you an issue, espcially if there's a no post situation(leds light up then laptop goes off and nothing else).

It's unfortunate that you're requesting a refund, we only have a 30 day money back, but we'll honor the refund to make sure you're happy - we never had any intention to not honor a warranty replacement. Like I said, ***** is a new employee and he now knows to talk to us first before making our customers jump through hopes to get a repalcement.

I hope this message finds you well. We have also called and emailed you to make sure you don't still want the warranty replacement instead.

Sincerely,
**** ******
VP of Parts-People.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. My father has a hard drive reader connected to his pc. So we took the hard drive out of my laptop and inserted it into the reader. I was able to access all files from that drive. I ran diagnostics on the drive. If the drive was bad, I would not have been able to do any of those things. I am using my laptop to type this; so the hard drive is working. The laptop started up with the old i3 and only one memory stick. We switched out the memory sticks to test each one, and then put both memory sticks back in. They both work fine with the i3. Like I stated in my email, it was only when we put the i7 back in that the laptop would not work. We put the i3 back in; it worked. We put the i7 in again; the laptop didn't work. We put the i3 in again and it has been running fine ever since.

Regards,

****** *******

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I baught a New Red - Studio 1555 1557 1558 15.6" FHD Edge-To-Edge Complete LCD Screen Panel Assembly - F305T - F306T cost $120 It has a big white blotch on screen when turned on the screen is not right They charge $100 to do labor of this type (screen replacement) they want to send me a new screen witch will cost another $100 to install the total cost will be $320 If I known they would send a junk screen I would have just bought it somewhere else they want screen back to sell it

Desired Settlement: I want a new Red - Studio 1555 1557 1558 15.6" FHD Edge-To-Edge Complete LCD Screen Panel Assembly - F305T - F306T and keep the junk they sold me witch cost $100 to install and is less then perfect and not sure how long it will last I DONT WANT TO DO THIS AGAIN I WANT A NEW SCREEN AND I INSTALL IT AT MY CONVENIENCE

Business Response: Here's not from the resolved complaint:

## Parts-People Comments ##

customer my keep the screen, please hold RMA
~******~ 01/05/15 06:24PM

-------------------------------------

customer called back again today and seemed upset because he received a
part that's not working. I informed him that we have no problem sending
out a replacement OR send a return label for the screen and issue a
full refund. He said he would call back and hung up. I think he doesn't
want to have to take his laptop apart again. when he calls back if he
still doesn't want a replacement screen or to send back the first one
for a refund we may offer to have him send the laptop to us so we can do
the repair for him.
~******~ 01/06/15 01:26PM

-------------------------------------

rma has not shipped yet, at shipping dept, untested
~****~ 01/06/15 04:08PM

-------------------------------------

We built a FHD screen to send to the customer. testing and shipping today.
~******~ 01/12/15 03:14PM

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ****** 
 
1st off I never hung up on any 1 so that was a lie
2nd No one ever offered a free installment 
3rd  They sent me a new screen but the box they sent the first one in had foam cushion around entire screen  preventing any movement the 2nd one only has bubble wrap around screen leaving 5 inch of slide movement so im concerned about it working.
4th They never told me I could keep the screen .

I will get screen installed in next 5 to 7 days and let yall no if it works right    Thanks      

2/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged My Debit card three times + 34.95 * 3 --------------- + 104.85 Causing my Account to to go into Overdraft

Desired Settlement: return money to my account

Business Response: ****** ***** was declined 3 times (due to incorrect billing address) while trying to purchase a part from our website. What Mr ***** did not know is that when a customer is declined, the charge will show up on the customers bank statement, but will then will not be charged once the credit card processor settles for the day.

We have explained this to Mr ***** and he is now happy.

Attached is notes from his order of our correspondence.

Thanks,
****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Parts-People.com
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart