Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ace Computer Service

Phone: (361) 906-9373 Fax: (361) 906-9374 5890 Everhart Rd, Corpus Christi, TX 78413 http://www.acecomputersvc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace Computer Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ace Computer Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ace Computer Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 26, 2002 Business started: 03/08/2001 in TX Business started locally: 03/08/2001 Business incorporated 12/16/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daryl E. Vernon, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daryl E. Vernon, Owner
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair Data Recovery Computers - Dealers Computers - Disaster Recovery Computers - Networks

Alternate Business Names
Ace Computer Service, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 5890 Everhart Rd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78413 (361) 906-9373

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately three to four weeks ago, I contacted Ace computer service in Corpus Christi, Tx to come out ,pick up my Dell desk top and Dell laptop for repairs. The desktop was cutting off after a notice appeared on the screen, 'monitor going to sleep'. Ace informed me that it needed a $140.00 'power station' The laptop; I had simply gotten it off line and could not get it back on. They 'repaired' them and brought them back. The laptop was working, but the desktop continued to cut off after an on screen notice appeared; 'monitor going to sleep'- despite the installation of the 'power station This 'repair job' cost me in excess of $300.00. I was told to bring it back, that it probably needed a new 'starter button'. I asked them what about the $140.00 'power station installed that did not fix the computer problem. They replied, 'it's probably the'starter button' and refused a refund on the power station or the work. I asked them if their work was not guaranteed- that the problem was not diagnosed correctly and that I had a $140.oo part I apparently did not need installed. The manager replied that only the parts were guarenteed. (???) I was told to 'bring it back in and they would put in the 'button'. I told them I would have to hire someone to bring the PC in, as (they well knew) I am 80 years old and partially disabled. I then asked them if I had someone bring it in, would the technician bring the PC back and hook it up. They said yes- for $39.00. (How is an 80 year old who knows nothing about computers supposed to get the PC hooked up again with the dozen or so wires required to hook it up again? They knew I couldn't.) The desktop PC continues to break down. I can sometimes get it started by trying to hold in the starter button while tapping the bar on the keyboard, which sometimes causes a notice to appear on the screen on how to get it started.This sometimes takes hours of trying to start the PC.' I have called the manager, ******* several times and asked him to fix the PC they did NOT fix. He refused and was very rude and disrespectful. IT is my contention that Ace computer took me for $300.00 and were fully aware they did NOT do the job correctly. They figured an old 80 year old who knew nothing about computers was an easy mark. I told them that I lived on a very small Social Security check and have little over #300.00 a month to live on, once I pay rent and utilities. It made no difference to them whatsoever. They took me for all I had. AND I WANT SOMETHING DONE ABOUT IT- EITHER A REFUND OF MY $300.00 OR FIX THE PC. I prefer a refund, as I no longer trust Ace computer in Corpus Christi. '.

Desired Settlement: They have the responsibility to refund my money.

Business Response:

On 11/11/15 technician **** ***** was dispatched to *** ******** residence to diagnose a desktop that would shut off when turned on.  Upon arrival we were notified  that there was also a laptop that was not booting.  **** performed basic on-site diagnostics on both the desktop and laptop.  On the desktop it appeared that there might be several hardware issues that needed to be diagnosed at out repair center.  The laptop was producing a blue screen error that usually indicated failing hard drive or corruption of the Windows operating system.  He picked up both computers and brought them to our shop.  While we were there we answered questions on repairing these computers vs.  buying new ones, and also consultation about tablets. The fee for on-site service is $80.00/hr with a 1 hr minimum.

At our repair shop we found that the laptop needed to have windows reinstalled.  *** ******** approved, and as far as we know everything is ok on that computer. The cost to repair the laptop was $140.00

On the desktop we performed a thorough cleaning on the computer as it was completely coated with a sticky cigarette/nicotine residue. The power supply was failing and was especially dirty as it has a fan that draws air through it to cool the component and the fan was not spinning at full speed anymore causing the component to overheat. There was also swollen capacitors inside the power supply from overheating. The power switch was also sticky from the cigarette tars and resins and would sometimes get stuck.  We replaced the power supply and cleaned the power switch and at that point it began to turn on and work ok. The power switch was a special order part and would have taken several days to arrive.  We told *** ******** that cleaning it seemed to resolve the problem with the switch but if the problem persisted we would have to replace that switch too. We monitored the computer overnight without any problems. *** ******** needed the computer back right away so waiting for the switch was not an option at that time. We setup the drop off for both computers the next day on 11/12/15. The cost for the repair was $69.00 for the power supply and $52.50 in labor. (Total $131.52)

On 11/12/15 We dropped off both computers to *** ******** at her residence. We reconnected the computers to all the peripherals and internet service and tested each one.  Both computers were functioning normally at that time. We again reiterated that we may have to replace the switch if the problem returned.  When testing the printer we found that the ink levels were low, and we answered additional basic computer use questions.  Although normally we have a 1 hour minimum, and the fee should have been $80.00, our technician **** only charged her for the actual time he was there. The drop off service call was only $40.00

Several weeks later *** ******** called us reporting the problem had returned. I had the technician **** go to her house and upon arrival the computer was working ok.   He told her again that we knew that this might happen, and if this intermittent issue did not go away we would need to get the computer back into the shop to do the switch replacement. Again she did not want to be without the computer so she declined having it brought back to the shop to replace the switch at that time.

A week later she called again with the same issue.  I asked her to bring the computer to our shop, where we would replace the switch for just the cost of the part, which was $15.00.  She agreed and said she was going bring it to us the following Monday.  Later the next week when I realized she did not bring the computer, I called her to follow up, and she told me that it started working again.  Another week went by and she called again to report the problem had returned, and again I told her it needed to come to the shop to have that sticky switch replaced.  I again reiterated it was only cost $15 for the part, and would only take a few minutes to replace but it would take several days to get the part.  While on the phone she said it started working again and that she would bring it in if the problem returned.  That was the last I have heard from her until this complaint.

My offer still stands.  We can replace the power switch, it will cost $15.00 for the part.  We will not charge any labor if she brings the computer to us.  If we must go to her house to pickup, and subsequently drop off and reconnect the computer.  We would charge $40.00 for the pickup, and $40.00 for the drop off, as is our normal policy. Our policies are listed on the back of our service order. We did not replace the switch so there is no warranty on that part.

Sincerely,

 

***** ******

Ace Computer Service

 


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:most of the facts stated in Ace Computer Service's reply to my complaint are simply untrue. I was taken for $391.69, and my desktop computer is still not fixed. It is doing the very same thing it was before Ace 'repaired' it.  (I have ordered copies of my checks written to Ace to prove they took me $391.69-NOT the amount they quoted. Due to the holidays, it will take some time before I ca n get them mailed to me.)

It is impossible that my pc could be 'coated with nicotine'. The girl who runs errands for me (I am 80 and disabled) has on occasionally lit up a cigarette in my apt.I asked her not to, because the Senior home where I live does not like its residents to smoke, nor do most of the residents. The girl had recently been in and lit up a cigarette which I told her to put out. The smell of smoke surely was apparent, and Ace seized on this to claim that my computer and the 'button' was 'coated with sticky nicotine'.  That is  quite impossible considering the circumstances I have just related.

After Ace picked up my pcs, they called and said the desktop needed a new power unit, station or whatever. They said they could put in one for something under $50.00 or one for $140.00. They insisted the more expensive one would be the better choice as the cheaper one 'might not hold up' (naturally). I reluctantly gave the ok, as my resources are very very limited.

They returned both my laptop and desktop, and within a day, the desktop was doing the very same thing; a sing would appear mid-screen stating 'monitor going to sleep' and cut off.

y the way, I have a neighbor gentleman who stated that the laptop had merely gone off WiFi  (nothing corrupted) but he did not know how to get it back on line. He also warned me to be careful about who I chose for my PC repairs, that many would take advantage of an elderly woman alone who knew nothing about computers.

I did ask the person Ace sent out a few routine questions about what was the best computer to buy, why the ink dried up on my printer, etc- but I certainly did not detain him beyond his 'one hour limit'. I asked these questions while he 'assessed' my pc and while I was in the process of writing out many checks to Ace. It is good business relations to answer questions a customer has, and most reputable companies are happy to do so.(when you receive my check copies, you will ascertain that the 'tech' charged me the full $80.00 (not $40.00 as Ace claimed)

You must wait for the copies of the checks I wrote out to Ace-not in the amount of  $211.52 but IN THE AMOUNT OF$391.69!!

The 'tech' also did not check for any loose wires or anything else, although there was a notice that came up on the desktop screen that said 'check cable'. He took the desktop PC and took off.

The Ace owner was rude and disrespectful when I had to call him.

I told him I had to live on a very small social Security check and by the time I pay rent and utilities, I have almost nothing left to live on. I have to hire someone to take the pc in to the shop ($10.00 per hour)

It would cost me $20.00 to hire someone to pick it up and take it to the shop and bring it back. And how is an 80 year disabled lady who knows nothing about computers supposed to hook it up to all those wires and make it work once it is brought back?  I think the very least Ace could do after taking me for almost $400.00 and not fixing the problem is pick up the desktop, try putting in a new 'button', (I will pay for the button [its price has mysterious gone up from about 8 or 9 dollars to $15.00!!)I feel this is ALL I should pay. These are my terms'.

The simple fact is; Ace took advantage of an 80 year old disabled woman who knows nothing of computers. 

I do hope my $400.00 gave ******* a nice Christmas.  I had none. All I had to eat on Christmas day was a bowl of oatmeal.

 

 

**** *** ********

Business Response:

Attached to this response is our company policies that can be found on the back of each service order. According to our policies, that apply to any person or business regardless of age or disability, we bill for the time we spend troubleshooting or working on a computer regardless of the outcome.  We do repair most problems on the first attempt, but all situations are different, and some problems may require more time, or additonal parts.  As I have stated previously, we knew the power switch that turns the computer on and off was sticking which causes the comptuer to randomly turn off. Since *** ******** needed the computer back as soon as possible, we attempted to clean the switch, which resolved the problem for a few weeks, but it is obvious now that replacing the power switch is requred to resolve this issue permanently.  

We have already offered to replace the dirty/sticky switch in our repair shop for just the cost of the part which was $15, even though we typically would charge an additional $35.00 in labor for this additional service. We still stand by this offer, however, considering the nature of the complaint and accusations being laid against us, we no longer feel comfortable providing any on-site service.  Any further service will be performed in our repair facility at 5890 Everhart Rd.  *** ******** can arrange with the person she has run errands for her to pickup and drop off the computer at our facility. 

Sincerely, 

***** ******

Ace Computer Service


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ace Computer Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)