BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mr. Notebook, Inc.

Additional Locations

2401 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705 ! There is an alert on Mr. Notebook, Inc. !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers laptop sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Notebook, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Notebook, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 08, 2000 Business started: 11/03/1998 Business started locally: 11/03/1998 Business incorporated: 11/03/1998 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dale Coleman, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Coleman, CEO
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Computers - Service & Repair


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2401 Rio Grande St

    Austin, TX 78705

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9995 Ih 10 W

    San Antonio, TX 78230

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

Effective July 1, 2014, First E-Commerce, Inc. dba Mr. Notebook assumed assets only for Mr. Notebook, Inc. Any consumer complaint details regarding services provided prior to July 1, 2014 will be included in this BBB Business Review. To review the new company under new ownership, please see the following link: http://go.bbb.org/1kEtjp8.


Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been in Information Technology for 25 years -- most of it with ***; now with ****, Inc. corporate. On 1/19/2013, I purchased a ****** ****** Serial number ******** from Mr. Notebook Cedar Park store, which has since closed. I paid $775 for the machine. This was a backup machine and was hardly used as I have several corporate computers as primary machines. In December of 2013 the ****** would not boot, and the ****** Web site said that the behavior of the computer indicated a bad system board, and it was a common problem. I brought it back to Mr. Notebook's **** *** ******, Austin store. Mr. Notebook has a warranty that they will not charge for labor if you bought the computer for you. I travel for work, so over the course of the next few weeks found out that it was indeed the system board, and ****** wanted $1000 for a new one. I was told by Mr. Notebook that the ****** warranty expired about six weeks before discovery that the system board was out. I spoke to **** and John at the store, who both agreed that the cost of the system board was way out of line. When I asked for some consideration towards getting a used computer from Mr. Notebook, I was told that they considered my computer -- which I bought from them and failed less than a year after purchase with hardly any usage -- as total scrap with no value because they can't repair and resell it at a profit. I am out $775 with no hope of recovery of a computer that I cannot use. They also said that they only sold about three of these machines, and they weren't too reliable (****). So, why did they sell one to me? I have been relieved of $775. When I said, just give me a 10-year old machine that you can't sell to anyone else, help me transfer the data (I have the hard drive in my possession -- they have the rest of the machine) and at least let me have something form this transaction -- I was told, "We don't give away computers." "But you can purchase another one from us. "When I asked for the owner's contact information **** *******, I was told to call the store, which I have done many times never to catch him. So I said, "I have tried several times on this number can you give me a number where I can really talk to him? This obviously isn't the number." And I was refused.

Desired Settlement: I want a replacement, a running computer. Or, I want a pro-rated refund for the working value of the computer. I went to Mr. Notebook because of their warranty. They sold me a computer that cannot be fixed under their warranty without exceeding its value by about 3 x s!! They won't even give me a scrap value or a running junker as consideration. They just told me to take a flying leap because they can't fix it for a profit, either. This does not uphold the standards of the Better Business Bureau, does it? Thank you very much for your intervention and consideration* ******** ** ******* ***** ***

Business Response: We apologize that you are dissatisfied with the service you received.  We did see that you purchased a machine from us over a year ago.  Our warranty does clearly state 90 days parts and limited liftetime labor.  At this point, we are clearly beyond the parts warranty, but are doing everything we can to source a part. While we agree that cost of the part to repair your computer is an unusually high cost, we have done our best efforts to obtain pricing from a variety of sources.  Additionally, we have made an offer to you to install the part if you are able to obtain it.  We have also spoken directly with ****** on your behalf (Reference your Serial # at *************** *o try and obtain a more reasonably priced part.  We were declined.  
 Additionally,  there was no diagnostic fee charged to you for the diagnosis, per the warranty.  We have also extended a courtesy to transfer data for you to another machine you provide at no charge (normally $75+).  Although you initially declined this offer, our  offer still stands.  As far as value of the machine goes, we are willing to buy it back for more than scrap value at $150.  We apologize that has insulted you, but it is a more than fair market value for the unit given the component failure and missing hard drive that is in your possession.   Of course, you are more than welcome to come by and pick up the unit as-is for no charge.
 While we do our best to support products we sell, we are afterall just a reseller of their product,  limited by part availability and manufacturer support.  We have honored our warranty and gone beyond by offering a buyback and/or data transfer.  Honestly, we suggest voicing your concerns and frustrations with the manufacturer of the product themselves, ******.  It is in their power to repair or replace at their discretion.  As you had previously stated, the unit is also beyond the manufacturer's warranty but we are willing to work with them as best we can if they are able to provide a part to resolve your issue.  In the meantime, all our other offers are still valid.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Falsehood: I returned the machine before one year is up.
They want to charge me $1000 for a part for a machine that cost me $750.
They admitted that they only sold two other models like this. 
The never offered to install the part for free if I could obtain it -- their warranty for purchasing the box from them was that they would always replace the part.  
I diagnosed the problem -- they didn't!!!  When I returned the box I told them I researched the problem and had it diagnosed.  To add insult to injury, they didn't transfer any data -- what a crock!!!  I insisted on taking the hard drive with me.  The guy returned from the back room with the drive, fully exposed and out of its case, in the palm of his hand -- and we had to ask for a static bag.  My companion, who is a Distinguised Engineer at ***, actually had to explain to the guy that you don't handle hard drives like that and please give us the case.  Answer, "We never do that."  Our answer, "Do it."
when I called the shop, a number of times, and asked for a scrap cost, they said, "We can't repair this.  At scrap, it's worth nothing."
Now that I wrote BBB, they change their story.

They have my $750 dollar for a machine that still smells new.  I have a number of boxes that I use from work (I work at **** Corporate); I hardly even used this computer.  I even asked them for an old box that they would be using as a door stop -- anything to have a back up machine.  "We don't give away computers."  What a slap -- I didn't even ask for it for free.  When I asked for a discount, same reply.

They have changed their story.  Why sell a machine with a warranty of free repair if you can't obtain a part for below the sales price?  that in itself should made the warranty unenforceable and have any reputable merchant offer a refund -- or even partial refund!  What really slays me is, "We do our best to support the products we sell."  Any reputable merchant would say, "Satisfaction is guaranteed."  "We don't sell anything that we don't back up."  They don't deserve to sell expensive equipment. If service is their forte, well stick to that.  Don't sell stuff that can't be repaired with the enticement that all repairs will be labor -- free.  It's like bait and switch.  Enough said.

Also, now they tell me to call ******. First I've heard of this. I am not a power buyer like they are. But they have now put the burden on me. What a bunch of nice guys.  I write the BBB, and they come up with "let's just put the burden on the customer to get the part." This business puts their customers thru the ringer.  Makes me wonder why their Cedar Park store closed.  So, now I will prolong this and contact ******.  Thanks for all the help, Mr. Notebook.  I really like the way you even gave me the part number -- I'm being sarcastic because of course you never gave me the part number or serial number -- just brushed me off with "Call ****** yourself."   I think I'd faint if you even lifted a finger to help. Would you MIND giving me the part number and the serial number of my machine?  It is still in your posession. Regards,

******** ******

Business Response:

Hello,

The customer purchased a laptop computer in January 2013.  It came in for service under our free diagnostics labor warranty a year later in January 2014.  The customer was not charged for any diagnostics or labor.  The original warranty of the computer was 90 day parts.  This is stated on the receipt and a sign in all our stores. The unit requires a part that is expensive.  No one has forced any repairs of any kind upon the customer.

We have not charged the customer anything for any diagnostics.  We offered her to transfer data off her laptop for free to another drive or machine she provided.  We offered to install the necessary part for free if she could source the part on her own.  We offered to buy back the unit for salvage.  We offered her a discount on a replacement machine as well. She declined all of those offers (included in her response to you).  After her rejection of those offers, we received a phone call from her a week ago stating she had been out of town and would be by to come pick up the laptop.  She is welcome to do so, again at no charge.  I'm not sure what's unresolved at this point.

While we sympathize with her, the fact remains we extended many offers to the customer outside of the stated warranty period.  We are not, however, simply going to give her a replacement laptop for a unit that failed nine months outside of the warranty period.  I don't know of a manufacturer that would either.  She has rejected all of our offers, and has every right to do so and has informed us she will be by to pick up the laptop anytime now.  Please advise.

 

Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service