Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers refurbished Dell computers, laptops, parts, and accessories as well as repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Discount Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Discount Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 05, 1999 Business started: 11/15/1997 in TX Business started locally: 11/15/1997 Business incorporated 12/29/1999 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Culleton, President Mr. Eugene Terrell, Manager Mr. Ken Greene, Store Manager Ms. Leanne Orr, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Culleton, President
Principal: Mr. Eugene Terrell, Manager
Related Businesses
Mr Notebook
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Computers - Supplies & Parts Internet Shopping

Products & Services

Discount Electronics sells the following brand(s): Apple, Dell, IBM, Lenovo, Samsung, Sony, Toshiba

Discount Electronics offers the following product(s): Computer Parts, Computers, Laptops, LCD Monitors, Tablets

Method(s) of Payment
Credit cards, cash and check.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Items may be returned for exchange or store credit for 7 days from purchase. All items are warranted between 90 days and one year. No cash refunds.
Alternate Business Names
DiscountElectronics.com First E-Commerce Inc PC Outlet

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Discount Electronics has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1001 S IH 35

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (512) 637-7051

  • 1011 W Anderson Ln

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 459-0026

  • 2206 NW Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (210) 348-7614

  • 9711 Manchaca Rd

    Austin, TX 78748 (512) 458-8612

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 8, 2016 I dropped my laptop off at Discount Electronics to removed viruses and retrieved lost data. The clerk (****** ********* )told me it would take about a week before my laptop can be repaired and that they will communicate with me via email to let me know the status. I received an email from (****** **********) On July 14, 2016 discussing what the diagnose was and how much it would cost. I told ****** to go ahead and repair and if he could try to retrieved all data. I called on July 21, 2016 and spoke to ***** ****** to checked the status of the repairs for my laptop. ***** told me that ****** is the guy who is working on my laptop but he has been out sick for a week. I told ***** that's ok, I understand. On July 21, 2016 I received an email from ******, he explained he could retrieved all user data that is currently on the drive. That same day I received a phone call from ****** to get specific information as to what needs to be done, because he couldn't retrieved any photos, etc from the past. I told ****** that I understand and to retrieved what you can. I mentioned to ****** that I need my laptop and that it was taking to long. I received another email from ******, saying that he tried to reinstall Windows 7 and Windows 10 but he needed the product key numbers in order to do so. He mentioned that the COA sticker on the back of my computer was faded and he couldn't activate Windows and I will need to provide him with legible key numbers. I figured that I might have the numbers that was needed so on July 28, 2016 I decided to go in person. When I got there I spoke with a store clerk and I showed her some numbers that was listed on a Toshiba paper. I asked her if she could go and get my laptop.She told me that ****** couldn't repair what I wanted (update my laptop to Windows ) without those numbers and there is nothing more that they could do. I asked her again could she go get my laptop so that I could get an ideal what to look for when I get home. The store clerk walked away with an attitude and brought me my laptop. ****** then came out from the back and told me that ****** tried many times to figured out what the product key numbers but he couldn't figure them out and he tried many ways. I told ****** and the store clerk, so what am I going to do. ****** repeated again about needing the numbers. So after the conversation, I walked away with my laptop and the store clerk next to ****** walk away mumbling words into ******** ear and walked back through a door. Later , I got an email from ****** , "System update subject completed," system has been picked up" . Later on that day, I decided to see if my recent data information was still there and I noticed that my settings wasn't there. I couldn't log in anywhere and I couldn't go any further than the desktop. I tried everything and there was no way I could go any further than the desktop settings, in which I never seen before. I called on my cellphone Discount Electronics and spoke to a store clerk. I asked him what's wrong with my laptop. I have no where to log in and I never seen these settings before. The store clerk told me that it was updated to Windows 10 and ****** couldn't restore everything back to Windows 7 because the product key numbers weren't accurate. I told him that ******, ****** and the other store clerk told me that they couldn't store Windows 10 or 7 at all. I asked the store clerk , what was I suppose to do , I'm locked out of my laptop. Then the store clerk said again that there was nothing that can be done. So I start crying, and the guy told me to hold on and he could see what he could do. I stayed on the line way over 30 minutes, holding. I decided to continued to hold on my cellphone and called Discount Electronics on my house phone. The store clerk picked up the line immediately. I told him I was calling about my laptop and he said , I can help you. As we started to talk , I told him , he put me on hold over 30 minutes on my cellphone and I'm talking to on my home phone while still on hold with my cellphone. He told me he was sorry and that they were busy. I told him that l was going to do all that I can to locate those key numbers and if I'm unable to locate the numbers that will be left up to them to figure out. The store clerk apologized again for keeping me on hold for so long. The store clerks I talked to before him, never apologized for anything. I have tried up until this day and I can't locate the product numbers.

Desired Settlement: I just want Discount Electronics to figured out how to get my laptop tablet unlocked so that my Windows 7 information can be replaced without me searching for the product key numbers. I have tried so hard but I can't find the numbers. I want my laptop back to where it was, when I left it in there care. I am a breast cancer survivor and I have epilepsy. I can't be stressed out, my laptop and what little data I had or have mean more to me than money. My medical information and my work documents and photos are more valuable to me in exchange for something else.They told me they couldn't update Windows , then someone told me that they did and was unable to complete the process, because they couldn't make out some numbers. I feel that the employees are making it seem to be my fault. The laptop should have never been touched until those key numbers were identified first. All of this time I had been giving the run around, when all they could've done was be honest. I have been crying ,irritated and stressed out. I took my laptop to Discount Electronics because someone suggested.

Business Response:

We apologize for the issues with your repair. As you have seen, Windows licensing can be tricky. Due to the validation required to legally install a copy of Windows it is simply impossible to perform a complete installation of Windows without a valid product key. As it does not appear that we will be able to resolve the issue with the current unit due to an inability to locate the license key for it, the store manager of the Anderson Lane store has been authorized to assist you with replacing the laptop in-store from a selection of units we have available as well as provide further assistance (if possible) in recovering your data from your current machine. Your contact information has been provided to the manager and he will be in touch with you shortly in an attempt to resolve this problem, hopefully to your complete satisfaction.

Again, we do apologize for any issues arising from the repair or our inability to validate your copy of Windows with the information you had available. Our store manager will contact you at the first possible opportunity, or you are more than welcome to call the Anderson Lane store directly and ask to speak with him. We will do our very best to assist you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a hard drive for my desktop and was sent the wrong item. I received a hard drive for a laptop. I notified them as soon as I received it. I was told that a replacement will be sent out and I would receive an e-mail confirming it. I waited for awhile and no e-mail so I called back. This time I was told a hard drive will be sent out ,but not the one I ordered because it wasn't available. On the website it was showing in stock. So that is false advertisement.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back.

Business Response: We apologize for any confusion regarding your order. Be assured no attempt to falsely advertise the availability or pricing of any item on *********************** is intentional, we are in the process of completely revamping both our inventory system and the website itself. As a result, some items may be temporarily listed incorrectly. We are working to correct this and again, apologize for any confusion. Upon receipt of the item that was shipped incorrectly we will gladly refund the amount of your initial purchase.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

7/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought PC tower in April have had to return it several times I have upgraded a few things out of pocket now its broke again and they say it's not under warranty (which came with 1 yr.warranty) I have asked anyone to call me back to try to resolve this issue not even a courtesy call.The last contact I got was that my PC was ready for pickup but they didn't tell me it hadn't been worked on

Desired Settlement: refund or store credit

Business Response: The present problem with the PC (nonfunctional optical drive) is due to malware infection or Windows registry corruption. The drive was removed from the computer, tested in a known good machine and was found to function normally. A known good optical drive was installed in the customer's customer and was found to be nonfunctional. A hard drive with a known good installation of Windows was installed in the customer's computer and while present both previously tested optical drives function normally. As a result of this standard hardware A / B testing it has been determined that there is no hardware fault in the customer's machine. The nonfunctional optical drive is caused by a software failure and software failures are not covered by the 1 year parts and labor warranty. Per industry-standard warranty terms any cost to repair the unit due to non-hardware related failures is the customer's responsibility.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:The way I see it I have no problem with my other pc at home so why am I having this problem on this pc it is refurbished

Regards,
****** ******

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased laptop from online store. Had less than 10 days and it began to make noises like the fan was failing and then it froze with a virus. Attempted several phone calls to number on website. Was able to leave message one time requesting call back. Sent email to address provided on website for call back. Called local store in Round Rock and was told I would have to continue to call number on website.

Desired Settlement: At bare minimum a phone call would have been great. I was using this laptop for work. They might could have exchanged it.

Business Response: Discount Electronics apologizes both for the improper handling of this customer's issue at our Round Rock retail location as well as the delay in responding to this complaint. A number of internal changes have resulted in some mis-communication over the last several weeks. These issues have been resolved. Regarding the complaint: this customer is correct, the Round Rock location should have offered more assistance than a simple referral to the online sales phone number. Any warranty or hardware related issues can be handled through any of our retail stores in Texas, regardless of whether or not the computer was purchased via the website or in one of those stores. Any additional assistance this customer requires will be gladly provided via our stores and all store managers have been reminded of their commitment to support our online sales customers.

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 3rd I visited this (******************************************************************************) site after a google search for Dell Insspiron 580s replacement motherboard. The page clearly stated the item was in stock for same day shipping, so I ordered the part for priority shipping (2 to 3 days), I have a customer who needs their pc repaired. On Feb. 5th after not hearing from the company on shipping I was greeted by a very rude condescending employee who told me the is Not in stock and has not been in stock since December, 2014. I asked if that is true, then why am I currently on their online site looking at the product and t clearly says the item is In Stock and ready for same day shipping? He replied that the website is never updated, they May get the item in some time next week, when they get item they could overnight it to me for an extra $50. At hat point I stated that that is considered false advertisement and deceiving the customer and I questioned if they were a reputable company. Then I asked to speak with his boss/manager, he replied he was his boss. Then I asked for his name, he said **** like the bird, I replied that is not true it sounds like a made up name, what is your last name. He said ********, I said your name is **** ********, that sounds like a made up ***** name. He said, he did not if there was a pornstar with that name but it is the name he uses for customers but it is Not he real name, No One ever gives their real name. At that point I said if Discount Electronics allows you to use a false name when talking to customers then may opinion is that they are not a reputable company to do business with. So I asked to have he order cancelled and stated that I bet the BBB would think giving false infomation to customers was a good thing. He hung up the phone. In addition I want to point out that your site shows a different address for Discount Electronics, but he website and phone number is the same. Your site gives them an A+ rating, how could that be when clearly they are falsely deceiving possible customers and seem to me to be not honest and shady. The conversion with aka **** ******** as a customer service representative I would give them a less than favorable rating. Thank you

Desired Settlement: Be Honest

Business Response: This order has been refunded in it's entirety. Discount Electronics sincerely apologizes for any frustration that may have arisen from this transaction.

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a refurbished laptop from Discount Electronic. Upon receiving the item, it was defective. The battery does not hold a charge, not to mention the computer was not cleaned. Several virus popped up along with previous owner's information. I have been unable to use the computer. I have made several calls to the customer service center only to not have the call answered. I finally got a hold of a female representative, who said the computer should have been cleaned and refused to let me speak with management. I was advised to take the computer to a San Antonio location, which I did. They were unable to fix the computer, I was told to mail back to Austin. As of today, the computer is in the mail, I refuse to pay a 15.00 restocking fee, I do not want store credit, I want a full refund. I have went out of my way for something that was sent to me that I was unable to use. Not to mention coming out the pocket 25.00 for shipping and 19.99 to purchase a software virus protection program I could not use. Extremely frustrated.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund to the credit card I used.

Business Response: The laptop in question was received by our Internet Sales department and examined. There was malicious software present on the unit, based upon time stamps in the Windows Add / Remove programs feature this software was installed by the end user and was not present when the unit was shipped. The battery as a hardware failure would have been covered by the system warranty (batteries carry a 90-day warranty from the date of purchase) and would have been replaced. As the unit has been returned, however, an online credit has been issued less shipping and restocking fees per our Terms of Service.

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken my computer to Discount Electronics, located at **** ******** *** ** ******* **. I asked the Service Department to clean all the Malware from my computer as it had "crashed". I also asked that they stop all unnecessary Windows programs and any other unnecessary programs that could slow the boot up time for my computer. They did not do this, all they did was remove Malqware. They also kept my computer for (3) days to do Malware removal which can be done within an hour! The person who worked on my computer also removed some programs from my desk top without my approval and I had to re-install all that were removed. I was charged $53.04 to run a program to clean up the Malware and nothing else I requested was done! I called the store and complained aboth this and got the run around! I also sent an email from the stores web site where the work was done and they played games by "asking me what store I was writing about"! After I complied with their request for store location they ignored my email! I sent another one and I was ignored a second time. This store has over charged me, did not do all the work requested by me both verbally and written, and ignored my complaints that their work was not completed for the money I was charged!

Desired Settlement: I wish to suggest that this store location be monitored and that potential customers of Discount Electronics "be warned of doing business with them in the future and look for a reputable, computer repair business"!

Business Response: The programs removed from this customer's computer while it was in the repair shop were programs known to be vectors for maleware entry, totally superfluous or potentially harmful to the operation of the computer. It is very likely that at least one of the programs removed was a contributing factor to the failure of this customer's PC and this was communicated to the customer on several different occasions. None of the non-critical applications loaded in the Startup group on this machine contributed to more than 3-5 seconds of boot time and the vast majority of startup items were things that can only be intentionally installed by the user. It is not Discount Electronic's policy to second-guess the customer's desire for certain pieces of software if they do not present a clear threat to the safe or continuing operation of the machine. The primary purpose of the majority of software installed by this customer to "speed up" his computer is advertising and, again, to provide vectors for entry of malware and ad injectors. Driver updating software is a prime example - as manufacturers of enterprise-class hardware generally revise driver software on a quarterly or yearly basis, there is no need to check the status of driver software on every boot of the machine. Doing so is completely unnecessary and the net result is actually a reduction in performance of the machine.

The email this customer sent from our website was sent through a contact form designed for web sales and as a general portal for all 10 of our retail stores in Austin and San Antonio. Asking the location the customer's service was performed at is simply the first step in determining which store manager the email should be routed to. It is also notable that no request for assistance was made with either email to the web portal, rather both emails were framed as informational. Had any desire for a response been expressed, one would have been provided.

During the time the unit was in the repair shop at the Manchaca location, this customer made a number of requests that ran directly contrary to the experience and expertise of the technicians working on the unit. Just as an auto mechanic is not going to fit the wrong part on a car just because they are asked to do so, our technicians are not going to incorrectly configure or actively harm the operation of a machine because the customer has asked them to do so. This customer was informed by more than one party at the Manchaca location that his requests would not have the net effect he desired and most likely would have the opposite.

It is the position of Discount Electronics that service was provided in accordance with the technical knowledge and expertise of the repair technicians and any changes NOT made the computer (regardless of customer request) were not made because they would have been detrimental to operation. It is also the position of Discount Electronics that any applications removed from this computer were removed as a part of our anti-malware process or because they are known to be harmful either by nature or circumstance.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: The reply to my complaint was a TOTAL COVER UP & FALSEHOOD!! Discount Electronics never told me any information at all regarding my computer! They took off one of my browsers that I did NOT ask to be taken off and this browser was not infected with Malware as they stated! This browser had been on my computer for about ( 3 ) years with no problem what so ever! I also had to call every few days to see if my computer was ready to pick up. I always got a reply like" we are working on it" or some sort of lame reply! On the  fourth day I called and asked if my computer was ready and if not I was coming to pick it up. The clerk said" oh we were waiting to hear from you about your computer"! Discount Electronics promised me they would call me when my computer was ready and did not, I had to do all the "leg work" just to get a reply! Their attempt to cover up their lack of promptness, mistakes and lack of interest in me as a customer and the attempt to try and make themselves look good when in fact they only prove they are as untrustworthy and incompetent as they certainly appear. I am in hopes my comments and complaint will be posted to the BBB site for all potential customers who might be considering using Discount Electronics to reconsider their decision and use a computer repair service more reliable! I know I certainly have made my last purchase there and will pass it on to all my friends and hope it will have a "Domino Effect" for the future! On a final note, the browser mentioned that was removed had been thoroughly checked for Malware when installed and re-checked, there was none and as stated before the program had been running perfectly for about (3) years with no problems. The fact is, Discount Electronics tech/repair "dropped the ball", made the mistake of removing a program that did not require removal and refused to admit and tried to cover everything up by trying to make me look like the one who was at fault! Nice try but no cigar!!

Regards, ****** ****

Business Response: Discount Electronics stands by all statements made in the original response to this complaint. No software was removed unless it was identified as a potential threat and no changes were made unless there was an identifiable benefit and no harmful side effects.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: The statements made by Discount Electronics are a complete and total lie! Not one
person at that business discussed my computer. I turned it in for a Malware service and to stop any Windows programs that were
loading that might potentially slow the start up time or boot time. I made a list of this and left it with the clerk and was told these things would be done and they were not! They kept my computer at that store for (3) days, Malware removal doesn't take (3) days, usually within an hour Malware can be removed. I had to call each day to see what was going on with my computer and the day it was ready for pick up, I had no idea that it was ready, the clerk says to me , over the phone, "oh we were waiting to hear from you"!! What kind of  "Customer Service" is this? "Waiting for me"!! Discount Electronics is supposed to contact the customer when their computer is ready for pick up. They can "stand by their reply ", to my complaint all they want to , as they know they over charged me and did nothing for the money but make mistakes and excuses and try to make me look like the one at fault in this whole ordeal! I as a senior, do not appreciate getting cheated as I am on a fixed income. I have since had a competent programmer work on my computer to adjust the boot time/start up time and the system is much better now. As I stated before hand, the Browser that was removed, was on my computer for (3) years and was never infected with Malware. The Browser worked perfectly and should not have been removed. All they had to do was admit this was done and should not have been! I have re-installed the Browser as I had files on it that were important but I did not lose them after re-installing the program. This business has some dishonest employees that just can't admit their mistakes and this is too bad because they have lost a repeat customer with their dishonest replies! I am in hopes that you, the BBB, will post this on your site as a business " TO USE CAUTION IN CONSIDERING TO DO BUSINESS WITH AT ANY TIME"!! It's just too bad that I was cheated out of my funds and Discount Electronics has no conscience concerning this at all!! I thank the BBB for their help in this matter and I am in hopes, as stated before, that you will post a "NEGATIVE" listing on Discount Electronics at your site. Thank you for you kind assistance.
 

Regards,
****** ****

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late November 2014, My daughter put a minor crack in the screen of her iPhone 5. The display was operating normally, and there was no problem with touchscreen response. I took the phone to the Culebra Discount Electronics Store, and paid $129 to have the display replaced. Within a few days, the repaired screen developed an intermittent problem in which it randomly displayed vertical lines of static on the display. There was no problem with touchscreen response. On January 13, 2015, I returned the phone to the Culebra store to get the display repaired. The technician opened the phone while I was there, stated that there was "water damage" which voided the parts warranty (please note that this is highly unlikely, as the phone is normally enclosed in a "Lifeproof" brand protective case). I paid an additional $85.52 and had the display replaced. Within a few hours, the iPhone display developed a problem in which pressing on an icon or specific area such as a keyboard would bring up a random response. On Jan 15 at about 4 P.M., I went to the Culebra store. The young lady at the counter told me the tech was not in, and she couldn't help me. On Jan 16, I again took the phone to the Culebra store. I showed the young man at the counter what the problem was, and left the phone there for repairs. On Jan 16 I called the Culebra store to see if my phone was fixed, and was told that there was "water damage", and that no repairs would be made. I was also told that the tech was not there, but was at the 410 store. I went and picked the phone up, and am reasonably sure that no one worked on it or performed any diagnostics since I dropped it off. As I had already wasted over $200 on shoddy parts, equally shoddy "repairs", and at best, inconsistent troubleshooting, I decided to take the phone to a Sprint repair center and have the phone diagnosed. The Sprint technician checked the phone using a test rig that ran diagnostics on the phone. The result: The display returned an error. The diagnostic did not report any damage to the system board, and they didn't see any sign of "water damage" After paying to have the phone repaired by Sprint, the phone is now operating normally. Discount Electronics provided sub-standard parts and repairs, and their technicians apparently have little to no knowledge regarding troubleshooting and repair.

Desired Settlement: Discount Electronics needs to actually provide the repairs and service that are paid for.

Business Response: This customer was contacted via email and offered a resolution via our 410 location. The customer specifically refused that offer. The offer has never been rescinded and is still available if the customer would like to take advantage of it. Has the customer changed their mind regarding the offer for service via the 410 location?

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I took the phone to a reputable repair facility and paid them full price to repair the phone.  The cell phone is now working perfectly, and no longer needs the "repairs" I paid Discount Electronics for.

Regards,
********* *******

12/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Deal of the Day: $79 Dell Latitude D600 Laptop PC 14.1" refurbished from them, My Order # ******** (placed on November 29, 2014 12:07 PM CDT). Received it today 12/8/2014. I opened the box, plugged it in and within minutes the Lap Top shut down power wise, also indicating a low battery. I have had it plugged in all day. It is now 12/9/14 12:33AM. Still no battery power and Lap Top is totally useless. Can't even load up the Operating System. Total rip off artists in my book, especially on their returns. Re-shelf fees and no refund, including dishonesty from day one, with absolutely terrible and lousy business ethics. If I ran a business like that I couldn't put my head on a pillow and sleep at night.

Desired Settlement: A replacement battery immediately and I'm not shipping this battery back or the Lap Top back at my cost to any degree, plus I want a Total Refund to my Credit Card as Credit. The item I purchased I thought was through an honest business regarding consumers, and found out they are not honest and are ripping the consumer off in every direction possible regarding money, their products, re-shelving fees, consumer having to ship back at consumers cost and no refunds and I could go on and on. Make it right Discount Electronics or I will keep the complaints coming and go public if I am forced to by your actions. Thank you, Have a nice day! As you have made mine!!

Business Response: We can send a replacement battery asap or grant a full refund which ever you prefer no cost to you. Please let me know what options works best for you. 

Thank You,

****** *******
Discount Electronics

11/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is both an advertising and a customer service related complaint. I recently purchased a Dell Latitude E553o Docking Station E-Port Replicator from this company. I knew exactly what I wanted and so when I saw the picture of this unit, I clicked "Add to Cart" and purchased it.When I received the unit, it did not have a power cord with it. This piece of equipment must have a power cord to be useful. So I called customer service to let them know I had not gotten one. They informed me the unit did not come with a power cord but that I had to buy that separately. I have never had to order a power cord separately for an electronic product that requires one. So I said I would return it, thinking I would get a refund. They responded they do not give refunds, only store credit. They pointed me to the page on the site where it says the power cord was sold separately, which is in fine print way down the page AFTER you've clicked on product details. I told them I felt this was misleading advertising at best. But they stood by their no refund policy.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: We have 2 listings one with the power adapter and one without which the customer purchased. We issued a returns form on November 13th, once the customer returns the item will grant a refund.

Dell Latitude E5530 Port Replicator 
This Dell Latitude E5530 Port Replicator was tested by Discount Electronics and is completely functional.Dell Part PR03X, XX066.
Unit requires a Laptop Power Adapter PA-13 or PA-4e
To purchase a PA-13, click here.
Ports/Jacks Include:

Power jack
eSATA
Ethernet: 10/100/1000 Mbps
DVI-D out (does not support DVI-A or DVI-I)
VGA analog out
Display port
2 rear USB ports
3 side USB ports
1 side line-out/headphone jack
1 side mic jack

  

Business Response: I will grant a full refund once the item is returned with no restocking fees. Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *****

7/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 3, 2014, I had placed an order for a couple of pc components that were required for a pc repair. Upon receiving the product, the products failed to function with disbelief. I had contacted the seller to initiate a refund. After requiring to pay for shipping again, I was soon provided an unexpected site credit. This has been the most bitter distasteful experience I have experienced in years. Nowhere during the site purchase process nor checkout did this company advise its clients with clarity and transparency of its refund process ethics. I had no concern for paying shipping and product costs if the product functioned as described. I do have a concern when I am penalized with restocking fees resulting in a direct loss on dysfunctional product.In addition, lack of advisement's prior to purchase, causing hardship through unethical practices, that forces undesired returned buyers to continue to shop with them or lose everything including all shipping fees. I was forced to buy same parts from another site in efforts to minimize my lost time and pc works fine now.

Desired Settlement: Im hoping their future buyers will be afforded a change to this sites unethical practices and are provided the deserved clarity to refund policies prior to checking out and making commitment, not after. I'm expecting full amount charged to my account as service provided (defective product) failed to work and have no desire of other products or services offered from site. In addition, shipping costs I was forced to pay to send back their defective products of both orders, $120.82 Order 1- 29.78 Order 2- 63.35 Shipping return of non functioning product- 27.69

Business Response: Our terms of service for warranty and returns are linked on every page of the website for review and we also offer a link to the terms of service during the beginning of the checkout process.  Additionally, according to the correspondence from the customer, the incorrect parts were ordered and I have attached that correspondence.  As such, I will be unable to accommodate the request for a refund of purchase price or any additional shipping costs.

7/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that all changes to the business should be updated on the website as well. I was trying to recycle my computers. On the website it reads: Recycle Your Computers, Laptops, Monitors, Tablets Phones and More Businesses - Don't sit on your retired IT equipment! We pay as much as $600 for laptops and as much as $200 for iPhones. We buy your unwanted electronics working or not. Broken Screen no problem. We'll buy just one item or your entire office. Get paid ON THE SPOT. Call us today! Austin: ###-###-#### San Antonio: ###-###-#### Round Rock: ###-###-#### Cedar Park: ###-###-#### We Purchase: iMacs Mackbooks iPhones - (broken screens are OK) Laptops Desktops Tablets - Android or iPad LCDs Monitors TVs - LCD or Plasma Cell Phones Game Consoles - Wii, XBox, PS2 Laser Printers RAM - 2GB and up Hard Drives Musical instruments - We Love Old Electric Guitars Video Cards Projectors ...and much more. Get Cash by Recycling Equipment Clean out your IT closet, free up some valuable space, add some $$$ to your bottom line and do the planet some good all at the same time. Discount Electronics will pick up your company's retired Dell equipment and drop off a check as soon as today. We will give you a price (and pay you) right on the spot. No consignments, just cash. Valid EIN required. Whether you've upgraded one department or your entire company, we can help. There is no deinstallation too big for Discount Electronics. Insured - Serving Austin Since 1997 1011 W. ******** Lane Austin, Texas 78757 We Provide: Deinstallation/Pickup DOD Level Data Destruction Recycling/Reuse Proper Destruction Outright Purchase I go to the Round Rock location and they said they do not recycle anymore and to go to the ******** location. I went to the ******** location and they nice young man said yes we recycle. I had 4 computers and an xbox 360 console that was broken. I drove way out my way to this location thinking I was going to get cash. It clearly states on the website "We will give

Desired Settlement: I would like a cash refund like it says on the website. I took out the time and effort to drive to the location when I typically do not drive in that area. I work from home.

Business Response: Not all old hardware or equipment has resale value. Much equipment actually has a negative value in that processing, sorting and rendering the equipment for recycling costs more than can be recovered when sold for weight. As such, not all items will be purchased. In cases where the customer disputes the value of their goods it is appropriate to not leave the items and return when or if further negotiation is possible. As the equipment left by this customer holds a negative value, no payment was offered for the equipment. The items in question were voluntarily surrendered by the customer with no payment offered.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
That was not mentioned on the website.  That is false advertising.  

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response: Discount Electronics agrees to include verbiage on our website indicating that some items will carry a zero or negative value and as such no payment will be offered for them. Unfortunately no offer of payment can be made for items previously surrendered voluntarily.

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today at approximately 5:30pm the ******* of this location, *** ******, verbally abused me in front of at least 3 employees & 5+ customers in the store. After my computers had been in their possession since Saturday, with a promise of completion date of Tuesday. Today is Thursday, 2 days after the fact. He told me he was ready to toss both of my computers out into the street, that he hoped I got run over by a bus, that I was a ***** and that he was going to call the police if I didn't leave "his" store. Not only is the behavior unacceptable, but my computers still don't operate as per my original request. he only demonstrated this behavior after they had run my credit card and received payment. I was not only humiliated, but left without a 100% working product after payment. I have no desire to return to this business for further repair, or warranty issues after his blatant unprofessional & uncivilized acts.

Desired Settlement: I was told to call the *****, ****, at the Anderson store for resolution. When I called the store they told me to email him as they have no direct contact information with him. I did so hours ago, still no response. I want my computer(s) fixed, an apology, and/or my money back. Nobody has the right to scream, cuss out a paying customer just because they couldn't figure out how to resolve the issue. I invite the BBB to review any in house videos, etc to view ***'s rant. He was cautious to be professional in his emails but in person he Lost it.

Business Response:

A significant and unacceptable customer service failure did take place during the named employee's interaction with this customer. This complaint and in-store camera footage have been reviewed by the company owner, ******* ******* and **** ***** *******. Prompt disciplinary action has been taken per company policy regarding customer service standards and workplace environment standards. Additionally, a sincere apology is offered to this customer on the part of Discount Electronics senior management as whole. Discount Electronics values our accredited rating with the BBB and will make every effort to ensure that the situation encountered by this customer never occurs in any other instance, at any location.

Regarding the service performed by the repair shop and independent of the specific employee's behavior described in this complaint, work was completed as initially described. Additional configuration of secondary programs is a no-charge offering made by individual employees, can only be completed to the best of their ability and is in no way guaranteed. Although the configuration requested by the customer was impossible for the repair technicians to accomplish, the data transfer service was completed as well as the installation and testing of a replacement keyboard. As the data was transferred successfully and completely, configuration of additional software is the responsibility of the customer. As the services were complete at the time the units were picked up and the employee behavior that is the subject of this complaint was unrelated to the actual repair service, no refund of service charges rendered will be offered.

 

***** ***********************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******** ********

Business Response: The email string submitted is incomplete and the "call" that the ******* was being asked to make was regarding the actual service performed by the repair shop, not his interaction with the customer. The ******* in question had no input regarding the latter and has (as previously submitted) been disciplined in accordance with company policy. This was an objective request to determine whether or not service had been performed as agreed. The customer's data transfer and keyboard replacement were found to be complete, the employee in question has been disciplined and Discount Electronics has no additional information to add to this complaint.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The email string I provided is indeed a the complete conversation I had with the *****, **** ********, and the ******* *******, *** *******.  As you can clearly see from attached email comments from ****, the *****, to ***, the offending employee... nothing has really been done to penalize him for his egregious treatment of me (female/minority client).  It's clearly a "good old boys club" mentality.

Furthermore, my Dell Inspiron was misdiagnosed by Discount Electronics as having a “fried motherboard”.  When in actuality it only needed a keyboard replacement as you can see by the attached Square Trades warranty repair report.  

The only reason I authorized a data transfer from my Inspiron to my Dell Studio is because Discount Electronics told me the motherboard was fried.  They also told me that my Studio needed a new keyboard, even though a new one had been installed in December 2013.  In hindsight, I question that repair as well in light of the fact that they misdiagnosed the Inspiron motherboard issue.  Unfortunately I’m unable to have the keyboard they removed from my Studio tested since *** ****** failed to return it to me during his rant and threats to leave his store. Keep in mind the part was originally returned to me the night before with both of my laptops – when I didn’t see all of my ******* contacts & information transferred from Inspiron to Studio, I left all 3 parts (2 laptops & keyboard) with tech to have the transfer completed.   

Therefore, I’m requesting a full refund of $119 as a small compensation for the blatant misconduct by their employee, in addition to the misdiagnosis of their techs and the loss of
my keyboard.


Regards, ******** ********

6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A representative of PC Outlet gave me a price over the phone for an imaging/cloning of a 10gb hard drive and after making the trip to your **** ** *** shop in San Antonio, Texas, the personnel there tried to pull a bait and switch and/or different price and story on me to basically take advantage of a captive customer who was now there and had made the trip there by giving a new higher price than what was quoted and assured earlier over the phone to get me there.

Desired Settlement: Honor the price originally given and assured and apologize for bad practices and for making customer come only to find that you misled him/me and made him/me make a worthless trip and then make him/me make another trip to have the promised service and price honored. FYI, the trip I made was in very rainy and dangerously bad weather conditions only to find I had been had and scammed. Not very honorable or very commendable business practices or of ant kind of practices. You can't feel too proud of your people to be represented that way.

Business Response: Hello,

My apologies for any confusion regarding the hard drive clone.  We can offer to clone the hard drive for $15 or we can provide a data backup for $49.  With either of these services we will need the hard drive for 24 hours.  If you choose to utilize one of these services, please speak directly with the manager ****** and inform her this is in reference to the BBB complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed a computer repair on my Dell Desktop related to Computer Viruses. I called Discounts Electronics and was quoted $99 to clean my computer and restore the system. I agreed and bought my computer to the ***** **** location. They took my computer, generated a repair order and I left. Discount Electronics sent me a email stating that I needed to contact the store technician. I called and they advised my old hard was failing and needed to be replaced. I asked how much it would cost to replace my hard drive. The store employee quoted me $200 for the service. I questioned what this cost entailed. They stated the new hard drive was $99.00 and the install was another $99.00. This seemed high but they were giving me a new hard drive. I hung up and did some research. I found a 1TB online for $69.99 not $99.00 as they quoted. I checked and this drive was comparable to the one originally installed on the computer. I called back and asked if they could install the new drive if I provided a new one and restore my computer with ******* *. The technician said yes, they could install the new drive and restore the computer with no warranty for $49.00. I was told this covered installation of hardware and re-installation of my ******* * operating system. Today 2-**-2013 I went to the location to pick up my computer after providing the drive on Friday. The staff told me that they installed the drive and uploaded ******* * all I had to do was put my software back on the computer. Needless to say after paying $49.00 ($52.07 after taxes) I got home and ******* * was not re-installed, and all I had was a blank hard drive. I called and spoke with the manger and requested the job be completed as agreed. The manager stated that they did not re-install ******* *, because it was not included and if I wanted it done, they would charge another $49.00. Bottom line, they did not restore my computer as agreed, they were not willing to work with me and complete the repair as agreed or refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded for services not rendered properly as agreed. I have already started a stop payment on the transaction through my bank because discount electronics misrepresented the service which they were going to provide. After talking to the manager they were not willing to refund my $52.07 and had the gall to ask for another $49.00 to re-install ******* *, which was suppose to be done with the first $49.00 already paid.

Business Response: At no point was a ******* * installation offered for $49.00 on this unit in conjunction with the installation of replacement hardware provided by the customer. The customer specifically requested to bring in his own hard drive for physical installation into the unit and was quoted $99 for the installation of ****** * on the drive he provided with no charge for the physical installation of the drive, which is normally $49. The customer subsequently decided that $99 was an unacceptable charge for the installation of the hard drive and ******* *, instead agreeing to physical installation of the hard drive with no Operating System install for a total of $49.00. That service was performed as agreed.

2/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As indicated below, I purchased a SATA hard drive for a **** ******** E1505 from Discount Electronics. The hard drive failed during installation. I contacted Discount Electronics and I received a RMA #. I returned the product at my expense and requested full refund. I was then informed all the hard drives they supply are refurbished. I was charged for testing. My complaint is I would not have purchased a refurbished hard drive and the refurbished hard drive should be tested prior to be shipment and not charged to the customer because it is refurbished. Additionally, I should not be charged 15% for restocking because due to false advisement. I did not willing purchase a refurbished hard drive and nor should I have to pay to restock an item I didn’t request. Thank you for your time. Product Name SKU Unit Price Qty Subtotal Continue Shopping Update Shopping CartClear Shopping Cart **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive 750GB SATA 2.5" LTHDD-SATA-750G $109.00 $109.00 Remove item ESTIMATE SHIPPING AND TAX Enter your destination to get a shipping estimate. • *Country • Shipping Method • Zip/Postal Code Get a Shipping Estimate • **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive 500GB SATA 2.5" This is a genuine OEM **** ******** E1505 hard drive. This hard drive was pulled from a working **** ******** E1505 laptop and is guaranteed to work with all **** ******** E1505 notebooks.... $89.00Add to Cart • **** ******** E1505 SATA 250GB 2.5 Laptop Notebook Hard Drive This is a genuine OEM **** ******** E1505 hard drive. This hard drive was pulled from a working **** ******** E1505 laptop and is guaranteed to work with all **** ******** E1505 notebooks.... $65.00Add to Cart • **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive 640GB SATA 2.5" This is a genuine OEM **** ******** E1505 hard drive. This hard drive was pulled from a working **** ******** E1505 laptop and is guaranteed to work with all **** ******** E1505 notebooks.... $99.00Add to Cart • **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive 750GB SATA 2.5" This is a genuine OEM **** ******** E1505 hard drive. This hard drive was pulled from a working **** ******** E1505 laptop and is guaranteed to work with all **** ******** E1505 notebooks.... $109.00Add to Cart

Desired Settlement: My complaint is I would not have purchased a refurbished hard drive and the refurbished hard drive should be tested prior to be shipment and not charged to the customer because it is refurbished. Additionally, I should not be charged 15% for restocking because due to false advisement. I did not willing purchase a refurbished hard drive and nor should I have to pay to restock an item I didn’t request. Thank you for your time.

Business Response: The listing information provided by the customer regarding this complaint specifically describes a refurbished or pulled drive. All drives listed on *********************** are described as refurbished, at no time was the item purchased described as new. Fees charged for returned merchandise or restocking are described in our Terms of Service. No refund will be offered, also per our Terms of Service all returns are issued in the form of online credit only.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have received the correspondence from BBB

Regards,

******* ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: on the website, it not disclosed the harddrive was refurbished or the not tested. Otherwised, the customer shouldn't be tested for testing.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: The listing on Discountelectronics.com for the drive in question (******** e1505 750GB Hard drive) specifically states the following:

"Refurbished with a 90 day warranty."
"We test all of our drives with the **** HDD Diagnostics."
"This **** ******** E1505 Hard Drive was tested by Discount Electronics and is completely functional."

A screenshot taken directly from Discountelectronics.com of the listing for this item is attached, with the above-mentioned specific items highlighted in red. All drives listed on Discountelectronics.com are described in an identical fashion, this is not a change made to the site after this customer's purchase was made. The listing as shown in the attached image is the listing that was in use on the website the day this purchase was completed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Discount Electronics
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart