BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of DoubleHorn Communications?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DoubleHorn Communications meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DoubleHorn Communications include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DoubleHorn Communications
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 02, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2005 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated: 01/24/2005 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sonya Gonzalez , Financial Controller Mr. Fred Schadt, Vice President Mr. Tab Schadt, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sonya Gonzalez , Financial Controller
Principal: Mr. Fred Schadt, Vice President
Business Category

Communication Consultants Internet Access Provider Internet-Based Telephone Service Radiotelephone Communication - Equipment & Systems

Alternate Business Names
DoubleHorn Communications, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1802 W 6th St

    Austin, TX 78703 (877) 637-4676 (512) 637-5200

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 637-4676(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used Doublehorn Communications as my phone service provider for nearly 5 years. On January 9, 2014, my service began to experience occasional outages, and the company sent me a replacement phone in an effort to resolve this issue, which it did not. I was then advised to inspect and troubleshoot my internet equipment, which I did. In the interest in getting the matter resolved, over the next few weeks, I replace my cable modem, router and switches to ensure that my entire network had new equipment and validate that the problem was not on my end. This came at a cost of several hundred dollars. Things got better until March 5th. On March 5th, my service went completely dead, and I was unable to make outbound calls or receive inbound calls on the phones provided by Doublehorn. Over the next few days, I spent many hours with Doublehorn's technical support staff and **** ****** ***** support staff trying to resolve the issue. Each blamed the other for the problem, and Doublehorn support staff told me that there was nothing else that could be done on their end to restore my service via **** ****** *****. I attempted to contact Doublehorn's accounting department to inquire about the cost of using Doublehorn as an Internet provider, but they no one every acknowledged my email or voicemail messages. This left me with no alternative but to seek another phone service provider since Doublehorn was unable or unwilling to do what was necessary to restore my service. On March 9th, I entered into an agreement with another service provider and began the process of porting my numbers away from Doublehorn. A couple weeks later, my phones began working again for no apparent reason, but by this point, I had already initiated transferring my service away from Doublehorn and had lost confidence in their ability to continue as my service provider. On April 1, I emailed Doublehorn's accounting department, having been unable to reach them by phone, advising them that I was terminating service immediately. Later that day, I received a notice from ***** ******** indicating that I was obliged to pay for 4 additional months of service based on my decision to terminate service according to their contract terms. Given the foregoing circumstances, I feel that charging me termination fees is unreasonable. Even though my service became essentially unusable on March 9th, I was not asking for a refund for the remainder of that month. However, I am objecting to Doublehorn charging me for any date after April 1st.

Desired Settlement: void all charges associated with service or contract termination beginning April 1.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

Case ID #*******

Our Customer No.: *****

Customer Name: ************* **** ***********

************* **** *********** has been a customer since July 3, 2009. On or about January 9, 2014 our Support Department received a phone call from *** ******* stating he was having phone issues. A replacement phone was sent to this customer per their request as they were experiencing issues. This customer is an Open Voice customer which means they need their Internet connection to be stable and working properly. This is a must in order for our phone services to work properly.

All our customers are provided IT support on a daily basis. Just in the last 4 months he has called into our IT support department and requested assistance with his issue as well as assistance with his Internet provider, which we are not responsible for. We attempted to assist him with both and spent in excess of 20 hour walking him through configurations attempting to resolve his issue.

After repeated conversations where we recommended that we visit his office to review the setup as well as make any necessary repairs, *** ******* refused due the additional cost they would incur. At this time he does not have a stable Internet connection that will allow him to receive stable services. Our customer proceeded to contact our Support Department to request a bandwidth quote. Prior to the ending of conversation he notified us as well that he would be disconnecting his services, so no quote was provided to him.

At no time did ************* **** *********** contact Accounting about a bandwidth quote as he stated. Our billing cycle occurs around the 15th of the month. *** ******* received his invoice for April, on March 15th. As *** ******* has stated he began working on porting his numbers our on March 9th so why did he not contact Accounting when he received his invoice? If there was an issue and he was going to disconnect h s services we should have been notified prior to this occurring so that we could have informed him of his contract obligations. Instead ** ******* waited until April 1 to respond and then requested a refund of his April payment which left us with no alternative but to inform him of his legal obligations per the contract he had signed.

April 1st was the first contact and notification Accounting received that he was cancelling his services effective immediately and requesting a refund, when 'n reality he had already ported his numbers out and moved to a new carrier.  Accounting responded on April 1st to notify him of his contract obligations as

phone call from *** ******* which was a voicemail. He stated his service was dead for weeks and that DHC had informed him that we could not restore the service when in fact he had been given a remedy but he refused to take it due to additional costs.

As stated previously ************* **** *********** has been a customer for 5 years and was fully informed of his contract obligations at the time of signature. We do not require our customers to keep our services if they are not satisfied, but we do require that they follow their contract and are aware of their legal obligations prior to cancellation of services.

Business Response: This document was faxed to your offices last week.  It was sent via fax to the number listed on the email I received ***** ********.  I also have a confirmation message that the fax was successful.


Can someone please contact me this morning to let me know you have received the documentation.  I have attached a copy of the same word document that was sent out to you previously.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I will provide additional details shortly.  Doublehorn Communications has misrepresented what took place in the response that they provided, and I am reviewing correspondence to provide documentation.

Regards,

******* *******

3/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service