BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Financial Control Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Financial Control Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 29
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 33

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Financial Control Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1992 Business started: 04/16/1992 Business started locally: 04/16/1992 Business incorporated: 04/10/1992 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Michael Rash, Owner Carolyn Adams, Owner Henrietta Montoya, Clerical
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Henrietta Montoya, Clerical
Principal: Michael Rash, Owner
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
R & G Financial Group Inc

Additional Locations

  • 6801 Sanger Ave # 195

    Waco, TX 76710 (800) 299-0045 (254) 761-2537

  • PO Box 21626

    Waco, TX 76702

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (254) 761-2537(Phone)
  • (800) 299-0045(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted this company regarding a $ 77 debt, which I do owe and do want to pay. However, they stated that they are no longer handling that debt and would not remove it from my credit report. I am not sure what to do, it is a small debt that is making my credit report look really bad. This was a medical bill from Knapp Medical Center at Weslaco, TX 78596.

Desired Settlement: Remove the debt from my credit report if you are no longer handling the recovery of the debt.

Business Response: The account has been cancelled back to our client per their request.  Account should have been updated as deleted.  I have done a deletion on E-Oscar a letter will be forthcoming to Mr. ********* in the letter he will be given and AUD# and with this number he can all 3 credit bureaus and provide them this # and they can let him know it has been deleted.  This will take at leaste 24-48 hours to update

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Financial Control Services has placed a collection on my credit report that I am NOT liable for. The original amount of $100 was related to cancellation appointment fees by Texas Diabetes and Endocrinology. Prior to collection, I proved that I had left voice messages on Texas Diabetes and Endocrinologies voice messaging system announcing my cancellation days prior to my scheduled appointment (and far within their timeframe for cancellation without penalty). Texas Diabetes and Endocrinology admitted that this was their error and that I owned no cancellation fee. Regardless of me explaining this to Financial Control Services - they have REFUSED to send any documentation supporting their collection. If they were handed this "collection" then the ethical thing to do is for them to take this up with the original company. Not me. I am not liable. Account Type: Open Account Number: 610096000526XXXX Payment Responsibility: Individual Date Opened: 11/2009 Balance Date: 02/2010 Balance Amount: $100 Monthly Payment: High/Limit: $100 Account Status: Collection Past Due Amount: $0 Comments: ORIGINAL CREDITOR: MED1 02 TEXAS DIABETES ENDOCRINOLOG COLLECTION ACCOUNT

Desired Settlement: Please do the ethical thing and remove this collection from my otherwise flawless credit reports.

Business Response:

 ***** ******* we have deleted the account ***************** for TX Diabetes & Endocrinology from all 3 credit reporting agencies.  This will take at least 4-6 weeks to update.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 12, 2014 Financial Control Services received my request for validation of account they are attempting to collect ****************. I have not received a response. While they are not required under federal law to respond, if they dont respond with proper validation then they are required to cease all collection activity. Proper validation consists of copies sf some type of current creditor records, not records which only verify that the collector believes an account is valid. As of June 14, 2014, they are still reporting a collection account on my credit report. Under federal law, I could sue them and ask for $1000 in damages, since credit bureau reporting is considered a collection activity. However, I am confident that by channeling this dispute through the BBB, a more simple resolution can be made. If they delete the account, cease reporting it to the credit bureaus, and provide written confirmation of the same, I will consider this matter resolved.

Desired Settlement: If they delete the account, cease reporting it to the credit bureaus, I will consider this matter resolved.

Business Response:

Our office was in receipt of a dispute by Mr. ***** on 5-8-14 received May 12, 2014.  We had contacted our client in an effort to provide him with the verification requested.  However, our client has been unable to verify the debt as requested.  Therefore, we have ceased collection of this account.  I have done a deleteion on e-oscar for a.  A letter is forthcoming to Mr. ***** informing him of this and providing him an AUD#.

THIS COMMUNICATION IS MADE FOR THE LIMITED PURPOSE OF RESPONDING TO YOUR DISPUTE AND IS NOT AN ATTEMPT TO COLLECT A DEBT.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being informed that their latest attempt to collect a debt was invalid, this company has now gone through old records of erroneous debts that had already been cleared with the creditors in question, and is now attempting to collect on multiple debts that have not, and do not, exist. They are neither updating nor correcting their records. They continue to attempt to collect invalid debts. Their recent letter threatens to harm my credit.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to cease and desist activity to collect these invalid debts. Further, I want confirmation that they have, and will, cease and desist current and future attempts to damage my credit over these bogus claims.

Business Response:

THIS IS TO INFORM CONSUMER THAT WE WILL CEASE & DESIST ANY ATTEMPTS TO COLLECT THE DEBTS IN QUESTION.  ALSO THAT ACCOUNT#*******  AND ******* HAVE BEEN DELETED FROM CONSUMERS CREDIT REPORT.  NORMALLY THIS WILL TAKE AT LEAST 4-6 WEEKS OR LONGER TO UPDATE.  ALSO THIS IS TO INFORM CONSUMER THAT WE HAVE CEASED & DESIST REGARDING ACCOUNT#******* IN THE AMOUNT OF $245.00. I HAVE VERIFIED WITH OUR CLIENT TO SEE IF THIS ACCOUNT HAS BEEN PAID AS OF TODAY IT IS STILL OUTSTANDING AND WAS INFORMED THAT IF IT WAS PAID ANY TIME THIS WEEK IT HAS NOT YET BEEN POSTED TO HIS ACCOUNT. IF CONSUMER HAS PAID THIS PRIOR TO THIS WEEK HE CAN PROVIDE US PROOF OF PAYMENT ALL WE WILL NEED IS IF PAID BY CREDIT CARD A CONFIRMATION NUMBER AND RECEIPT, OR IF PAID BY CHECK WE NEED KNOW IF IT HAS CLEARED THE BANK AND PROVIDE US A FRONT AND BACK COPY OF THE CHECK  IN ORDER FOR US TO DO AN INVESTIGATION INTO HIS ALLEGATIONS THAT THE ACCOUNT HAS BEEN CLEARED.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The first two accounts are resolved sufficiently.  However, the third account has not been resolved fully to my satisfaction.  I require confirmation from the company that the third account has, indeed, been pulled from collection.  The third account rests with a creditor that has confirmed to me that the claim is being pulled.  When this has been accounted for, I will consider the whole matter complete.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: THE ACCOUNT FOR 245.00 HAS BEEN CANCELLED PER CLIENTS' REQUEST. THIS ACCOUNT WILL BE UPDATED AS DELETED WITH ALL 3 CREDIT REPORTING AGENCIES.  PLEASE ALLOW AT LEAST 4-6 WEEKS OR LONGER FOR THIS TO UPDATE.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However, I do believe that the company's initial behavior was a willful act of wrongdoing, and hope that this is taken into account on their rating.  Such ongoing behavior should not go unnoticed.

Regards,
*** ***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid this bill via check from **** ** ******* and the company still put the item on my credit report and has it as an unpaid debt.

Desired Settlement: I would like a paid in full receipt as well as this item immediately removed from my credit report.

Business Response:

We do not show this account is paid in full.  The only payment made on this acct was in the amount of $27.75, on December 7, 2013, leaving a balance of $305.25.  If in fact this was paid we never received the payment.  We request from the consumer to please provide us the date she sent us the payment and if the check cleared the bank we need front and back copy of check, date check cleared her bank, also if she paid this directly to us or our client.  She can fax that to my attention "*********" ************, once she provides this to us we will investigate as to what happened with that payment.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
Requested Information:

Check # **** from your MYACCESS CHECKING-**** account was mailed to Financial Control Services on 01/31/2014. Funds for this payment are withdrawn from your account when the Pay To account cashes the check


Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: We received the check today dated February 5, 2014 from online banking-bill payment that was dated for February 5, 2014 which is the date it was received.  It has been posted to the account and will be updated with all 3 credit reporting agencies as paid in full.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:
 Can you also remove it from my credit report since it has been paid?

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Financial Control Services has filed against me a false collection report with the 3 credit bureaus.I contacted them several times and they said they will send me a copy of the fictitious $340 from *** *********** * *****, MDI have never received the bill and I spoke today with **** ***** and he was very rude on the phone and hanged the phone when I told him that I will be taking them and *** *********** * *****, MD to court if they do not at least send me a copy of this bill.I told **** ***** that I have filed a complaint with the credit bureau to dispute the $340 fictitious bill and he told ma that it is a waste of time to contact the credit bureaus since he will just tell them that the bill and the information is correct and then the credit bureaus will just do nothing.**** told me that I must send a "please" request to his "dispute person" and maybe they will send me a copy of the bill.This is outrageous and discourteous and all they do is they 100% support *** *********** * ****** ** and his fictitious bill while destroying my credit score from 725 to 625 and causing me along with *** *********** * ****** ** serious financial damage and heartache.I will be taking them and *** *********** * ****** ** to the small business claims in Travis County but **** ***** from Financial Control Services has utterly refused to give me a copy of the fictitious bill from *** *********** * ****** ** so that I will have a hard time taking them to court as he said on the phone after I called him back because he rudely hanged up the phone in my face.

Desired Settlement: 1-Apologies2-send me a copy of the fictitious bill of $340 from *********** * ****** ** so I can take them to court in ****** county small claims court.

Business Response: The consumer called in requesting an itemize statement and one was mailed to  him on 12-13-13.  He then called our office and spoke to a representative. After he verified who he was and was told the itemize was sent to him he said he did not received address was veriried as correct. He did say that he did go to hospital and it was his bill that day. He then went on about taking us to court and sueing us that this doctor created a fectitious. The representive tried to explain to him that this was ** ********** bill.  He would not let her get a word out to explain. He continued to talk about sueing, she finally transferred call to **********.

The ********** took call and he also told him that the doctor made these charges up. He started back to sueing us and taking us to small claims court.  The ********** asked if this was not his bill he said no he was at hospital and bill was $2,500.00 not $340.00. He still would not let ********** explain to him this was ** ********** bill he kept on arguing and would not listen and the ********** terminated the call.

I mailed a letter to his verbal dispute today attached itemize and validation.  Copy to BBB of letter and validation without PHI.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is a typical bullying tactic of a typical bullying collection agency. 

I demand an apology from this person "The **********" for his absolute discourteous attitude and for hanging up the phone in my face. 

All I asked was for a copy of the file documents which I never received so that I can take my rightful legal action. This person "The **********" refused without me sending a "please request letter".

But thanks to the power and effectiveness of the BBB, this person "The **********" clearly did accept my simple request but only after filing a complaint with the BBB and wasting my time and the BBB resources. Thank you BBB and I await for the apology from this person "The **********" **** *****.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently disputed several bill with this agency and they were removed; however recently this agency has placed the items back on my credit report. I spoke with several staff members before I made this complaint. The staff members used vulgar language and hung up in my face several times. The items were removed due to inaccurate information and was disputed and accurately removed by ****** ******* ***.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to remove the items and keep them off my credit report due to them being disputed and removed.

Business Response: The account is still outstanding and has never been deleted. The consumer called our office on 11-6-13 complaining and yelling to the point that the call had to be terminated.  The account will remain as disputed, but will not be deleted.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It was deleted per *************.com and it was removed from credit report....The agency recently placed it back on there...I have denied the claims and the staff refuses to listen or admit that they are wrong..The staff informed me that it has been on my credit since 2003 however I was recently disputed and removed...I received a credit alert in the 6th indicaticated that it was recently added back...this agency is using unfair credit practices.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: We discussed one account with consumer account #******* in the amount of 611.00 this is the one I previously responded to.  In order for us to conduct and complete an investigation regarding consumers allegations of inaccuracy. She states several accounts, I will need to know which accounts, if ************.com shows accounts deleted we need a copy of that report and all accounts that were deleted. Once this information is provided we can the determine how to proceed in helping get the issue resolved with all 3 credit reporting agencies.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I only spoke with the agency about one account and that is the account they recently added for 611 back to my credit. All of my Financial Control incidents were removed. This agency states that they added it to my credit in 2003 why would it get a recent update on my report. The agency needs to provide documentation when they added it to my report and  I know they received several dispute letters from the agency. They are still practicing unfair credit acts. They are not going to remove and add items back to my credit. They need to provide you all with documentation.
Regards,

******* ***** 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 14, 2013, ********* ******* Services received my certified letter requesting validation of an account they are attempting to collect (************). I have not received a response. While they are not required under federal law to respond. If they don't respond with proper validation then they are reqired to cease all collection activyt. As of August 11, 2013, they are still reporting a collction account on my ********** credit report. Under federal law, I could sue them and ask for $1000 in damages, since credit bureau reporting is considered a collection activity. However, I am confident that by channeling this dispute through the BBB, a more simple resolution can be made. If they delete the account, cease reporting it to the credit bureaus, and provide me written confirmation of the same, I will consider this matter resolved. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: If they delete the account, cease reporting it to the credit bureaus, and provide me written confirmaiton of the same, I will consider this matter resolved.

Business Response:

I received a dipsute letter on 6-14-13 from consumer, we coded account as disputed and informed all 3 credit reporting agencies account was in dispute and removed phone number.  I sent validation form to our client that was signed and returned to me with an itemize statement.  Responded to consumers dispute on 6-19-13 attached itemize and signed validation from client.  We received no return mail. I am sending to consumer a copy my response letter with attachments today.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Bottom line I did not receive their validation within the specified 30 days.  And there is no evidence that I did.   This is an important matter to me, so I sent my request by way of traceable mail to ensure proper delivery.  Recognizing that the US postal service is not always 100%, I would expect that they would do the same.  At this point this agency has already violated federal and state consumer protection laws.  I have made every effort to get this matter resolved.  I respectfully request that they cease collection activity on this account, or I will have no choice than to pursue this matter in a  courtroom before a jury.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Attached is a copy of all correspondence.  Dates letter received and date we responded to the dispute.  If you should need any future assistance in this matter, please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

At this point, ********* ******* has already violated federal and state consumer protection laws.   We never received their validation within the specified 30 days, and there is no evidence that they did. .  So therefore their efforts to provide validation now is too little too late.  I am respectfully requesting ********* ******* cease collection activity of this debt, or I will have no choice but to present this case in a courtroom before a jury.  I have made countless efforts to get this matter resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company supposedly reported a paid debt to all three credit agencies but it was still shown on my credit report as an outstanding debt. This was a medical debt from someone else's insurance company (a drunk driver hit me) and should have never gone into collections. Nonetheless, I never received any bills, payment receipts, etc. but when I requested a receipt for the account paid so that I can dispute it with the credit agencies, the supervisor told me he would e-mail me one. Instead, I was lied to and this company has BLOCKED my phone number. They now refuse to talk with me. They have collected money without reporting it to the proper credit agencies and they refuse to provide proof that they received the funds.

Desired Settlement: A copy of the receipt for the amount that the insurance company paid them. Or a letter authenticating their debts paid since it is not my insurance company and I have no way of proving that they received their money.

Business Response: We never refused to talk to consumer, we talked to him 3 times on July 31. 2013, we do not block consumers numbers from calling us. An e-mail was sent to consumer on August 1st providing him itemize statement showing account has been paid in full.  I have also updated his account as paid in full on e-***** and I am sending him a letter right now informing him of this and providing him an AUD number so that he can use this to verify it updated with all 3 credit reporting agencies.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/18/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1