BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Academic Financial Solutions Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Academic Financial Solutions Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 298-6221 Fax: (210) 734-9225 View Additional Phone Numbers 3700 Fredericksburg Rd Ste 140, San Antonio, TX 78201

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in servicing student loans.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Academic Financial Solutions Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Academic Financial Solutions Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Academic Financial Solutions Inc include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Academic Financial Solutions Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 18, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2010 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2010 Business incorporated: 12/30/2009 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Dan Earle, Director of Marketing Ms. Carol Kendall, Corporate VP Ms. Debbie Robbins, Director of Career Point College
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Dan Earle, Director of Marketing
Customer Contact: Ms. Carol Kendall, Corporate VP
Related Businesses
Career Point College
Business Category

Collection Agencies


Additional Locations

  • 3700 Fredericksburg Rd Ste 140

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 298-6221 (210) 298-6272

  • 4522 Fredericksburg Rd Ste A18

    San Antonio, TX 78201

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 298-6272(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Academic Financial Solutions (AFS) does not provide monthly statements or receipt of payment to the students who have procured a loan through them. They also do not have an online billing or payment system. Students cannot see their balance due or how their payments are being applied to their account. I have stopped sending payments due to this unresolved and ongoing issue. My records have since been placed on a hold and I cannot have my transcript sent to another college I am interested in attending. I have been told that my account needs to be brought up to current in order for the hold to be removed. I have no problem making payments on this account as long as I will be receiving a monthly statement.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be sent a monthly statement showing my charges, balance, payment due and how my payments are being applied. I would like for the hold on my records to be removed immediately following receipt of one payment so that I may continue my education and continue to better the lives of my military family.

Business Response:

Business Response:

February 21, 2014

To Whom It May Concern:

I am afraid Ms ****** is mistaken.  Back in October 2012 Ms. ****** filed a similar complaint and to show a good faith effort ****** ***** College gave Ms. ****** a $500.00 credit towards her balance with the understanding that this would bring her current.  Ms. ****** made a payment on December 3, 2012 and has made none since.  Ms. ****** contacted the records department for a transcript to attend another school and found that her account had been placed on hold for non-payment. Ms. ****** spoke to the loan department and agreed to make a payment of $150.00 (when in fact she should have paid $585.45) but did not want to do so over the phone “as she did not feel comfortable with this process instead deciding to mail the payment to AFS (we still have not received her payment).  For Ms. ****** complaint that we do not mail out a statement that is untrue at the time she called in on 2/6/13 she informed AFS for the first time that she had moved.

As for her complaint that she cannot view a statement that is correct but Ms. ****** is well aware that she can call the school and speak to anyone here who can assist her with any issue she may have i.e. transcripts, grades, and loan payments.

Regards,

***** *******

11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues