Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Academic Financial Solutions Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 298-6221 Fax: (210) 734-9225 View Additional Phone Numbers 3700 Fredericksburg Rd Ste 140, San Antonio, TX 78201


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in servicing student loans.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Academic Financial Solutions Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Academic Financial Solutions Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Academic Financial Solutions Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2010 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2010 Business incorporated 12/30/2009 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Dan Earle, Director of Marketing Ms. Carol Kendall, Corporate VP Ms. Debbie Robbins, Director of Career Point College
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Dan Earle, Director of Marketing
Customer Contact: Ms. Carol Kendall, Corporate VP
Related Businesses
Career Point College
Business Category

Collection Agencies


Additional Locations

  • 3700 Fredericksburg Rd Ste 140

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 298-6221 (210) 298-6272

  • 4522 Fredericksburg Rd Ste A18

    San Antonio, TX 78201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Academic Financial Solutions (AFS) does not provide monthly statements or receipt of payment to the students who have procured a loan through them. They also do not have an online billing or payment system. Students cannot see their balance due or how their payments are being applied to their account. I have stopped sending payments due to this unresolved and ongoing issue. My records have since been placed on a hold and I cannot have my transcript sent to another college I am interested in attending. I have been told that my account needs to be brought up to current in order for the hold to be removed. I have no problem making payments on this account as long as I will be receiving a monthly statement.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be sent a monthly statement showing my charges, balance, payment due and how my payments are being applied. I would like for the hold on my records to be removed immediately following receipt of one payment so that I may continue my education and continue to better the lives of my military family.

Business Response:

Business Response:

February 21, 2014

To Whom It May Concern:

I am afraid Ms ****** is mistaken.  Back in October 2012 Ms. ****** filed a similar complaint and to show a good faith effort ****** ***** College gave Ms. ****** a $500.00 credit towards her balance with the understanding that this would bring her current.  Ms. ****** made a payment on December 3, 2012 and has made none since.  Ms. ****** contacted the records department for a transcript to attend another school and found that her account had been placed on hold for non-payment. Ms. ****** spoke to the loan department and agreed to make a payment of $150.00 (when in fact she should have paid $585.45) but did not want to do so over the phone “as she did not feel comfortable with this process instead deciding to mail the payment to AFS (we still have not received her payment).  For Ms. ****** complaint that we do not mail out a statement that is untrue at the time she called in on 2/6/13 she informed AFS for the first time that she had moved.

As for her complaint that she cannot view a statement that is correct but Ms. ****** is well aware that she can call the school and speak to anyone here who can assist her with any issue she may have i.e. transcripts, grades, and loan payments.

Regards,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Academic Financial Solutions Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)