Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Country Home Learning Center

Phone: (512) 288-8220 Fax: (210) 687-1013 6900 Escarpment Blvd., Austin, TX 78749 http://www.countryhomelearningcenter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Country Home Learning Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Country Home Learning Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 13, 2010 Business started: 02/24/1987 Business started locally: 02/24/1987 Business incorporated 09/22/1994 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
P.O. Box 149030, Austin TX 78714
www.dfps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 438-4800

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Esther Guevara Ms. Kay Alexander, Executive Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kay Alexander, Executive Director
Principal: Ms. Esther Guevara
Business Category

Child Care Centers

Alternate Business Names
Country Home Learning Center #7, Ltd

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6900 Escarpment Blvd.

    Austin, TX 78749 (512) 288-8220

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My child started attending Country Home Learning Center in January 2013. We were given a pricing sheet and chose this daycare based on that. The school I attend paid a portion of tuition each month, and I was responsible for any excess above what they paid. Each week, I wrote a check to the center, for the excess amount (based on the price list I was given). In May, when my son had to stop attending because the school semester was done, and funding did not go through for summer semester, I requested a final billing statement. I knew there may be just a slight amount I still owed, but was completely caught off guard when I received a bill for over $300!! I tried talking to *******, the center ********, and was simply told that prices were increased in February (and I was just finding out about this in MAY...3 months later?!?!?). If I had been notified of the price increase, I could have either 1. planned accordingly for my finances (I am on a VERY limited budget), or 2. chosen to take my son to a different daycare that maybe had a lower tuition. I was never given that opportunity to make that decision though, because they failed to even inform me of any rate increase. Now, I have an outstanding bill, have now been sent to collections, and in the past week, it has now shown up on my credit report...and nobody is willing to remedy this situation. In addition to all of this, there were several concerns I had brought to their attention that went unrecognized during my son's time there. For example, there was one day in which our child's diaper was only changed TWICE in the whole day he was there. He constantly had diaper rash that we couldn't get cleared up (until he STOPPED going there), he ended up getting a urinary tract infection (caused by ecoli) due to not being cleaned properly after a bowel movement, and there was one situation, which the pediatrician at our pediatrician's office even noted...where we just happened to pick up my son from daycare and go straight to the pediatrician for an appointment...when we got there, he kept saying owie and pointing to between his legs. When I changed his diaper, and showed the nurse, his foreskin had been pulled back so far/roughly by the daycare that he was BLEEDING.

Desired Settlement: I want the billing adjusted, and want the other information noted for BBB records.

Business Response:

Re: ******* *********

 

After investigating the situation and careful review of *** *********’s account, we are unable to adjust her balance.  *** ********* was notified, as was every parent in our program, of the February 2013 tuition increase via posted notices throughout the center as well as a letter to the parents placed in each child’s cubby.  (Please see attached letter.)  In fact, *** ********* discussed the tuition increase with the ******** in late February.  She also repeatedly received statements attached to her child’s cubby noting her outstanding balance.

 

Country Home’s tuition is charged every two weeks in advance and *** ********* did make a minimal payment toward each tuition period that occurred.  *** ********* also made eight additional payments of various amounts toward her ongoing balance during the time her child was enrolled.  *** ********* was aware that her minimal payments along with ACC’s supplement were not sufficient for the full balance. 

 

ACC supplemented *** **********’s tuition, which may have been based on her attendance at the community college.  ACC’s payments fluctuated from month to month and were paid in arrears.  Therefore it was incumbent on *** ********* to monitor payments made by ACC and determine her own responsibility toward her child’s tuition.

 

Please note that the rate increase during *** *********’s child’s enrollment resulted in a total of $117.00.  *** *********’s balance at the time of withdrawal was $360.29, therefore the majority of the unpaid balance was not even a result of the tuition increase.  Even without the tuition increase, *** *********’s account would not have been paid in full.

 

At the time *** ********* withdrew her child in May 2013, she acknowledged her remaining balance and stated she would pay the balance in several installments.  These payments were never received.

 

Prior to sending a balance to collections, Country Home mails notices on two separate occasions explaining that the balance is due, and if left unpaid, it will be sent to collections.  *** ********* never responded to either of these notices that were mailed to her.

 

Regarding *** *********’s comments on the quality of care, Country Home considers the care of each student as our utmost concern.  Had *** ********* informed us of any of her concerns at the time, we certainly would have addressed them.   This is the first knowledge we have received of her concerns.

 

*** ********* did attempt to re-enroll her child in August 2013 and was notified at that time that her prior balance had to be paid before her child could return.  *** ********* was unhappy that Country Home required the payment of the prior balance.

 

Due to the above circumstances, *** *********’s balance will remain as an active bad debt until paid.  It is our hope that she will do so and consider returning to our school. 

 

Thank you for your time and consideration.

 

Sincerely,

 

Country Home Learning Center


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Country Home Learning Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)