BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Country Home Learning Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Country Home Learning Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 13, 2010 Business started: 02/24/1987 Business started locally: 02/24/1987 Business incorporated: 09/22/1994 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
P.O. Box 149030, Austin TX 78714
www.dfps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 438-4800

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Esther Guevara Ms. Kay Alexander, Executive Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kay Alexander, Executive Director
Principal: Ms. Esther Guevara
Business Category

Child Care Centers

Alternate Business Names
Country Home Learning Center #7, Ltd

Additional Locations

  • 6900 Escarpment Blvd.

    Austin, TX 78749 (512) 288-8220

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My child started attending Country Home Learning Center in January 2013. We were given a pricing sheet and chose this daycare based on that. The school I attend paid a portion of tuition each month, and I was responsible for any excess above what they paid. Each week, I wrote a check to the center, for the excess amount (based on the price list I was given). In May, when my son had to stop attending because the school semester was done, and funding did not go through for summer semester, I requested a final billing statement. I knew there may be just a slight amount I still owed, but was completely caught off guard when I received a bill for over $300!! I tried talking to *******, the center ********, and was simply told that prices were increased in February (and I was just finding out about this in MAY...3 months later?!?!?). If I had been notified of the price increase, I could have either 1. planned accordingly for my finances (I am on a VERY limited budget), or 2. chosen to take my son to a different daycare that maybe had a lower tuition. I was never given that opportunity to make that decision though, because they failed to even inform me of any rate increase. Now, I have an outstanding bill, have now been sent to collections, and in the past week, it has now shown up on my credit report...and nobody is willing to remedy this situation. In addition to all of this, there were several concerns I had brought to their attention that went unrecognized during my son's time there. For example, there was one day in which our child's diaper was only changed TWICE in the whole day he was there. He constantly had diaper rash that we couldn't get cleared up (until he STOPPED going there), he ended up getting a urinary tract infection (caused by ecoli) due to not being cleaned properly after a bowel movement, and there was one situation, which the pediatrician at our pediatrician's office even noted...where we just happened to pick up my son from daycare and go straight to the pediatrician for an appointment...when we got there, he kept saying owie and pointing to between his legs. When I changed his diaper, and showed the nurse, his foreskin had been pulled back so far/roughly by the daycare that he was BLEEDING.

Desired Settlement: I want the billing adjusted, and want the other information noted for BBB records.

Business Response:

Re: ******* *********

 

After investigating the situation and careful review of *** *********’s account, we are unable to adjust her balance.  *** ********* was notified, as was every parent in our program, of the February 2013 tuition increase via posted notices throughout the center as well as a letter to the parents placed in each child’s cubby.  (Please see attached letter.)  In fact, *** ********* discussed the tuition increase with the ******** in late February.  She also repeatedly received statements attached to her child’s cubby noting her outstanding balance.

 

Country Home’s tuition is charged every two weeks in advance and *** ********* did make a minimal payment toward each tuition period that occurred.  *** ********* also made eight additional payments of various amounts toward her ongoing balance during the time her child was enrolled.  *** ********* was aware that her minimal payments along with ACC’s supplement were not sufficient for the full balance. 

 

ACC supplemented *** **********’s tuition, which may have been based on her attendance at the community college.  ACC’s payments fluctuated from month to month and were paid in arrears.  Therefore it was incumbent on *** ********* to monitor payments made by ACC and determine her own responsibility toward her child’s tuition.

 

Please note that the rate increase during *** *********’s child’s enrollment resulted in a total of $117.00.  *** *********’s balance at the time of withdrawal was $360.29, therefore the majority of the unpaid balance was not even a result of the tuition increase.  Even without the tuition increase, *** *********’s account would not have been paid in full.

 

At the time *** ********* withdrew her child in May 2013, she acknowledged her remaining balance and stated she would pay the balance in several installments.  These payments were never received.

 

Prior to sending a balance to collections, Country Home mails notices on two separate occasions explaining that the balance is due, and if left unpaid, it will be sent to collections.  *** ********* never responded to either of these notices that were mailed to her.

 

Regarding *** *********’s comments on the quality of care, Country Home considers the care of each student as our utmost concern.  Had *** ********* informed us of any of her concerns at the time, we certainly would have addressed them.   This is the first knowledge we have received of her concerns.

 

*** ********* did attempt to re-enroll her child in August 2013 and was notified at that time that her prior balance had to be paid before her child could return.  *** ********* was unhappy that Country Home required the payment of the prior balance.

 

Due to the above circumstances, *** *********’s balance will remain as an active bad debt until paid.  It is our hope that she will do so and consider returning to our school. 

 

Thank you for your time and consideration.

 

Sincerely,

 

Country Home Learning Center

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1