Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bay Area Child Development

Additional Locations

Phone: (361) 857-6543 Fax: (361) 857-2622 5215 Embassy Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78411 http://www.bayareachild.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bay Area Child Development meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bay Area Child Development include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bay Area Child Development
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 2005 Business started: 03/03/1996 Business started locally: 03/03/1996 Business incorporated 10/04/1996 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
P.O. Box 149030, Austin TX 78714
www.dfps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 438-4800

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Anita May, President Ms. Joanne Amaya , Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Anita May, President
Business Category

Child Care Centers

Alternate Business Names
Bay Area Child Development, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bay Area Child Development has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4926 Greenwood Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78416 (361) 225-2002

  • 5215 Embassy Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78411 (361) 857-6543

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file a billing and service complaint against Bay Area Child Development. My son was enrolled in this Daycare facility for 4 days. I promptly removed him after witnessing disturbing behavior from the workers toward the children in their care. On the 1st occasion, June 12, 2013, I stopped in to watch my son on the monitors they have. I heard a worker yelling at a child from down the hall in the cafeteria, telling her to get out of her face, she doesnt want to see her right now, and to go sit in her timeout chair. Once she came around the corner, she saw me and lowered her voice and stopped degrading the child. The 2nd incidence occurred 2 days later when I was picking my son up from the facility. I was bent over tying my sons shoe, when I saw a different worker yelling at a small boy, literally 2 inches from his face, asking him why it was so hard to stand in line, and put his hands behind his back. She asked him if he was stupid and didnt understand her. I made my presence known by standing up, and she quickly lowered her tone and left him alone. I am appalled my the manner and tone these women are taking with these young children. I notified the staff that I was disturbed by the way the children were talked to by the workers there, and my son would not be returning the following Monday. I paid $190 for the 4 days of care, and feel I should not subject my son to these women, nor pay another cent to this facility. I was never billed, called or contacted about any outstanding fees, and am now being harrassed by a debt collector as this business has sent me to collections without so much as sending any invoices or letters stating an outstanding balance is due. I was never given any notice in writing or verbally stating I owed any money to this company, and am very upset with the professionalism as to how this company has handled this matter and my complaints to them.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account taken out of collections, and my debt to them cleared.

Business Response: BAY AREA CHILD DEVELOPMENT CENTER, INC.

September 4, 2013

To:     Whom It May Concern

Re: ******* * ****

Ms. ******* **** was given a copy of the parent handbook, which I
am supplying a copy to your offices, which she signed and acknowledged that she
read and understood our policies and procedures. The parent handbook
specifically states that the parent must give two weeks' notice, and that the
parent is responsible for the two weeks whether the child is attending or not.

Our billing is weekly to all parents, therefore submitting
invoices weekly is not feasible. When parents leave with no notice a statement
is mailed out usually about three weeks later. There was no return mail from
this client, subsequently the client was sent to collections.

Ms. **** did make a comment one time to our assistant director and
the issue was handled promptly. There weren't any another complaints or issues
brought to our attention. If she had notified us of this, corrective action
would have been taken immediately.

It is our policy to deal with parents immediately to handle any
situation expeditiously. We do not tolerate any teacher not following protocol.

Sincerely,

***** *** (owner)
***** * ***** **