Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Checks In The Mail, Inc.

Phone: (800) 733-4443 Fax: (800) 822-0005 View Additional Phone Numbers 2435 Goodwin Ln, New Braunfels, TX 78135 http://www.checksinthemail.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Checks In The Mail, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Checks In The Mail, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 7
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Checks In The Mail, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 8
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1995 Business started: 05/01/1993 Business started locally: 05/01/1993 Business incorporated 08/08/1995 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Terri Dodd, Quality Coordinator Mr. Don Dolan, CEO Mr. Robert Jones, Operations Manager Mr. Bob Madrid, Director of E-Commerce Gloriane Quintanilla, Senior Admin Asst
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Terri Dodd, Quality Coordinator
Related Businesses
Harland Clarke Corp.
Business Category

Checks - Printing

Alternate Business Names
Walmart Checks

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Checks In The Mail, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2435 Goodwin Ln

    New Braunfels, TX 78135 (800) 733-4443

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had several issues with this business's delivery and processing procedures for almost a month now. I ordered checks online from Checks in the Mail, Inc. (hereafter CITM) on April 10, 2016. My order number was ********. It was shipped on April 14, 2016, and I was provided with a tracking number for the package. I checked on the package every day, and it kept saying that the package was undeliverable as addressed. I contacted CITM a few times to discuss this issue, but they assured me it would be delivered. The tracking information then updated on April 20, 2016 to advise me that the package was being delivered back to Texas (where CITM is located) because it was undeliverable at my NY address. I called CITM and they assured me that the checks would be destroyed when they were delivered back to their TX headquarters. The representative processed a replacement order for me, which was supposed to be expedited and shipped to me overnight, deliverable on May 9, 2016. I never received tracking information for this order, but I continuously checked CITM's website for delivery information. The CITM website states that my second, replacement order was shipped on May 6, 2016. There is no further information available, and I was never provided with the courier's tracking number. I have called CITM every day for the last three (3) days, and I continue to receive conflicting information. Certain representatives told me that the package was not shipped yet, and others have told me that the second package was undeliverable. I do not understand what scam or agenda CITM is advancing, but this issue is IMMENSELY concerning. This is now TWO (2) packages of sensitive material that have mysteriously gone missing. My personal checking account information is at risk, and CITM does not seem to care. I have had no other issues with packages or mail being delivered to my address. It is an apartment building, with mailboxes downstairs in the lobby, and a super in the building. The mailbox may or may not have fit the checks from CITM, but the couriers are often allowed to go upstairs to leave the packages at my apartment door. I have never had an issue with deliveries to this magnitude. Additionally, every time I contact CITM to resolve this issue, the representatives place me on hold for 20-30 minutes while "researching my issue." I have never had such poor customer service or problems getting a single answer from a company in years. This company is horrible.

Desired Settlement: I would like my checks to ACTUALLY be delivered promptly and with tracking information that I can track efficiently. I also want a refund of my purchase price. The distress and anguish I have had to experience while dealing with CITM should warrant my order to be free of charge.

Business Response: Our records show that Ms. *******'s original order was actually returned to us by USPS stating "attempted unknown" on 5-10-16 at 10:52 am.  Her replacement order was shipped on 5/9 via UPS OVERNITE delivery as a courtesy and UPS tracking ****************** shows confirmed delivery on Wenesday, 5/11/2016 at 12:18 pm.  We regret the concerns that Ms. ******* experienced over the delivery of her check order.  We have called her and left a message stating we have also processed her refund in full.  We requested that she let us know if she did indeed receive her replacement check order.  We mentioned that she could let the BBB know as well.  Thank you for the opportunity to research and resolve the customer's complaint.

1/14/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered personal checks from walmartchecks.com. Package arrived containing another person's checks from another state. Still have no idea where my checks went, so I had to close my account.

Desired Settlement: I want the now invalid checks delivered to me, full reimbursement of charges, plus all expenses I'll have to pay to fix this mess Walmart caused, as well as compensation for the headaches and inconveniences.

Business Response: This will be an initial response as this will take a few days to bring to a close and we want to make note this complaint was file prior to us identifying the whereabouts of Mrs. ***** order.  Walmart Checks does regret that an error with the shipping labels caused Mrs. ********** ***** worry and inconvenience.  Our company takes these concerns seriously and we immediately began to research the situation.  We have spoken to Mrs. ***** as well as with her husband by phone.  We also sent an email today confirming that we had located their checks and provided direct contact information to our Quality Coordinator.  As discussed with her, a refund has been processed to her credit card for her order and we have offered to reimburse her the cost of new checks through the bank.  We have already taken steps to provide feedback and document accountability for this error.  At this time we are still coordinating with both customers impacted to resolve promptly and completely.  We appreciate the efforts and understanding of both parties.  We will update the BBB upon satisfactory resolution. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Only When I receive the complete refund and fees incurred to Open a new checking and order checks

Regards,

********** *****

12/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought checks from this business about 5 to 6 months ago. They have been sending numerous daily emails since then. I have unsubscribed to this business on 4 occasions. I have the unsubscribe confirmation to prove it. They have sent me 3 emails today. I am being harrassed at this point. I want it to stop today! I will never purchase from this business again. This is pure harassment.

Desired Settlement: I never want them to contact me again

Business Response: ******,

Thank you for your diligence in contacting me.  I am concerned as you mentioned leaving a voice mail for me but I did not have one saved.  Please accept my apologies for the delay on this as we have had internal changes in both our phone systems and emails.  I will let you know if we need to make changes to what you have on record.

I would like to update you on the status of the below complaint for **** ******.

Our records indicate that she contacted us on November 11th and she informed us of a situation on her account and that she was receiving numerous emails from Checks In The Mail.  Our customer service representative noted this and removed her email address.  She contacted us again on November 25 thand our customer service representative ensured the removal of her email address so that she would not receive any emails.

I have personally reached out to our Ms. ****** and left a message providing my direct phone number so she can confirm the problem was resolved.  I am still researching this issue with our Marketing and ECommerce Departments to find out exactly what happened.  I would like the opportunity to discuss fully the details of her order and her concerns.  I have processed a credit to her American Express Card for her order and will reach out to her again.  I will update the BBB on any further communications.

Please let me know if you need anything else.

Regards,



***** ****
Call Center Support Specialist
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
************

3/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered checks from the company at checksinthemail.com. When I submitted my order everything was correct and the final billing was $34.00. When they send me the email confirmation the information is incorrect and the total charge is now $50. The company's website is incorrect with the hours of operation. When you try to call you get an automated system that gives you a run around and no matter when you call the customer service department is closed. There is no where online where you can cancel or change an order. This is total false advertisement and fraud and I am not paying these people a dime.

Desired Settlement: I am not paying a dime to these people and want them investigated.

Business Response: Hello ****, 

I wanted to upate you on this complaint. 


We had originally reached out to *** ***** on 3/6/15 and left a message.   Today we were able to speak with him directly confirm that he received his order of checks.  We briefly discussed his concerns regarding the pricing on the order which included a special font for $3.98, handling of $5.90 and the trackable delivery for $7.95 that he was unaware of.  Although these charges are provided on the web-site during the ordering process, we have forwarded his comments to our E-Commerce team to review the click through online for clarity to the consumer. 

*** ***** has agreed to receive the $16 refund electronically.  We have processed the request and he should see it post in the next 3 business days.  We appreciate the opportunity to engage with our customers and look forward to serving Mr. ******* ***** in the future. 


Regards, 

***** **** **** ****** ******* ********** ******* ****** ****** ******** ************

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I checked with an online CS agent prior to ordering my checks to verify they were "side" tear. When I rec'd the checks they were "top" tear. Below is the string of e-mails basically stating "too bad so sad" the agent misinformed me--my problem not theirs! Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for contacting Checks in the Mail. Unfortunately the product code used to order your checks with was for top tear checks. You used product code D/N6 and the side tear code is STD/PR. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance. We appreciate your business! **********Please Include original message with reply************* Thank you,**** Checks In The Mail Customer Sales & Service, ********************************************************* Thank you for choosing Checks In The Mail! Checks In The Mail **** *** ****** *** ********** ** ***** ###-###-#### Customer Sales & Service ###-###-#### FAX ****************************** *************************************************************** To: *************, Date: 02/21/2015 04:03 PM Subject: CITM Contact Us - Order Inquiry Date & Time: 2/21/2015 16:03 Regarding: Order Inquiry Comments: Hi! I used your on-line CS help before placing my web order to verify the design I selected was "SIDE" tear instead of "TOP" tear. Order was placed on 2/7 Can you help me figure out why I was sent a top tear when the agent stated otherwise? PS My last checks were also National Parks "side tear" and ordered from CITM. Thanks,

Desired Settlement: 1) Replace the checks 2) Hold your on-line CS agents accountable 3) Display better product descriptions--have a picture or wording that clearly indicates whether it is top or side tear.

Business Response: Hi! I had filed a complaint on 2/23/2015 against Checks In The Mail that is now resolved. (**** ******* *** *** ********** ** *****) The ID # is ********. CITM agreed to replace the incorrect checks at N/C. Can you mark this complaint as now complete? Also, is there a way to post a comment with the complaint stating the situation was successfully resolved? Thank you so much! ***** 

Consumer Response: Name: ***** ****
Email Address: ****************

Subject: Dispute Resolution Assistance
Comments: Hi! I had filed a complaint on 2/23/2015 against Checks In The Mail that is now resolved. (**** ******* *** *** ********** ** *****) The ID # is ********. CITM agreed to replace the incorrect checks at N/C. Can you mark this complaint as now complete? Also, is there a way to post a comment with the complaint stating the situation was successfully resolved? Thank you so much! ***** 
Sent on: 3/18/2015 6:42:24 PM

 

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been a customer for several years. I ordered 2 boxes of duplicate checks March 1, 2014. My total bill was $31.52 w/handling. I had been using the checks until September 2014 when I was notified by my bank that the account number was wrong/off 1 digit. I requested original order documentation to see if I made the error when inputting the wrong account number or if CITM printed them incorrectly. They did not supply me with this info. I had to destroy 4 books of checks.

Desired Settlement: I want to know/see my original order with them with the info. I entered to verify who's mistake it was. If it was theirs I want to be reimbursed.

Business Response: Hello ****, 

I was able to finally speak to ****** ***** and resolve her situation.   

****** had placed an order on Checks In The Mail's web-site March 1, 2014.  Because her order was so old, we had to have the information from her order pulled by our Technical Support Department.  The file shows that ****** had submitted her order with a typo in the account number.  Although we have the approval online and an inspection notice in the order, the incorrect checks were used.  She reached out for assistance when it was discovered  by her bank the account was incorrect and that she needed to have new checks printed.  I apologized that she did not receive a courtesy replacement order at that time. 

When I spoke with her on Tuesday of last week, she confirmed that she did not incur any fees as a result of the error.  Since, the order of checks she received from us were not able to be used any longer, Checks In The Mail refunded the full amount of $31.52 electronically into her correct account number on 1/27/15.  In summary, ****** ***** has been a customer for many years and we wanted to make it right for her in this instance.  We look forward to serving her in the future. 


Thank you 




***** **** **** ****** ******* **********
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
************

9/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CITM states on their website that my checks were shipped on 8/7/14. I live less than 200 miles from CITM's production place. Anything I were to mail there would take less than 2 days for delivery, yet, here it is a week later and I have not seen my checks. Yes, I chose untrackable as I have many other times with another account through CITM and never had an issue with getting my checks within a week (the fast paced delivery was always a plus for my choice to use them!). When speaking to customer service this is what I was told. "I'm sorry, we can't help you, you chose untrackable." I'm sorry, if you don't have them by the 25th, call us back". When I explained that I was within 200 miles, and it should not take 14 days, they did not respond. The customer service rep also told me "because you chose untrackable, your checks (2 boxes) are shipping separately". AM I BEING PUNISHED for not paying $8 for trackable shipment? I then asked to speak to a *******. I was first told that I couldn't, they were busy. When mentioning that I was on this site, I was connected to a ******* within a few minutes. We went through the same thing as above, "because I chose untrackable". The ******* even told me "if I was a customer, I would always pay for the trackable delivery". Well, I didn't. so tell me where my checks are. They have NO WAY to even know for themselves. When I said "I understand that I'm at fault for being the cheap one who opted out of trackable shipment. don't send me a link to a package tracer, but for you not to know where my package is, just ship out someone's money like that and pretty much say 'hope it gets there'", that is unethical, especially when you're in the business of handling people's MONEY! He had nothing to say to that. He then offered me a refund and to reorder. WHY would I need to refund and reorder? I have 2 boxes of checks out there that someone could be using. I want those checks. And now, I sit and wait until August 25th to see if they arrive (and I have an account that I have no access to!)

Business Response: Checks In The Mail has reached out to *** and **** ********** to inquire whether the checks in question were received.  *** ********** was to call back if not received by the maximum allowed shipping time for bulk mail which was by 8-25-14.  Since we have not heard back, we believe the order was delivered.  We did leave a message that we would like to follow up with her personally to discuss her concerns and confirm that her checks were not still unaccounted for.  Checks In The Mail takes security seriously and offers a variety of trackable deliveries as well as security features and services to alleviate some of the concerns that face the consumer in today's environment. 

We took the time to review *** **********'s call for feedback opportunities to our service center in handling her situation as well as the details of her communication.  We did identify that she was offered a reprinted box of checks at the next sequence as to monitor the missing check numbers for security.  She was also offered a refund if she felt unsatisfied with the service or delivery.  She chose neither  option as she was more concerned about locating her current order of checks.  Although we stress the trackable delivery method, many customers do not use it and have encountered no delays.  *** ********** herself stated that she has had many orders with standard delivery and never experienced a problem. 

I have provided my direct phone number for ****** ********** to contact me.  I would still be happy to review her concerns, discuss our service and offer my assistance to her. 



Regards 

***** ****
Call Center Support Specialist

 

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried repeatedly to remove the emails that come from this company. I have unsubscribed and I have complained to them directly to know avail. I get emails more than twice a day. How many checks can someone use? IF you order from the company they will hound you via email and not respond to your requests. There is no email or phone number to contact them directly that I could find on the email they send me.

Desired Settlement: STOP sending me emails

Business Response: Hello ****, 

Thank you for bringing this complaint to my attention. 

In researching *** ******'s complaint, I found that he has two profiles set up in our system,  The more recent file under his name shows that we had set him up NOT to receive any emails and even removed his email address.  However, I also found a second profile that is under ***** and ******** ****** which was not updated.  Therefore, I have set it up for NO communications, as well as removed the email address.  I have also forwarded his information to our Marketing Department to double check their records. 

I contacted *** ****** today to let him know my findings.  He did say that he has not received any promotions for a few weeks.  The email address he had provided for his orderwas to his business and we understand why he would not want that used for informing him of our promotions.  I appreciated his input and asked that he contact me if he has any future emails so that I can research the problem immediately. 

My direct phone number for his reference is ************. 



Regards, 
***** ****
**** ****** ******* **********
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
************

 

Business Response: Hello ****, 

Thank you for bringing this complaint to my attention. 

In researching *** ******'s complaint, I found that he has two profiles set up in our system,  The more recent file under his name shows that we had set him up NOT to receive any emails and even removed his email address.  However, I also found a second profile that is under ***** and ******** ****** which was not updated.  Therefore, I have set it up for NO communications, as well as removed the email address.  I have also forwarded his information to our Marketing Department to double check their records. 

I contacted *** ****** today to let him know my findings.  He did say that he has not received any promotions for a few weeks.  The email address he had provided for his orderwas to his business and we understand why he would not want that used for informing him of our promotions.  I appreciated his input and asked that he contact me if he has any future emails so that I can research the problem immediately. 

My direct phone number for his reference is ************. 



Regards, 
***** ****
**** ****** ******* **********
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
************

 

7/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 8 boxes of checks from Check In Mail on April 07, 2014 and sent in a money order for $47 dollars. My checks were never sent, and I went to the post office to have them look into the money order that I had sent. I was informed that Heartland Corporation had in fact cashed the money order on April 15, 2014. When I contacted them, they said that they do not accept money orders and I had to pay them $51.32 dollars over the phone on May 13, 2014 for the same product. I still have not received any checks, and they are refusing to refund the $47 from the money order that they cashed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the 8 boxes of checks that I paid for, and also a refund of the original $47 dollars that I paid them and the $6.10 that I had to pay the post office to investigate the situation, since I had to pay them an additional $51.32 dollars for the same 8 boxes of checks over the phone.

Business Response: ******* & **** ****,

I have contacted ****** ******** today and we are working on getting the records together to get her a refund for the cashed money order of $47 & the $6.10 that the post office charged her  for an inquiry.  She did receive a complete order from us and I am going to follow up with a resolution on Monday.  I will contact the customer and send a follow-up email.

Thank you

***** ****
Call Center Support Specialist
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
###-###-####

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They displayed a SPECIAL on their website.: "Reorder today & save 20% plus free S&H". (May 16, 2014 about noon Los Angeles time.) I placed a reorder and was charged for shipping and handling. I was told by representatives that the free S&H only applies to the normal everyday free shipping and handling. I have printed copies of their website with two specials. The second special states ;New customer special offer......PLUS free standard shipping and handling. If I was new to their website and saw reorder special for today I would not be aware of their tiered pricing.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement is for them to stop the misleading advertising.

Business Response:

Hello ****,

The images from our web-site at checksinthemail.com for the two identified specials are below.  Both show that Shipping & Handling is free for "standard" shipping.  The reason Mr. ****** was charged is because standard delivery was not chosen.  His online reorder shows the upgraded "trackable" delivery method.   On 5/30/14, our Call Center Supervisor, Stephanie, spoke with Mr. ****** regarding his concerns which were addressed at that time; however, he informed us that he had already filed the complaint pertaining to the offer not specifying which shipping is free.

In this case, we feel because Mr. ****** obviously wanted the special, we processed a refund for the trackable delivery method plus tax for a total of $8.67 to his Paypal account.  This credit transaction should show in the next 5 to 7 business days.   The order indicates he was not charged for handling ($2.95 a box) and that it was actually discounted $6.00.  We are forwarding Mr. ******'s comments and this order as an example to our E-Commerce Team for consideration.

We hope this information helps clarify any questions and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to any inquiry or concern.

  •  
  • Special #1





  • Special #2






Regards,


***** ****
Customer Quality Coordinator

Checks In The Mail
###-###-####



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

3/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered checks and a check book cover from this company. I received my checks but I did not receive my check book cover that I paid for. I went to their website and complained three times and have never received a response even though they say they will respond within 48 hours.

Desired Settlement: I just want my check book cover I ordered and paid for.

Business Response:

***** ****** emailed Checks In The Mail stating that she did not receive her checkbook cover with her check order.  On 2/5 our representative emailed asking whether she wanted a refund or a replacement sent.  On 2/6 we were notified to send her a replacement cover.  Our Quality Department contacted her on 3/7 and she confirmed receipt of the checkbook cover.  We are sorry for the inconvenience and have provided feedback to the departments that contributed to her service issues. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

3/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered checks on 02/04/14 order # ********. I still have not received my checks. Calls for assistance have very long hold time. I sent an email 3 days ago and have had no response. I not only need my checks I am concerned where they might be.

Desired Settlement: delivery of orders ASAP or refund.

Business Response: Checks in the Mail researched the order for ******* ******** and found the order shipped standard USPS mail on 2/11.  When we contacted her on 2/25, she had stated she never received the package.  We have replaced her order and sent it *** ******** to ensure receipt.  We printed her checks at the next sequence in case the original order arrives as well as she can monitor the check series for security reasons.

UPS tracking showed her replacement order was delivered on 3/4.  We contacted ******* to confirm she did indeed get the 2nd order of checks.  She stated she received them but has still not received her original order.  We told her to please let us know if there is anything else that she needs in regards to the missing shipment.  We also took the opportunity to research and present training feedback to our call center referencing the complaints on prompt service responses.  We thank her for her patience while we resolved her concerns.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered and paid for checks in May 2013. No checks arrived. We tried to contact Checks in the Mail by phone. no answer even when waiting on hold for more than 20 minutes several times. Contacted by email and told them we had not received our checks as ordered. Their web pages says that they will get back to us in 48 hours with a reply. The responded asking us to verify our name, address, etc. We thought that they would get back to us but no reply even when we contacted them by email

Desired Settlement: They can either refund our money or provide the checks as ordered.

Business Response:

Checks In The Mail has attempted to research our records to determine what exactly occurred with the order for *** * **** ********* and any service requests during that time.  However, due to the original date being in May of 2013 we are unable to obtain all the details.

We would like to inform the Better Business Bureau that we did replace the check order for **** * ****** ********* as was requested on 1/20/2014.  We shipped the order trackable at our expense to ensure receipt.  I reached out to confirm this and ****** ********* stated she received the package on 1/28/2014.  She appreciated the follow-up call and is satisfied.  We discussed our new packaging which she was originally unaware of.  We look forward to serving them in the future.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *********

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ordered from checks in the mail some address labels and they can not find my order but charged my *** *** account for 23.20 im requesting a refund

Desired Settlement: refund and make them fix there phones all they do is ring and hang up on you for weeks now

Business Response: Our records show that both labels Ms. ***** ordered had shipped on 9/24/13.  We confirmed that the address is the same that was provided in the BBB complaint.  We attempted to speak with her on 10/2/13 but had to leave a message with her father.  We called her again today since we had not had a response yet, but again had to leave a message with her father.   We regret not being able to speak with her directly, so this time we provided a direct line that she could call to eliminate any hold time and she can leave a message.  We stated that we wanted to know if she eventually received her labels.  Because we were unable to determine the outcome, we have submitted a refund request through her ****** account for the total amount of the order $23.20.

We have forwarded her complaint regarding the phone lines to our technical support team.  We were unaware of any issues other than a possible hold time a bit longer than normal due to the time of year. 

We hope this information reaches Ms. ***** and that should she have any other questions, she would please contact us.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered checks online on 10/5/13 (internet order number ***********). When I checked on the order status on 10/14/13, the order was not found. I sent an e-mail questioning my order & got an e-mail response that a Customer Service representative would respond to me within 24 hours. Did not happen. I sent another e-mail on 10/15/13 with the same results. I finally called today & talked to *****. He told me my order was cancelled because the design that I ordered was discontinued & I would have to pick a different one. Why didn't someone let me know that I needed to change my order. I ordered from this company because of the reviews I read online before I placed my order. I will not order from this company. I ordered checks from another company.

Desired Settlement: Improve customer service.

Business Response:

***** ***** had ordered online and it went on hold for the design no longer in stock.  We sent email notifications every other day.  However, when reviewing the BBB complaint we noticed that the email address we have on file from the online order has a letter missing.  This may be the reason she was unaware of the situation.  We have updated her email in our records. 

Although, she had originally cancelled the order, one of our Supervisors offered to process her order on another design with a courtesy discount for the delay and inconvenience.  Her original web order total was $36.25 and the discounted order total was $12.83.

Our records show her order has shipped today 10/25/13 and she will receive it through our Secure-Trackable delivery.  We hope this is satisfactory to *** ***** and if she needs any assistance, she can contact me, ***** ****, directly at ************.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

After review, I did leave a number out of my e-mail address on the original online order on 10/5, but they did have my telephone number if they wanted to contact me. Also, they did have my corrected e-mail address when I contacted them by e-mail on 10/14 and 10/15 with a reply from them that someone would contact me within 24 hours, which did not happen.

Everything is okay now.

Regards,

***** *****

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company printed the wrong account number. Therefore, checks that were written were returned and there are fees involved with that.

Desired Settlement: Returned fees involved paid for by the company.

Business Response: Our records indicate that ***** ******* ******* placed an order on our web-site 8/7/13.  We were informed that the account number was incorrect and had caused a check to be returned and that she incurred a fee as a result of that error.  Although, the order was done online, we processed a refund to the credit card for the amount of 10.84 for the order on 9/4/13.  We then contacted our customer to obtain the documentation for the returned check fee.  We received a scan by email which confirmed the fee was actually $12 not the higher amount she originally thought.  We have mailed the refund check #***** to her address we have on file.  We hope that this experience does not deter her from giving us another opportunity in the future.

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON AUGUST 16, 2013, I ORDERED TWO BOXES OF CHECKS. I PAID AN EXTRA $25 TO HAVE THE CHECKS DELIVERED BY THE 23. CHECKS IN THE MAIL GAVE UPS THE WRONG ADDRESS. AFTER THE CHECKS BEING LATE, I CONTACTED CITM ON THE 25TH TO FIND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. I WAS E MAILED, BECAUSE NO ONE ANSWERS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE, THAT THE CORRECT ADDRESS WAS NEEDED. CITM HAD THE CORRECT ADDRESS ALL ALONG. AFTER COUNTLESS UNANSWERED E-MAILS AND PHONE CALLS, I FINALLY REACHED SOMEONE THROUGH A LIVE CHAT ON SEPTEMBER 3, 2013. I WAS PROMISED THE CHECKS WOULD BE RE-SHIPPED THAT DAY. I REQUESTED A UPS TRACKING NUMBER. I CHECKED MY E-MAIL SEPTEMBER 4, 2013 AT 8 AM. NO TRACKING NUMBER. I SPOKE WITH RONI ON A LIVE CHAT WHO CONFIRMED THAT THE CHECKS STILL HADN'T BEEN MAILED OUT, BUT PROMISED THEY WOULD BE OVERNIGHTED TO ME AND I WOULD RECEIVE THEM ON SEPTEMBER 5, 2013. IT'S ALMOST NOON AND I STILL HAVEN'T RECEIVED ANY TRACKING NUMBERS OR ANY CORRESPONDENCE REGARDING THE "RE-SHIPPING" OF MY ORDER. I HAVE BEEN PROMISED THREE TIMES THAT THE CHECKS WOULD BE SHIPPED. STILL WAITING.

Desired Settlement: I REALLY JUST WANT THE CHECKS. AN APOLOGY WOULD BE NICE, OR AN EXPLANATION, BUT OVERALL, I AM IN DESPERATE NEED OF MY CHECKS I ORDERED THREE WEEKS AGO!

Business Response: We had fulfilled the order for Ms. ****** correctly; however, when UPS had the package out for delivery they noted there was no house number and returned the package to our facility on 9/4/13. The package was reshipped to her on that same day.  Unfortunately, reshipped packages are manually processed and our system does not update the tracking information to be available to the customer.

We contacted Ms. ****** by phone and she confirmed receipt of her order.  We also informed her that we have processed a refund for the extra charge she paid to Overnite her checks.  She should see the credit of $25.93 post to her credit card in the next few days.

We are very sorry for the confusion with our delivery carrier and have made note of the complaint with UPS as well.   We hope the delay did not  cause inconvenience with her personal finances.  Checks In the Mail hopes that we are given another opportunity in the future.

Thank you 


***** ****
Call Center Support Specialist
Harland Clarke Retail Channels
************


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

9/10/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two boxes of checks on 7/9/13 and paid the extra fee for a track-able order. My order # is: ***********. I paid with check #**** in the amount of $41.83 (cleared the bank on 7/11/13). I immediately received a confirmation e-mail explaining that my order was being prepared for processing and that I would receive another e-mail with a tracking number once the order shipped. I never received this e-mail, but after about a week I received box #2 of 2 with an explanation that the other part of the order may take several business days to arrive. I waited a full week, and did not receive the other 1/2 of the order. On 7/20/13, I sent an e-mail explaining that I hadn't received part of my order and that I was worried that the checks had been misdirected, and possibly delivered to someone else. I explained that I had paid for tracking, but had never been given access to a tracking number. I asked that someone let me know how I can track the order. On about 07/23/13, I received another e-mail that my order was being prepared for processing and that I would receive an e-mail with a tracking number when the order was complete. Again, I never received any e-mail with the tracking number, but on 7/24/13 I received an e-mail from the customer service agent that said the issue had been taken care of and thanks for my business. I responded that I was surprised to hear that the issue was handled, since my question hadn't been answered. I asked again for the tracking information, and in response I received tracking information on the re-print order, not the original order. The CSR explained that there had been a manufacturing issue, so the checks were re-printed. I asked for confirmation that the missing checks had never left the manufacturing facility, but didn't get a response. On 8/5/13, I called the customer service number. After 27 minutes on hold waiting to speak to someone, I finally reached a woman whose name I cannot recall. I explained the situation and told her I wanted to know what happened to the original checks that were not delivered. Three times her response to my question was with regard to the re-print order (that it had been delivered on 7/25 and 7/29). I explained that I had received the re-print order, but that I still needed to know what happened to the original box of checks that didn't get delivered. I wanted to know if they had ever left the facility, and if they had been tracked as "delivered." After several tries, the answer I received was that track-able orders are packed as one order, so the tracking information they have is for the entire order as a whole, which indicated that it was delivered. She said that the box I never received MAY have been left out of the order on accident. So, essentially, I paid for tracking, but no tracking is actually available. The best that can be done is "it MAY have never left the manufacturing facility." Her advice was to contact my bank and ask them to "watch" for the checks to ensure that I am the one that passed them. I contacted my bank and the only remedy is to stop payment on the range of checks that was originally missing. This will cost me an additional $20.00 to ensure that my checking account is not emptied by people who MAY have several books of my checks.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund for 1/2 of my order (about $20.00) since I only received 1/2 of the original order and the re-print I received is useless. I would also like to receive a reimbursement for the $20.00 fee that I am being charged by my bank so that I can secure my checking account. Finally, and most importantly, I would like the company to honor their promise of "tracking" when they sell a "track-able" delivery. This means, that there should be a record of every step in the process of manufacturing and shipping merchandise, as well as dealing with manufacturing issues and returned items. This information should be available to the customer without the customer having to ask for it, and certainly it should be available once the customer does ask for it.

Business Response: Checks In The Mail takes great pride in our service and products.  We researched he issue that caused confusion with ********* ******** order and went over the process in detail with her by telephone today.  There are training opportunities for improving our communications and we are forwarding to our Call Center Supervisors and Manufacturing Managers to assist in distributing these to our associates.  We appreciate Mrs. ******** willilngness to understand what happened with her order and apologize for the worry and inconvenience she experienced.  She did confirm receiving her full order.  However, she had already paid for a stop payment of $20 on her delayed box of checks through her bank.  As a result, she cannot use the sequential numbers in her first box.  We have processed an electronic refund for the full amount of her order of $41.83.  We have also processed a complimentary box of checks in order to make amends for her experience.  We look forward to her satisfactory resolution in this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on Checks In The Mail, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart