Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Sunset Funeral Home

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 828-2811 Fax: (210) 822-7521 View Additional Phone Numbers 1701 Austin Hwy, San Antonio, TX 78218

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunset Funeral Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunset Funeral Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962 Business incorporated 12/30/1999 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Banking
2601 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
Phone Number: (877) 276-5554

Texas Funeral Service Commission
333 Guadalupe St # 2-110, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (888) 667-4881
Fax Number: (512) 479-5064

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Victor Lindstrom Victor Lindstrom, General Manager Mr. Manny Aleman, General Manager Mr. Steve Basset, Market Manager Mr. Jim Geeslin, Marketing Manager Mr. Terry Goleman, Manager Mr. Hardy Henderson, Manager Ms. Nancy Lew, Manager Ms. Patricia Prado, Manager Danny Rodriguez, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Victor Lindstrom
Principal: Victor Lindstrom, General Manager
Business Category

Cemeteries Cremation Services Funeral Directors Funeral Related Services Funeral Homes Monuments

Alternate Business Names
Colonial Funeral Home Funeraria Del Angel Trevino-1 Funeraria Del Angel Trevino-2 Roy Akers Zizik-Kearns Funeral Chapels SCI Texas Funeral Services Inc Sunset Memorial Flower Shop Sunset Memorial Park Sunset North Funeral Home Sunset Northwest Funeral Home

Additional Locations


    1701 Austin Hwy

    San Antonio, TX 78218 (210) 828-4721 (210) 828-2811


    226 Cupples Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78237 (210) 434-0595


    2525 Palo Alto Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78211 (210) 924-5801


    515 N. Main

    San Antonio, TX 78205 (210) 226-7201


    625 Kitty Hawk Rd

    Universal City, TX 78148 (210) 658-7037


    6321 Bandera Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78238 (210) 521-2111


    910 North Loop 1604 E.

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 495-7770


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ******** *** ******* San Antonio, Texas **** ****** 210-******** December 31, 2014 The Better Business Bureau *** ******* San Antonio, Texas ***** TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: Attached is a copy of a letter I wrote to the Manager of Sunset Funeral Park. I went there in September to arrange for a pre-paid cremation for myself. Instead of peace of mind because I thought that I had taken care of something that I did not want to burden my sons with, I had three months of stress and I don't wish that on anybody else who wants to make it easier for their loved ones. After more than three months, I received a life insurance policy from a company I had not heard of before. My total payment of $2,698.00 was charged to my credit card. Then, a month later, it was credited back to my credit card account without me being notified. I only saw that nearly a month later, when I received my statement from Citibank. Another month later, that amount was deducted from my credit card account without notification from anybody, and again I only found out when I received my credit card statement. I finally received an insurance policy, and that really upset me. There was a contract included that was dated 12/8/2014. I never saw or signed anything on December 8, 2014. I called American Memorial to cancel the policy. I have nothing against American Memorial, but if I had wanted an insurance policy, I would have gone to an insurance agent and not to a funeral park. What Cindy Smith did should not happen to anyone. Even though I am 76, my mind is clear and I know what is right or wrong. I know that a contract cannot be rewritten without both sides seeing and signing it. Either the dates were changed without my knowledge, or somebody else signed my signature.

Desired Settlement: After all this, I have to start the process all over, but it will not be by going to Sunset Funeral Park. I would appreciate if you could let me know how to go about that.

Business Response: As the General Manager of Sunset Memorial Park, I wish to thank
Ms. ******** for bringing her recent experience with a Sunset employee to my
attention.  I am disturbed by the allegations and can assure Ms. ********
and the Better Business Bureau that Sunset deems the alleged conduct
unacceptable under any circumstance.  If proven true, such conduct will
not be tolerated and we will take appropriate action.  Due to the serious
nature of Ms. ********’s complaint, I have forwarded it to our Corporate
Security team for an independent, complete and thorough investigation. 
Once Corporate Security has completed and closed the investigation, we will
report our findings directly to Ms. ******** and, again, take any appropriate
action to resolve this complaint to her satisfaction. 

Thank You.   

****** ******

General Manager

Consumer Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

thank you for sending me the latest message.  It sounds so nice that he Mr. ****** wants to resolve everything to my satisfaction, and how insulting to suggest that what I said might not be true.  Why would I want to cause myself so much trouble and invent something like what happened?

Attached is the letter that I delivered to Mr. ******'s front desk today.  I really would like this to be over and done with.  Thank you for keeping me informed.

Business Response: February 3, 2015


Via Overnight Mail




Antonio, Texas 7****


Re:      Sunset
Memorial Park


Ms. ********:


Please allow this letter to
serve as a follow up to your letter dated January 21, 2015, as well as the
concerns you previously raised in your complaint letter regarding your
experience with Sunset Memorial Park.  As
a preliminary matter, it was certainly never my intent to make “things worse
instead of better” by responding to the Better Business Bureau.  As you know, you made very serious and very
disturbing allegations against a Sunset employee warranting a thorough and
complete investigation.  I’m sure you can
also appreciate the fact that the accused employee deserved an opportunity to
defend herself.  Due to the serious
nature, I forwarded your complaint to our Corporate Security Department to
conduct the investigation.  The BBB
required a response to your complaint by a certain deadline, so Sunset was
forced to respond to the BBB before Corporate Security completed its
investigation.  Having not been part of
the investigation still ongoing at that time, I was in no position to verify or
confirm your allegations.  I was not
suggesting you were not reporting the truth and I was not trying to insult you
in any way.  I simply was not aware of
the findings of the investigation until it was concluded in the days following our
initial response to the BBB. 


I appreciate your patience
while we investigated, and now that the investigation has closed, I wish to
thank you again for bringing your concerns to my attention.  While Ms. ***** has repeatedly and adamantly
denied the allegations, we have concluded that what we learned in the
investigation supports your allegations of what occurred.  We take these matters very seriously and
cannot tolerate the accused conduct.  Ms.
***** is no longer a Sunset employee and should have no further contact with
you as a representative of Sunset.  I, on
behalf of Sunset sincerely apologize for the stress and difficulties you have
experienced with Sunset.  It is always
our top priority to ensure every family we serve is satisfied with every aspect
of the services we provide.  I deeply
regret that this goal was not met with you. 


It is my understanding that
American Memorial Life has provided you with all of the paperwork necessary to
cancel any policy you may still have with them. 
If there is anything I can assist you with in that regard, please let me
know.  While I also understand that you
do not wish to continue any arrangements with Sunset, please feel free to
contact me if I may be of any further assistance. 







****** ******

General Manager


Consumer Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

thank you for sending me a copy of the letter that you received from Mr. ******.  I have received the original via UPS yesterday morning.  Last week I also received an e-mail msg from ***** *****.  It's such a sweet letter, and it made me feel bad for her.   But then I thought, she could have contacted me after she had received the copy of the letter I had sent to Mr. ******.  She had not done that.  On the same day , I also received a letter from American Memorial saying that they will return the funds to my credit card account and that they will inform me when that has been done.  Why they could not just do the refund instead of hanging on to it, I don't understand.  However, what they mentioned trying to contact Ms ***** unsuccessfully, made me wonder who is telling the truth.  Hopefully, they fired the right person - the one who created a new contract without my knowledge.  I just hope that this story is over soon and that nobody else has to have an experience like I had. 


I am attaching the letter I mentioned above.  Thank you for working on this.  Have a great day.


***** ********

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable