Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1930 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1930 Business incorporated 10/11/1978 in TX
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Thomas W. Munroe, President Ms. Karla Smith, Vice-President Mr. Richard S Aijian, Managing Partner Mr. John Garza, Manager Mr. Brian Reavis, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas W. Munroe, President
Principal: Ms. Karla Smith, Vice-President
Related Businesses
Incredible Rugs and Decor
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Oriental Rug Gallery Oriental Rug Gallery LP Rug Studio The Studio

Additional Locations

  • 12801 Hill Country Blvd Ste 105

    Bee Caves, TX 78738

  • 602 NW Loop 410 Ste 103

    San Antonio, TX 78216

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a rug via the internet thru Rug Studio on Friday 2/26. Purchase price ($351.20) was applied to my Visa charge card within 2 hrs. of me placing the order. Per Rug Studio's "policy," they then considered the order as "processed" and would not honor my request for cancellation of this order. Three days later the rug was subsequently shipped to me by ******** in Savannah/Pooler, GA. I refused delivery and had the rug returned to ********. In addition to the $351.20 charge for the rug, Rug Studio now has a pending charge of $130.+ on my Visa for "re-stocking and shipping fees". Rug Studio never had this rug in their stock/possession to begin with, nor did they ship it. Rug Studio would not honor my request to cancel my order, and now they will not honor my requests to withdraw their re-stock and shipping charges that are now pending on my Visa.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $351.20 charge for the rug which is now back in the hands of the supplier, ******** in Savannah/Pooler, GA. Also, withdrawal of Rug Studio's pending charge of $130. ($70 for re-stocking and $60 for shipping) from my Visa charge card.

Business Response: Per our FAQ page and conversation with customer, it is impossible to cancel an order once it has been processed for shipment as her was. We sent her and email with this information and I am attaching mutiple screen shots from our policy page where we clearly state this fact. We did inquire as to whether or not the order could be stopped but the warehouse had already processed it and put it on a truck. We did send the cusotmer return instructions for receiving a full refund, however, customer did not comply. I'm sorry but the charges that the manufacturer applied to her refused shipment have to be passed on to her. Thank you

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

The information provided you by Rug Studio does not appear accurate.  They charged my charge card within two hours of receiving my order on 2/26 and called the order "processed".  The rug was not shipped from Safaveit's Pooler, GA warehouse until three days later (after I had requested order cancellation).

I sent Rug Studio an e-mail inquiry on 2/29 regarding returning the shipment to the Pooler, GA location (from whence it had been shipped) but they chose to ignore this e-mail inquiry.  I shall forward you a copy of same if you so desire.  Referring me to their self-serving "policy" a week later is too little too late.

They are still holding onto the purchase of the rug plus restocking and shipping fees for merchandise they never stocked nor shipped 


Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: I am sorry but RugStudio does stand by it's return policy. We have refunded the customer in full for their purchase, but had to pass along the return shipping charges incurred by the customer returning rug to wrong location and imposed on us by that warehouse. We have considered this case closed. Thank you

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Rug Studio charged me for the rug several days before it ever shipped from the supplier.  From the onset Rug Studio would not allow order cancellation.  Although they have credited my charge card with the purchase price, Rug Studio has now charged me $130.24 ($70.24 for re-stocking and $60. for shipping fees).  They have repeatedly cited their self-serving, "policy" to justify these charges.  They themselves never stocked nor shipped this rug.  There is absolutely no justification for their charging me for re-imbursement of ANY expenses especially ones they never incurred.  This rug was never in their possession. They have provided absolutely no evidence they have incurred one cent in expenses on this order. 

I had to make a 50 mile drive to Fed-Ex in Tallahassee to address the return of this rug.  (I feel I should charge Rug Studio for the time and money which their "policy" has cost me.) The rug was returned to ********, the supplier, because Fed-Ex would have charged me $118 to send it on to Rug Studio. Rug Studio implies they have to pay the supplier the $130.24 expenses which they have now charged me.  They have provided absolutely no evidence that their statements regarding owing to any monies to ********, the supplier (or anyone else) are true.  MOREOVER, had they allowed order cancellation as originally requested there would have been no expenses incurred by anyone.  ALL of this stems from an order which they refused to cancel. 

It seems apparent that Rug Studio refuses to cancel an order once they have gotten the subject charge approved by the credit card company.  When they found the rug had been returned to ******** and I would not be purchasing the rug through them they charged me $130.24 for "re-stocking" and "shipping".  They neither stocked nor shipped this rug.  They have essentially charged me for them doing nothing.  That is no way to do business and should not be allowed.  I re-iterate that Rug Studio should remove this unjustified charge or $130.24 from my Visa card.  

Regards,

******** ******

1/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a rug from them that came to my house smelling of mildew and it was wrinkled. I returned the rug to the manufacturer. I am being billed for shipping and a restocking fee. I paid 711.75 for the rug and ***** is trying to charge me a restocking fee in the amount of $142.25 and the return shipping cost in the amount of $101.25 . I do not agree with them on this. I have called and ***** hangs up the phone refusing to speak with me on this matter. The manufacturer of the rug Kaleen said they would speak to someone in claims about this. When I tried to get ***** to speak to Angie from Kaleen rugs corporate office she hung up the phone.

Desired Settlement: I want a total refund of 711 74 not the amount ***** wants to give me of 468.25.

Business Response: Customer requested RA to return her rug stating that it was "ugly". We emailed her return instructions to which she called and was caustic with multiple sales people on staff threatening to sue us because she didn't want to pay return shipping as stated on our policy page.  We spoke with her multiple times and via email and via live chat at length. She then "refused" her shipment which she apparently never even opened upon delivery. She was charged the applicable restocking fees and return shipping that we warned her about and which are posted on our website for not following the appropriate return instructions. Attached are only a few of the emails we received from this customer regarding her return process. She did inform us that she frequently sues people and seems to enjoy it and we should "look her up to see that she's telling the truth". Customer has been refunded and nothing further is due this customer. Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I did not return the rug because it was as they said "it was ugly." I returned it do to a odor and it was a wrinkled up mess where the shrink wrap that was used had banded it.

I have given this company a great deal of business in the past few months. I think it is awful the way you try to do consumers the way that you do.
I will get my money back one way or the other.
This is not the end of it.

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: RugStudio stands firmly on it's posted return policy. Customer was warned that if she did not send the rug to RugStudio she would be charged a restocking fee. This is the fee passed on to us by the warehouse that she shipped her rug to. We cannot refund her any more money than we did. Case closed. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It seems this is an all too common occurrence with this company.

I have read many complaints on several websites where you do this to your customers.

I know for a fact that you were not charged a restocking fee. I spoke to a lady that works at the rug company ******* and she stated otherwise.

I would like to know the contact number to the law firm that represents you. 

I refuse to be your victim. 

Like the people listed below were.

***** ******* * **** **** ** *** ********* ******** ***** ********** ** ***** *** **** *** ******* *** ******* ** ****** *** ******** *** ********* ******* ** ******** **** *** ***** ********* ****** *** **** ******* ** ************* * ******* *** **** **** ** *** **** ******* *** ************ ** ******** ** ****** *** * ******* *** *** ********** * **** **** **** **** ***** *** **** ***** * ******* * ***** *** *** ** ***** ******** ********** ** *** ****** **** *** ******* ********** **** * *** ** *** ******** ***** **** ****** ********* *** ** ****** **** **** * ******** *** **** ******* *** **** *** ** ***** **** ********** ************ ****** ******* **** **** *** ********** ** *** ******** **** * ****** ** ******** *** ****** ********** **** ** **** **** ***** *** ***** ****** ***** *** **** ** **** * ******* ** ********* **** **** *** *********** *** * ***** **** ** ****** *** ******** **** ** *** **** ** *** ** ****** ** ***** *** **** ** *** ******** ****** **** * ****** ***** ** ******* **** *** *** *** ******** *** ** ***** ** ** ****** * ***** *** ******** ******* *** ** **** ** *** ******* *** *** ***** ****** ** *** *** *** *** ****** **** ** **** *** *********** ** *** *** * ******* *** *** ***** **** *** ***** ** *** ******* **** *** **** ***** ******* * ***** ** ** ***** ** *** ****** **** *** *** ***** *** **** **** *** ********** ******* ** ** *** ********** ** ***** ** **** ***** ** ***** ***** *** * ******* **** *** ****** ******** ** **** *** ** ***** *** **** *********** ** ********* **** ** *** ***** ******* * **** **** ***** ***** * ** ** ***** **** * ******* * *********** ****** * ***** ** *** ****** **** *** * ****** ***** * **** ***** ** ******** **** **** ******* ***** *** * **** **** ****** *** ** **** ******** ***** ******** **** **** ** ******* ***** ********* ************ ** ***** ** ****** ** *** *** *** * ******** ***** **** ***

They rudely demand that you pay for their mistakes.

That's my experience with a recent purchase. Read on if you want to hear the whole story.

********* * ***** **** *** **** ** * ********* ******** ******** ******** *** *** **** ** ************ ***** **** ** ***** ****** ** *** ****** ** ***** **** ***** *** ******* ********** ****** * ******** ***** *** ***** ** ** ******** *** *** **** *** * ******** ** ***** ******* **** *** *** ***** ** ******* **** *** ************ ** *** ****** *** ** ***** *** **** ***** *** ********* ***** *** ********* ***** **** ***** *** *** *** *** ** *** ****** *** * ******* ** *** ** * ***** **** ******* ****** ********* ***** *** **** ********* * ********* ******* *** ******* *** ** ** * ****** **** ******** * *********** ****** ********* ** ****** ** ****** * *** * ********** ****** *** ********** **** ********** ******** ****** *** ***** *** ****** ** **** *** **** ** **** *** ********* *** ***** *** **** ***** ***** *** ******* ** ******* * **** ******* *** *** ***** ** **** **** *** *** ******** *** ******** *** * **** *** * *** ******* ********* ******* **** ** *** **** *** ***** *********** ******* *** ************ ** **** *** ****** ******* ********* *** ******* ****** * *** ** ***** ******* ** *** *** *** **** ******* **** * ********* ** *** ******* **** ***** **** **** ***** **** *** * *** ******* ********* ******* **** * ****** ******* ** ************ *** ******* ** ** **** ***** ********** *** ******** ***** *** **** ** ***** ***** ******* *** ******* **** * *********** ****** ********* **** * *** **** *** *** *** ******* ** *** ***** *** ***** *** ******* **** ***** ** ***** *** **** * ***** * ******* ***** *** ******** ***** ****** ** ******** ***** *** ******* ***** *** ********* ***** *** **** ** ** **** *********** ** **** **** *** **** ** ********* **** ***** ******** **** *** **** **** ***** ******** ****** *** * ***** ********* **** ****** *** **************** *** **** ** * ***** ****** **** *** *** ** **** **** ************** *** ******** ** ***** ****** **** ****** ** ***** ******** **** **** ** ** ** ******** **** * ******** *** **** * *** **** ********** ******* ** ***** *********** ******** *** ******* ** ***** **** ********* *** **** *** ******* ***** ******** *** ******** *** ****** **** **** ***** ** *** ** ******* ** ********* * *** *** ******* *** *** *** ******* ** * ***** *** **** *** ******** ***** *** ** ******** **** ** ***** * ****** **** *** **** *** ******** ****** *** *** *** ** ***** ******* ****** *** *** **** *** ***** **** ** ***** *** ******** ** ** *** ***** **** ****** **** *** *** *** **** ** ** **** ****** *** ******** **** ***** ****** *** **** ** ****** ****** ***** ********* ***** ** *** ** *** ******* **** ***** *** ** ****** **** ** **** **** ******** * ********* **** ** ******** ** *** ****** **** ******** *** ****** *** ** ****** ********** ****** ***** ********* ******* ****** ******* **** * **** **** * *** *** **** ** *** *** ***** ********* *** *** ******** ****** ** **** ********** ** ***** ** * **** ** ********* ** ***** **** ** *** *** ******** * ****** ***** *** ** * ******** ** *** * ******** **** ** ***** ** ********* ** *** ***** ******** ******* **** *** **** ***** *** ***** *********** ********* ** ** ***** ******* *** * ******* *** ** * ****** ****** ******* **** ***** **** *** *** **** **** ***   ******** ******** **********

** ******* *** * ******* * **** *** **** ***** *** *** ***** *** ********* *** *** *** *** ** ******** * *** ****** ** ***** **** ****** ** ****** ***** ******* *** **** ************ ******* ****** ********** **** **** ********** **** ** **** *** **** ** ** **** ****** ** *** **** ********* ********* ***** * ***** ***** *** ****** ** ****** *** ******** ******* **** ** ****** **** ******** **** ******* ******* ** *********** **** *** *** *** *** ******** ** **** ********* *** ***** * **** **** ****** ******* *** *** **** ***** ***** ******** **** **** ****** ** **** ****** *** *** **** *** **** ***** **** ***** **** **** ********* *** * ******* **** *** *** **** ******* ******** ******* **** ***** ******** ******* * ****** * ****** **** ************* ** ********* ***** ** ****** ******* **** *** ****** ***** ****** * *** ******* *** ******** ************ * ****** ******** ******* *** **** ********** **** ** ** *** ******* ** *** *** ****** ********* **** * ***** ** ***** ** ** ***** ** ******** * *** **** **** **** **** *** *** ********** ** **** ** **** *** ** ****** * ****************************** **** *** **** **** **** **** * ***** ** ****** ** ******** ****** ****** ****** ****** * ***** ********** *** * ******** **** ****** *** ********* ** ****** *** **** ** ********* ****** ** *** ** ******** **** *****

 


Regards,

****** ********

12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered set of Couristan rugs from rugstudio about 2 weeks back (on Nov 26th, thanksgiving day), after some delay they shipped the item on Dec 2nd (took 6 days to ship, though their site says 3 to 5 days). Since I ordered the rugs on a holiday, I could talk to their rep only later and they had promised me a price match guarantee for my order. My order was shipped out in multiple shipments, and finally I received everything by 12/07(3 days back). Now when I contacted their customer service manager for a price match request with luxedecor.com, where the exact same set of rugs where available about $65 less, they wouldnt honor their word, explaining some silly policy reasons (even though I am well within their return period)

Desired Settlement: All I am requesting is a price match for my order with luxdecor.com (basically for a partial refund of the difference $65).

Business Response:

Customer's order was placed on line on 11/26. We were open the very next day to assist customers. Customer reached us by phone and added pads to his order. He did not ask for any additional discount NOR was any additional discount available. He got the very best Cyber Monday/Black Friday pricing. On Decemeber 8th, he submitted a price match request via email for an additional rug. We approved this price match and sent him the approval via email (see attached). He then asked if we would discount the rugs he already received the week prior even further because he found the rug a bit cheaper today on someone else's website. I explained to him via phone call multiple times that our price matches are only good on new orders- not previously shipped orders as is very well noted and explained on our price match website (see here  *****************************************) We reply to price match requests all weekend long via email and customer never requested a price match until after he had already received his rugs from us. (see attached email and their dates)

 Price matching is offered at the time of purchase only. The lower-priced item must be identical in name, size, weight, color, quantity, quality, and model number. The price must be published and valid on an in-stock item at the time of the requested price match. An original print advertisement, online validation or website address showing the lower price must be presented. We reserve the right to verify the availability of the item at a lower advertised price. Any limitations and exclusions will apply. Price matching may not be combined with coupons or other promotional offers unless also combinable at the retailer of a lower-priced item. Price matching is valid in the U.S. only. Price matches may be requested in stores or online. We reserve the right to limit quantities of items matched. 

Customer then submitted another request directly to me noting another site he found the rug on called Luxedecor. I again explained to him that he was welcome to submit another price match request but that it can only be applied to NEW orders, not previously shipped orders. I offered him an RA should he wish to return any of the items he received from us but he declined.  Customer said he was going to purchase the rugs from another vendor and have them shipped to us. I explained to him that all returns coming back to us need to have our return authorization paperwork enclosed in order for us to refund the correct account. Rugstudio stands by it's price match policy and will always honor prices matches on NEW ORDERS only. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:



When I spoke with the rep the next day after placing the order, she never mentioned that price match is offered only at the purchase only. All she said (about the policy) at that time was that rugstudio does have price match policy for my order. More over, this particular small print "Price matching is offered at the time of purchase only" doesn't make any sense to me as site would be still open after hours to make online purchases and no one would be available to support orders made after hours.

Instead of accepting my returns, they could very well honor my price match request.




Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: RugStudio stands firmly by our price match policy.

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a rug online from Rug Studio that stated it was in stock and ready to ship, however, after we placed the order we received an email saying the item was back ordered and, if we wanted we could cancel the order, so we called and canceled the item immediately. However, the rug showed up at our house several days later, even though the order was canceled. In the meantime, we purchased the same rug from another company and already was using it in our house. The order number is Order #*********

Desired Settlement: We would like Rug Studio to pay for the return shipping for the rug ($50), they are refusing to do so at this point, and we want the cost of the rug ($2790 refunded from our credit card (which it should have been when we cancelled it).

Business Response: Customer did call to cancel the order because we thought it was not available to ship. However, we sent her this very detailed email (attached) stating that, among other things "Please note that your order is not considered canceled until we have received confirmation from the warehouse, usually within one or two business days." Unfortunately, the customer did not heed this warning and did not wait for confirmation that the order was canceled before purchasing something elsewhere. Her order had already shipped on the day she requested it canceled and we were unable to stop the shipment. We did issue an RA for her AND offered her a return label at our discounted rate with which to return the item for a full refund. I'm sorry but orders that have already shipped cannot be stopped. Once received we will gladly issue a full refund for this item. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because we immediately canceled the rug as soon as we got the message that the rug was back-ordered per the email they sent that stated we could cancel the order, we canceled it immediately. It seems to us, they did not process our cancelation in a timely manner.

Here is the email(below) that clearly states that we cancel the order: 









---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ********************* ***********************
Date: Mon, Sep 21, 2015 at 3:21 PM
Subject: RugStudio Order Update
To: **********************


















*****,


Thank you for your RugStudio Order. This email is to inform you that, unfortunately, the below item(s) from Order #********* is on back-order.


Dash And Albert Herringbone Swedish Blue 6 x 9 Estimated Ship Date: 10/9/2015


We have asked the manufacturer to RUSH your order directly to you to avoid any further delays as soon as it is available. We will monitor your order and keep you up to date with tracking information as it becomes available to us.Should you wish to change or cancel your order, just let us know. We will be happy to accommodate in any way we can. We apologize for the delay, and thank you for your patience.


RugStudio Customer Service
************
Mon - Fri 9am - 5pm CST
www.RugStudio.com



















ALISA,


Thank you for your RugStudio Order. This email is to inform you that, unfortunately, the below item(s) from Order #311075-RS is on back-order.


Dash And Albert Herringbone Swedish Blue 6 x 9 Estimated Ship Date: 10/9/2015


We have asked the manufacturer to RUSH your order directly to you to avoid any further delays as soon as it is available. We will monitor your order and keep you up to date with tracking information as it becomes available to us.Should you wish to change or cancel your order, just let us know. We will be happy to accommodate in any way we can. We apologize for the delay, and thank you for your patience.


RugStudio Customer Service
************
Mon - Fri 9am - 5pm CST
www.RugStudio.c





Regards,

**** *** ***** *******

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (Note: While browsing web reviews I find many dissatisfied customers of RugStudio.com who had experiences similar to mine; I believe there is evidence that they strategically rely on fine print in their return policy to avoid issuing refunds -- even when they are responsible for errors. In my case, they went so far as to expedite the delivery when they could have halted it after I had cancelled the order. I have full documentation of the following narrative.) Purchased a large $389 rug late on a Wednesday evening (8/5/15). Delivery estimate was 3-5 days (a confirmation email said it would likely go out within 24 hours from their San Antonio warehouse; great, I thought, since I'm close by in Austin). But the next day I received an email stating that the rug would be shipped from the manufacturer in New Jersey, and it would not even leave the warehouse until the following week. This delay was not the end of the world, but I decided to see if I could find another option somewhere else. And that afternoon I purchased another rug. I immediately called RugStudio to cancel my order. I had a legitimate reason for cancelling (the lengthened delivery time), and I knew there was plenty of time for them to stop the shipment. Their phone rep said she'd start the process of issuing a full refund. She did offer to look into why the shipment was delayed, but I told her I had already purchased another rug. So she said she would immediately contact the manufacturer to stop the order. Then... literally ten minutes later, I got an email telling me the rug had just shipped from a warehouse in New Jersey! This would have been great news had I not already purchased another rug. I have reason to believe my cancellation prompted them to expedite the shipment (this was just 15 hours after placing the order). When I immediately called RugStudio back I was told the rug was already on the truck and there was nothing they could do about it. When I asked a manager about their previous email that said the rug wouldn't leave the factory until the following week, she told me -- very lawyer-like -- that that was just an estimate. (The email actually said the ship date could possibly change "by a small amount"; I don't consider 4 or 5 days a "small amount.") Very curtly and unapologetically she told me I could either keep the rug or take full responsibility for shipping it back. (Since it's large, it would probably cost $100 or so to return.) When I reminded her that I had been repeatedly mislead about delivery time by their conflicting messages she refused to admit that RugStudio had made any errors. "Most people," she lectured me, "would have been happy to get it shipped so quickly." As many others have posted elsewhere, RugStudio refuses to take responsibility for any problems. I did not believe the rug could already have been on a truck, or that the shipment could not have been stopped. And, in fact, I called UPS, who said the tracking number was not yet in their system, which, the rep told me, meant that it could not possibly be on the truck yet. Later, when the rug did show up in UPS' system the earliest scan said: "ready for UPS" at 6:22PM (hours after RugStudio swore it was on the truck); then there was an origin scan at 8:34 and, finally, a departure scan at 11:05PM. (It was coming from Georgia. New Jersey was no longer mentioned.) Bottom line, RugStudio quickly became hostile when I told them I did not want to pay for their mistakes, and all evidence points to them expediting my order as a form of extortion (I would have to pay for shipping a large, heavy rug if I expected to get a refund). Bear in mind, my complaint is not about shipping delays. It's not even about all their conflicting messages. It is about ripping people off because they think they can get away with it.

Desired Settlement: For me, they need to fully refund my credit card the purchase price of the rug, AND they need to take full responsibility for shipping the rug back to wherever they want it. (Other customers have complained that RugStudio would not even allow them to drop off bad rugs at their local stores without having to pay a $200 restocking fee.) For future customers, RugStudio needs to abandon what is clearly a corporate culture that routinely relies on the threat of return-shipping expenses to ensure they won't lose money even when they are at fault. They also need to teach their reps and managers to treat customers with respect and show empathy when customers bear the brunt of their errors and dishonesty. Finally, they need to stop trying to hide behind their fine print about who's responsible for return shipping. Any reasonable person would read it as referring to situations in which customers change their minds -- not when customers receive the wrong products or misinformation.

Business Response: Customer called complaining that his order was not shipping from our warehouse in Texas as our order acknowledgement states. I tried to explain to his tha t actually our order acknowledgement states "Most orders ship from
our warehouse in San Antonio, TX within two or three business days. In the event that an item is not in stock, it will be shipped to you directly from the manufacturer (usually within 7 business days)."  We alerted him within 24 hours that his order would ship out in an estimated 2 days from the manufacturer in NJ. He did request to cancel the order at which time we sent him an email alerting him that his order was not considered canceled until the warehouse in NJ confirmed they could stop the shipment. They replied within the hour that the item had shipped and they provided tracking. When we informed Mr. ***** of this he was furious as he had incorrectly assumed that it was canceled at that point. I am attaching copies of all the emails we sent him notifying him at every stage of this order and our return/cancelation policy.  When he called and yelled at our customer service represenative he asked her if she was "looking for a fight" at which point she tranferred to him me. As I tried to go over the order/cancelation process with him his tone and demeanor continued to escalate and he also asked me if  I was "looking for a fight". As I tried to explain to him that he actually lives in a city with a showroom where he could easily return the rug for a full refund, he interrupted me, yelled "******   you" at me and hung up. I send him return instructions for returning the rug to our distribution center (located about 2 hours from him) and offered him a full refund upon return. To date, rug has not been returned. Once it is received back according to our return policy, we will happily issue him a full refund. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Well. This response is filled with so many outright
falsehoods and distractions that I will only respond to the most relevant ones. I
will say that she has confirmed for me her lack of business ethics.      My main intention in writing to the BBB,
of course, was to protect myself from being cheated by RugStudio. Now, I feel I
need to do all I can to warn others of the risks of doing business with them –
and hopefully to convince the BBB to reevaluate RugStudio’s current A+ rating.     I realize that every company has some
number of dissatisfied customers, but an internet search reveals a clear
pattern of RugStudio abusing their returns policy in order to avoid taking
responsibility for their errors.       I don’t
know if the BBB will have time to trudge through the details below, but, if you
do, I think you will find clear evidence of this pattern.  (The UPS timeline, attached, is an especially
helpful document.)     Here are the
facts: About 12 hours after I ordered the rug, which was advertised as arriving
at my house within 3-5 days, I received an email saying the rug would not leave
the warehouse until the following week. Not a huge delay, and no big deal. I
noticed that it was coming from the New Jersey manufacturer, rather than the
San Antonio warehouse from where they had said most orders shipped. Perhaps
that’s why it would take a little longer. No big deal. Since I now had at least
4 or 5 days before the rug would leave the warehouse, I decided to see if I
could find a better alternative. And early that afternoon – just 15 hours after
I had ordered the rug – I found and purchased a superior rug at a better price,
and then immediately called RugStudio to cancel my order with them. I did not
call to “complain.” I was friendly, and their rep was friendly as well, asking
if she wanted me to see if she could find a way to expedite the order (she also
said she did not know why the shipping date had changed – she thought that was
strange). I told her, no, thanks, I had already purchased another rug. She
accepted this and said she would begin the cancellation process. Fine. I
immediately received an email saying they had notified the warehouse/manufacturer
about the cancellation.     Then, about
20 minutes later, I received another email from RugStudio saying the rug had
just shipped!  (Remember, my last
estimate from them said it wouldn’t leave New Jersey until the following week.)   When I called back and spoke with the
manager, she told me I had only two choices: I could either keep the rug or pay
for its return shipment (which I already knew could cost as much as $100 or so).
She NEVER attempted to inform me of other options, such as bringing the rug to
a local store. I’m sorry to say she is simply lying about that, and she well
knows it. I only heard of such a possibility from the multiple consumers
lodging similar online complaints (in which they received the wrong rugs, or
damaged rugs, only to be told they could either pay for return shipping or keep
their bad rugs). When they asked RugStudio about returning these bad rugs to
their local stores they were told that that would incur a $200 “restocking fee.”
   Anyway, when I pressed her, the
manager refused to admit the company had erred in any way. She said that
morning’s email was “just an estimate.” If the BBB reviews that email (the
second doc submitted by RugStudio, with a time stamp of 10:33AM on 8/6), you
will notice that it says that the actual shipping time could possibly change “by
a small amount.” Bottom line, even after reading fine print, RugStudio gave me
every reason to believe I had plenty of time to cancel my order.     I was astonished that this manager was so
blatantly and callously refusing to take any responsibility for her company’s incorrect
messaging. But she was a brick wall, never offering any solutions. To cap it
off, at the end of our conversation she said “You have a nice day!!” in as
smarmy a voice as she could muster. Still astonished, I cursed, and then hung
up. (I should also mention here that her insinuation that I was threatening a
fight is absurd. What I said was that it wouldn’t be fair to make me pay for
return shipping – and that I would certainly fight that.)     The UPS timeline document, I think, is
particularly useful because the RugStudio manager repeatedly told me on the
phone that there was nothing she could do to stop the order because the rug was
already loaded on the truck. But when I called UPS, their rep assured me that there
was absolutely no way the rug could have been on the truck because it had not
been scanned in yet (he could find no record of the tracking number that RugStudio
gave me). As you can see, the item was not scanned in until about four hours
later, and did not depart the warehouse until about eight hours later.    I am convinced RugStudio expedited the
shipment right after I cancelled the order (so that I would be forced to keep
the rug). Still, even if I’m wrong about their corrupt intentions, they are failing
to take responsibility for their earlier message that clearly stated a later
delivery date. And, again, a simple google search shows this sort of behavior
to be a pattern with this company.    
UPS attempted to deliver the rug yesterday (8/11), and I formally
refused delivery, so I suppose it is on its way back to wherever it came from
(apparently not New Jersey after all). I have contested the charge with Visa,
so that is in process, but I want to ensure that I not only receive a full
refund, but that I am not charged any return-delivery fees or “restocking” fees
as a result of this company’s misstatements.    I’ve already spent way too much time on this
issue and would like to get it off my plate, but I feel some responsibility to
help document RugStudio’s ethical lapses to the BBB. Thanks for listening,
*****





Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Customer has been refunded in full for the price of the rug. Customer is responsible for all return shipping costs (per our return policy) and because rug was not returned to us or one of our showrooms, Noursion has assessed a restocking fee (also stated on our policy page and explained to customer before he refused item). Both credit receipt and shipping charge receipts are attached as well as screen shots of our policy page and return policy page. At this point RugStudio has closed this order and this issue. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The only satisfactory and ethical resolution is for Rug Studio to waive
the $119 they charged me for their mistake.  Note that the manager has failed to address my
accusation that Rug Studio purposely expedited shipping in order to coerce me
into accepting the order. Also note that she has not addressed the UPS tracking
timeline, or my conversation with UPS in which they told me it was impossible
that the rug had even been scanned into their system well after Rug Studio told
me it was already on the truck. Also note that she has not addressed my
accusation that she lied to the BBB about telling me I had an option to bring
the rug to one of their local stores. But these points only reinforce the main
charge: Rug Studio does not take responsibility for their mistakes. The company’s
return practices are sleazy enough on their own: Note how their return policy
implies that customers are responsible for return shipping if they change their
mind about color, size, etc; leaving customers to assume that the company would
act in a normal, ethical manner by covering shipping for incorrect or damaged
items. As I’ve stated, a search of Internet reviews will find many customers
astonished when they fall victim to this blatant practice. But in my case the
rug should not have even been sent. The critical fact – documented in the
emails – is that I was told the rug would not even leave the warehouse until
the following week. They refuse to admit that this statement was a mistake – inadvertent or not. So even if I had
carefully parsed their fine print regarding returns, it was perfectly
reasonable of me to believe I could safely cancel the order just hours after I
had placed it, and purchase another rug elsewhere (the rep who I cancelled with
gave me no reason to believe otherwise). One more thing: I find it interesting
that Rug Studio’s main website advertises that no taxes will be collected on
any item; however, in their fine print you can see that, by law, they are
supposed to tax Texas residents. Why then, on their initial invoice to me, did
they specifically say taxes amounted to zero, while on the refund invoice, they
knocked $30 off the stated price and claimed to have collected $30 in taxes. Either
they are cheating state and local tax agencies, or they are not telling
customers in all other states that Texans receive an across-the-board 8.125
percent discount. Perhaps the BBB can look into this matter further as well.
Rug Studio may consider this issue closed, as they say in their last message,
but I will not consider it closed until I am refunded the $119 charged to my
credit card with absolutely no notification or explanation until their latest
BBB message.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: RugStudio stands by it's posted return policy. We have refunded this customer in full for this rug however, he, like every other customer, is responsible for return shipping of his purchase. Thank you!

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Rug Studio consistently fails to address my multiple accusations and complaints. They apparently think that simply repeating their returns policy over and over will take the focus off their blatantly unethical behavior. This is just more evidence that Rug Studio is wholly uninterested in their customers' needs. Warnings about them from other customers are all over the internet; while Rug Studio is sometimes praised when orders go smoothly, there is a clear pattern showing that Rug Studio simply dismisses any customer problems. Hopefully the BBB will reconsider its rating of this unethical company.

Regards,

***** *****

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a rug on 01/23/15 in the amount of $520.00. Item Number: 118356x3 Nuloom Hand Tufted Ribbons Ivory 8' x 10'. The rug was delivered on 01/27/15 and my husband & I unrolled it and put it down in Wednesday 01/28/15 in our living room.When I got home from work at 5 PM on Wednesday my husband told me the rug was ruined. Our dog ran threw the living room and each time he ran the rug "loops" came up - they were not glued down well. I contacted RugStudio immediately so that the timeframe of only having the rug for one day would be recorded. I was requested to send pictures which I did. Their customer service representative responded that their rugs are extremely "sensitive and not dog friendly". I then responded with the quotes from the description of the rug:DURABLE, EXTREMELY THICK, OF GOOD QUALITY(I have saved all corresponding emails).I explained to RugStudio that we had the previous rug for 11 years with NO WEAR AND TEAR as well as 3 other rugs in our house with no problem.I requested to talk to upper management / Owner and was told I would hear from them within 24-48 hours. That was on February 9th.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund on the rug!

Business Response: Mrs. ******* did email us and tell us that her dog did indeed damage rug rug. Some rugs are much more pet friendly than others and any rugs with hooks or loops are not considered "pet friendly" or even high heel friendly. Unfortunately we cannot take back any items that are damaged unless they were damaged by us or in transit. Thank you!  (see attached pictures for samples of the damage the dog did to the rug)

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
My dog did not ruin the rug. The rug was of horrible quality. The "loops" were not glued DOWN CORRECTLY! I had that rug for 8 hours! The past rug I had down for 11 years. I am still in demand of reimbursement!

Regards,

**** *******

12/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered a rug from RugStudio on 10/25/14. On 11/5/14, I spoke with *** ******** and he verified the order had not shipped yet; therefore, he cancelled the order upon my request. Several times between 11/6/14 and 11/10/14, I had emailed customer service requested my refund be applied and received no response from anyone. On the evening of 11/10/14, I received an email notice that my order had shipped and had actually shipped on 11/6/14 and if I needed to return it, I would have to pay the return shipping fees. *** could not explain to me why he informed me the rug was not ready to ship when it in fact was ready. Upon speaking with *** again on 11/12/14 (when the rug arrived) he informed me that I would indeed have to pay the shipping because the order did not cancel in time... then why would you tell me it was cancelled as you must have known it was shipping the very next day (and in the warehouse ready to do so). In order to return the rug, I have having to fork out $120 to ship it back (when it cost them a whole $20 to ship to me)!! *** is not very helpful and upon calling him again for a return label for $20 to ship it back, he became argumentative and again could not explain why he informed me the rug was not ready to ship when it clearly was. I feel this company withholds information such as shipping inforamtion in hopes that you will decide to keep the rug after finding out how much it will cost you to return ship it. $120 is a little steep for a run that only cost $319 (so anyone would do the math and figure out it's not worth returning)!!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the shipping cost difference up to the $20 it costs RugStudio to ship the rug. I'm suggesting that I pay nothing for the return shipping but only up to what they paid to ship it. Their shipping cost is labeled directly on the packaging of the rug.

Business Response:

Good afternoon ***,

 

The customer had originally contacted us for a status update on 11/4. I did not tell her that the item had not shipped, but that I was checking to see whether or not it had. She then requested the cancellation the next day. The fact that the item had shipped was not evident until the cancellation was requested, as the manufacturer that shipped it had not provided tracking information yet (it typically takes around 24 hours  for that information to become available when shipped from a manufacturer).

 

Attached, you will find the email that was sent to the customer in response to her initiation of cancellation. The cancellation could not be completed, as the item has already been shipped. Per our 30-Day Return Policy (Click to View), the customer is now responsible for return shipment. We decided to offer an accommodation to her by quoting the cost of return shipment on our UPS account, which she declined. The cost of the shipping on the way to her is not an applicable comparison in this case, as the product shipped to her from the manufacturer, whom is in another state, on their Fed-Ex account whereas we use UPS.

 

It should also be noted that this customer filed a PayPal Chargeback, citing “Unauthorized Use of PayPal Account or Transaction Error” as the reason. This was not accurate, so after finding this out through their investigation, PayPal closed the case.

 

The initial Return Authorization expires on 12/11/2014 (in two days), so I will send an extension email to the customer for this until 12/19/2014 giving her some additional time to return it with no penalty. This customer has been offered accommodations by RugStudio that go beyond what is offered in our policies. We can do nothing more.

 

Thank you,

 

*** ********

RugStudio ********** *******

*****************

###-###-#### EXT***

Monday - Friday

9-5 Central Time Zone

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I will continue to say that I was told the day that I cancelled the order that there was a problem and it had not been shipped yet and the reason that I requested that *** put through the cancellation.  3-4 days later I receive an email that my item shipped the very next morning after speaking with *** (whom I only spoke with the evening before the item shipping the "very" next morning... yet he could not see that)??  And why would they wait several days after shipping the item to email me that it had shipped? Had *** said "I see that your item is ready to ship in the morning", as I do not understand why he could not as it apparently was already loaded, I would have never cancelled it but when he could not tell me when it would ship (after waiting nearly 2 weeks for a ship date to begin with) and I needed the rug for an upcoming event that would have been received too late at this point!  

Rug Studio is not an honest business as this to me appears to be an attempt to make you think your order is being cancelled and then suddenly you receive the item and cannot return it without paying a huge return fee (half the cost of the rug)... which, makes someone rethink whether to return or keep it.  Keeping it means that Rug Studio is not out any money for the returned item and no restocking fees, etc..  What I had asked *** (who apparently does not feel that his customers are important) was to provide me a shipping label for $20 to return the item since the total cost to ship the rug to me was only $20 and he offered a shipping label of $120. His statement in regards to offering the return shipping label for $120 "was above and beyond what they do for their customers" proves they are not customer friendly.  Also, his statement that he would send me an extension for their return shipping option through 12/19 has never been received by me (again, customers are not his priority). I'm still requesting a return shipping label for $20.

Regards,

**** *******

5/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two rugs from RugStudio.com received March 31st. After multiple emails to them regarding my status that was expected in 3-5 business, I only receive more automated shipment status emails and no rugs. From my last "status update:" Shipment Details: Item Number: 64485x1 Ragtime Calico Pastel 2' x 3' Ship Date: 4/3/2014 Carrier: UPS Tracking Number: ****************** http://wwwapps.ups.com/tracking/tracking.cgi?tracknum=****************** Item Number: 64543x2 Ragtime Sturbridge Stone 2' x 6' Runner Ship Date: 4/3/2014 Carrier: UPS Tracking Number: ****************** http://wwwapps.ups.com/tracking/tracking.cgi?tracknum=****************** If you click those links, you will obviously see the rugs are being returned to the sender. Did RugStudio not have the right shipping address? And if so, why hasn't anyone contacted me to correct it????

Desired Settlement: I want my rugs delivered to me within the next month and a HUMAN explanation of why it's been taking so long.

Business Response: ******* *****,

I must apologize, it appears that the manufacturer had improperly noted your address on the shipping information. I have forwarded this information to the claims department, so they will be emailing you in regards to a resolution to this problem.

You can be expecting correspondence from Yvonne in the claims department very soon.


Thank you for your added patience in this matter.


*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******

www.RugStudio.com

###-###-#### EXT ***

Monday - Friday

9-5 Central Time Zone

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me for this particular complaint.

Regards,

******* *****

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent the wrong rug and when I tried to speak to someone in customer service, they kept directing my calls to voicemail. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, they directed me to a voicemail. WhenI called and got through to a supervisor, she directed my call to voicemail! The worst customer service, incompetent beyond belief and fraudulent in their advertising rhetoric.

Desired Settlement: My desire is to see that these people go under. I'm surprised they've lasted this long.

Business Response: The claims process, handled by ******, was carried out successfully. The rug was picked up at no expense to the customer and a refund was issued on 4/28/2014 before this complaint was filed.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
You wasted my time and energy, made me jump through many hoops to get my refund and I don't accept your answer that you took back the rug at no expense.  What about the humiliation? What about the distrust?  What about the lies?  What about the time and energy wasted in getting my money back?  You should be shut down and not allowed to frustrate one more human being with your lousy business practices!  I want others to know what I went through do they won't make the same mistake.
Regards,

**** ******

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently ordered 2 rugs from this company. Upon their delivery, one item is NOT what is shown in the picture. I contacted *** ******** who is the ********** ******* explaining that I was sent the WRONG item. He refuses to believe the wrong item was sent to me even though I have pictures showed the delivered merchandise. His position is that "colors and patterns may vary and that is stated on our website." Certainly something can vary once it is seen in person. However, the two products do no resemble one another.To make matters worse, I have to pay for shipping to return the product. I have contacted ***** ***** who is the owner of Rug Studio and left 3 message since last Thursday and she has not returned the called. *** sent me an email telling me "their postion was final."I am a business owner for many years and this is the some of the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I've ever seen. A customer should not be held financially responsible for someone else's mistake.

Desired Settlement: I am simply looking for:1. A full refund on both rugs. I purchased 2 items and was told a refund would be given but, I haven't seen it on my credit card. 2. Reimbursement of shipping of $36 on the rug returned.

Business Response: The image sent was reviewed and the customer did receive the correct rug, which was ordered as a sample for this very reason. Return shipping, as stated on our website, is the customers responsibility in this case.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I have attached picture of the rug that was sent.  This does not resemble what was pictured online in terms of design. This was verified by my designer and an independent third person who looked at the product received and what was advertised.  They agreed that this was in no way a representation of what was show online.

This is a case of a business not wanting to accept responsibility for an error.  Their Operations Manager, ***, was rude in phone conversation and unwilling to listen to what I was saying.   Further, he sent me an email stating, "Our decision is final." That statement made even before seeing a picture of what I had received.  Rug Studio's attitude from the beginning of this situation clearly shows an inability even consider making things right.  I took three email before they asked me to send a picture then, rejected me once again.  *** never bothered to ask for the picture, he simply rejected it.  The owner, *****, never bothered to return three messages I left. This is a company that is out for one thing:MONEY.  Customer Service has no place in their business plan.  



Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: The customer received the correct rug. The rug, viewable here: http://www.rugstudio.com/chandralibertylib14902.aspx has a more enlarged looking pattern. But this is why we state under every image on our site that, "Design may vary by size. Colors may vary from image." Again, a likely reason why these were ordered as samples.

If the rug had been incorrect, we have a claims process that would have been started and an alternate resolution would have been given. This case is not applicable for the claims process, given that the correct rug was sent. Our return policy and policies regarding rug images can all be found easily on our site. Given these policies, we can offer nothing else.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regardless of what this company says, the rug received DOES NOT RESEMBLE what was in the picture.  Stating I ordered it is a sample is absolutely true.  That has NOTHING to do with an incorrect product being sent.  Do not blame a customer for an error.  

As stated before, RugStudio rejected my concerns from the beginning and continue to hold their position.  I will continue to hold my position as well.  If they choose not to reimburse shipping that is their choice.  My choice is to continue taking this further and making certain potential customers and trade organizations are aware of their practices.  As a business owner, I would not risk a future loss in revenue or a loss in reputation for such a small amount of money.  This business needs SERIOUS customer service training.  


Regards,

****** *******

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a rug off of the rugstudio.com website. I received the rug and was not happy with it so I sent it back. That was over a month ago. I have contacted them several times and they keep saying I will be issued a refund in a week. That was a month ago. I would like a refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: RugStudio order number ********* was refunded in the full amount of $86.40 on 3/24/2014.

1/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/8/13 I ordered three area rugs on-line from Rug Studio. I PAID $202. FOR ALL THREE RUGS THROUGH PAYPAL. I received two of the rugs a week later. I called a customer service rep at Rug Studio about when I would receive the third rug. SHE SAID IT SHOULD BE IN BY THE FIRST PART OF NOVEMBER? When I still hadn't received the third rug by 11/15/22, I called Rug Studio again there was no answer. I called again on 11/22/13 still no answer so I called ****** and was advised that this was the last day I could file a complaint. I told ****** rep that all I wanted was the rug and she kindly offered to call Rug Studio on my behalf. She received no response. And that is why I filed the complaint with ******. I called Rug Studio later hoping I could just resolve this myself. I spoke to **** and he said I would have to $112.00 for the backordered rug and then they would send me the rug and a refund. He said I would have to cancel my complaint with ******. I then called ****** and was told by the rep that once I cancelled the complaint I would not be able to reinstate it if they still didn't send the rug. I called **** back

Desired Settlement: I would like my $112.00 refunded by Rug Studio as I have purchased the rug elsewhere. Thank you for your help.

12/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 identical rugs. I instructed the sales person that if only one was available don't send any. After I received only 1 rug, I called rug studio to see if I was getting another. The next day I get an email cancelling the 2nd rug. This order was put in as one order; the order is incomplete. All I asked from them is prepaid shipping label. I spoke to the HEAD of customer service **** ********, who would not pay for my $20.07 return shipping. He said I never expressed that to ship 2 or nothing. I don't know where he is getting his info. I reiterated time and time again my position. Poor customer service as well as not honoring the word of their sales staff

Desired Settlement: A check issued for $20.07 to myself.

Business Response: Customer ****** ****** has placed a few orders within the past month. On his previous orders, he had notated to ship both, or nothing at all. On this one, he neglected to do so. Given the situation, he was likely confusing this order, with one of his previous orders, as systems are in place preventing discrepancies. We sent emails regarding low stock, and letting him know that we would advise him if anything became unavailable, which we did. One of the items on the order was filled and later returned by the customer. He has been fully refunded for his order as of 11/26/2013. Furthermore, we do not pay for return shipping and are only able refund the amount that we charge the customer, which we have. Our 30-Day Return Policy (http://www.rugstudio.com/rugstudiostorepolicies.aspx) is clearly stated on our site and that is the process that we follow in cases like this.

Regards,

*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******
www.RugStudio.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The business is lying. All along I was ordering 2 matching rugs for the same purpose.

***** really should be responding,  one of my employees didn't document my requests on the order that actually got shipped. Rug studio never notified me of the cancellation on
the other rug either.
This establishment is a poor member of the BBB.


Regards,



****** ******

Business Response: Customer ****** ******. The merchandise has been returned and the customer has been refunded for 100% of what he had paid to us, there is nothing else that we can offer. We cannot refund more than what we charge. The shipping back of his item with use of the Return Authorization that we provided to him is considered acceptance of our previously stated policies.

Regards,

*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******
www.RugStudio.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They can't have it both ways. I was sent merchandise I did not authorize to be sent.

I instructed the sales force not to ship an incomplete order.

I think *** is the one who is confused. *** says he can do no more.

Copout...

Rug Studio can send me a check for $20.07 and call it a day.

Did *** ever get taught,'The customer is always right'. I didn't want to go there, but I am being forced to.
 
Regards,

****** ******

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a carpet that is NOT what was pictured on the website. Website shows a carpet with solid colored dots in the pattern. I received a carpet with multi colored dots, so it is not the same carpet. Merchant will not pay for me to return this incorrect item, despite my calling them. Owners would not speak to me by phone when i asked to speak to them. I would like to return this rug, however, I do not feel I should have to pay $40 to UPS to do so.

Desired Settlement: refund to my credit card and a pre-paid return label, please

5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have still not received the refund as stated in my previous complaint #*******. I want my refund ASAP along with a fee of $30 for debiting my account and holding my money without cause.

Desired Settlement: The business must refund my money along with provide me a fee 0f $30 for debiting and holding my money ASAP.

Business Response: Customer was refunded promptly upon receiving cancellation confirmation from the manufacturer (5/8). Customer was sent an email alerting him to the pending refund. The emails states "Please allow 2-3 business days for the refund to show up on your account". Today would be the 3rd day. If the refund does not show up in his account by tomorrow, he will need to contact his bank to find out why the delay.  We do not issue money to customer's for cancelled orders. We can only refund the full amount of the charge, nothing more.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)