BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1930 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1930 Business incorporated: 10/11/1978 in TX
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Thomas W. Munroe, President Ms. Karla Smith, Vice-President Mr. John Garza, Manager Mr. Brian Reavis, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas W. Munroe, President
Principal: Ms. Karla Smith, Vice-President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Oriental Rug Gallery Oriental Rug Gallery LP Rug Studio The Studio

Additional Locations

  • 12801 Hill Country Blvd Ste 105

    Bee Caves, TX 78738

  • 602 NW Loop 410 Ste 103

    San Antonio, TX 78216

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two rugs from RugStudio.com received March 31st. After multiple emails to them regarding my status that was expected in 3-5 business, I only receive more automated shipment status emails and no rugs. From my last "status update:" Shipment Details: Item Number: 64485x1 Ragtime Calico Pastel 2' x 3' Ship Date: 4/3/2014 Carrier: UPS Tracking Number: ****************** http://wwwapps.ups.com/tracking/tracking.cgi?tracknum=****************** Item Number: 64543x2 Ragtime Sturbridge Stone 2' x 6' Runner Ship Date: 4/3/2014 Carrier: UPS Tracking Number: ****************** http://wwwapps.ups.com/tracking/tracking.cgi?tracknum=****************** If you click those links, you will obviously see the rugs are being returned to the sender. Did RugStudio not have the right shipping address? And if so, why hasn't anyone contacted me to correct it????

Desired Settlement: I want my rugs delivered to me within the next month and a HUMAN explanation of why it's been taking so long.

Business Response: ******* *****,

I must apologize, it appears that the manufacturer had improperly noted your address on the shipping information. I have forwarded this information to the claims department, so they will be emailing you in regards to a resolution to this problem.

You can be expecting correspondence from Yvonne in the claims department very soon.


Thank you for your added patience in this matter.


*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******

www.RugStudio.com

###-###-#### EXT ***

Monday - Friday

9-5 Central Time Zone

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me for this particular complaint.

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent the wrong rug and when I tried to speak to someone in customer service, they kept directing my calls to voicemail. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, they directed me to a voicemail. WhenI called and got through to a supervisor, she directed my call to voicemail! The worst customer service, incompetent beyond belief and fraudulent in their advertising rhetoric.

Desired Settlement: My desire is to see that these people go under. I'm surprised they've lasted this long.

Business Response: The claims process, handled by ******, was carried out successfully. The rug was picked up at no expense to the customer and a refund was issued on 4/28/2014 before this complaint was filed.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
You wasted my time and energy, made me jump through many hoops to get my refund and I don't accept your answer that you took back the rug at no expense.  What about the humiliation? What about the distrust?  What about the lies?  What about the time and energy wasted in getting my money back?  You should be shut down and not allowed to frustrate one more human being with your lousy business practices!  I want others to know what I went through do they won't make the same mistake.
Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently ordered 2 rugs from this company. Upon their delivery, one item is NOT what is shown in the picture. I contacted *** ******** who is the ********** ******* explaining that I was sent the WRONG item. He refuses to believe the wrong item was sent to me even though I have pictures showed the delivered merchandise. His position is that "colors and patterns may vary and that is stated on our website." Certainly something can vary once it is seen in person. However, the two products do no resemble one another.To make matters worse, I have to pay for shipping to return the product. I have contacted ***** ***** who is the owner of Rug Studio and left 3 message since last Thursday and she has not returned the called. *** sent me an email telling me "their postion was final."I am a business owner for many years and this is the some of the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I've ever seen. A customer should not be held financially responsible for someone else's mistake.

Desired Settlement: I am simply looking for:1. A full refund on both rugs. I purchased 2 items and was told a refund would be given but, I haven't seen it on my credit card. 2. Reimbursement of shipping of $36 on the rug returned.

Business Response: The image sent was reviewed and the customer did receive the correct rug, which was ordered as a sample for this very reason. Return shipping, as stated on our website, is the customers responsibility in this case.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I have attached picture of the rug that was sent.  This does not resemble what was pictured online in terms of design. This was verified by my designer and an independent third person who looked at the product received and what was advertised.  They agreed that this was in no way a representation of what was show online.

This is a case of a business not wanting to accept responsibility for an error.  Their Operations Manager, ***, was rude in phone conversation and unwilling to listen to what I was saying.   Further, he sent me an email stating, "Our decision is final." That statement made even before seeing a picture of what I had received.  Rug Studio's attitude from the beginning of this situation clearly shows an inability even consider making things right.  I took three email before they asked me to send a picture then, rejected me once again.  *** never bothered to ask for the picture, he simply rejected it.  The owner, *****, never bothered to return three messages I left. This is a company that is out for one thing:MONEY.  Customer Service has no place in their business plan.  



Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: The customer received the correct rug. The rug, viewable here: http://www.rugstudio.com/chandralibertylib14902.aspx has a more enlarged looking pattern. But this is why we state under every image on our site that, "Design may vary by size. Colors may vary from image." Again, a likely reason why these were ordered as samples.

If the rug had been incorrect, we have a claims process that would have been started and an alternate resolution would have been given. This case is not applicable for the claims process, given that the correct rug was sent. Our return policy and policies regarding rug images can all be found easily on our site. Given these policies, we can offer nothing else.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regardless of what this company says, the rug received DOES NOT RESEMBLE what was in the picture.  Stating I ordered it is a sample is absolutely true.  That has NOTHING to do with an incorrect product being sent.  Do not blame a customer for an error.  

As stated before, RugStudio rejected my concerns from the beginning and continue to hold their position.  I will continue to hold my position as well.  If they choose not to reimburse shipping that is their choice.  My choice is to continue taking this further and making certain potential customers and trade organizations are aware of their practices.  As a business owner, I would not risk a future loss in revenue or a loss in reputation for such a small amount of money.  This business needs SERIOUS customer service training.  


Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a rug off of the rugstudio.com website. I received the rug and was not happy with it so I sent it back. That was over a month ago. I have contacted them several times and they keep saying I will be issued a refund in a week. That was a month ago. I would like a refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: RugStudio order number ********* was refunded in the full amount of $86.40 on 3/24/2014.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/8/13 I ordered three area rugs on-line from Rug Studio. I PAID $202. FOR ALL THREE RUGS THROUGH PAYPAL. I received two of the rugs a week later. I called a customer service rep at Rug Studio about when I would receive the third rug. SHE SAID IT SHOULD BE IN BY THE FIRST PART OF NOVEMBER? When I still hadn't received the third rug by 11/15/22, I called Rug Studio again there was no answer. I called again on 11/22/13 still no answer so I called ****** and was advised that this was the last day I could file a complaint. I told ****** rep that all I wanted was the rug and she kindly offered to call Rug Studio on my behalf. She received no response. And that is why I filed the complaint with ******. I called Rug Studio later hoping I could just resolve this myself. I spoke to **** and he said I would have to $112.00 for the backordered rug and then they would send me the rug and a refund. He said I would have to cancel my complaint with ******. I then called ****** and was told by the rep that once I cancelled the complaint I would not be able to reinstate it if they still didn't send the rug. I called **** back

Desired Settlement: I would like my $112.00 refunded by Rug Studio as I have purchased the rug elsewhere. Thank you for your help.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 identical rugs. I instructed the sales person that if only one was available don't send any. After I received only 1 rug, I called rug studio to see if I was getting another. The next day I get an email cancelling the 2nd rug. This order was put in as one order; the order is incomplete. All I asked from them is prepaid shipping label. I spoke to the HEAD of customer service **** ********, who would not pay for my $20.07 return shipping. He said I never expressed that to ship 2 or nothing. I don't know where he is getting his info. I reiterated time and time again my position. Poor customer service as well as not honoring the word of their sales staff

Desired Settlement: A check issued for $20.07 to myself.

Business Response: Customer ****** ****** has placed a few orders within the past month. On his previous orders, he had notated to ship both, or nothing at all. On this one, he neglected to do so. Given the situation, he was likely confusing this order, with one of his previous orders, as systems are in place preventing discrepancies. We sent emails regarding low stock, and letting him know that we would advise him if anything became unavailable, which we did. One of the items on the order was filled and later returned by the customer. He has been fully refunded for his order as of 11/26/2013. Furthermore, we do not pay for return shipping and are only able refund the amount that we charge the customer, which we have. Our 30-Day Return Policy (http://www.rugstudio.com/rugstudiostorepolicies.aspx) is clearly stated on our site and that is the process that we follow in cases like this.

Regards,

*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******
www.RugStudio.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The business is lying. All along I was ordering 2 matching rugs for the same purpose.

***** really should be responding,  one of my employees didn't document my requests on the order that actually got shipped. Rug studio never notified me of the cancellation on
the other rug either.
This establishment is a poor member of the BBB.


Regards,



****** ******

Business Response: Customer ****** ******. The merchandise has been returned and the customer has been refunded for 100% of what he had paid to us, there is nothing else that we can offer. We cannot refund more than what we charge. The shipping back of his item with use of the Return Authorization that we provided to him is considered acceptance of our previously stated policies.

Regards,

*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******
www.RugStudio.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They can't have it both ways. I was sent merchandise I did not authorize to be sent.

I instructed the sales force not to ship an incomplete order.

I think *** is the one who is confused. *** says he can do no more.

Copout...

Rug Studio can send me a check for $20.07 and call it a day.

Did *** ever get taught,'The customer is always right'. I didn't want to go there, but I am being forced to.
 
Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have still not received the refund as stated in my previous complaint #*******. I want my refund ASAP along with a fee of $30 for debiting my account and holding my money without cause.

Desired Settlement: The business must refund my money along with provide me a fee 0f $30 for debiting and holding my money ASAP.

Business Response: Customer was refunded promptly upon receiving cancellation confirmation from the manufacturer (5/8). Customer was sent an email alerting him to the pending refund. The emails states "Please allow 2-3 business days for the refund to show up on your account". Today would be the 3rd day. If the refund does not show up in his account by tomorrow, he will need to contact his bank to find out why the delay.  We do not issue money to customer's for cancelled orders. We can only refund the full amount of the charge, nothing more.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/28/2012 Delivery Issues
1/4/2012 Delivery Issues
10/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1