Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 342-3343 Fax: (210) 826-9897 602 NW Loop 410 Ste 103, San Antonio, TX 78216 http://www.rugstudio.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oriental Rug Gallery of Texas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1930 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1930 Business incorporated 10/11/1978 in TX
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Thomas W. Munroe, President Ms. Karla Smith, Vice-President Mr. John Garza, Manager Mr. Brian Reavis, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas W. Munroe, President
Principal: Ms. Karla Smith, Vice-President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Oriental Rug Gallery Oriental Rug Gallery LP Rug Studio The Studio

Additional Locations

  • 12801 Hill Country Blvd Ste 105

    Bee Caves, TX 78738

  • 602 NW Loop 410 Ste 103

    San Antonio, TX 78216

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a rug on 01/23/15 in the amount of $520.00. Item Number: 118356x3 Nuloom Hand Tufted Ribbons Ivory 8' x 10'. The rug was delivered on 01/27/15 and my husband & I unrolled it and put it down in Wednesday 01/28/15 in our living room.When I got home from work at 5 PM on Wednesday my husband told me the rug was ruined. Our dog ran threw the living room and each time he ran the rug "loops" came up - they were not glued down well. I contacted RugStudio immediately so that the timeframe of only having the rug for one day would be recorded. I was requested to send pictures which I did. Their customer service representative responded that their rugs are extremely "sensitive and not dog friendly". I then responded with the quotes from the description of the rug:DURABLE, EXTREMELY THICK, OF GOOD QUALITY(I have saved all corresponding emails).I explained to RugStudio that we had the previous rug for 11 years with NO WEAR AND TEAR as well as 3 other rugs in our house with no problem.I requested to talk to upper management / Owner and was told I would hear from them within 24-48 hours. That was on February 9th.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund on the rug!

Business Response: Mrs. ******* did email us and tell us that her dog did indeed damage rug rug. Some rugs are much more pet friendly than others and any rugs with hooks or loops are not considered "pet friendly" or even high heel friendly. Unfortunately we cannot take back any items that are damaged unless they were damaged by us or in transit. Thank you!  (see attached pictures for samples of the damage the dog did to the rug)

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
My dog did not ruin the rug. The rug was of horrible quality. The "loops" were not glued DOWN CORRECTLY! I had that rug for 8 hours! The past rug I had down for 11 years. I am still in demand of reimbursement!

Regards,

**** *******

12/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered a rug from RugStudio on 10/25/14. On 11/5/14, I spoke with *** ******** and he verified the order had not shipped yet; therefore, he cancelled the order upon my request. Several times between 11/6/14 and 11/10/14, I had emailed customer service requested my refund be applied and received no response from anyone. On the evening of 11/10/14, I received an email notice that my order had shipped and had actually shipped on 11/6/14 and if I needed to return it, I would have to pay the return shipping fees. *** could not explain to me why he informed me the rug was not ready to ship when it in fact was ready. Upon speaking with *** again on 11/12/14 (when the rug arrived) he informed me that I would indeed have to pay the shipping because the order did not cancel in time... then why would you tell me it was cancelled as you must have known it was shipping the very next day (and in the warehouse ready to do so). In order to return the rug, I have having to fork out $120 to ship it back (when it cost them a whole $20 to ship to me)!! *** is not very helpful and upon calling him again for a return label for $20 to ship it back, he became argumentative and again could not explain why he informed me the rug was not ready to ship when it clearly was. I feel this company withholds information such as shipping inforamtion in hopes that you will decide to keep the rug after finding out how much it will cost you to return ship it. $120 is a little steep for a run that only cost $319 (so anyone would do the math and figure out it's not worth returning)!!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the shipping cost difference up to the $20 it costs RugStudio to ship the rug. I'm suggesting that I pay nothing for the return shipping but only up to what they paid to ship it. Their shipping cost is labeled directly on the packaging of the rug.

Business Response:

Good afternoon ***,

 

The customer had originally contacted us for a status update on 11/4. I did not tell her that the item had not shipped, but that I was checking to see whether or not it had. She then requested the cancellation the next day. The fact that the item had shipped was not evident until the cancellation was requested, as the manufacturer that shipped it had not provided tracking information yet (it typically takes around 24 hours  for that information to become available when shipped from a manufacturer).

 

Attached, you will find the email that was sent to the customer in response to her initiation of cancellation. The cancellation could not be completed, as the item has already been shipped. Per our 30-Day Return Policy (Click to View), the customer is now responsible for return shipment. We decided to offer an accommodation to her by quoting the cost of return shipment on our UPS account, which she declined. The cost of the shipping on the way to her is not an applicable comparison in this case, as the product shipped to her from the manufacturer, whom is in another state, on their Fed-Ex account whereas we use UPS.

 

It should also be noted that this customer filed a PayPal Chargeback, citing “Unauthorized Use of PayPal Account or Transaction Error” as the reason. This was not accurate, so after finding this out through their investigation, PayPal closed the case.

 

The initial Return Authorization expires on 12/11/2014 (in two days), so I will send an extension email to the customer for this until 12/19/2014 giving her some additional time to return it with no penalty. This customer has been offered accommodations by RugStudio that go beyond what is offered in our policies. We can do nothing more.

 

Thank you,

 

*** ********

RugStudio ********** *******

*****************

###-###-#### EXT***

Monday - Friday

9-5 Central Time Zone

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I will continue to say that I was told the day that I cancelled the order that there was a problem and it had not been shipped yet and the reason that I requested that *** put through the cancellation.  3-4 days later I receive an email that my item shipped the very next morning after speaking with *** (whom I only spoke with the evening before the item shipping the "very" next morning... yet he could not see that)??  And why would they wait several days after shipping the item to email me that it had shipped? Had *** said "I see that your item is ready to ship in the morning", as I do not understand why he could not as it apparently was already loaded, I would have never cancelled it but when he could not tell me when it would ship (after waiting nearly 2 weeks for a ship date to begin with) and I needed the rug for an upcoming event that would have been received too late at this point!  

Rug Studio is not an honest business as this to me appears to be an attempt to make you think your order is being cancelled and then suddenly you receive the item and cannot return it without paying a huge return fee (half the cost of the rug)... which, makes someone rethink whether to return or keep it.  Keeping it means that Rug Studio is not out any money for the returned item and no restocking fees, etc..  What I had asked *** (who apparently does not feel that his customers are important) was to provide me a shipping label for $20 to return the item since the total cost to ship the rug to me was only $20 and he offered a shipping label of $120. His statement in regards to offering the return shipping label for $120 "was above and beyond what they do for their customers" proves they are not customer friendly.  Also, his statement that he would send me an extension for their return shipping option through 12/19 has never been received by me (again, customers are not his priority). I'm still requesting a return shipping label for $20.

Regards,

**** *******

5/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two rugs from RugStudio.com received March 31st. After multiple emails to them regarding my status that was expected in 3-5 business, I only receive more automated shipment status emails and no rugs. From my last "status update:" Shipment Details: Item Number: 64485x1 Ragtime Calico Pastel 2' x 3' Ship Date: 4/3/2014 Carrier: UPS Tracking Number: ****************** http://wwwapps.ups.com/tracking/tracking.cgi?tracknum=****************** Item Number: 64543x2 Ragtime Sturbridge Stone 2' x 6' Runner Ship Date: 4/3/2014 Carrier: UPS Tracking Number: ****************** http://wwwapps.ups.com/tracking/tracking.cgi?tracknum=****************** If you click those links, you will obviously see the rugs are being returned to the sender. Did RugStudio not have the right shipping address? And if so, why hasn't anyone contacted me to correct it????

Desired Settlement: I want my rugs delivered to me within the next month and a HUMAN explanation of why it's been taking so long.

Business Response: ******* *****,

I must apologize, it appears that the manufacturer had improperly noted your address on the shipping information. I have forwarded this information to the claims department, so they will be emailing you in regards to a resolution to this problem.

You can be expecting correspondence from Yvonne in the claims department very soon.


Thank you for your added patience in this matter.


*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******

www.RugStudio.com

###-###-#### EXT ***

Monday - Friday

9-5 Central Time Zone

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me for this particular complaint.

Regards,

******* *****

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent the wrong rug and when I tried to speak to someone in customer service, they kept directing my calls to voicemail. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, they directed me to a voicemail. WhenI called and got through to a supervisor, she directed my call to voicemail! The worst customer service, incompetent beyond belief and fraudulent in their advertising rhetoric.

Desired Settlement: My desire is to see that these people go under. I'm surprised they've lasted this long.

Business Response: The claims process, handled by ******, was carried out successfully. The rug was picked up at no expense to the customer and a refund was issued on 4/28/2014 before this complaint was filed.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
You wasted my time and energy, made me jump through many hoops to get my refund and I don't accept your answer that you took back the rug at no expense.  What about the humiliation? What about the distrust?  What about the lies?  What about the time and energy wasted in getting my money back?  You should be shut down and not allowed to frustrate one more human being with your lousy business practices!  I want others to know what I went through do they won't make the same mistake.
Regards,

**** ******

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently ordered 2 rugs from this company. Upon their delivery, one item is NOT what is shown in the picture. I contacted *** ******** who is the ********** ******* explaining that I was sent the WRONG item. He refuses to believe the wrong item was sent to me even though I have pictures showed the delivered merchandise. His position is that "colors and patterns may vary and that is stated on our website." Certainly something can vary once it is seen in person. However, the two products do no resemble one another.To make matters worse, I have to pay for shipping to return the product. I have contacted ***** ***** who is the owner of Rug Studio and left 3 message since last Thursday and she has not returned the called. *** sent me an email telling me "their postion was final."I am a business owner for many years and this is the some of the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I've ever seen. A customer should not be held financially responsible for someone else's mistake.

Desired Settlement: I am simply looking for:1. A full refund on both rugs. I purchased 2 items and was told a refund would be given but, I haven't seen it on my credit card. 2. Reimbursement of shipping of $36 on the rug returned.

Business Response: The image sent was reviewed and the customer did receive the correct rug, which was ordered as a sample for this very reason. Return shipping, as stated on our website, is the customers responsibility in this case.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I have attached picture of the rug that was sent.  This does not resemble what was pictured online in terms of design. This was verified by my designer and an independent third person who looked at the product received and what was advertised.  They agreed that this was in no way a representation of what was show online.

This is a case of a business not wanting to accept responsibility for an error.  Their Operations Manager, ***, was rude in phone conversation and unwilling to listen to what I was saying.   Further, he sent me an email stating, "Our decision is final." That statement made even before seeing a picture of what I had received.  Rug Studio's attitude from the beginning of this situation clearly shows an inability even consider making things right.  I took three email before they asked me to send a picture then, rejected me once again.  *** never bothered to ask for the picture, he simply rejected it.  The owner, *****, never bothered to return three messages I left. This is a company that is out for one thing:MONEY.  Customer Service has no place in their business plan.  



Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: The customer received the correct rug. The rug, viewable here: http://www.rugstudio.com/chandralibertylib14902.aspx has a more enlarged looking pattern. But this is why we state under every image on our site that, "Design may vary by size. Colors may vary from image." Again, a likely reason why these were ordered as samples.

If the rug had been incorrect, we have a claims process that would have been started and an alternate resolution would have been given. This case is not applicable for the claims process, given that the correct rug was sent. Our return policy and policies regarding rug images can all be found easily on our site. Given these policies, we can offer nothing else.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regardless of what this company says, the rug received DOES NOT RESEMBLE what was in the picture.  Stating I ordered it is a sample is absolutely true.  That has NOTHING to do with an incorrect product being sent.  Do not blame a customer for an error.  

As stated before, RugStudio rejected my concerns from the beginning and continue to hold their position.  I will continue to hold my position as well.  If they choose not to reimburse shipping that is their choice.  My choice is to continue taking this further and making certain potential customers and trade organizations are aware of their practices.  As a business owner, I would not risk a future loss in revenue or a loss in reputation for such a small amount of money.  This business needs SERIOUS customer service training.  


Regards,

****** *******

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a rug off of the rugstudio.com website. I received the rug and was not happy with it so I sent it back. That was over a month ago. I have contacted them several times and they keep saying I will be issued a refund in a week. That was a month ago. I would like a refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: RugStudio order number ********* was refunded in the full amount of $86.40 on 3/24/2014.

1/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/8/13 I ordered three area rugs on-line from Rug Studio. I PAID $202. FOR ALL THREE RUGS THROUGH PAYPAL. I received two of the rugs a week later. I called a customer service rep at Rug Studio about when I would receive the third rug. SHE SAID IT SHOULD BE IN BY THE FIRST PART OF NOVEMBER? When I still hadn't received the third rug by 11/15/22, I called Rug Studio again there was no answer. I called again on 11/22/13 still no answer so I called ****** and was advised that this was the last day I could file a complaint. I told ****** rep that all I wanted was the rug and she kindly offered to call Rug Studio on my behalf. She received no response. And that is why I filed the complaint with ******. I called Rug Studio later hoping I could just resolve this myself. I spoke to **** and he said I would have to $112.00 for the backordered rug and then they would send me the rug and a refund. He said I would have to cancel my complaint with ******. I then called ****** and was told by the rep that once I cancelled the complaint I would not be able to reinstate it if they still didn't send the rug. I called **** back

Desired Settlement: I would like my $112.00 refunded by Rug Studio as I have purchased the rug elsewhere. Thank you for your help.

12/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 identical rugs. I instructed the sales person that if only one was available don't send any. After I received only 1 rug, I called rug studio to see if I was getting another. The next day I get an email cancelling the 2nd rug. This order was put in as one order; the order is incomplete. All I asked from them is prepaid shipping label. I spoke to the HEAD of customer service **** ********, who would not pay for my $20.07 return shipping. He said I never expressed that to ship 2 or nothing. I don't know where he is getting his info. I reiterated time and time again my position. Poor customer service as well as not honoring the word of their sales staff

Desired Settlement: A check issued for $20.07 to myself.

Business Response: Customer ****** ****** has placed a few orders within the past month. On his previous orders, he had notated to ship both, or nothing at all. On this one, he neglected to do so. Given the situation, he was likely confusing this order, with one of his previous orders, as systems are in place preventing discrepancies. We sent emails regarding low stock, and letting him know that we would advise him if anything became unavailable, which we did. One of the items on the order was filled and later returned by the customer. He has been fully refunded for his order as of 11/26/2013. Furthermore, we do not pay for return shipping and are only able refund the amount that we charge the customer, which we have. Our 30-Day Return Policy (http://www.rugstudio.com/rugstudiostorepolicies.aspx) is clearly stated on our site and that is the process that we follow in cases like this.

Regards,

*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******
www.RugStudio.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The business is lying. All along I was ordering 2 matching rugs for the same purpose.

***** really should be responding,  one of my employees didn't document my requests on the order that actually got shipped. Rug studio never notified me of the cancellation on
the other rug either.
This establishment is a poor member of the BBB.


Regards,



****** ******

Business Response: Customer ****** ******. The merchandise has been returned and the customer has been refunded for 100% of what he had paid to us, there is nothing else that we can offer. We cannot refund more than what we charge. The shipping back of his item with use of the Return Authorization that we provided to him is considered acceptance of our previously stated policies.

Regards,

*** ********
RugStudio ********** *******
www.RugStudio.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: They can't have it both ways. I was sent merchandise I did not authorize to be sent.

I instructed the sales force not to ship an incomplete order.

I think *** is the one who is confused. *** says he can do no more.

Copout...

Rug Studio can send me a check for $20.07 and call it a day.

Did *** ever get taught,'The customer is always right'. I didn't want to go there, but I am being forced to.
 
Regards,

****** ******

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a carpet that is NOT what was pictured on the website. Website shows a carpet with solid colored dots in the pattern. I received a carpet with multi colored dots, so it is not the same carpet. Merchant will not pay for me to return this incorrect item, despite my calling them. Owners would not speak to me by phone when i asked to speak to them. I would like to return this rug, however, I do not feel I should have to pay $40 to UPS to do so.

Desired Settlement: refund to my credit card and a pre-paid return label, please

5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have still not received the refund as stated in my previous complaint #*******. I want my refund ASAP along with a fee of $30 for debiting my account and holding my money without cause.

Desired Settlement: The business must refund my money along with provide me a fee 0f $30 for debiting and holding my money ASAP.

Business Response: Customer was refunded promptly upon receiving cancellation confirmation from the manufacturer (5/8). Customer was sent an email alerting him to the pending refund. The emails states "Please allow 2-3 business days for the refund to show up on your account". Today would be the 3rd day. If the refund does not show up in his account by tomorrow, he will need to contact his bank to find out why the delay.  We do not issue money to customer's for cancelled orders. We can only refund the full amount of the charge, nothing more.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service