BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mid-Tex of Midland, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mid-Tex of Midland, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mid-Tex of Midland, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 30, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1941 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1941 Business incorporated: 04/06/1990 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Renz, Vice President Mr. Alan White, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Renz, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Alan White, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Materials - Retail Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Hardwood Floor Contractors

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 5206 W Wadley Ave

    Midland, TX 79707 (432) 697-2282

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a lot of carpet installed in home. Within 24 hours started stepping on nail strips. A supervisor came and said he fixed. Continued stepping on nail strips then noticed carpet pilling up. They had razor edged the entire install instead of properly tacking down! I ordered stain resistant carpet and its worse than what I had! It shows everything and won't release stains. I called and was connected with a manager who was rude and ugly to me about entire situation. I was going to go ahead and fork over money to have it fixed but I shouldn't have to! I paid a lot for this! It's been 3 years and its horrible! Fraying everywhere, constantly stepping in nails !

Desired Settlement: I just want recognition that they were wrong and compensation for bad services and product! They act like I'm bad for wanting what I paid for?

Business Response:

 

Mid-Tex of Midland, Inc.
5206 West Wadley
Midland, Texas *****
Phone: (432) 697-2282
Fax: 694-9627

 

 



 

11/13/13

 

 

 

 

 

 

BBB Corporate Office
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752

Fax: 512/445-2096

Re: Complaint ID #*******
***** **** ****

To Whom It May Concern:

I have received a copy of the complaint filed with you by Ms. **** who lives at **** ******** **., Midland, TX *****. I am at a loss as to how to correctly answer this complaint because the facts asserted by Ms. **** in her complaint do not agree what so ever with what my records show.

I do show that we installed two rooms of carpet for her in September of 2011, which is over a year later than she says. Her carpet was installed in the same manner as all carpet is when it is stretched in over pad. The installer that did this job is one of the most experienced and capable installers in Midland. I have no idea what she means by "razor edged", it is not a term that I have heard before except when referring to the sharpness of a blade. I am also not sure what is meant by "pilling up".

I have check the job folder and have found no record of a complaint by Ms. ****. I have also asked the salesperson and installer if they were aware of a problem and neither can recall one. If she talked to a manager here it would have been myself and try never to be "rude and ugly" to our customers.

The only notation I find out of the ordinary related to this job was that we had to refer this account to a collection agency on 1/27/12 for non payment of the balance due of $1428.22. We would not do this if we were aware of a problem on the job. We were paid the balance on 3/21/12.

The last thing I can say that if she does have a problem with stain resistance or wearing of the carpet this would be filed with the manufacturer. We would normally assist the customer in doing this if we were aware of the potential problem. For the warranty to apply the carpet, it must be cared for and treated decently and to their specifications. This includes yearly cleaning by a professional carpet cleaner. Also a stain resistant carpet is not stain proof; there are many substances that are excluded from these warranties such as pet urine, oil or grease, and paints or stains.

Sincer

*** **

Vice-President & Co-Owner

****midtexofmidland.com

 

Business Response:

 

Mid-Tex of Midland, Inc.
5206 West Wadley
Midland, Texas 79707
Phone: (432) 697-2282
Fax: 694-9627

 

OF MIDLAND

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Re: Complaint ID #*******
***** **** ****

To Whom It May Concern:

I have received a copy of the complaint filed with you by Ms. **** who lives at **** ******** **., Midland, TX 79707. I am at a loss as to how to correctly answer this complaint because the facts asserted by Ms. **** in her complaint do not agree what so ever with what my records show.

I do show that we installed two rooms of carpet for her in September of 2011, which is over a year later than she says. Her carpet was installed in the same manner as all carpet is when it is stretched in over pad. The installer that did this job is one of the most experienced and capable installers in Midland. I have no idea what she means by "razor edged", it is not a term that I have heard before except when referring to the sharpness of a blade. I am also not sure what is meant by "pilling up".

I have check the job folder and have found no record of a complaint by Ms. ****. I have also asked the salesperson and installer if they were aware of a problem and neither can recall one. If she talked to a manager here it would have been myself and try never to be "rude and ugly" to our customers.

The only notation I find out of the ordinary related to this job was that we had to refer this account to a collection agency on 1/27/12 for non payment of the balance due of $1428.22. We would not do this if we were aware of a problem on the job. We were paid the balance on 3/21/12.

The last thing I can say that if she does have a problem with stain resistance or wearing of the carpet this would be filed with the manufacturer. We would normally assist the customer in doing this if we were aware of the potential problem. For the warranty to apply the carpet, it must be cared for and treated decently and to their specifications. This includes yearly cleaning by a professional carpet cleaner. Also a stain resistant carpet is not stain proof; there are many substances that are excluded from these warranties such as pet urine, oil or grease, and paints or stains.

Sincerly,
**** ** ****

Vice-President & Co-Owner

****midtexofmidland.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because i

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Sent: Tuesday, November 26, 2013 3:42 PM

To: info

Cc: *********@yahoo.com

Subject: Rejection of business response: 

We actually had three rooms of carpet installed, two living rooms and a bedroom.

I noticed I typed 2010 instead of 2011, I apologize!

The carpet was cut but not tacked, I sent two photos from two separate locations in home.

I spoke with front desk associate who forwarded my complaint.

I was contacted by Mr **** and he was very very rude. He brought up the fact we paid in two installments and that the second was late, I informed him we were not wanting to pay for a bad product and service but in the end paid and decided to handle with him.

When I explained the issues he said he had had this same problem occur with other customers before me with these installers, he admitted he had know of this happening before.

I did contact my sales person Mr ***** ******** about the issue and he came a week after install and inspected the problem, he looked at the razored edges and offered no help.

I'm happy to send other pictures of this mess if it helps!

Thank you so much for your help!

Sincerely,

***** ****


Regards,

***** ****

Business Response:

12/05/2013 06:44                                      Mid-Tex                                                                       (FAX)432 694 

 

Mid-Tex of Midland, Inc.
5206 West Wadley
Midland, Texas 79707
Phone: (432) 697-2282
Fax: 694-9627

 

 

 

 

 

 

12/4/13

BBB Corporate Office
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752
Fax: 512/445-2096

Re: Complaint ID #*******
***** **** ****

To Whom It May Concern:

I have received Ms. ****'s rejection of our response. I still do not agree with her statements regarding my employees, installation crew or myself. As I stated previously the crew that did her installation is one of the best and we very rarely has problems on their jobs. Therefore I know that I would have never made the statement about "same problem occur with other customers" to her. I have also found Mr. ******** to be very responsive to handling his customer's problems. He would not take the trouble of going to a customer's house to look at a problem only to "offer no help". As for myself I have been accused of many things over the years but being rude to a customer has not been one of them.

Since my previous response I have had both Mr. ******** and the installation crew drive by Ms. ****'s house to see if it would jog their memory about any issues on the job. Both remember the initial installation but didn't recall any call backs on it. This along with the lack of any notations or correspondence in the folder is why I believe we were unaware of any problem.



It has always our company policy to try our best to deal with any complaints from our customers and to take care of any legitimate ones. Both Mr. ******** and the installation crew have offered me to go by and see if they can take care of the problems. However I believe that the best solution is for me to do this myself. If Ms. **** will agree to this then I will call her and set a time to do so. If she plans to claim any soiling problems with the carpet then I would ask her to have copies of any cleaning receipts for me to see. If she will not agree to this then I have done all I can do on this matter. Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

-----Original Message-----

From: ***** **** [mailto:*********@yahoo.com]

Sent: Monday, December 09, 2013 5:31 PM

To: info

Cc: *********@yahoo.com

Subject: Rejection of business response ******* 

I'm afraid I'm going to reject the follow up response of MidTex of Midland. Without a third party such as the Better Business I have no assurance that the matter will be resolved amicably. I have in the past attempted to deal with Mr ****, had that been successful I would not have sought assistance. Without help from BBB, I can't believe that the matter will be resolved. I can clean the carpets, but I can't fix poor installation. I've sent photos (and can send more). I would love to have a BBB representative look at the install in my home. I would be happy with a partial refund and apology. I will not allow MidTex to EVER work in my home again.

Thank You So Much

***** **** 

 



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service