BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Hicks Carpet One Floor & Home

Phone: (210) 496-2121 Fax: (210) 545-7682 12223 San Pedro Ave, San Antonio, TX 78216 http://www.hickscarpetone.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers flooring sales and installation services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hicks Carpet One Floor & Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hicks Carpet One Floor & Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hicks Carpet One Floor & Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1963 Business started: 06/17/1935 in TX Business started locally: 06/17/1935 Business incorporated: 06/17/1935 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Hicks, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Hicks, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Floor Materials - Retail Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Hardwood Floor Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
This company accepts Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express, Checks, and GE Money Financing. 
Alternate Business Names
Hicks Carpet One Hicks Company Inc.
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 12223 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 496-2121

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** Carpet One was contracted to install new flooring in my Entry Hall, Kitchen, Master Bedroom, Master Closet, Master Bathroom, Formal Living Room, Upstairs Bathroom, and Upstairs Closet. The Formal Living Room and Den had a pattern done with Adura flooring. The installer said he had never done a pattern like that, but did a great job with the Living Room and Entry. When working the continuing hall and Den, he admitted he was behind schedule and brought in a helper. When the area was complete, there were numerous planks that were loose with uneven joints. They would move when stepped on. When ***** asked for final payment, I complained about the work that needed fixing. He sent the installer out and the installer added glue to the boards. Thinking he had fixed the issue, I paid ***** the balance. However, the floor was left with glue smudged on the floor, and not all the boards were glued. Also the boards that were "repaired" now have unsightly puckers at the butt joints. The joints are not flat. The flaws are obvious and the fist thing people see when they walk in my front door. There is also an area where patching material was put over a crack and not smoothed down. I have called and am always told the ***** *****, ************ ******* (***** ***) and *** ***** cannot come to the phone and I am asked to leave a message. NOBODY has called back or responded by FAX or mail.

Desired Settlement: Someone from ***** Carpet One to come out and inspect the floor and schedule a fix.

Business Response: ** ***** has been contacted and a date has been set for our installer to go and repair anything that is of concern as per the concern **. Boehm speaks of in his statement.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


I am close to the 10 day limit and the issue is not resolved.

I received a call from the ***** Carpet One receptionist 7/10/2013 at 2:52 PM.  She said **  ***** was busy this week but could come Monday, 7/15/2013.    *** ***** arrived promptly at 10:30 AM.  He arrived alone.  After viewing the floor and after I told him the puckered boardshad been initially loose and were repaired by the installer with glue, roller and heat gun; *** ***** said he would arrange for the installer to come back before my scheduled trip to Canada 7/20/2013.  At that time the installer would pull up a few planks and identify the problem.  ** ***** noted two possible causes: planks cut too long, and moisture.  I do not think moisture is the likely culprit as the concrete was bare for a number of months before the planks were installed.

*** ***** said he would likely accompany the installer.

I have not heard from anyone from ***** Carpet One since Monday.



Regards,

****** *****





























Business Response:

We have contacted the customer and have had our installer go out and repair any and all issues that ** ***** felt needed to be addressed.  We feel confident that everything has been resolved satisfactorily and should any future issues arise he should contact us in a timely manner so that we can address the situation. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 12, 2013, we chose wood floors from sample for five rooms and hallway. Flooring came in after three weeks. ***** sent contractor to do demolition of tile and hallway and carpet removal on May 8, 2013 . Wood was delivered on 5-10-2013 to sit over weekend for 48 hours. On 5-13-2013 started laying flooring in living area. It was not squared and not laying correctly. Called Mr. ***** ***** and he sent his son to look. ******* ***** said Flooring was deffective. He said he had semilair wood we would like just as much without waiting 3 more weeks. Accepted wood after seeing small amount laid out. When the boxes of this second wood chosen came, 5-16-2013, one box had to be taken back by contractor being broken up and the rest were torn and ripped. Once again when the wood was being laid, it did not lay properly and some edges were broken. With both deliveries, the contractor was told to just go ahead and lay flooring by Mr. *****. Mr. ***** had wanted full payment on 4-13-2013. I told him I was not comfortable with that arrangement. So he asked for half ($4,617.00) and I had agreed. I put this amount on my credit card on 4-13-2013 by phone call with ********* at ***** Flooring. On 5-17-2013, I checked my credit card charges and saw that ***** had charged the balance ($4,618.91) on my card WITHOUT my permission. With allof the trouble with defective flooring, on 5-17-2013 I asked for my full payment to be credited on my card. Mr. ***** and ********* both said they would do so. The only charge credited is the second half that was put on without my permission. They will not take my calls anymore and I have been told many things they did not do. I desperately need my money back so that I can find flooring as soon as possible. The house is unlivable with concrete floors and furniture piled every where. My husband is 77 and has Alziemers. If he falls on these concrete floors, he will most definitely break bones or worse as he is very frail. We are now on day 18 with unlivable conditions. Please help if you can. Thank you. ****** *****

Desired Settlement: Full payment credited as soon as possible .

Business Response:

This situation was a very unfortunate  situation and has since this posting has been resolved.  The customer came into the showroom and I spoke with her directly.  I gave her a letter of apology on behalf of the company and ensured her that all monies would be reversed to her credit card.  While we as a company are stilling dealing with the return of all products that Ms. ***** did not want installed, the situation between Ms. ***** and ***** has been taken care of.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ********* **** ******** *** ******** ***** ***** ************ May 1, 2013 ***** ***** and Hicks Carpet One, My name is ****** ********* and my wife is ******* *********. On December 17, 2012, my home was flooded due to a water line breaking. ***** **** is my insurance company and offered me their Preferred Service Provider program since I have been a customer of theirs for over 20 years. I chose to use the program and they assigned Hicks Carpet one as the company to provide all my flooring replacement. Hicks came to the home and measured everything. In January my wife and I went to the store to pick out our new flooring. At this we chose to “upgrade” the flooring in the master bathroom from vinyl to ceramic tile, the downstairs family room from carpet to Hardwood, and then upgrade the carpet and pad. We also chose to have two additional rooms carpeted. Our portion was approximately $4,000.00. Which we financed with Hicks under the no interest plan offered. On 02/12/2013, the work was scheduled to begin on the removal and installation of flooring. Everything the first two days went well. On Thursday, 02/14/2013, is when all the problems and issues with Hicks Carpet One began. I received a phone call from my next door neighbor advising me there was another water leak in my home.( Please see the below timeline for exact times.) No one from Hicks Carpet One EVER contacted me or my wife to inform us of this new water leak. From my investigation of the matter no one contacted ***** **** until after I called ***** ******* inquiring about it. This water leak was caused by a “faulty removal of the toilet in the master bathroom,” according to ***** ***** with ***. Mr. ***** explained to me he was originally told by Hicks Carpet One management the leak was coming from between the ceiling and the second story floor. It was later determined the leak was from the toilet fill valve not between the floor and ceiling as Hicks Carpet One management advised. This was proven by the flooring in the master bedroom and the adjoining bedroom being wet, just as in the first flood incident. I have had nothing but problem after problem getting Hicks Carpet One employees, manager ******* ***** to get the work done timely and correctly. As you will see in the timeline “TOMORROW” needs to be the motto for Hicks Carpet One since I was told that so many times. The lack of customer service by Hicks Carpet One is incredible; no one seemed to care about me, my family or anyone else as far as that goes. We were forced to stay in a hotel weeks longer because of Hicks Carpet One’s ineptness and unprofessional work. We moved in to our home prior to the work being completed so we could keep a closer eye on the work. I even took time off from work to have numerous meetings with Hicks Carpet One employees and ***** **** Insurance. My wife and I have missed work, pre-paid dance lessons, opportunities to go with friends to the coast on weekends and other items due to Hicks Carpet One. I thought I was done having to deal with Hicks Carpet One when I signed the payment receipt but to my amazement I have to deal with more unsatisfactory customer service provided by Hicks Carpet One. On 04/15/2013 I contacted ******* to report a scratch in the hardwood flooring to be told he would come repair it “TOMORROW.” It has now been over 16 days and I keep hearing Hicks Carpet One’s motto “TOMORROW.” The carpet seams in the gameroom and a closet of a bedroom are again visible. When ******* was told about them I was again told TOMORROW. As this letter is written I have realized we never received any receipts or paperwork from Hicks Carpet One, other than the credit information. It would be nice to have something to refer to but nothing was ever given. I am not sure if this letter will change anything since my telephone calls, text messages, complaints to ***** **** insurance and such never seemed to make a difference. Thank you ****** ********* CC: ***** **** Insurance Better Business Bureau of San Antonio 02/12/2013 Work started removing old carpet 02/13/2013 Tiled bathroom 02/14/2013 0900 – Found major water leak- NEVER called Mr. ********* 1130- Neighbor comes to home sees water dripping from kitchen ceiling. 1140- Neighbor calls Mr. *********. 1141- Mr. ********* calls ******** with ***, no knowledge of new water damage 1145- Mr. ********* calls ***** *******, ***** ****, and he had no knowledge of new water damage. 1330- Mr. ********* arrives at residence, no remediation has been started. Hardwood being installed. Workers did not talk or try to explain what had happened. Calls to *** Mr. *****, ******** is on his way to get materials to start dry out. ******** arrives with equipment. Mr. ********* leaves residence. 02/18/2013 Mr. ********* contacted ******* W/Hicks and invited him to a meeting with *** to discuss timetable going forward at 4:30pm ******* said he did not need to make a meeting. 1630- Met with ******** he would start repairs on Tuesday and would be done on Wednesday morning so Hicks could start Wed. PM 02/20/2013 Contacted ******* W/Hicks who advised he would be at the house the next day Thursday. 02/21/2013 NO work conducted. ******* advised he would be at the house Friday after lunch and work late into the evening and finish on Saturday. 02/22/2013 NO work conducted. ******* stated he would come out on Saturday early am. 02/23/2013 0900 - Mrs. ********* arrives at home no one working. She calls Hicks and is told by lady our home is not scheduled for any work. She asks to speak to manager and was told no manager was available. Was told the owner ***** ***** would call her. NO CALL EVER received. 1130 – Neighbor reports Hick van pulled into driveway. 1400 – Neighbor reports Hicks van no longer at residence. Work completed: Master Bedroom carpeted, One upstairs bedroom and hallway carpeted. 02/25/2013 Carpeted second upstairs bedroom. Carpeted game room will be back tomorrow to finish. 02/26/2013 No work conducted will be there tomorrow…… 02/27/2013 No work conducted will be there tomorrow……. 02/28/2013 ***** **** notified in regards to not getting work completed and poor workmanship 03/01/2013 0900 – Meeting with ********* ********, ***** **** and *******, from Hicks. ******* says he will get everything finished that day and will be at residence at 1630 to walk through with Mr. *********. One downstairs bedroom and stairs carpeted. ******* sends numerous text messages explaining why he didn’t complete everything and says he will be out on Saturday to complete. More carpet to be ordered. 03/02/2013 ******* never showed and never called. 03/08/2013 New carpet is in and ******* called to say it would be installed this day. Carpet installed and grout completed around hardwood/tile. 03/15/2013 0900 - Mr. ********* calls Hicks to inquire when they would finish, after one week with no follow-up from Hicks. ******* advises ******* will be at home at 1430 to finish work and get problem areas fixed. 1645 – Mr. ********* arrives home to NO WORK. 1700 – Mr. ********* calls Hicks and is told ******* just stepped out. She was advised Hicks is not allowed to be on the property. Mr. ********* is told ***** ***** will call him in regards to the issues. 1723 – ******* starts texting saying he is sorry but had texted wrong number during day. ******* advise he does not have permission to be on property and will be arrested for criminal trespass if he comes onto property. Mr. ********* called ***** *******, ***** ****, left message. 03/19/2013 Advised by ***** **** Hicks must complete work in order for 5 year warranty to be valid. ******* ***** will be at home on 03/20/2013 at 4:30 PM to inspect all the problem areas. 03/20/2013 ******* ***** arrive 30 minutes late. Advises ******* will be at the house on Thursday and will not leave until all the work is completed to my satisfaction. 03/21/2013 ******* was supposed to be at the home by 3:00pm arrives 4:30pm. At approximately 6:00pm he advises he does not have proper tools and wants to leave without completing the job. Mr ********* contacts ******* who advises he needs to talk to *******. 30 minutes later ******* says he has to go to **** ***** to get pieces to fix hardwood flooring. ******* returns and begins working on hardwood floors around 9:00 pm ****** leaves home after 10:00pm ******* advises all soft spots are fixed. Mr & Mrs ********* had pre-paid dance lessons scheduled for 8:00pm that evening which we were unable to attend. 03/22/2013 Soft spots are not fixed same spots are still soft and more excuses from ******* and *******. ******* comes by and attempts to fix again but is not successful. 03/25/2013 Hardwoods, at this time, no longer have soft spots! SIX weeks after initial installation. 04/13/2013 While getting furniture moved inside hardwood gets scratched. 04/15/2013 Mr ********* contacts ******* who says he will be by the next day to look at the floors and fix scratch. 04/16/2013 ******* no shows and when contacted advised he will be by the next day. 04/17/2013 ******* no shows and when contacted advised he will be by the next day. 04/18/2013 ******* no shows and when contacted advised he will be by the next day. 04/19/2013 ******* no shows and when contacted advised he will be by the next week. 04/22/2013 ******* no shows says he can come on Wednesday 04/24/2013 ******* no shows 04/25/2013 Seams in carpet in Gameroom and closet of bedroom are very visible AGAIN. ******* is notified and replies he will look at it tomorrow. 04/26/2013 ******* no shows no contact. 04/30/2013 ******* is asked if Mr ********* needs to contact ******* to get the home put on the schedule. ******* advised he spoke to ******* and home is on schedule for tomorrow. 05/01/2013 Upon arriving home at 4:30 no repairs found. ******* said he came by home and will come by next day to fix because he needed his wax kit to make the repair. Never looked at carpet seams and said he would “take a look tomorrow.” 05/07/2013 11:32AM ******* came to home and fixed the scratch and then said the following in a text message: “Keep in mind that with light colored carpet natural light can play a part on new seams being visible at times..that is why you can see them sometimes and not others.. regular vacuuming will help the seamed areas by working the nap in those areas..they won’t be appear visible for long.” As of 05/28/2013 all seams are still visible and getting worse. I took a break from calling Hicks or ***** **** do to my daughter graduating from college and my son getting married. Now that both are completed I can again pursue getting the problems taken care of. I am filing a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau of San Antonio in hopes they can assist me in what my options are.

Desired Settlement: All issues with carpeting and hardwood are fixed without delay and numerous no shows by the Hicks employees. Hicks Carpet One should be forced to reimburse me for the entire purchase price I was responsible for. Hicks Carpet One should not have an A+ rating with BBB.

Business Response: This situation has since been resolved.  We had one of our installers go into Mr. *********** home with a punch list and take care of all lingering issues.  As of today, this situation is no longer an issue.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


After numerous complaints and having another company review the extremely poor installation ******* ***** did send an employee to do repairs. The employee arrived found several other installation issues. Even though ******* ***** did not see them nor did he agree with his employee. They argued whether he should fix poorly installed area on staircase since"Mr. ********* didn't complain about the staircase." ******* ***** told his employee he was not to do the repair. Thankfully the employee did not listen to ******* and did the repairs. The repairs are complete but during the repairs the employee found damage to my pool table that had to have been caused by Hicks Carpet One during originsl install.  Never was this brought to my attention. ***** **** has agreed to pay for the damages so I will not have to deal with Hicks, they will take up the battle for me. Hicjs Carpet One has horrible customer service, tries to deceive customers and is dishonest. They do not deserve a good rating with the BBB and I hope this will not be pushed aside. My carpet issue is finally fixed, only because I refused to accept ******* ***** version of what is considered acceptable or in his words "to industry standards". If I listened to him and did not go get other carpet professionals to give their opinion I would be stuck with having to lidten to an inept carpet person named ******* *****! 

Regards,

Robert *********





























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased the floor in December of 2010. It was under the impression that the flooring and carpeting would out last us Mr. ******* ***** himself sold us on the flooring stating that the floor is seamless and that no seam will show and any indentations will pop back out in time. Since the day we had the flooring and carpet installed in 2011 we have called them numerous time to come out and get some issues fixed that we found to be very noticeable on the flooring. And numerous times they have sent out workers to try to repair the floor with no success of doing so. I have had the carpet professionally cleaned three times already as of today and plan on doing it again soon. They have tried to repair the floor by cutting it out and adding another piece to it which I told them I don't want cause I don't want any seams to show on my floor. Now one of the carpet cleaners that came by recommended by Mr. ***** ***** himself they told us after having the carpet for only a year, that the carpet was in bad shape and that the carpet upstairs that has been here since the house was built looked in better condition than the carpet that was new. One day ***** ***** came by to take a look at the floors said there was nothing wrong with them and the only thing wrong with them was that they were not properly maintained which that was a big insult to me. And that the seam on the floor was cause there was dirt in it and would be impossible to remove now and all the swirls and indentations on the floor were cause of the light coming in thru the windows and doors. And the reason for the rug looking run down was cause we were not vacuuming enough we need to vacuum at least two to three times a day. And for us to try to avoid stepping on some areas that we were complaining about. These repairs are nothing that can be done with a one time visit the whole floor and carpet would have to be replaced or we want our money back. As far as trying to get a hold of them these last couple of months is a very difficult task, not once have they ever called us back we are always the ones to have to call them. We have so many calls to them and we also called corporate and sent a letter to Texas Attorney General. I also sent out pics of the floors to corporate and *****. So as of today we heard from them about two weeks ago they emailed me to ask for me to fax over the invoices to the carpet cleaners to make sure I have had the carpet cleaned by a professional. And that they were filing a claim. well that's all for now until I remember something later.

Desired Settlement: New flooring and carpeting or money back

Business Response: Sorry I have taken so long to respond.  We are currently working with the customer to
rectify the problem.  I believe that he
just needed to vent and decided that this method, along with other people that
he contacted directly ie. vendors, were his way of getting it out.

 

Our Sales Rep, ******* ***** has met with Mr and Mrs
***** here in our showroom recently, and also has gone with a Rep from a
company that the flooring came from, to their house to evaluate the situation.

 

I feel that everything is being addressed and that some
closure will be soon at hand.

 

Regards,

 

**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1