Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Quality Carpet Care and Upholstery Cleaning

Phone: (361) 334-0605 1236 S Staples St, Corpus Christi, TX 78404

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Carpet Care and Upholstery Cleaning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Carpet Care and Upholstery Cleaning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 14, 2009 Business started: 08/14/2009 Business started locally: 08/14/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Brock, Owner Ms. Michelle Brock, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Brock, Owner
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners Air Duct Cleaning Fire & Water Damage Restoration Tile & Grout Cleaning Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

Alternate Business Names
Angels Quality Carpet
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a carpet cleaning company

Additional Locations


    1236 S Staples St

    Corpus Christi, TX 78404 (361) 334-0605


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contacted ****** *****, ***** of Quality Carpet Care, several times prior to deciding to use his service along with other tile cleaning businesses to get information, compare, and to make a good decision. I had ended up going with Quality Carpet Care over the other businesses, because he was going to use Petroleum Based Sealer for the grout of the tile. When I had originally spoke to him he explained the process in how he cleans the tile which consists of, going though first to spot clean then using a big round head like the shape of of a circular garbage can top that has brushes. Then they need to wait to come back a different day to do the Petroleum base sealer, needed to let the grout dry first. I told him before he came and started the work that I already had one to 2 coats of fresh paint completed on all the walls and no furniture in the house because we just bought the house and that our air conditioner is not working and was waiting for the part to be delivered( and it may not be delivered prior to him doing the work). We decided to start the work on 9/13/14. Two workers showed up prior to the ***** (****** *****) and started to spot clean a bit and use the large circular brush to clean the grout. Once the ****** showed up we went through the house to show the rooms to be completed and get the square footage (Kitchen, dining, Living room, hallway, guest bathroom, and master bathroom) about 782 square feet at 39 cents a square foot because it was over 500 square feet for a total of $304.98 to clean and the Petroleum based sealer he stated would take 1.5 gallons per coat at $138 (expensive due to petroleum is expensive) and charges $50 per coat to put on for a total of $376 of 2 coats of the sealer. He asked for the whole payment of $737.16 up front and I was second guessing that since I have been paying 1/2 and 1/2 for everything but trusted he would do his work and payed him with a check. After the workers started working on spot cleaning and then using the tool he was suppose to use ( used for maybe 15-20 minutes) they started to use a the Hand Gun Power Washer inside my house (Kitchen, Dining, Living Room, Hallway, and Guest Bathroom. I was at the house for 2.5 hours along with the Painters and then had to leave to pick up my mother from the Corpus Airport to come help me with the house and my 1 year old (its a lot to handle). As they used the power washer they did have a vac to sweep up the water, but there was water mist everywhere in the house and dirt/hair from the grout ended up splattering on the walls and some parts of the ceiling up to over 5 feet high in some places ( In which I saw after I got back form picking up my mom). The water had gone inside 2 of the bedrooms that have carpet from spraying the grout in the hallway. The water had gone all along the edges of the rooms about 1/2 way down. It was so wet that when I stepped on it the water soaked through my tennis shoes. The master bedroom is laminate flooring and water had got under that also from at the entrance from the hallway. They did not get to the master bathroom due to the painters working back there and they would come back and do it Monday, which was fine. Even though they supposably cleaned the guest bathroom, it looked horrible with black still in grout and along edges and toilet. I left and came back a couple hours later with a contractor friend of mine and showed him what happened and said I needed dehumidifiers. I was so upset with the water in the rooms with carpet and had asked him to bring some dehumidifiers over to rid the water and moister from the laminate and carpet rooms ( due to me not having an air conditioner in the house, which he knew about it) and ended up bringing 2 old and dirty loud fans to blow at the laminate so it doesn't buckle. He stated that nothing will happen ( no mold or mildew or damage) I ended up having to pull back the carpet in both rooms and get rid of the padding due to all the moister and water it had absorbed. Again he stated that it would be fine and nothing would happen it takes 48 hours for mold and mildew to start growing. I ended up having water under all my kitchen cabinets too and had to dry it out with fans. I ended up having to replace the carpet and padding sooner than I had planned and with just buying the new house that is a lot of money to have to put towards something you weren't planning at the time ($1600.00). After 1 day of the carpet being wet it started to stink and then after 2 days it really did stink inside the house. I was so upset and explained to him several times and asked him if he would do this in his house and if he has done this to other clients and why he did what he did inside my house. He could never answer my questions and always diverted the conversation. I ended up deciding to not have the master bath completed due to time and what had already happened didn't want any more problems. He came back Monday to finish the job. First he was going to clean of the walls with water and sponge, and then ended up using a long handle dry dust mop he used for the floor to wipe off the dirt from the walls. Then he started to apply the sealer, which he brought in a large Home Depot orange bucket. I was there the whole time except the last 30 minutes, had to run home to take my 1 year old and Mother who was not feeling well at the time, and came right back and he was already packed up and leaving ( I thought that was kind of fast). The next day he came again to finish up the second coat of sealer ( I confronted him again about the horrible job they did in the guest bathroom and everything that had happened and asked him to reimburse me at least half or about $400 dollars for the unsatisfactory job he did on cleaning the tile and he refused. I then told him to just reimburse me for the master bathroom and to not complete the second sealer and leave and he refused. He said it would be a breach of contract and that he was going to finish his work. Which made no sense and he would reimburse me for the master bathroom of $25.33. He would not ever listen or try to understand what and where I was coming from or even try to satisfy his customer. I was so very upset. He ended up having his worker cleaned the guest bathroom and looks a lot better and even his worker said they did a bad job on the bathroom at first. He spent more time at my house on Tuesday finishing up the job then he did on Monday in which I believe he didn't seal my guest bathroom on Monday too. As for the Petroleum based sealer he ended up using a water based sealer, because It did not even smell and you could tell my the coat it left on the tile. So he didn't even use the sealer I had hired him to use and ended up charging more then what he should have. I have at least 5 witnesses of what happened inside my house with this company and ***** and was very upsetting and stressful with a first time buying house and having workers come and complete work you expect them to complete along with dealing with a one year old. Plus he was stating incorrect statements about the painters stating they were all felons and he could have them put in jail, which is not true. I took pictures for proof also. Also he has advertised on his brochures that he is BBB accredited , which is not true. Please help resolve this issue with this company in which I am sure he has done the same to other customers and it is not right.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of at least $711.83 for the service he did poorly along with the stress, time he wasted, and headache, and for charging for a service of Petroleum based Sealer in which he did not use and he did not complete service as he was suppose to (Breach of Contract). Plus for having to replace the new carpet in the house which was sooner than expected of $1600. Quality Care advertises on the brochure they are BBB Accredited, in which they are not. I also want it to be known about his business he does not complete the work as he states he will and does a very poor job and deserves a poor rating for future customers to avoid this situation.

Business Response:

      Customer contracted us to steam jet her tile and seal with 2 coats. We did all we contracted for. We recommended 4 or 5 coats of seal when bidding as per sealer label says 3-5 coats. Expensive so she went minimum. When we get to the end she wanted a better look which would result from more coats but it's 150.00 per coat. I wouldn't do it free and she got mad, cursed at myself and my technicians and them grabbed me and ripped my worker out of my hand  that she had signed for just 2 coats.

     During the 3 day process go do the work she and her friend moved and turned off the blowers we placed to dry things thoroughly before we seal. They also walked all over the unfinished not dry 1st coat of seal getting it dirty and leaving dent prints. All of which she wanted us to fix for free even though she was told and texted and on contract that they needed to not walk on it for 24 hours per sealer label.

1. She signed where it says "Cleaned only at customer's risk." Just under her address info.

2. She signed for "The above has been satisfactorily completed."  Just under other place.

3. She sign and agreed in text to only 2 coats and very very clear on her copy.

4. She signed and acknowledged by phone and text that we would NOT be responsible for anything caused by them moving blowers, dehumidifiers,  walking on the floors messing them up. She almost DIDnt let us apply second coat AND mentions it in HER own statement to the BBB. Yes I most certainly insisted on finishing what we had contracted for.

5. Work order in top Boxes cover general conditions. Her floor was filthy, cracked, missing grout and noted at top. Due to that we had to avoid certain areas in order to not cause more problems like grout coming out. Had to be done by hand which is good but not equal to steam jet. But is the logical prudent approach to that condition of floor.

6. Her comment concerning water based sealer was odd. Was never discussed.  I've never used water based but I do know 

It drys in about an hour and is. Clear, thin and yes odorless. Ours is milky white, very thick and has slight a lcohol like odor. We wouldn't have needed to, or contracted for or asked for 24 hour curing and dry time if it weren't what manufacturer label directs.

     Bottomline, this customer was seeking additional free services to fix work already completed and damaged by her and others. She also wanted free additional coats of seal that cost 92.97 per gallon and cover up to 500sf.per gallon free. She had over 700 sf. So 1.5 gallons x 2 more coats approx. $300.00 she wanted for free to get it to look "right." My guess, to get the tile to look the way she wanted but shedeclined to agree to do. I can only assume she means light refraction, shine, luster which results from multiple layers  of seal to get that depth.

     We do 3-5 tile and marble jobs a week. Over 25 years in business. We know what must be done to get certain finished product. However we can't force anyone to pay for proper number of coats or force them not walk on seals that aren't ready.

     Last comment. Told her and on form that you pay for the technicians work not the results. Further that Texas is a contract law state which is why we are so very clear and detailed on our work orders. Which why she vussed and tore ours up. She. couldnt get anything over on ud. We did everything contracted for plus a little extra work in hall bath for free. We try to make customers happy which is why we worked that bath free but we won't be taken advantage of or buy product customers didn't pay for.

     Thank you for your time.

****** *****

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

His response is unsatisfactory and not addressing the major issues.  Again let me address the problems with his company:


1.      He used a PRESSURE WASHER to clean my TILE FLOOR AND GROUT INSIDE MY HOUSE and then afterwards used a water vac to suck up the water. (Prior to hiring him, he explained to me that he would be using a machine that has a circular head with brushes to clean the tile and grout and suck up the water, which he did not use).

a.       Listed below is the damage he caused by using the PRESSURE WASHER to clean the tile and grout:

                                                               i.       He splattered dirt and water over my freshly painted walls and ceiling. (Proof with pictures taken.)

                                                             ii.      The high PSI from the pressure washer blew out grout on parts of the floor. He had never stated on contract as he said in previous response that there was grout missing. (I have proof of contract.)

1.      The excess water from cleaning my floors with a pressure washer seeped under the walls, doorways, and around the perimeter of 2 of my carpeted bedrooms. The carpeting was so saturated when I stepped on it my feet were soaking wet inside my shoes.  This resulted in both the carpet and padding to be pulled back and removed from the house. (Proof of pictures taken.)

2.      I had to replace the damaged carpet due to the amount of water, which entered the rooms from using a pressure washer inside my house to clean the tile and grout!

2.     He knew before I hired him and started the job my A/C was not working.  Because he used a pressure washer inside my house and due to excess water left in the kitchen and bedrooms, I asked him to return later that evening to see the damage and to bring a dehumidifier.  He did return, but did not bring a dehumidifier to remove the moisture, instead, brought 2 fans, a box fan and a floor fan.  These were not sufficient, so I had to use 2 of my own fans to help dry up the water under the kitchen cabinets and under the laminate flooring in the master bedroom doorway.

3.      The tile and grout in the guest bathroom were supposed to be professionally cleaned as per contract. After they had cleaned the tile and grout, it was still dirty.  I was very dissatisfied with the work they had done on the bathroom floor. In fact, his employee told me they did a terrible job cleaning the guest bathroom.  The employee felt bad about this and cleaned the bathroom tile properly on the last day.

4.      He completed the 2 coats of sealer as agreed upon.  Again, the sealer was supposed to be petroleum-based, but had no smell to it that was petroleum like. He also brought the sealer pre-mixed in a bucket so I could not see the actual product. When the sealer dried it left a dull white residue, which is common with a water- based sealer. He told me he buys his sealer at Home Depot.  I called both Home Depot and Lowe’s and both told me they did not carry petroleum-based sealers for tile and grout. All of these indications led me to believe he used a water-based sealer and not a petroleum-based sealer, which is a breach of contract

a.       I was so frustrated with the ***** by this time after 4 days of him not understanding all the damages, unsatisfactory job completion, issues, and stress, I told him NOT to complete the second coat of sealer, to reimburse me for it, and then leave.  He refused, because he stated it was a breach of contract.


He was never willing to address the damages he caused by using a pressure washer inside my house. All I expected was professional and quality work to be done.  Which it was not! In addition, I expected damage done during work to be repaired.

What he did was not right and I want people in the community to be forewarned about his company and services, so they don’t get taken advantage of as I was.


******** ******

Business Response:

I have pics of steam jet equipment from major national chain competitors of mine that look just like what we used except ours is orange some are blue. Pics of solvent based sealers which are petroleum sol vents. 4 at home depot more on their website. She lied said they didnt carry them. Proves what we used in her statement  white stuff. Sealer is milky. Water based is clear and can't leave milky. Matt or milkiness due to lack of coats. Bbb can look on mfr or how to site. Pics of den tracked up by customer and her workers she wanted to fixed free. Pics of her grout prior to, which had areas up to foot long missing. We did exactly what was contracted for and less coats than I recommended  per product label. Even told her how she could and should fo 2 more coats later herself when she has money. We have done 30 chains like Arbys 20 years McDonalds theatres etc. 500k and 250k homes in last few weeks 1 is repeat tile clean customer. We do same equip. And process no problems.last point. Again she talks of  blowers dehumidifiers. She moved them and turned them off. In last 2 weeks we removed 2 and 3 inch flood jobs st Trinity Towers. Omni. Banks. Motel and 8 homes. Not mist or moisture BUT floods. Blowers.dehumidifiers  worked fine. She chose too few coats of sealer. She dirtied up the seal.  She moved the carpet barriers. She moved drying equipment. She lied about Home Depot selling petroleum  solvent sealer. We did what was contracted with pro etc. Thanks

Sealer at store (Pics 1 and 2)

Floor seal they tracked up and got dirty (Pics 3 and 4)

More pics of tile with grout issues throughout. Every couple of feet (Pics 5 and 6)

Pic floor they messed up (Pics 7 and 8)

Explains steam high pressure jets that are under these tools. Some are blue. Some red. Ours is yellow

Orange. Ours is. Yellow with chrome sometimes is servicemaster

Most have removable spray gun to focus narrow jet on grout lines. Even chrome unit like above

This sealer which u get at Lowe's refers to it as oil based.

Last pic shows how much water u can get. Also foam barriers to keep water in area on the tile. Like the ones she moved when we did her tile. I wonder if the customer from house in this pic tried to get it for free or claimed too much water ruined her  house and that they were doing it wrong. Bet there are 5000 homes a day in U.S. that get tile cleaned this wsy. Hope u can turn all these pics in. Thanks

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 I continue to be dissatisfied with his response he is not addressing the issue(s).  Again he continues to talk around the issue(s).

1.       The pictures he showed of the machine is not of my house,  but is what he was supposed to have used.  I never saw him use that machine and I also have witnesses that saw him use the Pressure Washer to clean my tile.

2.      He is not addressing the issue of the carpet he damaged in 2 of my rooms soaking wet around the perimeter, due to use of the pressure washer to clean the grout. Also, due to the use of the pressure washer there was dirt on my freshly painted walls.

3.      I had called both Home Depot and Lowes and asked if they carried Petroleum-Based Sealers for grout and they both stated they do not carry them.  As for the pictures he shows one has in writing it is Water Based and the other does not specify. The issue is not how the floor was walked on. The issue is I hired this company to professionally clean and seal with a Petroleum Based Sealer. I would like proof of receipt he bought and used a petroleum-based sealer (this is why he charges more, because petroleum-based sealer is more expensive than water based.)

4.      As for the pictures he attached of #4,5, &6 those are all pictures he has taken after they had cleaned the grout.

5.      I am a homeowner and for no reason at all would I turn off the fans. I used my 2 floor fans to prevent further damage. 

6.      I hired this company to professionally clean and seal my tile and grout with use of petroleum-based sealer.  I did not expect him to use the pressure washer with a higher PSI to clean my grout causing the damages he made and was not willing take care of the issue.  I had to contact him to bring a dehumidifier, which he did not he only brought 2 more of his fans, and I had to take care of the issue with the carpet in the 2 rooms.

7.      For further details please read my previous 2 complaints. 


******** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like to reject the offer of Mediation due to the Business ***** impossible to talk or deal with for complaint ID ********.


******** ******