Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

South Austin Marine

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 892-2432 Fax: (512) 892-5462 5340 W Highway 290, Austin, TX 78735 http://www.southaustinmarine.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

New and used boat sales, financing, parts & accessories sales, service, and boat storage.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Austin Marine meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Austin Marine include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Austin Marine
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1984 Business started: 09/15/1974 in TX Business started locally: 09/15/1974 Business incorporated 08/31/1982 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Parks & Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Rd, Austin TX 78744
http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 792-1112

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Black Mr. Wayne Black
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Black
Customer Contact: Mr. Wayne Black
Business Category

Boat Dealers Boat Equipment & Supplies Boat Storage Boat Repair

Products & Services

South Austin Marine sells the following brand(s): Bennington, Epic, Formula, Indmar, Mercruiser, Mercury, Monterey, Moomba, Regal, Sea Fox, Shallow Sport, Skeeter, Supra, Volvo, Yamaha

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Master Card, Visa, Discover, Amex
Alternate Business Names
South Austin Marine, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 3003 Highway 620 N

    Bee Caves, TX 78734 (512) 266-2225

  • 5340 W Highway 290

    Austin, TX 78735 (512) 892-2432

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new boat from South Austin Marine in Austin, TX. I picked the boat up on February 27. I drove to Austin from Benton, AR to pick the boat up. When I arrived one of the employees told me the salesman was out testing the boat to make sure everything worked as it should. When he returned to the dealership with the boat he went over it and its' features with me. One of the features of the boat is a ********** 788ci HD Di fish finders. One mounted at the bow of the boat and one at the console. Both are mounted in dash. Both of these units have GPS with integrated gps antennas. He told me the one in the bow of the boat works great and picks up gps signal right away but the one in the console took a little longer to connect gps because of interference form being mounted in the dash. He said I may have to install an external antenna for it to connect faster. As it turns out that unit was defective right out of the box. Being mounted in dash had nothing to do with it not working properly. After only a few times out on the water the gps quite working altogether. There were also other issues with the sonar keeping in contact with the bottom while the boat was in motion. I asked them if I could trade it for a new unit. They said they don't have one and it is a discontinued item. I asked about a different comparable unit that we could trade out but they weren't willing to do that. They say that my only recourse is for me to send the unit to the manufacture to be refurbished/ repaired. I don't feel that I should have to settle for refurbished when what I purchased was supposed to be new. I paid for a new unit but I got a lemon and now they don't want to stand behind it.

Desired Settlement: Either replace with a new unit of the same model, or upgrade to the next model of the same brand with the same features, or refund the purchase price of $799.00

Business Response:

****** ******

Better Business Bureau

512-********

*******@austin.bbb.org

Case ID: ********

 

  Mr. **** **** did purchase a new Skeeter boat with two new *********** 788 ci HD DI fish finder GPS combo units from South Austin Marine in February of this year. The customer requested these two *********** units to be installed by South Austin Marine before he took delivery of his boat. He wanted one unit to be flush mounted in the drivers console dash and the other unit to be flush mounted in the bow of the boat.  His salesperson **** ******* lake tested the boat the day before the customer drove from Arkansas to pick up his new boat.  **** checked all systems including the engine, accessory components, and the electronics that were installed. Everything was working correctly, but **** noticed the *********** unit mounted in the drivers console dash was slower to connect to GPS than the one mounted in the bow.  To verify the situation, **** called *********** technical service and explained the situation to them and they explained to us that these units have internal GPS antennas installed in them and sometimes there could be interference when flush mounted in the console dash which may cause the unit to take longer to connect to GPS, upwards of 20 minutes.  The unit mounted flush in the bow is mounted horizontally open to the sky and would connect faster to GPS. The unit mounted in the drivers console dash is mounted vertically with the fiberglass console and windshield covering the unit which could make it harder for the unit to connect to GPS since it is not completely open to the sky. *********** said the customer could purchase an optional *********** external GPS puck antenna that could make the unit receive GPS signals better. **** told Mr. **** that the unit mounted in the drivers console took about 20 minutes to connect to GPS and he may have to purchase the optional *********** external GPS puck antenna. He was fine with this at the time of delivery.  One final note, both units were working properly when the customer took delivery of the boat, his claim is false that it was defective right out of the box.

  On Monday March 30, 2015 Mr. **** called **** and said the drivers console dash mounted unit is not receiving a GPS signal at all.  He took his own unit out of the drivers console to test if it would receive a GPS signal when removed from the dash. It would not pick up any signal at this time which is different than when he took delivery of the boat because it would connect to GPS in about 20 minutes.   **** asked Mr. **** to call ***********s customer service line to get a RMA number to get the unit repaired. Mr. **** stated at this time he did not want the unit repaired but replaced. **** told the customer he would have to take this up with *********** because it was a warranty issue with them and the unit had already been warranty registered with ***********. On the morning of March 31, 2015 Mr. **** called **** and explained to us that he spoke to *********** and they would not replace his unit and it would take 3-4 weeks to repair and return his unit. Mr. **** explained to **** that South Austin Marine needed to replace his unit with a new one and for South Austin Marine to send his unit back to *********** and deal with the warranty issue. **** told Mr. **** he would call *********** to see if they could give him a new unit. **** called *********** customer service and asked them to look up Mr. ****’s conversations about the *********** in his dash not working. **** explained to *********** what was going on with the customers unit not working. **** told the warranty representative at *********** that Mr. **** would only be happy with a new unit and not repairing his current unit. **** was put on hold while she went to talk to her supervisor and she explained to **** that *********** does not make that unit anymore and they could not replace it. We then asked if they could replace it with a newer style unit and he could pay the difference, and she said he could not.  **** explained to *********** that the 3-4 week turnaround was not acceptable and they needed to expedite the repairs on his unit. The *********** agent gave **** a RMA number with notes in it to give to Mr. **** and they would have his unit repaired and sent back within 3-5 business days instead of the 3-4 weeks Mr. **** was told earlier.

  **** ******* called Mr. **** back that morning and explained how *********** was going to resolve the warranty issue on his unit, but he was not satisfied with their resolution and still wanted a new unit and wanted to speak to the owner of South Austin Marine. **** then went to the parts department to check if we had any units in stock like Mr. **** had purchased so we could possibly give him the same unit he had purchased, but we did not. The only units that were in stock were the newer style units that have different transducers and cables. ***** ***** the owner and **** ******* then called Mr. **** back that morning to try and resolve the issue. We had told him if we had the same unit that was mounted on his boat we could trade him out because the transducer and cables are the same. He still wanted us to give him one of our newer style units but we tried to explain to Mr. **** that we would be stuck with used cables, transducer and unit that we could not sell as new or warranty register. He still insisted on a new unit and not having his unit repaired since he had just bought the boat a month ago. We then explained to Mr. **** that we have to adhere to ***********’s warranty procedures and they were not willing to give him a new unit, but only repair his unit since the unit he purchased is no longer available from ***********. At that time Mr. **** asked for our company name and if I was the owner of South Austin marine and he was going to take us to small claims court. I then told him our conversation was over.  I feel South Austin Marine did everything possible to resolve the issue with Mr. ****, but he was unwilling to abide by ***********’s warranty procedures. Mr. **** even spoke to ***********’s customer service department directly and was told they would not replace his unit with a new one, but repair his unit. He should not be upset with South Austin Marine, but thankful we were able to get *********** to expedite the repair of his unit. *********** was willing to repair his unit in a reasonable amount of time, 3-5 business days and he would he would receive his unit back working properly with the same warranty. All issues would have been resolved and his unit would still be under warranty.

Thank You,

***** *****

South Austin Marine

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I appreciate the fact that sometimes gps units can have problems connecting due to interference from obstructions. That makes sense to me. However, that isn't the case in this situation.  I did a test yesterday (4/1/15 ) to see what would happen if I installed the bow unit into the console dash. I mounted it exactly as the defective unit was mounted and used the same power hook up. Everything was exactly the same. The two units are exactly alike. If one has problems connecting the other one should as well. I powered on the unit and the gps was working within 30 seconds. Later on after I had put my boat back into my garage I powered the good unit back up  to see if it would get signal from inside my garage. It worked. The good unit got gps signal inside my garage. The obstruction theory is not valid. I have video to prove this. I maintain that the unit was defective from the start. Therefore, it should be replaced with another brand new unit, or a refund. It should be the responsibility of South Austin Marine to make sure my brand new boat and all of it's contents and features are new and working as they should. None of it should be a refurbished item. I will be glad to send the video that I spoke of earlier to Mr *****. I hope that he will live up to their mission statement that is posted on the South Austin Marine website. It says in part " ensuring that you have the best experience possible". I was having the best experience possible until all of this. I'm not a hard person and I'm not trying to get something for nothing. I just want what I paid.

Regards,

**** ****

Business Response:

April 2, 2015

I am sorry Mr. **** is not satisfied with our response to his complaint. We are not debating that his unit is defective because *********** has offered to repair it at no cost to the customer. As *********** stated, sometimes it is normal for the units with the internal GPS antennas to take up to 20 minutes to connect, that does not make the unit defective. The unit was working when we delivered the boat to Mr. **** as we have stated earlier. Mr. **** spoke with *********** directly about this and knows that is a fact.  Mr. **** keeps suggesting that because he bought a new boat and had electronics installed on them that every time something breaks he should receive a complete brand new unit. He says in his response that it is South Austin Marine’s responsibility to make sure his brand new boat and all of its contents and features are new and working as they should. If this true, if his engine has a part failure is he going to want a brand new engine, or something goes wrong with any other component is he going to want a complete replacement? How long will South Austin Marine or any other manufacturer of the boat and components he purchased have to replace something that is defective with a complete new unit and not repair the defective unit? That is not how warranty works, the item is repaired and returned working properly. The replacement parts that are used to repair the item are not refurbished, but brand new components. The unit is still under warranty just like the rest of the components on the boat. Finally, Mr. **** has spoken to *********** directly and he should know we are telling him the truth about how their warranty works. We are trying to help him get his unit repaired in a timely manner so he can continue using his boat. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

He just doesn’t get it! Well, maybe he does and just doesn’t want to take responsibility and do what is right for the customer.

·         He says “The unit was working when we delivered the boat to Mr. ****”. It was working but not properly.

·         He says “sometimes it is normal for the units with the internal GPS antennas to take up to 20 minutes to connect”. Why is it then that the good unit from the bow of the boat worked perfectly when I moved it to the console? It didn’t take it anywhere near 20 minutes to get gps signal!  It was less than 30 seconds and even worked under the canopy of my garage. The two units are exactly the same. If one works properly in the console dash they both should work properly.

·         He says “if his engine has a part failure is he going to want a brand new engine, or something goes wrong with any other component is he going to want a complete replacement?” If the engine or any other parts are bad at the time of purchase you’re darn straight I’m going to want a new whatever it is or I’m not going to purchase it. I’m not buying defective engines, electronics, or anything else that’s supposed to be new and in perfect working condition.

I can pretty much tell that Mr. ***** isn’t going to budge from his irresponsible stance in this matter, or live up to the lie on his website that speaks to customers having the best experience. There is nothing more that needs to be said in this matter, other than the fact that, I am not pleased with the outcome of doing business with South Austin Marine. BBB feel free close this but, not with any resolve!



Regards,

**** ****

7/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son came along a posting on **** from South Austin Marine. We contacted *****, who posted the advertised boat and was agreeing to sell the boat but mentioned his shop was closed to wait for the next day, so we did just that. Contacted him the next day and everything changed, the boat was a different price over $10,000 more and now the listing was not his. Contacted the maker of the boat as well as the dealership with no resolve. The owner of the dealership stood behind his deceiving employee and offered no help. The employee put that ad out to get attention and interest with only more expensive boats and different advertised prices. It was completely wrong and the dealership owner could not care less about the entire situation. Definitely a depressing situation for family who was excited on buying a new boat.

Desired Settlement: Sell boat for advertised amount

Business Response:  Our salesperson ***** (marine consultant at South Austin Marine) received a call
from the customer's son about an ad he had seen online on a Brand new Moomba
LSV (at lOpm on 06/24/13 while at dinner with family). We had an ad on a local
classifieds sight for the boat and the price was 45k. Thinking this was the ad
he was talking about ***** then talked with his mother and his father on the
same phone conversation. They seemed very excited which was not out of the norm
for a close out priced boat. They called one more time that night to ask more
questions about the boat, price was not brought up though. I thought they knew
the price from MY ad at 45k. She then wanted to call the next morning to put a
deposit on the boat. Customer called around 10am, we explained the buying
process and shipping options then told her the final price with tax, title and
licensing. She then was confused and thought that the price was 10k less,
(looking at our ad) we told her there was no way to sell the boat for that
price and the ad said 45k. She then informed us that there was a duplicate ad
on eBay with the same boat and my information. They emailed us a link to the ad
and sure enough on eBay there was our boat for 35k, this was not my ad. We do
not post new boats on eBay nor are we allowed to. I contacted eBay via _s_poofPebay.com
and had the ad removed immediately. I had no intention to deceive anyone, I
explained the situation to the customer
and her husband and they seemed understanding. Knowing their disappointment and
feeling bad I tried to help them with pricing on other boats and shipping. This
was not an attempt at bait and switch just trying to help the customer out. She
then called the manufacturer of Moomba and the owners of South Austin Marine
claiming that I was deceiving them and trying to bait and switch/ false
advertising. I had no idea she was this upset, we had not had cross words at
all on the phone and I thought she understood the situation. I tried everything
I could to make them happy but apparently it was not enough. fin no way shape
or form tried to bait and switch someone on a boat or false advertise. I
apologize for any inconvenience this has caused there family, and hope that
they can fianally understanding it has caused the dealership a great inconvenience
as well.

Thanks

*****
*******

South Austin Marine