Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pathology Associates Of San Antonio meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pathology Associates Of San Antonio include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pathology Associates Of San Antonio
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 05/22/2000 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mauro Guerra, CEO Ms. Linda Gutierrez, Billing
Contact Information
Principal: Mauro Guerra, CEO
Business Category

Billing Service Laboratories - Medical

Alternate Business Names
Pathology Reference Laboratory, L.L.C.

Additional Locations

  • 9600 Datapoint Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78229 (210) 892-4775 (210) 249-2800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A *** ***** was sent in by IFWH with clear instructions to perform ** * ** **** *** **********. This instruction was ignored and no additional testing was performed. When IFWH contacted PRLitt took hours to receive a response to confirm that the the testing was not performed when IFWH specifically requested the ** * ** ******* to avoid another procedure. My appointment was cancelled after it was confirmed that PRL ignored the requested instructions. PRL billed for the incomplete results. Contacted their office in *** ******* ** and one lady said that ***** would be contacting me. The lady did acknowledge that the ** ** ******* was automatic and there was a doctors request also. ***** never called. PRL should not bill for a test they decided not to conduct. This oversight is resulting in another PAP to conduct the previously omitted ** ** *****

Desired Settlement: Not bill $170 Medicare and / or BCBS for the date of service 11/20/2014 during which PRL did not conduct the requested testing ordered by Dr. * *****.

Business Response:

It was definitely a communication error on our part why the initial testing was not completed.  The criteria for doing this test is quite complex and not really as straight forward as the patient states.  In addition there is a specimen integrity issue.  Testing has to occur within 10 days of collection or the specimen is no longer viable.  By the time it was realized that the ***** ******* had been missed the specimen was too old to do the testing and the physician elected to have the specimen re-collected rather than proceed with the scheduled procedure.  The re-collection could not be done for about 3 months to ensure adequate cells.  Though the billing had already gone out for the *** **** and physicians interp for the abnormal reading (the $170 stated below), Medicare would not pay based on their collection criteria and the diagnosis codes provided by the physician.  PRL did not bill the patient, nor will we.  The specimen was successfully collected in March of 2015.  The ***** **** was run and we did not bill Medicare or the patients secondary insurance for this test.  We felt it was the right thing to do based on the previous issues.

 

When the issue was brought to my attention (it has been a couple of months ago), I did place a call to the physician office to find out the story from their perspective.  I was told that everything had been settled with the patient, everything had been explained adequately and there was no reason for me to contact the patient directly, so I did not.  In any case, where we (or I) am asked to return a call to the patient I always call the physician office first.  We never want to be in the position of giving the patient diagnostic information that should really only come from the physician offering treatment. 

 

Though the billing had already gone out for the *** **** and physicians interp for the abnormal reading (the $170 stated above), Medicare would not pay based on their collection criteria and the diagnosis codes provided by the physician.  PRL did not bill the patient for the outstanding balance, nor will we.  ?