Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

First Class B&B Reservation Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (830) 997-0443 Fax: (866) 869-0364 View Additional Phone Numbers 909 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624 http://www.Fredericksburg-Lodging.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Class B&B Reservation Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First Class B&B Reservation Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2002 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 10/01/1991 Business incorporated 09/28/1999 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ron Maddux, Owner Ms. Beatrice Klein, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Maddux, Owner
Business Category

Bed & Breakfast Hotels Hotels - Reservations Tourists Attractions Wedding Consultants Theater Stage Play Houses

Alternate Business Names
1st Class Bed &Breakfast Reservation Service, Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    909 E Main St

    Fredericksburg, TX 78624 (830) 997-0443 (888) 991-6749

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 631

    Fredericksburg, TX 78624

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Checked in to unit to find blood on bed also on a towel. On another towel found dried food on unwashed towels. Called front desk and they didn't fix the problem until the second call. When housekeeper arrived I was also informed not to eat from dishes. That almost everything was dirty due to owner trying to cut corners and save money. I payed 175.00 in cleaning fees before arrival. I was told I needed to clean my mess before departure, as I did. I was also told i would be untitled to my cleaning fees because the unit was not clean. But now I'm having trouble even getting ahold of the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the 175.00 I payed for the cleaning fees.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Subject: complaint #********

 

First class lodge has refunded my debit card in the amount of 59.00$.

***** *********

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I wanted to treat our parents to a weekend away in Fredericksburg, Texas. We narrowed it down to 5 bed and breakfast locations and chose to stay at Moonrise Retreat because the price was significantly less than any other location. I spoke to a lady on the phone who quoted me $484.94 total with tax and the fee for the extra people. I gave her my credit card information to put down the deposit. I received an e-mail, which I will hold on to, that stated the price, the cancellation policy (which if WE had cancelled on THEM, we would have paid heavily for it..) and asked that I reply to the e-mail as a confirmation. I replied and thought we were good to go. I told my parents and parents in law about this great place we were going to stay out in the country, looking at the stars out in Fredericksburg. A few days later, I get a call stating that I was misquoted on the price. The total was actually going to be $697.38. I said that I wanted them to honor the price that we had agreed upon, which I had authorized payment for. I was told that we could not do that. Upon speaking with the ******* he confirmed that they would not honor the price IN THE CONTRACT! He did tell my husband that he would split the difference with us, which would put it in the same price range as the other places we were looking. But since they failed to honor the contract, we said no, we still wanted the original price. He refused. I do not believe that this is how a business should run. It was their mistake and they should have swallowed the difference. Another reservation has been made for us through another company, but the next choice of place that we wanted to stay was already booked. I am very upset that after a contract was emailed to me and that payment was authorized for an agreed upon amount they then tell us we have to pay more.

Desired Settlement: We have already been forced to choose another place to stay, so there really is nothing they can do about our impending trip to Fredericksburg. They should do something about it though. Maybe give us a couple of nights in the place that we wanted for another trip.

Business Response:

I have read the customers complaint.  We are sorry for their inconvenience. 100% customer satisfaction is our company goal.  Unfortunately that has not happened in this case. We told the **** ******* that she had been mis-quoted  because of human error and that we could not honor the quoted price . Her reservation was for the first week in April. In our published policies, we state that all reservations rates are subject to change without notice.  We found the error within 48 hours of her booking and informed her of the mistake as soon as it was identified.  This happened on or around Feb 9. That gave her almost 2 months to find another unit before her stay date. After talking to first *** *******, then ** *******, we offered to "split the difference in the quoted rate and what the rate should have been. Splitting the difference would have cost our service about $100.00 and the ********s an additional $100.00.  *** ******* did not think that was sufficient as he wanted us to stick to the quoted rate. He informed me that one of his family members was an attorney and on retainer with him.  He also said he would complain to the BBB, our Chamber of Commerce, many internet websites, etc if we did not give hime the quoted rate.  I ask him if he was threatening our service with these potential complaints, he said "NO.  But I think it is obvious why he told me what he was going to do if we did not give him the discount he demanded.  I believe this is evident in what *** ******* has asked for in a "Desired Settlement".  She now wants TWO FREE NIGHTS for another date.  Mistakes happen because we are all human.  We tried to satisfy the *********, but nothing was going to make them happy but a huge discount, which we were not willing to do. Especially, after what we perceived as a threat from ** ******* to out reputation. We are glad the ********* were able to procure another place to stay and wish them well.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because it not a discount, it was the original agreed upon price that we issued payment on. I do not necessarily want two free nights, I just want something to be done. Prices should not be subject to change after payment has been issued. That is completely going back on their word. My husband was merely telling the owner what we were going to do since the company completely ruined our plans. Yes, we have found another location, but not at all what we were hoping for. We did have to settle, and I am sure that the owner is aware that 2 months does not usually do anyone any good because the places in Fredericksburg are usually booked many more months in advance. My husband did mention that we had an attorney on retainer simply because the owner asked my husband if he was an attorney. He never threatened to use one. In fact, he said he did not want to. He said he just wanted to work it out and told the owner multiple times he was not going to sue because the owner asked him repeatedly if he was. I would like to clarify once again that it was not a discount! It was the price in the contract!

Regards,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on First Class B&B Reservation Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)