BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of International Bank of Commerce?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that International Bank of Commerce meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for International Bank of Commerce include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 15
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 33

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on International Bank of Commerce
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 09/02/1966 Business started locally: 09/02/1966 Business incorporated: 01/05/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
1910 Pacific Ave # 1900, Dallas TX 75201
http://www.fdic.gov
Phone Number: (800) 568-9161

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Joy Edwards N Victor Felan, 1 V Pres
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Graciela Perez
Business Category

Banks Credit Cards & Plans Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Financial Services Investment Management

Alternate Business Names
IBC Bank International Bank Commerce
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Additional Locations

  • 1200 San Bernardo Ave

    Laredo, TX 78040 (956) 764-6113 (956) 722-7611

  • 130 E Travis St

    San Antonio, TX 78205 (210) 518-2500

  • 221 S Shoreline Blvd

    Corpus Christi, TX 78401 (361) 888-4000

  • 2395 E Main St

    Eagle Pass, TX 78852 (830) 773-2313

  • 2401 Us Highway 281

    Marble Falls, TX 78654 (512) 755-1000

  • 311 N Virginia St

    Port Lavaca, TX 77979 (361) 552-9771

  • 5800 San Dario Ave

    Laredo, TX 78041 (956) 724-1616

  • 816 Congress Ave Ste 100

    Austin, TX 78701 (512) 397-4506

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (210) 369-2916(Phone)
  • (210) 518-2525(Phone)
  • (210) 828-2500(Phone)
  • (830) 608-9665(Phone)
  • (830) 775-4265(Phone)
  • (956) 764-6113(Phone)
  • (210) 495-8818 (Fax)
  • (210) 518-2590 (Fax)
  • (361) 242-0796 (Fax)
  • (361) 643-8627 (Fax)
  • (361) 729-2987 (Fax)
  • (361) 758-6990 (Fax)
  • (361) 903-7235 (Fax)
  • (361) 985-0529 (Fax)
  • (512) 473-2485 (Fax)
  • (956) 726-6637 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently tried to open an account in Ohio, where I live. I was denied, because I am in Chexsystems for an NSF reported account by International Bank of Commerce, Overdraft Courtesy Department, **** *** ******** ******, Laredo, TX *****. The bank is reporting that a man in Texas (I am a woman in Ohio) opened a bank account with HIS information and MY Social Security number. He then defaulted on this account and it was turned to collections and reported to Chexsystems in 2010. This has never shown up on any of my credit reports. However, I am now unable to open an account anywhere. I am disputing this with Chexsystems. I have contacted IBC multiple times. I have spoken to ****, *******, and three others that I did not get names from. Each time I call, I am told that they cannot give me details on the account, because it is not my account. I need and want to know when it was opened, have a report of all transactions against the account from open to close, and know the exact details of the credit agency it was sent to (name, address, phone number, file number.) ******** G ********, *** ******** **, San Antonio, TX ********** is not associated with me in any way. I have never met this person and he lives in a completely different state than me. I have no idea how this person obtained my SS#, other than guessing a random number and giving it to the bank. I was under the belief that ***** Card must be provided to open an account, or show PROOF that the number belongs to this person. This account was opened with my number and HIS information, so there are no steps at all that would have allowed this to be processed, if proper verification procedures were followed. I asked IBC to look into their records and look at the PHYSICAL application to see if they in error keyed in the wrong SS# by mistake and this is a simple clerical error. I was told that they cannot do that, because the records are in storage. I asked them to begin the process to retrieve the records from storage so they can look at them. They told me they cannot do that. I asked them to give me the date it was opened, they told me they cannot do that, since it is not my account. I asked to speak to the fraud department multiple times and they placed me on hold and told me the fraud department supervisor says I need to go through Chexsystems to file a dispute. I explained that I still want transaction history and a complaint is not going to explain HOW this account was opened and whether or not they made a keying error. I was offered an apology and told they are sorry there is nothing they can do to help me. They recommended that I keep a fraud report on my person for all future inquiries on this matter. This still does not resolve the issue. I was told that eventually it will just be written off and disappear. NOTHING disappears. It always comes back to haunt you when some agency buys the record, etc. I want this CORRECTED, not written off.

Desired Settlement: I want a transaction history against this account that is listed under my SS#, and a FORMAL investigation by IBC. I want them to follow their procedures for requesting documents from storage (I know they have them for instances of law suits, etc.) and retrieve the original application and signature for this bank account opened. I want them to verify that the SS# they used against this account is in fact the one that was written down on the application, and a keying error was not made by one of their clerks. I want the files sent to be for my police report and ongoing Identity Theft investigation. No other solutions will be acceptable at this time.

Business Response: Attached please find the bank's response for the complaint filed by Ms. ********** *******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I contacted Chexsystems and this information has indeed been corrected. I appreciate the resolution and am in agreement to close this complaint as handled to my satisfaction.

Regards,

********** *******

10/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted my bank and informed them that I no longer wanted a certain merchant debiting my accoubt, they did inform me that i needed to step inside the branch to fill out a stop payment form and sign it. Well i did that and they also charged me 35.00 for it. Two weeks later the company is still debiting from my account and i was charged two return check fees. When speaking to soneone in the branch all i was told was i needed to fill the form out and that was it. They said i needed to provide additional information about how much it would be trying to come through. I have tried getting help over and over the customer service agents hang up in ny face and are so rude. Help me get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back

Business Response: Attached please find the bank's response to the complaint filed by ****** ******.

Thank you,

****** *****

10/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A PERSONAL CHECK FOR $20394.00 WHICH WAS PUT FOR A STOP PAYMENT WAS CLEARED BY THE BANK AFTER COUPLE OF DAYS LATER. WHICH WAS NOT CREDITED BACK TO MY ACCOUNT EVEN AFTER PROMISED TO CREDIT BACK. I PERSONALLY WENT TO BANK AND TALK TO THE MANAGER IN PERSON AND EXPLAINED TO HIM EVERY DETAILS AND ACCORDING TO HIS INSTRUCTION I PAID THE FEE TO STOP THE PAYMENT FOR THAT CHECK.HE TOLD ME THAT THIS CHECK WILL HELD ON A NON PAYMENT FOR AN YEAR. BUT CASHED NEXT WEEK. IF THEY TELL ME THEY CAN'T, THE I COULD HAVE WITHDARW MY MONEY AND CHECK WILL BE RETURNED.

Desired Settlement: THEY HAVE TO PAY MY MONEY BACK WITH 21% INTEREST THAT I AM PAYING FOR MY CREDIT CARD.

Business Response: We are still in the process of working with the customer to resolve this issue.  We should have a final response by the end of the week.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are still working on it.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Attached please find the bank's response to the complaint filed by Mr. ********

10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being with this bank for decades and being a loyal and timely customer, the bank has failed to provide me with the security and assistance well deserved of me. After realizing an obviously fraudulent charge on my account, they refuse to reimburse my funds until after the correct paper work has been filed and claimed, as to say I may take the financial discredit but not the bank, which I would assume is insured. On September 28th of this year, after routinely checking my bank account, through the automated phone service, I found two charges that were not accounted for on my bank account. Unable to obtain any detailed information over the phone, I decided to have the issue investigated at a local branch. At the local branch a bank teller, ****** ****, had ascertained that the two charges were made at a Stripes gas pump in Kansas City, a city I have never been to. He had even admitted that there have been fraudulent crimes involving Stripes gas pumps, yet no alert or warnings have ever been disclosed to me. After requesting that the charges be reverted the teller informed that there is a claim and "paper work" that needs to be filed before any refunds or reimbursements can be made, and this process takes up to 3 months! Unsatisfied with this assistance I called the IBC customer service line, and was told also that the correct claims and paper work must be done before any reimbursements, but this would take ten days, still unacceptable. I would understand any policy the bank has to delay fraudulent and criminal activity, but this is obviously a policy to delay the banks discredit. I am a senior citizen and do not have the resources or financial insurance the bank has, and their main purpose is to be the security of my financial resources in situations such as this one.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account credited in the amount of the two charges I did not authorize, and would not like any kind of late charges or penalties made to my account for other legitimate charges that have been affected by this crime.

Business Response: Attached please find the attached response for the complaint filed by ******** *******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *******

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over two years ago I closed I went to a local IBC Bank location in Houston, TX to have ALL of my accounts closed at IBC due to predatory practices and over charges. ALL of my accounts were to be closed at that time. However, I continue to receive electronic notices of account statements. I have call IBC a number of times to get these accounts closed. Each time there is an apology for the accounts still being open and an assurance the account will be closed. I am still receiving these email notices indicating my account statement is available for review. Interesting that none of the Houston IBC locations are listed with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Close ALL of my accounts, provide me with written documentation that all of my former accounts (some opened in Oklahoma and some opened in Texas) are closed with a zero balance, and remove me from the IBC system.

Business Response: Attached please find the bank's response for this complaint.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  With all due respect, it was not I that failed to close one account in 2012, but rather IBC that failed to close that account as I instructed them when the other accounts were closed.  IBC's response indicating the account was left open due to my error is a joke.  IBC will never get any better if they refuse to accept any responsibility.  IBC's failure to understand the fundamental concept of customer service is why they lose quality customers.

Regards,

******* ********

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 08/03/2014 I spoke with a salesperson, "******", about closing my account. He stated he could not close the account because there were "pending transaction(s)". However, he did state that when that transaction(s) took place the following business day that he would close it. By Wednesday 08/06/2014 I had 5 overdraft charges because he had withdrawn the entire amount to close the account, less .10 cents, thus, causing the overdraft charges. I then followed up with an "****" from the San Pedro Branch located at 10200 San Pedro Ave. However, he did not know what to do and became rather uncooperative and stated I needed to address this with the person who supposedly was going to close the account the following business day on 08/04/2014 and he did not. I then contacted "******", a supervisor at the Ingram Park Mall Location and took my complaint also on Wednesday 08/06/2014. I then contacted Ingram Park Mall Branch manager ***** ***** and she took my complaint and requested a courtesy refund that did not took place after waiting for almost an entire week. I therefore, closed both of my checking accounts after 12 years of having one of them.

Desired Settlement: The reasonable solution is for IBC to refund all five of my overdraft charges after failing to close my bank account when they said they would in order to have avoided those overdraft charges.

Business Response: Attached please find the bank's response for the complaint filed by ******** ******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ****** Iii

7/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: IBC bank has mishandled my business, personal and savings accounts by lack of investigation on their collections dept. The IBC collections dept has made unauthorized withdraws to my personal savings. I went into the branch to question the 4k debit and the banker which happens to be one of my customers had called their main office and later advised me that a previous business account which had different account owners had a past due debt. The account was one I had some partnership in before I filed a fraud claim and police reports to have it closed, over a year ago. Due to fraud related activity we had huge $10,000 withdraw was made but thankfully stopped. The previous business account which had closed for fraud related reasons by myself had no such balances or bad checks to my knowledge. The prior account was a limited liability partnership and shows to have questionable information on file. IBC clearly should have done a more thorough investigation in regards to whether I should be liable and whether the funds in question where actually withdrawn; much less on my behalf; from the account in question, prior to b***g closed. IBC offers the flexibility to separate a business from a personal account. However, now IBC has attempted to resolve their collections matters by withdrawing $3973.94 from my personal savings account. As a financial institution part of their obligation to their customers is to properly and accurately handle accounts and no response has been given to my questions or formal claim filed 6/16/2014. Now my personal savings of $4000 has been taken away .... my business is in turmoil because Mr ***** from IBC collections dept is now threatening to close my current business account. This is a separate business and it has remained in good standing! I am worried as my bank is shutting me down and shutting me out.

Desired Settlement: I want to keep my business account open as the nature of my business depends on ACH deposits for payment on prepared returns I have already prepared and sent in. My account is under a business name which is a sole proprietor and maintained and handled the account in a proper manner. I see no reason to put me out of business after this bank has already taken so much money from my personal savings account already. This is my source of income and I would like to keep my business account open for years to come.

Business Response: Attached is the response letter for the complaint filed by Arti Vyas.

Thank you,

****** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I did not use 3 different social security numbers. I opened business bank accounts with IBC and used the employer identification number given by the IRS. The sales associate accepted proof of the *** and allowed me to open the accounts this way. The response it untrue and IBC has more work to do in regards to investigation than to steal from their customers.  

Regards,

**** ****

Business Response: Attached please find the bank's response.

Thank you,

****** *****

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this IBC Saturday Morning (02/08/2014) at about 9:10 AM. I wanted to cash two small checks equaling $160.00; one was a payroll check from a part-time job and the other a check from my Mother. I was planning a family outing that day and was counting on that money. The IBC Teller (***) stated she couldn't cash the checks. I asked why, she stated, "You have an average of a negative account!!!!" I told her that I didn't understand what the problem was with my account. I told her I have direct deposit and that my funds are posted on the 1st of the month. She said, she couldn't do anything just deposit the checks. I left upset and disappointed! I called the IBC Bank asking for a Manager. The IBC worker that answered the phone stated "No Manager is working today, but would try to get me someone." I was put on HOLD for 10 minutes; I then hung up the phone without talking to anyone. That's why Im writing this complaint. I felt that there was no need for the IBC Bank to hold the funds of these 2 small checks. Where is the customer service?

Desired Settlement: I'm just reporting this incident to the BBB for their information. I don't expect IBC to do anything. The incident has already occurred and the day is already past. IBC does need to teach their employees better customer service.

Business Response:

March 6, 2014

In reviewing the complaint filed by Mr. ***** *******. Mr. ******* visited the Sunshine branch on Saturday, February 8, 2014 he was trying to cash two checks: $110.82 and $50.00. I was able to contact Mr. ***** ******* on Thursday, March 6, 2014. He stated that he had come into the ********* ******** branch and did not understand why they were not able to process his request. I did apologize to Mr. ******* for the inconvenience this situation had caused him and his family Mr. ******* has been a customer of IBC since 2010, account #**********, and T thanked him for being a customer of IBC. I also assured him that we will talk to the staff and to make sure that they have contact information readily available so that they may contact their manager or area teller supervisor to get an approval.

Mr. ******* appreciated that I had called him but felt that it had taken close to a month to contact him. I also apologized for the delay.

If you should have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact ****** *******, Operations Manager at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

***** ** *****

First Vice President

International Bank of Commerce 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unfortunately, I have had several unfavorable, some even hostile, experiences at local ****** branches. However, on January *, 2011 I had the worst to date. The situation has already been both relayed and discussed with various personnel to the extent that I ended up finally speaking with ***** ***** @ the ***** **** ******. Well, in that conversation several things were discussed as far as the steps taken to avoid future situations as this as well as his apology. However, I did want more than that and I told him so. I asked for a gift card initially, but he said IBC doesn't do that. He then offers me a free box of checks and I ask him to add a free checkbook cover. He says okay. I further explain that I don't need checks now because I just ordered from *********** and had a lot, not to mention I don't write a lot of checks anymore because I do most things online. He said that was fine, and he would note my account and that I could use the offer whenever I was ready. Well recently I have been strictly using the account that I share with my daughter, who by the way was never even offered or afforded her 50 free checks. It's been a long time since I opened our checking account with IBC (2001) and I certainly had forgotten about something free (those things I like to keep on my radar), but nevertheless I did and neither of us were aware that this element was even missing. So I phoned today so I could both refresh and ask about this former, but still valid, gift we had from 2011. Mr. ***** said that they would get both the 50 free checks for my daughter ordered and the gift he promised me of one free box of checks and a checkbook cover. However, he flat-out refused to allow me to place that "gift" order of checks on another account. I asked him why and he said that when he made the offer three years ago, it was non-transferrable. I didn’t and still don’t understand or agree with that concept because I am both accounts and both accounts are maintained well. I repeated that I didn't need them "still" on the other account and that I really preferred them on the account that I share with my daughter. He refused. I said I would just go ahead and order them then on my original account as he demanded, but I was and still am very unhappy about this. It seems vengeful to me for some reason and certainly not the kind of "gift of good customer service" that you would be giving to a customer that was getting this from a horrible experience that they had already. It would seem that you would still want to accommodate within reason. I certainly feel my request is within reason. Besides the account that I opened with my daughter and want these checks for was open at the time of this horrible incident in January 2011, it was opened October **. 2010. Furthermore, if he is speaking of transferability, he never said that this gift offer/agreement that we made for the free checks would be non-transferrable, nor was such agreement in writing. And if it was, he didn't have my consent to that and didn't tell me as such either.

Desired Settlement: I had promised to go in and order the checks tomorrow, but I am more irritated than when I called to try to speak to him about it initially today. I know I don't keep a large interest-bearing account with IBC and perhaps, a free-checking account just does warrant their time or good customer service, because it's about that too, I don’t know because that’s how I feel. His assistant, ******, isn't very friendly to me and I reciprocate it back because she certainly doesn’t have to be so shrewd to the point of rude. I really do strive to treat people the way I want to be treated, but when they don't even allow or give credit to it then, I tend to respond in the same manner from which I am receiving. So maybe this comment about the non-transferability was in response to their comprehended frustration with me calling and asking about this and the way I relayed it or spoke, I don't know. No matter what, it was mean and unjustifiable and I would like someone to hopefully reevaluate it and see it just for what I have stated, to the best of my ability but with my some details absent, and get it resolved as I had hoped. I don't call them, really rarely, the last time was when I spoke to ****** and noticed her abrupt and seemingly rude behavior towards me back in October of last year regarding an oversight of a NSF Charge. However, before that I don't know the last time I called, I mean, I make it my business to not call. So, unless it's something really awful like what I began this complaint with or I really need help, like last October, I won't call for anything. And lastly, and this may or may not be important but it is relevant in my opinion, I have NEVER ordered ANY CHECKS from IBC. I have ALWAYS ORDERED THEM EXTERNALLY! Needless to say, they don't have any records of previous orders and wouldn't know the number to even start with on my old account. So it would make more sense to do the two orders together on this one account that I am using. The 50 free, that were never mentioned/offered/ordered etc., and the free "gift" box that Mr. ***** promised three years ago. The numbers would be continuous and I wouldn’t have to look up where my last new check on hand stops so that I can give them the correct number for that order, although I could but that's just extra work (like this) but that I have done yet. My wish in going through all this is obviously to get what I want and need out of the offer that I got in response to not only something awful happening to me by some their (former, I believe) employees, but also that I had to really ask for it in first place. And now Mr. ***** wants to put unnecessary stipulations on it. I hope I can get the resolve I desire and believe, as sure as it is documented here, I will not be asking for anything else. And moreover, if something at any branch in ****** gives way to an unpleasing circumstance, I will truly try to keep turning the other cheek until I can hopefully use all the checks, or at least as desired, and I will ultimately move my business elsewhere. I hope it doesn’t turn out like that, but you never know.

Business Response: The offer for free checks and checkbook cover on account number ending **** was made as a courtesy. This offer is still available to Ms. *****. Since Ms. ***** has never ordered checks through IBC, she will need to come into one of the IBC's branches to place her free check order.

Ms. ***** had not ordered the free checks that Mr. ***** offered in 2011; therefore, she recently requested free checks on her account number ending ****. Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate her request. Our review of account ending **** identified that she did not receive the introductory pack of checks at account opening. Therefore, on 02/**/14, IBC ordered the introductory pack of checks which consists of 50 free checks starting with check #***.

We hope this concludes the matter. As always, if you have any questions; please feel free to contact me at ************

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/19/2013 My wife and I opened a checking account at the IBC branch located at **** ****** **. in *** ***, Texas *****. Within a few days, We arrived home on a Friday evening and noticed we had recieved a call with a voicemail having been left on our recorder that there was a signature issue on my debit card and that my card would be canceled. The very same evening my wife made attempt of using her debit card and it being rejected, and then coming to the assumption that both of our debit cards may have had been canceled. The following Monday we go to the branch listed here, and explain the message left on our recorder and that my wifes card did not work and asked why both cards were canceled. The male representative asked me for my card, I presented it to him, and he immediately begin cutting it up with scissors, and then went to his computer, clicked away at keys, and then said my card was still good, but that my wifes was the one cancelled. We again asked why we were told in the voicemail left on our recorder stated that my card was being cancelled and instead it had been hers. He stated it was a mistake and he would issue us both new cards, and take care of the problem. I notice later when checking my account online, that I was charged by auto draft the sum of $15.00 for reissue of a debit card, and I also see online while there, that the fee states $10.00 for another card, but also do not feel I should be charged anything, as one of there representatives cut up my card before checking if it were still valid. I make the trip back into town again, and being a 30 mile roud trip again, and told it would be credited to my account, but having make these trips soley for the reasons of having never get anyone to answer the phone at this branch when calling, including again today. I was never credited on my account, and made appearances on three occasions to complain again about not being credited, and the fact that I can't get anyone to answer the phone when calling. Closed my acc. not credited.

Desired Settlement: After closing my account, I since reopened one as of January 2014, but wish to be credited the $15.00 and have someone at that branch that could answer the phone for customers when called.

Business Response:

 

IBC BANK.

We Do More

February 4, 2014

 

RE: *** *****

*** ***** **. *** *** TX *****

Upon receiving this complaint and conducting research we found that Mr. *** *****'s case involved lack of training/knowledge from our new sales associate and that it was a contributing factor to the fee assessed to Mr. *****'s account. Our staff's intent was to assist Mr. ***** in the best possible way. A refund request was submitted on 12/13/2013 however since Mr. ***** elected to close his existing account and open a new one, the credit was not applied to the closed account. As of February 4, 2014 Mr. *****'s new account received a credit for the $15.00 charge assessed to his old account.

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.
Sincerely,

******** ***** **.

IBC Bank-Eagle Pass
Operations Coordinator


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *****

1/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I found out on Nov.14,2013 by a Bank that I was in something called a system check. Which I wasn't familiar with. To make it short, I found out that IBC bank sent me to collections over a draft of $322.71. But it wasn't an overdraft. They told me that a $322.71 was a cause of a revoked because I file a complaint to the bank that the company that was helping fix my credit withdraw $250.00 from my checking account without my consent or knowledge. I summited the information to IBC Bank they put the money back into my account and that was it. Thanks you I was able to resolved my dispute. The company I was disputing with apologized and gave me back the $250.00 which used to pay off the loan I took out so I won't be charge overdrafts. I called ICB Bank and asked why the $322.17 was revoked and they didn't offer an explanation an they didn't know why. I resolved my issues with the company, This dispute is with IBC Bank

Desired Settlement: I want this issues resolved by having them take me out of the **********s.

Business Response: IBC  
International Bank of Commerce

December 16, 2013

Ref: ********* ***** ID *******

IBC Bank has reviewed the complaint filed by Ms. ********* *****. The following is the bank's findings:

On November 5, 2012, Ms. ***** filed a disputed that there were withdrawals from her account which were unauthorized. Consequently, the bank conducted an investigation. On November 9, the customer was provided provisional credit for the amount disputed and any insufficient funds charges that occurred as a result of the unauthorized transaction. This was a temporary credit provided to our customer until the bank completed the investigation of her claim.

On December 11, Ms. ********* ***** was notified that the investigation was resolved. The bank determined that no error occurred on her account and the withdrawal was valid. The merchant provided supporting documentation matching the customer's information. Additionally, the customer was informed that provisional credit was to be deducted from her account.

The bank has record of three separate letters that were mailed to Ms. ********* ***** to inform her on the status of her inquiry: November 9, 2 letters were mailed and on December 11, the resolution letter was mailed to the address on file. The letter also provided a contact number for any inquiries. On January 31, 2013, the bank also mailed to Ms. ***** the last bank statement reflecting an outstanding balance.

In closing, all of Ms. ********* *****'s concerns have been addressed. If you should have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at ************.

***** 
Senior Vice President
Operations Manager 
IBC Bank— Brownsville




 

















 



Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: If IBC take the word of a merchant over it's customer where is the letter with my signature on it stating that they can withdrawn from my account and if the merchant done nothing wrong then why did they sent a letter apologizing for the inconvenience with the $250 check. how did IBC come to that conclusion Regards, ********* ***** ********* *****

12/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I closed my account with IBC directly requesting that they NO LONGER send out payments from that account. They acknowledged and stated that the accounts were CLOSED, assuring me no payments would continue to be withdrawn from the account. I have no received multiple phone calls during my work hours from the bank claiming I owe over 1000 in overdraft charges from payments withdrawn from the bank account I understood to be closed. They've threatened to ruin my credit and file with a third party collection agency, and I'm not going to let them get away with this!

Desired Settlement: I closed the account. I am paying the companies through my new bank account, I do not owe IBC anything because I did not authorize them sending out those payments. Please assist, it's unfair that they try and charge people for their own mistakes. When I closed out my account, I closed it out. I did not authorize them to keep making payments and charging me overdraft fees on an account I'd specifically requested to be closed out in person, at one of their branches.Please... Please... help!

Business Response:

Ms. ******,

 

The Business forwarded this response with the Attachment.  Please review and respond by December 6, 2013.  If you should have any questions, please contact me directly.

 

RE:          ***** ******
Case #*******

In reviewing the complaint filed by Ms. ******, below is a response to her concern on her account at IBC. Ms. ****** had two accounts with IBC; Account #********** which was closed on 3/27/13 and the second account # ********** which was opened under ***** *. ****** PA DBA ****** ********* on 10/19/06. I was unable to find any documentation requesting that this account be closed. In reviewing the statements for account # **********, there were several transactions that caused the account to be overdrawn (see statements June - August).

In an effort to communicate with Ms. ****** about her account several notices were sent to: ***** ***** *** ***, *********, TX *****, to notify her of the overdraft balance:

·      6/13/13 Notice of Overdraft

·      7/2/13 Courtesy Notice

·      7/17/13 Final Notice to notify her that the account was overdrawn for more than 25 days

·      7/28/13 Account Closed Notification a Notice was sent to Ms. ******, to notify her that the account was overdrawn for more than 45 days and was given 30 days to notify our office before the account was closed

In addition, statements were also sent to the said address listed above.

At account opening all customers are provided the Depositor's Agreement, Accountholder Responsibilities and ABCs of IBC which explain the item posting. Customer must promptly review each account statement, and all items (or images thereof) which are described with reasonable particularity in such account statement to the extent necessary to discover any irregularity and promptly notify Bank in writing of any irregularity against Account.

If you should have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact ****** *******, Operations Manager at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

 

***** ** *****

First Vice President

International Bank of Commerce —*******

One South Broadway

*******, Texas *****

Ph. ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

P.O. BOX *** *******, TEXAS ********** ###-###-#### MEMBER INTERNATIONAL BANCSHARES CORPORATION-FDIC


Enclosures:

Depositor's Agreement

Statement 06/01/2013 — 06/30/2013

Statement 07/01/2013 — 07/31/2013

Statement 08/01/2013 — 08/31/2013

Notice of Overdraft 6/13/2013

Courtesy Notice 7/02/2013

Final Notice 7/17/2013

Account Closed Notification 7/28/2013

 

 

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Or or about July 17, 2013 I received a phone call from a representative of IBC Bank with the intent to collect a debt for the amount of $ 945.00. I have been receiving many calls from the bank. what I am contesting is why they closed my account in repercussion of me have complained to you? ****** ******** letter is not reflection of the true. When I went to get the money order there was plenty of money in the account. Obviously Mr. ******** does not know what he is stalking about . He took the word form his manager. I did call his employee a "knuckle Head" and when the manager tried to admonish me in public I call him boy. are they profane words. Mr. ******** a bank executive is lying; I am not refusing to pay but I need an explanation from Mr. ******** boss on why one of his executive is fabricating the true. MR. ********

Desired Settlement: A LETTER FORM MR. ******** BOSS

Business Response: Customer has filed this same complaint with the FDIC which is our regulator.  We will respond to his concerns through the FDIC.

Business Response: August 27, 2013

**** *********
Dispute Resolution Specialist
Better Business Bureau

RE: ****** ******

Dear Ms. *********,

IBC is in receipt of the complaint filed by Mr. ****** ******. We have reviewed both of Mr. ******' accounts and have determined both accounts were closed in accordance with our Overdraft Courtesy Program.

The bank had previously decided that Mr. ******' accounts would be closed due to his profane and rude comments. However, Mr. ******' accounts were overdrawn for a period exceeding 45 days, consequently the accounts were charged off on 6/19/13 (-$971.96) and 7/12/13 (-$26.52). The account with the larger overdraft (-$971.96) was referred to Collection. Although the bank had previously stated
that we would close Mr. ******' accounts due to his profanity, the charge-off took place before the bank took that action.

Our Collections Department has attempted to contact Mr. ****** on several occasions but was only able to make contact once. Mr. ****** continued his offensive language in speaking to our collector. As a result the bank will stop attempting to contact Mr. ****** for his outstanding debt and remove him from Chexsystems reporting. However, Mr. ****** continues to be liable for the outstanding debt of $971.96.

Mr. ****** asserts that "there was plenty of money in the account" when he tried to convert the stale dated check to a cashier's check on April 11, 2013. By reviewing both account statements we have confirmed that the balance on account ********** was $20.00 and the balance on account ********** was -$1,031.62. Neither account had sufficient balance to cover the $500 check.

IBC Bank takes pride in its superior customer service and strives to always treat customers in a fair and respectable manner. By the same token, we make every effort in protecting our employees from any abuse.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

****** *****
Operations Coordinator
Corporate Operations
************

9/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Now going on three weeks one of my bank accounts is still reflecting negative almost $10,000,000. If I had that kind of money it wouldn't be in one account nor go negative! I don't know how many unskilled people I have spoke with concerning this issue. Not only that but I Have also tried to get into contact with Gus at the downtown Shoreline branch. Left him at lease 2 messages. Who ever answers the phone says he is never there or out of the office. In addition, not only is my account negative it has taken two 30$ automatic deposits as well

Desired Settlement: Fix my account so it reflects corrects amounts

Business Response: Attached please find the bank's response to the complaint filed by ***** *******.

August 22, 2013

Better Business
Bureau

Attn: ****** *****

RE: Complaint of ***** *******

Case No.: *******

Dear Ms. *****:

On July 24, 2013
IBC Bank received a court ordered Writ of Garnishment on Ms. ******* account.
The garnishment was in the name of Jennifer C. Trybom who is a joint owner of
the checking account.

Ms. ******* account is not overdrawn. When we receive a Writ of
Garnishment we are required to freeze the account to protect the funds from
being withdrawn from the account. We are required to hold the funds until we
are advised by court order that the garnishment has been satisfied.

Mr. ******* who
is a Senior Vice President with IBC Bank spoke to .Ms. ******* on August 12,
2013 about her account and the Writ of Garnishment. fie explained the situation
to her and she advised him that she understood and would work on getting the
situation rectified.

If you have any questions,
please do not hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####.

Respectfully,
******* ******* ****** **** *********

8/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The bank has not corrected their pending transaction even though expedia called them to inform them it was a failed transaction due to my error of not knowing that their is a limit of money to be charged to my account especially when money is available.

Desired Settlement: be able to book vacation package that should have started jULY 9, 2013

Business Response: Attached please find our respone to the complaint filed by ********* ********.

Thank you,

****** *****

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 20th, 2013 at 12:52 PM I faxed a letter to IBC Bank located at *** ******** ***** **** **** ******* ** ***** via their posted fax number, ***** ********. The content of that letter are as follows: On Friday, June 6th, 2013 I visited the Round Rock IBC branch regarding an issue I was having with my account and overdraft fees. I had spoken with ***** ******** prior to my visit, who was coincidentally the branch manager. ***** and I discussed the overdraft fees incurred and I was told that if I were to come in and open a secondary account that she would set me up with overdraft transfer protection and also put in a request to have the overdraft fees refunded. I went to the location at approximately 12:00 pm on my lunch break on June 6th and set up the secondary account with ****, as ***** was busy at the time. I called back to the location at approximately 2:45 pm, spoke with ****, and asked if there was anything I needed to do in regards to the overdraft request. I was informed that ***** would be putting the request in but they had also forgotten to have me sign the overdraft transfer documentation so I would need to return. I left work early and arrived back at the IBC bank at approximately 4:45 pm. I signed the required documents with ***** and was told at that time that the overdraft refund request would take approximately 3-5 business days. There was no activity with my account regarding the overdraft refund as of Friday, June 14th, so I called the bank. A teller answered, I stated my name and the reason I was calling as requested (which personally I feel is bad customer service to screen calls) and was subsequently told that ***** was busy and she would call me back. I informed the teller that I would be available between 2:45 pm and 3:00 pm. By 3:00 pm, I had not received a call so I called the Main Austin Office at: ***** ********. The receptionist transferred me directly to *****. ***** answered the phone and was noticeably irritated that I was calling and said "I haven't heard anything yet Mr. ***** and I will contact you when I do". I politely acknowledged her and confirmed the contact would be via phone. As of 6/20 I have heard nothing from anyone regarding the overdraft refund request. At this time, I am requesting that I speak with a Regional Manager regarding my case. In addition, I would like documentation of the overdraft refund request including the date and time it was submitted. I feel as if I have been duped into opening a secondary account and the treatment I have received thus far from ***** is a far cry from the "commitment to providing our customers superior service with a We Do More attitude" that IBC claims to provide on its website. I look forward to hearing from someone soon. Email is the preferred method of contact. I can be reached by telephone at: ************ Sincerely, ***** ***** I received no reply from the fax, so I messaged IBC via my online banking account. Those correspondences are as follows: Dear ***** ***** **, Thank you for your inquiry, the number contacted was ************, the Call center representative did not leave any notes as to why a voice mail was not left only that your issue was not included in your message. We have limited access to what we can do here at the call center. Can you please provide me with any information regarding your issue so I may attempt to resolve it for you, or direct your issues to the right department or account officer? The number to the Round Rock Gattis Location is ************. However this branch closes at 5pm Monday through Thursday. Our locations in Taylor is open till 8pm, the number is ************, as well as the one in Georgetown the number is ************, if you want to get a hold of a representative directly. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact customer service at ************ option 0. Thank you for using online banking! I have a customer complaint that is not being addressed. I need to speak with a regional or district manager who governs the Round Rock, TX location. I would like to give IBC the opportunity to address this issue before I submit the complaint to the BBB and the DOB but I need to be contacted immediately. I can be reached via email at ************************* or by phone at ************ I have not heard from anyone in any capacity to address my issue.

Desired Settlement: I expect to be provided an explanation as to why there has been no communication from IBC regarding thire deceptive practices. I was told that if I created a secondary account, then a request to have the overdrafts refunded would be made. I would like documentation to prove or disprove this request was made, and if it was, the reason for its rejection.

Business Response: Attached please find our response to the complaint filed by Mr. ***** *****.

Thank you,

****** *****

7/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased using my debit card on June *, 2013 in the amount of $17.46 which has posted and cleared on June *, 2013. I had the funds in my account that same day that I used my debit card. I went and used my debit card on the *** of June for a courtesy advance in the amount of $500.00 after 3 pm. The amount posted on the *** of June. I know there is an overdraft charge for the advance cause there was no funds in my account for the advance. I am getting charged for an overdraft though for the transaction made on June the ***. I was told that both transactions cleared the same day which would cause two overdrafts instead of one. This is not true because I looked on my statements online and the dates are different from what they are telling me. The transaction on the *** cleared on the *** and the transaction made on the *** posted on the *** cause it was made after 3 which is the cut off time. I will not pay for the overdraft on the transaction that posted and cleared on the ***. The overdraft charge posted on the *** of June for the courtesy advance. I know this is not right what is happening and feel that I shouldn't have to pay for an error made on their behalf. I know sometimes the transactions can take 2 to 3 days to post and clear but some businesses do post next day or even the same day. The posted transactions means it has been charged and cleared on the day it is posted. The dates for these transactions are not on hold the same day but are cleared a day apart. It doesn't make sense.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay for a second overdraft which should have not occurred in error.

Business Response: We have reviewed the complaint filed by Ms. **** and have determined that we properly charged two Overdraft fees on the two transactions in question. The second fee for the debit card transaction was properly assessed because it occurred at **** p.m. on June *, 2013, which is after our business day cutoff time. Therefore it was not posted or considered in the balance that
determines overdrafts until June *, 2013. However, as a matter of courtesy we have refunded Ms. **** $35.00 on June **, 2013 and have called her to review our posting process with her.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly
at (***) ********. 

3/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service