BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Hood National Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Hood National Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fort Hood National Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 12, 1993 Business started: 10/16/1965 Business started locally: 10/16/1965 Business incorporated: 01/01/2001 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lee Thompson, Correspondence VP Ms. Joanne Dickson Mr. Odis Pippins, President Mr. Terry Tuggle, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee Thompson, Correspondence VP
Business Category

Banks


Additional Locations

  • 4400 Swanner Loop

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 680-5837

  • Bldg. 109, TJ Mills Blvd.

    Killeen, TX 76544

  • Bldg. 18010, TJ Mills Blvd.

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg. 50004 Clear Creek Rd

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg. 50005 Clear Creek Rd.

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg. 85006 Warrior Way

    Killeen, TX 76544

  • Bldg. 87030, Warrior Way

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg. 91079 Clarke Rd.

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (254) 532-3000(Phone)
  • (800) 477-9801(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About a week ago I purchased ******* ******* through an oversea travel agency, that I wanted to pay for with my debit/credit card issued by the Ft. Hood National Bank. Understanding that fraud protection will block any overseas transaction, I called their customer service to let them know and to assure that the transaction will not be denied. Since last Tuesday I spoke to their Customer Service 5 separate times and also physically went to their branch and spoke to the manager, but the issue still hasn't been resolved. My plane ticket still is unpaid for. In addition to that they blocked my credit card, without letting me know, explaining that it seemed like I was doing out of the usual transactions. Just to clarify these were all our transactions, my husband has just recently come home from a deployment and is on leave now, so we are spending a little bit more money than usual, but I don't think that justify them blocking my card without even a phone call. As far as my ******* ******* : even after I was promised that this time the transaction will go through it still hasn't. I'm extremely frustrated and embarrassed at this point. I also wasn't offered a alternative route of payment, just a$20 credit. Which won't begin to cover the cost I will have to finally figure out how to pay for this ticket, which of course is going up in price the longer it is unpaid for. Also instead of enjoying our time together my husband and I, spend the last week worrying about our bank.

Desired Settlement: Allowing us to pay for this ticket and covering any additional cost that me and the travel agent had, caused by their failure to let this transaction go through.

Business Response: Dear **** ********, 

It was my pleasure to speak with you by phone about the concerns outlined in your letter to the Better Business Bureau.

As discussed, recently we converted to a new debit card risk management system.  During the conversation, all risk rules were to be transferred from the old system to the new system.  Therefore, each time you contacted us about being unable to complete your purchase with a foreign travel agency, our employees followed the new system guidelines to exclude your card from the particular rule for that merchant class.  Unfortunately, your experience identified that there were still some outstanding rules on the former system.  Once that was recognized, we were successful in excluding your card from the rule in the old system.

Since your mother had already purchased the ticket by that time, we have arranged to wire transfer the funds to her free of charge.  You confirmed that we had sufficiently addressed your concerns.

Please accept by apology for the inconvenience this situation has caused. Should you require further information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************.

Sincerely, 

*** ********
**** *********
Support Operations

CC: Better Business Bureau 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I truly wish there were a way to attach a picture of my bank statement to this complaint! I logged online to check my bank account today and I seen 2 separate overdraft charges. One in the amount of $105.00, charged on 01/06/2014 and one for $140.00 charged on 01/07/2014. My problem comes from the fact that on 01/02/2014 my check was direct deposited into my account in the amount of $468.26. I already had $18.17 in my account, bringing my total bank account to $486.43. My bank statement should look like this: Date Purchased Date Processed Description Amount Remaining Balance 01/02/2014 Deposit 468.26 486.83 01/04/2014 01/04/2014 ******** *** 5.74 480.69 01/03/2014 01/06/2014 **** *********** 279.32 201.37 01/05/2014 01/06/2014 ******* **** 5.39 195.98 01/04/2014 01/06/2014 *** ********* 5.08 190.90 01/06/2014 01/07/2014 ***** **** 70.56 120.34 01/04/2014 01/07/2014 **** *********** 69.83 50.51 01/05/2014 01/07/2014 ****** ***** 29.12 21.39 01/06/2016 01/07/2014 *** ****** 1.92 19.47 01/06/2014 Pending *** 1817148 2.44 17.03 01/06/2014 Pending **************** 14.39 2.64 01/06/2014 Pending *** ****** 31.59 -28.95 Overdraft Charge 35.00 -63.95 01/07/2014 Pending **** ***** 003 22.22 -86.17 Overdraft Charge 35.00 -121.17 01/08/2014 Pending ****** ****** ***** 186.19 -307.36 Overdraft Charge 35.00 -342.36 Instead my bank statement looks like this: Date Purchased Date Processed Description Amount Remaining Balance 01/02/2014 Deposit 468.26 486.83 01/04/2014 01/04/2014 ******** *** 5.74 480.69 01/03/2014 01/06/2014 **** *********** 279.32 201.37 01/05/2014 01/06/2014 ******* **** 5.39 195.98 01/04/2014 01/06/2014 *** J71817148 5.08 190.90 01/06/2014 Overdraft Charge 105.00 85.90 01/06/2014 01/07/2014 Kmart 4758 70.56 15.34 01/04/2014 01/07/2014 **** *********** 69.83 -54.59 01/05/2014 01/07/2014 ****** ***** 29.12 -83.61 01/06/2016 01/07/2014 *** ****** 1.92 -85.53 01/07/2014 Overdraft Charge 140.00 -225.53 01/06/2014 Pending *** 1817148 2.44 -227.97 01/06/2014 Pending ************* 14.39 -242.36 01/06/2014 Pending *** ****** 31.59 -273.95 01/07/2014 Pending **** ***** 003 22.22 -296.17 01/08/2014 Pending ****** ****** ***** 186.19 -482.36 As you can see, I had $190.90 in my account at the time that I was charged $105.00 in overdraft charges. I talked to a bank ********** on the phone on 01/08/2014 around 3pm to discuss these charges. I was told that I needed to keep better track of my finances. I then pulled out my calculator and added up my charges that she said I received the $105.00 overdraft charges for, which were the charges both pending and processed dated up until and on 01/06/2014. I added all of the charges up that she told me were for the $105.00 overdraft charge and told her that I should have only been charged 1 overdraft charge of $35.00 because I did not have the full amount to cover the charge in the amount of $31.59. She admitted that she could see where I was right, but that the bank goes ahead when they see that you are going to overdraft and adds an overdraft charge for every pending transaction. So although I had money in the account to cover all charges and pending transactions except for one charge (01/06/2014 in the amount of $31.59 at the *** ******), they were going to charge me an overdraft charge for each one pending. I expressed how wrong this was considering I had the money for all of the charges except one. Then I asked her about the $140.00 overdraft charge and she went over the pending transactions, repeating some of the charges that she said the $105.00 overdraft charge covered. I did have another charge in the amount of $22.22 on 01/07/2014 that I know I am responsible for paying an overdraft charge of $35.00 for and also a charge that came out in the amount of $186.19 that I would be responsible for covering the overdraft charge because my check had not deposited in the bank on the day that I thought it was supposed to. So in all I know that I am responsible for 3 overdraft charges in the amount of $35.00 each, amounting in full to $105.00. I told the bank representative that I was willing to pay that and not a penny more because I had the funds in there for the other charges listed above. She did go in and take off the $140.00 overdraft charge after speaking with her and letting her know that I had been tracking every penny in my account. She informed me that I would get overdraft charges for the pending charges that were set to post tonight, to which I asked why I was going to incur more overdraft charges for the charges that I had already incurred overdraft charges on. I feel that I and other customers are being double and triple charged for overdraft transactions and we should be responsible only for the charges that are actually overdrafted. I feel the bank is using their screwed up overdraft system to rob customers. I feel they are greedy, rude, and only willing to help whenever a customer points out their unfair practices and goes over the numbers with them. I believe that their method of charging for overdrafts needs to be investigated. I am very math literate, I can add, subtract, multiply, divide, etc and I keep great track of my charges. I know when i'm going to overdraft and I never have a problem paying whenever I hit a rough spot and have to pay the $35.00 fee. This is maybe the 2nd time I have ever had to deal with this issue at this bank, and outside of this issue I generally liked FHNB.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this business to quit ripping its customers off and be fair. I understand that a business has to make money, but it should be legitimate. Not just some charges that they've found a way to add up because they have control over your money. If someone overdrafts on one charge, charge them for the one charge that they've overdrafted. Don't charge everything on their account.

Business Response:

I am in receipt of your letter to the Better Business Bureau and believe that we may have already addressed your concerns during your telephone conversations with our Deployed Services department on January 8 and 9, 2013.

We show you contacted Deployed Services representative ******* January 8, 2014 to discuss how your account had become overdrawn. ******* provided you with information on your account activity, the posting order of items, how overdraft fees are assessed, and ways to avoid overdrawing your account. A courtesy refund of $140 was credited to your account as a way to assist you with the overdraft.

When you attempted to contact ******* January 9th about additional overdraft fees assessed overnight, representative *** spoke with you and provided an additional courtesy refund of $70 in an effort to assist you with bringing your account back to good standing.

If you still require information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ************.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/11/2011 Billing/Collection Issues