Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Hood National Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Hood National Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Fort Hood National Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 1993 Business started: 10/16/1965 Business started locally: 10/16/1965 Business incorporated 01/01/2001 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lee Thompson, Correspondence VP Ms. Joanne Dickson Ms. Naomi Jones, Assistant Vice President Mr. Odis Pippins, President Mr. Terry Tuggle, Chairman
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Naomi Jones, Assistant Vice President
Principal: Mr. Lee Thompson, Correspondence VP
Business Category

Banks


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fort Hood National Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 210 Constitution Dr Ste A

    Copperas Cove, TX 76522

  • 4400 Swanner Loop

    Killeen, TX 76543 (254) 680-5837 (800) 477-9801 (254) 532-3000

  • Bldg 109 TJ Mills Blvd

    Killeen, TX 76544

  • Bldg 18010 TJ Mills Blvd

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg 4250 Clear Creek Blvd

    Ft Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg 50004 Clear Creek Rd

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg 50005 Clear Creek Rd

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg 85006 Warrior Way

    Killeen, TX 76544

  • Bldg 87030 Warrior Way

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

  • Bldg 91079 Clarke Rd

    Fort Hood, TX 76544

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in July I contact the Bank to inform them the passing of my son who had a bank account with your firm. Since his items went missing and I was afraid of identity theft I call to request to have his account closed. I was told the bank would not be able to do so until they Administration documents and a death certificate. I went and spend money to have the administration document drawn up then told by the bank that this was the incorrect administration documents and I did not need the administration just the death certificate, I am very upset that I was given incorrect information that cost me lots of money.

Desired Settlement: refund for the cost of my expensive for incorrect information

Business Response:

October 23, 2015


To Whom It May Concern:


Our response to Ms. *********’s concerns has been attached.


Sincerely,
******* *********
Real Time Service Center
Fort Hood National Bank

October 22, 2015

********* *********
220 Mt. Pleasant Ave
Mamaroneck, NY 10543

Re: Better Business Bureau #********
Dear Ms. *********:

We are in receipt of your recent letter to the Better Business Bureau. Please accept our sincere condolences for the loss of your son, *******.

We reviewed our process concerning documents required for cases of this nature. Typically, a Death Certificate along with one (1) of the following documents is needed:

  • Small Estate Affidavit/Affidavit for Collection of Personal Property
  • Letter of Administration
  • Letter of Testamentary
  • Muniment of Title (Probated Will)

However, if an account balance is greater than $500 with an estate of $50,000 or above; or if specific account information is requested, the Letter of Testamentary (with an existing will) or the Letter of Administration (with no existing will), in specific, will be required. While the account in question did not meet the balance threshold, the Letter of Administration was necessary to provide you the requested copies of the account statements. These were sent via secure email to ******************* on September 21st and 22nd. We also found that no communication concerning the collection of the loan in *******’s name was sent by us.

Sincerely,

 

******* *******

****** **** ********* ******** ** ******** **********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: When I called the company I was told in order to close my son bank account I would need to produce a death certificate and show that I am an 
administrator for my sons estate,  I was not aware my son had a loan with the bank (Therefore attempting to make me liable for the loan). Please note the bank would not close his account without these documents.

I called again and was told they will close the account if i sent the death certificate. By then the document where submitted to the courts.

Once I had the legal document needed I produce them to the company. . That is when I requested bank statements so I can sent to the court.  Short after I received a call from the collection agency regarding my son past due accounts.
I sent an email to the bank asking for the collection department phone so I can find out the status of this outstanding loan an have not heard back for the company.




Regards,

********* *********

Business Response: November 6, 2015


To Whom It May Concern:


Our follow up response to Ms. *********’s rebuttal has been attached.


Sincerely,
******* *********
Real Time Service Center
Fort Hood National Bank

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Please see attached notice received today. I call the number that Fort Hood provided me and was told they could not help me. 

Fort Hood sold the loan account to a debt collector after knowing of my sons passing. 
Once again becoming his administrator making me liable. 




Regards,

********* *********

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All accounts are "paid in full". Credit Bureaus will not remove paid in full closed accounts. Business above will not remove the closed paid in full accounts from credit bureaus.

Desired Settlement: Remove paid in full accounts. Fair credit reporting act on requires 6 month. Credit bureaus require business to remove accounts. Please removed paid in full accounts. All 3 From all 3 credit reporting agencies.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****: We are in receipt of your recent letter to the Better Business Bureau and appreciate the opportunity to respond to your concerns. A review of our records shows that your loan ending in -**** was paid in full as of December 15, 2013. This status was reported to the Credit Reporting Agencies during that month. Accounts which are “paid as agreed” generally remain on the credit file for up to ten years from the date of last activity. If you wish to dispute this item for any reason, you may do so with the Credit Reporting Agency reporting the information. They will, in turn, contact us concerning the dispute and we will respond with our findings and any supporting information.

Business Response:
November 2, 2015


To Whom It May Concern:


Our response to Ms. *****’s concerns has been attached.


Sincerely,
******* *********
Real Time Service Center
Fort Hood National Bank

7/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband had his account CLOSED for several months. He recently passed away. He had a back pay check coming into our account, his info was manually updated not computer updated so unfortunately it was sent to ft hood national bank. The bank reopened his account and now that large check is sitting in his account and I have no access to it. If it was closed and left closed the check would have been returned and put into the correct account.

Desired Settlement: Close the account and send the check back to the sender.

Business Response:

****** ***** **** ******* ***** *** *** *** ******** ***** ***** *** ****** ******** ****** **** * ******** **** *** ******

We receipt of your letter to the Better Business Bureau and appreciate the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

So that we may further assist you with this matter, we ask that you please forward a true, certified copy of the Death Certificate for the account holder to us at:

**** **** ******** ***** ***** ***** ***** **** **** ******* ****** **** ****** *** ***

******** ***** *****

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Fort Hood National Bank at least 4 times after receiving a new debit card. I went to use my debit card at a restaurant on a military installation in Korea only to find out my card was declined. I immediately contracted Fort Hood national bank to see what was going on and I was told that my card was no longer valid and that the bank had sent me a new debit card in the mail. As soon as I received the new card I attempted to activate through the bank's automated system with no success. Each time I tried to activate the card, I was transferred to 4 different customer service representatives and 3 supervisors who were unable to assist me in getting my card activated. I stayed on phone with this bank for over an hour and still didn't get resolution to my issue. This is no way to treat a loyal customer and someone who sacrifices themselves for their country everyday.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Fort Hood national bank to simply assist me in activating my debit card. I'm thousands of miles away and don't have the luxury of going in to branch which I explained to the bank. Additionally, I would like for them to fix their automated system, because it's severely broken.

Business Response:

April 28. 2015

****** ********

HHC, 2CAB

Apo, AP 96271

Re: Better Business Bureau Case #********
Dear Ms. ********:

We are in receipt of your letter to the Better Business Bureau. During my research of your concerns, I found there may have been a communication breakdown when you contacted us by phone for assistance with activating your debit card.

Our records show you contacted us the evening of April 10th at approximately 8:22 p.m. The call recording documents that personal phone banker **** offered to manually activate your card and provide you with a temporary debit card when our attempt to assist you with activating debit card -**** proved unsuccessful. You agreed to have your card manually activated, and was provided with temporary PIN number ****. **** then transferred you to our interactive voice response (IVR) phone line to establish a new PIN.

On April 15th, you contacted us again by phone and spoke with bank representative *******. During the phone call ******* told you debit card -**** was activated on April 10th, assisted you with establishing a new PIN number, and provided you with her direct phone number for future inquiries. Assistant Vice President **** followed up with you on April 28th to ensure your concerns were addressed satisfactorily. You told her you were no longer experiencing issues with your debit card, and you had no additional concerns.

In the future, should you require further information or assistance from us, we invite you to submit a Customer Feedback form through our website, participate in Live Chat or send a secure message through Internet Banking.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Vice President

Support Operations

CC: Better Business Bureau

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 23, 2015 FHNB contacted me stating my banking card was compromise; I tried asking how they refused to give me any details. They just told me that they are going to mail me a new card. I received the new card and activated it. A few weeks later I tried using the new card but was unsuccessful. I called the bank on March 13 to try and reset my pin because I tried using my card but seems I have forgotten my pin. The customer rep ******* as she states her name claim after asking me literally over ten verification question all of which I answered correctly, that she cannot assist me in changing my pin because I needed to verify with the automated system too and I didn't. I ask her if I didn't just varify with her so what was the issue, could I speak to a manager she hang up on me. I called back and request a manager and the rep Rauel placed me on hold for over 19 mins then I hang up and got Jonathon who still refused to let me speak to a manager. I called back again after I was place in a que and not gotten respond to, after calling back numerous times, I still was unable to speak to any form of supervisors. This is unacceptable business practice and no client should have this issue dealing with any company.

Desired Settlement: Better customer representative is needed and the policies of the company needs to be reviewed as well as the safety.

Business Response:

April 9,2015

****** ******

Re: Better Business Bureau Case #********

 

Dear Ms. *******

Thank you for taking time out of your busy work day to speak with me today. As stated, we have shared your quality of service concerns with management.

Credit and debit card pocessing companies provide financial institutions with alerts when they uncover suspicious activity which may ha 'e compromised one or more debit or credit cards. Although the financial institution is not provided with specific informati n regarding the source of the suspicious activity, the financial institution will take measures to inform their accounth !der their card may have been compromised. If our attempt is unsuccessful, the card is cancelled, a new card is ordered, and a notice of our actions is mailed to the customer.

Our records show on February 3, 2015 we attempted to reach you at ###-###-#### - the number we have on file for you. We then emailed you ciur contact information and informed you we had cancelled authority for signature based (credit) transactions but you were still able to complete transactions by entering your card PIN. We also informed you a new card had been ordered and would be delivered to the address we have on file for you. A notice of our actions was also mailed.

While researching your concerns, we listened to the recording of your February 3"I call to Customer Support and found that you were told you could still use your card to complete PIN based debit card transactions. We noted from your account activity you received the new card and activated the card on February 19th.

On March 13th, you co11 tacted us by phone for assistance with resetting your debit card PIN. Fort Hood National Bank has a identify theft preveniiion protocol when contacted via an unsecure channel like the phone. Our telephone customer support channels allo our accountholders to authenticate themselves by entering a self selected personal identification number (PIN) before bing transferred to a Customer Support representative. If the caller chooses to by-pass this authentication process s you did, we ask the caller to present identification at a banking center to reset their debit card PIN.

We apologize for the wait time you experienced on March 13th while we attempted to transfer you to a supervisor. Although we realize you closed your account before we received your letter to the Better Business Bureau, we regret we were unable to assist y u with a better outcome and wish you much success in your future financial endeavors.

Sincerely,                                        -

***** *****

Assistant Vice President

Support Operations

CC: Better Business Bureau

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

While the company was willing to accept via telephone that their customer service rep was unprofessional and did not follow protocol, in this letter they did not address the problem and accept that factor; instead this letter is in simply an attempt to state all unnecessary events. I wanted the company to admit that while I by pass there automated system I did answer every verification questions ask. As a result, there should be no reason for not assisting me, or not even directing me to a supervisor. I Wish that would be addressed here instead the company here being diplomatic without addressing the problem. Typical FHNB.

Regards,

****** ******

5/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About a week ago I purchased ******* ******* through an oversea travel agency, that I wanted to pay for with my debit/credit card issued by the Ft. Hood National Bank. Understanding that fraud protection will block any overseas transaction, I called their customer service to let them know and to assure that the transaction will not be denied. Since last Tuesday I spoke to their Customer Service 5 separate times and also physically went to their branch and spoke to the manager, but the issue still hasn't been resolved. My plane ticket still is unpaid for. In addition to that they blocked my credit card, without letting me know, explaining that it seemed like I was doing out of the usual transactions. Just to clarify these were all our transactions, my husband has just recently come home from a deployment and is on leave now, so we are spending a little bit more money than usual, but I don't think that justify them blocking my card without even a phone call. As far as my ******* ******* : even after I was promised that this time the transaction will go through it still hasn't. I'm extremely frustrated and embarrassed at this point. I also wasn't offered a alternative route of payment, just a$20 credit. Which won't begin to cover the cost I will have to finally figure out how to pay for this ticket, which of course is going up in price the longer it is unpaid for. Also instead of enjoying our time together my husband and I, spend the last week worrying about our bank.

Desired Settlement: Allowing us to pay for this ticket and covering any additional cost that me and the travel agent had, caused by their failure to let this transaction go through.

Business Response: Dear **** ********, 

It was my pleasure to speak with you by phone about the concerns outlined in your letter to the Better Business Bureau.

As discussed, recently we converted to a new debit card risk management system.  During the conversation, all risk rules were to be transferred from the old system to the new system.  Therefore, each time you contacted us about being unable to complete your purchase with a foreign travel agency, our employees followed the new system guidelines to exclude your card from the particular rule for that merchant class.  Unfortunately, your experience identified that there were still some outstanding rules on the former system.  Once that was recognized, we were successful in excluding your card from the rule in the old system.

Since your mother had already purchased the ticket by that time, we have arranged to wire transfer the funds to her free of charge.  You confirmed that we had sufficiently addressed your concerns.

Please accept by apology for the inconvenience this situation has caused. Should you require further information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************.

Sincerely, 

*** ********
**** *********
Support Operations

CC: Better Business Bureau 

2/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I truly wish there were a way to attach a picture of my bank statement to this complaint! I logged online to check my bank account today and I seen 2 separate overdraft charges. One in the amount of $105.00, charged on 01/06/2014 and one for $140.00 charged on 01/07/2014. My problem comes from the fact that on 01/02/2014 my check was direct deposited into my account in the amount of $468.26. I already had $18.17 in my account, bringing my total bank account to $486.43. My bank statement should look like this: Date Purchased Date Processed Description Amount Remaining Balance 01/02/2014 Deposit 468.26 486.83 01/04/2014 01/04/2014 ******** *** 5.74 480.69 01/03/2014 01/06/2014 **** *********** 279.32 201.37 01/05/2014 01/06/2014 ******* **** 5.39 195.98 01/04/2014 01/06/2014 *** ********* 5.08 190.90 01/06/2014 01/07/2014 ***** **** 70.56 120.34 01/04/2014 01/07/2014 **** *********** 69.83 50.51 01/05/2014 01/07/2014 ****** ***** 29.12 21.39 01/06/2016 01/07/2014 *** ****** 1.92 19.47 01/06/2014 Pending *** 1817148 2.44 17.03 01/06/2014 Pending **************** 14.39 2.64 01/06/2014 Pending *** ****** 31.59 -28.95 Overdraft Charge 35.00 -63.95 01/07/2014 Pending **** ***** 003 22.22 -86.17 Overdraft Charge 35.00 -121.17 01/08/2014 Pending ****** ****** ***** 186.19 -307.36 Overdraft Charge 35.00 -342.36 Instead my bank statement looks like this: Date Purchased Date Processed Description Amount Remaining Balance 01/02/2014 Deposit 468.26 486.83 01/04/2014 01/04/2014 ******** *** 5.74 480.69 01/03/2014 01/06/2014 **** *********** 279.32 201.37 01/05/2014 01/06/2014 ******* **** 5.39 195.98 01/04/2014 01/06/2014 *** J71817148 5.08 190.90 01/06/2014 Overdraft Charge 105.00 85.90 01/06/2014 01/07/2014 Kmart 4758 70.56 15.34 01/04/2014 01/07/2014 **** *********** 69.83 -54.59 01/05/2014 01/07/2014 ****** ***** 29.12 -83.61 01/06/2016 01/07/2014 *** ****** 1.92 -85.53 01/07/2014 Overdraft Charge 140.00 -225.53 01/06/2014 Pending *** 1817148 2.44 -227.97 01/06/2014 Pending ************* 14.39 -242.36 01/06/2014 Pending *** ****** 31.59 -273.95 01/07/2014 Pending **** ***** 003 22.22 -296.17 01/08/2014 Pending ****** ****** ***** 186.19 -482.36 As you can see, I had $190.90 in my account at the time that I was charged $105.00 in overdraft charges. I talked to a bank ********** on the phone on 01/08/2014 around 3pm to discuss these charges. I was told that I needed to keep better track of my finances. I then pulled out my calculator and added up my charges that she said I received the $105.00 overdraft charges for, which were the charges both pending and processed dated up until and on 01/06/2014. I added all of the charges up that she told me were for the $105.00 overdraft charge and told her that I should have only been charged 1 overdraft charge of $35.00 because I did not have the full amount to cover the charge in the amount of $31.59. She admitted that she could see where I was right, but that the bank goes ahead when they see that you are going to overdraft and adds an overdraft charge for every pending transaction. So although I had money in the account to cover all charges and pending transactions except for one charge (01/06/2014 in the amount of $31.59 at the *** ******), they were going to charge me an overdraft charge for each one pending. I expressed how wrong this was considering I had the money for all of the charges except one. Then I asked her about the $140.00 overdraft charge and she went over the pending transactions, repeating some of the charges that she said the $105.00 overdraft charge covered. I did have another charge in the amount of $22.22 on 01/07/2014 that I know I am responsible for paying an overdraft charge of $35.00 for and also a charge that came out in the amount of $186.19 that I would be responsible for covering the overdraft charge because my check had not deposited in the bank on the day that I thought it was supposed to. So in all I know that I am responsible for 3 overdraft charges in the amount of $35.00 each, amounting in full to $105.00. I told the bank representative that I was willing to pay that and not a penny more because I had the funds in there for the other charges listed above. She did go in and take off the $140.00 overdraft charge after speaking with her and letting her know that I had been tracking every penny in my account. She informed me that I would get overdraft charges for the pending charges that were set to post tonight, to which I asked why I was going to incur more overdraft charges for the charges that I had already incurred overdraft charges on. I feel that I and other customers are being double and triple charged for overdraft transactions and we should be responsible only for the charges that are actually overdrafted. I feel the bank is using their screwed up overdraft system to rob customers. I feel they are greedy, rude, and only willing to help whenever a customer points out their unfair practices and goes over the numbers with them. I believe that their method of charging for overdrafts needs to be investigated. I am very math literate, I can add, subtract, multiply, divide, etc and I keep great track of my charges. I know when i'm going to overdraft and I never have a problem paying whenever I hit a rough spot and have to pay the $35.00 fee. This is maybe the 2nd time I have ever had to deal with this issue at this bank, and outside of this issue I generally liked FHNB.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this business to quit ripping its customers off and be fair. I understand that a business has to make money, but it should be legitimate. Not just some charges that they've found a way to add up because they have control over your money. If someone overdrafts on one charge, charge them for the one charge that they've overdrafted. Don't charge everything on their account.

Business Response:

I am in receipt of your letter to the Better Business Bureau and believe that we may have already addressed your concerns during your telephone conversations with our Deployed Services department on January 8 and 9, 2013.

We show you contacted Deployed Services representative ******* January 8, 2014 to discuss how your account had become overdrawn. ******* provided you with information on your account activity, the posting order of items, how overdraft fees are assessed, and ways to avoid overdrawing your account. A courtesy refund of $140 was credited to your account as a way to assist you with the overdraft.

When you attempted to contact ******* January 9th about additional overdraft fees assessed overnight, representative *** spoke with you and provided an additional courtesy refund of $70 in an effort to assist you with bringing your account back to good standing.

If you still require information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ************.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Fort Hood National Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart