Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Babyearth.com

Phone: (512) 275-6935 Fax: (512) 233-2890 106 E Old Settlers Blvd Ste D100, Round Rock, TX 78664 http://www.babyearth.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Babyearth.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Babyearth.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Babyearth.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2002 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 03/02/2003 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Raich, CFO Mr. Steven Steinberg, CMO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Raich, CFO
Business Category

Baby Accessories & Services Baby Carriages & Strollers

Alternate Business Names
Baby-Wise.com Wise Innovations, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 106 E Old Settlers Blvd Ste D100

    Round Rock, TX 78664

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to purchase an order online from BabyEarth on October 4th, 2015. I thought I had processed the order, but never got an email, receipt confirmation and was not charged the purchase on my debit card. This had me under the impression that the purchase did not go through. I hence processed a second order for which I did got a receipt, email confirmation and the purchase was deducted from my debit card the same day, October 6th. I sent the items to my aunt in Florida who forwarded them to Costa Rica. Once the items arrived in Costa Rica I noticed that both orders had been sent, and hence repeated items, and checked my bank account and they had taken the money from the first purchase on the same day I placed the second one. I contacted them to tell them about the issue, the big problem is that the items are now in Costa Rica and they do not want to send me an envelope to Costa Rica to return the items and will not refund me. They actually stopped answering my queries and contacts since I mentioned I was in and am from Costa Rica. This is also very upsetting, I have kept all communications formal and in a polite tone. The Customer Service, has not responded to my last queries and claims since almost a couple of weeks. I have asked for proof that they sent me a receipt with my first purchase and they have not send anything. There is no communication from them that my first order went through. They claim that the email with purchase confirmation was sent to my Spam probably, but this is not true as I usually check my Spam and all folders in case this happens. They have also not been able to send me proof that such confirmation was sent as they claim. It is quite deceiving that they had me under the impression that no purchase had been made, that I received no purchase receipt or confirmation, and that they did not charge the amount until a couple of days later when I placed the second order. It is like buying in a physical store and not getting a receipt straight away.

Desired Settlement: I wish for them to either send me the prepaid envelopes to Costa Rica so I can return the unwanted items and get a refund for them or just get a refund for the unwanted items. Mainly, I wish this is not done to other consumers and have them under false pretenses that no purchase has gone through. It is mandatory to get a confirmation or receipt of payment.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

Dear BBB,

In reference to my complaint No. ******** such has been resolved by the business, so I wanted to remove my complaint and comment.

Many thanks.

Kind regards,


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ****** *******

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We werer gifted a baby car seat and it was bought and shipped from baby earth. It however didn't fit in our car and we returned after speaking to them and babyearth sending us a return label. In which time we repackaged said seat and sent it off with the third party shipper of their choosing. Upon receipt of the cart seat babyearth refused to refund us for the seat saying that it was damaged in shipping and was missing the instructions. Which were taped to the inside of the box at time of shipping. They still have the car seat in their possession and continue to refuse us a refund for the baby seat. They have been both misleading and have plainly lied to us and disregarded their own refund policies as stated on their webpage.

Desired Settlement: The gift giver of said baby seat be refunded in full the amount of purchase on to their credit card on file.

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing us an opportunity to represent the facts of this case.  An order was placed on our website for the Maxi Cosi Pria 70 Convertible Car Seat on 7/23/15 and we shipped it the same day.  Apparently this was a gift and the gift recipient (whom I will now refer to as 'customer') is the one filing this complaint, not the purchaser who placed the order.

On 9/8, the customer contacted us and wanted to exchange the car seat because it did not fit properly in her car.  We authorized the return, emailed our return instructions, a courtesy prepaid return shipping label, along with our return policy which can also be found on our website at:  http://www.babyearth.com/shipping.html

 

Our return policy states:

RETURNS
We want you to be delighted with your babyearth.com purchase. Most purchases can be returned within 365 days for a refund. Just contact us for an RMA number prior to return shipping. BabyEarth will cover the cost of return shipping for defective items, and will refund 100% of the purchase price. An unwanted, resalable item will be refunded 100% of the purchase price provided:
1) It is returned with all original documentation and packaging.
2) Manufacturer tags are intact.
3) It is in unused condition
Returned items not meeting these criteria are subject to a 25% restocking fee.  You will be responsible for shipping costs (each way) on unwanted items.  Certain products such as eating utensils, bottle feeding items / accessories, breast pumps, blankets, mattresses, diapers, potty seats, bath and fabric items and personal care items cannot be resold for hygienic reasons and are therefore non-refundable. Items that are returned with missing pieces and/or parts will not be refunded and will be shipped back to the customer at customer's expense.

The customer’s return was received in our warehouse on Friday 9/18 and processed by our Returns Department on Monday 9/21.  Unfortunately, we discovered at that time that the return was in very poor condition and missing the manufacturer tags which include the crucial product registration card.  These tags are securely fastened to the harness of the car seat in a plastic sleeve when in new condition.  Additionally, the car seat itself has deep scratches and gouges in the base which appear to be drag marks.  For these reasons, the return did not meet the criteria set forth in our returns policy, and we were not only unable to facilitate the courtesy exchange, but also could not accept the car seat as a return for reimbursement.  We spoke with the customer by phone on 9/22 and provided these details, and explained that without the manufacturer tags, we would have to send the car seat back to her which she understood.  Shortly thereafter, we received a call from the husband asking why we would not process the return and gave him the same information.  He told our representative that he thought he could locate the tags and paperwork and send that to us.  We told him that if he could locate that and send it to us, we could offer a store credit minus a 25% restocking fee and followed up that phone call with an email stating the same.  In addition, we provided the customer with pictures of the car seat and box that we received back from them.  On 9/23 the customer replied to our email and claimed they had taped the instructions, packing slips, and registration card to the inside of the box, even though he had told us just the day before that he would try to locate them and mail them to us.  We replied to that email with pictures showing nothing was taped to or torn from the inside of the box and reiterated that without the manufacturer tags, we would not be able to accept the return.  The customer replied accusing us of "willful attempts to be dishonest" and stated that we "lied and misled" him and his wife.  He also threatened to pursue legal action, copied his lawyer to his email, and informed us he would be contacting the BBB to report this as a fraudulent transaction.  I would like to provide our entire email exchange with this customer for your review, as well as the initial return authorization, to assist in the resolution of this claim, but I am limited to four attachments.  Since I am sending pictures, please let me know if I may provide these additional supporting documents that we feel are pertinent to this case.

We shipped the car seat back to the customer as we said we would and in accordance with our return policy, so we are no longer in possession of their return.  We want all of our customers to have an exceptional experience when shopping with BabyEarth, and we regret that this customer is not happy with our return policy.  They have also taken to other on line forums in an effort to tarnish our reputation which is unfortunate because their comments are not factual.  We made several exceptions to our policy to accommodate this customer, but were ultimately unable to accept their return.  Attached, please find a picture of the box as it arrived in our warehouse, a picture of the box opened with the car seat still inside, a picture of the bottom of the car seat with the damage circled in red, and a picture of the inside of the empty box which shows that nothing was taped to or torn from the inside of the box. 

Being an accredited business with the BBB, we have a great respect for your investigative process and look forward to a continued relationship.  Please let me know if I may submit additional documents for your review or if the information I have provided is sufficient.  I will look forward to your reply.

 

Sincerely,

*********

Business Response: After careful consideration, we have decided to refund the purchaser minus the 25% restocking fee and minus return shipping charges despite the return clearly not meeting the criteria set forth in our returns policy.  The refund will be applied to the purchaser's original payment source per the customer's request and we hope our concession finalizes this case.  Since the car seat is unusable and unsalable, we are discarding it and taking a complete loss.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

10/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good morning, I am writing because I went online and this company had a stroller THULE 10101904- Urban Glide 1 Sports Stroller- Mars for $11.95, and when you go to buy it or click on it it gives another pricing, I am not sure what happen with the company but it is not the consumers fault the only thing that I am trying to do is purchase it at that price since that was the listing price of it. I think it's very misleading to do something and then try and change the price to something different to try to accommodate a mistake or whatever they made.

Desired Settlement: I believe that this store should actually honor the price as forestated I took a picture of the item online also and I believe that the company should actually honor the price that was stated it's actually there fault not mine.

Business Response: A technical glitch caused a temporary pricing error on our marketplace accounts.  This was unique to third party sales channels such as Amazon and Sears and did not occur on our website, www.babyearth.com.  Any orders that were placed for these items were promptly cancelled and refunded when applicable.  I do not see an order for the person who filed this claim but am happy to provide any additional information.  All prices for all items on every website are correct at this time.

Sincerely,
*********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I believe the price should be honored as mentioned it's not the consumers fault whatsoever...

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: This was a temporary pricing error that has been fixed.  If you would like to place an order, the current price on the listing is correct.  I'm sorry for any confusion.

7/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 6th 2014 I bought an Arms read organic ****ress, the description of the ****ress was very brief. I saw on the first page of babyearth website "hassle free returns" and ordered the ****ress it was 149.00 plus tax. It came and it was the wrong ****ress. In order to see if the ****ress did work I had to open it. Once I realized it was wrong ****ress it was sent back. BabyEarth emailed me that a refund would be $112.00 for re stocking fees. they claim its in the fine print. When I called to talk to the people who were emailing me I was treated so rude. Saying that I was hassling them because I was looking for a hassle free return of my items and I was feeling hassled.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund

Business Response: Unfortunately, the customer is not providing you with a factual account of this transaction.  He placed the order on Amazon.com, not on the BabyEarth.com website as he says in his complaint.  Nevertheless, our returns policy is clearly stated on both websites.  He ordered the Arm's Reach Original Co-Sleeper Organic ****ress, and that is what we sent him.  The ****resses are wrapped in plastic by the manufacturer to protect them from contaminants before baby's first use which is why we do not accept the return of fabric items that have been opened and exposed in the home.  The customer contacted us and reported that he received the wrong ****ress, but did not tell us that he had removed the packaging.  We sent him a pre-paid return shipping label in good faith believing the customer's report that the incorrect ****ress was sent and that he would return the one he received in new and unused condition.  When our Returns Department received the ****ress back at our warehouse, we found that it was not only the correct ****ress that had been ordered, but it had also been opened by the customer.  For this reason, a 25% restocking fee was deducted from his refund as outlined in our returns policy (*note, the customer said it was "in the fine print" - not our representative as he alleges).  The customer filed a claim with Amazon.com and proceeded to send threatening emails to us about writing slanderous reviews on line unless we refunded him the 25% restocking fee.  He also called our customer service department threatening to "hit us where it hurts," but our representative was able to maintain her composure and professionalism despite being berated with expletives by this customer. 

This morning, Amazon resolved the claim and refunded the remaining 25% to appease the customer, but the money was not charged back to BabyEarth.  Amazon has always been in support of our stated returns policies.  The customer has followed through with his threats and posted false complaints on various websites accusing us of "bait and switch" among other complete fabrications in an effort to tarnish our reputation with our on line customer base.  We have email records of all correspondences that we are happy to provide you to assist with your review if necessary.

We regret that the customer was not satisfied with the service we provided despite making exceptions to our returns policy.  If you need any additional information whatsoever, please let me know.  We value our relationship with the BBB and have great respect for your review process.

Warmest regards,
*********

********* *** ****
BabyEarth Customer Service Manager     

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I deserve an apology  

Regards,

**** *****

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received the ****** ***** ***** BAby set in cherry however, the item was missing a part. Several calls was made to customer service as well msg were left with ***** *****, ***** *********, ***** and ***, and **** but no calls were returned. Are they still in business?

Desired Settlement: Refund for the purchase price of the gift in the form of a check or a replacement asap.

Business Response: We received an email from this customer and have authorized the return of this defective item.  We sent a prepaid return shipping label, and as soon as the product is returned by the customer, we will issue a credit for the full price of the product.

Business Response: We received an email from this customer and have authorized the return of this defective item.  We sent a prepaid return shipping label, and as soon as the product is returned by the customer, we will issue a credit for the full price of the product.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

* ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Babyearth.com
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)