Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

M E Gene Johnson Garage & Oil Works

Phone: (512) 453-7376 Fax: (512) 453-8384 4801 Airport Blvd, Austin, TX 78751 http://www.megenejohnson.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that M E Gene Johnson Garage & Oil Works meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for M E Gene Johnson Garage & Oil Works include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on M E Gene Johnson Garage & Oil Works
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 07, 1999 Business started: 05/01/1946 in TX Business started locally: 05/01/1946 Business incorporated 11/22/1978 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Hebson, Co Owner/Manager Mr. Bubba Williams, Co Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Hebson, Co Owner/Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto - Emissions Testing Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Air Conditioning Auto Inspection Stations

Industry Tips
Car Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 4801 Airport Blvd

    Austin, TX 78751 (512) 453-7376

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not full, and no service. Let's take a history lesson "During the 1950s, witnesses a full service gas station. A car pulls up and out of the station spring four uniformed attendants who not only fill the tank, but check the tire pressure and oil and wash the car's windows. These perks were free and it was the norm up until the 1970s. Not only that, but gas stations often gave away trinkets such as drinking glasses, toys, key chains, calendars, trading stamps and even road maps." I pulled up and wasn't really greeted at my window by anyone, I had to roll down my other window to speak to someone workign on another car. He Informs me that it is a full service, that it would cost more. "I know and I'm okay with that." He waves over a guy from the sidewalk who looked homeless, both physically and attire. It was pretty unprofessional. No one showed any interest if I wanted any service at all, no window wash, no tire check, no fluids check. As he motions over to fill my gas, it takes too quickly, so I ask what's the cost? $12. My tank was empty. "Well it stopped at $12." Sometimes it does that, air escpaing triggers a rush. He informs me he can't continue and without another word, walks back inside. Already 20 minutes into this "gas stop" I storm out of my car and finish pumping my own gas. Seriously, I am pumping my own gas at a gas station. How horrid. This random dude walks up and ask what I'm doing, he's not in uniform and barely implied that he worked there (eg "Do you need any help, sir?" or etc) I tell him what's up and he takes over. After my bill, the gas price is $3.29, instead of $3.19. I walk back in and ask what happened. The guy said he rung it up wrong, his mistake. So I ask for the difference back, he says that since he did include brake fluid (upon my request to check the fluids since no one showed interest) he was now including it to make up for the difference. Well, I'll be damned. I asked for his definition of 'full service' and he stated that "if someone asked for us to check their tires, we'd do that". Thing is, customers shouldn't ask, you are. I pay $0.40 more for gas by the gallon for the luxury of being helped out. When I walked outside, the guy who I vened to that ended up filling the rest of my gas for me is washing my windsheild (only) and doing quite a horrible job at it. He wasn't squeegeeing properly, leaving HUGE dripping lines down my windsheild. Ugh. I went to my trunk to grab my own squeegee to do my own windsheild, but couldn't find it. (yes, i carry one for some odd reason) He then stated that this must be Murphy's law for me. This whole ordeal took me 35 mins and a $50 dent to my wallet that I don't feel it was deserved at all. In all honestly, refund me the $48 for the whole ordeal. Your apology, if you wanted to call it that, was not sincere at all. I gave you criticism and in return, was given a look that smelled like "Don't tell me how to do my job." Watch some videos of what it takes to be "full service" or stop advertising that. I had to pump my own gas. Hire people that take pride in their job and service. People willing to go the extra mile and getting that tip. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: In all honestly, refund me the $48 for the whole ordeal. Your apology, if you wanted to call it that, was not sincere at all. I gave you criticism and in return, was given a look that smelled like "Don't tell me how to do my job." Watch some videos of what it takes to be "full service" or stop advertising that. I had to pump my own gas. Hire people that take pride in their job and service. People willing to go the extra mile and getting that tip. This is unacceptable.

Business Response: RE: *******

We were dismayed to learn of Mr. *********'s dissatisfaction with our full-service station.  In business since 1946, we provide excellent full-service to all our customers. Regrettably, we will not be able to accommodate Mr. *********'s request for a refund for his gasoline purchase.

Sincerely,

*** ******
*****
M.E. "Gene" Johnson Garage & Station

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I am disappointed in the response given by Mr. ******.  None of my issues were addressed and no refund, even a partial for extream lack of service, was suggested. There was no statement of apology, and no promise of better service.  *** insists that they provide “ excellent full-service” to all customers, but I was either forgotten about /ignored or this quality of service is all that they really offer.

Regards,


******** *********

Business Response: December 10, 2013   
 
********* *******
Dispute Resolution Specialist
Better Business Bureau

RE: Case #*******

We were dismayed to learn of Mr. *********’s dissatisfaction with our full-service station.   In business since 1946, we provide excellent full-service to all our
customers.  Regrettably, we will not be able to accommodate Mr. *********’s request for a refund of his gasoline purchase.

 
****** ******

*****
M.E.
“Gene” Johnson Station & Garage


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on M E Gene Johnson Garage & Oil Works
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)