This business is not BBB accredited.

Lamb's Tire & Automotive Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 257-2350 Fax: (512) 257-1895 View Additional Phone Numbers 2100 Kramer Ln Ste 150, Austin, TX 78758 http://www.lambstire.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Full service automotive repair, state inspection/emissions testing, preventative maintenance service, warranty repairs, oil changes and tire sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lamb's Tire & Automotive Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Lamb's Tire & Automotive Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 1990 Business started: 07/21/1987 Business started locally: 07/21/1987 Business incorporated 09/02/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Jim Ramsey, President Mr. Jason Burns, Manager Mr. Patrick Dubord, Manager Mr. Kirk Duderstadt, Manager store 4 Mr. Julian Gomez, Manager Mr. Scott Hancock, Manager Mr. Larry Jones, Manager Mr. Craig McCutchen, Manager Mr. Bo Meyer, Manager Mr. Matt Reinhart, Manager Mr. Josh Robicheaux, Manager Mr. Michael Valencia, Manager Mr. Michael Weir, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Ramsey, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Tire Retread & Repair Transmissions - Automobile Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations

Alternate Business Names
Lamb Ventures LP
Industry Tips
Car Repair Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lamb's Tire & Automotive Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10204 Lake Creek Pkwy

    Austin, TX 78729 (512) 257-2176

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10740 Research Blvd Ste 115

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 345-5556

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12221 Fm 2244

    Bee Cave, TX 78738 (512) 263-5840

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15800 Foothill Farms Loop

    Pflugerville, TX 78660 (512) 670-2244

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15909 S Great Oaks Dr

    Round Rock, TX 78681 (512) 238-1744

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2100 Kramer Ln Ste 150

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 257-2350

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2204 W Slaughter Ln

    Austin, TX 78748 (512) 280-5235

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2620 E Whitestone Blvd

    Cedar Park, TX 78613 (512) 260-6868

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3021 Williams Dr Ste A

    Georgetown, TX 78628 (512) 930-2025

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3564 Far West Blvd

    Austin, TX 78731 (512) 345-6600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4101 Sunrise Rd

    Round Rock, TX 78665 (512) 225-0065

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5001 W Highway 290 Ste B

    Austin, TX 78735 (512) 891-9988

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    501 N Bell Blvd

    Cedar Park, TX 78613 (512) 336-9270

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6813 McNeil Dr

    Austin, TX 78729 (512) 918-3230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7515 Fm 620 N Ste 2

    Austin, TX 78726 (512) 918-0222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in for a "free" ac check and engine light diagnosis. While I was waiting for my car, I overheard one of the mechanics instructing the male cashier to "tell the customer this because if you say that, then they're not going to buy the service." As to whether or not, he was talking about my car, I can not say with certainty. But none the less, I was concerned. So after almost an hour, was told why the check engine light was on. As for the ac, I was told there weren't any visible leaks and that I did not have any freon in the car. I was told they could do an ac evaluation/recharge and add some freon, and that should fix it. After I was shown the bill, I was given the option to fix everything or the ac of the check engine issue. I chose the ac because the cost was lower. So, after 30 minutes or so, gentleman at the desk came back and said that the ac evaluation/recharge did not fix the problem because the compress needed to be replaced. He showed me the price which was well over $1000. I asked if the work they just did, should I have my car fixed at Lamb's, will the money I just paid go toward the service. I was told no, that the compressor would be in addition to what I already spent. At that point, I could feel the tears starting to fall. I spent $287.57 and your mechanic didn't fix anything. My ac still blows hot air. I left Lamb's in tears. I felt like I was taken advantage of, like I was sold a service the mechanics knew I didn't need. Especially after overhearing your employees discus what to tell the customer in order to sell a service. I called another auto shop and explained my experience with Lamb's. I was told I may have been overcharged, but without actually seeing my car, he couldn't say for certain. I am very disappointed and frustrated with your bUsiness. I only chose Lamb's because I listen to Spirit 105.9 and I heard the commercial advertising the free ac check. Again, I felt like I was taken advantage of and sold a service I didn't need. I will never use Lamb's again. Plus, I will advise everyone I know to be suspicious of this business.

Desired Settlement: I would hope that anyone who reads this, will do their homework. Ask questions and get a second or a third opinion before deciding on a mechanic. Car repairs are expensive anyway. There isn't any reason to overcharge, that is if they did, customers. There isn't any reason to take advantage of people who do not know anything about cars. I just want businesses to be honest. And I want this business and it's employees to know that this customer cried all the way the home because she felt duped.

Business Response: This customer will have the entire amount they were charged refunded to her. The AC diagnosis is FREE , that means that if after diagnosing the problem the customer declined repair, we do not charge. a Full refund will be processed back to the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

If I may add, as long as there are cars on the road, automotive shops like Lamb's will always be in business. Please respect your customers. While customers should do their homework regarding any service request, it's incumbent upon the professionals to be fair and honest, despite a customer's lack of knowledge.  No one should ever feel the way I felt that day.  Treat us, the way you want to be treated.

Moving forward, let me say thank you for looking into this matter.  I'd also like to thank Lamb's Tire for addressing my concern and providing an equitable solution.  You are a valuable service, that all drivers rely on.  Take care of us, and we will take care of you.  

Thank you again BBB and Lamb's Tire.  Your assistance and resolution in this matter, is appreciated.

Sincerely,

****** *****

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle brought in after extensive maintenance by Lamb's on north 620 in Austin. Lamb's checked vehicle and indicated a potential starter problem. We declined any repairs at that time, and stated that we would be in to pick up the vehicle. Note that the vehicle, a 2005 Kia Sedona, had an lengthy history of repairs at that particular Lamb's. Within a few minutes of our statement to Lamb's they called back and stated that the vehicle would not start and was smoking. The vehicle started without any issues and without any smoke when it was brought in to the Lamb's location. I contend that Lamb's did something, either deliberately or through negligence, that caused the vehicle not to start in order to get a $300.00 repair contact for a new started from us. Needless to say, this is an outrageous way to do business.

Desired Settlement: I want the vehicle repaired at Lamb's cost for all parts, and without any labor charges.

Business Response: Contacted customer and instructed her that if she brought us the starter, we would install at no charge. This is repair is now in process 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

10/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/28/15 I took my car to Lambs in Pflugerville TX to fix my AC which had started blowing warm air. Was told the evaporator coil was worn out. They replaced the evap core, dryer, expansion valve. Cost $1390.03 Four weeks later, AC is blowing warm air again. Returned to Lambs 5/25/15, was told that now the compressor was completely shot. I asked the obvious question -why this wasnt discovered during the 1st visit? Didn't get a clear answer, the guy was a little abrasive and just rambled about how it's hard to tell what could be wrong with a car's AC. They replaced compressor plus dryer and expansion valve again (2nd time) which he said had to be redone. Cost $1161.45. During that visit, I asked if there was anything else major that could go wrong with the AC, was told that the only other part was the condenser, but that it was okay and would be unlikely to go out. After that visit, AC was blowing cool, but not as cold as it had before the problems started. Called Lambs, spoke to the same guy who said I could bring it back and they'd check into it but by now I was getting a bad feeling about them so I decided to cut my losses with them and eventually take it someplace else. Four months later (Sept 26) I turned on the defroster - my car immediately filled with the smell of burned rubber and smoke rose from under the hood. Went to a different service provider who discovered that now the AC condenser was completely worn out (which Lambs had told me shouldn't happen). Had to pay another $1550 to replace condenser PLUS compressor (2nd time) PLUS expansion valve and dryer (3rd time). Final tally - over $4000 to fix my AC, which is outrageous. Lamb's obviously failed to check everything related to the AC on my FIRST visit (or even the 2nd one). Had I known early on that my entire AC system needed replacing (which makes sense given the age/mileage of my car), I could have had it all done at once for MUCH less money.

Desired Settlement: I believe Lamb's should give me at least a partial refund of the money I paid during my first 2 visits.

Business Response: After researching this situation I found that the overall facts in this case are true. This customer did come in for A/C repairs on two different occasions, and had two different components related to the air conditioning system replaced. This is a situation that is difficult for both the repair facility and the customer. When an A/C concern is evaluated we determine the source of the concern and repair what is happening AT THAT TIME. if we find the compressor is bad for instance , we would just replace that component along with the associated parts needed for that repair. In this case, we replaced the evaporator core, because it was leaking. This fixed the A/C concern, but later the Compressor failed. If we were to suggest that every single component should be replaced every time a customer comes in with an A/C concern, we would be accused of overselling. This is the reason we only suggest the component we verify as bad be replaced. At the time of the initial repair, the compressor was functioning normally. At a later date, the compressor failed. Both of these repairs were warranted. The customer does not indicate if they had to pay for the compressor again, if so this should have been covered under a parts warranty. Lamb's Agrees to refund this customer $500.00 as a gesture of goodwill.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 11, 2015 I had an oil change done at Lamb's on ****** **. in ****** *****. On the evening of Jun 3rd, 2015, the oil plug worked it's way loose and caused my engine to be ruined. I had my car (2013 Hyundai Elantra) towed (the Tow truck Driver told me the oil plug was missing when he loaded my car) to Southpoint Hyundai in ****** *****. After looking at it Hyundai told me I needed a new engine. Hyundai told me that it is not unusual for a plug to take weeks to work it's way out, if not put in properly. I called Lamb's and spoke to the Manager (***). The first thing *** said was that there's been lots of vandalism on cars. I told him that no one goes under the car and loosens the oil plug. *** went and looked at my car that Friday (Jun 5th, 2015). I called my insurance (USAA) and they sent an appraiser (*****) out to look at my car (he went on Tuesday Jun 9th 2015). In the mean***e, *** had called me back and stated that he looked at the car, and was willing to pay for new lifters. I told *** that I'm not a mechanic, but Hyundai stated I needed a new engine. He then stated that Hyundai was just trying to make more money. I told *** That my Insurance Appraiser was going to look at the vehicle, and then I would figure out what to do. *** asked that I have my Appraiser call him after he looks at the vehicle. My Appraiser agreed with Hyundai, stating that I did need a new engine, and suggested I get it replaced. My Appraiser took numerous pictures and stated there was proof that Lamb's was negligent. I then asked my Appraiser to call ***, which he did. I then received a text from my Appraiser stating "Just spoke with ***. He is going to call his Insurer to get this resolved." I talked to *** later and explained that both Hyundai and my Appraiser stated I needed a new engine, so that's what I was going to do. I had the new engine put in, and picked up my car on Jun 12th. *** stated that he was going to get his Insurance (Travelers) involved. After talking to ********* numerous ***es she stated that she usually approves these settlements right away, but her worry was that the Incident happened 7 weeks after the oil change (which Hyundai says is possible), with the age of the car (2 years old), and that I had driven over 3000 miles (3065 miles) since the oil change. I told ********* that my car was only 2 years old. and these days lots of experts don't recommend oil changes until every 5000 miles. ********* also stated there was no proof of negligence on Lamb's part, even though USAA states there is proof in the pictures. (Lamb's oil filter was still on, no damage to the oil pan from scraping against something. and oil in the oil pan that had dripped). On Jun 29th, I received an e-mail from ********* (with an attached letter) stating my claim was being denied. I talked to *********'s Manager (****** *******) and got the same message. I explained to ****** that *** was willing to pay for lifters, but my Appraiser and Hyundai both said I needed a new engine. ****** asked if I had that in writing and I said of course not, we were on the phone. She then stated well as of now this claim is closed unless you come up with more proof.

Desired Settlement: I want Lamb's to pay $6041.31 for my engine and also for 5 days of car rental $178.00 (I had a total of 9 days, but USAA paid for 4 days)

Business Response: As the customer stated. The engine was replaced prior to the companies insurance adjuster looking at the vehicle. No fault could be determined and as such the claim was denied. 

Business Response:  Lamb's tire and automotive turned this claim over to our insurance carrier. The insurance carrier found no liability and as such has denied the claim. No further action forthcoming.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Lamb's tried to get away with paying for a portion of the engine. They knew they were at fault. After being informed by my Insurer and Hyundai, that their offer was unacceptable, due to possible future issues, they now decided that their insurance denial should be the final word. Lamb's should do the right thing, and refund me my money, just from a business point of view. I'm not trying to rip them off, they are ripping me off

Regards,

**** ******

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to the *** **** location for a tuneup, tire alignment, and diagnostic of everything wrong with the car on February 14 2015. I paid $629.32 for all the services ($95.00 was for the diagnostic of the car). After the diagnostic I was informed that a tire alignment could not be done as I had a bent strut rod, and the car needed new control arms and a new exhaust. Lamb's quoted a cost of $3500 for the repairs. I repaired the strut rod, lower control arms, and exhaust system myself and the repairs were fine except for an exhaust leak. I took my car to Meineke on Burnet road to fix the exhaust leak and look over my car for any issues I may have had when repairing the car on March 3rd of 2015. There were no issues found with the repair work done at this time. On March 5th 2015 I took my car back to Lamb's to get a tire alignment as it was needed after working on the suspension. After taking my car to Lamb's they informed me the front driver CV joint had grease leaking from it and the front driver strut needed replaced. Neither of these issues were present before taking my car to Lamb's on the 5th of March 2015, and neither issues was reported by them during their diagnostic from 2 weeks prior.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for Lamb's to pay for the repairs to the car that were not present before taking my car to their location. The car is scheduled to go to Meineke tomorrow morning for proper repairs.

Business Response: Customer brought vehicle to Lamb's for an alignment after performing repairs himself. Technician found that the upper strut bolts were loose, and the CV axle boot was leaking grease(please see attached photos). Customer recently replaced the struts himself, as well as the lower control arms. The strut bolts were loose when the vehicle arrived at our location, the grease from the cv boot is fresh indicating this concern has occurred recently possible as  a result of not reassembling the axle properly when installing the lower control arms. These repairs are the responsibility of the customer as he is the owner of the vehicle. Lamb's sent the customer pictures of the concerns noted and offered to show him the concerns, but the customer declined.

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: LAMB'S TIRE & AUTOMOTIVE ****** *** * ****** ** ***** ###-###-#### Improperly failed vehicle inspection test. Tire wear indicators still below tire tread. Wiper blade had small 1/2 in. piece missing on extreme inside end of passenger side blade. This in no way interfered with visibility. These issues should not have caused a failed test. Was given the impression, station just wanted to sell new tires.

Desired Settlement: Would like a refund of the inspection fee ($28.75).

Business Response: Customer brought vehicle in for a state safety / emission inspection. Vehicle passed all requirements, with the exception of the tire tread depths (below 2/32nds of an inch tread depth), and one torn wiper blade. These requirements are mandated by the state of Texas. Issuing a state inspection certificate to a vehicle that does not meet state mandated inspection guidelines can result in disciplinary actions taken against the business, and the inspector that is performing inspections. This disciplinary action can include loss of the license to perform State Inspections as well as criminal prosecution of the individual and the business.

This customer did not agree with the requirements, unfortunately these again are mandated by the State of Texas. The state also requires that customers pay for State Inspections whether the vehicle passes or Fails.

Business will not be refunding fee to customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am not requesting that LAMB'S TIRE & AUTOMOTIVE pass the vehicle. Only that they refund the cost. After reviewing the state requirements, and the vehicle, I believe the vehicle should have passed. LAMB'S TIRE & AUTOMOTIVE made an error in their determination. I would like to take my car to a different inspection station where I believe I can get a fair test.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: As per the original response, lamb's will not refund the customer for the State Inspection fee.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

LAMB'S TIRE & AUTOMOTIVE is not offering any new response to the issue. If there is no attempt on the part of LAMB'S TIRE & AUTOMOTIVE to resolve this issue, I will feel it necessary publicize my experience using all social media, and rating outlets available.

Regards,

***** *****

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in to have an oil change. After an hour of waiting they took it to the back and after about 15 minutes I paid and then got my car. About 10 minutes later my car started making a horrible rattling noise. I called lambs they were closed so I had to wait until Friday and they towed my car to the shop and told me there was a nut and bolt in my tork convertor and that it would cost me $900 to fix for 8 hour labor. I had my car towed to dealership for a second opinion and was told my engine has medal fragments in the oil that was in the engine.

Desired Settlement: I want my engine replaced.

Business Response: Customer brought vehicle in for an oil change, and vehicle was returned with a noise concern. Store personnel inspected the vehicle and found engine was full of oil, oil filter was tight and not leaking. Store personnel initially determined that the noise was emanating from the torque converter area, but later determined that this was not the case. Customer chose to have vehicle taken to another repair facility for inspection, and that facility determined that there was mechanical failure internal to the engine. The customer is wanting lamb's Tire and Automotive to replace the engine 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

12/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being informed of a cracked radiator, I proceeded to have the entire engine cooling system on my car replaced. Radiator, hoses, fluids, cap, etc. Cost was over $1,000. Upon receiving the vehicle and driving home, the system was still leaking coolant profusely. It was as if the staff did not test their work. Nor did they show me why the old radiator was bad like promised. After taking the car back to the shop, it was discovered that a hose clamp was bad. I had been told that the entire shipment of clamps was bad. I drove the car for one month. I started to have a coolant leak again. The car was now leaking from a different hose. Took the car in for a third time and they replaced the clamp again. I drove the car for another 2 months and another coolant leak developed. Turns out it was another bad hose clamp. Took the car to a different service location as I am no longer in the state of Texas. They too replaced the clamp and filled coolant. As we speak, the car is leaking coolant again. I am about to take the car in to have the system checked again. In total this means 6 visits to a repair shop for the same issue. This means countless hours of my time wasted and the inconvenience of being without a car.

Desired Settlement: I think an apology and refund is in order. After the third visit, I requested a complementary oil change which was denied. After 6 trips, lost time, and $1,000 I am beyond outraged. As such, I believe a refund is in order to compensate me for my time and frustration.

Business Response: This vehicle came to our Brushy Creek store with a coolant leak. The radiator was leaking. Our shop replaced the radiator and the coolant hoses. these components are covered up warranty by any tire and service network dealer for a full 2 yrs or 24000 miles. A hose clamp did fail after the repair was completed and as the customer indicated was replaced free of charge. While we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, we do feel that the customer needed a radiator and as such we will decline refunding him for this.

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January 2014, Lamb's performed extensive and expensive repair services on a vehicle to correct a problem described to them. The cost of those repairs (parts and labor) was almost $1800, including tax. Not long after, we noticed the problem again. During the following months, the problem increased in frequency and severity. We took the car to a different repair business because we did not know whether Lamb's had completely missed the necessary repairs, had installed defective parts, or had installed parts defectively. The second repair business diagnosed the cause of the problem as the failure of after-market parts that Lamb's had installed. The cause is noted on the written repair record. We incurred additional expensive repair costs to correct the work Lamb's had done. The second round of repairs seems to have fixed the vehicle problem that Lamb's did not fix.

Desired Settlement: According to the notes the second repair business wrote, Lamb's choice of parts was the cause of the problem and those parts needed replacement with ones better suited to the vehicle. For this reason, Lamb's should refund the cost of those parts and the labor to install them.

Business Response:  Customer brought vehicle into Lambs Tire and Automotive 01/04/2014 (75684 miles repair order # *****). Both front axle shaft assemblies were replaced as well as the power steering rack and tie rod ends. No other concerns were noted. Customer returned to this location 06/25/2014 for an oil and filter change, and a light bulb was replaced (no mention of any other concerns) mileage was 81349 repair order #*****. 10/08/2014 customer takes her vehicle to First Texas Honda with a complaint of noise when turning. The dealership replaced the power steering rack, both front axles. These were the same parts that Lamb's has replaced 01/04/2014.

Lamb's Tire and Automotive warrants the parts that are replaced on customer vehicle for a full 2 years or 24000 miles. This warranty is honored at any Goodyear Tire and Service network location nationwide, including Lamb's Tire and Automotive locations.This customer did not return to Lamb's Tire and Automotive, but instead took the vehicle to First Texas Honda. During the process of repair, the customer did not contact Lamb's Tire and Automotive. The customer authorized First Texas Honda to replace the parts that were replaced 01/04/2014 at Lamb's Tire and Automotive.
Lamb's Tire and Automotive did not have an opportunity to inspect the vehicle, or the parts that were deemed defective by First Texas Honda. If after inspection, Lamb's Tire and Automotive determined these parts were indeed defective, the replacement of these components would have been covered under warranty.

The customer returned to Lamb's Tire and Automotive the week of October 13, 2014, seeking reimbursement for the replacement of the parts. Store ******* ****** ********, explained to the customer that because the vehicle was not brought to Lamb's Tire and Automotive prior to repair, the repair could not be covered under the warranty. ****** asked the customer for the parts that were replaced. The customer informed ****** that they did not have the parts.

This repair may have been covered under warranty, however the customer did not return the vehicle to Lamb's Tire and Automotive and as such no refund can be provided.     

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Although I appreciate the existence of the warranty, it was not a useful, appropriate, or reasonable remedy in this case.  We did not know that the continuing problem was covered by the warranty from the work Lamb's performed in January. At the time we took the vehicle to the second repair shop, it was apparent that Lamb's had not fixed the problem, which could have meant that none of the work Lamb's performed was directed at the problem and therefore no warranty was involved.  It was not until the second repair shop had completed its diagnostic work, with the vehicle in its shop at its location on the other side of town from Lamb's, that we were informed of the cause.  In addition, at that point, it was not reasonable to have the second repair shop re-assemble the vehicle, for us to pay for the diagnostic expense and, potentially, the cost of towing the vehicle, and to return the vehicle to Lamb's so that it could install replacement parts (under the warranty) that we were told caused the problem to begin with.  (In a telephone conversation following the second repair shop's work, Lamb's ***** ******* said that they would have paid for the cost of the second repair shop's diagnostics as well as towing and a rental car, if necessary, but those expenses are not specified in the warranty and there is no basis for assuming that Lamb's would actually have covered them.  Moreover, the *******'s comments assume that they would have performed work under the warranty instead of pointing to a new cause not covered by their warranty.)

The bottom line, based on the information we received from the second repair shop and the current condition of the vehicle since its repair by the second repair shop, is that the work performed at Lamb's to solve a specific problem did not, in fact, solve that problem; and returning the vehicle to Lamb's for further work under the warranty - assuming that Lamb's had decided that the warranty even applied - would have involved expenses to us not covered by the warranty and the installation of parts that apparently would have resulted in a second unsuccessful repair for the same reason that the original repair was not successful.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Lamb's Tire and Automotive understands that this customer has rejected our reply to their complaint. Lamb's Tire and Automotive will not be offering anything further to this customer because of the reasons stated in the original reply.

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Lamb's to repair my car on December 12,2013, for check the engine light on, two days later the light back on. I came back and according to them they fixed for second time and one weeks later I still have the same problem. They told me they fixed it but for the four time they told me they change the censor and they took to *** to put the original parts wich I believe on them. Few days later the light back on, I went over there and I said the light still on. One of the guy told me I need to take to *** for diagnostic. Well I do not have that money and I continio with the same problems. I took my car to another place on August 19, to check my car because I need the inspection, he change the same parts they already change on Lamb's Tire & Automotive. I didn't pay the credit card but I'd like they take away the money on the credit card wich they charge me $168.00 plus 123.13 for replace that part. They lie to me because they told they took my car to *** and replace it the original part wich is not true. Thank so much

Desired Settlement: Take that money from the credit card.

Business Response:          Contacted customer, and instructed her that we would be refunding her the $291.00 she had requested. Customer was satisfied with this.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ******

4/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently took my car to the Lamb's Tire & Automotive at 290 for an oil change and tire rotation, during which Lamb's offered to do an inspection for free. After completing the inspection the technician came out and told me I needed the timing belt and water pump changed because "the water pump was leaking on it (the timing belt)," that the drive belts were "badly cracked" and needed to be replaced, and a few other things such as a leaky o-ring, coolant, and some filters that needed to be replaced, all for a total of about $1400 worth of work. I was shocked because we'd just had the timing belt and water pump replaced at the manufacturer's recommended 105,000 miles, and the car was now at 126,000 miles. I told him this and he suggested I call the place I'd had that replacement done at because it may still be covered by their warranty. I agreed to do so and said I would let him know about the additional work they suggested. I did not receive or pay for any of the work they suggested except for the oil change. I took the car into the place I'd had the timing belt and water pump replaced at, and gave them the quote Lamb's had given me that listed all the services they suggested my car needed. This agreed with Lamb's that there was a small leak in the water pump and that it should be replaced (it was no longer under warranty, but since it had failed much sooner than expected due to their error they agreed to the factory cost for the part and to not charge for the labor). However, they noted that this leak was nowhere near the timing belt. They said the timing belt was "beautiful" and that the supposedly "badly cracked" drive belts looked good as well. They said some of the other repairs Lamb's suggested were mechanic dependent and could likely wait a while (i.e. called the o-ring "seeping" rather than leaking), but they did not fault Lamb's for suggesting some of the repairs. But they said that over $800 of the work Lamb's suggested was completely unnecessary because the parts were not damaged at all (timing belt, drive belts). Additionally, the technician from Lamb's called about a week after I hadn't brought the car back to them to ask if I was "satisfied with their service." When I relayed what the other shop had said the technician noted "well, we didn't take off the plates to look at the timing belt, but with the water pump so close you don't want it to start leaking on it." They had never even looked at the timing belt that they'd supposedly seen the water pump leaking on!! I am furious that Lamb's blatantly lied and suggested repairs for parts they did not even check.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate an apology and explanation from the manager or someone at the shop more knowledgeable than the technician I have spoken to several times who hasn't been able to give be an answer for why some of these repairs were suggested when the parts weren't even examined. Otherwise, I would like the BBB to be aware of the unethical practices of some of the technicians at this store to protect other consumers.

Business Response: Lamb’s Tire & Automotive has seen this vehicle three separate times including the latest repair, the first time was on 8/5/11 at 100,369 miles where an oil and filter change was performed. During that service it was noted that a timing belt and tune up were recommended due to mileage according to Honda’s 105,000 mile normal service and maintenance interval.

The next visit to Lamb’s Tire & Automotive was on 4/5/12 at 106,624 miles where a battery was installed in the vehicle. At this time no suggested services were recommended.

The latest visit was on 3/15/14 at 125,848 miles for an oil and filter change along with replacing the right headlight. The technician noted that the water pump was leaking enough for the coolant reservoir to be dry, two drive belts were cracked, replace a leaking distributor o-ring, and replace the air and cabin filters; a quote was given to address these concerns totaling $1486.33.

The timing belt cover was not removed by us to inspect the condition of the belt, when there are signs of a leaking water pump near any belt it’s an industry best practice that those belt(s) are replaced.

When our Service Consultant delivered the quote to the customer they mentioned that a lot of work was just completed to the vehicle, we recommended the customer take it back to the repairing shop in case those repairs were covered under their warranty or a part manufacturer warranty.

The quote in question was created to include the timing belt and associated seals/gaskets as we did not have a record of it being replaced given the location of the water pump in close proximity to the timing belt. Since this engine is considered an “interference” engine these recommendations were made out of safety- In the event the timing belt broke or deteriorated due to engine coolant the engine would no longer be in correct timing and could result in a wrecked motor due to intake/exhaust valve(s) colliding with the piston dome(s) resulting in extraordinary/costly repairs. We apologize for any miscommunication there may have been from the recent visit, our company does not condone or tolerate any unethical selling practices.

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3-*-14 I brought my vehicle to Lamb's Tire and Automotive to seek work performed on my transmission in the form of a Fluid change. I asked **** the sales rep about doing a transmission flush and if that would cause damage to my transmission. He asked if I had done regular scheduled changes to which I replied that the last time was at 150k miles I had a complete fluid change and filter. **** stated to me that it should be fine to simply do a flush. I asked once again, so you don't think that pulling the pan and checking or changing the filter is required to which he replied NO. Trusting that they are the professionals I went with his recommendation. I originally purchased this vehicle new, I have taken extremely good care of this vehicle and maintained it throughout its life. I would have driven this vehicle anywhere in the United States. Due to unfortunate circumstances, a very good friend whose father was dying in **** needed to borrow the vehicle. After the fluid “flush” and along the way the transmission started slipping and having troubles but they made their destination. Upon arrival they sought out a couple of mechanics who stated to them that the transmission was now more than likely damaged internally. Upon contacting me I in turn called Lambs right away seeking assistance, we found a shop in **** to take it to and the manager **** at **** **** **** and Service that is part of the same network, later stated to me that he is not a transmission specialist and that there was certainly internal damage now. I also spoke with 6 different transmission specialist who stated that with the miles that were on the vehicle you NEVER "flush" the fluid. I stayed in contact with Lambs to try and come to some kind of solution as my friends were and at the time I write this are still stuck in ****. I had to find my own transmission shop in **** City who can take a look, determine the issues and the cause and repair the damage. It is one of the several shops that stated you NEVER flush a transmission with that many miles. So this morning when *** ****** contacted me, all he could express is that they were not at fault, they wouldn't help me out and refused to take any responsibility. I have to agree with the experts in this case that Lambs in their profession should have known the proper ways of servicing my transmission, they should have known that the new fluid with its high detergent could break loose any build up in the transmission and cause it to run through and destroy the bands and clutches in turn ruining the transmission and leaving my friends stranded in **** over a thousand miles away from home losing time from work and their family back in Texas. Lambs claims to have no responsibility and refuses to help me resolve this. Even the General manager of Lamb’s called and still would not assist me only stating that they did nothing wrong and couldn’t file a claim with their insurance as they did nothing wrong again not offering any help or solutions leaving me no other options then to file a dispute and pursue further actions.

Desired Settlement: I want Lamb's to pay for the cost of repairs to my vehicle and apologize for the way they have treated me. It is absolutely appalling how they have treated me! I am a business owner myself and have been a part of this community for years. To be treated this way is absolutely disgraceful.

Business Response: This customer brought the vehicle in requesting a transmission fluid exchange service. This vehicle is a 2002 (12 year old vehicle) model with 228000 miles on it. Lambs Tire and Automotive, is not responsible for the transmission failure. the transmission simply failed due to the age and mileage of the vehicle. With this in mind, Lambs Tire and Automotive contacted the supplier of the chemicals used when the transmission fluid exchange was performed.
The name of the chemical company is *** *********. The *** representative agreed to refund up to $2000.00 towards this repair as a goodwill gesture to the customer. The customer has been contacted and indicated he was satisfied with this agreement. 

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my Father bring my car into Austin to resolve a mechanical issue with my car's transmission which was not shifting into gear well after coming to a stop after driving it on the highway. Lamb's decided to change the transmisssion fluid,and in doing so they put automatic transmission fluid (red in color) into my transmission,instead of the proper CVT fluid. The receipt they gave me claims they put CVT fluid in the car, but this was not the case,as the fluid was clearly red prior to and up to the transmission breaking. The transmission would have been covered under a factory warranty,if Lamb's had not put the wrong transmission fluid in it. I had not taken my car to any other shop or service center since taking it to Lamb's. They voided my warranty and refused to admit fault for it. A mechanic who happened to look at my car minutes after it broke down (he had helped me push it into a parking lot) told me that the transmission fluid smelled burned and it was red. He also noticed that the serpentine belt that Lamb's claimed to have changed was at least 1 1/2 to 2 years old,when Lamb's claimed to have changed it

Desired Settlement: they need to pay for my new transmission,refund the fees and labor costs for their work on my transmission,my serpentine belt and labor and all towing and labor costs incurred by me to fix my car. Their bad work also cost me 4 weeks of work and possibly cost me my job-for which my car was essential to get to work sites.

Business Response: The manager went out to the dealer and spoke with a service consultant and technician and they both confirmed that the correct fluid was put into the vehicle and if the wrong fluid was in put into the transmission the vehicle wouldn't have lasted as long as it did from the original repair.  Also, while they were out at the dealer they did confirm that the part number from the serpentine belt did match up to the original invoice repair.  After speaking to the customer on his findings the customer was not happy with the results and still insists that we take responsibility of something that we didn't do.  Purchase price of the fluid from the dealer was the same day of service and the miles at the time of service was 94,119, when the customer took it into the dealer it had 108,256. 

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have 3 main issues with this business- I paid for a repair that was not done correctly the first time, my car was damaged further while in their care, and the manager was unprofessional in dealing with my issues. I turned in my car to have the motor-mounts replaced after citing a bad vibration and shaking whether driving or idling. Unknown to me, the technicians installed after-factory parts, a part which I was told upon picking up my car the second time they'd had previous issues with. I would have appreciated being told they planned to use after-market parts instead of factory, being given the option, and also being told they'd already had a recent issue with the parts when dealing with another customer. Also, the technician, ***, claimed they were not aware of the vibration as having been an issue. This confused me since it is the entire reason I had taken the car in, because it was vibrating to the point the whole car shook idling or going above 40 MPH. They did order the new part and replace it free, so I feel that issue was resolved as far as the repair but am still not happy I was not told of the defect with this part before it was installed. I picked my car up the day before a holiday, and did not drive it again that day. When I got in it the next day I found 3 cracks in my dashboard that had not been there previously. One was large enough that the plastic was actually split. Before turning in my car, there was no cracking at all, minor or otherwise. Since I had to take the car back to discuss fixing the mounts again, I mentioned this to the technician, ***. We went out to look at the dash and they told me they would take a look at it while they repaired the mounts. When I returned to pick up my car the manager, ******l, was there. I had never met him before, but instead of introducing himself to me he immediately began by telling me I was wrong about the dash being an issue. I expected to be told he was manager at the very least, but the first thing he told me when I came in was 'the dash is obviously warped' and that his technicians had done nothing wrong. Throughout our conversation he had what I would call an unprofessional tone and I was made to feel as if I was simply trying to get free repairs. I was given multiple excuses for the dash, including the weather, cheap plastic, issues with ***** cars, and others. I was also told that if the A/C broke the day after a car is repaired, you cannot return to the shop and blame them for it happening. I did not appreciate ******l saying this as it insinuated I was out to get free repairs. All I know is that I turned in my car with no cracks and there are now cracks that are quite large and defined. If it was due to weather and warping, they would not have been that extensive in just the short time my car was there the first time- I turned it in and picked it up the same day. My issue with all of that is the way ******l spoke to me, in an unprofessional tone and without a willingness to listen to my concerns. I was also told that all cars vibrate and while they went ahead and replaced the part, I should expect some vibrations. Again, this is insinuating that I am trying to get something repaired that is not the fault of the store. Since the factory parts were installed, I have not heard any vibrating even when idling. ******l also stated at that time I went in to pick it up after the 2nd repair that they'd had a previous customer have the same issue with the after-factory parts and they were aware it was an issue. He said it had been reported to the company. Again, this should have been stated up front and I should have been told I wasn't getting factory parts. During the discussion I was also repeatedly told I had misunderstood what was said about the car, repairs, parts, etc. While I understand that a dash can weather and warp, I do not see how it could have happened to such a degree within a few hours. ******l did offer to let me purchase the part and he would not charge labor to fix the dash-this only happened after I made it clear I am unsatisfied with how I was being treated. However once again I was not allowed to voice my concerns, I was interrupted and told that any reputable dealer will tell me the same thing and that I can go to them but I would not get a good deal. His tone was inappropriate the entire time I spoke with him and I do not feel as if I was treated as a customer should be when a concern arises. I feel as if he had decided on a plan ahead of time and would not accommodate me regardless of what I said. I was also told that comparing the repair of the motor mounts and getting any compensation for knowingly being given a part that had an issue was 'apples to oranges' and that he would not do anything further for me. At that time I decided to leave but I would still like to pursue it further due to the way I was treated disrespectfully. Regardless of the outcome, I will not return to this location again simply because of the attitude shown by ******l which I considered to be rude. I also do not feel comfortable knowing that I will not be listened to when I express concerns.

Desired Settlement: I would like compensation for a portion of the price I paid for the motor mounts to adjust for being given a part that had a known issue in the first place which could have caused my car to have further issues or damages. Because I had to turn it in again, I also had to get to work late and arrange alternative transportation again. I would also like a written apology from the manager for his unprofessional decision to use the less reliable part and for not showing the degree of professionalism I would expect when dealing with someone in his position.

Business Response:

I called Mrs. ******* and talked about her situation, we both agreed for her to go to another store and we replaced the broken dash piece at no charge, as well as, apologized in behalf of the company.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2010 I took my car to the Lamb's Auto on *** **** **** because I had a blow out. When my car was returned to me, the battery was fried, the electrical system was crashed, the indoor lighting and electrical windows didn't work, etc. So, I replaced the battery at my cost. When I received my vehicle back after replacing the battery, the air-conditioner didn't work. I called and talked to management their on the phone and in person. I was treated terribly and the workers were so rude to me I was in tears. Finally, I contacted the BBB and Lamb's GM contacted me on the very last day of the complaint time frame. He was very, very kind to me and replaced the entire a/c system in my car. This August, my battery died. I called to make sure it was under Warranty with Lamb's and it was. So, I called the location that was nearest to me. They said it was under warranty but that it was already and I should just take it to the location who initially put the battery in. I phoned my dad because I've had trouble with this place before. They are terrible, terrible to women. My dad asked the man when he got to the *** location why he would tell me I needed to take it to the *** **** location because it was 3pm and the guy working said, well, your daughter seemed upset and you know how girls are...my dad said, no, actually, I don't...she was upset because you wouldn't indicate whether or not the battery was under warranty and whether or not you could replace it...They replace the battery. And, when they did, the a/c is no longer functioning...same thing as the last time, they replaced the battery. The back brake and tail light won't work and the inside lights are not working...I've called to speak to the general manager who was so nice to me before and I've been old he is no longer with the company and my a/c system is not under warranty. I have called to speak to another manager and made an appt to meet with him two Saturdays ago. When I arrived and asked for the manager, I was told he was not in that day.

Desired Settlement: I want the a/c system that was replaced less than 3 years ago to be replaced and function properly and I would like Lamb's to do business with women the same way the do men...I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO CALL MY DAD TO DEAL WITH AUTOMOTIVE REPAIRS BECAUSE A PLACE OF BUSINESS IS SO RUDE TO WOMEN... My dad saw it first hand and he was not happy.

Business Response: I've made contact with **** and she has my cell number to call me back, as she was on her way to work and stated she would call as soon as she arrives at work.  I'm confiendent in a resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Lamb's Tire & Automotive Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart