BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files this company operates a chain of more than 1,800 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Tire & Service Centers-Austin Region meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company's headquarters and company-owned locations throughout the country participate as BBB Accredited Businesses. This means they support the Bureau's service to the public and meet our membership standards.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Firestone Tire & Service Centers-Austin Region include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Firestone Tire & Service Centers-Austin Region
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 23, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1900 Business started locally: 01/01/1900 Business incorporated: 09/13/2001 in DE
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Derek Wessels, Assistant District Manager Mr. Will Helton, District Manager Mr. Charles Starnes, Assistant District Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Charles Starnes, Assistant District Manager
Principal: Mr. Derek Wessels, Assistant District Manager
Related Businesses
Firestone Tire & Service Centers-San Antonio Region Firestone Tire & Service Centers-Texas West Region Firestone Tire & Service Centers-Texas South Region
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Battery Supplies Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Shock Absorbers Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Inspection Stations

Alternate Business Names
Bridgestone Firestone North American Tire, LLC Bridgestone-Firestone Expert Tire
Additional Information

The BBB Suggests that when having your car serviced by any company to request a written estimate. The repair bill should list the charges for parts and labor separately. You have a right to inspect all replaced parts, and any auto repair facility must offer to return all replacement parts except those under warranty, trade-in or core parts.

Industry Tips
Car repair tips

Additional Locations

  • 100 E Old Settlers Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (512) 248-1469

  • 10515 N Mopac Expy Ste P

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 342-8270

  • 1111 Lake Air Dr

    Waco, TX 76710 (254) 776-8822

  • 1323 W Ben White Blvd

    Austin, TX 78704 (512) 444-4821

  • 13300 Fm 620 N

    Austin, TX 78717 (512) 257-1947

  • 13450 N Highway 183 Ste 223

    Austin, TX 78750 (512) 331-1177

  • 15101 IH 35 North

    Pflugerville, TX 78660 (512) 252-9200

  • 1595 S Highway 183

    Leander, TX 78641 (512) 259-2422

  • 19009 Limestone Commercial Dr

    Pflugerville, TX 78660 (512) 990-4878

  • 201 E Central Texas Expy

    Harker Heights, TX 76548 (254) 690-4745

  • 2204 SW H K Dodgen Loop

    Temple, TX 76504 (254) 773-4772

  • 2500 W Parmer Ln Ste 170

    Austin, TX 78727 (512) 388-6060

  • 301 S Colorado St

    Lockhart, TX 78644 (512) 398-4283

  • 302 W Adams Ave

    Temple, TX 76501 (254) 773-4538

  • 311 S Congress Ave

    Austin, TX 78704 (512) 443-1782

  • 3120 E Whitestone Blvd

    Cedar Park, TX 78613 (512) 260-0178

  • 3609 W William Cannon Dr

    Austin, TX 78749 (512) 899-0550

  • 606 Highway 79

    Hutto, TX 78634 (512) 846-1125

  • 6401 Airport Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 467-8017

  • 6412 S IH 35

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 442-9388

  • 7010 W Highway 71 Ste 190

    Austin, TX 78735 (512) 288-5414

  • 761 Tank Battalion Bldg 224

    Killeen, TX 76544 (254) 526-5502

  • 761 Tank Battalion Bldg 50009

    Fort Hood, TX 76544 (254) 532-9044

  • 761 Tank Battalion Bldg 87030

    Fort Hood, TX 76544 (254) 285-2118

  • 7806 Clock Tower Dr

    Austin, TX 78753 (512) 339-3582

  • 7806 Northcross Dr

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 458-8118

  • 9900 S IH 35 Ste R

    Austin, TX 78748 (512) 291-1618

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My steering wheel had stopped working and I called FireStone to ask when they would be able to have my car fixed since my friend from ****** was here and I needed my car fixed as soon as possible. The service manager had said he would have the car fixed that day (Sunday). I took my car in and they had called me telling me my car needed: 1) a new rack and pinion, 2) a power steering hose, and 3) a power steering pump. I have had my car fixed for the same reason back at home in Canada and they have never charged myself or my family the amount they said it was going to cost, nor did we need to get all three of these replaced. They had said this was going to cost me $1600 and that it would not be fixed until the following morning. I did not understand why it costs so much. I told them to follow through with fixing my car and that I would discuss it with them when I pick up my car. I was very upset on the phone and the service manager did not acknowledge that or try to work out other possible solutions. On Monday, they called me in the morning saying they had trouble replacing the rack and pinion and that they needed longer time to fix it. The service manager also said they needed to get a hold of another company(?) to find a power steering hose and that they would call me back if they could find someone that would deliver it to Firestone that day. They called me back saying now the price of my car was going to be over $1700 to fix because the place they got the power steering hose charged them extra than a different company. They said once they got it delivered they would have it ready by the end of the day (Monday). I called later on the monday to ask when they would have it done and they said they were still having a hard time putting in the rack and pinion and that they were "working on it all day" and that it would now be done the following morning. I was very upset and frustrated and told them I brought my car there on the Sunday because they said it would be fixed on the same day. I would not have brought my car if I knew it was going to take 3 days to fix especially since my friend was here from Canada and we had no car to use. They called me on the Tuesday saying my car was finished at noon. I went to pick it up and told them I was upset about the service and prices. They showed me the receipt and I was not aware of some of the things I was charged for, such as the alignment. They did not tell me this was going to cost extra. I was also upset about how they called me telling me the steering hose was going to cost extra, making my total over $1700. They ended up dropping the price to what it origally was prior to them adding this additional cost, as well as taking off the alignment price. I was still not satisfied, especially with the customer service. The service manager was arguing with me each time I talked to him on the phone because I was upset about everything--the cost, and how long it took to fix my car. For all I know he could have just delayed fixing my car since we were arguing each time I called. I had went to Autozone to see how much prices were there, which were half the price Firestone was charging me. I told the service manager that and he had said, "Well are you going to install it yourself?" Not professional at all. I don't know how they expected me to pay $1700 up front, and they would not compromise with me to pay in separate payments. It took 2 hours for them to process the payment because I had to get ahold of my mom in Canada and they had to get ahold of my mom's bank so she could use her credit card at Firestone. The total price ended up being $1539.87 with the discount. I had asked them what the manager's name was, which they told me, and I asked for his phone number. He wrote it on the receipt, and when I went to start my car, the car wouldn't start because the battery was dead. There was no problem with the battery before I brought it in. I went back into the store to tell the same employee I was talking to. He didn't say anything, came to my car, tried to start it, realized the battery was dead and walked to the shop without saying anything. Another employee had come out to jump start my car. I was even more upset at this point, knowing my battery was dead, and knowing there was some possibility that they could have replaced my battery with a worse one. The employee who jump started my car said the same thing happened earlier when they went to move my car from the garage to the parking lot as it was fixed. This means they did not acknowledge this issue either when they fixed my steering wheel and tried moving my car to the parking lot, even though they knew the battery was dead. For the next 2 days I had to have my car jump started everywhere I went. At this point, I also went to call the number of the manager the Firestone employee gave me, only to realize it was a fake number that was no longer in service. I had used the number on the receipt to call and complain, and they had told the district manager, which was the wrong one for the area. This district manager told me he would get a hold of the correct manager I was supposed to talk to, and this one never called me back. I called Firestone and they told me to bring my car back and I said I wanted a new battery. They ended up giving me a new battery for free for "customer satisfaction that resolved the complaint I had". This does not resolve the complaint. This is something that should have been fixed when my car was already there because it is not my fault they they did not disconnect the battery service when they were working on my car to fix the steering wheel. Through this whole experience, I felt taken advantage of since I'm a girl, young, and they most likely assumed I didn't know anything about cars so they tried to convince me that my car was going to be more expensive than it actually was worth to have fixed. I felt lied to. Their practices are very unethical, and I have higher expectations than what I got. My car also has canadian license plates, so they probably assumed I had no idea about how much mechanics priced in the US. And this is discrimination if this is because I am from Canada. I ended up getting a hold of the assistant district manager and had complained to him regarding all of this. He said if I found a place that would have gave me the price cheaper for everythign that I paid, then he would match that price. I ended up finding a place that would, and have tried calling him back and he will not return my calls. I have tried calling for a week now. This is not customer service and is not professional at all. I was lied to not only from the employees but from the assistant district manager as well. Also, on the receipt, one section charges me for "Remanufactured complete rack assembly" meanwhile another section for the same thing (rack and pinion) says "remove and replace steering gear". Removing and replacing the steering gear should be included in the complete rack assembly. This does not make sense and is fraud. I was charged for $625 for complete rack assembly as well as $340 for removing and replacing the steering gear. Complete rack assembly INCLUDES removing and replacing the stearing gear. The primary nature of my complaint not only includes the failure to honor a service agreement, but also: an unreasonable or excessive delay in completing service, a sales presentation that did not disclose complete pricing information, the company has unethical collection and sales practices, the services provided resulted in additional damage (dead battery), a sales presentation that mispresents the product, the company (district manager) failed to honor a verbal commitment to provide credit, the company failed to return my phone calls, and the inappropriate behaviour of customer service personnel.

Desired Settlement: I expect a refund and a call back and an appology. No one has appoligized to me about this situation. They have only tried to sugar coat the situation to make it seem like they did nothing wrong and that the issue is solved by replacing my battery. That does not solve the original problem. This only solves the part about my battery being dead that was not my fault but theirs. They know they did something wrong and do not want to admit it.

Business Response: I have already spoke with customer about this issue.She has also filed a complaint through our consumer affairs department. She was informed of the problems on her vehicle and she agreed to pay for them. Store discounted ticket to come out to original estimate. Unfortunately one part had to be ordered and customer was informed of this. I apologized for the incovienence and have addressed this with store. No refund or other actions will be taken.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The district manager told me he would match the price if I could find a company that would have done everything for cheaper than what firestone did. I have tried to contact him multiple times and be is not replying to my calls. How unprofessional--he tells me he will match the price on another company and now that I've found someone he chooses to take back what he said and not reply back to my calls. 
Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: I will be happy to match the price of the repair if you get an estimate from a simialr repair facility. i.e ***** ********, ***, or the dealership. Please send me the quote through the BBB website , i will review, and respond.
thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Thank you. However the assistant district manager did not specify where I had to go if firestone was going to reimburse me for finding a mechanic that would do everything for cheaper. I found this place. Same labor and parts all for 952.34. Big difference compared to your original price of over $1700. 
Regards,

******** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/22/2014 I walked into Firestone because i needed tires, an inspection and my A/C was blowing hot air.I was taken care of by Mr.** *******.He told me how much it would be for a diagnosis on the AC concern and without any hesitation i paid it.I was then told that i received a discount on the diagnosis,which is great,any discounts i can get as a consumer is always good.After the diagnosis i was informed that the problem was the port core Highside.Paid for it,the veh was blowing cold air so i drove off.3 weeks later on 6/27/2014 the veh was back because it was blowing hot air again for several days now.i took it back and after diagnosis i was told that there was a leak which they didnt catch the first time after running diagnosis,on the exact hose which they replaced the port core on.In 2013 i had this concern diagnosed through ***** south and they reported the leak.At the time i couldnt afford to fix it,so i went a whole year with no AC.So i questioned Mr.******* as to how this year and a half leak was not found the first time? He then replied by saying "first off we gave you a discount on the diagnosis","We ran free-on through your car first and when that didnt give us any results we put dye in it and from there we saw where the leak was" i responded with sayng "was this not done the first time?" he said "yes it was" so i asked "whats the process you go through and how did you know i needed the first repair?" he then said "the first time your veh came in,we ran free on through it and immediately we saw that the port core was busting fluids,so we replaced it and it was blowing cold air"so i then asked him "when was the dye thrown in?" and his initial response was "we didnt need to because we located the problem with the free on" so i then asked "why didnt you run any dye for leaks?" and Mr.******* then changed his response and said "we did put dye in,at the end of the repair and thats how we found it this time.the dye was spitting out",so i asked Mr.******* why he would put dye in at the end and give my car back without further investigation and his response was"we did put dye in and checked it but how much time do you think we have to check it""this time we had more time so we found it ,whats the difference of us finding it then or now it would have still been 200 dollars more" thats a horrible thing to tell a customer and the difference is my TIME.I had to take another day off of work and more time without AC in Texas to get this done,when it should have been detected the first time.I didnt believe what Mr.******* was telling me and he kept making t he point that i was given a discount for the ac diagnosis,which to my understanding i received a discount because it comes with less service i guess.from their i asked Mr.******* to run me through the process again as to what they did on the initial visit because there were lots of inconsistencies and he said he didnt have to explain it to me anymore and he was done with the conversation because he has dealt with people like me who "just want something for free".I dont want anything for free,at no point did i ask for discounts or bargain for prices.At that point i asked for a district manager or a general manager and Mr.******* gave me the wrong name with the right directory.he claimed the number he gave me was his boss but when i called it wasnt the name he gave me.he then called the cops and we explained the situation to the officer and he didnt like what was going on but said he couldnt do anything,but we have to get off the property.I believe i was not given the right services for the diagnosis because i was given a discount, therefore they didnt find the leak because they didnt test for it.which has resulted in more time without AC time off work.

Desired Settlement: I would like my veh fully repaired.

Business Response: Mr ******* can take his vehicle to any Firestone Complete Auto Care to have his AC reinspected at no charge. I suggest Mr ******* go to our location at Brodie and William Cannon Dr for a reinspection. At which time we will determine whether the repairs are covered under warranty of not. If Mr ******* does not want to do this we will gladly refund him the repair cost for the AC and he may take his vehcile to the repair facility of his choice

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle broke down in front of Firestone. I have not used them for repairs, only for tires and oil changes, but have done so for years. I asked for a diagnostic to be run on my vehicle to see if there were any obvious issues. I received a phone call saying that it would cost another $320 on top of the $85 diagnostic, for the tech to take apart my engine and "see if anything was damaged." I told the the person on the phone not to proceed - that that was too much money for just poking around and not actually fixing anything. I called a family member to help me pick it up and take a look since they own a dealership and know cars. I went to pick up my car and was informed it would need to be "put back together and rolled out of the shop" which I thought was odd but paid my bill and was told to come back later. Upon picking up my vehicle and towing it to my family member's dealership, I am appalled to find that belts and pulleys from my vehicle are hidden in my backseat floorboard. I immediately called Firestone, had a run around of people, then finally spoke to the technician who worked on my vehicle. He was extremely rude and tried to tell me that since my vehicle wasn't running when I brought it in, that they didn't have to put it back together. He also told me he would not put it back together and refund my money. That makes absolutely no sense and there is a sign in the lobby of the store saying if the service is not done correctly, it is free.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $85.19 refunded. I am now going to have to pay even more for someone else to put back together what **** at Firestone took apart. I do not trust Firestone to complete the work on my vehicle but would like a refund and reparations, if possible, for the now needed extra work.

Business Response: I spoke with customer on phone and agreed to refund the diagnostic charge of $85.19. Check was issued and should have been received by now. If not please contact me at ************ and i will try to track it .
thank you ******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a Chrysler 300 that was originally left for a tire repair/replacement and after the "courtesy" inspection, the technician involved noticed a few oil leaks. The technician was unable to determine the exact area of the leak without my authorization for them to do a leak diagnostic. I advised the ******* ******* that the vehicle was still under warranty and that I will take it over to the dealership, which at that moment the ******* ******* offered to call the warranty company and take care of everything since the car was already in their shop. The lack of communication is a huge issue with this company. The only way I was able to know the status of the repairs being made, was if I called and checked on the vehicle myself. The ******* ******* couldn't give me an exact date of when my vehicle would be completed and blamed the warranty company for the delay of completion. Firestone and their technicians had my vehicle for about one week, which cased a huge inconvenience in my work schedule. I've never had a reason to inspect the quality of the work I pay for nor inspect the vehicle for any damages. A few days after I picked up my vehicle from their shop, I took the car over to get washed and noticed it had a dent on the passenger side front pillar. My wife immediately contacted the ******* ******* about the situation and she asked us to go over so the shop ******* can see the damage. Due to the inclement weather, we were unable to meet with the ******* and any opportunity we had, the ******* wasn't available. The ******* was well aware of the situation and we felt we were the ones having to contact him for scheduling a meeting, causing more inconvenience. Once we were able to go out and see him, rather than showing any sign of empathy for the matter at hand, he immediately stated his technicians would never do any damage to any vehicles and attempted to explain to us that "maybe" it was caused by an object hitting the vehicle while we were driving it, which if that were the case, I asked him why does it look like the damaged area had been touched up with cheap black paint, not the correct type because the vehicle has a metallic black paint job? He and the other two technicians he invited out to see the damaged area couldn't explain the reason. In his defense, he began to tell me the damaged area wasn't even the area being worked on, which is completely irrelevant to the issue. We told him since the issue was unable to get resolved at a store ******* level that we immediately get contacted by his superior. A few day had gone by and finally received a phone call however, not from his *******, but from his *******s ************** *********. The level of unprofessionalism, I thought stopped at the shop, didn't. She left a message stating the claim had been denied. A MESSAGE! Wow!!! I'm not sure how or why they would deny a claim without speaking to either one of us directly or seeing any evidence of the damage. I needed a some work done on my Chevy Tahoe and decided to take it over to a different location because I found out the previous ******* from the Southpark Meadows location was running the shop and he was always helpful and professional. They were able to take care of everything and kept me informed without issues throughout the process. While my other vehicle was being serviced, I noticed oil spots on my driveway. I explained to the ******* that Southpark had one responsibility and that was to fix the oil leaks. He asked me to bring in the vehicle so he can have one of his technicians look at it and what they found was a leak coming from the timing cover. I feel the lack of automotive knowledge had a part in them not fully diagnosing the leaks. That was the last draw for us. While still in the parking lot, we immediately called Firestone customer relations to file a complaint and were told we would be receiving a call within 24 at the most 48 business hours...its going on a month and no return call. I have taken 3 vehicles, given them thousands of dollars, recommended friends and family for automotive services and I can also understand why they wouldn't want to have a loss or claim in their hands, however, rather than losing a few hundred bucks, losing a loyal customer and account holder must be more important to their share holders. I'm sure ****** ** Firestone Sr. and Jr. wouldn't tolerate this level of disrespect if they were alive. I feel unappreciated and undervalued as a customer.

Desired Settlement: Repair damaged area to the Chrysler 300 as well as fix the oil leak which was missed and a sincere apology.

Business Response: We have done our own investigation into this incident and concluded that this damage was not done by our location. None of our teammates have this "touch up" paint in their tool box and there is none on the property. Also, customer did not bring this to our attention until approximately two weeks after vehicle was picked up. Firestone holds no responsibilty for this damage .

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Firestone in 1/25/2014 to change my tires, and asked them to do wheel alignment after putting on the new tires. After installing new tires, the ***** ******* came to me, and he mentioned that in order to complete the alignment they must remove and replace tie rod end. I asked them the price estimate for replacing the tie rod end, and ***** ******* himself gave me an estimate of $294.85. The tie rod end estimate was so much to me, and I told them that I am not going to do the alignment at this time because I did not have enough money. At the same day and after leaving this store, I went to ***** **** * **********, and they did the alignment for me without mentioning anything about the tie rod end expense. I went back to Firestone and told them that ***** did my alignment without charging me $294.85 for replacing the tie rod end as a requirement for completing the alignment. The ***** ******* even did not apologize for improper service and suggestion. I left the store and told him that I will file a complaint against his store. It is not the first time that this store forcing its customers to purchase unnecessary items to boost it sales. Also, I do not have that kind of money to wast all the time on my car repairs because of this store failure to diagnose the real problem at the first time. The least that they could do was an apology which they did not.

Desired Settlement: I want a check for the amount of their unnecessary suggestion and ***** ******* apology.

Business Response:

I am sorry to hear of your experience. Please tell me whick store this happened at.
i will inform you that you did not purchase the tie rod end and therefore no money is due to you or will be refunded to you.  We take these accusations very seriously and this incident will be thoroughly investigated and proper action (if needed) will be taken to ensure it does not happen again.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 23, 2013, I took my 2001 Saturn SL to ********* Complete Auto Care at ***** ********* ********** *** ************* ** ******, to have the right front tire repaired. There was a tack on the inside tread. The repair was covered under *********'s Road Hazard Warranty, so there was no charge. The ******* ******* was ****, and he said that the repair was complete. The Technician who had conducted the repair was ***** ******. I drove the car about a month, and on October 27, 2013, while conducting an oil change and replacing a part on the car, I noticed that the tack was still in the tire. It was in the same location (inside tread), and the orientation from the valve stem was about the same as I had recalled in September. In other words, it appeared that the Technician (***** ******) had not even dismounted the tire from the rim to check if the tack had penetrated the inner liner of the tire. It didn’t appear that any other repairs (e.g. patches) were made. I brought the wheel to the same ********* on October 27, 2013, to have them repair it properly. This time, they dismounted the tire from the rim, and it was obvious that no repairs or patches were made on the inner liner of the tire. The ******* ******* (I didn't catch his name) proceeded to pry out the tack himself. When I asked if it was common practice to leave a tack in a tire if the tire was holding air, he responded that a technician will usually remove the tack. I waited for a repair on September 23 that I assumed would be to my satisfaction, but it appears that the technician did nothing. I believe I was entitled to know, at the very least, that the tack was still in the tire since I drove around with this potential safety hazard for a month. The technician obviously knew the tack was still in the tire, and he knowingly turned the vehicle back over to me with this potential hazard. I was charged nothing for this, so I do not expect monetary compensation, but I would like an email explaining why I was told that a repair was completed when no such repair existed.

Desired Settlement: Email explaining why I was told that a repair was completed when no such repair existed.

Business Response: We are in the process of investigating the accusations the ** ******* has made. Someone will be in contact with him this week with more details/explanation.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This has not satisfied my request.  I am awaiting a response explaining my tire was not serviced properly.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: It has been over 30 days since the original tire had been brought in for repair. Also this tire was brought in loose so we do not know if this was the original tire that was repaired.  We would never leave a nail, tack, or anything else in a tire that may cause future damage. The tack was removed from his tire and it was not leaking.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

There was a tack left in my right front tire.  You may debate it as much as you like, but I know the truth.  I would not be taking precious time out of my day to address this matter if I didn't feel strongly that I was wronged by your business and feel a personal duty to alert the public.  The technician did sloppy, immoral repairs to my tire (i.e. no repairs completed when repairs were due), and I can assure you I will not be bringing any more business your way.  I now know I need to watch over your technicians closely to ensure that the quality of work is up to par.  This should be the job of the supervisor, not the customer.  I would have done the work myself if I had the tools, but tire work is about the only task I leave to the "professional", or in this case amateur.

"We would never leave a nail, tack, or anything else in a tire that may cause future damage." -- False, it happened.

"The tack was removed from his tire and it was not leaking." -- True, but on the second attempt.

"we do not know if this was the original tire that was repaired." -- I would not be writing this response if it were a different tire.

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a tire for my Honda civic at this location. The next day, the tire was flat. I took my car back and after looking at it, they said the tire was ok. I then continued to use the tire however my car would always show the tire pressure alarm and after filling up that same tire, it would go away. Since the replacement, that tire has had pressure issues.

Desired Settlement: Either replace my tire or refund my money. I have paid the price they asked for the tire and service but have received a defective product.

Business Response: Customer has returned to store and tire was replaced at no charge.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 99 Honda civic in for a clicking sound which I thought was my cv axle. I was told that my lug nuts were loose and that was the sound I heard and I could buy my own or have them order them. I bought lug nuts and had them put them on so I could bring my vehicle home. Upon leaving the shop I noticed my clutch would engage immediately after I lifted my foot, which was not the case when I brought my car in. I had to go to work so I didn't bring the car back to talk about the problem until later that night which I was told they could give me the tool to adjust my clutch rod to move the engagement to where I was comfortable and I declined deciding I would do it at home. The next morning I started my car and it would not go in gear at all and decided to adjust it thinking the clutch rod may have come loose which I was told by Firestone could be the problem, after adjusting it there was no change. I called Firestone and they told me they did nothing but inspect it and test drive it and I could have the car towed to them for another inspection and if it wasn't something they did I would be responsible for the tow;

Desired Settlement: I think if my car was fine before then the issue started during their inspection or test drive and cannot afford the repair that was quoted by *** ************ ** ******* at approx. $850.00. I would like them to fix the car.

Business Response:

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1