Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Austin Vol-Tech Services Inc

Phone: (512) 251-4107 Fax: (512) 251-4193 1916 Bench Mark Dr, Austin, TX 78728 http://www.vol-tech.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Vol-Tech Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Vol-Tech Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Vol-Tech Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2004 Business started: 08/01/1987 in TX Business started locally: 08/01/1987 Business incorporated 10/22/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Chrudimsky, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Chrudimsky, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Salvage Yards Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting

Industry Tips
Car Repair Tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 1916 Bench Mark Dr

    Austin, TX 78728 (512) 251-4107

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my car in for my alternator. As soon as I call to check on it “*****” starts telling me about whole other host of problems that I didn’t ask him for, rattling off prices. One of things he mentioned were my “headlamps were blown.” I found this surprising because they were ON before I bought it to him but if my car really was over charging I figured it made sense. Fast forward to 11/2/2015 when I finally go to get them repaired one of the lights were just out! Not blown but physically unscrewed and out. One of my clamps to hold it is was missing, there was black electrical tape holding something together and it was off its alignment (I forgot the exact word but basically they are on a horizontal beam and now that’s crooked.) Here is why all of this suspicions. 1. The light were on before I took them there and my high beams still work if the car was overcharging even when the lights were off it should’ve blown them both.… 2. it’s courteous to tell someone about other problems but he started listing off prices for several repairs as if I was just going to give him my business that’s a shady process. When I refused he tried to I guess use a scare tactic to tell me I won’t pass inspection. All shady practices 3. He hung up on me. When I expressed my complaint and how it is IMPOSSIBLE that my alternator unscrewed by bulb, put black electrical tape down there and took it off its alignment he got real quiet. Then when I said that it was fine BEFORE I bought it in that’s when he hung up. Extremely suspicious. 4. ON RECORDING the other mechanic who I took it states that if the headlights were blown his team would’ve made note of it. He said to do a diagnostic test he wouldn’t have to touch the lights (I looked this up this was true) so if that’s the case what the hell was ***** and his crew doing looking at my lights to notice they were off. If all he had to do was look at the circuits from the circuit board diagnostic tool (again not sure of the proper title.)

Desired Settlement: A FREE REPAIR OF MY LIGHTS WHICH AGAIN WERE FINE BEFORE I BOUGHT THEM IN!

Business Response:

I will attempt to address all of Mrs ************ Concerns in The Order Of Her Complaints  #1 How Did She Know Her Headlights Were On When She Brought The Car In In Broad Daylight???  #2 Our Company Policy Is To Tell You Everything That Is Wrong With Your Car So You Can Make An Educated Decision About How Much You Want To Spend On Your Car (Lets Say Your Car Needs $2500.00 Worth Of Work ,We Don't Think It is Fair To Sell You A $200.00 Brake Job,Take Your Money, Then Tell You About All The Other Things The Car Needs,You May Want To Get A More Reliable Car)  # 3 I Did Not Try To Use Scare Tactics ,I Merely Stated That With No Headlights & The Other Warning Lights On In Dash The Car Would Not Pass State Inspection  (The Cars Inspection Sticker Was Expired)  Also The Car Had No Registration Sticker Either (The Car Had a (3) Month Expired Dealer Paper Tag)  #4 She States That The Shop She Took It To Before Bringing It To Us Said They Would Have Noticed The Headlights Were Blown & Not Broken (How Do I Know What Their Level Of Scrutiny Or Competency Is,Why Did Mrs Hutchinson Not Let Them Repair Her Car,Why Did She Bring It To Us??)  #5  Your High Beam Headlights Would Not Be Affected By The Overcharging Rate Of The Failing Alternator (19.8 Volts) Because Only The Low Beam Headlights Are Activated When Driving Normally, There Would Be No Voltage To The High Beam Filament  In The Headlight Bulb. #6 I Did Not Hang Up On Her,She Hung Up On Me When I Tried To Reason With Her.  #7 Why Did Mrs Hutchinson Wait (2) Months To Contact Us About Her Concerns???   Does The Car Have Current Registration & Inspection Sticker Yet???  We Did No Repairs To Her Car,She Was Only Charged The Minimum .5 Hour Diagnostic Fee .    

Thanks, ***** *********,Service Manager  Austin Vol-Tech     *************

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My lights stay on during the day that is how I know my lights were on. I left my cat over night there for 3 days so it made sense that they blow but again THEY WERE ON WHEN I DROVE THERE!  I was on a land line phone and in the middle of MY sentence why would I hang up? No the lying ***** hung up on me. I didn't get my car repaired at the other shop because they couldn't diagnose the problem, that felt terrible about it didn't charge me anything and RECCOMENDED vol tech. The business is called Texas alternators they probably can do lights but it's not a service they advertise.  They had absolutely nothing to gain from tampering with my lights but who did? ***** There is electrical down there I didn't put it there who did? Who unscrewed the bulb? The alternator.  I waited 2 months which is my own **** business but waited because it wasn't daylight savings and I didn't drive in the dark.  A business only failed me on my seat belts and while saving to get that fixed my alternator blew thus the chain of events.

Regards,

******** **********