Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Latemodel Restoration Supply, Inc

Phone: (254) 296-6500 -----, Hewitt, TX 76643 http://www.latemodelrestoration.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers restoration parts for Ford Mustangs (year models 1979) through current.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Latemodel Restoration Supply, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Latemodel Restoration Supply, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Latemodel Restoration Supply, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 2003 Business started: 10/07/1999 in TX Business started locally: 10/07/1999 Business incorporated 10/07/1999 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shannon Guderian, President Ms. Mike Linley, Manager Mr. Scott Springer, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shannon Guderian, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Mike Linley, Manager
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 4 parts for my car. On their shipping manifest they were listed separately, checked off twice and with 2 separate initials. However, when the parts arrive, 1 part was missing. A Steeda Clutch Quadrant. It was the end of the day and the business was already closed. I immediately emailed the customer sales manager and stated that I had not received all the parts I ordered and I would call in the morning for resolution. When I called I was told no manager was available. The representive then asked me several times are you sure it's not in the box? Like I was a little kid. I was an aircraft mechanic in the Air Force, I think I can check for parts. He then said he could not ship it over night. So, now I have to wait another week to fix my car because they didn't do their jobs? Then I received an email from another customer service rep. I responded to him that I want to talk to a manager. As of yet, I have not received any emails or phone calls. There is no other managers listed on their website except the customer service manager and he doesn't respond to emails. I basically feel that this business stole from me. I should not have had to wait another week for my part because they can't do the RIGHT thing!

Desired Settlement: That a manager (someone whom has a vested interest in the company) be listed on their website for contact and that they actually contact customers and make things RIGHT! But, I'm pretty sure that won't happen...

Business Response: Customer email me after normal ours about a missing part. He did indeed state he was going to call the next morning to get the issue resolved. Upon arrival the next day he had notes on his account where *** ******* (Customer Care Rep.) spoke with him and immediately no charged out the part. Problem resolve? We got a bad testimonial about the issue and it was sent over to *** *** our Customer Care Team leader. He sent ******* the following email. 

Hello *******, I tried to call, but didn’t get an answer and couldn’t leave a voicemail. I’d like to talk to you about the bad experience you had and try to make things right. Give me a call at ###-###-#### or if you’d prefer to email me just reply back here. ********** Thanks,
-------------------------------------------------------------
*** *** 
Sales & Customer Care Representative

He received this email in return. 

From: ******* ******Sent: Friday, June 20, 2014 7:18 PMTo: *** ***Subject: Re: Testimonial Unless you're going to refund the price of the quadrant, then there is nothing to talk about. I shouldn't have had to wait another 3 days for the product that had been checked off twice and initialed twice on YOUR shipping list plus the fact of the shipping restrictions. Ridiculous!! And, I only talk to management. If someone from management, not a supervisor (someone whom has a vested [money] interest in this company), then I don't want to hear or receive any emails from this company again!

Sent from my iPhone

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:That was not a response! It was a timeline of events which perspired between myself and the business. Do you really accept this?? Again, the individual whom responded to the complaint is a REPRESENTATIVE. Are there any managers or owners that actually care about their business? Well, apparently not! If, in fact, you and your agency accept this as a "response", then I will notify my congressman, Mr. **** ********, with hopes that he will notify your agency of the lack of professionalism and inefficiency. 

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: As a company we have not stolen from this customer. The item ST-7553A is a 3 piece kit the customer order for $109.99. He did not order the quadrant individually. It was missing from the order and we reshipped him the item immediately. *** ******* made a note on the customers account and no charged the item out without hassle to the customer. We went off the customers word it was missing even-though our inventory was correct. Why this part now needs to be free makes no sense. *** did offer the customer a discount off the next order. When the testimonial came in it was sent to a supervisor who (in my absence) contacted the customer. He was not happy with this since it was not a manager. Also, I have called the # on his account several times and it states "the voice mail box has not been set up". ###-###-####. So those claims are false as well.  If he feels he needs to contact his congressman over a $40.00 part that arrived 3 days late, please feel free. As for our companies stand point on this matter, case closed. This customer can feel free to shop elsewhere.   

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order placed on 5/6 for car parts from Late Model Restoration in the amount of $2,269.87. Received a call the next day to confirm the shipping address as it was different from the billing address. Called back and verified shipping address. Package was however shipped to the billing address, not the shipping address even after I verified it. Emailed to inform of the error and had the package returned to sender unopened. Was informed the amount would be refunded upon receipt. Package was received by them on 5/23 (UPS# ******************) but only a partial refund of $582.95 was given on 6/4. Request that the remaining $1686.92 be returned to my bank account ASAP

Desired Settlement: Request that the remaining $1686.92 be returned to my bank account ASAP.

Business Response: Customer spoke to two of our Customer Care Reps about shipping to an address other than the billing for the credit card. For security and fraud purpose we only ship to a verifiable address. From the notes on the account the customer was OK with us shipping to the billing which we did. When it got there the order was refused. Some of the parts were shipped directly from the manufacturer. We refunded what was returned to us and were waiting on confirmation from the our vendors since the parts went back to them. As of today the customer has been refunded for the rest of his parts. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  It has been more than enough time for a refund to be processed.  The product was sent back more than a month ago and no additional "parts from manufacturers" arrived at the billing address.  If manufacturers haven't shipped the parts yet, it does not take a month and a half (original order on 5/4) to cancel and refund.

Additionally, I did not explicitly state for the order to be sent to the billing address.  I called and gave them the shipping address (which they looked up over the phone) and the next statement was "the order will be shipped out tomorrow" followed by call termination.  This I assumed would be sent to the shipping address (I thought this was the point of the verification process, and if otherwise, I should be explicitly told so and asked if I would like to proceed in this manner.)

Regards,

**** ********

3/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a hood for our Mustang. UPS failed to deliver the merchandise when promised. Then we were told we had to "pick up the merchandise ourselves" from the UPS ******* ** facility. We then contacted *** *** at Late Model Restoration on two occasions. We were first told that they would contact UPS to ship our item. We were then told that we would receive a refund as UPS would not ship the hood. After waiting 10 days for a refund, we again contacted UPS who told us the merchandise was not returned but they could not locate it and we would have to make a claim for this item. I am currently out $594.99 and no one from Late Model Restorations will refund my money or ship me the hood.

Desired Settlement: We either want the merchandise ordered to be delivered promptly, or a refund given to the purchase amount.

Business Response: I conversed with *** *** the Customer Care Rep. working with this customer. There was some confusion as to what took place on this order. It is true that UPS dropped the ball and did not deliver as promised. *** contacted UPS Freight on several occasions to get the issue resolved for the customer. Below are his notes made on the customer's account. 

Package has been sitting for a while. Called ups and they will have someone call customer to set up new drop off time. LC 1/15/14

Customer never received call and he just wants and get a refund. Called UPS to get it deadheaded back to us. Told him I'll refund when I see it headed back our way. LC 1/17/14

Been trying to contact *** or ****e at the hub and can't get an answer. Lady said she would have *** call back. LC 2/7/14

Customer said they tried to deliver package today and it was damaged. He refused it and just wants his money back. Filed claim with UPS and processing refund. LC 2/10/14

We did refund the customer and I have attached the credit memo. 

2/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/17/2013 I spoke with ***** ***** in regard to returning my Brembo breaks that I had ordered from there company. I supplied ***** with a tracking number and added padding to the package that was originally sent to me. Outside of the actually Break equipment, I sent Late Model Restoration the parts in the same condition I received them in. On 10/10/2013, LMR employee ****** ******** stated that the product was damaged and that UPS was notified. Here is the problem, I took pictures of the product before I shipped them, and they arrived in the same condition that it was sent to me. Also, I returned the package in the same one used by Late Model Restoration, but included more packaging material then they had originally. Late Model Restoration has not honored there refund policy, and the UPS store that shipped my package comment on what a good job of packing I did. LMR has lied in regard to the condition of the product they shipped, and has caused me inexcusable problems. Because I made a video of me packaging off the breaks in the same condition that they were received, that would mean that LMR had originally shipped me damaged break. I understood the scratches when I originally inquired after receipt as being normal and not being seen once they would be installed on my car. I've been lied to by different employees, and this hurts the reputation of an organization when I'm going to share my experience with the many car clubs and car forums that would have ordered from LMR.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: The customer submitted the RMA request through our online submission. I have attached the submission form. At no time did the customer mention the parts arrived in less than new condition. We sent him the RMA and accepted the return based on the information the customer sent in. The RMA request was return by ***** ***** via email as per our policy states. ****** ******** (Customer Care Rep.) contacted the customer to let them know the part arrived damaged. From the note ****** left, the customer had insured the return package and was filling a claim with the shipper. We emailed him pictures of the damage to aid the customer with the process. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: That is not what the emailed messages that I have saved state. At this time, you are going against what you said you would do in your emails and are straight out lying.

Regards,

***** ********* 

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an Aluminum Heater Core for a 98 Mustang in January of 2012. The order number was #*******. After only one winter of use the product catastrophically failed, the coolant inlet tube separated completely from the core itself, and needed to be replaced again. After this event I did a little research on the part and it turned out that it was not the correct part at all in the first place as it was a copper/brass core available at most local parts stores, not the product that was advertised on the website. I do remember opening the old one when i first got it, i open and check every order I receive, and did think it was strange it had a copper color because it was supposed to be aluminum but had it installed anyways thinking maybe the fins were aluminum or it had a coating on it and i had an appointment for it at the shop the same day i received it. I ordered the exact same product (same product code) from the website to replace the broken one, order # *******, and the one i received was the correct one and completely different from the first one i ordered which failed. I tried to communicate with the customer service department of the company and they are not being helpful. All they say is that the warranty on the product does not cover labor, however, since the product received was NOT the correct part which would even carry the warranty it should be a different story. This appears to me to be a miss-packaged, miss-labeled, miss-advertised, or possibly even a scammed return product that was not properly inspected. These claims can be backed by written or verbal testimony from the mechanic who installed the product both times if needed. Also pictures can be provided if necessary.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the cost of the broken/wrong product, which I can return to them, and also the cost of at least one of the labor charges for the installation of the heater core payed back to me as their error led to premature replacement and additional damages/costs.

Business Response: Customer **** ******* made contact with us about a warranty on a heater core Part # ********** on 09/18/2013. He purchased his part on 1/10/2012. He made contact via live chat inquiring about a warranty on the part he purchased in 2012. The customer was told during the live chat session there was only a one year warranty on the particular part. The customer stated he was told by a previous Customer Care Rep. there was a Limited Lifetime warranty. There was some confusion during the chat due to a change in vendor and warranty. To take care of him we told him we would cover the part following the new warranty guide lines. He needed to simply purchase the new one and return the other for a refund once he swapped them out. Customer was happy and order the new part. On February 2013 we changed vendors for this part as well as the style of  part. The part was change from copper in build to aluminum. We did not change the part # since the part fits the same car range and build but did update all of our information to reflect the new part on our website. All of this has been explained to the customer. Customer claims the picture at the time was the same as we have now. Although, we no longer have the picture of the previous part, I do have record of the product vendor, web description and product picture change listed under the same part #.  Also, the customer said he stated if the part was correct but installed it anyway. If the part was not correct there would have been fitment issues. 

Customer was also made aware only the part is covered by the warranty. The new product also came with a warranty that states: 

This warranty applies only to those products which have been installed in accordance with the accepted industry standards by a recognized service dealer and certified technician. Subsequent repair or replacement claims must receive advance approval from genera prior to commencement of work. Cost of removal, installation, and incidental or consequential damage are expressly excluded. all parts submitted for warranty must accompany the original receipt and be returned freight prepaid. The customer assumes all risks and cost of defective product when en route to participating facility.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was informed about the change of vendors and I understand that. As for the claim that the product was changed from copper to aluminum I believe is false. The only product that was changed from copper to aluminum was the OEM version of the heater core. Had the heater core that I ordered been copper the price would have been much more than it had been and would have changed IF the part was changed from copper to aluminum as copper is much more expensive than aluminum. Also if a product changed that much i'm sure the product ID on the site would also change to reflect this regardless if it fits the application or not. As for the fitment issues, this would be true had the part not been also for my application. The part i orginally received fits my make and model, however the part is a common part available at most local parts stores, not the one advertised on your website. For it to only last one winter of use and fail this catastrophically, it leads me to believe that it was a broken/scam return that was not properly inspected by either the vendor or the retailer.

I would like to be provided with a specific part/model number and/or picture of the heater core from the original vendor to compare to the numbers on the part that i received.


Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: At the time **** purchased the heater core we carried a ***** *** (Ready Aire) heater core manufacturer part # ******. It was not aluminum nor was the factory part. As I told him in previous communication we changed the picture on our website at the same time we changed the part which was in February of 2013. But id he uses the part number supplied he can easily search this part and see it is of brass construction and made for his car. He can also go to their website and read the warranty supplied with the part. Here is a link to the warranty. 

http://www.vistaproauto.com/uploads/VP%20Ready-Aire%20Heater%20Core%20Warranty%20Policy%209-11.pdf

We extended the warranty based off communication error due to our new heater core has a Limited lifetime warranty. The warranty is for part only. When the customer called he asked if our heater cores had a warranty. He was told yes and about the warranty on the new heater cores. The customer did not divulge at that time when he made his purchase or that he was having an issue.