Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capitol Motorsports Inc

Phone: (512) 821-9955 Fax: (512) 428-6528 3411 Ranch Road 620 N Ste C, Austin, TX 78734

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capitol Motorsports Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Capitol Motorsports Inc include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Capitol Motorsports Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 2006 Business started: 12/01/2005 in TX Business started locally: 12/01/2005 Business incorporated 12/23/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Texas Parks & Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Rd, Austin TX 78744
Phone Number: (800) 792-1112

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael W. Martin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael W. Martin, President
Related Businesses
Shreve Automotive eMotion Motor Sports Inc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Motorcycles - Dealers Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Marine Sales & Service

Industry Tips
Buying A Used Car Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Capitol Motorsports Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3411 Ranch Road 620 N Ste C

    Austin, TX 78734 (512) 821-9955


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monday 14 December 2015, I met with the Capitol Motorsports salesman ******* and his boss **** for a 2013 BMW ******** Motorcycle. I noted coolant dripping from engine after it was run. I was told that their techs perform an in depth analysis and assure all systems function properly. I purchased the motorcycle. I hauled it home 2 hours South, When I drove it the service engine light and engine fault warnings started flashing. I took the bike to Alamo BMW in Boerne TX to find the radiator tank was split and the coolant was gone. The coolant tank was full because the crack bypassed it. The radiator is $696.00 and the Labor is $160.00. I called ******* on18 Dec 2015 after learning of the issue. ******* replied he would make this right and that they were not out to burn anyone but he had to speak with ****. I never received a call back. I feel it prudent to document the issue for record.

Desired Settlement: I request Capitol Motorsports pay for the repairs as they openly admit, they are not BMW motorcycle mechanics. I ask that they contact Alamo BMW directly @ ***** ******** to speak with ***** in Parts/service to make arrangements for payment by 22 Dec 2015. The new Radiator has been ordered by BMW to expedite my need for transportation. Est repair completion date Wednesday 23 Dec 2015. Regards ****** ***** ************

9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aftwer paying off my car.Two weeks later my car is disabled and I could no longer drive itI miss two days of work and all I got was we're sorry and was hung up on

Desired Settlement: be reimbursed the money I lost not being able to go to work

Business Response:

Complaint * ******** *** ********* ********

On 7/28/15, ********* made her last payment car payment on her loan. We discussed on that date the payment was made that the GPS unit needs to be taken off for free and ********* mentioned she could come by the next day. As we ask each customer that pays off their car loan, we take the GPS off of their cars. It appears that she did not make It In in order to remove the unit. Therefore, two weeks later when her car payment was normally due, the GPS kicked in. Before the car shuts down, it gives a 3 day warning via beeping to anticipate before the car shuts off.

On 8/10/2015, the customer called us upset that her car turned off. We apologized and turned the car back on.

Resolution—The customer would not be angry and filing a claim with the BBB if the GPS was removed as discussed the day the final payment was made. Putting off the appointment to have the GPS removed was the issue. We have no responsibility for the monies requested.

9/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I financed a 2008 grand Prix in June, 2014. On August 22, 2014, two days after I paid the car bill, Capitol motorsports towed my vehicle without reasonable cause, not stated in the contract. Thus they did tell me the owner requested it to be picked up on account to me driving recklessly in the dealerships car lot. This has effected my work, professional and personal life. Upon repossessioning the vehicle, they have been irresponsive to my concerns about my personal items and have asked me to remove myself from the property, while I was trying to get more information. I object to the actions from the company and its employees.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the a reimbursement of all the money I have invested in the vehicle as well as insurance payments. I am requesting the dealership remove the repossession from my name. I am requesting to be paid for the days I have missed work. I am requesting an additional 1,220 for emotional distress.

Business Response:





Complaint # ********, ********, ********, ******** for ******** ********


We sold ******** ******** a 2008 Pontiac Grand Prix in June 2014.

In August, she came in to pay her note payment and told us at that time that we were going to get car back and that she was not going to pay for the car. It would be just a matter of time.  She proceeded to tell us how our business was done and how it’s done at other places. She was cursing and being very rude.  This was in front of several employees and customers in our sales building.

When she left the office that day, she drove to the back lot and was running over barricade cones that we use for customer parking.  She was acting erratic and very belligerent. My ******* ******* asked her to leave.

After discussing her behavior with our ******* ******* and other employees that witnessed her, we decided to repossess our vehicle.  Based on her comments, behavior and the way she was driving on our lot, we the right to be cautious and concerned for the safety of our collateral.

In reference to her claim about her belongings, she was here to pick them up the day after the car was dropped off by the towing company.  However, knowing how she acted prior to this, we had an officer present.  He talked with her and let her know our expected behavior while on our property.


Resolution – Based on her actions and behavior, she brought this about on herself.  We would much rather have a customer that fulfills their contractual responsibility than a repossessed contract.  However, telling us that she was not going to pay anymore and the reckless driving on our property lead us to believe our collateral was in jeopardy.  We have no responsibility for the monies requested.   


7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the Ford Focus 06, black hatchback from the sales person named Robert at the dealership on May 19th, 2014. Immediately on my way home,(which is an Hour from Austin) I noticed issues with the vehicle. The paint is coming off some parts of the car, it used to be red, the inside doors the fabric is slowly coming off, the floor has holes and damage. The engine ravs up when I turn it on and its not being used. When I break while driving it dangerously bares to each left or right side real strongly. The shifts(its manual) are coming loose. There is a smell of oil coming from the engine. I emailed the dealership several times in between the calls and voice mails I left, with no return calls emails or anything. So I called the dealership to find out when I can bring it in Tuesday May 20th left a message with the voice mail for return call nothing happened, I called the dealership on May 22nd and talked to a sales person and he said he would give the message to Management, no response. I contacted the dealership on Friday and Saturday May 23rd and May 24th and left voice mails with no responses. Today the car would not start, I called the dealership and got someone finally, I was advised that my car's GPS system was turned on and the car is not working because I didn't have insurance, Which is a false statement. I gave my insurance on the day I bought the car, I paid my insurance on the first of this month, the car was insured the whole time, ever since I had it. I had to go and get a picture of my insurance card text it to the guy, he then had the car turned back on. This is the worst experience in my life,. I am disabled I cannot drive all the way to Austin and not know whether they can fix the car or whatever for hours. Stress makes me ill and this has caused me nothing but stress. I have tried to call, left messages, today I asked the manager and got no response in reference to when I can get the car to them for inspection. I am not able to deal with this dealership and the way they have treated me. I have had issues in the past with credit due to a domestic violent relationship, I had to move a lot and got in debt because of all the moves. I am not able to just drive up there to have them tell me come back in a few days. I wanted for someone to call me back tell me when to come there for them to check out the vehicle. I asked for a dependable and affordable vehicle, which is not what I received. I paid 5oo$ down.

Desired Settlement: I want first and far most to not have to be humiliated in the way I was. By not having any of my correspondences answered. No one has ever called or emailed me back. Today was the only time I got a response, and the person on the phone was nice enough to take care of me after he made sure he let me know he didn't believe I had insurance. He was not taking responsibility for the business's errors. I have insurance and they turned off my vehicle for a whole day. But that did not take away from the fact that I was treated wrong and still noone heard my issues with the car as if I was being ignored. I want to exchange the vehicle for another more reliable one. My disability and the stress with this purchase and the run around I have received from the dealership has made me bedridden for days, losing work days. OR I want my money back and for the dealership to take the vehicle back. I don't need anymore stress in dealing with this. I want for them to make right what they did wrong to me, losing time from work and being sick due to this stress that this purchase has cause me. I am willing to obtain a laywer and obtain my doctors notes if needed.

Business Response:

Complaint # ********

We sold ****** a 2006 Ford Focus. She was having some repair issues with her vehicle. We have tried several times to get her in here so that we may take a look at her car. She has yet to bring the vehicle in.

The vehicle was sold "as-is" with no warranty from us or the manufacturer. In addition, we offered her an extended warranty for the vehicle, which she denied. However, we have offered to help her so long as she can bring the vehicle in.

She has been in constant contact with our general manager by text. He has kept all their correspondence for the record. He has told her several times that we can not determine how long it will take to fix unless we can look at the vehicle to determine what is wrong with it. She has stated numerous times that she would bring the vehicle in but still has yet to do so.

Resolution - We would like ****** to come in and let our service dept look at her car so we can have a plan after that.


To Whom It May Concern:

Capitol Motorsports Inc. hereby authorizes Grindin Transport Co. to pick up our 2008 Chrysler Pt Cruiser with VIII: 3A8FY581508T224513.

Any questions or concerns please feel free to call ***** *******.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The dealership has not contacted me at all about the issue, I was in the dealership and no one has talked to me for over an hour so I left.

I have not heard from them until they made an error on their part about me not having insurance, which I had the whole time. They are lying about contacting me.

I have yet to hear from them to tell me when to come into the dealership to fix my car.

This is bad business relations, when the dealership lies on BBB like this.

Now I will call them again today and make an appointment for them to look at my car, I will also demand one payment be taken off my payments, due to the stress and lies they have caused. If the issue is fixed I will contact you and advise you of such thing.


****** ****

Business Response:

Again, my General Manager has a text string that ends on 6/3 where they discussed this situation. Our response then and in our last reply to this complaint is that ****** needs to schedule an appointment with our service department. I apologize that she feels that she is being mistreated. Her first three paragraphs on her last reply were basically that we have not contacted her. And we have asked her to contact us. Therefore, I understand that she lives an hour away and would like an answer before driving here. Rather than calling for her salesperson or our General Manager, I would like her to call our service manager at ###-###-####. That is the direct line for ****** to call and address her concerns.

7/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/6/14, I purchased a vehicle from this company. I was told that all the paperwork that was signed, would be emailed to me. I tried several attempts to contact the company, but the main line was never answered. I left messages going through the payment line, no one every responded. After 6 weeks, I was notified that my tags were finally in. While at the dealership, picking up my tags, I finally spoke to someone in person. I was told they would get on it, and I would have my paperwork the next day. I texted ****, who sold me my car, and was told he was working on it. I texted one more message to ****, stating if I did not have a response or my paperwork by Friday 6/6/14. I would be reporting that business to attorney generals office and BBB. Today's date is 6/8/14, I have not heard from ****, nor do I have paperwork, that was suppose to be given to me 2 months ago. This company is very hard to contact, a and they do not follow through with what they say. I just want the paperwork to my vehicles purchase

Desired Settlement: I want my paperwork, and I want other people to know about this place, and not to do business with such a dishonest business.

Business Response:

I apologize for your frustration. We are an honest business and care about our customers and our community. We implemented a few months ago a paperless option to get the documents in order to reduce paper usage and waste. Many of our customers preferred a digital option. However, we give the customers the option at signing of paper or digital. l am sorry if you were not given that option and if any of our actions were perceived as dishonest.

I have instructed my General Manager to have our sales person make contact with *****. Also, we will both mail and email executed documents for her files. She will have them no later than Friday 7/10.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** *********

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon purchasing my vehicle I was told it was in great condition and had a 30 day warranty on repairs. As I left the car lot, just minutes before closing time, I realized it had a few issues. One major issue was the right front strut. I had called the dealership and they had told me that they could get it in the following monday, 03/03/2014, for a repair. Later that day I took it to the carwash because they failed to wash the vehicle or even clean it out. I found a bag of marajuiana in the back seat. Also as I'm waiting on the automatic car wash I rolled my windows up and turned the air conditioning on. It was almost 85 degrees outside that day. my A/C started blowing, but it was more like the heat rather than A/C. I'm 7 months pregnant and not only is this not tolerable but it's illegal to sell a vehicle in the state of Texas with a non-working A/C. When I brought the vehicle back on 03/03/2014 for repairs I mentioned the A/C to them. They said they had to send it somewhere else cuz they weren't certified to do it. They had ME take it over to "******** **********" on ****** *** They tested it and said it was full of freon and sent me on my way as that's all they were supposed to check. The car lot then took my vehicle and gave me a loaner car to check the A/C and repair the strut. Upon picking the vehicle up the same day jsut before closing they said they repaired the front arm bushing, which I knew wasn't the problem, as well as looked at the A/C and told me it was in working condition. I took it home, and as soon as I hit the first tiny bump in the road I could tell the strut was STILL bad. I called once again and tod them and they schedules me to bring my vehicle in on 03/07/2014. I arrived as tehy opened that very day and they issued me a loaner vehicle while they took mine for repair. I recieved my car back the next day. What do you know, as I'm driving it away, yes they fixed the strut, which they told me WASN'T the issue but my A/C is STILL blowing hot!!....So I called back and they tell me the soonest the can get me in is 03/10/2014, which was yesterday. I got there as tehy opened to drop my car off at 9AM and the ******* ******* refused to give me a loaner vehicle while they kept mine for repair. Now, remember they jsut gave me a loaner on 03/07/2014 when repairing the strut, so I don't see why they won't give me a loaner just 3 days later. I had to go to work within the next hour and I told them if they couldn't give me a loaner in order to fix my A/C I couldn't just leave my vehicle with them. I went to the front sales office and demanded that I talk to the Head of sales, whom sold me my car, and was refused his service and told "go deal with the service department, it's not our issue". I was upset and left crying. My car has been in an unsellable condition from the day I got it. Also, they've had my car for half the time since teh day of purchase. I've got a car payment due this weekend on a vehicle that I can't even get them to fix, yet they expect me to pay on it. Now, I'm going to pay it because it's not how I do business to just not pay, yet I see that they do business all wrong and against Texas state laws!

Desired Settlement: I expect this to be repaired, as well as giving me a loaner like the first repair, or I would gladly take my money back and elsewhere.

Business Response:




Complaint # *******


We sold ******* a 2009 Mazda.  She had service issues and we tried to repair them.

The vehicle was sold “as-is” with no warranty from us or the manufacturer.  In addition, we offered her an extended warranty for the vehicle, which she denied.  However, we helped her with a repair issue and it sounds like it is still not corrected.   

We do not offer loaner cars.  We are not a big dealership with a fleet of vehicles for that purpose.  However, our ******* ******* allowed ******* to use a vehicle that we had for sale to use while we had her Mazda in the shop. 

******* has met with our ******* ******* just last week.  He told her that we could either repair the unit or return her money.  She left stating that she would get her Dad’s opinion and get back with us. 


Resolution – We would like ******* to come meet with our ******* ******* this week. We want her to be a satisfied customer.  We have accommodated her the best we could and still desire to.

1/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sold us a vehicle over the market value by $8,000. They admitted verbally after finalizing the sale with us that we were over charged and sold us an after factory warranty that was already voided before it started since the car had a modification prior to purchase. Within the first 2 months of having this vehicle we had to replace the tires as the wires were showing and we hydroplaned into a curb due to the tires being bad. They changed the tires for us though after having us wait for about 3 hours to just speak to someone. We also have had to replace the clutch and flywheel already, still within the first 2 months, since the purchase of the car the clutch has been slipping. The mechanic informed us that our car was not inspected when received and was not cleaned.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund for the overage charge plus a reimbursement for the charges we have incurred to replace and repair the items they didn't check from the beginning.

Business Response:



Complaint # ******* —******** *******

In response to *** *******'s claim, we contracted the 2005 Infinity G35 on 7/22/13. After she worked initially with the salesperson, he was contracted by our F&I *******. At that time, they went over all of the agreed upon terms of the deal and signed all of the standard documents. Such signed documents included, but not limited to:

Buyer's Guide - which states the car is sold AS-IS, with no dealer responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about the unit

Delivery and Acceptance —which addresses many things, however includes that the purchaser is satisfied with the unit and that they understand that it sold AS-IS

Installment Sales Contract — which highlights most all of the terms of the financing and that the purchaser has thoroughly inspected, accepted and approved the unit in all respects.

Prior to the purchase, we had performed basic maintenance to the unit including an oil change and inspection. The unit was purchased used and as-is. We are not responsible for what occurs after the sale. The unit went through our shop prior to the sale as our shop ticket was posted to the unit on 7/19.

In regards to the price of the vehicle, the NADA bookout sheet as of 7/19/13 shows a retail value on that date of $13575. Based on their purchase price of $13495, they paid a little less than market value for the vehicle.

Based on the above, we are not responsible for any settlement for the items referred to in this complaint. In purchasing a used car, especially one that is 8 years old, there will be maintenance issues that arise. We apologize that *** ******* feels that we are responsible.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is not what was informed to us, we spoke with the head mechanic and were informed that the vehicle was never seen in the shop much less having had an oil change or inspection done. The tires were replaced from this location due to the safety hazard that they caused making my fiancé hydroplane one night into a curb. We have had this car appraised at another dealer, an actual name brand dealer, and were informed that the value was to be around $6000 which was done around November or December of 2013. The information provided by this company doesn't seem to fit what we are being informed by other dealers. We are wanting this looked into by someone that is an un-biased party. If need be I will request and send a copy of the appraisal from said company. I will also be looking over the agreement that was signed at the time of purchase. This car was purchased used but to cause near accidents should not be allowed.


******** *******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Capitol Motorsports Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart