BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Rising Fast Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Rising Fast Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin Rising Fast Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 14, 2002 Business started: 10/08/1991 Business started locally: 10/08/1991 Business incorporated: 10/08/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Phea, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Phea, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Renting & Leasing

Alternate Business Names
Horizon Sales and Leasing, Inc
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 8024 N Ih 35

    Austin, TX 78753 (512) 828-0001

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November *, I purchased my vehicle a **** ***** ****, from this company, before the purchase i was made aware that the motor mount needed to be replaced, two weeks later I came in as scheduled for my appointment, none of the co-workers knew why I was there as if nobody had booked my appointment, so unprofessional, they took my vehicle in anyways and kept it there for 6 hours, after the repair a few days later the car began to make a squeaky noise along with the continuous shaking of the car which was supposed to be fixed when they replaced the motor mount, before i took the car back to the dealership to make them aware of the squeaking along with the problem of the shaking, I took my car to *** tires to get a mechanic to look at the problem, and for a second opinion, he found that the belt had been improperly placed back into my car, the cam sensor was bad, there is a leak in the coolant, an oil leak on the valve, I had *** put this in righting along with the estimations on how much these thing would cost to fix. I took this paper up to the dealership and show the manager Min, she assured me they would fix the problem but I had to leave my car once again with them, I went without transportation for three days. After picking my car up they told my mother that they were not going to see or repair my car again for free next time I would have to pay. When I got my car back, I immediately took it back to *** tires to see if all the things listed were repaired. My car was still squeaking and began to only go no more than 30 miles an hour. The mechanic pointed out that my belt was never fixed, it looked as though they power washed my valve but the oil leak was still there, the only thing that was fixed was the cam sensor, that day i spent $250 to get the oil leak fixed, now I have to get my belt tensioner/belt replaced along with the coolant leak fixed which is estimated to be $528.02 to fix, why am I making payments for a car that needs all these repairs, these problems should have been fixed.

Desired Settlement: a car in better condition

Business Response:

March *,2014

**** *********

Better Business Bureau
**** ******** ***** ******* ***** *****

Dear Ms. *********;

This is in response to the unjustified complaint filed by Ms, ****** ******.

When Ms. ****** purchased the **** ***** ****, the vehicle had just under 1000,000 miles on it. She was aware of that and after test riding the car was satisfied with the performance of the vehicle and was adamant in wanting to purchase it. She also was aware that the vehicle was sold as-is and signed the appropriate form relative to this.

When it came time to solidify the purchase, Ms. ****** did not have enough money for the down payment and asked Mr, **** to please help her as she really wanted and needed that vehicle. ** **** felt sorry for her especially since her credit was not strong enough for a lending institution to accept her application so he decided to go all out and help her. lie allowed her to pay half the down payment, $500.00 and not only would he finance that amount but the balance as well. Mr. **** very rarely or ever does in house financing, however Ms. ****** wanted this vehicle so badly be went along with her request.

The vehicle needed new motor mounts and ** **** installed them at no charge, even though Ms. ****** missed several appointments to have them installed. After that Ms. ****** took the vehicle to a mechanic to have a belt installed. Unfortunately he did not know what he was doing and installed it backwards. She then took the vehicle back to Mr. **** and asked him to fix the problem, For the sake of good will, Mr. **** had his mechanic work on the vehicle to correct what was done wrong as well as to install aTRS Sensor. Mr. **** did not charge one cent for the equipment he purchased and installed.

I know of no other dealership that would do half of what Mr. **** did to see that his customer was helped. Unfortunately there are some people that no matter what you do for them, it is never enough.

If you should need any other information, please contact me and I will see that your requests are answered immediately.

Sincerely,

 

**** ******* ********** ******* ****** ****** **** ***** **** ****** ************ * ****** ****

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The statements made are inaccurate, started with the statement on me test driving the vehicle, I did not test drive the vehicle due to the fact that I had to be at work immediately after. Secondly, the amount of money that was put down was $600 and I was told that my credit was not going to be an issue because they did in house financing. When asked how much I could put down for the down payment I told her $600, and then she asked me if I could put down $1000, when I told her no I was advised this would be okay.  I was told my motor mounts would be replaced free of charge at the time of purchase. When I made my appointment for my car to be fixed they advised me that I would have to leave the car with them, which was an inconvenience due to the fact that I was in the process of moving and needed my car to move, once I rescheduled I brought the car in. After having my motor mounts replaced things had gotten worse, squeaking, the shaking continued, and my cam sensor slowly but surely began go out, so it is the mechanic from Austin Rising Fast Motor Cars that doesn't know what he is doing "unfortunately". On my way taking the car back up to the company to let them know about the issue, my car had shut down only me and the closest place I could get to was *** tires. The mechanic there only took a look under the hood and put in writing everything that was wrong with the car he DID NOT FIX WORK ON THE VEHICLE as stated in company response. The only mechanic to work on my car was the one at Austin Rising Fast Motor Cars. The mechanic at *** tires put everything in writing for me and quoted me the price on what it would take to fix these problems, the next day I took the car back to the car company and gave them everything that the mechanic said was wrong with the vehicle. I was assured it would be fixed free of charge. I left my vehicle there for 3 days. Only to have the same problems, my belt/tensioner was never replaced. The only thing that was fixed was the cam sensor. I know of other dealerships that would never mistreat their customers this way, and deceive them the way I have been with this company.
Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a **** ******** **** ******** ******** from Rising Fast Motor Cars (RFMC) on August 9, 2013 for $9,618.15. The price seemed good at that time and then our nightmare began. The dealer had agreed to pay half the cost of tire replacement which was $763.00 total (or $381.00 each), but changed their mind and would only give us $200 total, after the fact. 3 days later (August 13th), we noticed the A/C was weak. We took it to the Break Specialists to have it checked and they recharged the system. We also took it to ********** as directed by RFMC to have the vehicle serviced and paid $422.72 for all of it. The out of pocket expenses are now adding up. Two weeks later the transmission went out. The dealer offered to pay half the cost of the transmission as well as offered free labor. That sounded great, except the used transmission they chose to purchase from *** had just as many miles as the current with no warranty. We were forced to purchase a less used transmission from RFMCs provider, ***, which cost us $1542.56. RFMC refused to pay their share, ( of the transmission as promised). They did agree to still install the transmission for free. They kept our car until October 4th and delivered it to my office in *******, TX. During my drive home, I realized the car transmission was shifting very rough and jerky, the engine warning lights were all on, and now there was a loud exhaust leak coming from under the drivers floorboards. We were told to ride it out. A week later, the car was in desperate need of repair it wouldnt go faster than 2nd gear! We returned it and almost 6 weeks later, with one ridiculous excuse after another, never having a call returned, chasing people down to get updates, being told one thing then the opposite the next day, put on hold, ignored, set aside and told to be grateful for the huge favor that was being done for us...we were told to come get our car and take it somewhere else cause they cant fix it! All the while we are a 5 person family living out of 1 car while making payments on a new car we have sitting in a lot somewhere doing us no good! RFMC got us into a 25% interest loan for a car that does not work and then continued to allow us to spend an additional $3629.48 in cash to fix this vehicle over a 3 month process only to tell us we need to take our car somewhere else and were on our own.Total cost as of today $13,247.63 and the car still wont work.

Desired Settlement: We would like all the money that we have put into this vehicle to be refunded to us.

Business Response:

December 20, 2013


**** *********

Better Business Bureau

1005 LaPosada

Austin, Texas 78752

Dear Ms. *********;

Relative to our conversation regarding to complaint 1D******* filed by Mr. ***** ** *****, following is our position in this matter.

Although purchased the **** ******** ********, yin ***************** knowing the vehicle was sold as is with no warranties implied or given, when Mr.***** notified us of a problem with the transmission, he was told to bring the vehicle in and we would try to assist him.

Mr. ***** purchased a used transmission from *** company and we agreed to install it at no charge to him. However after this he still had a problem and wanted our help. We agreed to have the transmission inspected and what ever was needed we would have done at our expense. Keep in mind, we did not sell him the transmission and were never responsible for the condition of it at the time of purchase.

We told Mr. ***** when the vehicle would be ready and the work completed at the repair shop. He was very satisfied with this and told me all he wanted was for us to make the repairs necessary. However, when he was told the time the vehicle would be on our lot for him to pick up, he then said that he did not want the vehicle and only wanted a refund. This is after he agreed to our offer and after we paid several hundred dollars for the inspection and repair.

To add insult to injury, while we were trying to help him, both Mr. ***** and his friend a Mr. ***** *****, who by the way had nothing to do with the purchase of the vehicle what so ever proceeded to put derogatory blogs on the Internet that has done irreparable damage to Austin Rising Fast Motor Cars that is completely unjust and unwarranted.

 


If there is any other information you may require, please contact me and 1 will see that you receive it immediately.

Sincerely,

**** ******, Operations Manager

*** ****** *****

***** ***** ***** *****

Phone; ***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service