Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of All Star Mitsubishi?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All Star Mitsubishi

Phone: (877) 210-6620 Fax: (361) 852-1000 View Additional Phone Numbers 2440 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78415 http://www.allstarmitsubishi.net View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Star Mitsubishi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All Star Mitsubishi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All Star Mitsubishi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 1996 Business started: 02/13/1996 in TX Business started locally: 02/13/1996 Business incorporated: 08/14/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. James H. Robichaux, Managing Partner Mr. Paul Walton, Manager Mr. Tony Stemplinger , Manager Mr. Johnny Villafuerte, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James H. Robichaux, Managing Partner
Customer Contact: Mr. Tony Stemplinger , Manager
Principal: Mr. Paul Walton, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Electric Equipment

Alternate Business Names
All Star Isuzu, Ltd.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2440 S Padre Island Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78415 (361) 814-1000 (877) 210-6620

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an envelope that appeared to be for express/airmail with no return address. It is clearly meant to deceive the recipient, as it says it was delivered by "***** Expedited-Tracked Mail," which is not a real company at all and it was delivered by the ****. When opened, it contained a direct mail advertisement from All Star Mitsubishi. It says - "Notice of Intent to Award Cash/Prizes Issued to [my husband's name] as a Finalist - $25,000 Cash to be awarded" It has a lot of other deceptive things on the flier. It says that you are a winner if the numbers displayed in the attached "digital electronic Combination Box" (which is not actually digital or electronic at all - it's just a piece of plastic) match one of the "official registered winning numbers" hidden under scratch-offs, but I strongly suspect that all of these fliers have winning numbers. It lists 4 different possible prizes - $25,000 cash, an iPad Air, a "$300 shopping card" or $150 cash. It also says "Someone is holding the digital electronic Combination Box for $25,000" but I highly doubt the dealership will actually be awarding this prize. Reading the terms and conditions on the other side of the flier, its lists the odds of winning $25,000 as 1:90,000. This again suggests that they will award this prize to someone. The odds for the iPad Air and $150 are also listed as 1:90,000. The odds of winning the "$300 shopping card. The Online Shopping Card." are listed as 1:89,997, and it says "Terms and conditions regarding use of the certificate are set forth on the website www.goshoppingmall.com." It does not list the They do no list the retail value of this card, which is clearly nowhere near $300, as I'll explain. The terms and conditions on this website state The Gift Certificate has no cash value. The User understands that the Gift Certificate amount issued on the Gift Certificate, whether electronic, printed or otherwise, applies to the market price. The User may select as many items as the User desires up to the Gift Certificate amount based on the market price for each item. When using the ****************** gift certificate, user understands that there is a shipping and handling fee associated with every item in the catalog, and a $5 per order processing fee for the entire order." This means that if someone were to win this prize, they'd have to spend considerable amounts of their own money to get anything, Of course, the "shipping and handling fees" are extremely exorbitant and clearly exceed the value of the product (example: $16.95 for a toaster oven. ) This whole scheme is clearly intended to trick people into believing they've won something of value to get them into the dealership, when in reality everyone will be given a worthless prize that is "redeemed" by spending their own money on overpriced products. I specifically take issue with the deceptive envelope, the recurring mention that someone will win $25,000 when the dealership almost certainly never intended to award that prize to anyone, and everything related to the prize that will be given to almost everyone, if not everyone - the shopping card, which may very well be illegal because it makes a purchase necessary to redeem.

Desired Settlement: They need to stop utilizing promotions like this. They're extremely deceptive. Other dealerships across the country are under investigation by the BBB and/or state regulatory agencies for their use of remarkably similar promotions, and many have discontinued the practice as a result.

Business Response:

We appreciate the observations listed by *** ***** regarding our direct mailers- it demonstrates that creative marketing is effective in gaining consumers attention in a marketplace where we are all exposed to countless marketing messages.

When *** ***** received the direct mailer she is referencing to, she knew as she stated that" it says it was delivered by "***** ********* —Tracked Mail," which is not a real company at all and was delivered by the ****." This is considered as package marketing utilized by many marketers to catch consumers' attention to open the envelope. Once she opened the envelope she acknowledges that "it contained a direct mail advertisement from All Star Mitsubishi." She was well aware of who sent the envelope at that point.

On the advertisement *** ***** mentions "it says- "notice of intent to Award cash/Prizes issued to [my husbands name] as a finalist-$25,000 cash to awarded". According to The Deceptive Mail Prevention and Enforcement Act, mailings are prohibited to" Say that an individual has won a prize when, in fact, that individual hasn't won"- which the advertisement clearly states her husband is a finalist, not a winner.

The "digital electronic combination box" that she refers to as a "piece of plastic" resembles a digital electronic combination box. As *** ***** observed, the average person realizes what the description is in reference to.

*** ***** mentions that "I strongly suspect that all of these fliers have winning numbers." If all the fliers have winning numbers, so long as prizes are deemed awarded with the intent to award upon being claimed there is nothing deceptive. Regarding the $25,000 prize *** ***** comments" I highly doubt that the dealership will actually be awarding this prize", the odds of winning the prizes are clearly explained as *** ***** listed.

The $300 shopping card that *** ***** references to does have value for the go shopping mall website. It is never mentioned in the advertisement that it is a $300 cash shopping card, it does have a value of $300 on the specified website which the details are clearly explained as *** ***** recited. There is not a purchase necessary to


be awarded the shopping card, therefore it is not illegal. The average consumer, as *** ***** has demonstrated , will not be "tricked" into making a purchase because all of the details are provided. Once they receive the shopping card it is their responsibility to use at their discretion.

While *** ***** may not find value in the prizes offered, other people may and it is their decision to claim their prize. It is the same concept as offering coupons or discounts- it is offering value as an incentive to visit that merchant.

According to The Deceptive Mail Prevention and Enforcement Act, "Required disclosures must be "clearly and conspicuously displayed;" that is, "readily noticeable, readable and understandable" by an "average" member of the target audience". *** ***** has clearly demonstrated that this advertisement was not deceptive- she has opinions about the manner the information was provided and the information delivered but in the end she as every other average consumer clearly understands what the direct mailer was advertising.

We will accept this correspondence from *** ***** and her husband as a request to be removed from our mailing list.


6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I was in Corpus Christi they were to change my rotors and brakes on my 2001 Mitsubishi Mirage that had 170000 miles. It now has 180000 miles on it. In this 10 thousand mile distance the dealership here in Hurst, Tx said that the rotors and brakes needed to be changed within this next month. I had just paid for this service through All Star Mitsubishi. Rotors last at least 2 brake changes and I haven't even had my brakes changed since. Initially when I was going to get my rotors and brakes changed, All Star Mitsubishi was out of the parts. They said it would take about a week to get some of them in. I wanted a Mitsubishi dealer to do the work. So I spoke with the crew there and they mentioned that I could buy the rotors at a shop and bring them in to have them changed. When I called All Star Mitsubishi the service manager said it wasn't his problem. I DO NOT want to speak with the service manager again. I will speak to the owner though. I don't believe they changed the rotors because two mechanics here in DFW area has said they were too thin to be new.

Desired Settlement: They were never changed or poorly changed since the dealership here in DFW said that if they were changed the person did a horrible job, and if they were changed somebody machined them down a lot before putting them on. I haven't even got one fifth the amount of life on them because of All Star Mitsubishi's poor job or lack of replacing. I can't come in for a 7 hour trip back to Corpus to have them repair it or change it. I want them to pay the dealership here in DFW that I have been going to for several years to do it right. If not that I want new rotors because I bought them brand new. If neither of these two scenarios work out then they will speak to my lawyers.

Business Response: Corpus Christi, TX June 1, 2013

Att: Mrs. ******* ****Better Business BureauReference : Complaint #******** 

The work performed on Mr. ****** car was done as requested and following standard service procedures. The service department can not  be responsible for the parts the customer brought from another vendor.  We are attaching all the file for this work performed on 11, 2011. I am  Including the receipt for the parts the customer purchased from Advance Auto Parts.  Please let us know if we can further assist you.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

When I was in the shop to have my service Allstar was out of the rotors. I bought the brakes from from Allstar myself and they put their brakes on. The receipt shows this on my paperwork that they supplied brakes and I supplied rotors. The only parts I supplied were the rotors because the service department said if I wanted them done there within a week I needed to bring my own since they were out and the nearest they could get them in were two weeks. I was told verbally that since the rotors were new they would back the work on them. The Hurst Mitsubishi dealer here said they were either poorly put on, still the stock rotors, or were heavily machined down to lessen the life of them. At first they thought a mechanic in an outside shop did them since the job was poorly done but when I told them I took it to a Mitsubishi dealer they were amazed to see the receipt I showed them. So ten thousand miles later both my brakes and rotors are bad. Rotors don't go out at only one brake change. I was told by your shop that my brakes should go at least twenty-five thousand miles. They have only been ten thousand. 

Regards,

******** ******





























Business Response: The lifespan of a given set of brake pads is dependent on a very wide set of variables ranging from personal driving style to the impersonal laws of physics. Pads come in an array of types and compositions -- from composite to metallic to ceramic -- and are attached to an even more bewildering array of brake systems and rotors, all of which affect the life of the pad. Added to the mix are heat, pressure and friction.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:


Don't talk to me about the laws of physics.
I am a scientist and have had way more physics than you have had. You just work
at a car dealer and have no idea about the governing laws of our universe. What
you do know is futile. The brakes were changed at your shop and had a guarantee
on those brakes. The life span specified by your department told me 25,000
miles of life minimum. They did a poor job on the work with the rotors if they
even changed them in the first place. This poor job on the rotors if performed
accelerated the wear and tear on the brakes. My Mitsubishi dealer here said
that the rotors were machined unevenly. If you changed the brakes out then you
had to have machined the rotors. You want to talk physics. Okay! The
average coefficient of friction of a dry road is about 0.7 where wet roads
decrease to about 0.1. Now this obvious that there is a change of a lower
kinetic friction to a higher static friction when braking as the car stops.
Since we normally stop at red lights, stop signs and other stopping points on a
more level plane than say a banked curved at a said angle (to stop the car from
skidding as much as possible on a turn) then the normal force applied via Newtonian
physics as usual is perpendicular to the force of the object at acceleration
due to gravity at 9.8m/s^2*mass of car (we will say 3000 pounds even though my
car is light, giving you an edge in this matter which is 1360.78 kilograms).
This multiplies to a normal force of 13,335.644 Newtons. This is an average
force on higher friction dry condition roads at this mass when stopping. Now
the frictional force would be the normal force times the coefficient of
friction. We will use the said Newtons and the higher dry coefficient of
friction at 0.7 which gives us a frictional force of 9334.9508 N. If we bump
the dry friction to a coefficient of .8 which is an unlikely increase (to give
you the benefit of the doubt) then the result is 10668.5152 N as the frictional
force. At a life span of 25,000 miles you get a very high total force given all
the condition are extremely dry without rain or snow and considering we have
had a lot of rain and snow here where I am at in Dallas decreases the
coefficient of friction. By increasing the coefficient on your false claim of
increased friction we only get an extra 1340 N (rounded up) which isn’t even a
15% increase (it is 14%) in frictional force. So 25,000 times this 15% increase
would only shave 3,750 miles off. So let us say 5,000 for your benefit. This
results in 20,000 miles of life in your defense not my 10,000 miles of life
that I only received. So it is highly unlikely to quadruple the coefficient of
friction according to the laws of physics. Oh, and don’t even let me go there
with the laws and conservation of energy regarding heat transfer and metallic
objects because you are in over your head. 
Regards,

******** ******





























4/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called a wrecking service to pickup my vehicle, wrecking service showed up with a flatbed, loaded my vehicle, and the wrecker followed me to the dealership. Dealt with ** ******** **********& Mr. ***** (service dept. manager), This was on 01/22/13. Received a call from Al On 02/27/13 they tried to charge me additional fees upon picking up my vehicle, which I disputed. I notice immediately upon entering my vehicle that my CD/deck had been stolen and that my dashboard had been damage in the process. I Brought this to the manager's attention Mr. ***** said that they were not responsible for vandalism on vehicle left in their care. I called the police filed theft charges against them, and left with my vehicle. My vehicle is still making a loud noise coming from the engine. I've decided to take my vehicle elsewhere with the approval of my insurance. I'm sorry but there is not enough room in this box to explain the whole unbearable experience that I endured with this company. Left messages for owner on several accasions to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to leave my car with them ever again. I would like the owner to call me to see if we could work this out before I seek legal counsel.

Business Response: Mr. ********'s Complaint ID ******* has been settled. I am attaching the settlement document.

3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues