BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

A 1 Used Cars, Inc.

Phone: (361) 576-1531 Fax: (361) 576-2762 3201 Houston Hwy, Victoria, TX 77901

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A 1 Used Cars, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A 1 Used Cars, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1993 Business started: 12/14/1987 Business started locally: 12/14/1987 Business incorporated: 01/17/2003 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Janet Georgie, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Janet Georgie, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 3201 Houston Hwy

    Victoria, TX 77901 (361) 576-1531

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my vehicle in 2011. I was always changing insurance companys and one time in May they picked up my car. They said because I didn't have insurance, but I did. I even had ***** confirm. They did not give me my car back. They also wanted to charge me $200, because they picked up my car and they weren't supposed to. ***** said it was corporate office that wanted her to do this and today she tells me she is corporate office. I asked her for my paper work and she doesn't give it to me. She's adding charges on my car that are ridiculous. Which shes adding a "restocking" fee. When I had a car company ask for the payoff they kept raising the payoff price. I've paid more than 20,000 or pretty close to this price. I consider this contract paid off. They over priced my car which had 188, 000 miles. everytime I was close to paying it off bang they try to charge me with something.

Desired Settlement: I want my car or a total refund for all the inconvienience. I felt like I was discriminated against. She was very rude and not business additude. The office never called me and they lie saying they did. I also want an appology.

Business Response: This is our response to the complaint submitted on 8/22/2013 by ******** ****** **********, her claims are absurd, and completely inaccurate, even the purchase date she has submitted is incorrect. The truth, (in which I have paper documentation) is that yes we did sell them a vehicle on 2-25-2011, I, ***** am not the salesperson either as she has stated. The fact is we have gone above and beyond with these customers. The claims that she continuously was changing insurances companies and we repossessed her vehicle while insured is as well inaccurate. Initially, the first 2 payments were made on time, starting with their third payment they were a week behind.
They were perpetually late on their payments; at one point they were 59 days behind on payments. **** and ******** were not able to maintain full coverage insurance which is a requirement within our contract and they were aware as they each signed several documents that reflect the necessity of maintaining a full coverage insurance policy at all times while the vehicle is being financed. Their insurance was a main point of contention, it was always cancelled due to non payment, or they just did not renew their policy and it would lapse. Therefore being in violation of state law for not maintaining their financial responsibilities by carrying a liability policy as well as being in violation of the terms of our contract by not maintaining the full coverage or insurance period.
On 5-15-2013, we were contacted by a car salesperson named **** from Port Lavaca Dodge, he said the customers were in his office wanting to trade in the vehicle which we had financed and he wanted a payoff amount. We gave him a payoff amount, good through 5-25-2013, which we reduced by a couple thousand dollars as we were hoping that they would trade the vehicle in, and we would not have the constant battle with these intolerable customers.
We have allowed these customers to pay partial payments but we never waivered on the requirement of insurance. Below is just a small list of our interaction with **** and ******** **********.

Date Account Messages and Times


3- 01-2012--insurance notice received insurance was canceled again 2-25-2012, phone call to customer at 2:46 pm
3-09-2012-- Spoke to ****, he promised to get insurance today or Saturday, phone call to customer at 2:46 pm
3-13-2012-- **** said he would go get insurance today, phone call to customer at 2:46 pm
3-26-2012-- called ********, she said she would get insurance phone call to customer at 4:38 pm
3-28-2012-- ******** said she would get insurance tomorrow for sure, phone call to customer at 2:50 pm
3-30-2012-- called ******** AGAIN NO INSURANCE, she said she was on her way to the insurance company as we were on the phone to get insurance, phone call to customer at 11:28 am
4-03-2012-- AGAIN NO INSURANCE, left a message that we have to have proof of insurance TODAY.
She and **** have both been telling us so many times they would get ins, but have not done so. Phone call to customer at 11:42 am
5-08-2012-- customers will be in Fri 5-11-2012 or Tues 5-15-12 w/payment and promised to finally get insurance phone call to customer at 1:10 pm
6-22-2012-- ******** said she would get insurance Tuesday 6-26-12, phone call to customer at 4:04 pm
6-23-2012-- Left message payment and STILL NO INSURANCE phone call to customer at 10:46 am
6-29-2012-- Left another message on both ****/******** cell phones, INS NO LATER THAN TODAY, phone call to customer at 2:45 pm
7-17-2012-- Still no answer on either phone and NO INSURANCE! phone call to customer at 3:25 pm

If you need me too, I have three whole pages of these notes that are computer generated, all basically saying the same thing. We repossessed the vehicle the final time on June 8, 2013. The certified letter went out that Monday June 10, 2013, and the **********’s never claimed it. On July 3, 2013 at 4:55 pm ******** came to pick up a blue jack from the trunk of the vehicle. We never heard another word from her until August 21, 2013. **** had called earlier in the day wanting to pay $500.00 down, but he did not have the money it would take around 2 weeks for him to get together the money, then resume payments. The complaint that ******** filed with the BBB, is August 22, 2013, the day after she came in cussing and hollering at us in our office, using the F word and other very foul language. All the while, at the time she was in the office acting less than a lady should act, we had customers who were offended and commented on her ludicrous behavior. She became angry and exploded when I told her that we would be happy to sell her the vehicle back, but we refused to finance it. She demanded that we wait 2 weeks while they got together $500.00, and continue on with the payments as if the vehicle had never been repossessed. I told her that we would not finance the vehicle to them and the standard time to retrieve a repossessed vehicle is with in a 20 day period, it has not been 8 months. I told her due to her mouth and her being unable to control her temper she was to leave my office immediately and she continued to use the F word and scream and cuss, I told my secretary to call the police to have her removed. As my secretary was picking up the phone to call 911 due to her erratic behavior, she left screaming as she left she screamed behind her, I am going to contact the BBB. All of her erratic behavior is on our security surveillance cameras in the office. This is totally unacceptable behavior especially inside of a business office, in the end she was completely out of line and her behavior inside of our office in front of customers was not very flattering, nor was it behavior to be proud of. Her husband had called twice earlier in the day and wanted to know if he could put $500.00 down on the car and get it back, but they would not have the money for another 2 weeks. While she was cussing me inside our business, she said we never sent her a repossession letter, we showed her proof we had and she said well we moved. Ironically another inconsistency with ******** **********’s story is that on her complaint she has the address listed as the one we have on our file and is the same one that we sent the certified letter too.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The information is inacurate. I am not going to lie I was angry and upset and may have raised my voice.  I do not cuss though and do not appreciate how she is ramping and raving about how I cuss. I've never changed my address and she is lying about me telling her workers about my address changing.  I never said ***** sold me the vehicle and again she is caught in a lie. I've paid good on my account for a very long time and she can show you that documentation.  See she didn't lie about one thing,  because when I say I'm going to do one thing I do it. For instance reporting their business to the BBB! ***** has no empathy and we had the money the day they picked up my car to pay on my account,  but who wants to do business correctly when the business isn't doing their job correctly.  As you can tell she never denied picking my car up. I did have insurance on my car and it was covered and she tried to charge me $200 for repoing my car and it should have never gotten repoed. This is why I go to the business, because I stand up for myself.  I agree she should send all documentation, because I never received a certified letter and it should show that. Even if she denies finishing our contract which she doesn't want to do....I will pray God will grant her the knowledge and wisdom to do the right thing.  I really did try to do my best to pay this car off as soon as I could,  but things happen.  When they happened I called their office to let them know.  I never left them in the dark. Me and my husband kept in contact to let them know we were trying to get the car back, because they never tried calling me or my husband.  All I can do is pray that God will take care of this case. I've done my part and God will do the rest. 

Regards,

******** **********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1