BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

A 1 Used Cars, Inc.

Phone: (361) 576-1531 Fax: (361) 576-2762 3201 Houston Hwy, Victoria, TX 77901

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A 1 Used Cars, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A 1 Used Cars, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A 1 Used Cars, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1993 Business started: 12/14/1987 Business started locally: 12/14/1987 Business incorporated: 01/17/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Janet Georgie, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Janet Georgie, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 3201 Houston Hwy

    Victoria, TX 77901 (361) 576-1531

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, May 30th, 2014, I began my search for a dependable and affordable used first car for my teenage daughter. I visited several used car dealerships. My final stop was at A-1 Used Cars in Victoria, Texas. One of the vehicles’ that I asked to test drive was a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Coupe. The car was clean and appeared well kept. When I test drove the vehicle, the fuel gauge was in the red (almost empty), so I only drove it a short distance up the highway and back. It drove smoothly and appeared to be a good car. I advised the salesperson that I was going to do some research on the vehicles that I had narrowed my choices down to (two vehicles) and would be back in the morning. The next morning, May 31st, 2014, my daughters’ and I were at A-1 first thing in the morning. We wanted to test drive the vehicles again. However, the Cobalt sputtered when we tried to start it and I noticed the fuel tank was empty. I advised the salesperson and she had their service helper add less than 1/8 of a tank of gas, so we could test drive it. Although the Cobalt was priced higher than I wanted to spend, I was willing to negotiate because my daughter loved the car. I negotiated with A-1 and we agreed on $7,200 cash which included TT&L. This was a fair retail price for this car in good or better condition according to Kelly Blue Book and NADA. The night before I had run an Auto Check (like a Car Fax) on all the prospective vehicles and knew that the Cobalt was a one-owner vehicle, had not been in a wreck, had only one dealer service on record, etc. I checked the safety ratings and overall the Cobalt seemed like a great first car for my daughter. In addition, I found that A-1 Used Cars has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. In other words, I did everything a consumer could do to make an informed decision. After purchasing the vehicle and leaving the A-1 parking lot, we had to locate a service center that would perform a state inspection on the Cobalt. The inspection sticker was dated May 2014 and since the inspection sticker was “technically” still current with it being May 31st, A-1 refused to pay for an updated sticker. There were no service centers that could get us in quickly so we headed to Sam’s Club to fuel up the almost empty tank. It was then, after filling the tank, that I first noticed the smell of gasoline. Initially I figured that I had spilled some gas on my hands while fueling because the smell was strong. However, I didn’t think much of it at the time. My girls and I drove home and when we got out of the car, the smell of gas was so overwhelming that I got down on my knees to look under the car and there in the center rear of the car was a steady stream of gas coming out of the tank! I was shocked and upset. We had just spent almost our entire savings on a car that wasn’t even safe to drive! On Monday, June 2nd, I called A-1 as soon as it opened and was advised to bring the car in. I breathed a sigh of relief thinking they were going to do the right thing. That evening, my ex-husband drove the Cobalt to A-1 (as I was too afraid to drive it) and my daughter and I followed in my car. Around noon on June 3rd, I received a call from the salesperson advising me that the tank was leaking from the top and it would cost $300 for a used tank and A-1 expected me to pay half. I asked the salesperson if a certified mechanic was going to be used and her answer was “he has his own shop.” I told her that I would need to see the part invoice to make sure it wasn’t coming from a junk yard. The salesperson said that she would have to ask about that and get back to me. After 5pm, that same day, I received a call from the owner’s wife, *****, and she proposed two options to me: 1.) They replace the tank with a used tank and I pay $150 towards the repair; or 2.) I take the car to Atzenhoffer Chevrolet where they have a new tank for $600 and A-1 would give me a $150 check to use towards that repair. I wanted more information on Option 1 and ***** assured me that they were taking on more of the expense than me and “paying way more” than $300 which is what she claims the part cost. I asked ***** if the mechanic they were using was “certified” and she gave me the same answer as the salesperson had before “he has his own shop.” I asked her where his shop was and it turns out it is there at the A-1 facility. I asked her again if the mechanic was certified and she asked, “What do you mean?” I replied, “I mean is he a certified mechanic trained to perform repairs and not just a “shade tree mechanic”? ***** assured me he was not a “shade-tree mechanic” and stated that he does all the repairs on their vehicles and also for other used car dealers in town but he works out of one of their buildings. Then, I asked *****, “Where is the part coming from?” She replied, “I don’t know.” I asked her if it was from a junk yard and again she replied, “I don’t know.” At that point, *****’s demeanor changed and she said, “Since you are asking all these questions, I am going to make the decision for you. We will cut you a check for $150 so you can go get the tank replaced where you feel comfortable.” I told ***** that I was not satisfied with that option and that they should be responsible for the entire repair because they sold me a car that was not safe to drive. She replied, “We are going to put the car back together and you can come pick it up. We will give you $150 and be rid of you.” I told ***** that it was my belief they intentionally left the tank empty so the leak would not be discovered before the purchase. She denied it. She claims they never fill the tanks of their vehicles. If they drove that vehicle to Victoria from auction, did they not have to fill the tank? I understand that because A-1’s vehicles are sold “AS IS” with “NO WARRANTY” that generally means the sellers are not responsible for the repairs after the purchase. However, I do know that it would be illegal for them to know about the leaking tank but fail to disclose this information to me as they knew that I would not have purchased the vehicle otherwise. They sold me a vehicle that just by filling up the fuel tank rendered it unsafe to drive just moments after leaving their lot and instead of paying for the repairs tried to “get rid of me” by offering $150 which I declined. On Wednesday, June 4th, I had the Cobalt towed from A-1’s lot to Atzenhoffer Chevrolet. It is going to cost me $700 for the repair with a new aftermarket tank.

Desired Settlement: In order to resolve this amicably, A-1 Used Cars needs to refund me the money that I am having to spend to replace this fuel tank.

Business Response: ******* ****, the customer did in fact come in and look at the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt, that had the listed sales price of $10, 950.00. She took the vehicle for a test drive as well as another vehicle we had on the lot. After she returned from the test drives, she said that she was going to go over details with her daughter and left. The next day she came in again this time bringing her daughter with her. She and her daughter took the two vehicles out for a test drive and her daughter was the one that picked out the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. When her daughter was finished making her decision as to which vehicle she in fact wanted is when Ms. **** started her negotiations regarding the sales price of the Cobalt. The sales price was $10, 950.00, we reduced it to $6550.97 to make Ms. **** happy and the TT&L made the total drive out $7200.00. That was a price reduction of $4399.03, which was a very good deal for Ms. ****. As it turned out it was in many ways not so good for us.

She then said she was going to go get the money and return. Once she returned she brought with her several other people, a total of 7 people were in our office with the customer while doing the paperwork. Each one of them were making demands after demands. Our sales lady **** is a sweet very patient lady, she has been with us for years, and rarely does a customer get her upset. After dealing with this customer and ALL of the people that were with her, and they ALL were very demanding each and every one of them, except for the daughter. They all had their own opinions on how our prices were too high on our vehicles, and a lot of different things that we should do and not do with regards to our business, constantly belittling my staff. **** had to bring our owner **** on board because **** felt that she alone was not able to make Ms. **** and her entourage happy in any way. They were angry about having to pay tax, title and license charges etc. They wanted us to pay to replace the inspection sticker and we explained to the entourage and Ms. ****, that it was not technically expired and we had to do our paperwork by following the rules and she complained about that costing her another $14.50. To plainly state, Ms. ****, and her entourage excluding her daughter, we feel cannot ever be pleased. This statement was validated when the issue regarding the gas tank situation started. We have over 250 vehicles on our lot at all times, we cannot fill each and every gas tank full to the top on every unit on the lot. Gas can evaporate, it can be siphoned as well, it can go bad if not used in a timely manner and can cause more problems for the mechanical parts of a vehicle. We do however have all of our vehicles gone over by a mechanic that has his own Mechanic Shop, which he has owned and operated for well over 13 years. This mechanic runs his business out of a building that we own, but he does many other used car dealerships vehicles, besides our vehicles. This Mechanic is independent and runs a self contained operation which is totally separate from our business.

When Ms. **** brought the vehicle back saying that she went and filled the car up with a full tank of gas, that she noticed it was leaking. We had our mechanic take a look at it and he did remove the tank and found a crack in the top of the tank. The fact that Ms. **** says that “we knew that this was broken,” is completely false. We never would intentionally sell a vehicle to anyone knowing that something is wrong with it and that is very insulting to us. We have been in business for 27 years and we don’t run our business like that, nor have we EVER! Yes the customer signed an “As Is No Warranty” agreement, and full well knew there was no warranty given or implied by her signature on that paper. But we did indeed take the vehicle and at our expense had the Mechanic determine why the gas was in fact leaking from the tank, again this was at our expense. My staff called her and told her about the situation and what was wrong with the vehicle. She then started with her demands and her threats. The reason I got involved myself in this situation was because after her speaking the way she did to my staff on the phone when they called her to let her know what was wrong with the car, she was being very obnoxious and rude to my staff. She was demanding a brand new gas tank, she was wanting to see the credentials of our mechanic to know if he was “Certified” or not, she wanted a warranty on the gas tank, wanted to know exactly where we were going to purchase the tank and wanted to see the invoice from that place, it was to the point where my staff was done dealing with her and her behavior. I called her myself and I did give her the option of us fixing the vehicle by getting a used tank that was not cracked which our cost was $300, and that was not including the labor that the mechanic was going to charge us. I told her he would replace the tank and we would do the work and we would only ask for her to pay $150.00 half of the price of the tank, and we would pay the rest. The other option was for us to give her a check for $150.00 and she could take her car and go to the mechanic of her choice and have it done the way she wanted and by whomever she wanted. She again repeated all of what she wanted as I listed above. I explained to her, this was a used car, I was not going to go out and purchase a brand new gas tank to put into the used car. She then started to threaten me and our company. In her complaint, I notice that Ms. **** has left all of her threats out of her complaint, that is the major reason that we deemed her as unreasonable and that we were not going to work with her or on her vehicle. She said that she was going to go to the newspaper here in our town and tell them that we tried to kill her daughter. She also said that she was going to go to every organization there was to lodge a complaint and to say how horrible we were. She as well said that she worked for an attorney and he told her that she can sue us because as she repeated that we were intentionally trying to kill her daughter. Odd part of that is she was constantly calling us and having us call her on her work cell phone which shows on caller id, C L Thomas, petroleum company, and that is NOT an attorney’s office. Her threats and saying we tried to kill her daughter and we knew the vehicle had a crack in the gas tank, as well as that she was going to sue us, that is when I determined the choice for her. I told her that since she was going to do all of that and sue us, that she could come in and get her vehicle, and pick up a check for the $150.00, as well we would provide at that time the name of our attorney for her boss, (her attorney) to contact. We were done doing business with her.

She showed up the next day, with a wrecker and she had the vehicle towed away. We offered her the check at that time and she refused. Therefore, we have done all that we are going to do.

Lastly, in the complaint that Ms. **** wrote regarding this issue, she has a statement saying that we drove this particular vehicle to Victoria from auction. That as well is totally beyond scope, we never said that we drove this vehicle to Victoria from auction, so this is a false statement as well. We do not purchase our inventory from Auto Auctions, we purchase our inventory from New Car Stores. This has been our practice for over 20 years. Our vehicles are transported to our lot on a car hauler, so Ms. **** again, is incorrect.
At this point we are not going to give her the desired settlement that she listed in her complaint, we have gone above and beyond, starting the day she walked into our dealership and in all that my staff did to try and do to make her and the entourage happy. Had I personally been here the day that Ms. **** came in with her entourage and had I personally observed the behavior her as well as her guests that were in tow were exhibiting, I would have not sold the lady anything from our lot, and I would have told them all to leave. My staff does not need to be treated that way, and the fact that the sale did take place, and from what I personally have witnessed from this customer. This person is beyond unreasonable and there is no making her happy.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting A-1's response.  

I would like to first start off by stating that A-1’s response is as condescending and exaggerated as I thought it would be.  So, I will address each of their comments one by one and explain the facts as they really occurred.

First, let’s address the asking price of $10,950 that A-1 had the 2007 Cobalt listed.  That car is not worth $10,950 even in excellent condition!  The fair retail price according to NADA is $6,575 for a 2007 Cobalt in good or better condition.  So, for A-1 to say that it was a “very good deal” for me is false especially since I am paying an additional $700 for a fuel tank!  Everyone knows the mark-up on used cars is very high.  A-1 is the only party that came out on top in this deal!

Secondly, the “entourage” that A-1 is referring to is my family.  My sister, brother-in-law and niece wanted to see the vehicle.  They were not rude or demanding but were simply asking questions about the vehicle.  None of which, **** the “salesperson”, could answer.  It is our right as consumers to ask questions before a purchase and the fact that it makes A-1 uncomfortable for us to ask questions is suspicious in itself!  If anyone was being rude, it was **** with her constant eye rolling. 

The primary reason my family wanted to be there was because they had heard bad things about A-1.  My sister told me that she had looked at a Jeep Cherokee at A-1 back in 2012 and after looking under the hood found a rag where and oil cap should have been!  So rightly so, they were concerned and had questions.  I am a single mother and they did not want a shady used car dealer to take advantage of me.  A-1’s statement that we were being “rude and obnoxious” and “belittling” to their staff is a lie and an attempt to discredit me and deflect the fault away from them.  I did raise my voice to the owners’ wife after she starting talking to me like I was an idiot and telling me that she would make my decision for me! 

Now for the mechanic they speak of.  First according to A-1, he is “independent and runs a self contained operation totally separate from [their] business” then later ***** refers to him as “their mechanic.”  A-1 is NOT fooling anyone by telling us that they paid to have him remove the tank and were going to take on a greater expense than I to fix the tank.  Also, they make it sound like me asking where the tank is coming from is a bad thing!  This is a fuel tank we are talking about!  I have every right to ask where the part is coming from and since I was being asked to pay for a portion of the repair, it was also my right to ask if it came with a warranty!  These are basic consumer rights that A-1 is claiming that I do not have and they are wrong! 

Now as far as my “threats”, they are not threats.  I intend to tell everyone I know of my terrible experience with A-1. This is my right and don’t worry, I will stick to the facts! The facts speak for themselves and are bad enough without having to exaggerate anything!   I also intend to inform people how to file a formal complaint with the BBB as many consumers may not be aware they have this right.  A-1 threatened to sue me for libel but as I told ***** before she hung up on me “it is only libel if it’s not true.”  Here is the truth:

 A-1 SOLD ME A CAR WITH A LEAKING FUEL TANK.  LEAKING FUEL TANKS CAN CATCH FIRE AND EXPLODE!

I’ve worked as a Risk Manager for C.L Thomas, Inc. for many years and I report directly to our General Counsel who is an attorney.  Never once did I say that I worked for a law firm.  So, I know a thing or two about the law.  I also know about Customer Service and based on my experience with A-1, they know NOTHING about customer service!  There are hundreds of used car dealerships in the area and the ONLY thing that makes one stand out from the other is selling QUALITY vehicles and excellent CUSTOMER SERVICE.  After my terrible experience, it is my opinion that A-1 has neither. 

Lastly, the issue about whether or not A-1 knew about the leaking tank, I never said that A-1 DROVE the car from auction.  I posed a question and it was answered.  It was brought to their lot on a car hauler.  Great! Thank you for answering that question!  However, with that, A-1 also answered the question for every consumer reading this complaint that they DO NOT INSPECT the vehicles they sell!  BUYER BEWARE!!

(I left this off of my original complaint, but I think it’s fitting to add back in now)

After this ordeal, I can’t help but remember the BLINKING neon sign in the A-1 office which reads, “AS IS MEANS NO WARRANTY” which so fittingly shows, in my opinion, that A-1 Used Cars must be proud of the fact that they take advantage of their customers.

Again, BUYER BEWARE!!   




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my vehicle in 2011. I was always changing insurance companys and one time in May they picked up my car. They said because I didn't have insurance, but I did. I even had ***** confirm. They did not give me my car back. They also wanted to charge me $200, because they picked up my car and they weren't supposed to. ***** said it was corporate office that wanted her to do this and today she tells me she is corporate office. I asked her for my paper work and she doesn't give it to me. She's adding charges on my car that are ridiculous. Which shes adding a "restocking" fee. When I had a car company ask for the payoff they kept raising the payoff price. I've paid more than 20,000 or pretty close to this price. I consider this contract paid off. They over priced my car which had 188, 000 miles. everytime I was close to paying it off bang they try to charge me with something.

Desired Settlement: I want my car or a total refund for all the inconvienience. I felt like I was discriminated against. She was very rude and not business additude. The office never called me and they lie saying they did. I also want an appology.

Business Response: This is our response to the complaint submitted on 8/22/2013 by ******** ****** **********, her claims are absurd, and completely inaccurate, even the purchase date she has submitted is incorrect. The truth, (in which I have paper documentation) is that yes we did sell them a vehicle on 2-25-2011, I, ***** am not the salesperson either as she has stated. The fact is we have gone above and beyond with these customers. The claims that she continuously was changing insurances companies and we repossessed her vehicle while insured is as well inaccurate. Initially, the first 2 payments were made on time, starting with their third payment they were a week behind.
They were perpetually late on their payments; at one point they were 59 days behind on payments. **** and ******** were not able to maintain full coverage insurance which is a requirement within our contract and they were aware as they each signed several documents that reflect the necessity of maintaining a full coverage insurance policy at all times while the vehicle is being financed. Their insurance was a main point of contention, it was always cancelled due to non payment, or they just did not renew their policy and it would lapse. Therefore being in violation of state law for not maintaining their financial responsibilities by carrying a liability policy as well as being in violation of the terms of our contract by not maintaining the full coverage or insurance period.
On 5-15-2013, we were contacted by a car salesperson named **** from Port Lavaca Dodge, he said the customers were in his office wanting to trade in the vehicle which we had financed and he wanted a payoff amount. We gave him a payoff amount, good through 5-25-2013, which we reduced by a couple thousand dollars as we were hoping that they would trade the vehicle in, and we would not have the constant battle with these intolerable customers.
We have allowed these customers to pay partial payments but we never waivered on the requirement of insurance. Below is just a small list of our interaction with **** and ******** **********.

Date Account Messages and Times


3- 01-2012--insurance notice received insurance was canceled again 2-25-2012, phone call to customer at 2:46 pm
3-09-2012-- Spoke to ****, he promised to get insurance today or Saturday, phone call to customer at 2:46 pm
3-13-2012-- **** said he would go get insurance today, phone call to customer at 2:46 pm
3-26-2012-- called ********, she said she would get insurance phone call to customer at 4:38 pm
3-28-2012-- ******** said she would get insurance tomorrow for sure, phone call to customer at 2:50 pm
3-30-2012-- called ******** AGAIN NO INSURANCE, she said she was on her way to the insurance company as we were on the phone to get insurance, phone call to customer at 11:28 am
4-03-2012-- AGAIN NO INSURANCE, left a message that we have to have proof of insurance TODAY.
She and **** have both been telling us so many times they would get ins, but have not done so. Phone call to customer at 11:42 am
5-08-2012-- customers will be in Fri 5-11-2012 or Tues 5-15-12 w/payment and promised to finally get insurance phone call to customer at 1:10 pm
6-22-2012-- ******** said she would get insurance Tuesday 6-26-12, phone call to customer at 4:04 pm
6-23-2012-- Left message payment and STILL NO INSURANCE phone call to customer at 10:46 am
6-29-2012-- Left another message on both ****/******** cell phones, INS NO LATER THAN TODAY, phone call to customer at 2:45 pm
7-17-2012-- Still no answer on either phone and NO INSURANCE! phone call to customer at 3:25 pm

If you need me too, I have three whole pages of these notes that are computer generated, all basically saying the same thing. We repossessed the vehicle the final time on June 8, 2013. The certified letter went out that Monday June 10, 2013, and the **********’s never claimed it. On July 3, 2013 at 4:55 pm ******** came to pick up a blue jack from the trunk of the vehicle. We never heard another word from her until August 21, 2013. **** had called earlier in the day wanting to pay $500.00 down, but he did not have the money it would take around 2 weeks for him to get together the money, then resume payments. The complaint that ******** filed with the BBB, is August 22, 2013, the day after she came in cussing and hollering at us in our office, using the F word and other very foul language. All the while, at the time she was in the office acting less than a lady should act, we had customers who were offended and commented on her ludicrous behavior. She became angry and exploded when I told her that we would be happy to sell her the vehicle back, but we refused to finance it. She demanded that we wait 2 weeks while they got together $500.00, and continue on with the payments as if the vehicle had never been repossessed. I told her that we would not finance the vehicle to them and the standard time to retrieve a repossessed vehicle is with in a 20 day period, it has not been 8 months. I told her due to her mouth and her being unable to control her temper she was to leave my office immediately and she continued to use the F word and scream and cuss, I told my secretary to call the police to have her removed. As my secretary was picking up the phone to call 911 due to her erratic behavior, she left screaming as she left she screamed behind her, I am going to contact the BBB. All of her erratic behavior is on our security surveillance cameras in the office. This is totally unacceptable behavior especially inside of a business office, in the end she was completely out of line and her behavior inside of our office in front of customers was not very flattering, nor was it behavior to be proud of. Her husband had called twice earlier in the day and wanted to know if he could put $500.00 down on the car and get it back, but they would not have the money for another 2 weeks. While she was cussing me inside our business, she said we never sent her a repossession letter, we showed her proof we had and she said well we moved. Ironically another inconsistency with ******** **********’s story is that on her complaint she has the address listed as the one we have on our file and is the same one that we sent the certified letter too.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The information is inacurate. I am not going to lie I was angry and upset and may have raised my voice.  I do not cuss though and do not appreciate how she is ramping and raving about how I cuss. I've never changed my address and she is lying about me telling her workers about my address changing.  I never said ***** sold me the vehicle and again she is caught in a lie. I've paid good on my account for a very long time and she can show you that documentation.  See she didn't lie about one thing,  because when I say I'm going to do one thing I do it. For instance reporting their business to the BBB! ***** has no empathy and we had the money the day they picked up my car to pay on my account,  but who wants to do business correctly when the business isn't doing their job correctly.  As you can tell she never denied picking my car up. I did have insurance on my car and it was covered and she tried to charge me $200 for repoing my car and it should have never gotten repoed. This is why I go to the business, because I stand up for myself.  I agree she should send all documentation, because I never received a certified letter and it should show that. Even if she denies finishing our contract which she doesn't want to do....I will pray God will grant her the knowledge and wisdom to do the right thing.  I really did try to do my best to pay this car off as soon as I could,  but things happen.  When they happened I called their office to let them know.  I never left them in the dark. Me and my husband kept in contact to let them know we were trying to get the car back, because they never tried calling me or my husband.  All I can do is pray that God will take care of this case. I've done my part and God will do the rest. 

Regards,

******** **********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.