BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Volkswagen of Corpus Christi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Volkswagen of Corpus Christi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Volkswagen of Corpus Christi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 12, 2007 Business started: 10/12/2007 in TX Business started locally: 10/12/2007 Business under new ownership as of: 06/01/2010 Business incorporated: 06/04/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Leo Griggs, Partner Mr. Eddie Lee, GM/Operating Partner Mr. John Newell, President Ms. Janie Lopez, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leo Griggs, Partner
Principal: Mr. Eddie Lee, GM/Operating Partner
Principal: Mr. John Newell, President
Related Businesses
Fiat of Corpus Christi
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
CCLEL Investments, LP
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 6902 S Padre Island Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78412 (361) 653-8400

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** *******, my Mother **** ******* and I purchased a 2012 **** ***** From ********** ** ****** ******i. We told the salesman we did not want a car that had been in a rental fleet. Salesman said that it wasn't and he would give me a car fax. We were very specific that we did not want a car that had been in a rental fleet and he assured us that this car had not been. He told us that the car fax was not available at the time of purchase. We went back one week later he said car fax was there, we went back to the dealership and reviewed the car fax, and the car fax indicated that the car had been in a rental fleet and the car was purchased at auction. We told him that we were unhappy and wanted to talk to ***** ***** 10% owner of ********** ** ****** ******i. We met with Mr. Perez about being mislead about the sale of this vehicle and also the interest rate on the Volkswagen beetle that was not the interest rate we had negotiated. He told my mom, **** *******, to take the contract on the Volkswagen beetle back to her own bank and renegotiate the interest rate. The Volkswagen cc sport, he said, "there was nothing that could be done." we showed him the car fax and we told him that we did not want the car, because it had, indeed been in a rental fleet. My mother and myself were upset and angry and he said he couldn't help us. We had an argument, I expressed my feeling that i had been lied to, and the sale of car was deceptive. After that he told us to get off of his property. The majority owner of Volkswagen of c.c. had to get between him and myself after he got in my face. My mother was very scared, she was 77 years old at the time. At the beginning of July of 2014 the engine failed on this car and the lifetime warranty for motor and transmission according to them is null and void because i didn't have the car service on location. The warranty for motor and transmission that i signed is not in my loan packet at teachers employees credit(There are more details being sent)

Desired Settlement: I want my car engine fixed or my money back. we are currently talking to an attorney who feels that we may bhave a case for deceptive trade practices.

Business Response: I spoke to *** ******* yesterday about his vehicle and concerns.  I told him that I needed oil change receipts and that I am very interested in helping him getting his vehicle repaired.  Once we receive the documentation proving he has kept the maintenance up on his vehicle, we will be happy to perform the needed repairs.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I accept the response at this time, that the dealership is offering. That a factory representative will look at vehicle this Thursday.

 



Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2010 jeep commander and was told that they would fix the bumpers that had damage on them . I was told to call next week to set up to get the bumpers fixed . I drove the car off the lot and within 20 miles the car started to break down I returned to the dealership and they said they would fix it and would go ahead and fix the bumpers and install the towing package that was agreed on. It has been a week and a half later and my car still isn't ready and now they do not want to fix the bumpers. They lied to me and said what they had to to sell a car and now won't stick by their word.

Desired Settlement: I want them to do what they promised and stick by their words and for them to practice honestly.

Business Response: This is the first I have heard of this.  However, upon further investigation, we will repair the bumper as our salesperson stated to the customer.  Our sales manager was not aware of this issue since there were no notes of the need to repair the bumper in the deal folder.  We are very sorry for the misunderstanding.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Regards,

****** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i walked into the dealership either looking to sell my car to dealer or purchase a new car. the offer was made to me that they would purchase my car for $14,500.00. They were not able to write check out at that time and stated that i return the next day at 0930, when i returned they said check was not ready and that it should take 2 more days. as i waited for this check i cancelled my insurance and reported to credit bureau that i no longer will be making payments because the dealer had purchased my vehicle. the next evening i received a phone call stating they will not buy car back for initial amount stated and that i could either walk in and pick up car or sell it to them for $11000. i was outraged. the manager stated that if i had purchased new car they would have honored the $14,500.00. they also did not send out check to volkswagon America as stated to me, which was a lie.

Desired Settlement: i am a disabled veteran and was put into distress when all this occured. compensation for no vehicle for 3 days and free repair to vehicle that they stated it needed. there was also a recall on my 2012 VW and that was not told to me nor did they fix it while vehicle was in dealerships hands being reviewed by mechanics.

Business Response: I contacted Ms. **** on the day we received the complaint. She has elected to have her vehicle fixed instead of selling it. We replaced the steering rack at no charge to her and provided her with a loan car to use while we were waiting on parts and for the repair to be completed. Her vehicle will be ready today. We are very sorry for the problem with our manager and he has been reprimanded for his poor decision. If Ms. **** is not happy, please direct her to me personally.

Thanks,

***** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I negotiated the purchase of a 2014 Volkswagen GTI over the course of several days. All of the negotiations were for the car with multiple accessories including a bike rack and 2 bikes. I was called back into the dealership and told that the management agreed to my asking price for the car and all requested accessories. I signed the contract and left for work. The dealership promised to install all the accessories and have the car ready for delivery the following day. That evening my salesman was working with parts and service to get the car accessorized as promised. He was informed that the bike rack and bikes had been removed from the deal in order to meet my price. I was not informed of the removal until the salesman called me. I told him that I agreed to the price for the vehicle with the bike rack and bikes. I then informed him that I had no intention of buying the vehicle unless they honored the agreement. He stated that they would not and I informed him that I would not be taking delivery of the vehicle. I subsequently purchased a vehicle from a local **** dealership. I received a bill for a loan from *** ******** ****. Apparently the dealership has taken the loan money without delivering the vehicle or informing me of their actions.

Desired Settlement: I have informed *** ******** Bank of the above and they advised me that they would note the account and that I should contact the dealership to have them pay off the loan, contact the BBB and the state Attorney General. I called the dealership and left a message with the ******** ** ******* and have not heard back from them. This is my contact with you. Please assist in this matter. I have already purchased another vehicle from a trustworthy dealer and have no intention of taking delivery of this vehicle. I would like for this dealership to repay the loan which the took out in my name for a car they failed to deliver as promised. I would also like a letter sent to all three credit bureaus explaining that I never purchased this vehicle.

Business Response: According to ***** *****, ***** *******, we did agree to the bikes and bike rack to be included into the car deal.  However, *** ****** took it upon himself to go through the parts department and add upgraded wheels to the car deal which is not what we agreed to nor had knowledge of.  When we approached *** ****** about this, he said the only way he was going to complete the deal was if everything was installed.  With the wheels, the dealership would have lost a significant amount of money and the deal never went through.  The dealership was not funded on the car deal either.  Since we were into negotiations with *** ******, credit was pulled on all 3 credit bureaus which is a normal process when attempting to purchase a vehicle.  We did everything *** ****** negotiated and in good faith we installed the bike rack on the vehicle.  It was when he started adding other equipment without our knowledge is when the deal fell through.  We made numerous attempts to contact *** ****** but he would not return our calls.  We respectfully ask that this case be closed without further action.  We did everything we had negotiated in the deal and the customer wanted over and above what we had agreed to in our final negotiations. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:the deal for the car was to have included everything including wheels. All I need in order to close this complaint is for the dealership to close out the loan they made with *** ******** I have been receiving late notices for car payments on the car I did not buy. If they will payoff the loan I will drop the complaint.

Regards,
**** ******

Business Response: Upon further investigation, *** ****** signed a contract; based on our agreement, we installed a bike rack and 2 bikes and we sent the contract to the lender.  Afterwards, *** ****** attempted to get wheels installed which were not part of the deal.  We called him to come pick up his vehicle and he wouldn't return our calls.  We feel like we were misled by the customer and as a result are out a significant amount of money. We had a contract with the customer and he did not follow through on his part.  Nevertheless, the vehicle has been paid off. The check has already cleared our bank.  Check # ***** was paid on July 14, 2014.  Please close this complaint.

***** *** **** ********* 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:you may not use money borrowed against my name to purchase a car that you have not delivered and which was not equipped as promised. Your own former employee will testify that You guys didn't live up to what was promised and in fact removed items from the deal without my knowledge or the knowledge of my salesperson. If you do not pay off the loan I will be contacting the Texas state attorney general . I await your reply but this is my last offer to handle this out of court and off of social media

Regards,
**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My **** ********** ******* was taken in for a routine 60000 mile service. I paid my invoice in full and drove my vehicle home and parked in my garage. When i went back to my vehicle 2-3 days later I noticed a large amount of Oil under my vehicle. I promptly called my service advisor and I took my vehicle back in. They discovered that the oil drain plug was improperly put back into place. They corrected the issue but then when I got my vehicle back the air filter box was halfway open and there was a piece of plastic inside the the box. I am very disappointed with the poor service I have received and now stuck with a major oil spot on my garage. I don't feel that my service was ever properly done and I am now forced to take my vehicle to an out of town dealer which now will cost me addl money out of my pocket for this dealers poor service practices. I don't trust that this dealer ever performed the service i was charged for.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of the $538.16 that I spent at this dealer.

Business Response: We have investigated the complaint and found the following: The oil leak was from the oil drain plug crush washer was defective and did not seal properly.  We offered the customer a free oil change on his next service for his inconvenience.  He stated to us that he wanted us to refund the entire amount of the service which we respectfully declined.  The dollar value of the oil change on a ******* is $83.50 which we felt was a fair good will offer.  The 60,000 mile service does not require replacement of the engine air filter and this was explained to the customer at time of pick up.  We did replace the cabin air filter which is part of this service and the customer was advised of this as well.  We are very sorry for his inconvenience and hope that he reconsiders having his car serviced at our dealership in the future.  The root cause of the problem was a faulty part though.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The offer does nothing to address the damage the oil leak did to my garage nor explain the reason why my air filter box was left open with a piece of plastic in the air box. The offer is simply a ploy to get me back to their dealership which I will not do.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: We are very sorry Mr. ******* rejected our offer of $250 credit toward his next service.  He only wanted a refund and vowed to not do business with us again even if he received a refund.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* we have been in contact and we have worked out an acceptable solution.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The customer service experience was poor, and they originally attempted to sell the car for $2000 more than they had it listed for online. Then, when I had decided to purchase the car for the agreed online price, they tried to charge me for items they installed, which I had not requested. We worked out all the pricing issues, but after purchasing the vehicle, I began to receive mail solicitations concerning the vehicle, and concerning specific features of the vehicle (i.e. ****** ********* radio). I never signed an agreement to let them sell my information, and I believe they have against my will.

Desired Settlement: For the solicitations to stop immediately and for their privacy policy to be amended so that they can't sell other customer's information.

Business Response: Volkswagen of Corpus Christi does not sell any customer information to anyone. There is a strict policy in place and it is adhered to.  Apparently the vehicle came with a satellite radio and the satellite provider has access to registration information.  Volkswagen of Corpus Christi does not have an agreement to supply any change of ownership information with the satellite provider nor do we know how the information was obtained.  

Sincerely,

***** ***
Vice President / GM
Volkswagen of Corpus Christi

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Put in 3 times for same repair, then car returned to me unfixed. They refunded money but refused to honor pledge to fix the car. Turned in 98 VW Bug for A/C repair. Costs approx $350. Not fixed. Took back next day. Costs approx $150 more after they agreed to waive $250 in labor. Not fixed. Took back third time next day. Told them we would not pay anymore after being charged twice for same repair and they took the car in to fix it. After over two weeks they simply said we had to come up with $500 more or they wouldn't fix it. After almost 3 weeks and over $500 they are simply handing us back the car. They are returning the money of course or we'd sue them, but we are left after all this time with the same repair issue we took to them in the first place. They are supposed to be the 'experts' as the dearlership of that car, and could not fix it. They should not be allowed to carry the VW name if they can't back it up with knowledge that should have easily detected an A/C repair problem.

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Business Response: .

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: USED 2013 Nissan Titan SV Price $25,995 engine: 5.6L V8 32V MPFI DOHC interior: Black stock number: ******* transmission: Automatic vin: ***************** mileage: 16,887 (actual mileage may very) After test drives they truck they quoted me $29,995 with my trade in valued at $9,500. I then told them that the price was too high and that it was advertised on their website at $25,995 They said that the car was valued at $39,455. I told them i could buy a new truck for that. I went home to check the webiste again with the vin number and called them back and asked them about the price again. The manager then said we can sell you the truck with your trade in for $27,000. I told then that was false advertisement. He then said it was just a mistake. I said that the $27,000 was not the price they quoted on all their internet site. I then reminded him that he was not honoring the advertised price and that was against the law. I asked him for a copy of the papers they where quoting me. He then said," We'll the only thing that will buy the Truck is a Checkbook and since you are talking about the law I don't need your business." and hung up the phone on me. I have taking snapshots of the websites that have quoted the price of that truck with the vin # above

Desired Settlement: I would like the truck sold to me advertised at the price that was put on their website and would like for them to take in my trade in at the $9,500 which was quoted to me in the beginning making the total of the vehicle $20,495.

Business Response: .

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/19/2012 Delivery Issues