Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Volkswagen of Corpus Christi

Phone: (361) 653-8400 6902 S Padre Island Dr, Corpus Christi, TX 78412 http://www.vwofcc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Volkswagen of Corpus Christi include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Volkswagen of Corpus Christi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Volkswagen of Corpus Christi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 2007 Business started: 10/12/2007 in TX Business started locally: 10/12/2007 Business under new ownership as of: 06/01/2010 Business incorporated 06/04/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Leo Griggs, Partner Mr. Eddie Lee, GM/Operating Partner Mr. John Newell, President Ms. Janie Lopez, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leo Griggs, Partner
Principal: Mr. Eddie Lee, GM/Operating Partner
Principal: Mr. John Newell, President
Related Businesses
Fiat of Corpus Christi
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
CCLEL Investments, LP
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6902 S Padre Island Dr

    Corpus Christi, TX 78412 (361) 653-8400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2007 MINI Cooper S Hardtop in August of 2014. When I test drove it the engine light was on and they said that they needed to replace one part and then the car would be in working condition. When I signed the "as is" form the salesman said the car would be in good working condition. I waited 2 days after purchasing the vehicle to pick it up as they were replacing the part. When I turned it on the engine light on the screen was on but not the one on the dash. The salesman said that this was fine. Within a week the other engine light turned back on. I took it back and they said they would fix it. This happened multiple times with me picking it up and the engine light would be off then it would turn back on in 1 or 2 days. They replaced the fuel pump. After a month of me taking it back in they said they wouldn't try to fix it anymore and would charge me over a hundred dollars just to look at it. My job is as a delivery driver so I had no choice but to drive it. I switched vehicles with my boyfriend because he drove less. It died within 5 months of purchase on a freeway access road in town. We took it to Roy's repair shop and he said the timing chain had broken, (Which supposedly isn't supposed to happen) and that the cylinders and pistons were probably bent. He said that the car would need the engine replaced, but he couldn't do that at his shop as special equipment was needed. He did not even put the car back together as he wanted to save me labor charges. We towed the car back to my house and it has remained there since. I called the bmw shop in town and they said they could not work on MINI's. I called the closest MINI dealer which is in San Antonio and I am in Corpus Christi. They said that it would cost 10,000 to replace the engine, which is more than I owe on the vehicle. I have been calling lemon law, and consumer lawyers and they said they could not help me.

Desired Settlement: I want the car either fixed or that VW takes the car back and issues a refund or just that I don't have to pay anymore on the loan. I just got my teaching certification as a science teacher and cannot afford 2 car payments.

Business Response: We have reviewed the service history and contract documents associated with this vehicle.  It appears we spent a considerable amount of money to correct the check engine light problem and didn't charge our customer for anything.  The timing chain problem is an entirely separate problem from the check engine light.  The vehicle was running the last time we saw it here at our dealership and there is no way we could have predicted the timing chain would break.  We did offer the customer the opportunity to purchase an extended warranty for the vehicle but they declined.  The vehicle was sold "as is" and the customer signed off acknowledging this fact.  We are very sorry about this unfortunate situation but there is nothing Volkswagen of Corpus Christi did to cause this problem nor is there anything we could have done to prevent it from breaking.  There were no signs of a problem with the timing chain when the vehicle left our dealership.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The issue with the engine light was consistent and never resolved. The car only stopped running because the timing chain snapped. MINI sent out a service bulletin about the timing chains, which should have been replaced before resale. This car should not have been sold as a safe car in the condition it was in. When I took it in to you, you didn't know what was wrong with it and replaced parts that you thought might help. I am not asking for anything ridiculous, I just want you to take the car back and take on the responsibility of the remaining balance on the loan. A coworker of mine has had a similar catastrophic failure of her car bought from you as well, that was not a MINI. I know this isn't a one time incident. It was probably only traded in for about $5,000 and I have already paid about 3,000 on it. You would get the car back and any parts you used would have minimal use. At this point in time with the car and the service I received, if anyone asked about your business, I would tell them to run like hell. 

Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: I understand your frustration with your vehicle.  However, we are not a Mini dealer and do not have access to any service campaigns as you suggest in your response.  Before any used vehicle is placed on our lot for sale, we have our technicians perform an inspection process.  If there is something found in need of repair that affects the drivability or safety of the vehicle, we make the necessary repairs or sell it at auction if the repairs exceed good business practices.  This vehicle was running when we took it in on trade and there was considerable money spent on reconditioning.  The check engine light came on after it left the service department and we made the necessary repairs to correct what was triggering the light.  Unfortunately, the light came back on after you picked it up.  Once again, we made repairs, cleared the codes in the electronic control module, test drove the car and the light did not come back on.  We had no reason to believe that we didn't have a good fix.  If you look at the sequence of events, Volkswagen of Corpus Christi made good faith efforts to correct the check engine light problem and at our expense.  At no time did we ever have any indication there was a problem with the timing chain. 

We sell a lot of different makes and models and do not have access to any of their service bulletins other than Volkswagen.  As I stated in my previous correspondence, there is no way we could have predicted the timing chain was going to break.  The vehicle was running when it left here.  We lost money on the sale of the vehicle and we also spent money on repairs after the vehicle was sold.  If there was something that we did wrong that caused the failure, we would be having a different conversation but there wasn't.  We are very sorry, but we cannot assume liability for the timing chain breaking.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

In your response you make it seem like you fixed the issue each time, this is simply not true. The check engine light would turn back on within the first couple trips the car would make. The check engine light on the dash was on when you had me pick up the car. Also, given that you were working on a MINI shouldn't you have researched service bulletins? You may have lost money on the car but I lost a lot more money than you did on the purchase and received nothing but strife for it. You one hundred percent did something wrong, you sold a young girl a car you knew was crap as if it were in working condition. I know you have done it before as well. You can own up to it and make amends and possibly keep on a customer and her family for future business, or you can be crooks and lose customers because I do not intend on letting people I know risk buying from you. 

Regards,

***** ********

5/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2015 Getta GLI from this dealership Dec. 29, 2014. During the purchase there was high pressured sales, as a result I agreed to an extended service contract for a new car priced at $2,000. i had 30 days to cancel the extended warranty for a full refund of the cost of $2,000. I called the dealership in January to cancel the extended warranty. As of January 20, 2015 the extended warranty was cancelled. As of today April 20th the $2000 dollars has not been credited to BMW financial services, the Lien Holder/ Creditor. As a result i am having to pay interest in a higher balance. Numerous calls have been made to the dealership. My last two calls have been ignored, there was no call back. In addition I also was forced to pay $299 for a *** **** and Paint & Fabric Protection for $199. Thats an additional $500 dollars that I was told needed to be included and in the state of Texas it was mandatory to purchase the *** ****. Car has been a lemon, I had a blow out, had to pay for the replacement of a tire, $256 dollars. Car radio was causing battery drain, in the shop for several weeks. I drove the car for over 60 days with no radio. I asked to trade the car for a same model was told no by sales rep.

Desired Settlement: I want the $2000 credited back to the BMW financial, to reflect as soon as possible. I would like the $500 dollars credited back to me or the finance company as well.

Business Response: Mr. ***** spoke with ***** **** yesterday and she told him the $2000 for the full warranty cancellation will be sent out to the lender this week.  As for the *** **** and Paint / Fabric Protection, these are products that were already installed on the vehicle prior to sale and are not cancelable products.  If Mr. ***** vehicle has not been repaired to his satisfaction, please have him contact me direct at ###-###-####.  

Sincerely,

***** ***
**** ********* * *******
Volkswagen of Corpus Christi 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I received a call today,04.21.15 from ***** ****, stating refund check would be sent out later this week. The same message was communicated two weeks ago, hopefully this comes to fruition. I appreciate the willingness now to assist with repairs to a brand new vehicle. It's unfortunate that a consumer has to use BBB to get a response from this dealership.
Regards,

****** *****

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the dealership applied the pinstripe decal along the sides of the car the installer used a razor blade and cut into the paint of the car. It is cut all the way down to bare metal. It is only a matter of years before ym clear coat starts to fail and chip from the locations of the cuts.

Desired Settlement: I would like a repair that will last the life of the car. Any professional auto painter will tell you that touch up paint is a quick fix and will prematurely fail.

Business Response: This vehicle was originally wholesaled to Volkswagen of Corpus Christi over 3 years ago.  We made the vehicle ready for sale and contracted with an outside vendor to install window tint and pin stripes soon afterwards.  The vehicle was then dealer traded to Lewisville Volkswagen where it sat on their lot for approximately 11 months before it was sold to to this customer.  It has now been almost 3 years since we have seen this vehicle.  It is our understanding that this customer leased the vehicle and has driven it for approximately 2 years and left the pin striping in place up until recently.  Then he decided to remove the striping and discovered some cuts in the paint.  The customer sent LVW pictures of where the stripes had been removed.  There appeared to be a lot of adhesive from the stripes and some cuts in the paint.  It is difficult to tell the extent of the damage from the pictures or a repair solution.  *** ******, Dealer at Volkswagen of Corpus Christi has spoken to this customer and asked him to bring the car to Corpus Christi for us to look at the damage and allow us the opportunity to get with the vendor that installed the pin stripes.  The customer has refused to allow us the opportunity to help him out.  He simply wants to take the vehicle to a repair shop of his choosing in Austin and for us to pay for the repair.  We do not feel this is reasonable.  It has been almost 3 years since we have even seen this vehicle and we did not sell the vehicle to this customer.  However, we are still willing to look into the matter and offer a resolution should the customer decide to allow us the opportunity.  We will not entertain simply paying for something we cannot see (other than pictures).  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********the resolution described is not the resolution i originaly received. I was originally told by *** that the only thing he would do is apply touch up paint . I have taken it to a local body shop and their professional opinion is that it needs to be repainted . Touch up paint is not an adequate fix. I have an extremely busy work schedule and would love to get the chance to go down to the beach but I simply can not afford to take the time away from work. I would like to get 1 or 2 quotes from body shops near my home and send to *** to go over.  It is apparent that a gouge in the paint was covered with the pinstripe , almost like it was to cover someone's mistake . My statue of limitations is 1 year of the discovery  of incident and I am within that. The paint of the car is like its protective shell and with cuts in my paint my cars paint will fail prematurely . To some people they see a car as an object , I see my car as a family member and I need her to last as long as possible . The bottom line is the damage was done while in the care of your dealership so I expect your dealership to make right. Your dealership is 7 hours round trip from my house . The repair must take place in austin , *** has a friend that works at the onion creek dealership and I am sure he has a body shop that he can refer to ***. If you are unwilling to compromise and work something out my social media campaign will continue and the matter will be escalated . 

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: We have made our offer to look at the vehicle and once we have made a determination as to the origin of the damage, we will bring in the vendor that performed the work if it is deemed their responsibility.  This vehicle has not been in our possession in almost 3 years therefore it is unreasonable for Volkswagen of Corpus Christi to assume any liability without first having the opportunity to view the alleged damage in person.  Any slanderous or damaging media against this dealership regarding this situation will be dealt with by our attorney. As previously stated, the majority owner of Volkswagen of Corpus Christi (*** ******) has personally offered to help resolve this situation with this customer however we must see the vehicle in person in order to determine the next steps. This is our final offer.   

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: there have been no talk for a resolution.A scratch was blatantly covered up by the pinstripe. What will happen once you look at the damage and deem that it was in fact done by the installer of the pinstripe?

Regards,

***** ******

9/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** *******, my Mother **** ******* and I purchased a 2012 **** ***** From ********** ** ****** ******i. We told the salesman we did not want a car that had been in a rental fleet. Salesman said that it wasn't and he would give me a car fax. We were very specific that we did not want a car that had been in a rental fleet and he assured us that this car had not been. He told us that the car fax was not available at the time of purchase. We went back one week later he said car fax was there, we went back to the dealership and reviewed the car fax, and the car fax indicated that the car had been in a rental fleet and the car was purchased at auction. We told him that we were unhappy and wanted to talk to ***** ***** 10% owner of ********** ** ****** ******i. We met with Mr. Perez about being mislead about the sale of this vehicle and also the interest rate on the Volkswagen beetle that was not the interest rate we had negotiated. He told my mom, **** *******, to take the contract on the Volkswagen beetle back to her own bank and renegotiate the interest rate. The Volkswagen cc sport, he said, "there was nothing that could be done." we showed him the car fax and we told him that we did not want the car, because it had, indeed been in a rental fleet. My mother and myself were upset and angry and he said he couldn't help us. We had an argument, I expressed my feeling that i had been lied to, and the sale of car was deceptive. After that he told us to get off of his property. The majority owner of Volkswagen of c.c. had to get between him and myself after he got in my face. My mother was very scared, she was 77 years old at the time. At the beginning of July of 2014 the engine failed on this car and the lifetime warranty for motor and transmission according to them is null and void because i didn't have the car service on location. The warranty for motor and transmission that i signed is not in my loan packet at teachers employees credit(There are more details being sent)

Desired Settlement: I want my car engine fixed or my money back. we are currently talking to an attorney who feels that we may bhave a case for deceptive trade practices.

Business Response: I spoke to *** ******* yesterday about his vehicle and concerns.  I told him that I needed oil change receipts and that I am very interested in helping him getting his vehicle repaired.  Once we receive the documentation proving he has kept the maintenance up on his vehicle, we will be happy to perform the needed repairs.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I accept the response at this time, that the dealership is offering. That a factory representative will look at vehicle this Thursday.

 



Regards,

****** *******

9/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2010 jeep commander and was told that they would fix the bumpers that had damage on them . I was told to call next week to set up to get the bumpers fixed . I drove the car off the lot and within 20 miles the car started to break down I returned to the dealership and they said they would fix it and would go ahead and fix the bumpers and install the towing package that was agreed on. It has been a week and a half later and my car still isn't ready and now they do not want to fix the bumpers. They lied to me and said what they had to to sell a car and now won't stick by their word.

Desired Settlement: I want them to do what they promised and stick by their words and for them to practice honestly.

Business Response: This is the first I have heard of this.  However, upon further investigation, we will repair the bumper as our salesperson stated to the customer.  Our sales manager was not aware of this issue since there were no notes of the need to repair the bumper in the deal folder.  We are very sorry for the misunderstanding.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Regards,

****** *********

8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i walked into the dealership either looking to sell my car to dealer or purchase a new car. the offer was made to me that they would purchase my car for $14,500.00. They were not able to write check out at that time and stated that i return the next day at 0930, when i returned they said check was not ready and that it should take 2 more days. as i waited for this check i cancelled my insurance and reported to credit bureau that i no longer will be making payments because the dealer had purchased my vehicle. the next evening i received a phone call stating they will not buy car back for initial amount stated and that i could either walk in and pick up car or sell it to them for $11000. i was outraged. the manager stated that if i had purchased new car they would have honored the $14,500.00. they also did not send out check to volkswagon America as stated to me, which was a lie.

Desired Settlement: i am a disabled veteran and was put into distress when all this occured. compensation for no vehicle for 3 days and free repair to vehicle that they stated it needed. there was also a recall on my 2012 VW and that was not told to me nor did they fix it while vehicle was in dealerships hands being reviewed by mechanics.

Business Response: I contacted Ms. **** on the day we received the complaint. She has elected to have her vehicle fixed instead of selling it. We replaced the steering rack at no charge to her and provided her with a loan car to use while we were waiting on parts and for the repair to be completed. Her vehicle will be ready today. We are very sorry for the problem with our manager and he has been reprimanded for his poor decision. If Ms. **** is not happy, please direct her to me personally.

Thanks,

***** ***

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I negotiated the purchase of a 2014 Volkswagen GTI over the course of several days. All of the negotiations were for the car with multiple accessories including a bike rack and 2 bikes. I was called back into the dealership and told that the management agreed to my asking price for the car and all requested accessories. I signed the contract and left for work. The dealership promised to install all the accessories and have the car ready for delivery the following day. That evening my salesman was working with parts and service to get the car accessorized as promised. He was informed that the bike rack and bikes had been removed from the deal in order to meet my price. I was not informed of the removal until the salesman called me. I told him that I agreed to the price for the vehicle with the bike rack and bikes. I then informed him that I had no intention of buying the vehicle unless they honored the agreement. He stated that they would not and I informed him that I would not be taking delivery of the vehicle. I subsequently purchased a vehicle from a local **** dealership. I received a bill for a loan from *** ******** ****. Apparently the dealership has taken the loan money without delivering the vehicle or informing me of their actions.

Desired Settlement: I have informed *** ******** Bank of the above and they advised me that they would note the account and that I should contact the dealership to have them pay off the loan, contact the BBB and the state Attorney General. I called the dealership and left a message with the ******** ** ******* and have not heard back from them. This is my contact with you. Please assist in this matter. I have already purchased another vehicle from a trustworthy dealer and have no intention of taking delivery of this vehicle. I would like for this dealership to repay the loan which the took out in my name for a car they failed to deliver as promised. I would also like a letter sent to all three credit bureaus explaining that I never purchased this vehicle.

Business Response: According to ***** *****, ***** *******, we did agree to the bikes and bike rack to be included into the car deal.  However, *** ****** took it upon himself to go through the parts department and add upgraded wheels to the car deal which is not what we agreed to nor had knowledge of.  When we approached *** ****** about this, he said the only way he was going to complete the deal was if everything was installed.  With the wheels, the dealership would have lost a significant amount of money and the deal never went through.  The dealership was not funded on the car deal either.  Since we were into negotiations with *** ******, credit was pulled on all 3 credit bureaus which is a normal process when attempting to purchase a vehicle.  We did everything *** ****** negotiated and in good faith we installed the bike rack on the vehicle.  It was when he started adding other equipment without our knowledge is when the deal fell through.  We made numerous attempts to contact *** ****** but he would not return our calls.  We respectfully ask that this case be closed without further action.  We did everything we had negotiated in the deal and the customer wanted over and above what we had agreed to in our final negotiations. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:the deal for the car was to have included everything including wheels. All I need in order to close this complaint is for the dealership to close out the loan they made with *** ******** I have been receiving late notices for car payments on the car I did not buy. If they will payoff the loan I will drop the complaint.

Regards,
**** ******

Business Response: Upon further investigation, *** ****** signed a contract; based on our agreement, we installed a bike rack and 2 bikes and we sent the contract to the lender.  Afterwards, *** ****** attempted to get wheels installed which were not part of the deal.  We called him to come pick up his vehicle and he wouldn't return our calls.  We feel like we were misled by the customer and as a result are out a significant amount of money. We had a contract with the customer and he did not follow through on his part.  Nevertheless, the vehicle has been paid off. The check has already cleared our bank.  Check # ***** was paid on July 14, 2014.  Please close this complaint.

***** *** **** ********* 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:you may not use money borrowed against my name to purchase a car that you have not delivered and which was not equipped as promised. Your own former employee will testify that You guys didn't live up to what was promised and in fact removed items from the deal without my knowledge or the knowledge of my salesperson. If you do not pay off the loan I will be contacting the Texas state attorney general . I await your reply but this is my last offer to handle this out of court and off of social media

Regards,
**** ******

3/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS COMPANY ADVERTISES BY MAKING THIS STATEMENT ("EVERYONE IS APPROVED, IF WE CAN'T APPROVE YOU WE WILL GIVE YOU $1000.00") AND THEY ALSO STATE, ("WE CAN APPROVE YOU IN 15 MINUTES, WE ARE NOT LIKE THE OTHER DEALERSHIPS THAT KEEP YOU WAITING FOR HOURS")I PERSONALLY WENT AND TRIED TO APPLY FOR A CAR NOTE AND I WAS TOLD THEY COULD NOT TAKE MY CAR AS A TRADE IN BECAUSE I WOULD NEED A $3000 DOWN PAYMENT, AT THAT POINT I BRING UP THE $1000 FOR BEING DENIED CREDIT FINANCING, THEN A SALES MGR, COMES OVER AND STARTS TO TRY TO EXPLAIN, WHEN I GENTLY INTERRUPT HIM AND ASKED, WHAT IF I DON'T TRADE IN MY CAR, CAN I TRY WITH A 0 DOWN AND HE SAYS ABSOLUTELY, WE CAN GET YOU IN A 2014 JETTA, BECAUSE OF THE INCENTIVES AND SPECIAL PROGRAMS FOR NEW CARS. I ACTUALLY WENT THROUGH THE ENTIRE PROCESS WITH TEST DRIVING AND ALL THE PAPERWORK SIGNED INCLUDING 6 REFERENCES THEN I WAITED FOR 3 HRS, THERE IN THE FACILITY, PLUS ANOTHER 6 HRS AT MY PLACE OF BUSINESS FOR A SIMPLE DENIAL. I KNEW IT WOULD NOT BE EASY TO FINANCE ME ANOTHER VEHICLE, BUT SO DID THEY. JUST BY THE ATTITUDE I WAS GIVEN FROM THE CAR SALEMAN, HE WAS NOT HAPPY GOING THROUGH THE MOTIONS, BUT HE HAD TO. NOW I CALL THE NEXT DAY AND SPEAK TO THE ONLINE MGR. I ORIGINALLY SPOKE TO FROM THE VERY BEGINNING BY THE NAME OF ROBERTO PEREZ. I ASK HIM WHY IT TOOK THEM SOOOO LONG JUST TO SAY THAT I NEED NOW A $3000 DOWN PYMNT? HE BECOMES RUDE AND AT EDGE, SO I TELL HIM FINE IV GOT THE CASH CAN I GO GET MY CAR NOW? HE AT THAT POINT SAYS, ("WELL LET ME CALL YOU BACK I NEED TO SPEAK TO THE FINANCE MGR"). OH REALLY, I SAY WHY? YOU SAID IM APPROVED AND I HAVE THE MONEY, CASH, LET ME GO GET MY CAR! HE SAYS I WILL CALL YOU BACK. ITS BEEN OVER 6 HRS, NOW AND STILL NO CALL BACK. MY COMPLAINT IS THEY ARE SHOWING DECEPTIVE TRADE PRACTICES. THEY ARE LIARS! I WILL FOLLOW UP WITH THIS SITUATION, IF I GET NO RESULTS, I WILL FILE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST THE COMPANY FOR DECEPTIVE TRADE PRACTICES.

Desired Settlement: GET ME INTO MY NEW CAR WITH A 0 DOWN PYMNT OR A SMALLER DOWN PAYMENT, IF NOT GIVE ME MY $1000 PLUS ANYBODY ELSE THAT HAS GOTTEN DENIED ALSO.

Business Response: Volkswagen of Corpus Christi does not advertise a $1000 guarantee for financing.  That is Fiat of Corpus Christi that advertises the guarantee.  Mr. ***** who is in the television commercials, is the spokesperson and partner in both Fiat and VW stores.  VW of Corpus Christi does offer a credit solution for everyone.  However, we do not say we can get anyone financed on any car of their choosing with no down payment. Volkswagen of Corpus Christi makes loans for challenged credit customers through Credit Accepatance who does offer a credit solution for every customer.  It is vehicle specific and often requires a substantial down payment.  There are several factors that determine a person's credit worthiness such as income, credit history, the vehicle they are attempting to get financed, down payment, job history, proof of income, proof of residency, up to 10 personal references and the like.  The lender makes the ultimate credit decision, not the dealership.  Depending on the situation, a credit decision may take up to a few days.  Volkswagen of Corpus Christi works hard to get the customer the best loan available but again, in credit challenged situations a substantial down payment may be required (a requirement from the lender).  We are very sorry that we could get this customer financed on the car of her choice with a minimal down payment.  We exhausted every avenue utilizing the parameters she was willing and able to work within.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** *******

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My **** ********** ******* was taken in for a routine 60000 mile service. I paid my invoice in full and drove my vehicle home and parked in my garage. When i went back to my vehicle 2-3 days later I noticed a large amount of Oil under my vehicle. I promptly called my service advisor and I took my vehicle back in. They discovered that the oil drain plug was improperly put back into place. They corrected the issue but then when I got my vehicle back the air filter box was halfway open and there was a piece of plastic inside the the box. I am very disappointed with the poor service I have received and now stuck with a major oil spot on my garage. I don't feel that my service was ever properly done and I am now forced to take my vehicle to an out of town dealer which now will cost me addl money out of my pocket for this dealers poor service practices. I don't trust that this dealer ever performed the service i was charged for.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of the $538.16 that I spent at this dealer.

Business Response: We have investigated the complaint and found the following: The oil leak was from the oil drain plug crush washer was defective and did not seal properly.  We offered the customer a free oil change on his next service for his inconvenience.  He stated to us that he wanted us to refund the entire amount of the service which we respectfully declined.  The dollar value of the oil change on a ******* is $83.50 which we felt was a fair good will offer.  The 60,000 mile service does not require replacement of the engine air filter and this was explained to the customer at time of pick up.  We did replace the cabin air filter which is part of this service and the customer was advised of this as well.  We are very sorry for his inconvenience and hope that he reconsiders having his car serviced at our dealership in the future.  The root cause of the problem was a faulty part though.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The offer does nothing to address the damage the oil leak did to my garage nor explain the reason why my air filter box was left open with a piece of plastic in the air box. The offer is simply a ploy to get me back to their dealership which I will not do.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: We are very sorry Mr. ******* rejected our offer of $250 credit toward his next service.  He only wanted a refund and vowed to not do business with us again even if he received a refund.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* we have been in contact and we have worked out an acceptable solution.

Regards,

***** *******

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The customer service experience was poor, and they originally attempted to sell the car for $2000 more than they had it listed for online. Then, when I had decided to purchase the car for the agreed online price, they tried to charge me for items they installed, which I had not requested. We worked out all the pricing issues, but after purchasing the vehicle, I began to receive mail solicitations concerning the vehicle, and concerning specific features of the vehicle (i.e. ****** ********* radio). I never signed an agreement to let them sell my information, and I believe they have against my will.

Desired Settlement: For the solicitations to stop immediately and for their privacy policy to be amended so that they can't sell other customer's information.

Business Response: Volkswagen of Corpus Christi does not sell any customer information to anyone. There is a strict policy in place and it is adhered to.  Apparently the vehicle came with a satellite radio and the satellite provider has access to registration information.  Volkswagen of Corpus Christi does not have an agreement to supply any change of ownership information with the satellite provider nor do we know how the information was obtained.  

Sincerely,

***** ***
Vice President / GM
Volkswagen of Corpus Christi

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Put in 3 times for same repair, then car returned to me unfixed. They refunded money but refused to honor pledge to fix the car. Turned in 98 VW Bug for A/C repair. Costs approx $350. Not fixed. Took back next day. Costs approx $150 more after they agreed to waive $250 in labor. Not fixed. Took back third time next day. Told them we would not pay anymore after being charged twice for same repair and they took the car in to fix it. After over two weeks they simply said we had to come up with $500 more or they wouldn't fix it. After almost 3 weeks and over $500 they are simply handing us back the car. They are returning the money of course or we'd sue them, but we are left after all this time with the same repair issue we took to them in the first place. They are supposed to be the 'experts' as the dearlership of that car, and could not fix it. They should not be allowed to carry the VW name if they can't back it up with knowledge that should have easily detected an A/C repair problem.

Desired Settlement: See Complaint Text

Business Response: .

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: USED 2013 Nissan Titan SV Price $25,995 engine: 5.6L V8 32V MPFI DOHC interior: Black stock number: ******* transmission: Automatic vin: ***************** mileage: 16,887 (actual mileage may very) After test drives they truck they quoted me $29,995 with my trade in valued at $9,500. I then told them that the price was too high and that it was advertised on their website at $25,995 They said that the car was valued at $39,455. I told them i could buy a new truck for that. I went home to check the webiste again with the vin number and called them back and asked them about the price again. The manager then said we can sell you the truck with your trade in for $27,000. I told then that was false advertisement. He then said it was just a mistake. I said that the $27,000 was not the price they quoted on all their internet site. I then reminded him that he was not honoring the advertised price and that was against the law. I asked him for a copy of the papers they where quoting me. He then said," We'll the only thing that will buy the Truck is a Checkbook and since you are talking about the law I don't need your business." and hung up the phone on me. I have taking snapshots of the websites that have quoted the price of that truck with the vin # above

Desired Settlement: I would like the truck sold to me advertised at the price that was put on their website and would like for them to take in my trade in at the $9,500 which was quoted to me in the beginning making the total of the vehicle $20,495.

Business Response: .

9/19/2012 Delivery Issues