Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights

Phone: (210) 828-1201 Fax: (210) 822-4554 1402 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78209 http://www.volkswagenofalamoheights.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Volkswagen of Alamo Heights meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Volkswagen of Alamo Heights include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Volkswagen of Alamo Heights
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2013 Business started: 03/01/2012 in TX Business started locally: 03/01/2012 Business incorporated 11/21/2011 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Grese, President Mr. Earl Hesterberg, CEO Scott Sharp , GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Grese, President
Principal: Mr. Earl Hesterberg, CEO
Customer Contact: Scott Sharp , GM
Related Businesses
Maxwell Ford
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Service - Specialty Parts

Alternate Business Names
GPI TX-SVIII, Inc
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Buying A Used Car Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Volkswagen of Alamo Heights has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1402 NE Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78209 (210) 828-1201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading and false sales practices by this dealership and its sales reps. Recently, I purchased a previously own used Toyota Tundra truck from this VW dealership. With the full understanding, I was purchasing a used vehicle. The VW Sales Rep, ***** *******, offered to have the Tundra fully clean, detailed and sand blast (detailed wax) while completing the purchase of this vehicle. My problems with this dealership started the day I was taking possession of this vehicle. I had traded-in my Nissan Truck and paid cash for the remaining balance to have a paid cash transaction. During the time of the interior cleaning, I have asked the dealership to validate they would have enough time to complete a thoroughly interior cleaning of the truck. They gave a specific time, and just have to wait additional two hours to have the work done for the interior cleaning. Due to bad weather, the sand blast or detailed wax to the exterior of the truck along with the retouch of some scratches on the truck would need to be scheduled for a later day. By the time I took possession of the truck, the interior cleaning crew at this dealership, had finished the work including replacing the windshield wipers. The Sales rep ***** and I were even surprised they were replacing them, but I thought it was a great part of the overall sales experience at this location. I drove away once they had turned the truck to me. However, just for my surprise when I activated the wipers because it started raining again. The wipers came off and it created a very dangerous and hazard situation for me on while driving. I was able to pull to an ******** and had one of the mechanics look at the wipers, just to realize the VW crew had broken the wiper holders. They had to be replaced and installed properly. I had to spend $40 to correct this situation. I called VW Sales rep ***** the following business day. They did acknowledge and promised to reimburse me for the cost of the new wipers. Their promise was to submit the ticket and eventually I would get a check mailed deliver to me from their corporate office. I have been in the dealership twice and I still haven't been able to submit the receipt for reimbursement yet. My second issue with this dealership was on the fulfillment of their second promise which I had asked in writing, retouch of truck body scratches and the detailed exterior wax, the sand blast which the Sales rep ***** kept bringing up while she was convincing me of the purchase of the Tundra truck. I didn't even know the actual term of this exterior detailed wax until she kept telling me about providing this service in order to be satisfied with the vehicle. Well, by the time we had decent weather and I had called to schedule my appointment to bring the truck back to this dealership. I was instructed to bring the vehicle on either Tuesday or Thursday for the work to be done. This other dealership crew in charge of this type of service would be available only these two days. I had scheduled time off from work to accommodate their schedule. By the time I showed up to the VW dealership, the crew only used a marker and a brush to apply a similar blue color of the truck. Not the same manufacturer's color, just a similar blue navy color to cover of the scratches. Yes, I had the understand with the rep, not to expect the finish of a brand new vehicle, but the fact that such a lousy job was done to the Tundra, I would have been better off buying a restoration kit from Toyota with the equivalent color to have done a better job than just applying any color. After applying this non-matching color, these VW crewmen told me they were done with their job. Then I asked them about the sand blast, exterior detailed wax, to finish of the promise of this dealership. They indicated they were not given instructions for that and that would be an entire day job to complete that type of work. I had asked the Sales rep ***** about why she was under delivering on her promise. She walked away, she told me she was going to ask her boss and never came back to provide final resolution. My work statement written promise from Volkswagen of Alamo Heights, does address the scratches of the Tundra. When I had asked the Sales rep ***** to be specific on adding the language about the Sand blast on that note during the day of the purchased of the vehicle, she indicated she didn't want to be very specific so the VW exterior detailed crew would not short change me and they would do all needed to the truck, retouching, covering the scratches and the sand blast all together, so she left it in broader terms. However, during the time to fulfill their promise, this dealership has nothing but under-delivering on their own promises to complete this sales transaction. I had encountered a very hazard situation with the windshield wipers; I had to accommodate their VW crews’ schedules to be able to get things resolved at this dealership; I had to incur additional cost to fix their mistakes and didn't get what I was promised from this dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my refund on the purchased on the windhield wippers replacements. I want the exterior detailed job to be done properly and completely, including the detailed wax I have on writing. I also want this Sales Manager to be fully aware about the behavior of his Sales reps, not only for misleading customer with their unfulfilled promises, but due to the behavior among Sales reps. They were some arguments and fighting among themselves while disputing about who was servicing specific customers inside this location. This was very poorly behavior from a "reputable" dealership...

Business Response:

I am aware of this and did authorize the reimbursement of the wipers and also I was under the impression that he was going to bring the truck back for the other work.

 

***** *****

 

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2012 Volkswagen Jetta from this dealership on 06/30/2015. I was told the vehicle was to go through service after I purchased it. Immediately I noticed that the transmission was acting weird and out of character for the part, it didn't wanna ***** and I'd have let off the gas before it would and sometimes it would feel like it hit really hard. I didn't know much about transmissions or cars at the time and thought I could trust the dealership beacause they had inspected and were reputable but, apparently not. On 3-2-2015 the vehicle actually stalled out on a major highway at that point I know what ever was going on wasn't normal at all. So I took it to my local Volkswagen dealer and they stated that I needed a new transmission. My warrenty that I purchased covered the cost of the transmission minus the deductible and some of the rental car time loan time as I must have a vehicle to get to work and school. But here's where is gets better! In January 2016 I was driving along the highway going roughly 70 and i heard and felt like I had hit something very hard yet, there was nothing there so I headed over to the nearest car repair place to have my car looked it as the closest Volkswagen dealer was about 45 miles away and I didn't wanna drink be it in a car that I didn't know what the issue was. Well come to find out the big metal coil in the suspension had significant rusting and had just given out. I contacted the dealer multiple times and no one was willing to listen much to the problem much less help me. So I took to Facebook and posted a completely honest review of the business and Scott sharp the general manager left me a number at which I could reach him so the issue could be resolved and I called once a day for two weeks and yet my call was never returned. I would like to recieve a call from this business so arrangements can be made to make this right.

Desired Settlement: Pay for the difference between what my warrenty will pay and the rental car for the transmission and pay for the original repairs that had to be made to the shock struts and metal suspension springs. Approximately $1300

Business Response:

We are in contact with customer and trying to get resolved.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me at this point but an not prepared to close this dispute until payment is recieved. 

Regards,
******* *****

9/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman lied about the car I purchased. He said he would find the spare key or provide one. Upon trying to resolve this after the purchase, he claimed he never made such a claim, disrespected me, then walked away when I told him to stop interrupting me and attempted to speak to him. Had ***** told me there was no key, I would have accepted it and ordered a spare at the time I purchased the car. He lied. He set expectations and failed to deliver. Then ran like a coward upon his realization that I cannot be bullied.

Desired Settlement: Give me the key. It's not unreasonable for me to pay you $14,300 for a car and expect a spare key. Or take the car back, refund me $14,300.

Business Response:

When was this complaint made?  We have already ordered a key for this person.

***** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 13 I bought a 2012 VW Jetta. They lied to me about the car's condition and the services provided. I didn't notice the AC was broken due to the low temperatures at that time. I found out until the weather improved. I called my vendor and he told me to bring the car to the shop for an assessment of the problem. They told me the condenser was falling apart and I have to wait another 3 weeks to get the car repaired using the extended warranty (why not using the initial warranty, the car had the problem from the very beginning). And yet they made me pay the deducible plus other expenses the extended warranty didn't cover. They also lied to me about the problem since in the bill is stated the problem was the AC pressure switch. I've been told the extended warranty couldn't be cancelled until 30 passed, but int that warranty's statements say it can be cancelled before 30 at no charge, so they lied to me again and now I have to pay a $50 penalty for the cancellation. In order to be approved for the finance, I was forced to buy an extended warranty (and in the warranty paperwork stated is not necessary to be approved). They didn't honor the services they promised me if I had such warranty. Nobody to take me home, my car took more than 2 hours in the shop (2 days actually) and they didn't lend me a car as promised. I had to borrow a car from my family. They didn't call me, I had to keep calling to see if the car was fixed or not and, of course, hitch a ride to go and pick up my car.

Desired Settlement: I've been checking the loan's balance and it hasn't go down although I cancelled it already. I consider I shouldn't pay the penalty of cancelling the warranty since I wanted to do so from the beginning but they didn't let me. They sold me a broken car and didn't take responsibility for it. So I want the $155.00 back I paid for the repair plus the interest and tax I already paid for that $2000.00 extended warranty, not to mention that my loan balance must go from $14030 to $12030 so I estimate $355.00 should cover the repair cost, the tax and the interest. And yet I don't consider the way I was treated and all the stress and anxiety this problem brought.

Business Response: First off, this is the first notice I have received about this complaint. I will be happy to look into this tomorrow morning. I have not heard from this customer one time in regards to this issue but again will be happy to look into the matter 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ******

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per BBB Complaint ID ********, I was requesting a cancellation and refund for the extended warranty of the vehicle. They claimed they would honor the cancellation and issue the refund. This refund was supposed to post to the loan on the vehicle. I was promised this in email correspondence with ***** ********. I have not seen any such refund post to the loan after I closed the complaint.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $400 and $1455 immediatly applied to my loan with Wells Fargo (loan number **********) for the vehicle in question.

Business Response: the first check for $400 was mailed out on the 9th of Jan. the 2nd check for $1455 was mailed out on the 16th, we have forwarded copies of both checks to the customer. The delay on the 2nd check was due to a signature that was needed for mileage purposes on the warranty

1/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 VW GTI from VW of Alamo Heights on 8/30/2014. The Sales representative stated that GAP(additional total loss protection) insurance may be required to secure the loan on the vehicle. The finance manager recommended GAP insurance as well as a Service Contract. The GAP insurance contract was through *** ***** & Associates, Inc of ********* ***** ******* with a premium of $400 Addendum# **** ********. The Service Contract was through Enterprise Financial Group, Inc of Irving TX with a premium of $1455 Contract# *******. I verified with the sales manager and written on the contract themselves that these could be canceled within 30 days of purchase for a full refund. I contacted both companies in writing via US Mail as per the instructions on the respective contracts on September 25, 2014. I got a response from *** ***** & Associates, Inc on October 6, 2014 in writing stating the GAP insurance was canceled and a refund of 100% was due. This refund should have been applied to the loan principal. According to my band statements with Wells Fargo, it has not. Enterprise Financial Group, Inc contacted me on October 3, 2014 stating in writing "We are unable to process the attached cancellation. We show no record of this contract in our system. Please contact the selling dealer in reference to your request for cancel the attached contract. I then contacted VW of Alamo Heights in writing on October 8, 2014 stating my desire to cancel, and that I had already tried to cancel the contract directly. I have had no response from VW of Alamo Heights.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $400 and $1455 applied to my loan with Wells Fargo for the vehicle in question.

Business Response: we reached out to Mr. ***** to let him know that he needs to sign a cancellation form to get the refunds processed, as soon as we have the signed form the money will be released to his Wells Fargo account. today we email him the form and ask that he sign it and return it to us

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and as soon as I see the refund post on the vehicle loan, I will  find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
  Thank you for your prompt action


Regards,

****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Volkswagen of Alamo Heights
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart