Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sterling Acura of Austin

Phone: (512) 691-3800 Fax: (512) 691-3798 View Additional Phone Numbers 4801 S Ih 35, Austin, TX 78744 http://www.sterlingacura.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sterling Acura of Austin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sterling Acura of Austin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sterling Acura of Austin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 14, 2003 Business started: 11/01/2003 Business started locally: 11/01/2003 Business incorporated 09/05/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. James Wood, Vice President/General Manager Mr. Tim Caldwell, Service Manager Ms. Valerie Rogers, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Wood, Vice President/General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt

Alternate Business Names
Davis Motorcars of Austin Ltd
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Buying A Used Car Car Repair Tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 4801 S Ih 35

    Austin, TX 78744 (866) 979-8263 (512) 691-3800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle(2014 Acura TL) was serviced at Sterling Acura of Austin on 05/14/2016 for an oil change. The mileage on my vehicle at that time read 21,550 miles. My car broke down and the car had to be towed into the nearest Acura dealership (Auto Nation Acura)with a reading of 23,739 miles. Auto Nation inspected the vehicle and found that the air filter was not replaced in my vehicle when I serviced my vehicle at Sterling Acura. Ironically, the visit prior to this visit, Sterling recommended that I replace the air filters, which I did. My car was driven without an air filter for a total of 2,189 miles. I was deeply troubled by this because dust, grit and sand were more than likey able to get past the air filter (in my case NO-air filter).The likelihood of this getting sucked into the cylinders thus scratching the cylinder walls, then making its way past pistons and piston rings and into the oil supply which would cause the failure of other internal components. Due to the amount of mileage driven without an air filter, sand component, and the car breaking down this is most definitely a sign that the bad particles (sand specific) did indeed go past the MAF and into my engine. At my request(per ASE certified Technician) I requested that they perform a borescope with color to see if the cylinder walls were indeed damaged. Sterling performed the borescope and frwd the pics via email. I frwd the pics to the ASE certified Technician and this were his findings which frwd on to Sterling GM James Wood, Service Mngr *** ******** and Acura Corporate Customer Care with the opinion: A normal cylinder wall will have a cross-hatch pattern on it from when cylinders are board and honed.These are the angled lines that cross each other sideways that you see.All of the vertical strait lines on cylinder walls were caused by the sand getting into cylinders and getting caught between the compression rings on pistons and cylinder walls,causing damage to both rings and the walls.Also the Black and Shiny build-up on top of the pistons is sand.the top of the pistons should not have any solid particle build-up at all at just over 20k miles. As of today (07/07/16) my car has been with Sterling for 3-weeks and the only other test they ran was a compression test which read for all 6 cylinders 275 p.s.i., which was also questionable for all 6 cylinders. Sterling says that from the tests they performed and pics they provided, my vehicle is NORMAL. The 2nd party findings suggest otherwise.

Desired Settlement: Sterling needs to replace my compromised vehicle. They have been giving me the run around. They offered to replace my vehicle with a 2016 but I would have to pay an additional +7k and refinance the additional amount. The 2016 did not include the V6 engine I had on my vehicle. They have still not reimbursed me for money I had to pay to Auto Nation Acura to fix an issue they created by not putting in my air filters. They have been dragging their feet and have acted dishonestly through this whole process.

Business Response:

As of July 19, 2016 our client is still in a loaner vehicle while her car is here. So far we have offered to write a letter to cover any damages that may occur in the future, we have looked the vehicle over and also looked at internals of with a boroscope. We have performed 2 compression test and all is normal. We have found no damage at all. Still we have also offered to replace all internal engine parts that could have been damaged. We also explored avenues to trade her out of the vehicle. As of today we haven't been able to come to an agreement. We continue to work on this issue with our client to find a fair ground for both parties.

Thank You

*** ********

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2013 acura ILX with an existing problem in the model I purchased. Acura aware of problem and aware there is no fix for problem. Acura continues to sell vehicle not informing people of problem.

Business Response:

At the time of purchase Sterling Acura was not aware of the issue that the customer in the complaint is talking about. Acura feels that they will have a fix in the fall and will contact customer at that time. In addition we are willing to trade the customer into another vehicle if need be. We have communicated all of this to the customer and are will help in any way we can. I attempted to contact customer to review trade numbers and she did not return my call. Our goal is to make her happy and I just need to speak with her.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: See Attached 

Regards,

***** **********

Business Response: We have no problem attempting to get customer into a new car and have stated this before. She needs to call us or we can call her and work out a deal to her satisfaction. If this is not acceptable we just need to know what she wants us to do.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

From: ***** ********** [mailto:*********************.com]
Sent: Monday, August 26, 2013 10:48 AM
Subject: Re: BBB - You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint
#*******

 Actually that is not exactly the whole story.

Yes, I was told I could get another car if I wanted to pay
for another car.  The same model was not an option because apparently most
of the ILX cars have the same issue as mine.

I simply can't afford to spend anymore on a car.

Thank you

Regards,

***** **********

-----Original Message-----

From: ***** ********** [mailto:*********************.com]


Sent: Monday, August 26, 2013 7:14 PM
To: info
Subject: complaint # *******
 
Thank you for sending me the response from Sterling Acura
of Austin.

 The truth is they told me yes I could purchase another
car but it would be a more expensive model as all the ILX models seem to have
the same noise problem.  That is what I
was told and in fact  the loaner ILX did
make the same odd noise.  Sounds like a
nice gesture, but I would be spending more money on a car from a dealer that I
no longer trust.

I was not,  and am
not in the position to spend more money on a car.  

I have also contacted the department of motor vehicles.

thank you

***** **********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sterling Acura of Austin
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)