BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are Round Rock Toyota Scion, home to a totally redesigned new and used vehicle showroom, a new multi-million dollar service facility, a collision center, warranty services, parts, accessories, and finance departments. Our new showroom includes 6 vehicle delivery areas, wifi, a coffee bar, and dozens of comfortable chairs around our large high-definition tv. We sell New, Used, and Certified Pre-Owned Scion and Toyota vehicles as well as many other makes of used cars. We are the proud recipients of the Board of Governors Award, President's Cabinet Award, and the President's Award.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Round Rock Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Round Rock Toyota Scion include:

  • 16 complaints filed against business
  • Length of time business has taken to resolve complaint(s)

Factors that raised the rating for Round Rock Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 13, 1997 Business started: 03/01/1985 in TX Business started locally: 03/01/1985 Business incorporated: 09/25/2000 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Caron Corzine, General Manager Megan Grigsby, Marketing Department Mr. Robert M Lang, Fixed Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Caron Corzine, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Products & Services

Round Rock Toyota Scion sells the following brand(s): Nearly all other brands of Pre-Owned vehicles, Scion, Toyota

Round Rock Toyota Scion offers the following product(s): Certified Pre-Owned Toyota, New Scion, New Toyota, Used Scion, Used Toyota

Alternate Business Names
Classic Toyota
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2307 N Interstate 35

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (512) 244-6900

  • P. O. Box 1568

    Round Rock, TX 78680

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2008 toyota tundra that Toyota says needs both rear axle bearings replaced which is a major concern. My extended warranty was out 2/6/14. However, they have known about the problem since 2012 and they have been getting emails from the factory about this problem since 2012. They never notified anybody. All parts in trucks after 2012 have been replaced. Although I am outside my extended warranty for 22 days, these people should be made to fix this as it could result in death when the rear axle locks up. People need to be aware of this. My truck has been in their shop many times for this and in the past they said they could not hear the whining in the rear end but once the warranty lapsed for 22 days I now have a receipt that shows my truck needs both axle bearings replaced. My family's life and other families need to be safe. All trucks 2007 - 2012 need to be fixed. They'd rather have someone's life at risk than do a recall. I'd rather do the recall now than wait for someone to get hurt or killed. They should be made to fix my truck and others.

Desired Settlement: Replace both rear axle bearings

Business Response: The employees at Round Rock Toyota are always very interested in helping our clients get the assistance they need and deserve from the manufacturer or extended Service Company that they have purchased from.  It is in our mutual interests to do this.  Had we been successful in this case, we would have a happy customer and made money from the manufacturer or warranty company in doing so.  So, we would have had a vested interest in doing so and absolutely, nothing to gain in not.   Unfortunately, we don’t make the rules regarding what the manufacturer’s pay for and what they do not and the extended service companies have their rules too.  All we can do is abide by them and fight all we can for our clients. 

In this case, we could not document and nor could the extended service company document that there were multiple or even one complaint in the service history regarding a bearing noise of any sort coming from the rear of the vehicle which is 7 years old and has almost 100,000 miles on it.   There are many records in the archives and none of them show any complaint from the customer in regards to these issues except on February 27th, 2014.  After reviewing the vehicle’s service history and speaking with our Service Advisor, the first time we heard of the concern was when we had the vehicle in for another issue and it was mentioned that our client had ridden in the back of his truck and heard the noise for the first time.    Due to this and the fact that the policy was expired, the extended service company refused to pay anything on the claim. 
We are very sorry that our bid to get this covered was not successful and even more so that our client finds fault in how we have tried to get him assistance in this matter. 
We would like to discuss this with him to see what we can do to keep the cost of repairs on the vehicle to a minimum and get this taken care of so that he doesn’t have to be concerned for his or his family’s safety.  He can call and discuss this with *** ****, ***** ********, Round Rock Auto Group at ###-###-####.  We look forward to his call and a quick resolution to this issue for our client.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ******    They have been getting notices on them rear ends since 2012 and they do nothing? 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Round Rock Toyota 1/30/2014 to get a key made for my 2012 Toyota Prius, The representative name is ****. He said bring it in next Morning.I had a tow company bring the car in, after a few hours Toyota service called and said they could not make or program a key for the prius because the battery was dead. I told them I would buy a new battery, however they refused to program the key because the car was damaged in the rear by an accident. The service manager said the car belongs in the junkyard..I had to pay tow truck twice to get the car back to the shop in Georgetown.Talked to the Manager of the service department and he said it would be a big hassle to make a key for the prius. He denied me service.To top it off they caused more damage to the Prius. Damage report will follow.

Desired Settlement: Refund of damages to car and tow fees.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

We are very sorry that Mr. ****** is so unhappy with our attempts to take care of his automotive needs.  When he called to inquire about getting keys cut for his vehicle, he did not inform our Advisor that the vehicle was a total loss that he must have purchased from a salvage yard.  When we discovered that the battery had failed, our Manager got involved and made the determination that we would not be able to program the keys for him as we could not be certain that with all of the damages it could be done properly.    We simply don’t perform repairs to vehicles that we don’t think can or should be repaired.  His claim that we damaged his vehicle is difficult to understand being that we never moved the vehicle to attempt any repair.  A towing company dropped it off and then picked it up.  Perhaps he should contact them for assistance.   We regret that his experience was so poor that he felt a need to seek the help of the BBB but we fail to see how we have done anything wrong here or should be held responsible for damages to a vehicle that wasn’t worked on by our staff.
 
Respectfully,

Round Rock Toyota

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I DO NOT ACCEPT THE RESPONSE MADE BY ROUND ROCK TOYOTA. 

THE CAR IS NOT A SALVAGE AND DOES NOT BELONG IN THE JUNKYARD LIKE THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID.
JUST BECAUSE IT NEEDS A BUMPER AND SUSPENTION WORKED ON, SINCE WHEN DOES THE SERVICE MANAGER HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO SAY
"THE 2012 Prius C IS A TOTAL LOSS AND BELONGS IN THE JUNKYARD". IT IS CLEAR THERE IS PREJUDICE ON THE SERVICE MANAGER PART AND  ROUNDROCK TOYOTA.
TRYING TO HIDE THE FACT, THEY DID TRY TO START THE CAR AS THEY STATED AND FOUND THE BATTERY WAS IN NEED OF A CHARGE.
TO SAY THE THERE ARE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AS STATED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER, WOULD MEAN THEY HAD TO TRY TO START THE PRIUS C AND CAUSED PROBLEMS TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AT THAT TIME. 
 
 



Regards,

*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to Round Rock Toyota to get a tire rotation at 13,900 miles. I have had all tire rotations done at this dealership and proper records. The car is also carefully driven and never driven reckless. It is also a leased vehicle with 1.5 years left on the lease. I waited 2 hours with an appointment for the tire rotation only to find out the tires were bad. The Rep named ******* ********** told me the tires from the back only had 3/32. She and her service manager promised to “GOODWILL” or pay for 2 new tires since they were too low to pass an inspection and I told them that would force me to get 2 other tires because the other ones were approaching the same tread as stated by the service rep. When I told them this, they said they would only do 2 and sent me to ********* to try to get all 4 replaced. ********* did not do it either and said Toyota should replace them, since they do not cover the replacement either. They also measured the tread at ********* only to find out the back 2 tires are at 1/32, not 2/32. The front tires are actually at 2/32. This will not pass any Texas inspection to drive on the road safely. When you return a leased car, all 4 tires have to match. By only replacing 2, it forces me now to buy 2 tires that are very expensive. I was lied to about the tread depth, ping longed back and forth for hours from Round Rock Toyota to ********* for the past week. All I want is for Toyota to goodwill 4 tires and let me return that car with those same tires back to them when my lease expires due to this incredibly terrible service experience. Also, they promised a car wash, and this did not happen. They gave me no record of what had been done to my car or information about if the inspection for the recall had be done. Zero paperwork was handed to me. I was also left a mean message, as I took it, on my voicemail by the service manager after he found out I filed a case # with the Toyota corporate office. This was the worst experience I have ever had with Toyota and if this does not get resolved with 4 new tires, I will never lease or buy another Toyota again.

Desired Settlement: Replace all 4 tires with brand new tires and let me return those tires and the car to you when my lease expires in 1.5 years as a full Goodwill gesture for my week long inconvenience and terrible service experience at this dealership. Thank you for taking the time to read my troubles.

Business Response:

We regret that our efforts to satisfy Mr. ******** have failed.  We advised him after we inspected his vehicle that two of his tires were below standard and recommended that they be replaced.  At that time, he requested they be covered under Toyota’s manufacturer’s warranty.   

We explained to Mr. ******** that tires are not covered by Toyota but the tire’s manufacturer.  Despite this fact, we offered to replace both tires at no cost to him.  He then told us that he would not be satisfied until we replaced all four.  Since this exceeded our authorization level, we had to call our Toyota representative to seek his approval.  He declined any additional participation and our original offer of two free tires was the best that we could do for him.

Our Advisor then contacted the manufacturer of the tire on his behalf and arranged for them to inspect the tires at one of their locations.   Since they ultimately provide the warranty, they would have to see them to make a determination as to whether they were defective and merited a warranty replacement.  Evidently they informed Mr. ******** that they could not warranty the tires but they offered him a substantial discount and his out of pocket expense was only $275 for a new set of 4 tires.

We certainly apologize to Mr. ******** if he feels that he received poor service but we did everything we could to get him the assistance he requested.    We would be happy to wash his car if we he would like us to. We are sorry if we failed to do so when it was in our shop.  Regarding his paperwork, our Advisor informed him the day he picked up that she was going to hold onto it until we could resolve the issue he was having.  She did this hoping that we could take care of the tires for him as he requested.  As I understand it, we have sent him a copy of our invoice for his files.

If Mr. ******** would like to discuss this further, he can contact me at ###-###-####.

Regards,

*** ****

***** ********** ********

Round Rock Auto Group

 

 

 

 
 
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

They offered me 2 free EL400 tires.  Which forces me to buy 2 more EL400 tires for MORE than the price ********* offered me for 4.  I can get 4 tires at a reduction of $297, not $275, which is less than the 2 free EL400s that were offered.  They refused to pick up the bill which would of saved them money.  I am not satisfied.  They would rather pay more for 2 tires and force me into ones without a warranty than just pick up the bill for all 4 from ********* which would save them money and not even make them do the install.  They also lied about the tired tread.  All 4 tires are bald at 13,900 miles.  If they do not pick up the bill from ********* for the 4 tires, which are LESS than the 2 Free ones they want to give me, which, by the way, the EL400 tires have NO warranty, than I will not be ever doing business with them again, nor leasing or buying any Toyotas ever again.  

Regards,

****** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2008 Mini Cooper S on September 12th at Round Rock Toyota. I did buy it as is and was offered a Warrenty but the cost for the warrenty exceded the amount that I could afford. I purchased the vehicle for $14,500 with 37,900 miles on the vehicle. On the 20th, I was running some errands and went into a store to do some shopping. The car ran fine up until I got back out to my vehicle to try to start it. I pushed the button and everything lit up and came on besides the engine itself. All it would do is click over. I had it towed to two different shops to get my car looked at and both said the same issue. My engine was done for. Siezed. I called the dealership twice and spoke with the used sale ******* "***" and he said that and I quote "What do you expect me to do when your car is at fort hood and we are here in round rock." I said "Well I dont want to have my car towed down there and be told that you wont help me with my issue that clearly took place under your fault. The mechanic that I took it to showed me my car and the engine and said that the oil is a thicker type to possibly keep the knocking of the timing chain subdued. The timing chain was off due to the oil never being changed. The oil (which I have pictures and a in a bottle) is pitch black. I have only had the vehicle for 50 days. And driven it less than 400miles. The dealership should have changed the oil. Which they had signatures saying they did but obviously did not. The dipstick that was in the engine is shaded brown, so when you check it, it looks good. But as soon as you drop the pan/filter it is black. The used ***** ******* was silent for half the convorsation and refused to offer any help when clearly it could be placed on them for never having the oil changed. The cost of replacing a engine or rebuilding one will range from $6000 to $9000 with labor included in that. I could have bought a brand new Mini Cooper for the amount to repair this vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded the entire cost of the car plus the money I put into it for repairs and services. Which roughly comes out to $14,500 for the loan that I took out to purchase the car. $598 for the replaced starter that was bad. (Have receipt from shop) $240 for the shop taking out the engine to find out the problem. (Have signatures and receipt).

Business Response: Hello,
Round Rock Toyota is very distressed to hear that any customer is upset...but it is doubly upsetting to hear the trouble that *** ***** has had with his car.  That is the last thing we would ever want for any customer.  We take great care to make sure the vehicles we sell in our pre-owned department are good vehicles.  I have attached the inspection that we performed on the 2008 Mini Cooper that *** ***** purchased.  We DID change the oil among other things...and it was absolutley NOT a thicker oil.  I have attached all of our records.  The RR Toyota used car recon cost estimate are all of the things the tech requested we do outside of the normal oil change(which we do on every car).  Line 10 will always state tires-however, unless there is a cost/price related on the row there is no need for tires.  WE keep that line on the Recon Estimate Sheet to ensure they were checked.  The attached RO is all of the work priced out and performed on the vehicle before it ever hit our lot.  There is no one car reconditioning that is worth more then our integrity.  To state such a fact does not even make sense.  The fact that the mechanic *** ***** went to stated that the time and chain was off because the oil was not changed is also false.  I have attached the record of our inspection which includes the oil change nad the fact that the dipstick that was in the engine is brown shows that the oil was good.  WE feel terrible for *** *****....however, when purchasing a used car...just like when we take them in on trade..and when we sell a new car...there are always certain risks.  There is nothing we could do to erase all of the risks in any car purchase(new or used).  This is why we offer warranties on every purchase(new and used) and explain to each customer who purchases a pre-owned vehicle(as *** ***** even stated himself) that they are as-is.  Please understand...we wish there was something we could do.  As I stated before...we don't want any customer to experience loss.  However, with any man made machinery there is always a risk.  WE absolutley, did our due diligence in regards to reconditioning of this car.  All though we can not offer a refund(be it 5 days or 50) or pay for repairs that were needed after the purchase...I can offer *** ***** the warranty at a reduced amount of $2202 for a 4yr 50k for any future needs.  If *** ***** can find a way to get the vehicle to our shop; we can also help with repairs at a reduced rate.  I would also like to personally send him a $100 Shell Gas card in apologies that he has had a tough time with his BMW.  This is not what we want for our customers...we wish nothing, but for their cars to run perfectly for 100,000 from the minute they drive off.  However, we know that it just isn't realistic.  WE also wish we could just take on every risk and fix every car that our customer's have issues with...however, that is not realistic either.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9784400

I am rejecting this response because:


Here is a statement from the mechanic that took apart my engine. I would love to think that you guys changed the oil before I drove the car. But for only putting less than 1000 miles on it and having pitch black oil tells me that, that is a lie. The mechanic even let me look at my car as it was torn apart showing me everything wrong with the engine. With a bucket of the so called changed oil underneath it still draining. And I'm sure he has nothing to gain by making this statement. I'd love for you to say that I am a liar because the proof was sadly right in front of me. And being in the military I am even more so disappointed that you would sell a vehicle in the shape it's in to me. I would never recommend my brothers and sisters in arms to purchace a car through you guys. I actually had to go through this site to get any sort of so called help since the used ***** ******* (withholding his name since that's the right thing to do) refused to help at all. And who the heck in their right mind would let you touch a vehicle that you guys didn't even fix in the first place. Also thank you for your copy paste response in attempting to resolve the issue. The fact is none of that helps my current condition considering the vehicle YOU sold me can't move. Would you pay for towing? I thought not. Reduced rate for labor? What $5 off per hour? What a joke. It's going to cost me $7,000 to get a used engine with more miles than it already has on it with labor. I understand that not every vehicle you sell that's used won't be brand spanking new, but not to change something as basic as the oil is just plain pathetic. Mind you that is not the main issue of the problem because the timing chain was jacked up before I got it, but it certainly did not aid the problem. Want more pictures? I have more picture of my cars guts torn apart. You can help by paying the cost of all my repairs since YOU guys couldn't do your job right in the first place. Now my car isn't even worth the lowest price for Blue Book value. Plus I just started making payments on it. And I still have yet to change the brake calibers. So just in repairs I'm paying for half of what I am paying for the vehicle. That's excluding towing, time without a car, and giving me financial hardship.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: Dear *** *****, While we certainly understand that based on the mechanic’s inspection of the vehicle it may appear that the oil had was not changed in July as we have already documented, that is not proof that we did not change the oil.  There are plausible explanations for what has occurred here.  We would never suggest that you or your mechanic is lying and would ask the same consideration from you. Our reconditioning process if very thorough but unfortunately, we don’t always uncover everything that could possibly be wrong with a vehicle.  We always do our 133 point inspection, which is posted on our vehicles.  We do not disassemble an engine to inspect the timing chain or how the vehicle was maintained prior to our acquiring it.  That is why we always recommend to our clients an extended service agreement so that in the event of a problem, you are covered.  
 We are very interested in a mutually acceptable solution to this problem and believe that we can if we work together on one rather than making accusations that cannot be proven.  My ***** ******* would like to personally speak with you, in the hopes and belief that a solution can be reached.  His name is *** **** and can be reached at *************. 

Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***Prepared for ***** ********* Recently I had gone to the Round Rock Toyota Scion dealership to purchase a used vehicle. At first I received excellent service and found a vehicle that I had liked, a Toyota Tacoma. So I decided to purchase this pre-owned certified Toyota vehicle and took it home. That same day I was riding on interstate 35 and noticed that the truck was shaking at high speeds (i.e. around 75) and felt very unstable and unsafe. I was concerned about this and felt very unsafe driving the truck so I took it back the very next day to inform them of the issue and had a salesman, **** *******, ride with me to show him the shakiness of the vehicle. I was also concerned that if this vehicle was having problems already as a 2013 model that it was going to have many more problems down the road so I had wanted to give it back and get a different vehicle. I found a Rav 4 that I liked and decided to buy it. **** made everything seem pretty easy and straight forward so nothing seemed wrong or suspicious but since I don’t know English very well I had to rely on **** to explain to me the terms of the contract. I left a satisfied customer thinking that the dealer had taken back the truck and essentially swapped it with a pre-owned Rav 4. But shortly thereafter I realized that **** and the dealer had taken the Toyota Tacoma back as a “trade-in” and tacked on a depreciation value to the price of the Rav 4 bringing the total price to over $41,000 which is about $6,000 dollars more than the equity of the car. There were no explanation of charges presented to me. The dealer did not make me aware that they would be adding the depreciated value of the vehicle to the total cost of the Rav4 that I had purchased. I believe that they tried to take advantage of the fact that my English is not very good and the fact that I may have not completely understood the details presented to me in the contract. I believed that they would have just taken the other vehicle off since I had turned it in within the 24 hour period of purchase due to the unsafe handling and feeling of the Toyota Tacoma. After discovering that the loan was higher than the fair market value of the car, I attempted to go back to the dealer and get it corrected but when speaking to one of the ******* ********, ***** *****, he had told me that there was nothing that they could do and he started getting very angry at me for even bringing this up to him. Also they had already put the Toyota Tacoma back up for sale for the exact same price that they sold it to me with ZERO depreciation. A few days later I got a letter from the bank where I received the loan for the Tacoma and the Rav 4 and they had said that they had approved me for $35,000 but not the $41,000 that this dealer actually charged me so they had disapproved the loan on those terms and also because the amount of the loan was worth thousands of dollars more than the actual equity of the vehicle. After receiving this letter I called the bank and they told me that the loan on the Tacoma was still active which I was surprised to hear because it should have been cancelled. Now with this new information I went back to the dealer to attempt to resolve this dispute and talked to another ********* person, *** ******, and he tried to help me resolve this situation so he went to his ******* (*****) and apparently got yelled at and came back flushed and told me that there was nothing he could do. Also while I was at the dealer, apparently I was approved by another bank but I was not aware that I ever gave the dealer permission to shop around and try and find someone to provide me with another loan for the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like the desired outcome to be an adjustment of the billing. I feel that I was wrongly charged the depreciation value of the first vehicle and that it should not have been added to the purchase of the Rav4. I would like for this company to fix the billing and remove the depreciation charge from the bill, and make it for only the amount of the vehicle that I purchased without any added charges other than the necessary taxes and title.

Business Response: Hello,
We hate to hear that ***** ****** is upset because we tried to help in every way possible to accomodate her.  On 10/14 ***** purcahsed a 2013 Tacoma with only 4362..this meant it was not only certified; but also had the remainder of the factory warranty.  ***** felt so confident that she wanted to protect this vehicle that she opted to purchase an extended warranty that pushed that further-to a 84 month and 100,000 mile warranty.  We do electronic titling/registrations and contracts now.  What that means is everything is sent to the lender and the tax office immediatley upon signing.  It happens in the vlink of an eye.  The next day-***** came in stating that at 70 miles an hour she felt a vibration?  Obviously, we don't drive the cars at 70 mph when we re-condition them; however, we were more then happy to have the truck looked at for her.  The factory warranty is in full effect..and it was no problem at all...any issue would be fully covered(just as if it were brand new).  She stated that she would rather get something different.  Her salesman from the previous day was off.  So she was able to work with our most ******* salesman-**** ********.  I feel this is important to note because(all though her english was incredible-she noted her English was not...of course I realize that could be in comprehension?)...****'s first language is Spanish..English is his second.  So the second day she was with ****.  We told her that all though all of the paper work was gone...and we had actually been funded on the Tacoma deal that morning..we would be happy to trade her out of it(if she would rather us not look at the Tacoma).  She picked out a Brand New Rav.  We cancelled all of the warranties she had purchased on the Tacoma and put those cancellations as cash down towards the rav purchase. I have attached only a few of the forms she signed showing all of the numbers.  What I attached were the forms dealing souly with her trade...higher payoff, odomoter, acknowledgement of negative/positive equity.  Zaida's payment went up...she also initialled this several places.  She actually opted for her payment to go up more when she decided to add on the pre-paid maintenance package(in addition to a 72month/100,000 mile warranty) on her new rav.  We will always do everything we can to help with a customer...however, we have all of these forms signed to protect her and us.  ***** returned a few days later and we told her that if she would like to take the Tacoma back(at the same terms agreed to previously) that we would be happy to do so for her.  She said she didn't want to do that either.  We try to be overly dilligent because it seems as if it is so easy to say we arent.  Our customers are important to us...We felt as if letting her trade it in was a better then option then telling her there was nothing we could do other then look at the truck for her(which she didn't want to do).  I guess we should have done that...however, then this would be about us not allowing her to back out of the original car deal, which is just not feesible in today's business.  We try to make the best decisions for our customers.  In this case we thought we were doing so...helping ***** get into a different vehicle that she liked as well.  Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: **** did not explain that the truck was going to be taken in as a trade in.  When I returned with the vehicle, I drove with him to show him the problem.  I knew that if the truck was having problems so soon, it will only be a matter of time until the warranty runs out and I am left without a reliable vehicle.  **** told me that they were "changing" the car out, using the Spanish word "cambiar", before sending me to the waiting area.  He paced around for a while before returning to me saying that the paperwork was ready to be signed.  I was told where to sign and initial without further explanation of the charges.  As I had no other vehicle at the moment and desperately needed the car, I signed.  I am happy with the new RAV4 and only want the charges from the Tacoma taken off the account.

Regards,
***** ******

Business Response: I would like to take care of ******.  Round Rock Toyota did nothing wrong-and we did in fact, make sure that we took care of her and allowed her to trade out of the Tacoma and into the Rav.  The Rav will also run out of Factory Warranty...just like the Tacoma will.  In fact, ****** even purchased an extended warranty on her Tacoma.  She also stated in her original complaint that she did not understand what was being said because her first language is Spanish and not English.  However, in her second comment she says something completely different....even quoting the spanish words that were spoken.  I only say all of that to say this:  I WANT TO help.  I want to do so because ****** is our customer...NOT because of the claims she is making.   They are not accurate and in any way true.  We went above and beyond to make her happy....and I do not mind going even further.  However, I think it is important for ****** to realize and acknowledge we are helping and we did nothing decitful OR without her knowledge.  I am currently working on a solution with a bank and I will reach out to ****** when I have developed a plan with them to help.  The last thing we ever want to do is isolate or hurt a customer.  If I can find a solution that helps her and monetarily makes sense, as a company, I will do so.  I believe I can.  I am going to try to have her come and re-sign on the Rav with NO trade.  I believe I can make this work for and will work tirelessly to do so.  For her, as our customer.  I just believe recognizing how much we have tried to help with is important.  I will be in touch with her later this afternoon when I have confirmation of my plan.  Thank you!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car price I negotiated for a 2011 Toyota prius was $15000 + taxes. By the end of the transactions the value of the car is now $25000. I think I was tricked into it and tried to return the car. But they informed me that once it is sold it can't be taken back.

Desired Settlement: Looking to cancel the 7yr warranty period (2250$) and get back a refund of atleast $2500. I really don't want to pay 9000 more.

Business Response: Hello,

All though...we have all documents signed by the customer prior to the final paperwork...there is NOTHING more important to us then our customer's satisfaction.  This feeling INCLUDES when we have done everything upfront and with complete disclosure.  If the customer is unhappy with the transaction and the titling has not occured then we always want to do the right thing by the customer.  Even if there was no fault.  Our ultimate goal is customer satisfaction...which means if they are not satisfied, or if(as was in this case) there was any misunderstanding, at ALL we will release them from the transaction.  We did so this evening.  We must try to improve our level of communication with our customer's so that they always feel good when they leave our store.  If that doesn't happen then the burden is ours to make it right.  We have released this client from all obligation and we wish the best for him.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* **********



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1