Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Round Rock Toyota Scion

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 244-6900 Fax: (512) 244-6945 2307 N Interstate 35, Round Rock, TX 78664 http://www.roundrocktoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are Round Rock Toyota Scion, home to a totally redesigned new and used vehicle showroom, a new multi-million dollar service facility, a collision center, warranty services, parts, accessories, and finance departments. Our new showroom includes 6 vehicle delivery areas, wifi, a coffee bar, and dozens of comfortable chairs around our large high-definition tv. We sell New, Used, and Certified Pre-Owned Scion and Toyota vehicles as well as many other makes of used cars. We are the proud recipients of the Board of Governors Award, President's Cabinet Award, and the President's Award.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Round Rock Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Round Rock Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Round Rock Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 1997 Business started: 03/01/1985 in TX Business started locally: 03/01/1985 Business incorporated 09/25/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78752
www.txdps.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 424-2000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Caron Corzine, General Manager Megan Grigsby, Marketing Department Mr. Robert M Lang, Fixed Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Caron Corzine, General Manager
Related Businesses
Round Rock Hyundai
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Products & Services

Round Rock Toyota Scion sells the following brand(s): Nearly all other brands of Pre-Owned vehicles, Scion, Toyota

Round Rock Toyota Scion offers the following product(s): Certified Pre-Owned Toyota, New Scion, New Toyota, Used Scion, Used Toyota

Alternate Business Names
Classic Toyota
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2307 N Interstate 35

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (512) 244-6900

  • P. O. Box 1568

    Round Rock, TX 78680

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never actually felt like I was genuinely scammed before until now. I took my camry in to diagnose a problem I had when jerking while accelerating. The mechanic claimed he knew for sure it was my motor mounts and charged what I consider a substantial amount of money to replace them. That did not fix the issue. Then, they had to nerve to tell me it was my transmission and replace the entire thing for a ridiculous amount of money. I told them I wanted my money back, they assured me that was the problem. After them refusing and me going ballistic on them and making threats to them, they finally agreed to put my old motor mounts back on and refund them. Now, my the body of my car is separated in parts after they worked on it. It's literally coming apart and it's developed engine movement where it did not have any before. I'm 100% sure they did this on purpose. By the way, I fixed the original jerking problem for free. It was my throttle position sensor. It took me 20 minutes to fix. No other mechanic has ever done something like this to me. I feel this company is purposely practicing unethical behaviors to rip people off. Either that or they are the worst mechanics I have ever encountered and actually have no idea how to diagnose their own cars. They literally throw thousands of dollars in parts at problems to diagnose them. I think it's more likely they tried to rip me off on purpose and then maliciously damaged my car.

Desired Settlement: I want their BB rating to be affected. That is what I want. I'm sure they will not pay to fix the problems they caused or even dream of compensating me for my lost time. They do not even respond to my emails and lie out of their teeth when I talk to them.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Mr. **** brought his vehicle in on 5/12/2015 for us to diagnose a “Thumping or Jerking” sensation that he felt when he let off the gas.  Our Technician test drove the vehicle and determined that he had two motor mounts that needed to be replaced based on his inspection.  He felt what he described as a harsh reengagement issue with the transmission but was unsure if it was related to the bad mounts or the transmission.  He suggested that we replace the mounts which we knew were bad and go from there.  He also did tell Mr. **** that there was a chance that the mounts would take care of the problem.  After we replaced the mounts, our Technician test drove the vehicle and noticed the harsh reengagement still existed and would require further repairs.  Our Advisor contacted Mr. **** and informed him that there still was an issue.   He became upset and stated that we promised him that the mounts would solve the problem.  Our Advisor took his concerns to our Manager, ***** ******, and ***** agreed to put his old mounts back on and refund 100% of his money.   We did this freely and because Mr. **** stated that we said it would solve his problem.  He did not threaten us or go “ballistic.”  We simply decided to do the right thing by refunding the money due to the apparent miscommunication.   To state that we are purposely practicing unethical behaviors is not supported very well by the fact that we readily refunded him his money.  We made a mistake and we gave him his money back.  In my experience, unethical shops don’t do that.   I am not sure what he means that his “body is separated” now but we do know that we reinstalled his broken motor mounts at his request and that may be part of his problem.

Regarding his claim that we have the worst mechanics working here, I must say that the Technician that worked on his vehicle is a 15 year employee with an excellent work history and track record.  He is a Master Diagnostic Technician (MDT), certified by Toyota and a Team Leader for our shop.  While certainly not perfect, he is routinely counted on for his ability to properly diagnose vehicles and has done an excellent job for us.   We would never tolerate any one of our employees to intentionally harm a vehicle for any reason and doubt very seriously that our Tech would risk his 15 year career over Mr. ****’s vehicle.

Since we refunded him his money immediately, we respectfully request that the BBB close this complaint. 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I specifically asked him if he was sure it was the motor mounts because multiple mechanics tested them and said there was no movement. He said he was absolutely sure. That is completely false that he said it could be something else. There is no way I would have had them replaced if he was not sure because I was 99% sure it was not the motor mounts and I asked the representative to speak with the mechanic after she ALSO told me the mechanic that he was sure. Yeah, it's just my word against your mafia organization I guess. There is no way I will accept your response and even after this long of thinking about it I still feel your actions were unjust and something needs to be done to protect other people from you.

A master technician could not identify what I discovered was a known problem on my model with the TPS. Look it up, it causes jerking when accelerating. I find it completely insane that you would defend throwing very expensive parts at a problem as a way of diagnosing it. I don't care how long he's worked there or if he can bend forks with his mind. That is your response? He's a master technician? Every mechanic I've talked to says that's completely insane. No other mechanic wanted to just start replacing things to diagnose it.

The body next to where the motor mount is that he replaced is now separating from my car. 

Regards,

****** ****

Business Response: Round Rock Toyota is very concerned about customer service and regrets that we couldn’t satisfy Mr. **** with a full refund.  We apologize for the way he feels he was treated and would have loved to make him happier with our attempted resolution.  Our Fixed Operations Director, *** ****, would be happy to meet with him personally to attempt to determine what he feels is wrong with his vehicle.  He can be reached at ###-###-####.

1/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2004 Toyota Camry from the used car dealership on Aug 1, 2014. I went with a list of things to check for on this vehicle, specifically the rack and pinion and the CV boot replacements. (These 2 things were found on inspection by this dealership in 2013 by the previous owner to need replacing). I asked about these things twice and was reassured each time they had been taken care of. There was also no "as is" sticker in the window of this car, required by law in Texas per Attorney Generals Office. While signing paperwork I found the "as is" and again asked about the repairs, again I was reassured they had been taken care of. I was also sold a 5 year tire warranty for $299.00. Soon after the purchase I saw the oil change light on and it didn't concern me, I trusted that the dealership had changed the oil. In October, when the car was taken to an oil change business, I found that the oil did not need to be changed, rather the dealership failed to reset the oil change light. They did find that the rack & pinion was leaking badly; it was completely disintegrated on one side and beginning to leak and breakdown on the other side. The second problem was a nail in the side wall of the tire. I called my sales person who replied with a text message and essentially blew me off (I still have those texts). The rack and pinion was the very first thing on my list to ask about before I went through with the purchase of the vehicle. I took the car to the service department to have the tire addressed as I had purchased the tire warranty, only to be told that nothing could be done because the tires were too worn to be covered under my warranty, so they just put my spare on. These tires were worn at the time of purchase, and because I was never informed that the warranty they were selling wouldn't cover the tires they sold me, this development came as a bit of a shock to me. At this time my vehicle is not operable due to the danger posed by bad tires (which I could have replaced with my warranty money) and the rack & pinion. Where is the 160 point inspection they advertised?!

Desired Settlement: I want what is right and fair. The fact that I went prepared, asked questions and was assured by more than one person that the issues I was most concerned about were no longer issues and was then sold a car (with a warranty on top of that) that they knew they had to lie about is simply unethical. Any number of things could have happened to me because they lied about fixing these problems, I wouldn't have bought the car if they'd been honest. The rack and pinion needs to be replaced and I need 4 tires, they don't even have to be new, I'll take 90% tread, plus I'll need an alignment and my warranty should remain in effect. The dealership should take care of this as they lied to make their sale, putting myself and my family in real danger on the road. I shouldn't be responsible for fixing a problem that they assured me they fixed.

Business Response: Round Rock Toyota would like to thank *** ********* for reaching out to us. We would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the situation with her vehicle has caused her. We never like to hear a customer has a bad perception of our store, processes or people for any reason, legitimate or not.
In regards to the 2004 Toyota Camry with 166,975 that *** ********* purchased from us on August the 1st of 2014 please note the following in response to her claims:
1. As is Buyers sticker was not in the car.
a. We do have the “as is” stickers in every vehicle. It is state law and we have never had an infraction from not complying....
b. We have a signed copy acknowledging that the vehicle was sold “As is” on file....stating that their is no warranty...
2. The tire was not covered due to it being under the minimum tread depth of 3/32 whe it was brought to the service department. This vehicle was sold in August and at the time of purchase the tires must have been above 3/32 or it would not have passed a state inspection, which it did. The warranty follows the vehicle and not the tires, thus, new tires purchased will have full road hazard on them. We have since gotten her claim for the tire covered and can replace it at no cost to her if she would like us to.
We sell vehicles of this age and miles because we have found that more and more customers would like the opportunity to purchase such cars because of their much lower price. They buy them with full disclosure that there is no warranty-either implied or spoken. ***** drove several cars while she was here…we cannot verify that there was a discussion about the rack and pinion this long after the car was purchased but we can say that on all value select cars…those that are a decade old, or older with more than 150,000 miles we are very careful to disclose to the customer that we do a 10 point safety inspection only. These are vehicles that are deemed safe to drive and have passed a state inspection. At the end of the day-this was a pre-owned vehicle with 166,975 miles on it. All paperwork was signed and discussed.
As already noted, we would be happy to replace her tire under the warranty she purchased. We would also be agreeable to work with her on the pricing to replace her steering rack and/or other items that she would like taken care of, despite the fact that we feel strongly that we disclosed the conditions of the sale of her car properly to her. We would like nothing more than for her to feel we did everything we could to make this right and change her perceptions about our dealership. We understand that purchasing cars of this age is a tough choice. We wish we could make them all perfect….but that would be unrealistic and we know that the BBB knows and understands this fact, as well.
ll us why here...

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I do not accept the response of the dealership, and in fact found it insulting.  First of all, my name is ****** and I was referred to as "*****".  I have never used that name, I dislike it, and creating that level of familiarity where there is none is unacceptable. Perhaps they confused me with another customer? Secondly, they claim that I took several vehicles for test drives when in fact I only drove the vehicle I purchased.  I had done my research regarding this specific vehicle and requested the VIN so that I could further research it following the test drive.  I was aware of the issues with the car prior to purchase and had conversations regarding those specific problems (i.e. rack & pinion and the tires) prior to the purchase. They also mentioned that the tire warranty is not included in the warranty on the vehicle. I purchased a separate tire warranty for $299 for issues that may arise in the future.  Their claim that I wore those tires to the point of a voided warranty within the 3000 miles I drove the car is ridiculous; when the warranty was purchased, I was not informed that I would be required to purchase a new set of tires for the warranty to be in effect. To say that there are misleading and deceptive practices going on in this dealership would be putting it mildly. We have been trying to resolve this problem for weeks, with little to no satisfaction from the dealership, and am now requesting mediation by the BBB.

Regards,
****** *********

Business Response: We certainly apologize for using the name *****.  That was what every ticket from service had on it.  It was certainly, not meant to assume familiarity and we would never had used it, had it not been on all of our service paperwork.  We apologize that are paperwork reffered to her as "*****" as well.  The salesperson had mentioned that according to his recollection there were two other vehicles she drove.  Obviously, this is heresay and we should not have referenced that as well....all though, it hardly is the matter at hand.  Round Rock holds firm that There was not a discusion of the rack and pinion or tires. We address all concerns before the sale of a vehcile on a WAF that is signed by all customers before purchase; just like that "AS IS STICKER" is...We also hold firm that sticker was in the window, at time of sale.  Using logic that we would sale a vehicle with a known issue that was supposedly brought up at time of sale doesn't even make sense?  There is no ONE car deal that is worth our integrity.  One car deal does us no good.  Forcing car deals does absolutley nothing for us, as a business and it never will.  Especially, a 166,000 mile vehicle.  If we didn't have customers that want these less expensive vehicle choices, knowing the risk they are taking-we would never offer them.  Howewver, the overwhelming desire for these vehicles are the only reason we offer them for sale with all disclosers in place.   There was never a mention of her needing to buy new tires?  We have the tire issue covered under the warranty she purchased if she would like for us to take care of that for her.  We also, offered to help her with the rack and pinion, if she would like to have it fixed.  We wish we could make 166,000 mile vehicles perfect and guarantee there will never be an issue.  That will never be the case....no matter how much we wish that was the case.  We are sorry for ******s issues, from a customer and human perspective..and would like to help in the areas mentioned before-however, we hold firm to the fact that there was never any decptive action taken in the selling of the vehicle.  The only thing that happened was that a 166,0000 mile vehicle was purchased and we didn't own it for those 166,000 miles-there will never be any certainly when dealing with any used vehicle with any amount of miles.  We wish there was more then anyone.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I reject your response. I will make this as simple as possible;
I am a detail oriented person being in the medical profession and have an
excellent memory. *1. I did due diligence in researching this car and I knew
there was a steering issue diagnosed in Feb 2013 by this dealership. This
dealership would have known this. *2. I asked several times if that repair had
been done and was told by a person with initials * * that it had been taken
care of.  I have a witness to me asking
and his telling me it was taken care of before signing paperwork. I acted in
good faith believing in this Dealership. *3. As I signed the AS IS /Buyers
Guide I asked again about steering issue and given assurances that the problem
was taken care of. *4. Under Deceptive Trade Practices Act Section 17.46(b)(23)
failure to disclose the above mentioned information when asked is a direct
violation of the act. (Dealership knew of the issue because they generated the service
ticket)Furthermore, that section states had I known the truth about the repair
I would not have had any obligation to purchase this vehicle; and personally I
can tell you that I absolutely would not have made the purchase had I been
fully informed about the issues I researched and asked about.  I was deliberately lied to twice with the sole
intention of making the sale. Lying about a potentially dangerous problem with
the vehicle was not only deceitful, but also incredibly unethical. Irrelevant
at this time is what I was called, the amount of the mileage, whether the sticker
was posted or not, or for that matter the cost of the car.  It is important to have cars AS IS for consumer
affordability but, more importantly that the dealership not hide facts when
clearly asked in the purchasing of a vehicle new or used (guidelines clearly
established by Texas Law). I stand firm on my desire to settle this.  My steering issue needs to be remedied at no
cost to me and all tires replaced due to the steering being the issue at no
cost to me. The relatively little amount of driving that I did during the time
I had the car before I found out about the problem would not have worn my tire
to that point, that is clearly tied to the rack and pinion issue, which I was
led to believe was taken care of. My tire warranty is to be left in place. I am
currently without a vehicle and have had to postpone education due to this
issue.  I need this settled as quickly as
possible. 

Regards,

****** *********

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lets see where do I start? I have never had so much trouble with a vehicle in all my life. I went to this "LEGIT" Toyota dealership for a reason. I though I was getting a "LEGIT" deal! But I didnt. I was lied to and somewhat manipulated. This was the kind of service I'd expect from ******* mom and pop shops/money laundering shops in ** ****. What I'am about to report on, is going straight to the top one way or another. I do not have too much time here so I'll explain as much as i can. 1. It took 6 hours for them to get me into my truck, despite the fact that I went to Round Rock Toyota already knowing which truck i needed, so there was zero browsing, just 1 test drive. A 96 Tacoma with VERY low miles considering its year. 155,000 miles. The reputation of Tacomas are great! take care of them, and they can run to 500,000 miles. On the test drive, i noticed a consistent rattle/shaking while driving and in idle. I noticed a "buzz" or "grinding" at high RPMs. I noticed a stutter in the brakes as i barely pushed in the break while turning at the same time. Th e radio didnt work but I didnt care. The dash trim looked like it had been tore out and put back in with out the screws. I then asked my sales man, telling him about all this, if he knew "what was wrong with it." He told me "as far as I know, nothing is wrong with it." So I asked him if he could as somebody a little more knowledgeable about the truck. He said "no problem." So i waited there about an hour before he came back out and told me "everybody says there is nothing wrong with it, the truck is 18 years old so its bound to have a thing here and there." Which i completely understand. I have a trade-in. A 2001 f-150 with 156,000 miles. Im trading in this POS **** for a reason. It constantly leaves me stranded with problems. I just barely started a new job in the ****** area and the **** broke down on me on the first day. Might I add that I do take very well of my vehicles. Because I need it for work. No truck means no money means no life. Its that Simple! But anyways, they want to sell me this Tacoma way over book value, and give me a trade-in value for my **** that is also way under book. But even then, I agreed on the price. For one, I know Tacomas have a high resale value on them, and f-150s have a low trade in value. But I also agreed on the price because I "TRUSTED" their words that nothing is wrong with it. That it will last me like a good reputable tacoma should. I did notice a brand new radiator, brake master cylinder, rotors, and plug wires. That tells me that they put some work into it. But Toyota parts to a "LEGIT" Toyota dealership are most likely pennies on the dollar. I was in need of a reliable truck for work and I explained my situation to them, later finding out that they lied to me. Nonetheless, I signed on the truck and rolled out after 6 hours i couldnt wait anymore. I think that was probably a "scheme" for Toyota. Keep them here as long as possible till the end of the day when they are in a rush to go pick up their kids and get home, that they have no choice but to sign. Either way, i NEEDED the truck. The next day, i go to work. Iam a ******* contractor so i put quite a bit of miles on my truck. So after about 50 miles on the truck, I start noticing everything wrong with it: 1. Just like on the test drive, i noticed the "shaking" which wasnt that bad until I drove 50 miles. It shakes the entire truck and my body along with it. Something is truly wrong here. I hear something rattling under the hood and it sounds like its going to fall out! God help me in this ****** traffic, that it doesnt fall out and cause a huge pile up. 2. I look under the hood, and the belts are split! I look at the tires and the tires are damn near bald and have knots and bumps in them. Which makes me realize, isnt it illegal to sell a vehicle with bad tires? Yes it is! 3. This truck has brand new rotors and a new brake master cylinder. Why am I getting a studder in the pedals and a grinding when i barely put my foot on the brake? I can especially feel it when im turning to the right while pressing the brake. Could it be an ABS problem? I dont know but that brings me to the next thing: 3. All the lights on the right side of the instrument cluster dont work. One of those lights of course is the "ABS" light. I use the cruise control and that light doesnt work either. None of the chimes work (key left in ignition switch, headlight warning) 4. Upon inspecting why this is, just like in the test drive, the dash trim as all loose. I cant get the cup holder in. And around where the instrument cluster is, its all loose with no screws holding in place. Seems like the instrument cluster has been swapped and not put together correctly. Which is also illegal, but I dont know if that was done or not. Round Rock Toyota should have much more knowledge on the truck than me. Comparing serial numbers to the VIN will be my next step. 4. After driving a few more miles, low and behold that there is now a strange clicking noise in the steering column as I turn the steering wheel to the right while pressing the brake. There is something wrong with the brakes and steering or either one. 5. I take it back to Round Rock Toyota the net day to explain these problems and I talk the used car sales manager (I dont remember his name). With a huge smile on his face, and a firm handshake, he tells me that he cannot get to my truck this week but if we can schedule an appointment for next Wednesday, they will have my truck all day and take care of the issues. I gladly agree hoping that my truck will hold on and I walk out with relief. Im feeling much better now. Next day comes around and Im worried that the truck will not get me through the day so I do the simplest and least expensive thing I can do on it. I take it to a certified mechanic to swap the belts fro me. He did that for me and the old belts were slip and broken. TOYOTA was marked on the belts leading me to believe that these were OEM and never changed out. I get through the rest of the week and the issues are getting much worse, especially the shaking. Wednesday comes around and Iam very exited and anxious to get my truck fixed. I bring my truck in, and I see the used sales car manager with an "I dont want to deal with you" look on his face and he asks me to tell him the issues again. I figured he wrote them down the last time i told him about it. As Iam explaining to him the issues AGAIN, he is constantly rolling his eyes. Now Im panicking because this guy isnt taking me seriously. He rushes me through it and asks for my keys and asks if he can have it all day. I said of course you can, please. I walk back home, and im sweating and nervous just knowing that the issues will not be taken care of. After about 3 hours I get a phone call from him, and he tells me he cannot find anything wrong with the truck! Really??? But he will replace the 2 rear tires free of charge. "But", he says, "the 2 fronts are also bad and need to be replaced, and we cannot replace those free of charge." I tell him ok thats fine but I dont have any money right now to throw at this truck that I just bought, id have to do it another day. Im furious at this point, but the walk back to Toyota calmed me down and I just wanted to talk to him. I get back to the front desk and I ask if hes available and they tell me no hes not. But they kindly handed me back my key. Round Rock Toyota will not take care of my problems. How the hell did this truck pass inspection, especially with the bad tires??? Its illegal. And this truck should not be acting like this at 155,000 miles. Something is terribly wrong, i was lied to and the trust is out the door. A multi billion dollar company cannot fi these issues? We'll see about that. I feel a lawsuit coming on and media exposure . This is not right. Its not like I want to return the truck, I want the Truck! I need the truck! I just need these issues fixed, and these are major issues and i feel paranoid every single day i drive this truck, wondering if something is going to fall off of it while im driving. Ive seen it happen.

Desired Settlement: I want the Truck, I need the truck! I just need these issues fixed, and these are major issues.

Business Response: Good Morning,  I would like to begin by apologizing for the late response.  We were trying to reach out to the customer to help.  I have asked that you review this email before forwarding because I would like to address the rational side of the BBB.  This vehicle was a 1996 with 155k on it.  A disclosure was signed stating that we do only a value inspection.  We make no claims about the state of any vehicle with this age or mileage.  Simply that they are safe.  These are vehicles we would typically wholesale...however, we understand that some customers are in need of and have a desire for older vehicles that are in a MUCH lower price range then they would normally spend.  Therefore we check them for safety and sell them with full disclosure.  When any vehicle reachs the age of 18 years old....something could change overnight.  Literally. To be fair-we even offered to purchase two new tires for him...NOT because we need to..but because he is our customer and we want to try to help.  He basically, soffed at that.  I could offer to buy it back....but he has purposely stated he "needs" the truck. This is one of those rare complaints that is quitre unfair.  Obviously, NOT the BBB's fault..but this is one of those that you can not make happy.  They bought what they could afford.  Everything was fully disclosed to the "t".  It was a safe, very old and inexpensive truck.  Thank you for your time and consideration.

5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a schedule appt on 5/16/14 for yet another recall on our 2008 Rav 4. We were told that by 3 pm will be ready. I called at 3 and my "service advisor" ******* ***** said:"I was just about to call yet". He then proceed to tell me that was ready, could only repair one of the recall, not the one I was concerned about the most, and of course they found my vehicle needed more than $1200 worth of service. He started to tell me a bunch of mechanic terms I very politely asked for paperwork and informed Mr. ***** he could discuss that with my husband, we just wanted the recall fixed. I also told him I will get a second opinion as I feel their fees for repairs are too expensive. I asked if otherwise our vehicle was ready he said I could pick at any time before 6 pm and that paperwork will be ready for us.. Got there shorty after 5 pm, had to wait an additional 30 min b/c "nobody could find the paperwork." After 30 min Mr. ***** came back to talk to us, he was rude and unprofessional. When I voice my concerned about the safety of our vehicle since our Children travel in it, he just blew me off like it was not a big deal. When I said how can I trust the Toyota after so many recalls on this vehicle(I think I just received recall #5), instead of making me feel better he said I am not Toyota. When I asked, who do you work for then?, he said, I work for Round Rock Toyota, when my husband asked, isn't the same thing? He just turn his eyes and kept talking. Horrendous service!!!Now I have to wait 3 weeks for the part to fix the recall, not to mention, need to spend +$1,200 in services that according to them our vehicle needs. I had tried to contact then thru their website with no luck twice, reason why I am here right now. I placed a complaint the same day at their website & I just received email trying to sell me a new vehicle.

Desired Settlement: First of all I will at least expect all the recalls to be fixed ASAP. Will like at least some sort of acknowledgement from Management that they actually listened to our concerns in respect to the Customer Service we received from Mr. ***** and maybe provide him with some coaching so that he does not treat other clients the same way he treated it us, rude, unprofessional and not caring.

Business Response: I am incredibly embarassed to read how Mrs. **** was made to feel in our service department.  Our service manager ***** ******, personally reached out and spoke with her about her concerns.  Toyota has a back order of the recalled parts and we wish we could help expedite this process for our customers.  Unfortunatley, we are at the mercy of our manufacturer.  What we CAN do, however, is take care of each customer to the best of our ability while they are in our care.  Calming their fears and concerns.  **** ***** has been counciled and reprimanded and it was made clear that if Mrs. **** returns- our service manager will take care of her personally.  We are truly sorry and will do our best to make this up to her, from this point forward.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I was very pleased with the Quick response from Mr. ******. Toyota is slowly regaining my trust in their brand.

Regards,

***** ****

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2008 toyota tundra that Toyota says needs both rear axle bearings replaced which is a major concern. My extended warranty was out 2/6/14. However, they have known about the problem since 2012 and they have been getting emails from the factory about this problem since 2012. They never notified anybody. All parts in trucks after 2012 have been replaced. Although I am outside my extended warranty for 22 days, these people should be made to fix this as it could result in death when the rear axle locks up. People need to be aware of this. My truck has been in their shop many times for this and in the past they said they could not hear the whining in the rear end but once the warranty lapsed for 22 days I now have a receipt that shows my truck needs both axle bearings replaced. My family's life and other families need to be safe. All trucks 2007 - 2012 need to be fixed. They'd rather have someone's life at risk than do a recall. I'd rather do the recall now than wait for someone to get hurt or killed. They should be made to fix my truck and others.

Desired Settlement: Replace both rear axle bearings

Business Response: The employees at Round Rock Toyota are always very interested in helping our clients get the assistance they need and deserve from the manufacturer or extended Service Company that they have purchased from.  It is in our mutual interests to do this.  Had we been successful in this case, we would have a happy customer and made money from the manufacturer or warranty company in doing so.  So, we would have had a vested interest in doing so and absolutely, nothing to gain in not.   Unfortunately, we don’t make the rules regarding what the manufacturer’s pay for and what they do not and the extended service companies have their rules too.  All we can do is abide by them and fight all we can for our clients. 

In this case, we could not document and nor could the extended service company document that there were multiple or even one complaint in the service history regarding a bearing noise of any sort coming from the rear of the vehicle which is 7 years old and has almost 100,000 miles on it.   There are many records in the archives and none of them show any complaint from the customer in regards to these issues except on February 27th, 2014.  After reviewing the vehicle’s service history and speaking with our Service Advisor, the first time we heard of the concern was when we had the vehicle in for another issue and it was mentioned that our client had ridden in the back of his truck and heard the noise for the first time.    Due to this and the fact that the policy was expired, the extended service company refused to pay anything on the claim. 
We are very sorry that our bid to get this covered was not successful and even more so that our client finds fault in how we have tried to get him assistance in this matter. 
We would like to discuss this with him to see what we can do to keep the cost of repairs on the vehicle to a minimum and get this taken care of so that he doesn’t have to be concerned for his or his family’s safety.  He can call and discuss this with *** ****, ***** ********, Round Rock Auto Group at ###-###-####.  We look forward to his call and a quick resolution to this issue for our client.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ******    They have been getting notices on them rear ends since 2012 and they do nothing? 

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Round Rock Toyota 1/30/2014 to get a key made for my 2012 Toyota Prius, The representative name is ****. He said bring it in next Morning.I had a tow company bring the car in, after a few hours Toyota service called and said they could not make or program a key for the prius because the battery was dead. I told them I would buy a new battery, however they refused to program the key because the car was damaged in the rear by an accident. The service manager said the car belongs in the junkyard..I had to pay tow truck twice to get the car back to the shop in Georgetown.Talked to the Manager of the service department and he said it would be a big hassle to make a key for the prius. He denied me service.To top it off they caused more damage to the Prius. Damage report will follow.

Desired Settlement: Refund of damages to car and tow fees.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

We are very sorry that Mr. ****** is so unhappy with our attempts to take care of his automotive needs.  When he called to inquire about getting keys cut for his vehicle, he did not inform our Advisor that the vehicle was a total loss that he must have purchased from a salvage yard.  When we discovered that the battery had failed, our Manager got involved and made the determination that we would not be able to program the keys for him as we could not be certain that with all of the damages it could be done properly.    We simply don’t perform repairs to vehicles that we don’t think can or should be repaired.  His claim that we damaged his vehicle is difficult to understand being that we never moved the vehicle to attempt any repair.  A towing company dropped it off and then picked it up.  Perhaps he should contact them for assistance.   We regret that his experience was so poor that he felt a need to seek the help of the BBB but we fail to see how we have done anything wrong here or should be held responsible for damages to a vehicle that wasn’t worked on by our staff.
 
Respectfully,

Round Rock Toyota

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I DO NOT ACCEPT THE RESPONSE MADE BY ROUND ROCK TOYOTA. 

THE CAR IS NOT A SALVAGE AND DOES NOT BELONG IN THE JUNKYARD LIKE THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID.
JUST BECAUSE IT NEEDS A BUMPER AND SUSPENTION WORKED ON, SINCE WHEN DOES THE SERVICE MANAGER HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO SAY
"THE 2012 Prius C IS A TOTAL LOSS AND BELONGS IN THE JUNKYARD". IT IS CLEAR THERE IS PREJUDICE ON THE SERVICE MANAGER PART AND  ROUNDROCK TOYOTA.
TRYING TO HIDE THE FACT, THEY DID TRY TO START THE CAR AS THEY STATED AND FOUND THE BATTERY WAS IN NEED OF A CHARGE.
TO SAY THE THERE ARE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AS STATED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER, WOULD MEAN THEY HAD TO TRY TO START THE PRIUS C AND CAUSED PROBLEMS TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AT THAT TIME. 
 
 



Regards,

*** ******

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to Round Rock Toyota to get a tire rotation at 13,900 miles. I have had all tire rotations done at this dealership and proper records. The car is also carefully driven and never driven reckless. It is also a leased vehicle with 1.5 years left on the lease. I waited 2 hours with an appointment for the tire rotation only to find out the tires were bad. The Rep named ******* ********** told me the tires from the back only had 3/32. She and her service manager promised to “GOODWILL” or pay for 2 new tires since they were too low to pass an inspection and I told them that would force me to get 2 other tires because the other ones were approaching the same tread as stated by the service rep. When I told them this, they said they would only do 2 and sent me to ********* to try to get all 4 replaced. ********* did not do it either and said Toyota should replace them, since they do not cover the replacement either. They also measured the tread at ********* only to find out the back 2 tires are at 1/32, not 2/32. The front tires are actually at 2/32. This will not pass any Texas inspection to drive on the road safely. When you return a leased car, all 4 tires have to match. By only replacing 2, it forces me now to buy 2 tires that are very expensive. I was lied to about the tread depth, ping longed back and forth for hours from Round Rock Toyota to ********* for the past week. All I want is for Toyota to goodwill 4 tires and let me return that car with those same tires back to them when my lease expires due to this incredibly terrible service experience. Also, they promised a car wash, and this did not happen. They gave me no record of what had been done to my car or information about if the inspection for the recall had be done. Zero paperwork was handed to me. I was also left a mean message, as I took it, on my voicemail by the service manager after he found out I filed a case # with the Toyota corporate office. This was the worst experience I have ever had with Toyota and if this does not get resolved with 4 new tires, I will never lease or buy another Toyota again.

Desired Settlement: Replace all 4 tires with brand new tires and let me return those tires and the car to you when my lease expires in 1.5 years as a full Goodwill gesture for my week long inconvenience and terrible service experience at this dealership. Thank you for taking the time to read my troubles.

Business Response:

We regret that our efforts to satisfy Mr. ******** have failed.  We advised him after we inspected his vehicle that two of his tires were below standard and recommended that they be replaced.  At that time, he requested they be covered under Toyota’s manufacturer’s warranty.   

We explained to Mr. ******** that tires are not covered by Toyota but the tire’s manufacturer.  Despite this fact, we offered to replace both tires at no cost to him.  He then told us that he would not be satisfied until we replaced all four.  Since this exceeded our authorization level, we had to call our Toyota representative to seek his approval.  He declined any additional participation and our original offer of two free tires was the best that we could do for him.

Our Advisor then contacted the manufacturer of the tire on his behalf and arranged for them to inspect the tires at one of their locations.   Since they ultimately provide the warranty, they would have to see them to make a determination as to whether they were defective and merited a warranty replacement.  Evidently they informed Mr. ******** that they could not warranty the tires but they offered him a substantial discount and his out of pocket expense was only $275 for a new set of 4 tires.

We certainly apologize to Mr. ******** if he feels that he received poor service but we did everything we could to get him the assistance he requested.    We would be happy to wash his car if we he would like us to. We are sorry if we failed to do so when it was in our shop.  Regarding his paperwork, our Advisor informed him the day he picked up that she was going to hold onto it until we could resolve the issue he was having.  She did this hoping that we could take care of the tires for him as he requested.  As I understand it, we have sent him a copy of our invoice for his files.

If Mr. ******** would like to discuss this further, he can contact me at ###-###-####.

Regards,

*** ****

***** ********** ********

Round Rock Auto Group

 

 

 

 
 
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

They offered me 2 free EL400 tires.  Which forces me to buy 2 more EL400 tires for MORE than the price ********* offered me for 4.  I can get 4 tires at a reduction of $297, not $275, which is less than the 2 free EL400s that were offered.  They refused to pick up the bill which would of saved them money.  I am not satisfied.  They would rather pay more for 2 tires and force me into ones without a warranty than just pick up the bill for all 4 from ********* which would save them money and not even make them do the install.  They also lied about the tired tread.  All 4 tires are bald at 13,900 miles.  If they do not pick up the bill from ********* for the 4 tires, which are LESS than the 2 Free ones they want to give me, which, by the way, the EL400 tires have NO warranty, than I will not be ever doing business with them again, nor leasing or buying any Toyotas ever again.  

Regards,

****** ********

11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2008 Mini Cooper S on September 12th at Round Rock Toyota. I did buy it as is and was offered a Warrenty but the cost for the warrenty exceded the amount that I could afford. I purchased the vehicle for $14,500 with 37,900 miles on the vehicle. On the 20th, I was running some errands and went into a store to do some shopping. The car ran fine up until I got back out to my vehicle to try to start it. I pushed the button and everything lit up and came on besides the engine itself. All it would do is click over. I had it towed to two different shops to get my car looked at and both said the same issue. My engine was done for. Siezed. I called the dealership twice and spoke with the used sale ******* "***" and he said that and I quote "What do you expect me to do when your car is at fort hood and we are here in round rock." I said "Well I dont want to have my car towed down there and be told that you wont help me with my issue that clearly took place under your fault. The mechanic that I took it to showed me my car and the engine and said that the oil is a thicker type to possibly keep the knocking of the timing chain subdued. The timing chain was off due to the oil never being changed. The oil (which I have pictures and a in a bottle) is pitch black. I have only had the vehicle for 50 days. And driven it less than 400miles. The dealership should have changed the oil. Which they had signatures saying they did but obviously did not. The dipstick that was in the engine is shaded brown, so when you check it, it looks good. But as soon as you drop the pan/filter it is black. The used ***** ******* was silent for half the convorsation and refused to offer any help when clearly it could be placed on them for never having the oil changed. The cost of replacing a engine or rebuilding one will range from $6000 to $9000 with labor included in that. I could have bought a brand new Mini Cooper for the amount to repair this vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded the entire cost of the car plus the money I put into it for repairs and services. Which roughly comes out to $14,500 for the loan that I took out to purchase the car. $598 for the replaced starter that was bad. (Have receipt from shop) $240 for the shop taking out the engine to find out the problem. (Have signatures and receipt).

Business Response: Hello,
Round Rock Toyota is very distressed to hear that any customer is upset...but it is doubly upsetting to hear the trouble that *** ***** has had with his car.  That is the last thing we would ever want for any customer.  We take great care to make sure the vehicles we sell in our pre-owned department are good vehicles.  I have attached the inspection that we performed on the 2008 Mini Cooper that *** ***** purchased.  We DID change the oil among other things...and it was absolutley NOT a thicker oil.  I have attached all of our records.  The RR Toyota used car recon cost estimate are all of the things the tech requested we do outside of the normal oil change(which we do on every car).  Line 10 will always state tires-however, unless there is a cost/price related on the row there is no need for tires.  WE keep that line on the Recon Estimate Sheet to ensure they were checked.  The attached RO is all of the work priced out and performed on the vehicle before it ever hit our lot.  There is no one car reconditioning that is worth more then our integrity.  To state such a fact does not even make sense.  The fact that the mechanic *** ***** went to stated that the time and chain was off because the oil was not changed is also false.  I have attached the record of our inspection which includes the oil change nad the fact that the dipstick that was in the engine is brown shows that the oil was good.  WE feel terrible for *** *****....however, when purchasing a used car...just like when we take them in on trade..and when we sell a new car...there are always certain risks.  There is nothing we could do to erase all of the risks in any car purchase(new or used).  This is why we offer warranties on every purchase(new and used) and explain to each customer who purchases a pre-owned vehicle(as *** ***** even stated himself) that they are as-is.  Please understand...we wish there was something we could do.  As I stated before...we don't want any customer to experience loss.  However, with any man made machinery there is always a risk.  WE absolutley, did our due diligence in regards to reconditioning of this car.  All though we can not offer a refund(be it 5 days or 50) or pay for repairs that were needed after the purchase...I can offer *** ***** the warranty at a reduced amount of $2202 for a 4yr 50k for any future needs.  If *** ***** can find a way to get the vehicle to our shop; we can also help with repairs at a reduced rate.  I would also like to personally send him a $100 Shell Gas card in apologies that he has had a tough time with his BMW.  This is not what we want for our customers...we wish nothing, but for their cars to run perfectly for 100,000 from the minute they drive off.  However, we know that it just isn't realistic.  WE also wish we could just take on every risk and fix every car that our customer's have issues with...however, that is not realistic either.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9784400

I am rejecting this response because:


Here is a statement from the mechanic that took apart my engine. I would love to think that you guys changed the oil before I drove the car. But for only putting less than 1000 miles on it and having pitch black oil tells me that, that is a lie. The mechanic even let me look at my car as it was torn apart showing me everything wrong with the engine. With a bucket of the so called changed oil underneath it still draining. And I'm sure he has nothing to gain by making this statement. I'd love for you to say that I am a liar because the proof was sadly right in front of me. And being in the military I am even more so disappointed that you would sell a vehicle in the shape it's in to me. I would never recommend my brothers and sisters in arms to purchace a car through you guys. I actually had to go through this site to get any sort of so called help since the used ***** ******* (withholding his name since that's the right thing to do) refused to help at all. And who the heck in their right mind would let you touch a vehicle that you guys didn't even fix in the first place. Also thank you for your copy paste response in attempting to resolve the issue. The fact is none of that helps my current condition considering the vehicle YOU sold me can't move. Would you pay for towing? I thought not. Reduced rate for labor? What $5 off per hour? What a joke. It's going to cost me $7,000 to get a used engine with more miles than it already has on it with labor. I understand that not every vehicle you sell that's used won't be brand spanking new, but not to change something as basic as the oil is just plain pathetic. Mind you that is not the main issue of the problem because the timing chain was jacked up before I got it, but it certainly did not aid the problem. Want more pictures? I have more picture of my cars guts torn apart. You can help by paying the cost of all my repairs since YOU guys couldn't do your job right in the first place. Now my car isn't even worth the lowest price for Blue Book value. Plus I just started making payments on it. And I still have yet to change the brake calibers. So just in repairs I'm paying for half of what I am paying for the vehicle. That's excluding towing, time without a car, and giving me financial hardship.

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: Dear *** *****, While we certainly understand that based on the mechanic’s inspection of the vehicle it may appear that the oil had was not changed in July as we have already documented, that is not proof that we did not change the oil.  There are plausible explanations for what has occurred here.  We would never suggest that you or your mechanic is lying and would ask the same consideration from you. Our reconditioning process if very thorough but unfortunately, we don’t always uncover everything that could possibly be wrong with a vehicle.  We always do our 133 point inspection, which is posted on our vehicles.  We do not disassemble an engine to inspect the timing chain or how the vehicle was maintained prior to our acquiring it.  That is why we always recommend to our clients an extended service agreement so that in the event of a problem, you are covered.  
 We are very interested in a mutually acceptable solution to this problem and believe that we can if we work together on one rather than making accusations that cannot be proven.  My ***** ******* would like to personally speak with you, in the hopes and belief that a solution can be reached.  His name is *** **** and can be reached at *************. 

Thank you

11/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***Prepared for ***** ********* Recently I had gone to the Round Rock Toyota Scion dealership to purchase a used vehicle. At first I received excellent service and found a vehicle that I had liked, a Toyota Tacoma. So I decided to purchase this pre-owned certified Toyota vehicle and took it home. That same day I was riding on interstate 35 and noticed that the truck was shaking at high speeds (i.e. around 75) and felt very unstable and unsafe. I was concerned about this and felt very unsafe driving the truck so I took it back the very next day to inform them of the issue and had a salesman, **** *******, ride with me to show him the shakiness of the vehicle. I was also concerned that if this vehicle was having problems already as a 2013 model that it was going to have many more problems down the road so I had wanted to give it back and get a different vehicle. I found a Rav 4 that I liked and decided to buy it. **** made everything seem pretty easy and straight forward so nothing seemed wrong or suspicious but since I don’t know English very well I had to rely on **** to explain to me the terms of the contract. I left a satisfied customer thinking that the dealer had taken back the truck and essentially swapped it with a pre-owned Rav 4. But shortly thereafter I realized that **** and the dealer had taken the Toyota Tacoma back as a “trade-in” and tacked on a depreciation value to the price of the Rav 4 bringing the total price to over $41,000 which is about $6,000 dollars more than the equity of the car. There were no explanation of charges presented to me. The dealer did not make me aware that they would be adding the depreciated value of the vehicle to the total cost of the Rav4 that I had purchased. I believe that they tried to take advantage of the fact that my English is not very good and the fact that I may have not completely understood the details presented to me in the contract. I believed that they would have just taken the other vehicle off since I had turned it in within the 24 hour period of purchase due to the unsafe handling and feeling of the Toyota Tacoma. After discovering that the loan was higher than the fair market value of the car, I attempted to go back to the dealer and get it corrected but when speaking to one of the ******* ********, ***** *****, he had told me that there was nothing that they could do and he started getting very angry at me for even bringing this up to him. Also they had already put the Toyota Tacoma back up for sale for the exact same price that they sold it to me with ZERO depreciation. A few days later I got a letter from the bank where I received the loan for the Tacoma and the Rav 4 and they had said that they had approved me for $35,000 but not the $41,000 that this dealer actually charged me so they had disapproved the loan on those terms and also because the amount of the loan was worth thousands of dollars more than the actual equity of the vehicle. After receiving this letter I called the bank and they told me that the loan on the Tacoma was still active which I was surprised to hear because it should have been cancelled. Now with this new information I went back to the dealer to attempt to resolve this dispute and talked to another ********* person, *** ******, and he tried to help me resolve this situation so he went to his ******* (*****) and apparently got yelled at and came back flushed and told me that there was nothing he could do. Also while I was at the dealer, apparently I was approved by another bank but I was not aware that I ever gave the dealer permission to shop around and try and find someone to provide me with another loan for the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like the desired outcome to be an adjustment of the billing. I feel that I was wrongly charged the depreciation value of the first vehicle and that it should not have been added to the purchase of the Rav4. I would like for this company to fix the billing and remove the depreciation charge from the bill, and make it for only the amount of the vehicle that I purchased without any added charges other than the necessary taxes and title.

Business Response: Hello,
We hate to hear that ***** ****** is upset because we tried to help in every way possible to accomodate her.  On 10/14 ***** purcahsed a 2013 Tacoma with only 4362..this meant it was not only certified; but also had the remainder of the factory warranty.  ***** felt so confident that she wanted to protect this vehicle that she opted to purchase an extended warranty that pushed that further-to a 84 month and 100,000 mile warranty.  We do electronic titling/registrations and contracts now.  What that means is everything is sent to the lender and the tax office immediatley upon signing.  It happens in the vlink of an eye.  The next day-***** came in stating that at 70 miles an hour she felt a vibration?  Obviously, we don't drive the cars at 70 mph when we re-condition them; however, we were more then happy to have the truck looked at for her.  The factory warranty is in full effect..and it was no problem at all...any issue would be fully covered(just as if it were brand new).  She stated that she would rather get something different.  Her salesman from the previous day was off.  So she was able to work with our most ******* salesman-**** ********.  I feel this is important to note because(all though her english was incredible-she noted her English was not...of course I realize that could be in comprehension?)...****'s first language is Spanish..English is his second.  So the second day she was with ****.  We told her that all though all of the paper work was gone...and we had actually been funded on the Tacoma deal that morning..we would be happy to trade her out of it(if she would rather us not look at the Tacoma).  She picked out a Brand New Rav.  We cancelled all of the warranties she had purchased on the Tacoma and put those cancellations as cash down towards the rav purchase. I have attached only a few of the forms she signed showing all of the numbers.  What I attached were the forms dealing souly with her trade...higher payoff, odomoter, acknowledgement of negative/positive equity.  Zaida's payment went up...she also initialled this several places.  She actually opted for her payment to go up more when she decided to add on the pre-paid maintenance package(in addition to a 72month/100,000 mile warranty) on her new rav.  We will always do everything we can to help with a customer...however, we have all of these forms signed to protect her and us.  ***** returned a few days later and we told her that if she would like to take the Tacoma back(at the same terms agreed to previously) that we would be happy to do so for her.  She said she didn't want to do that either.  We try to be overly dilligent because it seems as if it is so easy to say we arent.  Our customers are important to us...We felt as if letting her trade it in was a better then option then telling her there was nothing we could do other then look at the truck for her(which she didn't want to do).  I guess we should have done that...however, then this would be about us not allowing her to back out of the original car deal, which is just not feesible in today's business.  We try to make the best decisions for our customers.  In this case we thought we were doing so...helping ***** get into a different vehicle that she liked as well.  Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: **** did not explain that the truck was going to be taken in as a trade in.  When I returned with the vehicle, I drove with him to show him the problem.  I knew that if the truck was having problems so soon, it will only be a matter of time until the warranty runs out and I am left without a reliable vehicle.  **** told me that they were "changing" the car out, using the Spanish word "cambiar", before sending me to the waiting area.  He paced around for a while before returning to me saying that the paperwork was ready to be signed.  I was told where to sign and initial without further explanation of the charges.  As I had no other vehicle at the moment and desperately needed the car, I signed.  I am happy with the new RAV4 and only want the charges from the Tacoma taken off the account.

Regards,
***** ******

Business Response: I would like to take care of ******.  Round Rock Toyota did nothing wrong-and we did in fact, make sure that we took care of her and allowed her to trade out of the Tacoma and into the Rav.  The Rav will also run out of Factory Warranty...just like the Tacoma will.  In fact, ****** even purchased an extended warranty on her Tacoma.  She also stated in her original complaint that she did not understand what was being said because her first language is Spanish and not English.  However, in her second comment she says something completely different....even quoting the spanish words that were spoken.  I only say all of that to say this:  I WANT TO help.  I want to do so because ****** is our customer...NOT because of the claims she is making.   They are not accurate and in any way true.  We went above and beyond to make her happy....and I do not mind going even further.  However, I think it is important for ****** to realize and acknowledge we are helping and we did nothing decitful OR without her knowledge.  I am currently working on a solution with a bank and I will reach out to ****** when I have developed a plan with them to help.  The last thing we ever want to do is isolate or hurt a customer.  If I can find a solution that helps her and monetarily makes sense, as a company, I will do so.  I believe I can.  I am going to try to have her come and re-sign on the Rav with NO trade.  I believe I can make this work for and will work tirelessly to do so.  For her, as our customer.  I just believe recognizing how much we have tried to help with is important.  I will be in touch with her later this afternoon when I have confirmation of my plan.  Thank you!

6/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car price I negotiated for a 2011 Toyota prius was $15000 + taxes. By the end of the transactions the value of the car is now $25000. I think I was tricked into it and tried to return the car. But they informed me that once it is sold it can't be taken back.

Desired Settlement: Looking to cancel the 7yr warranty period (2250$) and get back a refund of atleast $2500. I really don't want to pay 9000 more.

Business Response: Hello,

All though...we have all documents signed by the customer prior to the final paperwork...there is NOTHING more important to us then our customer's satisfaction.  This feeling INCLUDES when we have done everything upfront and with complete disclosure.  If the customer is unhappy with the transaction and the titling has not occured then we always want to do the right thing by the customer.  Even if there was no fault.  Our ultimate goal is customer satisfaction...which means if they are not satisfied, or if(as was in this case) there was any misunderstanding, at ALL we will release them from the transaction.  We did so this evening.  We must try to improve our level of communication with our customer's so that they always feel good when they leave our store.  If that doesn't happen then the burden is ours to make it right.  We have released this client from all obligation and we wish the best for him.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* **********



















2/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service