BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Round Rock Honda?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Round Rock Honda will take care of all of your Service, Parts, Accessories, and Finance needs. If you are looking to purchase, lease, finance, or service a new or used Honda in Austin, you've come to the right place. We service and sell new, used, and Certified Pre-Owned Honda as well as many brands of used cars. Visit us at Exit 254 in Round Rock, just north of Austin.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Round Rock Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Round Rock Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Round Rock Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 19, 1997 Business started: 03/01/1995 in TX Business started locally: 03/01/1995 Business incorporated: 08/21/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curtis Salter, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis Salter, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Products & Services

Round Rock Honda sells the following brand(s): Honda, Nearly all other brands of Pre-Owned vehicles

Round Rock Honda offers the following product(s): Certified Pre-Owned Honda, New Honda, Used Honda

Service Area
Round Rock Honda sells and services New Hondas and Used Hondas in the Central Texas area including Austin, Georgetown, San Marcos, Cedar Park, Leander, Killeen, Waco, Temple, & all of Central Texas.
Alternate Business Names
Hill Country Imports, Ltd.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2301 N Interstate 35

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (512) 244-9000

  • PO Box 1568

    Round Rock, TX 78680

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (1) The Air Conditioning did not work properly when the car was stopped but engine kept running. The A/C cool air turned off after 10 mins. This was a brand new car, Honda's Odyssey which I bought on August 26th, 2014. Eventually, the A/C was identified by the service center that the A/C did have quality issues. The car with this serious A/C problem should not be sold and especially in Texas where the weather is so hot and a brand new vehicle without A/C properly running is bad for health. Round Rock Honda sold me a brand new vehicle with vital quality problem. (2) The invoice that Round Rock Honda provided was not itemized. The problem was found when I requested to get refund for an ordered option of rear sensor which Round Rock Honda charged me but unable to deliver the option. (3) The request of refund was not replied by the salesperson although two emails were sent. The time of the refund of the uninstalled rear sensor was long, it took more than two weeks to get the refund. (4) Round Rock Honda refused to provide all the documents that I signed at their office when I sent them an email to make such request.

Desired Settlement: (1) It is fair and reasonable that an extended warranty should be offered by Round Rock Honda since the car did come with this major defect when it was sold as brand new. However, $1,590 for the extended warranty was paid when I bought the car, I am now asking a credit of $1,590. 2. I have experienced at least 5 to 6 times that the A/C was not working. The A/C did not work on the Labor Day holiday when my family went to the San Marcos Premium Outlet and two of my sons were overheated when they were sitting in the car and the car was stuck in the heavy traffic in the shopping’s parking lot at least 30 mins without A/C in the car. The physical distress happened to my sons were very unfortunate and sounded rare when we were supposed to go shopping by the brand new car! The time and mental distress caused by the communications with Round Rock Honda such as emails and phone calls, the time I spent on chasing the refund of the uninstalled rear sensor, the inconvenience caused by the car being sent to the service center and the unprofessional services provided by Round Rock Honda's sale person, Joseph Williams which I would like to ask for another $500 credit for compensating the distress and the inconvenience that my family and I were suffered.

Business Response: In response to complaint ID#******** dated 10/07/14. We
at Round Rock Honda are as disappointed as our customer concerning any product
issues that he may have incurred with his new van. We are very proud to offer
Hondas for sale at our dealership as it is one of the finest products in the
automotive industry today. I have personally apologized on behalf of my staff,
the dealership and American Honda to our customer on the telephone and numerous
times thru e-mail. Unfortunately as I have explained several times the reason
that automobile manufactures (and manufactures in other industries) include a
warranty in the purchase price is because defects, workmanship quality and
perceived defects will incur with just about anything that is manufactured. In
his situation we were unable to locate a defective part but we were able to
make adjustments to the pressure in his A/C unit in order to have it operate to
his satisfaction.

 I have provided
our customer with an accessories price list and a work authorization form (with
the dollar amount in question) with his signature to verify any and all pricing
concerns that he should have about the rear sensors. I understand that our
customer feels there was a delay in the refund process for which I have
apologized for and assured him that it was unintentional. I did however explain
to him that the refund process could be a long process due to the policy and
procedures that we must follow within our corporation.  We have never refused to provide the
documents that our customer signed and will gladly provide him with copies as
quickly as possible.

 

 We do not feel
that his desired settlement is a fair and reasonable request from the
dealership as the vehicle comes with a warranty from the manufacture. The
warranty from the manufacture does not offer any compensation for time and or
perceived mental stress.

 

The dealership feels that we have already compensated him
by offering him services above and beyond our normal services including:
providing the original delivery of Mr. ***'s vehicle to him at the airport so
he could drop off his rental vehicle. Upon notification that he felt that he
had a problem with the A/C we provided him with a loaner vehicle from the
dealership at no cost and delivered it to his house while picking up his
Odyssey to bring in for service. Once the adjustments were completed at the
dealership we delivered the vehicle back to his home address. These are
services that are not part of our standard operating procedure due to cost,
time and additional liabilities therefore we feel that the dealership has  completed all compensation for our customer.

 

 

****** ****** ******* *******

Round Rock Honda                                                  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because most of the responses from Curtis Salter of Round Rock Honda are not acceptable and not fair to the customer:

 

1.     From Round Rock Honda response: “I have explained several times the reason that automobile manufactures (and manufactures in other industries) include a warranty in the purchase price is because defects, workmanship quality and perceived defects will incur with just about anything that is manufactured.” I certainly understand the product I bought come with warranty and in fact I paid the extended warranty. Selling a product with warranty should not be a reason to justify that Round Rock Honda sold me a brand new product with major AC problem is acceptable and they did not safeguard the quality control before selling the brand new product to the customers and what I asked for was the extended warranty which is reasonable because:

a.     This type of problem happens very rare with a brand new car

b.     This is a serious problem

c.      Round Rock Honda did not identify the problem when the car was back to their service center in the first two days which shows the problem was not easy to tackle and could happen again

2.     Round Rock Honda did provide me an accessories price list but they presented this to me after I requested this for at least TWICE!

3.     Even though an accessories price was provided upon twice requests but it would not change the fact that Round Rock Honda’s invoice was NOT itemized which is absolutely not fair to the customer.

4.     The refund was happened because Round Rock Honda agreed to provide me the rear sensor option on Aug 26th, 2014 when the sales agreement was signed and payment was made. However, Round Rock Honda did not inform me about the unavailability until the car was delivered on Aug 28th, 2014. It is not rational by today’s stock management technology that the dealer did not know whether the stock was not available when they sold it to the customer. Round Rock Honda did not check the rear sensor option’s inventory availability when they collected payment from me. Round Rock Honda did have two days to communicate with me after collecting the payment between Aug 26th, 2014 (the agreement was signed and the payment was made) and the delivery date of Aug 28th, 2014. No one from Round Rock Honda proactively informed me until I collected the car on Aug 28th, 2014. If Round Rock Honda was not sure about the stock availability, they should not sell and collect monies from the customer. If they promised and collected monies from the customer, they should try their bests to communicate with the customer if the order cannot be delivered. Unfortunately, they did not!

5.     From Round Rock Honda response: “We have never refused to provide the documents that our customer signed and will gladly provide him with copies as quickly as possible.” Yes, Round Rock Honda did not refuse to provide but they never provided until I received some copies of the documents on Oct 12th, 2014. The parcel was mailed to me with the post office’s chop dated Oct 10th, 2014. I sent an email dated Sep 25th, 2014 to Curtis Salter of Round Rock Honda asking: “I found the copies of some documents which I signed at your company on August 26th, 2014 were not provided to me. A good example would be the document which you emailed me dated September 8th, 2014 about the order of the rear sensor. Would you please e-mail me all the documents I signed for the whole buying process.” All signed documents were not provided when the agreement was signed at Round Rock Honda’s office on Aug 26th, 2014. I followed up to send them an email on Sep 25th, 2014 but they took action until I filed an official complaint to BBB dated Oct 6th, 2014. The response from Curtis Salter saying “will gladly provide him with copies as quickly as possible” is not logically true! The documents were provided finally being pushed by several times with the involvement of BBB. It is not fair to the customer to spend so much efforts and time to get those documents that the customer has the right to have all of them when the agreement was signed!

6.     From Round Rock Honda response: “we have already compensated him by offering him services above and beyond our normal services including: providing the original delivery of Mr. ***'s vehicle to him at the airport so he could drop off his rental vehicle” which is not acceptable because:

a.     The arrangement of the delivery was agreed when I negotiated with Joseph Williams, sales person of Round Rock Honda during the negotiation process before buying. Round Rock Honda might refuse to do this and I might not buy the car from them. Round Rock Honda accepted this term before the refund and AC problems were found.

b.     Shipping the product to the customer to where the customer decided is very common in today’s commercial world, I do not think this is something “service above and beyond their normal services”

 

I am not asking something beyond the standard. If you see this issue from an ordinary consumer’s perceptive in a fair business world, I, as a customer, should not deserve to have:

 

1.     Sold a brand new car with major AC problem

2.     Paid the option and could not get it without proactive communications from the seller

3.     Spent so much time on requesting the refunds of the option

4.     Spent so much time on requesting all signed documents

5.     Not provided an itemized invoice

6.     Something agreed and being part of the deal BEFORE buying becomes “services above and beyond their normal services”

 
Regards,

*** *** * ***

Business Response:  
 In response to complaint ID ********:  We hear at Round Rock Honda are deeply concerned that our customer now feels that most of the responses from ****** ****** and Round Rock Honda are not acceptable. Round Rock Honda has provided exceptional service to thousands of customers thru out the years while ****** has been at the helm. We have received an A+ rating with the BBB and maintained a 97% completely satisfied rating with our new Honda customers through this year. Unfortunately some customers have had minor and major product issues (as with any product sold) but we were still able to satisfy them thru the normal warranty process.  All of our new Hondas sold including the vehicle sold in this case must pass a pre-delivery inspection mandated by the factory as well as a State Inspection mandated by the state. This vehicle passed both inspections without any know issues.

Customer states: Selling a product that the dealership did not safeguard the quality control

The A/C was operating properly when the pre-delivery inspection was performed and while the customer took delivery. Based on the customers comments the issue was an intermittent problem. An intermittent problem is a very frustrating problem for the consumer and the dealership due to fact that it means that the part is alternately functioning properly and improperly. Obviously with an intermitted problem the A/C could and did pass the inspections that were completed at the dealership. 

Customer states: this type of problem is very rare and is a serious problem:

We agree that this type of problem is very rare, and as a consumer it would be considered a serious problem, however it is not considered a safety related issue by American Honda

Customer states: Round Rock Honda did not identify the problem when the car was back in the service center in the first two days:

The vehicle was not put into the service center during the two days that elapsed between the customer signing the documents and actual delivery because there was no failure or complaint of a failure with the A/C. 

Customer states: Round Rock did not provide me an accessories price list:

We have provided the customer a copy of the work authorization form with his signature and the price clearly stated for the accessory purchased, this copy and a pricelist was e-mailed to the customer upon knowledge that it was a concern.

Customer States: Round Rock Honda's invoice was not itemized

Round Rocks purchase agreement provides a total sales price including any accessories purchased by the customer and then itemizes the taxes and other fees. The purchase agreement meets all requirements of TADA 


Customer states: it is not rational that the dealer did not know whether the stock was not available when they sold it, and that we should not collect monies from the customer at purchase.

The Sales department orders the part thru the parts department which was completed the next day the 27th, the parts department then orders the parts from Honda and receives confirmation the following day which was the 28th. We do collect monies at the time of purchase which is pretty standard for most companies. This is also a benefit for the customer because when the accessories are included in the price of the car the tax rate is 6.25% rather than over 8%.

Customer states:  
It is not fair to the customer to spend so much time to get those documents that the customer has the right to have all of them when the agreement was signed

The customer was given copies of all standard documents at delivery. He was also given additional copies in a timely fashion of documents signed that under most business practices are not required to be provided.


 Round Rock Honda provided a loaner car and pickup and delivery services at our own expense and liability. For a manufacture issue  most customers would bring the car in then either drop off, wait or rent a car while the repair was diagnosed or completed. We feel that the customer’s request for compensation from the dealership is unwarranted and completely out of the standard practices for an item covered and repaired under the manufactures warranty.

While we do not feel that the dealership nor any of the dealerships representatives have committed any infractions that would warrant compensation, we are willing to offer the customer a $100.00 gas card for any inconvenience that the customers perceives was caused by the dealership. 
 

8/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 Honda Ridgeline on October 31st, 2013 at Round Rock Honda. It was certified through their CPO program which includes a certification inspection and warranty. Upon driving it home, I noticed the brakes made noise and there was a regular belt squeal. The driver rear brake caliper was broken and the serpentine belt was badly worn - both should have been caught by the inspection. I took the vehicle back to RR Honda, as it was during the first 30 days and service must be done by the selling dealership. I asked for repair and for a full inspection as things had clearly been missed. Over the phone, I was assured that there would be shuttles to and from work, rental car coverage, etc. Over the next few days, my truck was repaired and allegedly fully inspected for all problems. I was repeatedly assured that it had had been gone over completely, and I requested to speak with the ******* ******* to discuss. I was unable to speak with the ******* ******* despite repeated reassurances that he would call me. That was technically correct, but in fact cost me a total of 12 hours spent at their dealership and/or rental car office for a problem that was their fault. It is now July 2014, and during a routine fluid service, First Texas Honda has found that the AC has multiple leaks and the timing belt pulley is failing, both appearing to have been long-term problems. Fortunately, the pulley is covered by the powertrain warranty (still in effect until October 8th) but the AC is an out of pocket expense for me. Clearly, RR Honda did NOT complete the full inspection as promised.

Desired Settlement: I would like RR Honda to: 1. Repair the AC leaks (replace valves and other parts necessary) and replace refrigerant 2. Replace the timing belt pulley 3. Pick up and return the vehicle from me, leaving me with a loaner vehicle in the meantime, without me having to visit their shop 4. Provide 6 months additional warranty coverage due to risk incurred by their ineffective inspections

Business Response: Mr. ****:

Since both of your current concerns are covered in full by your Certified Used Car Warranty, I have ordered the needed parts for you, and will give you a call when they come in.  Round Rock Honda will be happy to provide alternative transportation during the repair process.

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.

Sincerely,
***** ********
Honda ******* *******
###-###-####

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My check engine light came on in my car. I took it to *** and the Master Mechanic said I just need a tone up, after putting it on the computer. I told the Master Mechanic at *** that I just had a major tune-up at Round Rock (RR) Honda in RR, Texas in late January 2014. He told me to take it back to them. I did. RR Honda said I needed at value adjustment and it would cost 475. I told them to redo the tune-up. They did not redo the tune up and did a value adjustment and it cost 475. I am upset and was overcharged. The average price for a Value Adjustment in my zip code is between 260 and 370. All of the 475 was labor. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: REFUND.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response: Mr. ********:

As I stated on the phone with you approximately 30 minutes ago, I was having my shop foreman pull in your vehicle and do a complete evaluation.  He used our Honda Diagnostic Equipment and found code P0301 and P0305, #1 cylinder misfire and #5 cylinder misfire.  He inspected the brand new spark plugs that we installed in Janauary and found no problems there.  He researched on the Honda Technician website and found Bulletin 08-022.  According to this bulletin, the codes could be due to an incorrect Crank Shaft Pattern value stored in the PCM after battery power is diconnected.  We updated the PGM-FI software in your vehicle, and the misfire is now gone.

We have chosen not to charge you for this repair, and we did not perform the valve adjustment that you are stating that we did.

The posted labor rate at Round Rock Honda is $116.00 per flat rate hour.  According the ALLDATA.COM an independent repair time reference web site, a valve adjustment on a 2005 Honda Accord V6 should pay the tech 4.5 hours.  We only charge 4.0 hours.  The retail parts price for Honda replacement parts: 2 valve cover gaskets and 6 spark plug tube seals is $34.04.  So the total retail price for a valve adjustment here is $500.84 with sales tax.  ****** quoted you $475.00 because he was offering a discount.

We did NOT perform this Valve Adjustment and therefore do not owe you a refund.

****** will be calling you shortly to let you know that your vehicle is ready.

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ********

11/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in reference to a maintenance service I had done on my Honda Civic at Round Rock Honda Service dept. this past Thursday (11/14/13). I was told on the phone it would cost $41. When I got there they added an extra $1.47 "miscellaneous fee." I would like to request a refund of this extra fee because it was not disclosed up front.

Desired Settlement: I would like to request a refund of the $1.47 "miscellaneous fee" because it was not disclosed up front.

Business Response: *** ****:

Upon receiving a copy of your concern, I pulled the initial write-up for your Service Visit.  ******** ***** (your service advisor) did write a total amount of $45.00 on the write-up.

I am happy to refund your $1.47 if you feel that this price was not quoted up front.  You will be receiving a check in the near future.

Sincerely,

***** ********
Honda ******* *******
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****

2/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service