Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Round Rock Honda

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 244-9000 Fax: (512) 493-9119 View Additional Phone Numbers 2301 N Interstate 35, Round Rock, TX 78664 http://www.roundrockhonda.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Round Rock Honda will take care of all of your Service, Parts, Accessories, and Finance needs. If you are looking to purchase, lease, finance, or service a new or used Honda in Austin, you've come to the right place. We service and sell new, used, and Certified Pre-Owned Honda as well as many brands of used cars. Visit us at Exit 254 in Round Rock, just north of Austin.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Round Rock Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Round Rock Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Round Rock Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 19, 1997 Business started: 03/01/1995 in TX Business started locally: 03/01/1995 Business incorporated 08/21/1989 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curtis Salter, General Manager Mr. Gilbert Gortarez, General Sales Manager Ms. Kathy Russell
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Gilbert Gortarez, General Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Curtis Salter, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Products & Services

Round Rock Honda sells the following brand(s): Honda, Nearly all other brands of Pre-Owned vehicles

Round Rock Honda offers the following product(s): Certified Pre-Owned Honda, New Honda, Used Honda

Alternate Business Names
Hill Country Imports, Ltd.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Buying A Used Car Car Repair Tips Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Round Rock Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2301 N Interstate 35

    Round Rock, TX 78664 (512) 904-6900 (512) 244-9000

  • PO Box 1568

    Round Rock, TX 78680

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/6/2015 I went into Round rock Honda and told **** ***** to cancel the extended warrenty on the seats for my car a 2014 Honda Civic and was told that they would send the check to me and on 11/16/2015 was told check was sent to my finance company and I contacted Westlake financial and they do not have the check either. I contacted **** ***** and he said they sent the check 5 or 6 months ago which is not true since I just requested it 10/6 and neither I or Westlake have the check. I was suppose to get a refund of 395.00 I am never going to buy a Honda again.

Desired Settlement: I want the 395.00 sent to either me or Westlake financial. Westlake has never gotten the check

Business Response:

We would like to offer an official apology to Ms. ***** for the delay in refunding the check to her lienholder. The cancelation of the product was delayed by our error and while waiting on authorization because it was actually a non-cancelable product. In the interest of customer satisfaction we have elected to refund Ms. ***** the full amount and we have attached a copy of the check and tracking code that was sent to her lienholder.
Again Ms. ***** we apologize for any inconvenience and we value you as a customer.

****** ******
******* *******
Round Rock Honda

8/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a brand new 2015 Honda Fit from Round Rock Honda on June 13, 2015. I had a check from my credit union to pay for the vehicle and did not need financing through the dealership. The dealership was supposed to pay off my 2013 Mini Cooper that I traded in the same day I bought the Honda Fit. My Mini Cooper was not paid off by the time the July payment was due on July 22. I called Round Rock Honda on July 28 and left a message with **** *******. He did not call me back. I called him again on July 29 and spoke with him. He said he would look into it and call me back. I had not heard back from him as of 1pm on July 30. I called Round Rock Honda back on the evening of July 30 and spoke with ***** ******* and ***** in the Business Office. ***** assured me she would take care of the issue and have the payoff check sent to Mini Financial Services (owned by BMW North America). She did that and gave me a tracking number to ensure the payoff was received, which it was. My issue is that I had to pay an additional $28.53 to Mini (BMW) in order for them to release the title. If Round Rock Honda had not delayed sending the check to Mini (BMW), I would not have had to pay the additional $28.53.

Desired Settlement: I would like Round Rock Honda to send me a check for $28.53 because I should not be penalized for their not paying off my trade in in a timely manner.

Business Response:

We completely dropped the ball here in more ways than one. I
would like to apologize on behalf of the dealership for not getting the payoff
sent in a timely fashion and thank the customer for bringing this to our attention
as it did expose to us a flaw in our process. We have since then adjusted the
process to help insure that this type of error will not happen in the future. Just
as important is our unacceptable response when the customer first alerted us to
the situation. We will be implementing some additional training so that in the future
our response will be more in line with the way ***** handled the problem.

I have attempted to contact the customer this morning and
left a voice mail to offer our apologies. We will be paying for the late fees
that the customer has incurred and will be sending a check along with a little
something extra to her today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my first car ever from this company. When determining what I wanted i specifically told the sales lady and also the man who completed the sale that I was looking for a car in great condition, no accidents especially as i wanted this car to be safe for me and my children therefore I did not want a car that had accidents or major repairs or that had multiple owners and they agreed. The Hyundai that I purchased was just that according to them. A few months down the line ( 07/27/2015), as on my way home i noticed that the air conditioning was not functioning as it should and as i pulled into my driveway i noticed that the engine temperature gauge was elevated. i immediately switched the car off and informed my husband of what i had noticed. We called a repair shop and took the car in. We were told that the reservoir/panel for that controls the cars temp was damaged, a part would be ordered and the car would be repaired but the repair shop also said that the issue they were seeing with just a basic look could not cause the issues we were seeing. After the part came in a complete review of the car returned that this car had been in a front end collision before because the radiator was basically crooked and burning into the framing of this car. i was beyond words. this place was supposed to be a reputable place and they assured me that the car had never been in any collisions with one owner. I called the guy that completed my purchase and was basically told that i was just upset that the car was not under warranty and he continued to try to tell me about other new cars that he that had issued. i then told this man that i was not calling about other cars and their issues i was calling because i was sold a car based on lies, then he said he offered me a full car warrantee and i declined it at that point i told this man that he never offered me any full car warrantee, i reminded him that it was my first car purchase and i remembered everything that i was offered and that it did not make sense that i said yes to a useless tire warrant but would say no to a full car warrrant that would protect the full car? that was a lie. he then asks whether the mechanic would give me a written letter stating what he found that i should take to the sales manager at the location so that they would see what they could do and I said yes I would ask and get it. i have pictures and documentation of all the findings. This company and its representatives lied to me and took advantage of me as a consumer.

Desired Settlement: i want the cost of the repairs of these issues to be covered by this company as these are issues resulting from the lies that I was told and continue to hear from this company's representatives.

Business Response: We do not make statements guaranteeing our pre-owned
vehicles. We do run a CARFAX report on each of the pre-owned vehicles that we
offer to sell. We ask that the customer read and sign this document (attached).
In this case the CARFAX report states that no accident/damage has been reported
to CARFAX. The CARFAX report also states that the vehicle is a one owner car.
We reviewed and had the customer sign to acknowledge that we are selling the
car AS-IS and that nothing else has been promised or implied. We also offered
the customer the opportunity to purchase an extended service contract and have
the customer sign to acknowledge that this was offered.  I have attached all of these documents with
the customer signature.

Because of the procedures that were followed we do not feel
that the dealership is responsible for the repairs that may have
been done.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I went to Honda Round Rock dealership on 08/10/15 I spoke to a Manager that I informed of all the issues that I was having with this car from the get go.  Namely: within the first few days my husband started hearing a faint noise coming from the car.  Our previous car was a Lincoln, then to this quality of car we thought this to be normal.  However, as a precaution because we also thought it to be a possible break issue and this being our only car which I would be using mainly to transport my daughter to and from medical specialist as she was born with medical issues we decided to take it into a brake place to have it looked at.  The Brake shop said that the car had no brake issues but the rims on the car were bent.   That issue was fixed as I stated in my previous complaint after all the accusations from the sales manager.  I thought that this was the end.  


However, a week ago my car starts to overheat and we took it into the repair shop.  The guy took one look at the car and asked “where did you buy this car?” when I told him he said that we were screwed by them because the car had obviously been in a front end collision and it was obviously trying to be covered up from what he was seeing.  I could not believe it!  He showed us all the areas that pointed to what he was saying.  This was our only car so we had no other choice but to repair it $800.  My daughter needed to go to her medical visits the car had to work and a child cannot be transported in a non air-conditioned car in this Texas heat, the car comes out of the shop and continues to over-heat.  At that point we are told that the fan now needed to be replaced all as a result of the condition in which the car was originally sold to us.  I felt that at that point I had no other choice but to take the car to the dealership that I purchased it. 

I got there and they are again reluctant to help me,  the manager takes me to an office and basically told me that he could have his guys value the car in its current state and I could trade it in because a lot of people do that or he could take the car to Hyundai to have it assessed for what I was saying, at that point I asked him to clarify what he was saying. I said "basically what you are saying is that I would have to take a loss on this car?" And he said so what do you want me to do for you.  I said I want you to give me the value that I paid you for this car and I will get my husband and we will get a different car and I would also like to know what Hyundai finds on this car.  He said ok and said that he needed my keys to get the mileage on my car and then we would take it from there.  I handed him the keys and he went to the car, I noticed a white head guy meet him at the car and they were having a conversation, he goes into the car, then opens the hood of the car and continues to talk to the guy.  They close the hood and he approaches me and said well we are now going to take this car first to Hyundai because the general manager is now involved and he got your BBB complaint and he gives me a look and I said “what did you expect me to do?” he shrugged his shoulders and walks off.    

He then asked me to follow him to my car and said that he would be driving me over to Hyundai, I would get a rental car while they looked at the car and we would go from there.  

On Monday I get a call now from a different manager who tells me that Hyundai was saying that the fan motor on the car was brand new, still had the tags but was not working and so he was calling to find out if the fan motor had been part of my 800.00 repair, if so then I could call that shop and ask that it be replaced because Hyundai was saying that the fan would be 800.00 to repair and told him that I did not think that the fan was the part that was repaired.  He said that I should give him the information for the repair shop and that he would call and talk to them because I was saying that the fan was not replaced, (I said that I would call them myself), then I inquired as to what the complete diagnosis of the car was, he became agitated sighed and said “what do you mean what the diagnosis is,” I am just trying to help you here? I asked if he was the guy I had spoken to on Saturday he said no but that he would reach out to the manger that I spoke to find out what I was talking about.   
Per the conversation I had on Saturday the car was being taken to Hyundai to find out what was wrong with it and to confirm or contradict what was told by the repair shop ( car had been in a front end collision)  and then we would talk about trading in the car at the value i paid for it.

I said I would call the repair shop to find out and call him back.  

He said he needed to know because if the part was not repaired by the shop he could tell Hyundai to repair it under warrantee because it was a 2013 car, I said ok. 

I called back after confirming from the shop that the fan was not repaired but needed to be repaired, now the manager tells me basically that he was told by the GM that the car was sold to me as is and that was how they sold their used cars. He said that he had worked for the company for over 16 years and that they were reputable and that by law he is not required to disclose information not on the car fax report, he went on to say that he currently had cars on his lot as we spoke that had been in accidents but had clean car fax reports, I could not believe what I was hearing, and I said are you not then supposed to tell your consumers that,  So I said basically you are ling to people and he said "again state law does not require me to disclose this information," then he started giving me examples and asking me to confirm if I thought they  were to be considered an accident. I said yes and then I said I do not want to argue with you "the repair shop said that the fan was not repaired!"

Then he said you know what I am not going to be harassed by you, I asked why he was saying that I was harassing him as all I wanted was help with a bad car that was sold to me. He then said and “as a matter of fact you should have known that you have the right to have the car looked at by a mechanic before you buy it so this is your problem.”

 Then he said “bring me my rental car right now and your car is at Hyundai” I was shocked.  I took the car and went to bring his rental car to him, I get there and I see the guy who assisted me on Saturday, I told him that I was here to return the rental car….he said that I needed to take the car to Enterprise and they could give me a ride to Hyundai to get my car and that is what I did.  

When I got there I met the same person that checked my car in, he said “so they are going to help you right?  I told him what happened: that they were basically not giving me any help he could not believe it.  He also said that he was not informed by Honda Round Rock that I was coming but had received a call from them while he was assisting me telling him that I was coming to get my car.  The other people in the place could not believe what had happened to me at the hands of this so called reputable dealership according to one of the people at Hyundai “whatever happen to full disclosure.”     

We needed a new car as our current car did not have air conditioning and had stopped working and the summer was approaching with a child that needed to be transported frequently to Dell children’s specialist we used a portion of our savings to make a good down payment on a good car ( safe, low mileage, no accidents..etc or so we thought) from a reputable dealership for a bite of security in that sense for us.  And this is where we are today back to square one after being robbed by a “reputable dealership.  This company is using state law as the crutch to rip people off. Morally that is not right and will never be right.   As a company this could never be right never! They are using a BBB sticker on their doors and ultimately using the law to not disclose information to customers because they are not required to do so.

I get that I purchased a used car and that repairs would eventually be necessary but four months later with such major repairs that should not be so.  I could have gone to one of the side stores on the street corner from my home, paid a lot less to get one of their cars and then I would have expected what I got from Round Rock Honda.

Round Rock Honda deceived me and my family and while this company may think that I am a dime a dozen and do not feel a duty to right that wrong, I will tell my story to all who will listen until I can no longer do so.  While the law may be on their said the court of public opinion is not. This company has not done anything to help right this wrong.

If I can keep one other family from going through the unnecessary hardship that this company has put my family through then my job is done.  

Regards,
****** ********

Business Response:

This is in response to the complaint I'd number ********

 

We regret that our attempts to satisfy our client have not been successful.   Apparently we have not been able to communicate properly to her what we can or can’t do to help.   Unfortunately our client has communicated very clearly what she thinks of our store and more importantly our employees and inappropriate conversations have been heard not only by our employees but by other customers that she chose to inform about her experience here.  We always make every attempt to please our customers but this behavior may have compromised our ability to do so.

 

We are willing to meet with our client again in an attempt to assist her but we will insist that she refrain from her overly aggressive tone and use of poor language.  Failure to do so will result in us discontinuing the conversation and any attempt to help her.

 

Due to the circumstances of this issue and the fact that there were unknown repairs made to the vehicle by the other shop, I would like her to meet with our Fixed Operations Director, Mr. *** **** to inspect the vehicle and see what can be done.  He can be reached at ************.

 

As stated before, we do not feel that we owe anything to this client but will always attempt to help when we can.  We are not hiding behind the law, we are merely making clear to her what we are obligated to do, which is basically nothing.  We have found though, that by helping our clients where appropriate, it can be a benefit to both parties. 

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involves an unsatisfactory repair of my 2005 Honda Accord EX-L V6 Air Condition, it still does not blow out very cold air and I paid $1,377.44 for the service repair on Monday, August 3, 2015. I have contacted the general manager at least once to try and resolve the issue directly but they only offered a $50 credit on my next service repair. My complaint follows the Acceptable Guidelines, meets the listed criteria and falls under the preview of the BBB. My invoice number for this repair is **********. The service advisor was **. ******** ***** and my customer number is ******.

Desired Settlement: For the quality of work performed I was overcharged by $200 to $300 Dollars, based on my market analyst of the local repair companies within 20 miles of my service repair zip code. I like a credit of $200. If not then I like to go in to binding arbitration.

Business Response:

**. ******** came in for a diagnosis on his air conditioning failure.  His advisor had the issue diagnosed and then gave **. ******** an estimate of $1606.00.  This was to replace the compressor, receiver dryer and some o-rings.  **. ******** asked for a discount.  The Service Manager offered a discount, bringing the estimate down to $1377.00  **. ******** agreed to do the work. 

While the work was still in process, **. ******** called the Penske Corporate hotline  (we are part of the Penske Automotive Group)  and stated that he felt the price was too high.  He did not contact the shop to stop the work.  The Penske corporate offices forwarded **. ********'s concerns to the GM Curtis ******.  Before **. ****** could contact **. ********, the shop called him and informed him that his car was ready.  **. ******** showed up at the shop, paid the bill as agreed, and took his vehicle.

Later, when talking to **. ******, **. ******** indicated that he thought the price was too high.  When **. ****** asked him why he felt that way, he said because he doesn't make very much money.  At no time during the conversation with **. ****** did **. ******** indicate that he had any issue with A/C performance.  As a goodwill gesture, **. ****** provided a $50.00 Gift Certificate for **. ******** to use on his next service visit.
At this time, **. ******** has not contacted the repair shop with any concerns regarding the A/C repair.

We feel that the price is fair and there is no reason to refund any money.  Additionally, we warranty the work we performed on **. ********'s A/C system and will be happy to take a look at it if he feels something is not right.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Based upon my benchmarking of repair shops in the area the amount I was charged was to much and the Car still does not blow out cold air.

Regards,

**** ********

3/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2003 Toyota Prius on February 2, 2015 from Round Rock Honda. At time of purchase, the salesman stated that the hybrid battery had been replaced in the vehicle. Within a week of buying the car the steering began to fail. When I took the car to another dealership to have it diagnosed they reported that the problem was caused by a steering gear and that in addition to the known problem, the hybrid battery had a bad cell. Some research revealed that the steering column had been recalled several years ago and that our vehicle had its steering gear replaced under the recall at the Round Rock Honda Service Station. I called the dealership to inquire about both problems. Rather than check their records or ask to see the vehicle to confirm the age of the battery or the condition of the recalled part, they said that they could do nothing to help me and refused to acknowledge that they had told us that the hybrid battery was new. My position is that they are responsible to verifying the date when the the battery was replaced before claiming that it was a new battery during the sales pitch. I also suggest that their service department is responsible for a botched recall replacement of the steering gear.

Desired Settlement: I would like Round Rock Toyota to inspect the hybrid battery and determine if it was actually new as they said in the sales pitch. If is not a new hybrid battery then they should replace the old one with a new one. In addition I would like Round Rock Toyota to replace the steering gear. Had they done the job properly in 2013 then this would not be an issue today. Finally, I would like a loaner car while they do these repairs.

Business Response:

We have attached the service records on the vehicle in question.

While we do not recognize that the saleperson stated it was a new battery, we have attached the repair order verifing that the battery was replacied per a Toyota service campaign.

We have also attached the repair order for the Toyota campaign concerning the gear box. 

We will be happy to have our Toyota Service Center inspect the campaign ********* to insure that the replacement was preformed correctly.

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (1) The Air Conditioning did not work properly when the car was stopped but engine kept running. The A/C cool air turned off after 10 mins. This was a brand new car, Honda's Odyssey which I bought on August 26th, 2014. Eventually, the A/C was identified by the service center that the A/C did have quality issues. The car with this serious A/C problem should not be sold and especially in Texas where the weather is so hot and a brand new vehicle without A/C properly running is bad for health. Round Rock Honda sold me a brand new vehicle with vital quality problem. (2) The invoice that Round Rock Honda provided was not itemized. The problem was found when I requested to get refund for an ordered option of rear sensor which Round Rock Honda charged me but unable to deliver the option. (3) The request of refund was not replied by the salesperson although two emails were sent. The time of the refund of the uninstalled rear sensor was long, it took more than two weeks to get the refund. (4) Round Rock Honda refused to provide all the documents that I signed at their office when I sent them an email to make such request.

Desired Settlement: (1) It is fair and reasonable that an extended warranty should be offered by Round Rock Honda since the car did come with this major defect when it was sold as brand new. However, $1,590 for the extended warranty was paid when I bought the car, I am now asking a credit of $1,590. 2. I have experienced at least 5 to 6 times that the A/C was not working. The A/C did not work on the Labor Day holiday when my family went to the San Marcos Premium Outlet and two of my sons were overheated when they were sitting in the car and the car was stuck in the heavy traffic in the shopping’s parking lot at least 30 mins without A/C in the car. The physical distress happened to my sons were very unfortunate and sounded rare when we were supposed to go shopping by the brand new car! The time and mental distress caused by the communications with Round Rock Honda such as emails and phone calls, the time I spent on chasing the refund of the uninstalled rear sensor, the inconvenience caused by the car being sent to the service center and the unprofessional services provided by Round Rock Honda's sale person, Joseph Williams which I would like to ask for another $500 credit for compensating the distress and the inconvenience that my family and I were suffered.

Business Response: In response to complaint ID#******** dated 10/07/14. We
at Round Rock Honda are as disappointed as our customer concerning any product
issues that he may have incurred with his new van. We are very proud to offer
Hondas for sale at our dealership as it is one of the finest products in the
automotive industry today. I have personally apologized on behalf of my staff,
the dealership and American Honda to our customer on the telephone and numerous
times thru e-mail. Unfortunately as I have explained several times the reason
that automobile manufactures (and manufactures in other industries) include a
warranty in the purchase price is because defects, workmanship quality and
perceived defects will incur with just about anything that is manufactured. In
his situation we were unable to locate a defective part but we were able to
make adjustments to the pressure in his A/C unit in order to have it operate to
his satisfaction.

 I have provided
our customer with an accessories price list and a work authorization form (with
the dollar amount in question) with his signature to verify any and all pricing
concerns that he should have about the rear sensors. I understand that our
customer feels there was a delay in the refund process for which I have
apologized for and assured him that it was unintentional. I did however explain
to him that the refund process could be a long process due to the policy and
procedures that we must follow within our corporation.  We have never refused to provide the
documents that our customer signed and will gladly provide him with copies as
quickly as possible.

 

 We do not feel
that his desired settlement is a fair and reasonable request from the
dealership as the vehicle comes with a warranty from the manufacture. The
warranty from the manufacture does not offer any compensation for time and or
perceived mental stress.

 

The dealership feels that we have already compensated him
by offering him services above and beyond our normal services including:
providing the original delivery of Mr. ***'s vehicle to him at the airport so
he could drop off his rental vehicle. Upon notification that he felt that he
had a problem with the A/C we provided him with a loaner vehicle from the
dealership at no cost and delivered it to his house while picking up his
Odyssey to bring in for service. Once the adjustments were completed at the
dealership we delivered the vehicle back to his home address. These are
services that are not part of our standard operating procedure due to cost,
time and additional liabilities therefore we feel that the dealership has  completed all compensation for our customer.

 

 

****** ****** ******* *******

Round Rock Honda                                                  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because most of the responses from Curtis Salter of Round Rock Honda are not acceptable and not fair to the customer:

 

1.     From Round Rock Honda response: “I have explained several times the reason that automobile manufactures (and manufactures in other industries) include a warranty in the purchase price is because defects, workmanship quality and perceived defects will incur with just about anything that is manufactured.” I certainly understand the product I bought come with warranty and in fact I paid the extended warranty. Selling a product with warranty should not be a reason to justify that Round Rock Honda sold me a brand new product with major AC problem is acceptable and they did not safeguard the quality control before selling the brand new product to the customers and what I asked for was the extended warranty which is reasonable because:

a.     This type of problem happens very rare with a brand new car

b.     This is a serious problem

c.      Round Rock Honda did not identify the problem when the car was back to their service center in the first two days which shows the problem was not easy to tackle and could happen again

2.     Round Rock Honda did provide me an accessories price list but they presented this to me after I requested this for at least TWICE!

3.     Even though an accessories price was provided upon twice requests but it would not change the fact that Round Rock Honda’s invoice was NOT itemized which is absolutely not fair to the customer.

4.     The refund was happened because Round Rock Honda agreed to provide me the rear sensor option on Aug 26th, 2014 when the sales agreement was signed and payment was made. However, Round Rock Honda did not inform me about the unavailability until the car was delivered on Aug 28th, 2014. It is not rational by today’s stock management technology that the dealer did not know whether the stock was not available when they sold it to the customer. Round Rock Honda did not check the rear sensor option’s inventory availability when they collected payment from me. Round Rock Honda did have two days to communicate with me after collecting the payment between Aug 26th, 2014 (the agreement was signed and the payment was made) and the delivery date of Aug 28th, 2014. No one from Round Rock Honda proactively informed me until I collected the car on Aug 28th, 2014. If Round Rock Honda was not sure about the stock availability, they should not sell and collect monies from the customer. If they promised and collected monies from the customer, they should try their bests to communicate with the customer if the order cannot be delivered. Unfortunately, they did not!

5.     From Round Rock Honda response: “We have never refused to provide the documents that our customer signed and will gladly provide him with copies as quickly as possible.” Yes, Round Rock Honda did not refuse to provide but they never provided until I received some copies of the documents on Oct 12th, 2014. The parcel was mailed to me with the post office’s chop dated Oct 10th, 2014. I sent an email dated Sep 25th, 2014 to Curtis Salter of Round Rock Honda asking: “I found the copies of some documents which I signed at your company on August 26th, 2014 were not provided to me. A good example would be the document which you emailed me dated September 8th, 2014 about the order of the rear sensor. Would you please e-mail me all the documents I signed for the whole buying process.” All signed documents were not provided when the agreement was signed at Round Rock Honda’s office on Aug 26th, 2014. I followed up to send them an email on Sep 25th, 2014 but they took action until I filed an official complaint to BBB dated Oct 6th, 2014. The response from Curtis Salter saying “will gladly provide him with copies as quickly as possible” is not logically true! The documents were provided finally being pushed by several times with the involvement of BBB. It is not fair to the customer to spend so much efforts and time to get those documents that the customer has the right to have all of them when the agreement was signed!

6.     From Round Rock Honda response: “we have already compensated him by offering him services above and beyond our normal services including: providing the original delivery of Mr. ***'s vehicle to him at the airport so he could drop off his rental vehicle” which is not acceptable because:

a.     The arrangement of the delivery was agreed when I negotiated with Joseph Williams, sales person of Round Rock Honda during the negotiation process before buying. Round Rock Honda might refuse to do this and I might not buy the car from them. Round Rock Honda accepted this term before the refund and AC problems were found.

b.     Shipping the product to the customer to where the customer decided is very common in today’s commercial world, I do not think this is something “service above and beyond their normal services”

 

I am not asking something beyond the standard. If you see this issue from an ordinary consumer’s perceptive in a fair business world, I, as a customer, should not deserve to have:

 

1.     Sold a brand new car with major AC problem

2.     Paid the option and could not get it without proactive communications from the seller

3.     Spent so much time on requesting the refunds of the option

4.     Spent so much time on requesting all signed documents

5.     Not provided an itemized invoice

6.     Something agreed and being part of the deal BEFORE buying becomes “services above and beyond their normal services”

 
Regards,

*** *** * ***

Business Response:  
 In response to complaint ID ********:  We hear at Round Rock Honda are deeply concerned that our customer now feels that most of the responses from ****** ****** and Round Rock Honda are not acceptable. Round Rock Honda has provided exceptional service to thousands of customers thru out the years while ****** has been at the helm. We have received an A+ rating with the BBB and maintained a 97% completely satisfied rating with our new Honda customers through this year. Unfortunately some customers have had minor and major product issues (as with any product sold) but we were still able to satisfy them thru the normal warranty process.  All of our new Hondas sold including the vehicle sold in this case must pass a pre-delivery inspection mandated by the factory as well as a State Inspection mandated by the state. This vehicle passed both inspections without any know issues.

Customer states: Selling a product that the dealership did not safeguard the quality control

The A/C was operating properly when the pre-delivery inspection was performed and while the customer took delivery. Based on the customers comments the issue was an intermittent problem. An intermittent problem is a very frustrating problem for the consumer and the dealership due to fact that it means that the part is alternately functioning properly and improperly. Obviously with an intermitted problem the A/C could and did pass the inspections that were completed at the dealership. 

Customer states: this type of problem is very rare and is a serious problem:

We agree that this type of problem is very rare, and as a consumer it would be considered a serious problem, however it is not considered a safety related issue by American Honda

Customer states: Round Rock Honda did not identify the problem when the car was back in the service center in the first two days:

The vehicle was not put into the service center during the two days that elapsed between the customer signing the documents and actual delivery because there was no failure or complaint of a failure with the A/C. 

Customer states: Round Rock did not provide me an accessories price list:

We have provided the customer a copy of the work authorization form with his signature and the price clearly stated for the accessory purchased, this copy and a pricelist was e-mailed to the customer upon knowledge that it was a concern.

Customer States: Round Rock Honda's invoice was not itemized

Round Rocks purchase agreement provides a total sales price including any accessories purchased by the customer and then itemizes the taxes and other fees. The purchase agreement meets all requirements of TADA 


Customer states: it is not rational that the dealer did not know whether the stock was not available when they sold it, and that we should not collect monies from the customer at purchase.

The Sales department orders the part thru the parts department which was completed the next day the 27th, the parts department then orders the parts from Honda and receives confirmation the following day which was the 28th. We do collect monies at the time of purchase which is pretty standard for most companies. This is also a benefit for the customer because when the accessories are included in the price of the car the tax rate is 6.25% rather than over 8%.

Customer states:  
It is not fair to the customer to spend so much time to get those documents that the customer has the right to have all of them when the agreement was signed

The customer was given copies of all standard documents at delivery. He was also given additional copies in a timely fashion of documents signed that under most business practices are not required to be provided.


 Round Rock Honda provided a loaner car and pickup and delivery services at our own expense and liability. For a manufacture issue  most customers would bring the car in then either drop off, wait or rent a car while the repair was diagnosed or completed. We feel that the customer’s request for compensation from the dealership is unwarranted and completely out of the standard practices for an item covered and repaired under the manufactures warranty.

While we do not feel that the dealership nor any of the dealerships representatives have committed any infractions that would warrant compensation, we are willing to offer the customer a $100.00 gas card for any inconvenience that the customers perceives was caused by the dealership. 
 

8/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 Honda Ridgeline on October 31st, 2013 at Round Rock Honda. It was certified through their CPO program which includes a certification inspection and warranty. Upon driving it home, I noticed the brakes made noise and there was a regular belt squeal. The driver rear brake caliper was broken and the serpentine belt was badly worn - both should have been caught by the inspection. I took the vehicle back to RR Honda, as it was during the first 30 days and service must be done by the selling dealership. I asked for repair and for a full inspection as things had clearly been missed. Over the phone, I was assured that there would be shuttles to and from work, rental car coverage, etc. Over the next few days, my truck was repaired and allegedly fully inspected for all problems. I was repeatedly assured that it had had been gone over completely, and I requested to speak with the ******* ******* to discuss. I was unable to speak with the ******* ******* despite repeated reassurances that he would call me. That was technically correct, but in fact cost me a total of 12 hours spent at their dealership and/or rental car office for a problem that was their fault. It is now July 2014, and during a routine fluid service, First Texas Honda has found that the AC has multiple leaks and the timing belt pulley is failing, both appearing to have been long-term problems. Fortunately, the pulley is covered by the powertrain warranty (still in effect until October 8th) but the AC is an out of pocket expense for me. Clearly, RR Honda did NOT complete the full inspection as promised.

Desired Settlement: I would like RR Honda to: 1. Repair the AC leaks (replace valves and other parts necessary) and replace refrigerant 2. Replace the timing belt pulley 3. Pick up and return the vehicle from me, leaving me with a loaner vehicle in the meantime, without me having to visit their shop 4. Provide 6 months additional warranty coverage due to risk incurred by their ineffective inspections

Business Response: Mr. ****:

Since both of your current concerns are covered in full by your Certified Used Car Warranty, I have ordered the needed parts for you, and will give you a call when they come in.  Round Rock Honda will be happy to provide alternative transportation during the repair process.

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.

Sincerely,
***** ********
Honda ******* *******
###-###-####

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My check engine light came on in my car. I took it to *** and the Master Mechanic said I just need a tone up, after putting it on the computer. I told the Master Mechanic at *** that I just had a major tune-up at Round Rock (RR) Honda in RR, Texas in late January 2014. He told me to take it back to them. I did. RR Honda said I needed at value adjustment and it would cost 475. I told them to redo the tune-up. They did not redo the tune up and did a value adjustment and it cost 475. I am upset and was overcharged. The average price for a Value Adjustment in my zip code is between 260 and 370. All of the 475 was labor. I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: REFUND.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response: Mr. ********:

As I stated on the phone with you approximately 30 minutes ago, I was having my shop foreman pull in your vehicle and do a complete evaluation.  He used our Honda Diagnostic Equipment and found code P0301 and P0305, #1 cylinder misfire and #5 cylinder misfire.  He inspected the brand new spark plugs that we installed in Janauary and found no problems there.  He researched on the Honda Technician website and found Bulletin 08-022.  According to this bulletin, the codes could be due to an incorrect Crank Shaft Pattern value stored in the PCM after battery power is diconnected.  We updated the PGM-FI software in your vehicle, and the misfire is now gone.

We have chosen not to charge you for this repair, and we did not perform the valve adjustment that you are stating that we did.

The posted labor rate at Round Rock Honda is $116.00 per flat rate hour.  According the ALLDATA.COM an independent repair time reference web site, a valve adjustment on a 2005 Honda Accord V6 should pay the tech 4.5 hours.  We only charge 4.0 hours.  The retail parts price for Honda replacement parts: 2 valve cover gaskets and 6 spark plug tube seals is $34.04.  So the total retail price for a valve adjustment here is $500.84 with sales tax.  ****** quoted you $475.00 because he was offering a discount.

We did NOT perform this Valve Adjustment and therefore do not owe you a refund.

****** will be calling you shortly to let you know that your vehicle is ready.

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ********

11/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in reference to a maintenance service I had done on my Honda Civic at Round Rock Honda Service dept. this past Thursday (11/14/13). I was told on the phone it would cost $41. When I got there they added an extra $1.47 "miscellaneous fee." I would like to request a refund of this extra fee because it was not disclosed up front.

Desired Settlement: I would like to request a refund of the $1.47 "miscellaneous fee" because it was not disclosed up front.

Business Response: *** ****:

Upon receiving a copy of your concern, I pulled the initial write-up for your Service Visit.  ******** ***** (your service advisor) did write a total amount of $45.00 on the write-up.

I am happy to refund your $1.47 if you feel that this price was not quoted up front.  You will be receiving a check in the near future.

Sincerely,

***** ********
Honda ******* *******
************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Round Rock Honda
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart