BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Nyle Maxwell GMC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and service of new trucks, SUV's and pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nyle Maxwell GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nyle Maxwell GMC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nyle Maxwell GMC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 20, 2006 Business started: 11/08/1996 in TX Business started locally: 11/08/1996 Business incorporated: 01/04/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tom Gammon, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Gammon, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Nyle Maxwell GMC sells the following brand(s): GMC

Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 3000 Ih 35 N

    Round Rock, TX 78681 (512) 560-2674

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Nyle Maxwell GMC

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been dealing with this dealership for over 5 weeks for a noise in the engine. They did a lifter job but did not fix the issue and still had the noise when I picked up the truck. I have had to bring my truck back to them at least 4 times for the same issues or more issues now. Finally got a new engine out of it but they did some suspension repairs on the truck also. Now there is noises coming from the front end of the truck and they are telling me to take it somewhere else to get a second opinion. Not wanting to fix the problems they made with my vehicle. Talked to the ***** and he was short with me and didnt do anything to resolve the issues. Horrible experience with all the employee's at this place. This shop was recommended by another shop.

Desired Settlement: I want my truck repaired right and they have made me lose money not being able to do my job. I do not want the repairs done at that shop anymore. Dont trust their work at all.

Business Response: May 6, 2014

*** ****’s vehicle is a
2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer SS with 91,000 miles that has been lowered. This
vehicle was not purchased at Nyle Maxwell **C. The vehicle was first brought to
us on March 31, 2014 with multiple concerns; knock under the hood, oil leaking,
clunk/play in steering, oil pressure gauge pegged, front tires wearing and an
open recall. It was determined that the knock under the hood was caused by a
faulty lifter, all lifters and guides were replaced, replaced oil pressure
switch to correct oil leak, replaced left front spindle to correct clunk/play in
the steering, replaced upper control arm to correct tire wear. The vehicle was
test driven and determined to be operating properly.

 

*** **** returned a short
time later, I am unsure of the time frame, with the complaint of an
intermittent engine noise. Multiple unsuccessful attempts were made to
duplicate the problem until the service manager was finally successful after
driving the vehicle for several hundred miles. The technician contacted **
Technical Assistance and was recommended by ** Engineers to replace the oil
pump. *** ****’s extended warranty company did not want to invest any more
money into the existing engine so it was recommended by the dealership to
install a new short block. Only after Nyle Maxwell *** agreed to pay ½ the cost
of the new engine and reduce our labor rate to $40/hr from $109/hr that the
warranty company agreed to replace the engine. This was done as a gesture of
good will, not because of any wrong doing. There is no way the technician could
have known that the oil pump was weak without more extensive diagnosis to which
the warranty company did not authorize.  *** **** was given a new *** Sierra to drive
while this work was being performed.

 

*** **** was schedule to
return to the dealership on Monday, April 28, 2014 to address a noise in the
suspension, we never heard from *** **** and he arrived at the dealership
around noon on Friday, May 2, 2014. *** **** was informed that the shop was
extremely busy and that it would probably be Monday before the technician could
even look at the vehicle and that the only courtesy vehicle that we had
available was a *** Terrain. He stated that he was going to Dallas over the
weekend to pick up vehicles and that a Terrain was not acceptable.  The technician was pulled off of the current
job to inspect the vehicle and see if there was anything noticeable or that
appeared to be dangerous. The technician, myself and even *** ****, who by his
own account is very knowledgeable, inspected this vehicle for over an hour and could
not find any problems. I inquired if *** **** knew a good frontend
technician that he trusted to look at the vehicle and he stated that he did. I
suggested that he have him inspect the vehicle and let me know what he found. This
complaint is the only communication since that conversation.

 

We are very sorry that *** **** is unsatisfied with the service he has received, but this dealership has
tried tirelessly to please him. Nyle Maxwell *** has invested countless hours
inspecting and test driving this vehicle to try and duplicate his concerns, we
have provided courtesy transportation when the vehicle has been in our shop, we
have over $2500 invested in a new engine for this vehicle and over $1700 in
lost revenue due to the reduction in labor rate and it is my understanding that
*** **** has paid a total of $15 for all this service.

 

Nyle Maxwell ***
respectfully declines *** ****’s request for $5000.

 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ** ******

******* *******

**** ******* ***

 

 

4/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: March 23, 2014 To Whom It May Concern: **** *. ******* *** ****** **** *** *****, ***** ***** ###-###-#### Last week, my friend ***** ****** asked me to tell him how happy I was with the purchase of my new truck. Actually, I hadn’t told anyone about it– because I was really upset. I proceeded to tell ***** the whole story. At the end of it, ***** explained this is a family he’s known a long time. His Mama knows and is a close friend of the owner’s mother. ***** has apparently known the Maxwell’s for most of his life. He told me that they would at least want to know about my experience because “they’d want to make this right”. I’m writing this letter, even though I already responded to two invitations to provide feedback in a survey. I took both surveys and spent some time explaining what happened in the comments. I’ve never heard anything back. I received a letter, though probably a form letter, from Mr. Maxwell thanking me for my business and inviting me to let him know if there’s anything he can do. Here is my story. I’d planned on buying a new truck for a while to replace my 25 year old GMC. I planned to buy one last brand new truck in my lifetime and this was it! I knew I preferred the GMC but I made a cursory look at all three (GMC, Dodge and Ford). So, from the beginning, the GMC is what I wanted to buy. I knew that. I first went to the Maxwell Dodge dealership in ****** on Saturday, February 15. The salesman was great and he understood what I wanted perfectly: a commercial grade, regular sized, 3/4 ton pick up, with blue tooth. He understood that – a simple, basic model with the added safety feature. He had one available, but not on the lot– but it was a dodge. It was even a good price.... An incredible deal that was $2000 less than the price I eventually paid. I thought if it was that easy – I could certainly get the GMC I wanted. I went to Nyle Maxwell GMC in Round Rock and told them the same story. They also didn’t have one – but there was one just 20 minutes away and they could have it there by 9 am that Monday morning. I was thrilled. It wasn’t a surprise I settled on the GMC – I really wanted it. I gave them $1000. I went home, loaded up my old GMC with stuff for the dump. I KNEW I wasn’t going to be driving that truck anywhere anytime soon, because I had a new GMC just around the corner. Monday morning arrived – no call. I checked in about 10 am. The dealership said the guy that was my salesman was out sick – and they’d check on my transaction and call me back because nobody seemed to know anything about it. I waited for a response all Monday afternoon. My wife finally called after 5 on Monday – because it was going to take some transportation coordination to get the truck and we needed to plan. She also called because I was getting frustrated without anyone responding to me. My wife was told there was an issue with the truck swap but they’d have it Tuesday morning and certainly no later than Tuesday afternoon. I waited around all day Tuesday. I got even more frustrated because I didn’t hear a thing from the dealership. So, since they’d said it’d be for certain on Tuesday afternoon, I went there at the end of the day – no truck for me. I was ready to ask for my money back. They said, oh no – we have one already on the way from ******* right now. It’ll be here tonight. It’s the one I wanted – it had blue tooth only. I went to pick up my wife from work, since we’d driven in together due to expecting to get the truck. By the time I got to her office, the dealership had already called and said they’d misspoken. They said I needn’t worry and, to make it easier, they were going to just bring the car out from ******* and drop it off at our place in the morning– I wouldn’t even have to drive into town. They’d bring the new truck and all of the paperwork to the house and I could just write out the check. I agreed. Wednesday, I stayed home without a usable vehicle – just my old GMC loaded up to go to the dump. I waited all day long. No calls and no truck. My wife came home that evening – no truck and one frustrated husband. She called and demanded to speak to the manager. She explained to *** that I was really upset and shared the run around we’d experienced so far. *** said he would not have anyone else deal with us but him from then on and was very apologetic. He explained that it was illegal to drop a vehicle off as the salesman had promised and that we would have to come in. He explained that he was having trouble negotiating a swap with the ******* dealer, but that had been settled and he was sending someone out to pick up the truck at 8:30 the next morning. This didn’t match the story we’d heard and there certainly wasn’t a truck already headed in from *******. *** promised we’d have the truck in only the amount of time it took his driver to get to ******* and return with it. It was the truck of my dreams: the commercial grade new GMC with only the GMC blue tooth option. We expected that the transport from 8:30 to ******* would finish no later than lunchtime. They’d return by early afternoon. I went on in Thursday afternoon. I went to look at the vehicle. My initial response was to decline the vehicle – because the one thing I asked for – blue tooth – was missing. It only had 85 miles on it, so it wasn’t driven from ******* and certainly wasn’t the truck that *** had promised when he said “the good news is, it already has the blue tooth in it”. But the guy said no problem, they would put it in for me but I had to pay for the truck right then. All I had was his word that they were going to do it right. It was going to take a bit to get the parts to put the blue tooth in, but I trusted them. I paid for it and bought the vehicle. This was foolish because I looked at the paperwork on the way home and realized all I had was his word. We made an appointment with Nyle Maxwell to have the blue tooth put in. My wife made the appointment first thing Friday morning, because she was annoyed I hadn’t gotten the agreement for the blue tooth in writing and she was worried we’d be charged for it. When she made the appointment, *** agreed with the deal. My wife was told it would take a few hours and they’d give me a loaner car to use during the installation. We made the appointment for the following week. When I went to pick up my truck and got in it, I was stunned. I couldn’t even say a word to ****, because I knew that he knew that this was not what I was expecting. What I got was an after market, cheap blue tooth. It’s not a safety feature – because they cut a hole in my dashboard and mounted the device clear across the cab in front of the passenger’s seat. It’s not safe to even reach for it while driving. The sound quality is terrible. Some of the speakers don’t even work with the blue tooth system. There is nothing in the steering wheel or at the fingertips, as shown in the GMC owner’s manual. In fact, it’s not a GMC product. It’s not made to go into this truck. It’s basically a generic, cheap product off the shelf– probably less than $150 bucks. Its installation resulted in devaluing my brand new, $33,995 truck. The last four vehicles I’ve owned, I’ve purchased new within a mile of this dealership. Three have had factory installed blue tooth in them. I’ve been satisfied with that process. In fact, I’ve had the same salesman each time and he’s worked to give me the best deal possible. I expected the same level of professionalism at this dealership. There were at least four men who dealt with me in this transaction and apparently no one even cared or even knew what I wanted. I learned the names of ****** **********, *** ****** (who said I would only have to deal with him on this and said he was the manager) and **** ******. I don’t recall the name of the guy I gave my down payment to on the first Saturday. I expected the same level of care and ethics that I got from other local dealerships. It didn’t even measure up to the other Nyle Maxwell dealership that had the dodge. I feel like this needs to get fixed. I feel like I was “baited and switched”, like they knew they could do this to me. Regards, **** ******* PS: Found out yesterday that the first sale man lied about the blue tooth that has to be factory installed. I paid cash for this truck, so I don't have any leverage with this company, I think they took advantage of that too.

Desired Settlement: It would be great to get the unit I thought I was purchasing instead of the truck they wanted me to have.

Business Response: I am very sorry that Mr. ******* is not completely satisfied with his new truck. This was not necessarily the truck we wanted him to purchase, it was the truck that was available. This vehicle was not a truck in our inventory but rather a truck we located and dealer traded in for Mr. *******. It is our policy to go over the locate specifications on the vehicle being brought in to prevent any misunderstandings regarding equipment. It is my understanding that the policy was adhered to in this transaction and that Mr. ******* was aware that the vehicle being brought in for him did not have factory Bluetooth and the only option was to install an aftermarket system. There is not a GM accessory for factory Bluetooth and if there were it would require replacing wiring harnesses and a steering wheel which would become cost prohibitive among other things. We installed the aftermarket Bluetooth for Mr. ******* at no charge to him and have contacted him to see if there was anything else this dealership could do to make him happy. He responded that the only thing that would make him happy was to have factory Bluetooth and unfortunately as much as I would like to accommodate him that option is not available from GM. If the system is not functioning properly I would be more than happy to have the company that installed the system to take a look at it. It is always our goal to do everything possible to make our customers happy and it would serve us no purpose to try and sell Mr. ******* something other that what he wanted.
If there is anything else that I can do for him or any other solution within reason I will be more than happy to try and assist him.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** *******

 This is just one more lie from this out fit.  They never mentioned after market once till yesterday when I asked about it.  They were sneaky.  I would never have accepted the car the way they optioned it for me.  

8/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues