BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mercedes Benz of Austin?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of Austin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes Benz of Austin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Austin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 08, 2006 Business started: 04/01/1964 in TX Business started locally: 04/01/1964 Business incorporated: 03/12/1990 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Hardeman, President Mr. Jim McGuane, GM Mr. Rick Robinson, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Hardeman, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim McGuane, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Continental Collision Center Continental Imports, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2203 Ranch Road 620 N

    Bee Caves, TX 78734 (512) 236-5821

  • 6757 Airport Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 454-6821

  • 7720 N Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 381-1101 (512) 351-7717

  • 912 Rockmoor Dr

    Georgetown, TX 78628 (512) 220-8330

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 454-2434 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alignment on vehicle is not correct. Damage to paint.

Desired Settlement: A refund on the alignment, and cost of paint repair.

Business Response: I would like to reply to this complaint on behalf of Mercedes-Benz of Austin. We aligned this vehicle on 9/13/12 for Mr. *****. Since that time we have re-checked the alignment on this car on 1-2-13, 2-18-13. 3-5-13 and again on 4-16-13, all at no charge to Mr. *****. There was a problem with the alignment after the first alignment was done, but parts were replaced at no charge to Mr. ***** and the alignment was checked/adjusted and perfect on the last visit. We have a print out from our machine to prove this in our records. It is my understanding that a copy of this print out has been given to Mr. ***** as well. Our Service Manager has also been involved with this vehicle, test drove the vehicle, and said it drove perfectly. Therefore we are not going to refund Mr. ***** for the alignment. We have gone above and beyond to take care of Mr. *****. Next the alledged paint problem Mr. ***** mentioned on his last visit was hard for our staff to even be able to see. This is on top of the rear bumper of the car, something we wouldn't have caused during service of the vehicle therefore we are not going to paint or repair the bumper.    

Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

The “all at no charge” is because your alignments have not been performed correctly either it has pulled or the steering wheel is off center all which can be corrected with an alignment. It had new shocks and new tires in the front of the vehicle when the alignment was performed and no other parts of the suspension are bad which leaves the alignment at fault. Proof is when I have showed you how the car drives and is not correct. The service manager had driven the vehicle and said it was ready multiple times and was not true. I tried picking my vehicle multiple times and there is always an issue not being fixed right and there still is. “We
have gone above and beyond to take care of Mr. *****”, like leaving the trim loose dirty missing, moon roof noisy not working, improper diagnosis procedure,
improper alignments, lied to, and a lot of other stuff. If you believe that compensating on other stuff makes up for the improper repair you are wrong. The paint issue is not only on top of the rear bumper but also on the front passenger door; it was not there before I dropped off my vehicle the second to last visit.   

Regards,

**** *****





























Business Response: This car has been aligned and within factory specifications as outlined on the printout the customer received, therefore we decline his request for reimbursement as stated the last time. In addition our Service Manager road tested the car before it was picked up last time and said it drove beautifully. It is our understanding this customer purchased this car used from CarMax, a large used car lot. We have provided goodwill, (no charge to the customer), details, (thorough interior/exterior cleaning), and mechanical repairs to take care of this customer outside of the vehicle factory warranty. We have responded to the paint concern on the rear bumper, and on the last visit the customer had marked his paint concerns with blue tape. Our Service Manager ***** ***** inspected the car with our Service Advisor **** ***** on his last visit and they couldn't verify the customers paint concerns. We are not responsible for paint tint/color on a used car bought elsewhere. Because we saw no damage we are declining any paint repairs.

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:

The alignment is needed because the vehicle pulls or the steering wheel is off center. The paint damage is there. Don’t say out of vehicle warranty the reason because of that is because the car was not fixed right the first time. When I picked it up it was dirty and had to wash it that same day. It doesn’t matter where I purchased the vehicle from it matters that you are responsible to fix it right and return my car without any missing parts.  


Regards,

**** *****





























6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable