Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of Austin meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes Benz of Austin include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Austin
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 08, 2006 Business started: 04/01/1964 in TX Business started locally: 04/01/1964 Business incorporated 03/12/1990 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Hardeman, President Mr. Jim McGuane, GM Mr. Rick Robinson, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Hardeman, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim McGuane, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Continental Collision Center Continental Imports, Inc.
Industry Tips
Car Repair Tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 2203 Ranch Road 620 N

    Bee Caves, TX 78734 (512) 236-5821

  • 6757 Airport Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 454-6821

  • 7720 N Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 381-1101 (512) 351-7717

  • 912 Rockmoor Dr

    Georgetown, TX 78628 (512) 220-8330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Mercedes of Austin to buy a new SUV. I made three visits to the dealership checking out the vehicles and talking about price. But, at last, they simply won't sell it to me because they think I am not able to buy a car at that price, which is around $75K. And they think I was going to resell the car. This was 'ok' because I can always go to another Mercedes dealership. Something worse was that - I believe Mercedes of Austin added me to a so called exporter list (which is a black list which they won't sell new cars to). The reason I suspect this is because I went to another Mercedes dealership and they told me directly I was in their black list and I can only buy used cars. I don't think their activity is proper and legal.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to buy the car now because of the terrible experience. But they should remove me from that list.

Business Response: *** ********* and *** *****:

We did not have your name added to the Mercedes-Benz "Exporter" list. Another business or person would be responsible for that. While we would love to sell you a new Mercedes-Benz GL-450 as requested, we were not able to do so because you are on the national exporter list. Selling a new vehicle to you would be in violation of our agreement with Mercedes-Benz USA. We are happy to sell you a Mercedes-Benz that qualifies for export, but it will not be a new vehicle.

Regards,

*** *******
******* *******
Mercedes-Benz of Austin 

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Continental Collision repair my car, which had no brake problems, for damage from a car wreck. Upon receiving my car, immediately upon pressing the brakes for the very first time it was blatantly obvious to me and my father that there was an issue with the brakes making this vehicle unsafe to drive. I returned the car as soon as possible to Continental Collision after being unable to reach my account manager, **, and not having my call returned. They immediately diagnosed the problem with the brakes. After the insurance company refused to pay to fix this problem, ** said that I would be required to fix the brakes myself, a $750 problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like the brake problem caused during the repair of my vehicle to be fixed by a third party of my choosing and paid for by Continental Collision.

Business Response: I have attached our response with some added information. In summary we determined Mr. ****'s brake problem to be his brake booster. Us, along with Mr. ****'s insurance company, don't believe the brake booster failure is related to the body repairs we performed. In addition we have attached documentation that indicates there have been problems with the brake boosters on these vehicles. Perhaps Mr. **** should contact Ford and see if he could get some assistance with the repair because it is a part that has had problems.

Regards,

*** *******
******* ******* 

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alignment on vehicle is not correct. Damage to paint.

Desired Settlement: A refund on the alignment, and cost of paint repair.

Business Response: I would like to reply to this complaint on behalf of Mercedes-Benz of Austin. We aligned this vehicle on 9/13/12 for Mr. *****. Since that time we have re-checked the alignment on this car on 1-2-13, 2-18-13. 3-5-13 and again on 4-16-13, all at no charge to Mr. *****. There was a problem with the alignment after the first alignment was done, but parts were replaced at no charge to Mr. ***** and the alignment was checked/adjusted and perfect on the last visit. We have a print out from our machine to prove this in our records. It is my understanding that a copy of this print out has been given to Mr. ***** as well. Our Service Manager has also been involved with this vehicle, test drove the vehicle, and said it drove perfectly. Therefore we are not going to refund Mr. ***** for the alignment. We have gone above and beyond to take care of Mr. *****. Next the alledged paint problem Mr. ***** mentioned on his last visit was hard for our staff to even be able to see. This is on top of the rear bumper of the car, something we wouldn't have caused during service of the vehicle therefore we are not going to paint or repair the bumper.    

Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:

The “all at no charge” is because your alignments have not been performed correctly either it has pulled or the steering wheel is off center all which can be corrected with an alignment. It had new shocks and new tires in the front of the vehicle when the alignment was performed and no other parts of the suspension are bad which leaves the alignment at fault. Proof is when I have showed you how the car drives and is not correct. The service manager had driven the vehicle and said it was ready multiple times and was not true. I tried picking my vehicle multiple times and there is always an issue not being fixed right and there still is. “We
have gone above and beyond to take care of Mr. *****”, like leaving the trim loose dirty missing, moon roof noisy not working, improper diagnosis procedure,
improper alignments, lied to, and a lot of other stuff. If you believe that compensating on other stuff makes up for the improper repair you are wrong. The paint issue is not only on top of the rear bumper but also on the front passenger door; it was not there before I dropped off my vehicle the second to last visit.   

Regards,

**** *****





























Business Response: This car has been aligned and within factory specifications as outlined on the printout the customer received, therefore we decline his request for reimbursement as stated the last time. In addition our Service Manager road tested the car before it was picked up last time and said it drove beautifully. It is our understanding this customer purchased this car used from CarMax, a large used car lot. We have provided goodwill, (no charge to the customer), details, (thorough interior/exterior cleaning), and mechanical repairs to take care of this customer outside of the vehicle factory warranty. We have responded to the paint concern on the rear bumper, and on the last visit the customer had marked his paint concerns with blue tape. Our Service Manager ***** ***** inspected the car with our Service Advisor **** ***** on his last visit and they couldn't verify the customers paint concerns. We are not responsible for paint tint/color on a used car bought elsewhere. Because we saw no damage we are declining any paint repairs.

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:

The alignment is needed because the vehicle pulls or the steering wheel is off center. The paint damage is there. Don’t say out of vehicle warranty the reason because of that is because the car was not fixed right the first time. When I picked it up it was dirty and had to wash it that same day. It doesn’t matter where I purchased the vehicle from it matters that you are responsible to fix it right and return my car without any missing parts.  


Regards,

**** *****





























6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable