BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maxwell Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maxwell Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maxwell Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 18, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated: 06/25/2007 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 558-9368

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Christine Boyd, Assistant Manager Mr. Frank Grese, President Mr. Quinn MacGlashan, Collision Center Director Mr. Bill Scott, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Scott, General Manager
Related Businesses
Volkswagen of Alamo Heights
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Maxwell Ford, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 5000 S Ih 35

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 443-5000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 326-8141 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Myself like others were drawn in by a special I saw on their website...I emailed Internet sales and went as far as submitting my credit app online prior to going in to ensure there wouldn't be any issues. I get there and test drive the truck and LOVE it! At this point I know I am going to have to give up $1500 of the discount due to the fact that I was not trading a car in. I knew this amount cause it clearly stated on their company website that there was a $1500 rebate for trading a car in and the standard fine print said NOTHING but info on the age and who owned and when you owned the trade in and bla bla bla....BUT nothing that stated that not trading a car in would result in you losing an additional 2500 that no one, not even the joke of a general sales manager could explain. Moving on...my sales guys then informs me of a truck that would drive and ride the same but would be missing some of the perks on the inside. I agree cause I was trying to get a payment under $600 a month. So he shows me a truck that is locked in a sea of other trucks. So I take his word. MISTAKE NUMBER 1. So we go back in and he says fiance will be ready for me in 30 mins...almost 2 hours go by. I finally sit down to start signing my life away and one of the first things I have to sign is something called a payment menu. They don't give you a copy to take with you...the reason being is this is were they make up any money they took off the car. The finance guy starts off telling that the bank approved me as long as I take out gap ins and a $2500 extended warranty. Sounded odd to me but at this hour I am unable to call the bank to verify this. Then goes over the FOUR different payment options. Here's the thing...there are actually FIVE. The fifth one being the one that screws them out of sticking a bunch of money on the back end to make up for any discount they promised you. I took a picture of mine. if you would like to know how they screw you and would like to see this payment menu...get in touch with me. So MISTAKE NUMBER 2. I trust in what this joker was telling me. I leave and I only live a few mins from the dealership. The next day is the first time I actually get to see how the truck drives and I realize it drives nothing like I was told it would. I call my sales person and he proceeds to tell me that the other truck I was looking at cost 15000 more and why would I think it would drive the same. First off...the msrp of the 2 trucks are only off by less then 3000. I make an appt to come in the next morning. I then proceed to call the credit union that approved my loan and am almost laughed off the phone at the notion they required anything to issue the loan. Now I am pissed and call back my sales person and of course...he's just sales. So the next morning I go in and ask for the Finance Manager and sit down and tell him that I am not happy about being lied to about both the way my truck would ride and the 3000 lie about what the bank required. I have to say this is were any normal human being in any sort of sales driven field would have had the smarts to try and make the customer happy. NOPE not this waste of a person. at no point has anyone ever said that they were sorry. Not about the lie about my bank...not about the fact that even though they were refunding the 3000 it did nothing to lower my payment back to what it should have been. Which btw I am currently stuck with a payment 50 bucks higher now . That's almost 5000 more in payments over the life of the loan. Means nothing to them. At one point the finance manager says "what, you want out of your deal or something" I say yes. He then leaves to go get what I thought was the general manager...turns out that complete waste of a person was just the sales manager. UGH!!! Dude tap dances on my last nerve cause he doesn't have an answer for anything. You would think as the sales manager he would know off the top of his head where every cents of any special that was posted on the companies website would come from, was attached to ect. Not this winner. I leave and after talking to multiple other dealership who were all shocked at what they were hearing and the first thing everything single one of them says is "THAT'S AGAINST THE LAW" So I decided I will take them up on their offer to get out of this deal. I call back and wouldn't you know it they aren't going to let me out. I again ask for the GENERAL MANAGER and who calls me back...the little ****** General Sales Manager who again has never bothered to say they were sorry about anything. Never giving a second thought to customer service and ensuring that every person who shops at Maxwell Ford has a wonderful time from start to finish like the General Manager says in video posted on the companies website. Who btw the has never had the nerve to call me himself. So don't believe for one second that the responses you see here on Yelp are actually from him. He clearly couldn't careless about running a dealership with honesty at it's core. Back to the ****** all he can say is we have a signed contract and to call my bank. It's not my or the banks fault that we are even at this point. This guy is a total slim ball. I hang up. This morning after my 3rd night of no sleep cause of this and hating my new truck I decided to use his only response on him. You see I had written into my deal to have the bed of the truck sprayed with a liner. I call up and have to leave a message after getting the 3rd degree from the gal who answers the phone and am trans to his vm...I proceed to tell him that if he wants to hold me to the contract then I am going to do same along along with nit picking the hell out of this car. I told him that I wanted the bed liner done now along with 5 warranty items that I have found on the truck and called him every name in the book. I will admit. By this point I am beside myself....how could I have been so stupid to choose a dealership that is simply the worst place a person could ever buy a car from. I speak to my sales guy who now has given me the first glimpse of stuff actually getting done. He tells me if you can come right now...he will put me in a loaner car and get the bed liner done today. Well that lasted for all of 2 mins....he called back and said that the manager listened to my vm and they can no longer have any contact with me. I was blown away. You have to be a special kind of creep to pull that crap. I called FORD corp and they were shocked. I tried the parent company 3 times to my surprise no returned call. This dealership is a joke. Do not waste your time. I will be placing a ad in the American Statesman looking for anyone who has bought a car from Maxwell to compare notes about the signing of their deal. The Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner has been notified. I would love to see how many people have been lied to and forced to take out loans larger then they had intended because they too thought they had no choice in the matter. I am being forced to hire an Attorney and I will be looking for anyone else that has been the victim of their lies to also come forward so we can bring a class action suit again Maxwell Ford. In a very short time I have already been able to locate 14 other people that feel they too have been scammed in the same way. Again...I was able to get a picture of the payment menu they use to screw you out of thousands just to pad their bottom line. I can't wait to see if the General Manager actually has the nerve to contact me now. I can only assume that this way of doing things there has come from orders from the top.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop using the 4 choice payment menu along with taking this truck back like I was org told I could do and reimburse me the week worth of missed work cause my desire to not drive this Truck and that fact I was forced to have to have to deal with this. I was lied to. They hide behind a contract that they have yet to fully honor on their end. I have yet to have my bed liner installed yet.

Business Response: We will not deal with this individual any further.  His abusive tirades will not be delt with by our employees any further.  Mr. ****** has purchased a vehicle and the deal will stand.  This is the last response you will receive concerning this matter. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On the grounds that this dealership has done nothing to honor their deal. I have a contract that includes a bed liner that has not been installed. That's to say nothing of their lies and the scam they use to try to trick people into added items on to the back end of their deal.

This company is a joke. The General Manager took a week to contact me and after asking me what my complaint was proceeded to talk over me. Even after i asked if i was going to be aloud to finish answering the question. Moments later hanging up the phone on me. Have you ever heard of a grown man doing such a thing?!? This dealership is so full of themselves that they think a customer doesn't have the right to be upset when they are breaking the law...causing a customer who just spent 40k on a truck to now have a payment $50 higher a month for the term of the loan. Again...not to mention they have yet to honor their end of the deal. I am floored at the lack of the most basic customer skills. 

Do not shop here...they have a company policy of trying to recover any deal they are offering you by claiming the bank requires items added on to the back end. Review your deal if you have made the mistake of buying from them.

Again...its so funny to me that the grown men at this dealership are so self centered and so focused on a Presidential Award they one back in 20 11 that the moment to lie and trick you into signing your deal...you are dead to them. Just review their yelp reviews. They need to grow up and be forced to face the music.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: There will be no further response concerning this matter. 

Business Response:

We are not going to be able to do what Mr. ****** is asking for.  This customer is incredibly abusive and we do not want to deal with him any further.

 

1.  His bed liner was installed as agreed.

2. Mr. ****** took physical delivery of the vehicle.  There is no returning a vehicle once it is delivered.  No one told him he could return the vehicle at any time.

3. We use an "option menu" which our company requires that we use and it is legal and is very customer friendly.

4. Mr. ****** was not lied to.  His constant berating of our people and our corporate people must stop.  It has crossed the threshold of harassment.

 

We will not be bullied into doing anything beyond what is required by law for Mr. ******.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On the grounds that **** ***** is a Pathololical Liar! In addition to only ever speaking to me for 3 mins prior to hanging up the phone while I was attempting to answer his question...it blows my mind that he feels he has all the facts. This "General Manager" has done nothing to get to the bottom of his at all. I am attaching the payment menu so you can see for yourself how "customer friendly" it truly is. As you will see you have 4 options clearly marked with a line and an X. The option for just your base payment with no additional has no where to even sign for it. I ask you Mr. *****, if you are able to respond with the truth...what would this payment menu say to you?!?

As for Mr. *****s statement about me abusing people...this couldn't be futher from the truth. One time a VM was left after 4 days of lies and being given the run around. For that I am sorry. But to keep hiding behind that is just proof they can't answer to the real concerns I have for the way this dealership actively tried to steal money from their customers.

My bedliner was installed only after multi phone calls to Mr. *****'s corp office and only after I spoke to legal there. If it had been left up to him he would have choosen to NOT honor our signed deal and left me to go with out. May I also point out that the new contact I now have at Maxwell Ford (LEO) has gotten nothing but "please and thank you" every step of the way. So I beg of you Mr. ***** please stop the lies. I understand you're weak mind might not be able to handle this concept but the truth will set you free. 

As to the rest of this sad and tired old mans gibberish I put forth this one question...having never really spoken to me how on earth can you make any of these claims? Cause we all know an employee won't ever lie to cover for themselves, will they? (insert eye roll here)

Plus I still have yet to recieve my refund of the items I was LIED to about. It's been a month and no one seems to know whats going on other then the paperwork is done. Are you kidding me?!? Even the smallest to largest company out would have an exact time line and status of a customers refund.

This response for this man doesn't surprise me one bit. He has a history for crying fowl verse being a man and facing the music. Just take a look at some of his response to yelp. This guy thinks he is above everyone else and can do no wrong. Well guess what...I will not be going away. You tried to just send me to the bedliner company to have them install my bedliner and I was able to FORCE you into handling it and giving me a FREE loaner car. CAUSE I KNOW MY RIGHTS AND SPEAK THE TRUTH. 

BTW thank you for the bit about the company requiring the payment menu...that greatly helps my cause.

GOOD DAY!



Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pre-owned car from Maxwell Ford Supercenter on July 6, 2012 and also purchased a Motorist Assistance Plan (MAP) Extended Warranty. On December 2, 2013, I went to the Maxwell Ford Supercenter dealership and was assisted with cancelling the Motorist Assistance Plan (MAP) Extended Warranty. It has been 4 months since I cancelled the warranty and I have yet to receive my refund. I have visited the dealership inquirig about the status and have made many subsequent phone calls. Although promises were made to resolve the issue on each occassion, no action has been taken and I don't have a refund.

Desired Settlement: Due to the severity of this issue and the lack of response, Maxwell Ford Supercenter should refund the total cost that I paid for the Motorist Assistance Plan (MAP) Extended Warranty ($1399.00.

Business Response: We are in the process of contacting the customer to tell them that the refund in being processed 4-1-14.  We apologize for the delay.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I recevied a phone call from Maxwell Ford on Tuesday April 1, 2014 assuring me that my warranty cancellation refund check would be processed that day and overnighted to me.  I did not receive the refund check on Wednesday April 2, 2014.  I called Maxwell Ford on Thursday April 3, 2014 and left a voice message requesting status, however my phone call was not returned.

Today is Friday April 4, 2014 and I not received my refund check or any type of communication from Maxwell Ford.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: The refund is in the process and the money will be refunded.  It is taking longer than expected. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extended warranty on January 10th with the purchase of a 2008 Tacoma. I was told by the Business Manager that if I decided that I did not want the extended warranty, that I could contact him within 30 days and he would cancel the warranty. I contacted him via email (from his business card that he provided) and phone (left messages). I additionally contacted the Pre-owned sales manager via email and phone messages (he provided his business card as well). I have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: I want the extended warranty canceled and the monthly cost removed from my financing.

Business Response: The service contract the customer cancelled is in the cancellation process. He informed my finance manager of cancelling the option January 24, 2014. The process to finalize a cancellation with the service contract company does take time. The cancellation money will be refunded to the lienholder but will not effect the payment just the balance. Mr. ****** should see the credit to his account on his April statement.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the Maxwell Ford Parts Department on or about the 13th of December 2013 in order to purchase a Crank Position Sensor (CPS) for my 2000 Ford F250 4x4 because the truck would not turn over and start. The Parts Department that there had been a recall on that part and that if I brought the truck to the Service Department the part would be replaced free of charge. I had the vehicle towed in on the 14th of December. Sometime late the next week I received a call from ***** in the Service department informing me that the CPS had been replaced but the truck would also need the Exhaust Sensor replaced (approximately $1100.00) as well as the truck needing new batteries (approximately $260.00). I was fairly certain that the batteries were under warranty so I told ***** to do the work on the truck and asked that he just charge the batteries so that I could take a look once I picked the truck up. I went to pick up the truck on 26 December 2013 and after paying for the repairs, went to the vehicle to find that it would not turn over, just like when I dropped it off. I looked under the hood to find that I did in fact have 2 Ford Motorcraft batteries under the hood and that they were purchased in August 2011 and still under warranty (information overlooked by ***** and his service techs as they advised me that I needed to purchase new batteries). ***** said he could not replace the batteries and when asked, said that he was the Service Manager. I then removed the batteries myself and took them to the Parts Department where they were replaced with only a recycling charge. I drove the truck home after installing the batteries myself and it ran without problems. I parked it and did not try to drive it until 29 December 2013. On the morning of 29 December 2013 I tried to start the truck to find that it once again would not turn over. I sent multiple emails and work orders through the Maxwell Ford website with requests that a manager contact me but received no correspondence for nearly a week. My wife then began calling until finally ******, who asserted that he was the service manager returned her calls on 07 January 2014. ****** said that they would run a full diagnostic check on the vehicle free of charge, we agreed and had the vehicle towed to the Service department incurring the cost ourselves. ****** advised my wife that the truck needed completely new wiring harnesses at a cost of about $400.00 in parts and $400.00 in labor. My wife negotiated with ****** to prorate the labor cost and the new wire harness was installed for $680.00. On 18 January 2014 I paid for the repairs and picked the truck up. I drove it on 19-22 January. On the morning of 24 January 2014 it was cold so I cycled the key twice (7.3L power stroke engine), tried to start the truck only to find that once again it would not turn over and was acting just like it did on 13 December 2013 when all of this started. I hooked it up to another Diesel engine (which started with no problem) and let the batteries charge for an hour and the truck will still not start.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money that I have spent at the Maxwell Ford Service Department, since after nearly 2 months and $2,000.00 I am in the exact same situation I was when I first walked into the establishment. I am willing to concede to complimentary repairs of the truck (that actually fix the problem), but feel like there has been such questionable practice and unwillingness to do the right thing that the vehicle is really not safe getting repaired there.

Business Response:

The ********’s had their vehicle towed to our Dealership hoping that a recall would fix there no start problem.  They were informed that both batteries where dead and that the recall did not cure the issue.  Mr. ******** authorized us to look further into the issue.  On the initial diagnoses we found the injection control pump sensor and the exhaust back pressure sensor had failed.  Mr. ******** agreed to have them replaced and he came to the Dealership and replaced both batteries himself.  The vehicle started but ran rough.  Mr. ******** decided to pick up the vehicle since it started.  A few days later we received a call that the vehicle did not start again.  We had it towed to the Dealership and found that the battery cables did not very good contact since the bolt holding them to the terminals had been stripped.  We agreed to not charge labor and the ********’s would pay for the parts.  After installing the cables we again explained the vehicle ran very rough and should be further diagnosed.  The ********’s decided to pick up the vehicle.  Again, they came to the Dealership, started their vehicle and drove away.  A few days later we received another call stating the vehicle would not start.  We had the vehicle towed back to the Dealership and we did a full diagnosis of the vehicle (at no charge to the ********’s).  We found that the two of the injectors had failed and the other where very weak.  To help with cost, we priced everything at employee cost.  The vehicle is still here at our Dealership awaiting to see what the ********’s would like us to do.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extended warranty from Maxwell Ford at the time I purchased my 2011 **** **** from them. I was assured at the time that all stock items were covered, bumper to bumper. That is not the case. My backup camera failed and was not covered. I visited with Maxwell Ford and they twisted the extended warranty's arm to have the camera covered. I am very appreciative and told them so. I also told them I wanted them to replace my warranty with the one I purchased, one that covers all stock items on the vehicle. They said they would but it would cost me another $500+. I don't think that is fair. They did not provide me with what I purchased why should I have to pay more to get what I initially paid for? I visited with the finance supervisor and general manager. They stood their ground. There is nothing Ford corporate says they can do other than file a complaint, which they did. I think Maxwell Ford did me wrong and would like it fixed.

Desired Settlement: I purchased an extended warranty from Maxwell Ford at the time I purchased my 2011 **** **** from them. I was assured at the time that all stock items were covered, bumper to bumper. That is not the case. My backup camera failed and was not covered. I visited with Maxwell Ford and they twisted the extended warranty's arm to have the camera covered. I am very appreciative and told them so. I also told them I wanted them to replace my warranty with the one I purchased, one that covers all stock items on the vehicle. They said they would but it would cost me another $500+. I don't think that is fair. They did not provide me with what I purchased why should I have to pay more to get what I initially paid for? I visited with the finance supervisor and general manager. They stood their ground. There is nothing Ford corporate says they can do other than file a complaint, which they did. I think Maxwell Ford did me wrong and would like it fixed.

Business Response: The terms of the agreement are clearly stated and signed by the customer.  We have disclosed the terms of the agreement as stated by law.   

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  The extended warranty was represented by the Maxwell Ford employee to me at the time of purchase as a warranty that covers all of the stock items on the vehicle for 100,000 miles, period. This is not the case and was not known by the Maxwell Ford employee when I recently pointed out this deficiency.  I had to show him where it was in the policy.  I was told they sold numerous similar policies with the same understanding as I was initially told, all stock items covered.  Since that time they no longer offer the Fidelity extended warranty and sell a Ford extended warranty. I wonder why?  I asked for a Ford extended warranty at the time of purchase and was told the Fidelity was just as comprehensive, that is not the case.

They can talk of the terms of the agreement but if the policy is miss-represented by the Maxwell Ford employee, the "expert" in the field of extended warranties and trusted by the customer, to the customer and the customer takes his word on it what recourse does the customer have when it turns out to be untrue?  I don't think the employee knew it wasn't true, they were just following the direction of Maxwell Ford.  It looks like there is no recourse given the response by Maxwell Ford and a complete lack of customer service.

Regards,

***** *** 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

1/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently I purchased a 2013 **** from Maxwell Ford.  In preparation for my purchase I had already contacted ******** ******* and verified that the $40,000 purchase would go through smoothly.  They assured me that as a 20 year Gold Card member, that there would be no issues. I also reseacrhed whether or not Maxwell Ford could refuse my card and found a US Merchant Reference Guide. Excerpts of which are reprinted below. 3.1 accepting the Card Merchants must accept the Card as payment for goods and services (other than those goods and services prohibited under section 3.3, “prohibited uses of the Card”) sold, or (if applicable) for charitable contributions made at all Establishments, except as expressly permitted by applicable state statute. Merchants are jointly and severally liable for the obligations of their Establishments under the Agreement 3.2 treatment of the ******** ******* brand ******** ******* has built a brand that is synonymous with trust, integrity, security, quality, and customer service. We work diligently to uphold our reputation and restrict Merchants from engaging in activities that would harm our business or brand. Except as expressly permitted by Applicable Law, Merchants must not: * indicate or imply that they prefer, directly or indirectly, any Other Payment Products over our Card, * try to dissuade Cardmembers from using the Card, * criticize or mischaracterize the Card or any of our services or programs, * try to persuade or prompt Cardmembers to use any Other Payment Products or any other method of payment (e.g., payment by check), After executing my purchase contact I provided my ******** ******* card as payment for the 25,000 that I was putting down.  It was at that time that I was told no.  That company policy limits the transaction limit to 2,500.  I proceeded to inform ***** ******** (finance manager) that store policy cannot override a merchant's contactual agreement to accept the ******** ******* card.  After which he proceeded to get his finance director who entered the room and said that the ******** ******* card fees prevent them from accepting the card. I asked for a few minutes and I proceeded to contact ******** *******.  The agent informed me that the card cannot be rejected if the merchant wished to continue to accept the card.  The agent then instructed me to get a printout of the store policy, use the card to maximum allowed to establish that the card was offered to the merchant as payment and limited and then file the complaint with ******** *******.  My experience at Maxwell Ford violated several of the key principles the store agreed to when they requested to become an ******** ******* merchant. 1. Maxwell Ford clearly implied they preferred another form of payment 2. Maxwell Ford criticized the **** card by referencing the fees associated with accepting the card 3. Maxwell Ford required Other Payment (my personal check) The store policy dated 06/01/12 allowed for the F&I Manager/Director to accept the credit card up to 2,500.  The policy allowed for higher transaction amounts with approval of the the either the GM or the Market Director. However, they never inquired with either and capped me at 2,500. The lost value of the missing 22,500 points is significant.

Desired Settlement: As the store displays that they accept the ******** ******* card, their refusal to accept it for the full value of the transaction violated their contract with ******** ******* which resulted in a bait and switch to the consumer. Had I been aware that my credit card transaction would be limited, I would have spent a little extra time negotiation the vehicle price. As such, the lost opportunity to earn 22,500 has cost me the value of a $600 plane ticket. I am seeking $600 in compensation.

Business Response: Our company policy does not allow for us to accept credit card transactions above $2500.00.  We will not make an exception. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Maxwell Ford's policy creates a situation whereby they (Maxwell Ford) encourage a breech of pre-existing merchant contracts with credit card companies. These merchant contracts where entered into voluntarily by Maxwell Ford and done so only to conduct business and increase profits. So when Maxwell Ford prohibits the use of the card when it doesn't work for them, they discriminate to the cardholder by insisting that a different form of payment by provided.  It is true that some cardholders may lack the means to payoff such a large charge and these transactions need to be scrutinized. However, for the cardholders that do not lack the means, the policy and breech of existing merchant contracts creates a loss in member rewards that must be forfeited by the cardholder. Depending on the purchase amount these forfeited benefits amount to a considerable value. 

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I bought a 2011 Chevrolet 2500 hd and we were told if we bought the extended warranty that our first payment on the truck would be in 90 days 1/12/2014. After owning the truck for a week the finance guy calls me back and said that the bank won't go 90 days and that we needed to come back done there to resign the papers. After telling the finance guy that we have a signed contract that said when our payment was he said there was nothing he could do. So we called **** ***** the general manager because we felt we were mislead and his reply was that there was nothing he could do. Paying the payment sooner is not the problem. He used the 90 days till the first payment as a sells pitch and to meet his numbers, which I think is very wrong and we don't like being lied to.

Desired Settlement: I have a contract that says my payment isn't due till January 12/2014 and I want them to honor it.

Business Response:


The days to first payment can’t be changed.  The days to first payment are clearly stated on the contract that the customer signed.  They signed and agreed to the payment date.  All we can do at this point is apologize for the misunderstanding. 

**** *****

General Manager

******* ****

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** *** Maxwell ford made me and my wife resign the paper work because the couldn't honner the original document. We didn't want to resign but we had to if we wanted to keep the truck. We didn't get offered the extended fist payment till we bought the extended warranty. We were told that if we bought it the first payment wouldn't be due after January. We are very disappointed and will not buy anything from them again!! I hope they stop lying to people and start holding up to there end of the deal.  

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This issue began the day of the test drive with your the sales associate. I relayed to him that there was some vibration and steering wheel movement going on in the front end. The sales associate assured me that their vehicles go through multiple checkpoints before they are offered to the public for purchase, and that he would submit the vehicle to the service technicians for repairs to be made before we purchased the vehicle. There was also a weak battery, on this vehicle, that was brought up to the salesman during pre-purchase discussions. This issue was justified by the vehicle sitting on the lot for an extended period of time. The associate submitted the vehicle to the service department for a re-alignment which he believed resolved the problem with the front end. Three days after we accepted delivery of the vehicle, the problem still existed, in the front end, and the battery died on the vehicle leaving my wife stranded. I ended up replacing the battery on Saturday August 24,2013. On Monday, August 26,2013, I took the vehicle to ******* ***** Toyota to diagnose the front end. Although this diagnosis would cost me $115, I felt this was justified by having a Toyota technician diagnose a Toyota problem. Also, I purchased the extended warranty, from Maxwell Ford, which I felt would cover any major issues I may experience. The Toyota technician attributed the front end problem to tire balancing, front strut replacement, and realignment after the strut replacement. This technician felt it would be in my best interest to contact Maxwell Ford since I had only owned the vehicle for less than a week at the time. Upon leaving the Toyota dealership, I attempted to contact Maxwell Ford's salesman regarding the issue. He told me he was having trouble with his cellular phone and would call me back when he got in the office. I didn't receive a call back by 3 pm so I called him back and he told me that he would talk to his manager, sales manager, and call me right back. I still received no call back so I called the sales manager and left a voice mail message. He never returned my call. At 6 pm I called the salesman and left a voice mail stating that I was on my way to Maxwell, and he called me back in 5 minutes saying that he would talk to his manager and give me a response. By Wednesday, August 28th, 2013, I had not received a response from Maxwell. At this time, I sent an email to their finance department, outlining my concerns regarding the extended warranty and describing the event that occurred over the previous three days. She immediately responded to my email, and set up a meeting with the sales manager and me. She also complimented me on my patience during these events that transpired. On Friday August 30th, I went to Maxwell Ford in hopes of getting this issue resolved. I met with sales manager and produced documentation supporting my claims. He informed me that some service departments are "crooks" and will tell you anything to get you to pay for unnecessary services. I requested that his technician drive the vehicle, diagnose the problem, and make any necessary repairs to correct the situation. The sales manager came back and told me that the tires had flat spots on them from sitting on the lot, and the technicians were discussing how to resolve the issue. After three hours of waiting, the sales manager gave me a loaner car so that I may go on my may and told me he would call me with the final conclusion. Around 2 pm, he called stating that my vehicle was ready for pickup. It is at this time, I questioned what repairs were made. He informed me that the tires were rotated, and he recommended that I drive the vehicle for 2000 miles to correct the flat spots. If after 2000 miles the problem was not corrected, I could bring it back to see about some allowance on tire replacement. He also stated that Maxwell Ford ran into this problem in the past with new vehicles on the lot. Maxwell Ford performed an inspection on this vehicle on July 17th, 2013. I have since contacted multiple repair facilities and been informed that flat spots in the tires will not occur in this short amount of time frame and driving the vehicle will not correct the issue. On Saturday, i picked my vehicle up from Maxwell Ford, and the condition still exist in the front end. I have some major concerns regarding this course of action: 1. How did the vehicle pass pre delivery inspection, with Maxwell Ford, in July 17, 2013, if this problem existed? 2. How do tires develop flat spots in 35 days? July 17, 2013 to purchased date August 21,2103, this vehicle was driven 66 miles. That does not seem to be in a stationary position to me. 3. I have a safety concern about driving a vehicle with know flat spots on the tires. Shouldn't Maxwell Ford have that same concern for their customers? 4. If Maxwell Ford's recommendations are to drive this vehicle with these known issues, will they provide supporting documentation stating their findings and recommendations?

Desired Settlement: Since this problem still exist, I would like to take the vehicle to ******* ***** Toyota and have the original requested maintenance performed to correct the issue. Maxwell Ford has had two opportunities to correct this issue and have failed both times to make any improvement to the front end issue.

Business Response:

After balancing and performing an alignment on the tires, Maxwell Ford's service department has concluded that the issue with this vehicle is flat spots on the tires.  At their recomendation we asked Mr. ******* to drive the vehicle for 2000 miles.  The problem should correct itself.  If it does not, we asked Mr. ******* to come back and we would help him with new tires.  We have also agreed to reimburse Mr. ******* for a battery that he purchased for this vehicle.  At the time of purchase the only thing agreed to by Mr. ******* and Maxwell Ford was to check the alignment on the vehicle.  This was completed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped in on a Friday, early afternoon to explore the possibility of trading my 2011 Taurus for a 2012 Wrangler that they had. I immediately explained that I was short on time. I Provieded the salesman ****** ****** with my maximum budget and asked that they appraise my trade in. They took my keys, and kept them until roughly 7pm when I demanded that they give them back to me. They made several offers that were far above my maximum budget and on several occassions, I thanked ****** for his time and explained that I needed to be somewhere. he kept asking me to give them a shot. Eventually, the manager, ***** ******** agreed to my budget numbers. They congratulated me on my purchase, and had me sign under the numbers to document my agreement. Several hours later, I was FINALLY invited to finance to sighn the paperwork. I was completely shocked when the finance manager laid out a completely different deal than I had ageed upon with the sales department. Monthly payments were almost 10% higher! I stood up and asked him if they were going to honor the terms that they had offered to or not. The finance person asked to explain. I told him it was a simple yes or no answer. His answer was no. 1. This process should have been far more expedient. I have no issues with not being able to agree on terms. However, to keep me for almost 5 hours and cause me to miss an appointment by offering terms that I was comfortable with and then refuse to those terms contractually is unacceptable. 2. They did not, in my case honor the numbers that ***** ******** proposed and had me agree to with my signature. I feel that I was clearly deceived into staying there. Every time I tried to leave, they told me what they needed to in order to keep me there. I feel that to completely change the terms that THEY offered after almost 5 hours is deceptive, dishonest, and unethical.

Desired Settlement: Dealership to offer a sales contract with the exact terms that their written offer which the dealership presented to me and had me sign.

Business Response: We offered the best terms that we have available.  There are no additional terms we can offer. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. Maxwell Ford has made the effort to explore further options allowing them to deliver upon the terms originally offered.

Please note that Maxwell Ford has delivered upon the terms offered to me.

Regards,

**** *****




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Maxwell Ford will not give me my keyless entry pad code for the used car I purchased April 5, 2013. I have called repeatedly. That was one of the selling points of the car and was listed on the Internet when I saw it got sale. No one will call me back with information.

Desired Settlement: I want them to call me with the factory code to my car. If I have to take it back in, they should pay my milage in gas to go back and get the code from them. They shod have provided it in the first place.

Business Response: We have emailed and called customer, no answer but I left a message, with her keyless entry code.  Also advised her of where in her owner's manual this code was already located.  Case should be resolved.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1