BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Mac Haik's Southway Ford?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mac Haik's Southway Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mac Haik's Southway Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mac Haik's Southway Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1986 Business started: 12/01/1985 Business started locally: 12/01/1985 Business incorporated: 03/27/2008 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
David Dove, GM
Contact Information
Principal: David Dove, GM
Related Businesses
Mac Haik Dodge Chrysler Jeep Mac Haik Ford Lincoln Mercury Mac Haik Ford Lincoln Hyundai Georgetown Mac Haik Dodge Chrysler Jeep LTD
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service - Diesel

Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled gap insurance and told I would receive a refund its been 5 weeks and no refund and now can't get anybody to talk to me or answer any questions about it left several messages and e-mails no response.

Business Response: We greatly appreciate the customers business and are sorry for any inconvenience or misunderstanding this may of caused. At this time our business office has been in contact with the customer to resolve the issue and expedite the refund process. We feel the issue is resolved and no further action will be nessasery. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mac Haick Southway Ford has a repair process that borderlines fraud. We have numerous correspondences with this company that clearly outlines everything that was not repaired correctly. We were in a vehicle accident in April 2014 and to date we’re still having to return our vehicle to this company in order for them to make proper repairs or correct the damaged parts where they used parts from a local junk yard. Their constant attempts to try and pass off the vehicle as complete should frighten any consumer in the *** ******* area especially consumers that are not mechanically inclined. I was lucky since I have access to a ******** ******** that employs ASE certified mechanics. This company is under the impression that most consumers will trade-in their vehicle immediately after an accident such as ours so they don’t want to expend too much time fixing the vehicle if the consumer/owner is going to get rid of the vehicle anyways. They will not repair anything unless the consumer ‘catches’ it even if it is safety related. We find it very hard to believe that this is the only time this company has had problems such as this in the past. As a concerned citizen of this community we feel the Texas Department of Insurance needs to be made aware of this company’s practices. TDI should have access to all VIN numbers that Mac Haick claims to have repaired and how many of those have been involved in reoccurring accidents.

Desired Settlement: Since this has been the 10th time that we have returned the vehicle due to incomplete or defective work, we ask that this company reimburse my family for the gas and more importantly the wages that I have missed due to all the trips my family has had to make in order to return the vehicle. Our calculations show that we have traveled 532 total miles and have lost $1127 in wages due to their improper quality control and their inability to make adequate, honest and professional repairs.

Business Response: On behalf of MacHaik's Southway Ford I would like to apologize for any misunderstanding. We would like to make the customer aware that MacHaik's Southway Ford is not the one who makes the decision on replacing parts ie (junk) salvage, aftermarket, reconditioned, or factory replacement. The decision is strictly made by the individuals choice of insurance provider. Many insurance providers follow the same guidelines as the customers in this matter. In addition the estimate of repairs that need to be made is a process done by the insurance provider. Many people think that the repair shop is the one who is the decision maker on repairs and that is not the case. If a repair facility makes an unauthorized repair, the insurance provider will not pay for that repair. Each time we make a repair we are reimbursed by the insurance provider and therefor we have no reason not to make the proper repairs. Unfortunately in cases where the vehicle has sustained major damage it is not uncommon for a vehicle to need a supplement repair or repairs as in this situation. We value the customers business and truly hope the customer does not still feel the same about our organization after this explanation. We do understand the customer has been inconvenienced do the fact they were involved in an accident but they should know our goal is to do everything in our control to make them happy. If we can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact the stores General Manager who is always willing to help.    

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We appreciate the response but it seems Mac Haik Southway Ford is attempting to down play the true details of this on-going, six month long ordeal.  I’ll let the following documented correspondence and excerpts from emails speak for themselves.


1. Steering tight and obviously binding at the 1 o’clock position.  Inner steering gear replaced with a part from the junk yard.  Refer
to email correspondence.

2. “Air Conditioner stops working immediately while waiting at all red lights.  It only works while the vehicle is moving.”  Refer to email correspondence.

3. While making a left handed U-turn the vehicle hops forward as if something is wrong with front differential, control arms or ball joints, or something similar.  Involves either the alignment or suspension parts since it 'hops' forward while making a sharp u-turn at slow speeds.  This could be caused suspension parts, alignment, or rear alignment.  Refer to email correspondence.

4. There’s a whining sound when turning as if there is air or something wrong with the power steering. Refer to email correspondence.

5.     
We're also experiencing a serious electrical ignition problem of some sort.  We noticed on 4 July 2014 that the ignition would not start unless you slammed either the glove compartment or closed the front door.  We have videos of this and available upon request. And as of this morning the vehicle does not start.  Refer to email correspondence.

6. The air conditioning refrigerant line was not secured to the frame and is rubbing on the alternator pulley.  Refer to email correspondence. 

7. There are two connectors right next to the battery that do not plug into each other.  This tells me something is missing or connections were not properly made.  See attached photo and Refer to email correspondence.

8. The vehicle sways (left and right) excessively while quickly changing lanes at high speeds. It seems as if it doesn't properly recover such as the front spring is worn.    Refer to email correspondence.

9. “Mac Haik, As you and I just discussed over the phone I emailed the Kia dealer yesterday with my concerns and you, Mac Haik Southway Ford and Geico, have confirmed that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle despite the swaying (item #8) and the hopping of the vehicle during u-turns (item #3).”   Refer to email correspondence.

10. The adjusted toe on the rear wheels to its maximum spec tolerance could be the cause of the hopping during u-turns. 
Or the suspension parts that are shown as damaged by the SAI could be the culprit also.  Refer to email correspondence.

11. Upon having a different independent ASE certified shop verify the alignment they have identified excessive camber on the alignment that either Hyundai or Mac Haik Southway Ford did.  Refer to the attached photos showing the 'out of spec' front and rear camber. It has been recorded that alignment adjustments were made in order to compensate for the damaged parts on the front left side. Keep in mind that the front camber is not adjustable on this vehicle and that an 'out of spec' front camber or SAI angle clearly indicate damaged parts.  Upon further investigation it was determined that the front left lower control arm was the
culprit.  The lower control arm is twisted up and away from the point of impact and is not mounting on the new cradle correctly. 
Refer to the attached photos.

12. I wanted to let you know that I'd rather make an appointment with your mechanic to inspect the vehicle.  With everything
that I've found wrong with the vehicle repairs I'd rather be present during your inspection and alignment check.  My mechanic and I also found the actual cause of the A/C fading in and out during regular stops at traffic lights.  It was a previous issue that we identified in the past but it's still not working correctly.  Please schedule me for an inspection of the vehicle with your mechanic for both the camber issue and the reoccurring AC issue.  Thanks.

13. Refer to item 1 below dated 6 July 14 and the attached photos.  As previously mentioned, my mechanic and I found the actual cause of the A/C fading in and out during regular stops at traffic lights.  It was a previous issue that we identified and you attempted to correct but it's still not working correctly.  The aftermarket cooling fan that you installed is only a 1 speed and the OEM original fan is a dual speed (hi/lo).  The lo fan doesn’t automatically come on when the AC starts so the only cooling the AC condenser gets is when the vehicle is moving and the hi fan kicks in which is intermittent.  The relays are working fine and we
are getting power all the way at the fan connector.  The fan has only one speed and is not equivalent to OEM.  Let me know how you want to proceed.  And please be advised that my intentions are not to turn this vehicle in.

14. As you've probably already heard I was there yesterday afternoon and met with Mr. * and his mechanic to inspect the camber
and the cooling fan issue.  The mechanic put it on the alignment lift and basically validated the same camber numbers that we previously reported in the email trail below.  He measured both sides from the control arm knuckle to the frame with a tape measure and noticed a 1/2 inch difference.  He wasn’t sure if it had to be symmetrical or if it was within tolerance but there was a definite difference between the driver side and passenger side measurement.  He also recommended to Mr. B the replacement of the strut,
control arm and knuckle as one assembly.

15. Reference claim number **************** dated 19 April 2014 and previous correspondence and complaints we've had with your quality of service.  Once again the repairs that you've done are inferior.  The 'knee assembly' you obtained from the salvage yard and installed on my vehicle had a bad strut.  It also was the incorrect coil spring.  Right now my front axle has two different spring heights due to the non OEM equivalent part.  Both sides of the vehicle squeak with it being more pronounced on the drivers side.
 

It should be noted that ALL of the discrepancies listed above were identified by myself and a military affiliated ASE certified shop and not by Mac Haiks shop.  This company lacks quality control and they seem to think that turning a blind eye to these unsafe and unfair practices relieves them of their own liability and responsibility to this community.


This might be how Mac Haik Southway Ford does business on a daily basis but there is nothing normal about taking advantage of the insurance system and knowingly putting unsafe vehicles back out on the streets.  Since Geico does not have any oversight or
quality control over their repairs aside from a visual aesthetics and inventory inspection, Mac Haik knows that they’ll get full payment regardless if they perform the repairs correctly or not unless the consumer ‘catches it’.  This is especially true when they know that
most consumers will probably turn right around and trade-in the vehicle regardless if they know that it’s safe or not.  I will not participate, despite Mac Haiks desire, in this practice by knowingly trading in this vehicle and passing off the problem and the liability to a different dealer and to another innocent family.   


This company’s practices are either due to incompetence or their practices are intentional and used as a business tactic to save money and push that liability to someone else.  Either way, it is wrong, unsafe and unfair to any military or civilian consumer within
the *** ******* area.    





Regards,

****** ********

Business Response:

Without getting into great detail at this time all concerns are being addressed to our knowledge. The customers Insurance company has gotten involved and have indeed realized the vehicle was in need of additional repairs. The insurance company has given the dealership authorization to make the supplemental repairs, and at this point some of the work has already been performed. Our dealership prides itself on integrity and trying our best to give excellent service, unfortunately some things are out of our control. We do make mistakes from time to time but we try not to. We would also like to point out that we have many former military personal here at our dealership and we are proud of them as well as all other active or former soldiers. At this point we hope the customer has received the resolution they were looking for and is back on the road soon.

 

MacHaik’s Southway Ford     

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We really appreciate the response and the fact they seem to be more proactive since BBB has been involved but the repairs on our vehicle continue to date.  We intend on retrieving our vehicle this morning and recent conversations indicate this will probably continue.  So due to the BBB six day response deadline we're submitting this response as a place holder to continue this discussion.

Regards,

****** ********

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle towed to southway ford. While it was there they fail to notify me of wrecking my car. They assured me that they would take care of everything and they did not. I have tried to get intouch with the general manger by the name of ***** **** and have not reached him I hv call several times to southway ford and hv been placed on hold for long periods of time and transfered to different ppl.

Desired Settlement: I want them to be responsible and pay for the damage to my car and not try to puy it on my insurance

Business Response:

On behalf of the company I would like to apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience the customer may have encountered.  At the time in which the customer was trying to reach the General Manager he was on a business trip which his voicemail stated along with who to contact if someone was needing imitate assistance. We do acknowledge the car was damaged while on our premises but we believe it was not due to negligence nor faulty repair on our behalf. On the day the incident took place we had tried to move the vehicle in the shop when one of the wheels fell off. At that time we didn’t know why that happened  but soon realized the wheels were not the correct ones for the vehicle and were not properly secure. This vehicle was towed to our shop not driven and we assume it is because the vehicle was unsafe to drive. To our understanding the owner was aware of the wheels not being the correct ones or properly secure. We wish we would have been notified by the owner that the wheels were not secure because one of our employees could have very easily of been injured. We feel it to be unnecessary and not practical to check every vehicles lug nuts before we move one. Unfortunately accidents happen and we surely try to prevent any from occurring. Even though this did take place on our premises we do not believe we are completely responsible. We do want for the customer to be able to view us in a positive manner and with that said we would like to take care of the damage at our expense. At this time the customer has taken the vehicle out of our shop and taken it elsewhere. We would like for the customer to bring the vehicle back for us to make the necessary repairs. Being we are a full repair facility we would like to make the repairs and do not see the need for the dealership to pay someone else for something we can do. We look forward to working with the customer and getting them back on the road.

 

MacHaik’s Southway Ford

1/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new truck from them and the buying experience was good. I am happy with what I paid and I am happy with the truck. In the buying process I was taken care of by the sales mgr, and 2 different sales men. I understood when purchasing the truck that I received 1 year free car wash from wash tub, this was spoken about between me and one of the sales men. Well I tried to get a carwash and the carwash said the sticker on my truck to receive a carwash was not valid. On 12/26/13 I called and spoke to a man about my issue, he said he was not the right man to talk to and passed this information along to someone else(they would call me back). On 12/26/13 I was called back (1320) within 10 minutes. The man I spoke with was very kind and apologized about the mistake and simply said I would need to come into the dealership to receive a certificate that I would have to sign and that one of my sale men would provide me, sales man #1. He said they likely just forgot to place the certificate in my paperwork, no problem. This morning I go into get my oil changed and have my headliner looked at. Sales man #1 doesn't get into work untill 0930 so I call at 1247 and spend 1 minute on the phone with sales man #1 who then transfers me to some guy who I spend 15 minutes on the phone with explaining my situation, we will call him "****". **** tells me that 1. They don't give car washes because it's too expensive. (then changes his story) 2. **** then says that he cannot give me the already promised carwash unless I have this in writing in my contract. 3. Then says that the if I can tell him who said I would receive the carwash that he could, "take it out of their paycheck". So I give him the name of both sales man #1 and the other sales man. He responds with a convoluted no. At this point I am getting mad at the irrational explanation I am receiving from **** and I ask to speak to his boss. He denies me to speak to his boss and then I ask for his name again. He says "well I see this conversation is going nowhere" and he hangs up on me without giving me his name. I saved the sales mgr's number in my phone and so I called him and gave him the quick run down of this. He said he would take care of it and look into it. (I did not ask him to give me a car wash certificate, I was tired of it at this point) The bottom line is I know when I bought the truck it came with 1 year free car wash. Then when I called it was assured to me and to just get a certificate, then I call again and "****" and sales man #1 are useless.

Desired Settlement: I want my car wash... and for "****" and Sales man #1 to learn how to take care of customers with real customer service.

Business Response: I am truly apologetic for any misunderstanding. I think we may of had a miscommunication as to the customer picking up the car wash form and from whom. The customer had a conversation with one of our managers and was told specifically to come in and ask for that manager so he could get his car wash pass.
 
For some reason the customer did not come in and ask for that manager but instead ask the sales persons for it who had no knowledge of the customers conversation with the manager.
 
When the customer came in to pick up the passes and was told no by the sales persons the manager realized he had talked to the this customer and offered him the car wash passes at that time as promised by him and the customer refused them.

We would be more than glad to resolve this issue and grant the customer the car wash passes with a smile.  We will be sending out the form for the passes which needs to be signed by the customer and returned to us. Again sorry for any misunderstanding and we very much so appreciate your business.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  However, the response from the business is completely inaccurate.  The individual whom I originally spoke with over the phone actually called me to follow up with me on 1/26/14.  I explained to her my situation and she was very apologetic.  She then explained to me that every conversation through the dealership is recorded and I sent her the time/date of the phone call that my complaint was based on.  She then said that she would look into the conversation I had and she would send me the certificate for the car wash and that no signatures were required.

This written response from the dealership is completely inaccurate and the person who wrote it is just trying to cover up their error by blaming the customer for their mistake.  The only reason that I am satisfied is due to the lady who called me and is taking care of this situation for me.  This response from the dealership is ridiculous.

The kind, intelligent, lady who is helping with this situation is named ***** ******.  

Regards,

****** *****

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I towed my vehicle to the business. I was told I would receive a call back as soon as possible regarding the vehicle issue that I was experiencing (transmission issue). The second day I received a phone call from the service department stating " The only way we will be able to resolve your issue is to replace your entire transmission which will cost possibly over $4,000." Taking there word knowing that they are certified service technicians I deiced to buy a new or used vehicle. I was recommended to Used Car Sales Department where I was given a Credit Check, and told I will receive a call back to see if I would qualify. Never received a call back for over the past days. I then decide since Southway Ford will not help with my issue I towed the vehicle with my expenses to ****** ************ on the South Side of San Antonio. I spoke to ***** who provided excellent customer service, and informed me that he will call me back. The next day he stated that everything within the transmission housing is perfect, and does not need repair or transmission replacement. The only thing that caused the transmission to fail was due to a clutch assembly needing replacement. He gave me an estimate around $950, and stated that I was about to get cheated out of my money if I were to leave it to ford. I plan to return to ford with the broken pieces of the clutch assembly and demand a refund of my $95 diagnostic fee for a misdiagnosis that caused me to go negative on my bank account because this was an emergency, and needed immediate attention. Also for putting trust in ford, and hurting my credit for adding numerous "hard checks" to my credit report trying to purchase a vehicle with Southway. I will never return to this business for future repairs because I will have the feeling that I will be cheated every time I go for a repair.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $95 diagnostic fee for a misdiagnosis.

Business Response: On behalf of MacHaik Southway Ford I would like to apologize for any misunderstanding. The diagnosis the customer was given was an opinion or educated guess based on the symptoms of the vehicle. Without tearing into the vehicle to visually see what is causing the problem the only thing we could do is give our professional opinion.
I do understand the way it may look, but I assure you if we would of been given the chance to start work on the vehicle like the other shop was we too would of been able to give you the great news of it only being the clutch. We would never want anyone to think that MacHaik's Southway Ford is anything less than the best in the industry and hope you truly understand.
The diagnostic fee was cheerfully refunded to the customer shortly after bringing it to our attention. We hope this resolves the customers concerns and that our place of business can be looked at in a positive way again.       

2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2011 Delivery Issues