BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mac Haik's Southway Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mac Haik's Southway Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mac Haik's Southway Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1986 Business started: 12/01/1985 Business started locally: 12/01/1985 Business incorporated: 03/27/2008 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
David Dove, GM
Contact Information
Principal: David Dove, GM
Related Businesses
Mac Haik Dodge Chrysler Jeep Mac Haik Ford Lincoln Mercury Mac Haik Ford Lincoln Hyundai Georgetown Mac Haik Dodge Chrysler Jeep LTD
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service - Diesel

Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new truck from them and the buying experience was good. I am happy with what I paid and I am happy with the truck. In the buying process I was taken care of by the sales mgr, and 2 different sales men. I understood when purchasing the truck that I received 1 year free car wash from wash tub, this was spoken about between me and one of the sales men. Well I tried to get a carwash and the carwash said the sticker on my truck to receive a carwash was not valid. On 12/26/13 I called and spoke to a man about my issue, he said he was not the right man to talk to and passed this information along to someone else(they would call me back). On 12/26/13 I was called back (1320) within 10 minutes. The man I spoke with was very kind and apologized about the mistake and simply said I would need to come into the dealership to receive a certificate that I would have to sign and that one of my sale men would provide me, sales man #1. He said they likely just forgot to place the certificate in my paperwork, no problem. This morning I go into get my oil changed and have my headliner looked at. Sales man #1 doesn't get into work untill 0930 so I call at 1247 and spend 1 minute on the phone with sales man #1 who then transfers me to some guy who I spend 15 minutes on the phone with explaining my situation, we will call him "****". **** tells me that 1. They don't give car washes because it's too expensive. (then changes his story) 2. **** then says that he cannot give me the already promised carwash unless I have this in writing in my contract. 3. Then says that the if I can tell him who said I would receive the carwash that he could, "take it out of their paycheck". So I give him the name of both sales man #1 and the other sales man. He responds with a convoluted no. At this point I am getting mad at the irrational explanation I am receiving from **** and I ask to speak to his boss. He denies me to speak to his boss and then I ask for his name again. He says "well I see this conversation is going nowhere" and he hangs up on me without giving me his name. I saved the sales mgr's number in my phone and so I called him and gave him the quick run down of this. He said he would take care of it and look into it. (I did not ask him to give me a car wash certificate, I was tired of it at this point) The bottom line is I know when I bought the truck it came with 1 year free car wash. Then when I called it was assured to me and to just get a certificate, then I call again and "****" and sales man #1 are useless.

Desired Settlement: I want my car wash... and for "****" and Sales man #1 to learn how to take care of customers with real customer service.

Business Response: I am truly apologetic for any misunderstanding. I think we may of had a miscommunication as to the customer picking up the car wash form and from whom. The customer had a conversation with one of our managers and was told specifically to come in and ask for that manager so he could get his car wash pass.
 
For some reason the customer did not come in and ask for that manager but instead ask the sales persons for it who had no knowledge of the customers conversation with the manager.
 
When the customer came in to pick up the passes and was told no by the sales persons the manager realized he had talked to the this customer and offered him the car wash passes at that time as promised by him and the customer refused them.

We would be more than glad to resolve this issue and grant the customer the car wash passes with a smile.  We will be sending out the form for the passes which needs to be signed by the customer and returned to us. Again sorry for any misunderstanding and we very much so appreciate your business.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  However, the response from the business is completely inaccurate.  The individual whom I originally spoke with over the phone actually called me to follow up with me on 1/26/14.  I explained to her my situation and she was very apologetic.  She then explained to me that every conversation through the dealership is recorded and I sent her the time/date of the phone call that my complaint was based on.  She then said that she would look into the conversation I had and she would send me the certificate for the car wash and that no signatures were required.

This written response from the dealership is completely inaccurate and the person who wrote it is just trying to cover up their error by blaming the customer for their mistake.  The only reason that I am satisfied is due to the lady who called me and is taking care of this situation for me.  This response from the dealership is ridiculous.

The kind, intelligent, lady who is helping with this situation is named ***** ******.  

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I towed my vehicle to the business. I was told I would receive a call back as soon as possible regarding the vehicle issue that I was experiencing (transmission issue). The second day I received a phone call from the service department stating " The only way we will be able to resolve your issue is to replace your entire transmission which will cost possibly over $4,000." Taking there word knowing that they are certified service technicians I deiced to buy a new or used vehicle. I was recommended to Used Car Sales Department where I was given a Credit Check, and told I will receive a call back to see if I would qualify. Never received a call back for over the past days. I then decide since Southway Ford will not help with my issue I towed the vehicle with my expenses to ****** ************ on the South Side of San Antonio. I spoke to ***** who provided excellent customer service, and informed me that he will call me back. The next day he stated that everything within the transmission housing is perfect, and does not need repair or transmission replacement. The only thing that caused the transmission to fail was due to a clutch assembly needing replacement. He gave me an estimate around $950, and stated that I was about to get cheated out of my money if I were to leave it to ford. I plan to return to ford with the broken pieces of the clutch assembly and demand a refund of my $95 diagnostic fee for a misdiagnosis that caused me to go negative on my bank account because this was an emergency, and needed immediate attention. Also for putting trust in ford, and hurting my credit for adding numerous "hard checks" to my credit report trying to purchase a vehicle with Southway. I will never return to this business for future repairs because I will have the feeling that I will be cheated every time I go for a repair.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $95 diagnostic fee for a misdiagnosis.

Business Response: On behalf of MacHaik Southway Ford I would like to apologize for any misunderstanding. The diagnosis the customer was given was an opinion or educated guess based on the symptoms of the vehicle. Without tearing into the vehicle to visually see what is causing the problem the only thing we could do is give our professional opinion.
I do understand the way it may look, but I assure you if we would of been given the chance to start work on the vehicle like the other shop was we too would of been able to give you the great news of it only being the clutch. We would never want anyone to think that MacHaik's Southway Ford is anything less than the best in the industry and hope you truly understand.
The diagnostic fee was cheerfully refunded to the customer shortly after bringing it to our attention. We hope this resolves the customers concerns and that our place of business can be looked at in a positive way again.       

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2011 Delivery Issues
12/6/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1