BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Howdy Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Howdy Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Howdy Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 03/15/1983 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cliff Collier, Dealer Manager Mr. CM Gatton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cliff Collier, Dealer Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment

Alternate Business Names
ADNOH, Inc
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 5519 E Ben White Blvd

    Austin, TX 78741 (512) 443-4300 (888) 665-9466

  • PO Box 18837

    Austin, TX 78760

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 665-9466(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used car that had a 90 day warranty from Howdy Honda in ******, Texas. The car only has 30000 miles on it. I drove the car the next day and the check engine light came on. I drove it back to ****** the next day under the guidance of their technicians and they reset the computer. I drove the vehicle home. The next day again the vehicles check engine light came on. I then returned to Afghanistan and my wife had to get the vehicle taken care of. I then talked to the manager of the used department and he said that my wife could take it to the local mechanic. I had done some research through forums and discovered that the Timing Chain was bad (about $1600) because the car knocks when it turns on. So the the mechanic checked it out and found out that the Valve Cover needs to be replaced. Howdy Honda covered this part with no questions asked but they will not pay for the timing chain because that was not the reason that the engine light came on. If the Timing Chain breaks it will destroy the engine. I tried to have my extended waranty fix it but they will not pay for it because they (the adjuster) said it is a pre existing problem. They would also not cover the valve cover but the dealership did so i dont see why they will not pay to fix the timing chain. The manager told me that the timing chain wasnt discovered when they inspected the car before they sold it to me so they wont pay for the timing chain, my reply to him was the valve cover wasnt discovered either.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to pay for the cost of the repair to the Valve Cover and the Timing Chain (they did cover the Valve Cover though). They sold me a car with a faulty timing chain that will break because its already knocking.

Business Response:

We already have this vehicle in the shop and we are taking care of the repairs. As it turns out it was somewhat misdiagnosed at the other facility. We will do what is necessary to properly repair the vehicle.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 18 months ago my IMA battery started going out on my Honda Civic Hybrid. But I cannot afford a new one so I have been driving the car without the motor assist battery. In the last six months the car started doing two things: 1) when starting from a dead stop the car hesitates, the wheels seem to grab, and there is vibration and noise; and 2) when going downhill at low speeds and sometimes on a flat street as well the car lurches whether my foot is on the brake, the accelerator, or on neither. Howdy Honda replaced the IMA battery and gave me an inspection report. But the car still has these conditions and the report doesn't explain what they are or attribute them to other alleged defects of the vehicle . So after paying $3600 I still don't know whether these two conditions are merely annoying or actually dangerous. And I don't know whether I really needed that new battery or not to keep driving the car. Also, I asked the Howdy Honda staff to communicate with me in writing, which prompted them to end commincations altogether instead of resolve the problems.

Desired Settlement: I want Howdy Honda to give me a complete inspection report at no charge that explains the car's symptoms and lets me know if the car is unsafe to drive as is. And I want Howdy Honda to communciate with me in writing (email is fine) because I do not trust anybody there enough to feel safe using only oral communication. If the dealership is going to issue an inspection report, then the report ought to be complete and the mechanic needs to drive the car enough to be able to observe noise, vibration, and lurching (which everyone else who gets in my car notices immediately).

Business Response: *** ******** has had multiple service visits to Howdy Honda since purchasing her
2003 Honda Civic Hybrid. This issue began with a service visit on 12/31/12.
Her concern at the time was that the IMA warning light was on. Our diagnostics
confirmed the IMA Battery had deteriorated and we recommended replacement. ***
******** declined the recommendation. During the complimentary visual Multi
Point Inspection (MPI) these components/systems failed testing or were outside
the manufacturers specifications. Specifically:

1.     4 wheel-alignment (failed) .....declined

2.     Perform brake fluid exchange
(caution).....declined

*** ********'s next visit
to Howdy Honda was on 6/24/13 when she approved the replacement of the IMA
Battery recommended in December 2012 (see R.O. 563122 & R.O. 6002192) The
battery was replaced on 6/24/13 and another Multipoint Inspection was
performed. All findings from that Multipoint Inspection (MPI), listed below,
were declined. Specifically:

1.     Replace front brake pads & resurface
rotors (Fail).....declined

2.     Replace left engine mount (Fail)       declined

3.     Perform 4-wheel alignment (Fail).....declined

4.     Replace both compliance bushings (Caution) declined

5.     Perform brake fluid exchange (caution)       declined

6.     Perform headlight restoration (caution)       declined

It is
our concern that *** ******** expected the referenced issues, grabbing, noise,
vibration when starting and lurching in lower gears would be fixed with the
replacement of the IMA Battery. The battery replacement corrected the battery
light issue only. Following the service, our ******* ******* tried to contact
*** ******** but she refused to talk with him. Our total corrective actions
were the replacement of the IMA Battery and to perform a MK The grabbing could
be caused by the transmission or the starter clutch and the vibrations could be
caused by the worn compliance bushings, the left broken motor mount or the
brake rotors. All of which were recommended actions from the 6/24/13 MPI
inspection. We cannot confirm these assumptions as *** ******** has not given
us the opportunity to diagnose these concerns.

We
appreciate *** ********'s concerns and would like the opportunity to diagnose
these issues and work with her to address and resolve them. We value her
business and appreciate her loyalty to Howdy Honda. It is our hope we will have
the opportunity to meet her automotive needs both now and in the future. Thank
you for the opportunity to address this complaint.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

1) Howdy Honda does not specify whether I have to pay for the proposed diagnostic work and whether I would get a loaner car if the proposed diagnostics will take more than one day.

2) Howdy Honda seems to think that the June inspection report somehow relieves it of responsibility for my frustration and dissatisfaction.  In fact, the report from the allegedly "multipoint" inspection failed to mention the most obvious problems with the car (the grabbing and shaking at starts and the lurching in lower gears), obvious to a non-mechanic like me and everyone else who rides in my car.  Thus I want assurance that Howdy Honda's diagnostics won't be as incomplete as the multipoint inspection. 

 
Regards,

****** ********





























Business Response: Subject:  Rejected Response
 
There is normally a charge for system diagnostic inspections requested by the customer however, if the service or repair recommended is approved, the diagnostic fee is waived.  Because *** ******** is a long time valued and loyal customer, there will be no diagnostic fee charged and we will provide alternate transportation.
Regarding the concern over the “multi-point inspection (MPI)” that inspection is a static inspection completed in shop on a service lift and the results of that inspection are recorded and offered to the customer for their review and ultimate approval/disapproval of the dealership’s recommendations.  The MPI does not include a road test unless additional repairs/concerns are requested and approved by the customer.  Following those approved repairs, a road test is accomplished to verify the repair has addressed and resolved that specific problem. 
Regarding the “Grabbing, Shaking and Lurching referenced in her response, we do not have any record of service visit where *** ******** listed that as a concern for Howdy Honda to address.  Her previous visits to ***** **** and ***** are where those indications were diagnosed as being tied to an IMA battery problem. Once again, Howdy Honda would be very happy to have the opportunity to test and diagnose those concern for *** ******** and repair as necessary.
 
**** ********
Howdy Honda

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a Notice of Recall ID#***** -ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH for my 2003 Honda Odyssey van. I took my van to Howdy Honda on March 25, 2013, for them to fix what pertained to the recall. I had experienced no problems with the vehicle ignition system at this point. Around the first part of May, 2013, I began having trouble starting the van. It was like the ignition system no longer recognized my key. On May 15, 2013, my wife had the van towed to Howdy Honda and told them the problem. My wife was told by the Honda Service Dept. that they had replaced something on the shift lever and not anything on the ignition switch. She was told she had to pay $470 to have the ignition switch fixed because it had nothing to do with the recall! She informed them that we did not have a problem with the ignition switch until after we brought the van in for the Recall Electrical System Ignition Switch repair! Howdy Honda says it is our problem and that we must pay for the repair!

Desired Settlement: Howdy Honda refund the money $470 I paid to fix the ignition switch, which is what I understood the recall repair was to do (according to the recall letter I received in the mail).

Business Response:  
 
                                                                                          May 27, 2013
 
Thank you for the opportunity to address a concern from one of our valued service customers.
On 3/25/2013, the ********s 2003 Honda Odyssey was brought into the dealership after receiving notification from American Honda requesting a service visit to perform a safety recall service bulletin 13-011.  The basis of this Safety Recall was to inspect the “Key Interlock” on affected vehicles.  This inspection was accomplished per the Safety Recall Bulletin.  The inspection confirmed the functionality was normal and the key could not be removed in the lock position with the vehicle in any other gear other than park.   These findings confirmed procedure “A” of the safety bulletin was followed by installing the Ignition Interlock Kit.  This assembly is external to the ignition cylinder body containing the key insertion slot and the tumblers. The vehicle was tested after installation to ensure the key could not be removed with the shift lever out of the park position. As with every vehicle serviced at Howdy Honda, a courtesy Multi Point Inspection (MPI) was accomplished.  The safety recall was accomplished under warranty and the (MPI) was performed at no charge.  Vehicle was returned to the customer.
 
On 5/15/2013, approximately two (2) months after the completion of the safety recall referenced above, the Odyssey was towed into the dealership.  The issue was that the vehicle would not start due to the key being unable to turn in the cylinder.  An inspection by our Honda certified technician revealed that the inner-workings of the ignition cylinder (tumblers) were not working (jammed) causing the key to be stuck in the ignition and unable to turn.  Mr. ******* was notified of the findings and that the Ignition Lock Assembly would require replacement.  The cost estimate of $516.00 was given and Mr. ******* authorized the repair.  The ignition lock assembly was replaced and a functional check confirmed the problem was addressed and resolved.  Vehicle was returned to the customer, the cost was $470.00.
 
Regarding the claim that the installation of the “Ignition Interlock Kit” on 3/25/2013 resulted in the failure of the internal tumblers preventing the key from turning or being removed is not accurate.  The Ignition Interlock Kit is “external” to the ignition cylinder and at no time during the installation of this kit was the internal workings (tumblers) disturbed or repositioned.  The repair procedure and the associated graphic details of the recall clearly show that the installation of the Interlock Kit is separate and external to the ignition lock assembly.   Howdy Honda has recently done many of these recalls without follow on failures of the ignition lock assembly.  Failure of the ignition lock assembly is not uncommon given the age of the vehicle and the sidewinder design of the ignition cylinder and key. 
 
In summary, if the failure of the ignition lock assembly was a result of the installation or the “Interlock Kit” this failure would have manifested itself immediately following that installation.  The Odyssey had operated for approximately 2 months with numerous ignition system on-off cycles without malfunction.  This vehicle is approaching 150,000 miles.  We do not have a service history as these are the only visits of record to Howdy Honda.  We feel we have acted professionally, in good faith and in the best interest of the customer.  Additionally, given the details of the two service visits referenced above and the fact that the customer authorized the repair, we feel the refund requested by Mr. ******* is not warranted.  We appreciate the opportunity to provide Mr. *******’s sales and service needs and hope we can continue meeting those needs in the future.
 
 
 
  ***** ******* *** Howdy Honda

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
****** *******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1