Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Howdy Honda

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 443-4300 Fax: (512) 416-0891 View Additional Phone Numbers 5519 E Ben White Blvd, Austin, TX 78741 http://www.howdyhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Howdy Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Howdy Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Howdy Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1985 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 03/15/1983 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Clifton D. Collier, Dealer Manager Mr. C. M. Gatton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clifton D. Collier, Dealer Manager
Principal: Mr. C. M. Gatton, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment

Alternate Business Names
ADNOH Inc
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Buying A Used Car Car Repair Tips Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Howdy Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5519 E Ben White Blvd

    Austin, TX 78741 (888) 665-9466 (512) 443-4300

  • PO Box 18837

    Austin, TX 78760

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Friday 19th went up to the dealership to look at a 2010 Dodge Ram. My husband was already there checking it out. When my husband first started the truck up, it was making a ticking noise. He brought it up ** ****** (sales guy) about it and ** assured us that the truck was 101 inspected by his mechanics. We test drove the truck and loved it. The truck was going to be under my name and we spoke to them about how I was pre approved through Capital One. My husband was using his car that he paid off as a trade in. I filled out all the information for the process and ** asked about the title. We told him that it should be to us in the mail any day now. ** stated we would need a letter from Mazda Credit stating the car was paid off. After ** took all the information to ***** (finance manager) he came and we were talking to him about the ticking noise, in which ** stated he would have it looked at. My husband is a mechanic and looked up the common issues about Dodge Rams and told ** what the issue was. He said he would have it checked out while we were waiting for the letter or title from Mazda Credit because we would not be able to take the truck until then, in which agreed was ok. ** went and spoke with ***** to see how everything checked out. ** came back stating that they could not run my credit with out the letter or title from Mazda Credit because Capital One would require that. I stated that was a lie and ** went to get ***** in regards to that. We left and stated we would call Mazda in the morning to get the letter. Saturday morning 20th around 9:30 ***** called stating my APR rate and the monthly payments (ran my credit without the letter or title BUT THE NIGHT BEFORE ***** STATED CAPITAL ONE WOULD NEED THE LETTER OR TITLE TO THE CAR TRADE-IN BEFORE HE COULD RUN MY CREDIT.) My husband told ***** and ** that morning that he was coming up there to look at the truck to check for broken exhaust manifold bolts and they stated come on up(mechanic husband).Husband confirmed obvious broken exhaust bolts. Plus Ed left a message (WE HAVE ALL THE MESSAGES SAVED FROM THEM) that they had Dodge check the truck out (for a recall) and that their mechanic checked the truck out for 101 inspection BUT ***** stated to ** if we wanted a third opinion to take the truck to another mechanic and if they found something, that we would work something out. My husband looked under the truck and saw that the exhaust manifold bolts were broken and that is what he thought after doing some research. When my husband went to go tell **, he brushed my husband off stating he had another customer and would call him. My husband did tell ** what he found and still ** brushed him off. ** called my husband after he left but at the time my husband could not take the call and ** left a voice message stating that they were going stand behind their mechanic and that they did not find that at the time of the inspection. That their manager was not going to do anything to fix the ticking problem and that they were going to put the truck back on the lot for sale.

Desired Settlement: We loved the truck . we just wanted them to look into the problem and fix it before we purchased the truck. they could negotiate a better deal than take it or leave it. We were ready to spend thousands of dollars to purchase this truck.

Business Response:

This complaint has been resolved with the customer. We “unwound” the deal and took the truck back, all with no expense to the customer. He indicated that he was going to re-contact the BBB to let them know that his complaint was handled to his satisfaction.

 

**** ******

General Sales Manager

Howdy Honda

Austin Texas 78741

512-443-4300

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in for an oil change on 1/22/16 I was told both front and back brakes are bad. I was told I had a leak in my transmission I was told the breaks were around $170 for front and same cost for back brakes. I was told that saw a leak on the transmission I need to get it back in. So I left freakin out about the transmission a guy I know look under the car said I needed a seal. He also checked the transmission fluid and it was not even showing on the stick. Howdy Honda **** ****** the technician saw a leak fine. I get a paper with stuff checked off and transmission fluid was checked green meaning fine. So **** didn't check it why? My friend made me aware that my car could have shut down with no transmission fluid even though Howdy Honda said on the sheet it was fine. I the next day took my car to Castrol oil up the street got the transmission topped out for $8.85 he also went under the car saw the seal leaking noted on the bill. I also have a low battery this was ****** ********. I get a call from Shelby making sure I was taking care of? I kindly called her back and explained I was amazed i was allowed to pull off in a car with no transmission fluid yet the paper was checked green. She said she would have a service manager call me back. Two days later I call her left a message I never heard anything. She said she will again get someone to call me. I at this point getting worried that I need the transmission fixed. I called in got a guy I thought his name was *****. He was nice said he could get me a loaner car. I explained I work close to Howdy Honda if I could get dropped off an d picked up assuming my car would be fixed in a 8 hour window I work nearby. He said we should be able to do that and said a transmission seal and he gave me a range. I was to bring it in today Thursday. I get there this morning Thursday I get ******* he grabs the car. I state I need a transmission seal. He spent very little if anytime with me and off he went in the car. I got a ride to work and I did get to tell ******* to call me before anything is done meaning cost and what is wrong. No call noon I dropped it off at 7 am. So I called in ******* was at lunch no return call within an hour window I called in again and did get him this time. Now ******* said the technician said he wanted to put dye in the transmission fluid and me drive it a couple weeks. That there was a flyer out by Honda meaning I took it to be this is a condition Honda is aware of happening a seal leak with this make car. I said fine I got someone to drop me off from work. I was assuming this was a way of finding the leak even though I had two people already get under the car and see the leak. I assumed this is protocol with the flyer out from Honda head quarters sending out a flyer. I certainly should not have paid for the dye after all this. I get there find ******* I put the paper from where it was checked that the transmission fluid was green on a bill. This was from my first visit and asked to be credited. I said see it said the transmission fluid was fine I showed him the paper where i Had to top if off since there was none. So he said you mean it was empty I said yes. He told me to call him Wednesday to drive it and he would get me a loaner car and see about a discount. I have a cousin who has ownership in a Honda Dealer he is amazed and gave me an address and phone number to call. This is not acceptable he says. I figure I would start here why do they call me wanting to see how great they are yet no one will call me in management. These people are so friendly however when it come to getting repairs done all I get is bounced around. I mean why the dye? Why? I checked and the seals fall under the warranty with my cousin... So can I get someone with some sense to call me. A friend of mine said you are female and have an out of state car tag. I said so they just totally do not listen to me and bounce me around she said yes.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my car repaired at a reasonable fee and if covered under warranty an honest answer. I would like to get credited for the oil change and topping off of the transmission fluid since **** ****** didn't do his job. I would like someone to check all the things really on these list they give out and not just check it off. Or just don't do the list. I also would like a loaner car during the repair. To be show some respect and a phone call on the progress of the repair by someone who treats me with respect not like a dumb female from Kentucky.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to address the concerns from one of our valued customers, ***** *********.

Mrs. ********* did visit our Express Service department as she stated on 1/22/2016. During that visit we did notice a transmission leak and referred her to the main service department which is better suited for a proper diagnosis and repair. Mrs. ********* states the transmission was not topped off during the visit in Express. We agree with her claim and sincerely apologize for our lack of attention to detail on that visit. She did return on 02/04/2016 to have it diagnosed and repaired. Unfortunately, when the vehicle came in on the 4th of February, the transmissions exterior was soaked with transmission fluid making it difficult to determine the exact cause of the leak since there are a number of seals and gaskets that were wet with fluid. In order to diagnose the leak properly we had to clean the transmission and add a dye to the fluid to inspect in the near future. If the leak is caused by a failure of a seal or gasket or a component of the transmission itself the repair would be covered 100% by American Honda.

Since then we have reached out to Mrs. ********* numerous times leaving her messages to please contact us to arrange a loaner vehicle so we can address the transmission leak. At the same time we would like to refund the $80.00 requested. She has not returned our calls.

Our offer is open to provide Mrs. ********* with alternate transportation.

Mrs. ********* is justifiably upset and deserves our sincerest apology and a refund for the $16.22. We are anxious to resolve her concerns and rebuild her confidence in Howdy Honda.

Thank you, again for the opportunity to resolve Mrs. ********* concerns.

**** ****

Parts and Service Director

Howdy Honda

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I never got phone calls from them unless in reference to this issue.  Mr. *******, told me to call him last Wednesday when I picked the car up last time I was out of town. So I reached out to him this week.  I have made an appointment for tomorrow with ******* ******* to bring the car in. 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *********

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my Honda civic needed a clutch so I contacted this dealership via email requesting a quote on a complete clutch job. ***** from service department quoted me 1134$ including taxes and everything out of the door, after applying a 10% discount coupon. I asked him if this for the complete clutch kit (disk, pressure plate, bearings, seals) and resurfacing the flywheel, and bleeding the clutch fluid and aligning the wheels, and he said yes that's the proper right way of doing a clutch job. So I asked him to give me the quote in writing, he said you can print out this email thread as a quote; now this was not professional but I thought well the price and what is included in the job is clear in the email, so I didn't make an issue of that. by the way, his quote was higher then any other quote I received from other shops in town, but I decided to use the dealership service for the peace of mind. so I brought my car to the dealership on Friday at 8:30am and I spoke with *****, then I made sure again that we are in agreement about the price and what's included in the service, ***** was nice and he even gave a loaner car and said the car should be ready by the end of the day. I came back on friday evening to get my car and pay them, he said it's not done yet and we still didn't get back the flywheel from the machine shop and it's gonna be tomorrow; I was well ok no problem as long as the repair is done right. Then he called later and said the mechanic found that I need new shocks and a sway bar and that would be an additional 900$, now I know my car very well and I know that I don't need those (I am not mechanicaly dumb), but anyway I told him no and just do the job that we agreed on. Then he said there is a rubber boot that is torn and it is 5$ to replace; I mean really!! on a 1000+ repair job you are talking about a rubber boot of few dollars, just replace it. anyway, at that point, the guy seems fishy and pushy, so I tried to make sure with him again that they are replacing all the parts that we agreed on and he's not taking any shortcuts, he started renegotiating the repair price again after having my car torn apart in the garage and started saying that the mechanic needs some extra labor and the price that he initially gave me is low; when I told him that’s the price that you quoted me for the job, he said what do you have to prove, that email thread. now wow that’s really amazing, a respectful dealership acting that way and lying clearly straight into your face. If he thinks the price is low he should not quoted me that from the beginning and I could have gone elsewhere, now after having my car in pieces in his garage he's taking advantage of this. but anyway, I told him the price is not low and I have other quotes from other shops that are at 800$ ( more then 300$ less then dealer for the same job) but I choose your dealership for the peace of mind, he said show me the other quotes, so I showed him a printed quote from another shop for the same work for 300$ less then their price, then he started questioning the other shops quote and saying his mechanic is putting extra labor and bla bla bla. That's really not what people expect from a dealership, and all this bait and switch tactics and unnecessary hassles.

Desired Settlement: I want howdy Honda to stop playing games with me; finish the job properly and professionally as we agreed on without any shortcuts, then they will get paid as they quoted me for the job.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to address a concern from one of our valued service customers.

 

On 2/11/14 Mr. *** requested a quote to replace the “clutch assembly” on his 2002 Honda Civic. There was a mis-understanding between Mr. *** and Howdy Honda’s service representative of what a clutch assembly replacement consists of.  

 

Due to the misunderstanding we have agreed to replace the clutch assembly (which consists of the clutch disc, pressure plate, throw out bearing, to perform a manual transmission service and to have the flywheel machined) plus we agreed to include the rear main engine seal, both axle seals, ball joint boots and the hydraulic clutch fluid for the $1134.00 originally agreed upon plus the $25.00 for the cost of the 3 seals and the 2 boots.. The total drive out price will be $1,160.00 and has been agreed upon by both parties. Mr. *** said he was fine with the resolution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ***

10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used car that had a 90 day warranty from Howdy Honda in ******, Texas. The car only has 30000 miles on it. I drove the car the next day and the check engine light came on. I drove it back to ****** the next day under the guidance of their technicians and they reset the computer. I drove the vehicle home. The next day again the vehicles check engine light came on. I then returned to Afghanistan and my wife had to get the vehicle taken care of. I then talked to the manager of the used department and he said that my wife could take it to the local mechanic. I had done some research through forums and discovered that the Timing Chain was bad (about $1600) because the car knocks when it turns on. So the the mechanic checked it out and found out that the Valve Cover needs to be replaced. Howdy Honda covered this part with no questions asked but they will not pay for the timing chain because that was not the reason that the engine light came on. If the Timing Chain breaks it will destroy the engine. I tried to have my extended waranty fix it but they will not pay for it because they (the adjuster) said it is a pre existing problem. They would also not cover the valve cover but the dealership did so i dont see why they will not pay to fix the timing chain. The manager told me that the timing chain wasnt discovered when they inspected the car before they sold it to me so they wont pay for the timing chain, my reply to him was the valve cover wasnt discovered either.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to pay for the cost of the repair to the Valve Cover and the Timing Chain (they did cover the Valve Cover though). They sold me a car with a faulty timing chain that will break because its already knocking.

Business Response:

We already have this vehicle in the shop and we are taking care of the repairs. As it turns out it was somewhat misdiagnosed at the other facility. We will do what is necessary to properly repair the vehicle.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Howdy Honda
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart