Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Don Ringler Chevrolet

Additional Locations

Phone: (254) 778-4285 Fax: (254) 774-6541 View Additional Phone Numbers 7777 S General Bruce Dr, Temple, TX 76502

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Don Ringler Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Don Ringler Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 1994 Business started: 08/14/1979 in TX Business started locally: 08/14/1979 Business incorporated 07/24/2007 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Donnie Ringler, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donnie Ringler, Vice President
Related Businesses
Don Ringler Toyota-Scion
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Products & Services

Don Ringler Chevrolet sells the following brand(s): Chevrolet, Scion, Toyota

Don Ringler Chevrolet offers the following product(s): Cars, Cars, Pre-Owned Vehicles, Pre-Owned Vehicles, Trucks, Trucks, Vehicle Service, Vehicle Service

Alternate Business Names
Don Ringler Chevrolet Co., Inc. Don Ringler Collision Center ECars
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Buying A Used Car Car Repair Tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 7777 S General Bruce Dr

    Temple, TX 76502 (254) 778-4285 (800) 460-3728 (254) 774-6500

  • PO Box 1928

    Temple, TX 76503


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to this dealership for ignition switch and for them to code it and was told it will be 487( I have this in writing) with the 118 diagnostic. I get a call 2 days later saying 657. This is outrageous and ridiculous. How are you going to charge a customer 2 different prices like this???. Once i told the manager his only response was oh they should not have been quoted to you and it will be 657. I could not believe that was it so i said i don't have that amount and he said we want fix it and you owe for the diagnostic which is 118. I said this isn't right and i got no response so i had no choice to have my car towed from the dealership in embarrassment. Even once i made it to the dealership the manager still was saying isn't nothing he can do but i had the quote with me which was 487 with the 118 included. This dealership rips off hardworking people. I work hard for my money and don't like to be taken advantage of. I don't know how they came up with this amount because it is a 170 dollar difference. I had no choice but to pay the 118 because they would not had given me my car so i was stuck. Since i was lied to i should not have to pay the 118 because i only agreed to it because it was 487 with the 118 for the diagnostic.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Thank you so much for contacting us.  We have responded directly to the customer and we have refunded the diagnostic feel.  There was a misunderstanding and error on our part and this should have been handled at the time it took place.

3/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into Don Ringler to have it serviced for a recall. The customer service was great. What I am now upset over is now I have scratches and so forth where I'm assuming they had to remove pieces from my car.

Desired Settlement: I would like these pieces replaced. The car should've been returned to me in the same condition that it was before the pep air.

Business Response: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our service manager will be contacting you by phone shortly in order to set up a time to look at the vehicle and attempt to resolve the issue.  Thank you again.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** ******


3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 16th,I was having trouble with my car and I thought it has something to do with a recall on my car so I called general motors recall and they had my car towed from Belton to Don't Ringlet since it was the closest dealer to work on my 2008 Saturn Aura. Once I got there they took my info and told me they would have to do a diagnostic and that if the problem had nothing to do with the recall it would cost $118.I left the car there on about the 20th or so they called me and said that my transmission was gone and either needed to be rebuilt or bought new and they gave me prices. Until this day my car never have me issues so I was Leary about what they were saying. Decided to have the car towed to Killeen to my father's car repair person. The shop in Killen informed me that there was nothing wrong with my transmission and looks like it had never been checked. The Killeen repair shop said it was wiring and the sensors were meeting up. I believe Don ringler have false information and did not even do a proper diagnostic, but made me pay $118 anyway. Because they were not gonna make money on the recall, they falsified services to get money anyway. Because of this I would like my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the diagnostic they say they did,because they falsified info to get paid.

Business Response: It is our understanding that the vehicle was towed to our shop because none of the forward gears in the transmission were working, only reverse.  While in our shop, we did in fact perform a GM mandated recall (unrelated to the transmission operation) and we also performed diagnostic work on the vehicle in an attempt to identify the reason for the inoperable transmission.  It is strictly against our policies for associates to falsify information, and these allegations are not taken lightly.  In our experience, a vehicle with over 100,000 miles that is demonstrating the issues that this Saturn Aura was (no forward gears, only reverse being operable), before and during its time at our shop, is in need of transmission repair.  We are interested in knowing more about the wiring/sensor fix and if the vehicle is working properly now.

We would like to reiterate that we did perform recall work on the vehicle, which results in reimbursement from the manufacturer.  Whether intentional or not, the comment that "because [we] were not gonna make money on the recall, [we] falsified services to get money anyway" is inaccurate.  It is in our best interest, as a business which has been in operation for over 35 years, to provide honest and accurate information to all of our sales and service customers.

With the intent of customer satisfaction at heart, we would propose splitting the customer's diagnostic charge, which would result in us sending a check to the customer in the amount of $59.  If this is acceptable, please let us know and we will send it to the address provided on the next business day.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My complaint was not resolved because I never got to accept or decline the dealers offer. The complaint was closed with no resolution. I do not accept their offer for a resolve, because I conscientiously believed  they falsified information to get money. They did not do the job they said they did. My car did not need a transmission new or otherwise. So whatever diagnostics that cost me $118, is misappropriated. Had there been ANYTHING wrong with my transmission I could accept their offer, but I do not. After taking to another mechanic my car works very well, WITH the same transmission. I want my money back.

****** ********

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: First, the appointment to inspect my vehicle for service was Wednesday, December 3rd at 930am. The car was not even looked at until well into the afternoon. After repeated calls to the business to check the status, we were quoted service for $1,463.58 that would be fixed by Monday, December 8th. Under those conditions, I accepted. On Monday, the car was not ready. On Tuesday, the car was still not ready. Not until my spouse complained to the service department about our son not being able to make a doctor's appointment was a rental car offered to us. The service was not completed until the afternoon of Wednesday, December 10th. The problem is we agreed to the service on the condition it was completed by the 8th. Had an honest completion date been given, I may have taken my business elsewhere. I had to pay 100% of the original quote before receiving my keys even though 100% of the conditions were not met. If it were reversed, with the service being completed on time and me not being able to pay, I wouldn't have my car right now.

Desired Settlement: Since the vehicle was not even finished being inspected until the end of Wednesday, the labor we paid for included Thursday, Friday, Saturday (short day) and Monday. Four days of on-time service. Being that the service took Tuesday and Wednesday to finish, bringing the labor days from 4 to 6, I feel a refund of 1/3 the labor cost is fair.

Business Response: *** and **** *****,

We appreciate your business and thank you for your comments.  We apologize that the diagnosis of the issue and final repair took longer than initially anticipated.  Due to the nature of mechanical diagnosis and repair, this is sometimes the case unfortunately.  We typically provide estimated times for completed repairs, rather than precise promise times; especially on extensive repairs.  I have spoken to our staff regarding this particular issue to be sure that there is a clear understanding in the future. I have also spoken to them regarding our rental policy.  In this instance, you should have been offered a vehicle, if one was available, and offered to secure a vehicle upon its return if one was not available.  I apologize if this did not take place.

The labor that you paid for is not calculated based on the number of days your vehicle was in our possession - We do not charge $X/day.  That being the case, you were not charged more, nor would you have been charged less if the vehicle repair had been completed on Friday.  I would like to work with you in an attempt to resolve the issue, however, cannot refund a third of the repair.  Rather than a third of just the labor, we would like to offer a 15% refund on the entire repair (parts and labor), which would total (rounded up) approximately $220.

With your satisfaction in mind, please let us know if this is acceptable and we will initiate the process and have someone contact you regarding the refund.

Thank you again. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Please share the following message with the business:

I do thank you for a timely response.  I want to make it clear I do not label Don Ringler as a bad business.  My decision to take the vehicle in was based on positive consumer reviews.  I believe the events that occurred were simply an unfortunate isolated incident.  Though it may not raise a red flag to many others, as a service member, accountability is huge to me.  I hope this helped identify any procedural shortcomings. 

Though having a vehicle made available is a very generous policy, I have no complaint that one was not.  I agreed to be without the vehicle from Wednesday to Monday, therefore transportation during that time frame was my responsibility.

Here is what happened well:

- We were driven home, from Temple to Killeen and offered a return ride when the vehicle was ready.
- The staff we had face-to-face interactions with were approachable, professional, and appeared very knowledgeable.
- In the 48 hours following service completion, there have been zero issues with the parts installed.

Here is what did not happen well:

- The initial service completion date was not met (nor was the later completion date of Tuesday).
- Almost all update calls on the vehicle were initiated by the owner due to (see next):
- Return phone calls said to be momentarily took hours to receive.

Regards,  ***** *****

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had diagnostic test done after losing power when traveling from NY to AZ. Was told the fuel injectors needed to be replaced. When we went to pick up our 2001 Chevrolet 2500 Heavy Duty Diesel truck they informed us they were still getting an error code. They had not corrected the problem and never told us when they said the vehicle was ready to be picked up. We were charged $200.17 for the test, $5193.11 for the fuel injectors and had to pay $82.92 for a rental car. This was on 7/29/2013 and 7/31/2013. Twice my husband contacted Ringler Chevrolet and ** requesting an answer as to why the truck was not repaired. He was never contacted by either one.

Desired Settlement: We want ** to repair our truck since it still has the same problem as when we took it to Ringler Chevrolet. We have waited for over a year and have never heard from either place. Or, ** should refund the total of $5476.20 for not fixing the problem it was brought in for.

Business Response: To clarify the charges:  The first charge was for $260.17.  The diagnostic fee was $112.63 and the remainder of the bill was for the replacement of the fuel filter at the customer's request.  The second charge was for $5,193.11 and the labor charge was reduced at the onset in the amount of the diagnostic fee.

After diagnosing the code that had been cleared by the customer (in order for customer to continue driving), it was found that code indicated that the fuel injectors were losing fuel pressure.  It was confirmed by our technician that the fuel injectors were leaking during max fuel pressure, which coincides with the customer's statement on our records that the check engine light and reduced engine power messages appeared "when going uphill with a 5th wheel travel trailer attached during the heat of the day when the engine is warmed up."  After replacing the injectors, the vehicle was retested and the injectors were operating properly.  The vehicle was also road tested to verify proper performance.  During testing after the injector replacement, it was noted and relayed to the customer that the "injector high pressure pump [was] weak. Possibly need replacement soon."  It was also noted that the aftermarket "Banks Power Tuner" system that had been installed on the vehicle "may have an issue as well, if not the root cause" of the customer's issues with the vehicle.  An estimate was prepared to replace the high pressure pump, but the work order was not approved.

We do not have record of the customer contacting us and have changed ******* ********* since the repair, but would welcome a conversation with the customer in order to review the repairs.  At this point, we do not have a clear understanding of what the customer would like for us to do.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Don Ringler Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)