Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Covert Buick Cadillac?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Covert Buick Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Covert Buick Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Covert Buick Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1909 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1909 Business incorporated: 06/16/1978 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Duke Covert, President Mr. Philip Robinson, Dealer Principle Mr. Rox Covert, Vice President Ms. Charlene Glimp Ms. Sherry Woodyard, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Duke Covert, President
Principal: Mr. Philip Robinson, Dealer Principle
Customer Contact: Ms. Sherry Woodyard, Customer Relations Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Covert Buick, Inc. Covert Cadillac
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Covert Buick Cadillac has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11750D Research Blvd

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 583-3218

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 583-3218(Phone)
  • (512) 583-3400(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am **** *****, the Founder / CEO of Pure Pursuit Automotive, who is initiating a formal Better Business Bureau complaint on behalf of my company, with another company, Covert Cadillac of Austin, TX, for false advertising and selling in bad faith, that have resulted in a substantial material loss to our business interests. On 6/26/14 Pure Pursuit Automotive, located in Kansas City, MO, completed a wholesale purchase of a 2012 Cadillac Escalade ESV from Covert Cadillac of Austin, TX, through an industry-regulated dealer to dealer wholesale purchase channel named DealerMatch, which is owned and run as a subsidiary of Cox Automotive. This channel protects wholesale dealer buyers and sellers through offering wholesale purchase contracts and more information than in retail channels, to ensure dealers can buy inventory from other dealers in a regulated, feedback-enforced environment. The Escalade we purchased through DealerMatch was advertised by Covert, in writing, on both their website retail listing and DealerMatch wholesale listing, as having an optional factory extended warranty. My Company retains archived digital versions of their retail and wholesale listings and their written disclosures / features that we can provide upon request. The specific optional feature that Covert advertised in writing multiple times in their wholesale category (“Certified” vs “Used”) as well as “seller’s notes,” written by Covert employees, is a "Cadillac Factory Certified Pre-Owned (CPO) Extended Warranty." This option extends the original factory warranty another 2 years and 20,000 miles of bumper to bumper Cadillac-backed coverage. The factory extended warranty feature can cost over $2,000 retail. On the wholesale dealer channels, a factory CPO Escalade can add value to a vehicle, on all industry accepted book wholesale values, by almost $2,000. Not all Escalades can obtain this extended warranty, given Cadillac factory constraints that need to be met prior to the Certification process, that include above average condition and proof of proper service history. My Company specifically searched for a Cadillac CPO Escalade given the lower risk with those units and the higher resale potential, which I stated in verbal communications with Covert’s used car manager before purchasing through DealerMatch. In the written DealerMatch moderated pricing negotiations, I wrote that I would be willing to pay above average wholesale price for this Escalade given its advertised Certified status. From our perspective of those communications, Covert knew fully of our intention to purchase a CPO Escalade throughout all of the verbal and written agreements as to why we would pay more than other non-CPO Escalades we were looking to purchase. When we took physical delivery in Kansas City of the Escalade post-wholesale purchase from Covert, the Escalade arrived with a Covert supplied physical marketing package, describing the Cadillac CPO extended warranty, including a Cadillac CPO license frame, Cadillac CPO temporary license plate, Cadillac CPO rear view mirror “hangar” pamphlet, and a glove box pamphlet package describing this vehicle as Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned, with the corresponding transferrable extended factory warranty. In attempting to sell the same Escalade to a retail customer in late October as what we had advertised as a Cadillac CPO Escalade, we discovered that this vehicle is not registered as it should be in the GM system to ensure that promised extended warranty can be enjoyed by our retail customer. As we have sold multiple Cadillac CPO vehicles, obtained through multiple reputable wholesale channels, to many retail customers in the past with no issues, the non-registration status (and therefore no extended warranty that we paid for) came to our surprise and was directly contrary to the written advertisements by Covert when we purchased this Escalade from Covert. When we discovered this, I immediately instructed my General Sales Manager, **** *******, to contact Covert’s Used Car Manager **** **** (who conducted the Escalade wholesale purchase to my Company using DealerMatch) to rectify the Cadillac CPO status in the GM system, as our retail customer had negotiated a price on a Cadillac CPO Escalade, not a non-certified Escalade. They spoke on the afternoon of 10/27/14. During that phone conversation on 10/27, **** **** was unwilling to work with my General Sales Manager to complete the Cadillac CPO process. He did inform my General Sales Manager that the GM inspection was begun on the vehicle and never finished to be entered into the official GM system, since it would cost Covert Cadillac $1195. Since **** **** proved to be unhelpful in responding to the problem, claimed no culpability in honoring their written advertisements, and would not offer his boss’ information before hanging up the phone on my General Sales Manager, on 10/28/14 I emailed the Covert Cadillac GM and Owner, **** *******, to settle the matter Principal to Principal. I also called that day (10/28) and left a voicemail and a message with Mr. *******. I stated in the email that I would lose a retail sale if I did not get an answer on this issue for my customer that day, and expected a call that day as stated in all three of my correspondences that day. **** ******* returned my call that afternoon and asked questions to try to understand the situation and seemed amenable to finding a solution. We corresponded via phone call and email and I formulated an email plan that needed to be acted upon by Wednesday 10/29/14 to ensure the retail sale of the Cadillac to our retail customer by Friday 10/31/14. On 11/1/14 and 11/2/14, my Company established a timeline for them to reply with a plan (at an extra $500 to Covert as a sign of good faith on our end for them to complete the retail sale of the fully Certified Escalade to our customer). If they were unwilling, we formulated an alternate plan for Covert to refund us the $1195 so we could get the Escalade certified through a local Kansas City Cadillac dealership that my Company has a good relationship with (at an extra $500 cost to our Company for their trouble) I did not hear back from Covert or **** ******* for multiple days despite multiple emails, phone messages left, and voicemails left in the end of the week, until a quick email on Saturday 11/1/14 from **** ******* arrived, stating he would look at the plan on Monday 11/3/14. On Monday I again sent an email, left a message, and a voicemail for **** ******* and I received this response from ****, a 1:44pm Central Monday 11/3/14: “After talking with my Cadillac rep a couple of things have come up. One is that we would not be able to certify the vehicle unless the car returns to our dealership. Two we would need an additional $1195 dollars to certify the vehicle. Besides the cost of the certification I’m wondering how we would get the vehicle back here. Let me know your thoughts.” **** ******* and I talked via phone later that day (Monday 11/3/14) with **** not owning to his dealership’s responsibility to honor their written and verbal advertising and blaming his lack of culpability on the fact that we bought it wholesale so the transferability of the Cadillac CPO warranty would not apply, which is not true and has not been our experience with selling multiple Cadillac CPO vehicles to retail customers in the past. My Company can only gather that Covert is trying to save their $1195 liability cost to complete this CPO registration and enter it properly in the GM nationwide system, which our independent dealership cannot do. This was the last communication written or verbal we have received from Covert. Covert asserted that it was Pure Pursuit's responsibility to absorb a cost to certify a Cadillac Pre-Owned that was purchased in good faith by my Company, the same CPO status that was clearly advertised, in writing, on a wholesale Dealer-only channel (DealerMatch). Covert had claimed that the wholesale channel absolved them of their responsibility to provide a fully Cadillac CPO Escalade since we are not a retail customer. If that were the case which is understandable, Covert did not choose to enter Dealer to dealer notes that would explain the non-complete CPO status if sold to another dealer wholesale. In addition to their misleading and inaccurate written advertisements and lack of explanation verbally that the Escalade would not have Cadillac CPO status if we bought it wholesale, Covert included a Cadillac CPO physical marketing package that arrived with the car, that we used to advertise to our retail customer, and now I have a retail customer that has negotiated a price for purchasing from us given our advertised CPO status. Covert contributed to their inaccurate and misleading advertisements through that marketing package by not removing it nor making any mention of it not being valid for our own use and resale. **** **** said nothing about the non-certified status of the vehicle when we purchased it, even as I verbally stated at sale negotiation that I was paying above wholesale average prices to get a Cadillac CPO vehicle to list for our own retail sale. Additionally, when we contacted the Covert CPO Cadillac rep (the program expert) on 11/1/14, the rep told us that another KC dealership uses different language to circumvent this situation when selling non-complete CPO vehicles. Covert had the opportunity to use this same language to convey this non-complete CPO status in their written and verbal communications, and they failed to sell in good faith when they did not use that language. We have done similar deals with CPO vehicles from other manufactures, including BMW, Lexus, Audi, and Cadillac. If wholesale transferability of Factory CPO warranties weren't a widespread practice, wholesale dealer channels like Manheim, DealerMatch, and Smart Auction would not list CPO status like they do nor would there be any reason to sell those vehicles at a higher price point. My Company has now lost our retail customer given the delay, will have to relist and warehouse this unit at a significant cost to our company, in addition to material lost operational fees, lost profits, financing fees, warehousing costs, marketing, staff salaries, and other fixed costs borne by Pure Pursuit as a result of Covert selling in bad faith, failing to provide a written Cadillac Factory CPO warranty promised at purchase, and intentionally impeding all options up until this point. Pure Pursuit has exhausted all reasonable good faith personal settlement options before this juncture.

Desired Settlement: My Company's desire at this point is simple and makes this incident right in our book: Cash refund via wire transfer (I emailed **** ******* Pure Pursuit's banking information to expedite this process twice) the $1195 for completing the promised certification plus the $500 doc fee needed to allow the Kansas City Cadillac dealer (Conklin Fangman GM) to register our Escalade in the GM CPO system. This arrangement that my Company has made with Conkin Fangman GM saves the need for Covert to ship at their cost this Escalade to Austin, TX and back to Kansas City to register the Esacalade in the GM CPO system. I have made this plan very clear to Covert over 3 emails, personally delivered voice messages and voice-mails that they ignored from 11/1/14-11/4-14. My Company can supply these upon request.

Business Response:

A Cadillac CPO offer is only eligible to a retail customer through a Cadillac dealer participating in the CPO program. A non-cadillac dealer can not retail a Cadillac CPO car to a retail customer. Also, once a certified CPO cadillac dealer transfers a certified vehicle to another dealer, cadillac branded or otherwise, the selling dealer is required to de-certify the vehicle. It does not transfer. See below (page 25 of the cadillac CPO guidelines**). If the customer is hoping to purchase the escalade certified, he needs to know it must be through a certified cadillac dealer. We would be happy to help in the retail purchase if the customer is demanding it be certified. If the nearest cadillac store wants to re-certify the vehicle, they must also be the seller of the vehicle in order for it to be eligible for cadillac CPO coverages.

We wholesale hundreds of vehicles per month many of which are certified. This has never been a question as their are clear differences in retail transactions / advertising / etc and wholesale transactions. In every single scenario the certification does not transfer to a non-branded dealer.




**"If a vehicle is to be traded/transferred, it must be de-certified on CUIS and then moved to the new dealer. Once the vehicle is in the new dealer’s inventory, they must certify the vehicle in CUIS before reporting the vehicle sold."



Sincerely,

****** ********

Partner

Covert Auto Group

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Whether or not you as partner can control it
Mr. ********, your dealer group and every person in it conducting business
transactions always retains responsibility and legal liability to educate any
and all types of buyers to the Cadillac CPO warranty and transferability,
especially when it is understood that a buyer is asking about, expecting, and
negotiating on a feature that your expert staff have a legal responsibility to
educate the buyer on, specific to that sale. This liability is your legal
responsibility and fulfills the buyer’s expectation prior to signing.

My dealership will not weather a write-down
due to a misrepresented negotiation (whether intentional or not) for a feature,
in which admittedly we are not the experts, which was clearly negotiated for (verbally
and in writing for shopping Certified units which we have archived and attached a file of your written category and seller's notes stating the Certified status), and paid
above market price for, versus an identical product without that feature, which
is in this case an extended transferrable warranty Escalade versus one that
does not have that feature.

I do not own nor am intimately familiar with
a Cadillac franchise dealership and the associated expert knowledge level of
your OEM Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned Extended Warranty program. The law does
not hold a non-expert buyer to the same standard of care as the selling expert
on the intricacies of a sellers’ feature, in this case your CPO program,
especially when that feature might be enjoyed by some types of buyers but not
others. I might point out that the information which you have clearly explained
in your reply only has come after weeks of attempting to wrangle this clear
information out of the “experts” at your dealership, who have admitted to be
unsure themselves of some of the intricacies of the program. Again, experts
facing customers with limited or misinformation, due to lack of internal
training or knowledge on a product or service they are selling, does not remove
your Dealership’s liability post-sale for proper and full disclosure prior to
the time of sale.

The education you are providing now,
post-sale, is simply too late to prevent my Company from having bought in good
faith with mis-information that should have been presented by your experts BEFORE
the time of sale. The onus of disclosure remains with the seller in any
transaction, and your Dealer group simply failed to disclose these pertinent facts:
the non-transferability of this warranty in a wholesale transaction and how any
dealer would have to re-certify any previously CPOd unit, when the
opportunities to disclose these facts in a wholesale only channel clearly exist
(e.g. different wholesale seller’s notes excluding the Certified status;
footnotes or verbal disclosures contrary to any written promises of warranties
in the event of wholesale purchase), and your employees failed to disclose when
the buyer stated they were willing to pay a premium for that feature. The law
looks at buyers who are willing to pay a premium for a feature must reasonably
be expecting to enjoy that feature, especially if the seller is asked about
that feature.



Disclosure law states that condition and
merchantability shall be clearly presented and fully disclosed to any type of buyer,
wholesale or retail, prior to any transaction and, if a question from the buyer
or a reasonably known negotiation position, in this instance our dealership
wanting to pay a premium for the Cadillac Certified status of this Escalade
(given previous experience with transferred CPO status Cadillacs purchased from
various reputable wholesale source), the seller must educate the buyer and
reasonably disclose that the written promise of warranty disclosed in the
listing is null and void and will not transfer, which was not done and you
retain liability for.

The simple point is this: your dealership
employees knew from our communications that my dealership was shopping only
Cadillac Certified Pre-Owned Escalades and were willing to pay a premium to
obtain that feature to retail to our own customers, and importantly, understood
from your incomplete disclosure that we were buying a product advertised (CPO
warranty), in writing and physically, to enjoy and resale that value-added feature.


Full disclosure at that point would require
your staff to counter-act any and all written and physical advertising
attesting to the Certified status of the vehicle, which your staff simply did
not, in accordance with your company’s legal responsibility.

In addition, your employees shall have
clearly and expertly addressed those disparities prior to sale, being
the Cadillac CPO program experts, and are required to understand and convey the
difference of a wholesale (non-transferrable) and retail (transferrable to the
next buyer) sale before the premium price is paid, since there obviously exist
clear differences between the enjoyment of that advertised benefit to varying
customers.

I am not convinced that you are attempting, in
the least, to make good on your legal responsibility to sell in good faith and with
full and proper disclosure as experts, especially when a special sale circumstance
(wholesale to wholesale) goes against all written and physical disclosure and
advertising in the case of this transaction.

I stand firm in our need for your cash
reimbursement immediately to fulfill your legal selling responsibility to counter-act only a portion of our material losses as we attempt to work out this issue in this forum, at this level. I trust
that you can understand both my Company’s position, your legal responsibility,
and I respect your history of ethical business dealings and trust your response
in this case will align with that reputation.

Warmest Regards,

**** *****

Founder / CEO

Pure Pursuit Automotive

Business Response: As stated, we conduct thousands of wholesale transactions and the certification guidelines are clearly understood in every single of the thousands wholesale transactions.   These thousands of transactions have led me to believe that wholesalers, investing significant capital, are fully aware of his rights and abilities to re-sell our product.   It is not the dealers responsibility to educate another dealer on how to run its business.  Perhaps DealerMatch can assist monetarily if they somehow failed to educate the buyer how the wholesale trade works. 

I am individually responding to these claims because I take these accusations seriously.  Truth in advertising is a hot button for me and something I battle daily in our automotive businesses.   Our employees are fully trained and educated on the importance of disclosures and their individual responsibility to represent Covert as an ethical, honest place of business.   

Our reputation has been built over 105 years of sound business practices.  I will not allow another dealer to in anyway harm that reputation in an instance where we are clearly not at fault.  If warranted, I am happy to engage our legal team and Cadillacs legal team in an effort to end this slander.  

Regards,
****** ********
Partner
Covert Auto Group


11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oil change was done on 10/31/14. Drove my car directly home and did not drive my car over the week end. On Monday morning an oil leak was on my garage floor. Took my car back in and was told that there were two valve cover leaks and repair would be about $600. This is very suspicious that immediately after an oil change I develop this problem. I told ******* ******* this and his reply was they saw the leak when they did the oil change and did not tell me. That is BS. They always tell a customer about potential problems. I feel that this incident is more than a coincidence and worthy of a complaint. I could understand if something developed over a week or two but not immediately after service work. The ******* *******s remark is well your car has over 170,000 miles and things are going to happen.

Desired Settlement: They should give me a heavy discount on the repair. Such as parts only.They need to deal with issues like this in a better manner. When I arrived in the ******* ******* office he said. How can I help you?Was he not aware of the issue. He had the paper right in front of him.I have better things to do then to put up with a person who thinks he has the only dealership for service on a Cadillac.

Business Response: We did in fact make the mistake of not informing the customer of issues on the vehicle. We admitted this fault and have made corrective processes to not let this type of mistake happen again. We did invite the customer to look at her vehicle with us so we could show her what was going on, and this offer was rejected. Since the assumption at this point is that the oil change caused the oil leak, is the reason we wanted to show her. We have nothing to hide and strive for transparency with our clients. We then offered a suggestion to obtain a second opinion as to weather the oil change caused the issue and again was rejected. We now know that she has in fact taken the vehicle to another dealer for inspection, and we were told that the issue is not the valve covers but something else. Now it appears that our credibility is at stake. We have no problem discounting the repair, if this is what the customer wants. We want to resolve the issue, but can't take full responsibility for a repair needed that we did not create. We will also further investigate the repair suggestions from the other dealer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** ******

10/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased the Lincoln on June 19th,2014. As of today, October 6th, the car is at the dealership, having still not been delivered in the condition it was represented to be in at time of purchase. Car has been towed twice due to transmission issues (no transmission issues disclosed at time of sale), dvd players were represented to be in working order. Neither is in working condition. Brakes were supposed to have been checked out, but were grating immediately. Returned and had fixed. In total, has been in Covert service for 5 or 6 different occasions. In last 4 months, we have had car less than one month. Several times over last 2 months we have asked ** ****** if they could find us a replacement, as we were obviously sold a car that was not as represented. He said he would try to find something. Zero cars were presented. We have both left messages for ** ****** (***** *******) over the last week, but he has not called us back.

Desired Settlement: We would like our money back to purchase an automobile elsewhere.

Business Response: Covert Buick GMC has given a loaner each time vehicle has came in for service. Also, loaner was given to go out of state!

Offered two payments for while in the shop!

Today, October 7,2014...reinspected the vehicle and tech found vehicle in good working order! Also, vehicle was detailed and given a full tank of gas!

Best Regards,
****** ******** ******** *********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because: ***** ******* made an offer verbally this afternoon to find another vehicle that we could agree on.  The loaner they gave us was because the car they sold us did not work, so it was not a good will gesture.  The car still does not work. The service technician, *** ****** told us that the dvd players did not work properly, and cannot be repaired because they do not make the parts anymore. So car is not, and according to him cannot be fixed. Fixing this was on the original list from 6/23.

Regards,
***** *** *** *****

Business Response: **** ****** made the decision to buy the vehicle!
Best Regards,

Covert Auto Group
****** ******** ******** *********

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 04/11/2014 i took my saturn ion to covert because of a recall notice, The parts had not come in and it could be 4 to 6 weeks before they could get the parts. They called me on may 21 and told me my vehicle was ready, The ******* ******* also told me that my car had fractured transmission pan and a broken front motor mount. I asked how and when that happend and he rudely said it did'nt happen here when i drove the car home it was like an entirely different car.I took my car to my mechanic and they put it up on a lift to look at the damage and they said it was a new break and it was recent to the rear transmission mount and the left engine mount. The damage was not there when took it to covert. The repairs on the recall were inside the car so there would have been no reason for them to look under the car.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle repaired by my mechanic. The estimate for repairs is approximately 946.51

Business Response: *** ********* has a meeting with *** ****** to review this issue at 1:30, Friday May 30! At this time...we hope customer and dealership come to resolution.

Thank You,
****** ******** ******** ********* ************

Consumer Response:


I had ameeting *** ****** 5/30/14  and he told me the best they could do was fix it for cost. That i would have to pay approx 200.00 dollars. Being that was their best offer i took it as i need my car, I picked it up on 6/3/14 it is still out of alignment witch i will have to get done. I am not pleased with the way this was handled and i will lnot sign off on this complaint as being settled. As this is not a solution to the problem they caused me.

Business Response: *** ******, ******* ****** did offer to do the repair at cost and *** ********* did agree to the offer on 5/30/14! We also took photos of the damage and showed the damage to *** *********. When his car was left at the dealership it had 70088 miles and at the time of pickup it had 70089!

On 6/6/14, *** ****** did an alignment and found the car to be within specs. *** ********* should be happy with results!

Best Regards,

****** ******** ******** *********

?

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,
******* *********

12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A 2014 Ford Focus vehicle was advertised online on 11/12/13 at $10,698. When I called and spoke with a Salesman (*****) he stated that the price is a fleet price and could not be sold for the price advertised online. I spoke with the General Manager and he stated that the online price was advertised incorrectly and he could not honor the online price. I told him the price was still advertised and he said it would take time to change the online price.

Desired Settlement: Honor the online advertised price at $10,698 for the 2014 Ford Focus.

Business Response: This vehicle was ordered and priced for a Fleet customer and was priced using the Fleet Identification Code and pre-sold and was inadvertently submitted to our web site via Ford Direct which was a mistake.  This vehicle, at that price, could not be purchased unless customer has a Fleet Identification Code.  This was explained to the customer and we offered a similar vehicle at retail price due to the fact that the customer does not have a Fleet Identification Code, as explained. 

Regards,
***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
The vehicle desired at the price was not available. The vehicle offered was at a much higher price 14,000. Went elsewhere and received better customer service and bought a vehicle at the advertised price from dealer.
Regards,

**** *****

11/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid Cash on 10/4/2013 just over a month ago for our Tahoe! We also paid over the blue book price or what its worth. I asked for a warranty they told my husband and I there is NONE available. We have since had to fix issues on the transmission 3xs! and now it went COMPLETELY out leaving us with a huge bill...no vehicle and i was stranded! I also took the car back to them after only 1 day as the check engine light was on! The airbag light as well. they did nothing but turn the sensors off. This is completely unexeptable. I am very angry and out over 8000.00! Please help me and look into this. They really should have some responsibility in fixing this right away. i have kids that go to school and work! Thank You for your immediate attention to this matter**** *******

Desired Settlement: Fix vehicle

Business Response: Our Sales Department and customer have come to a mutal agreement on repair of their Tahoe!

If you have any questions you may contact me at ************!

Best Regards,
****** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband left our 2012 Cadillac SRX, on 10/26/2013, at Covert Cadillac for its regular maintenance and oil change. When my husband and I went to pick it up a couple of hours later, there was a black smudge on the driver's side above the rear tire well. A man came out to look at it and said that hadn't been there and got a rag and rubbed it off. It was a black tarry consistence. It came off but left about an eighteen inch mark and slight dent. The service advisor came out with a woman and said it was there went the car was left. They showed an inspection sheet they had and it had been marked. That inspection was not done with my husband present and not initialed by him, nor a copy given to him when the car was left. We know that mark was not there when we left our car and that it happened under their care. We expect them to repair the damage and will not be happy until it is.

Desired Settlement: We expect the damage to be repaired.

Business Response: At this time **** ****, ******* ******* is waiting on *** *********** to get back with him to bring SRX in to look at damage! Please note we do have all the
paperwork and ** ***********'s signature! ** *********** did verify that he did initial the paperwork! Please contact me with any questions:************!

****** ********
Covert Cadillac Buick GMC
******** ********* ******* *****************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: We have made arrangements with Covert Cadillac to take our SRX in for them to look at on Saturday, 11/16/2013.  We will see what resolution can be reached at that time. When the car was left, my husband went into the lobby to await the loaner car. He did not realize that an inspection was done on our car for damage. A form was presented to my husband to sign and inicial. No explaination was made to him what he was inicialing nor was the mark on the car pointed out to him.  I feel that in the future, we will stay with our car when being left for service and go around the car with the service advisor, making note together of any damage to the car. That will prevent any misunderstanding  on everyone's part. We still believe no mark was on the car when we left it.

Regards,

***** ***********

Business Response: **** ****, Service Manager for Covert Cadillac has agreed to take care of the area of concern. Since the area was not properly pointed out by Service Advisor and for Customer Satisfaction!

Please contact me, ****** ******** at ************ with any questions!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ***********

8/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a preowned 2013 Chevrolet Suburban from Covert Buick on 11 January 2013 from salesman ***** ******. I originally spoke with ***** on the morning of 11 January 2013 in reference to this particular vehicle that I found listed on cars.com. I told him that I was looking for a black on black 2013 Chevrolet Suburban with a power lift gate. He stated that there were in fact 2 of these particular Suburbans available at the dealership. I then asked ***** if I purchased the vehicle would I be able to get the deal done and the vehicle delivered before the end of next week which would be 18 January 2013. He assured me that it would not be a problem at all. I then asked him if he would complete a walk around of the vehicle to ensure it was the correct vehicle with the options I requested and to report back if there was any type of damage to the vehicle i.e.: dents, scratches, rips, tears. He called me back shortly and explained that the vehicle did have the correct options and that it had no other damage other than a small ding on the front of the hood. Everything was going smoothly and he drew up the purchase agreement and had it delivered via next day mail. I signed the agreement along with the enclosed documents and sent them back via next day mail along with the check from ****. ***** then informed me that the vehicle was being picked up from Covert for delivery and that the title and purchase agreement which were needed to transfer the vehicle into my name were being sent separately via next day mail. I received the vehicle just a couple days later but I had still not received the title or purchase agreement. As I was looking over the vehicle upon delivery for damage I looked up to push the lift gate release to inspect the inside rear but only noticed a button for the sunroof. I thought it was odd so I then looked at the keypad to hit the release and to my surprise there was no lift gate button again. I walked around to the rear of the vehicle quickly to find out what was going on and why there were no buttons to open the lift gate. I thought maybe they changed the functions for the lift gate on the 2013 model and I pressed the button on the lift gate handle and nothing occurred. I opened the rear lift gate and quickly noticed that there was no power lift gate option on this vehicle. Immediately I called ***** and asked him about checking for the power lift gate and his answer was “I don’t remember”. I am not sure whether he actually noticed this option was not on the vehicle and did not disclose this information to me or if he overlooked it during his walk around of the vehicle prior to the sale. Either way this is considered fraud, whether it be silent fraud in that he did in fact have knowledge of the missing option and failed to disclose this information which would give me a false impression of the vehicle that I was purchasing. The latter of the two would be considered innocent misrepresentation which can occur if in fact ***** did not know of the missing option on the vehicle but the representation was still present because he failed to inspect for the correct options and I entered a contract under the false representation that this option was on this vehicle. If this information was disclosed prior to the sale I would not have purchased this vehicle. While having this conversation with ***** about the incorrect option on the vehicle I asked him to look into where the title and purchase agreement were for the vehicle. He told me that they were sent out and that I should have them that day or the next day. I waited until the following day for the documents and still nothing. By this time it is 21 January 2013 and I still have no documentation. I called and spoke to ***** ********* and was told that ***** should have never told me that it was on the way because the title could not be sent out until I signed a release of some sort for the title. When I asked her why it was not included in the original packet I was told that it must have been overlooked or they forgot about it. She then sent the form over to me and I sent it back via next day mail. I called the following day to make sure they received it and that they were sending out the title via next day mail. When I called I was told that they did receive the release but the lady that handles the titles was out and it could not be sent until the following day and that I should receive it on 24 January 2013. I received the title and took it down to my title agent and was told that I was still missing the purchase agreement or a bill of sale from the dealership. I called up ***** and explained the situation to him and he put me through to the finance department who was in charge of sending out the correct documentation. I gave the phone to the title agent and had him talk to the finance department so that I could get the correct documentation that I needed to transfer the vehicle. The title agent asked him if he could overnight the documents so that I could get this vehicle transferred. The man in the finance department told the title agent “this is getting ridiculous with all of these next day charges for him”. At this point I was already agitated with the whole deal but his comment got me very angry at the entire deal. I was pressed for time to get this vehicle and transfer it over in order to get it permitted by the city of New Orleans in time to use for the upcoming Super Bowl. I then called and spoke to **** *********** and explained to him everything that has gone wrong thus far and that I needed to get this documentation. He assured me that I would get it and that he would look into the other issues that I encountered along the way. I was finally able to transfer the vehicle into my name on 28 January 2013, 17 days after I originally signed the purchase agreement. I explained to **** that the only reason that I chose Covert in the first place was because I was assured that they would be able to finish the deal quickly. I also believed the shipping would have been quicker than the dealership in Illinois that had the exact same vehicle but with 1,000 less miles and the power lift gate for the same price. I expressed my concerns to about the misrepresentation of the lift gate and not being able to transfer the vehicle over until 17 days later and **** asked what I suggested for him to do. I was not sure at this point what to even say or do, I had been sold the incorrect vehicle and was not able to get it permitted in time to use for the Super Bowl. I spoke again with **** at the end of February to find out about the tail gate situation and he seemed to be at a loss for options to resolve this mistake. I then asked him if he could help me out with an extended warranty for the vehicle and he told me that he would look into it and have someone give me a call about it. I did not hear back from anyone at the dealership so I called **** back in April to find out what he came up with. He told me that he was not sure if Covert could help me out with a warranty because it would first need to be inspected by the dealership prior to issuing a warranty. I told him that I had never heard of this and that the vehicle only has 20,000 miles on it and is still covered under the factory warranty. I told him that if it was the policy I could bring it to a local dealership here and have it inspected. He again told me that he was unsure if that was possible but would check into it and give me a call right back. He did not call back. This letter was mailed and deivered to **** ****** over 2 weeks ago. To this day I have not heard back from **** or anyone at Covert regarding these issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive compensation for the $3000.00 rear power liftgate option that this vehicle did not come with as represented by the sales person. If this is done then I will dismiss the fact of the lost and or misplaced paper work.

Business Response:

 ***** *******, ***** ******** did contact *** ***** and they did speak. ***** ask what he would like to accomplish, but *** ***** didn't know and would have to get back with *****.
***** let him know we've have been in business for over 100 years and we want to help him but needed to know what he wanted, but *** ***** did not know. ***** ask that he call him
back and let him know but he never called back.

***** will be happy to discuss this issue further if *** ***** will give him a call at ************!

Sincerely,
****** ********
Covert Cadillac Buick GMC
******** ********* ************
*****************************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Hello,

 

This complaint has not
yet been resolved.  I have called the phone number provided on a couple
different occasions only to be directed to voice mail.  If the dealership is truly interested in resolving this
issue the phone works both ways. My number is also listed and am always available to answer calls.  I will
give the dealership a call again this afternoon in an additional effort to
resolve this dispute.

 

 

Thank you, 

******* ******* ***** 

Business Response:

At this time, August 14,2013, *** ***** and the dealership have come to agreement. ** ***** is being taken care of by the Buick/GMC ***** *******, ***** ********!
Thank you for assistance!

Best Regards,

****** ********

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we bought a 2011 GMC acadia from Covert Buick GMC on 11/06/2011 and traded it into ******** *** in San Angelo, for 2013 GMC on May 21st of 2013 When we bought the acadia from Covert GMC The Extended Warranty Preferred Protection Plan contract number ******, in the amount of $958.00 purchase date 11/06/2011 for 5yrs with expiration date 11/06/2016. My wife ******* called the GMC finance office , on approx. May 23,2013 and requested unused balance be refunded. The Gentleman she spoke too, said that we would have to fill out one of their forms and he would send us one in the mail, which took two weeks for us to received. we filed it out and returned to Covert the next day. *** was the man who sent the form. ******* attempted to contact Covert Finance (GMC) in the following weeks without contact. Then we drove to Austin and Covert at ***** ******** **** on 7/12/2013 and spoke to a gentleman at GMC and started to have us fill out the forms again, when *** or someone found the forms we had mailed in earlier. They called the refund office and were told that a Check had been cut and was on Mr. ******'s. desk awaiting his signature and should receive it by the 07/19/2013.as of this date 07/22/2013 we have not received the check.

Desired Settlement: Covert should cut the check and mail to us immediately and refund expenses of the drive to Austin and Back to San Angelo, as they have not done what they said they would do in a timely manner.

Business Response: Please note that Mr and Mrs ******* are correct on sending in the form to be processed but the reason for delay is
1) Form not completed for processing...needed correct mileage on vehicle
2) We did not have correct phone when Warranty clerk tried to contact Mr and Mrs *******
3) Then wrong info was given to Client it takes 6 weeks usually for the warranty commpany to complete the transaction and it was posted to warranty company on 7/12/13

Do to the frustration we will send out the check for $636.90, today, 7/23/13! Our apologies for the delay...we have to go through the proper process!

Best Regards, ****** ******** ******** ********* *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *******

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable