Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Continental Cars?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Continental Cars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Continental Cars include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Continental Cars
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated: 09/22/1978 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Hardeman, Principle Mr. Brent Baker, Austin Subaru General Manager Mr. Allen Clauss, Austin Infiniti General Manager Mr. Jim Olmstead, First Texas Honda General Manager Mr. Rick Robinson, Continental Collision Center General Manager Mr. Timothy Shook, Director of Marketing and Internet Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Hardeman, Principle
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Austin Subaru Continental Cars, Inc. Continental Imports, Inc. First Texas Honda Honda of Austin Honda of Oak Hill Honda of Round Rock Wholesale Parts Direct GP LLC
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 1301 W Koenig Ln

    Austin, TX 78756 (512) 458-2511

  • 200 W Huntland Dr

    Austin, TX 78752

  • 2203 Fm 620 N

    Austin, TX 78734 (512) 236-5821

  • 2450 Brockton St

    San Antonio, TX 78217 (210) 209-8695

  • 400 Industrial Blvd

    Austin, TX 78745 (800) 234-4441 (512) 458-2910

  • 6757 Airport Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 381-1339

  • 7720 N Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752

  • 8140 Burnet Rd

    Austin, TX 78757

  • 912 Rockmoor Dr

    Georgetown, TX 78628 (512) 220-8330

  • 9410 Reid Dr

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 381-3127

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 381-1339(Phone)
  • (512) 381-7380 (Fax)
  • (512) 450-0269 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of First Texas Honda for seven years. I bought my 2007 Honda Odyssey from them, and they are the only people who have ever worked on it. When this dealer was located on Koenig, I had nothing but positive experiences with them. They were always courteous, they treated me fairly, and if something needed to be done that I wasn't there to have done in the first place, they would explain to me in great detail what needed to be done and why. I always felt that they took good care me and my vehicle. Then they moved to their new location on Steck Avenue. Ever since then I have had filed several complaints at First Texas Honda through their phone/online system. I am filing this complaint with BBB today because their follow up did not address these issues: Service Worksheet: First Texas Honda used to have a great system where they would look over my car and then meet with me face to face with a service worksheet in hand that had red, yellow and green columns: green meaning the area they checked on my car was fine; yellow meaning that area may need serviced in the near future; and red meaning that area needs to be fixed today. During my last three visits this worksheet hasn't popped up until the very end when I pay my bill. Customer Service: I went in several times for an oil change, and each time there was a bigger issue that needed to be fixed. Which is fine, things happen. But I need to know why this extra service needs to be done, not just "Because the mechanic said so". I also need to know why this extra service - that is now in the red column of their service worksheet - did not show up during previous visits. "I don't know" or "Each mechanic has their own thing" or "They didn't catch it last time" are not acceptable answers. I went in today to have an oil change, and was told my brake fluid was due for a change. THey also mentioned that this needs to be done every three years, and apparently had never been done before. I asked why it had never been done before, since I have been coming to First Texas Honda for seven years. ****, my service tech, said he didn't know and that the younger techs don't always catch that the brake fluid needs changed every three years. Again, not an acceptable answer. I ended up paying for a service that may or may not have been needed simply because one mechanic decided it needed to be done.

Desired Settlement: First Texas Honda needs go back to the basics and back to making the customer a priority. I felt bullied into having service done on my car that may or may not have been needed, and I was made to feel inferior. I will be taking my car elsewhere from now on.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, 10-6-14
The purpose of this correspondence is to answer to the complaint of a customer of First Texas Honda to the Better Business Bureau. (IN ********)
Service Worksheet Concern:
After reading the customers concerns and complaints, I can see where the customer is coming from. When we were at our old location on Koenig Lane, things were very different than they are now in our new location. On Koenig, we had a large waiting room that was right by our service advisors which made it possible for them to easily go and talk to their customers to review the multi-point inspection form. It allowed us to have more direct and fast contact with our customers no doubt, and since moving to our new location, this has been a struggle for us and many of our customers. Now at our new location, our waiting room is in another building and makes it very difficult for us to have that one on one consultation time in the waiting area. This is mainly due to us having a tremendous amount of growth, coupled with building restrictions. Later on in this letter, I will talk about a solution that is already in progress to help alleviate these types of concerns.
Customer Service Concern:
Since moving into our new facility, we have been on a hiring "blitz" to try and staff for our new demands. We have had about a 45% increase in the amount of customer almost overnight, and that amount of growth in a short amount of time has caused us to be very inconsistent with what our customers can expect when visiting us, Hiring new personnel always comes with challenges, but we realized that were doing our customers an injustice by not properly training our personnel to be consistent to a process in which the customer will be best taken care of.
By the end of this year, we will have a whole new process that will create a strong sense of consistency in the eyes of our customer. We have hired new management personnel for our Service Department, and they are in the middle of writing a new process manual that will serve two purposes. The first purpose is to train our existing employees with this manual where they will understand that this process is to be followed so as to benefit every customer every time. The second purpose is to use the manual to train all new employees that are being hired into our organization. There is rea ly only one goal in mind, which is to create a super consistent experience for our customers and our employees.
We have purchased a new software that will allow us to provide the customers with a proper explanation from our multi point inspections. This software will allow the technician working on the car to better explain things to the ******* *******, which will result in a stronger explanation of why, instead of "because the tech said so". This software will also allow us to better serve our customers that are not here waiting it allows us to keep in better contact throughout the day by whichever means the customer chooses. Some customers only like to be contacted by either text, email, or by phone. This will allow us to accommodate whichever form of communication the customer chooses, and our multi point forms can be emailed or texted for them to review, instead of only in our presence,
 

I am sure this customer would agree, that if we can fix just a couple of things, we might have the opportunity to be better. Communication and consistency are the two most crucial aspects of where we are trying to improve. We certainly appreciate the customers concerns, and do not take their complaints lightly. We understand that the customer is not going to return to do business with us in the future, but once we have succeeded with all of our changes, I feel confident that they would approve of the changes. Please feel free to contact me directly if there are any questions, or a way that I may provide further assistance.
Regards,
******* ****** ***** *** ******* ********
First Texas Honda
************  

 

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my car was repaired by this body shop after hail damage on 06-12-14; A BRAND NEW CAR..2014, That was purchased on 05-26-14 so only 17 days old when hail damaged it. i have taken it back now a 3rd time to body shop ..well i will be this coming wed. Aug 13.2014. 1st time they it was not repaired correctly. they caused scratches and knicks on hood they did PDR on. which is where they bang out the dents from hail. However the estimate from my insurance company was not to bang them out but replace the hood and the trunk which they did not do. and were paid by insurance company and myself (500 dollar deductable and almost 6,000 from insurance). Monday Aug 4 2014, after it rained a little in an area in Austin where my car was parked. While entering my car i found water damage on drivers seat just right under steering wheel. I investigated and found it to be my windshield was leaking inside my car. A windshield that they replaced from the hail that destroyed it . a new windshield replaced but now is leaking . i guess it was not sealed right. and they did not check before releasing it to me. i have more damage now and my rear mirror keeps falling off. they did not mount it correctly. i have made my insurance company ***** aware but it is really not their issue they say. it is with the body shop, the body shop says to bring it in but i just cant believe what i am going through with having to go back now a 3rd time to the same body shop for work that was not done correctly. please assist and investigate.

Desired Settlement: refund of my deductable and or some of it for work not followed on the estimate on orginal estimate from adjuster and for my leaky windshield to be repaired correctly so i dont have water coming into my car which cause further damage. Quality check was obviously not done other wise this would have been noticed. my rear mirror mounted on right so i can be a safe driver in Texas and have an operating rear mirror.

Business Response: Concerning complaint # ******** for ******* *** *******, I spoke with *** ******* Tuesday 9/2 she had written this letter before the windshield leak had been repaired. At this time all problems have been addressed and she happy. We discussed at length the problems and II think the main problem was lack of communication on our part, but I explained the process to her and she now has a better understanding of the repairs. Also assured her we would work on our processes so this doesn’t happen in the future.


Thank you, 
 ****
**** ******** ******* *******
Continental Collision Centers
************
************ fax
************ cell

 

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Lexus GS350 at First Texas Honda on January 18, 2014. I became concerned about my purchase when I had the oil changed for the first time. The mechanic stated that it looked as if the oil had never been changed. Then, I had the brake pads checked and found that the roaters also needed replacing. After replacing the roaters, the car continued to shake when braking. I then decided to sell the car and purchase a truck for my new business in August. I took the car into ****** for an estimate on the sale value. This is when I found out that the car had been in two accidents. It had evidence of a repair on both the front end and the rear passenger side. The rear passenger side had frame damage. The frame had been welded around the wheel well. These repairs were never disclosed by First Texas Honda, and the price I paid certainly did not reflect such a damaged vehicle. Due to these damages I received only 13,000 for the car, which appraises on ***** **** book for 17,700 on the low end. This price doesn't even include all the bells and whistles the car had such as heated and cooled seats. We decided to sell the car for the reduced price instead of passing it on to another unsuspecting victim.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of the difference in what the resale value actually was and should have been. This difference is $4,700.

Business Response:

**** ****

 

This response is on ID # ********

 

First Texas Honda tries to be as transparent as possible in all our transactions with our guests. With that in mind attached for your review are the following documents:

 

(Please keep in mind that the scanned images are front and back of all documents.  Some pages will be blank as there is nothing on the backs.)

 

Pages 1-2 is the general buyers order                                                             

 

Pages 3-8 is the invoice for the reconditioning that we did on the vehicle before we presented the vehicle for sale.                                   

 

Pages 9-10 is the Quality Inspection Check List filled out by the technician that looked over the car before we presented the vehicle for sale.

 

Pages 11-16 is the vehicle’s Car Fax Vehicle History Report that is available on all our vehicles. This is not only posted on our website but available to our guests as well.

 

Pages 17-18 is the “No Oral Warranties Or Agreements” form signed by the customer.

 

Pages 19-20 is the required Buyers Guide which states that the vehicle is being sold “AS IS with No Warranty”

 

Having stated all this we would have like to have been able to inspect and have been given knowledge of our customers concerns before they got rid of the vehicle just to see if there was anything we could have done.

 

So without having the opportunity to view the customers concerns with his vehicle, we cannot confirm or deny this complaint.

 

If you need anything else please let me know.  If it is not any trouble, could you please let me know that you received this email?

 

 

Thanks,

 

*** ******** *********
First Texas Honda
**** ***** **** ******* ***** *****
***** ********

8/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had repeatedly complained about a stuck door (even while under warranty) and they refused to fix it. I finally took it to another repair shop and the fix simply required lubricating the door. The cost was $22. Furthermore, First Texas Honda, tried to talk us into very expensive repairs on the engine when no problem existed. They told us the engine had a leaky valve cover gasket which would cost over $500 to fix. No leak exists after thorough inspection by another repair shop. We also suspect that they did not properly change our oil as they "forgot" to reset the oil life indicator. When we had the oil changed by another repair shop it was low and excessively worn out even though we changed the oil on schedule.

Desired Settlement: I will not do business with them again. We bought our vehicle from them and have relied on them for repairs for 10 years. The quality of their service has deteriorated to where they can not be relied upon to be honest and trust worthy.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
In reference to the BBB Complaint ID# ********, the customer had his car towed in on 4/29/2014 for a no start issue (mileage at the time was *****). First Texas Honda replaced the alternator to solve the not start issue. The customer also had a complaint that the passenger side sliding door at times would make a popping sound and will not open. First Texas Honda was able to reproduce the customer concern once. We performed an adjustment to the passenger side sliding door and recommend the passenger side actuator assembly replacement if it continues to occur. The parts and labor to install this,part would cost $330.00. We did not charge the customer any money to adjust the sliding door.
The last time First Texas Honda replaced the oil and filter on the customer car was on 10/23/13
and the mileage at the time was *****. On 2/6/2014 we performed a Multi-Point Inspection and advised the customer that the valve cover gaskets are leaking.
We do apologize for any inconvenience that we may have cause and would like to refund the customer $22.00. Also we would like to perform an inspection, at no cost, of the valve cover gaskets with the customer so can verify our findings.
If you have any question please let me know.

******* ***** ******* ***** ******* ************ *** ************  

4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Where do I begin? When I first bought the original Honda 2011 CR-Z, it had some major issues with highway speeds. I recorded them and showed them to FTH and they put me into a Honda CR-Z 2012 EX with navigation model, but then proceeded to charge me the wrong price. They basically shrugged their hands in the air and said "What internet pricing?" and tried to lock me into an amount that was higher than the original purchase. Shady, at best, I thought. Luckily I had a printout of the pricing, as they had removed it from the site and acted like I didn't know what I was talking about. After all the sorries and how much they cared* ****** ***** never sent out any of the things she said she was (no oil changes ever arrived in the mail). FTH has been trying to take me out of my Honda CR-Z ever since I first reported an issue with it, one I deemed very serious. During the sale, I was offered things that weren't available to me i.e.: I test drove the silver Honda Accord Sport, only to be told I couldn't have it and would have to settle with the gun metal grey version. I was also undercut substantially on my trade-in by about $5000. I was told that the car would get about 34MPG and I'd get about 450 miles per tank. Since then, I've driven the car permanently in the ECON mode on primarily highway miles. I get about 20-22MPG, a great deal of difference from what was originally portrayed in this 4 cylinder model. My brand new vehicle came with a substantially less technology, for double the price tag. I was told that my refund on my previous HondaCare warranty would be refunded to me within about a month. I was baffled by all the additional features that weren't included with my vehicle and I constantly asked for more money on my trade-in, so that at least some of these features would be covered. I felt nothing but haggled at this point. The process went on, I got a few features for an outrageous amount. The original tint and polysteel application appointment had to be rescheduled, but I also wanted to use my refund check towards more features. After about a month of silence from both ******* ******* and ***** ***** on additional features I wanted on my car(and still no tint or polysteel), I messaged ***** ****** back wondering about my refund. He sent me some other sheets we had missed in the fastest signing process I had ever been through. He said that the delivery of a new baby had hindered my refund. When does the birth of a child ever stop business? At this point I was feeling incredible hassled. When I finally did hear from *****, the first thing she said to me was "I sent you an email yesterday, I guess you didn't get it..." even after a month of time had passed from the original email. No apology. Not even the originally quoted additions I wanted added to my vehicle were mentioned by. At this point again with my time, money and effort being depleted from me. More lies and attempted deception from the dealership. More missed opportunities to fix previously damaged relations. I've given this company so many chances it's not even laughable at this point. I finally messaged ***** again a few days ago to figure out what was going on with the HondaCare refund. I figured two months was reasonable. I understand he has just left the company, with good reason I'm sure. I had to again re-sign paperwork I had already taken care of month's before and given a blah "We're sorry we keep messing up.." statement.

Desired Settlement: The originally stated refund amount from the HondaCare extended warranty. Complete accessory package for the amount in which was not provided to me during my trade-in including all covers, floor mats, and remote start features. An apology for all the hours of my time and effort wasted by your facility because of your own faults. Removal of the "No Hassle. No Haggle" logo. It's false advertising I've concluded from my own personal experience.

Business Response:

Dear **** ****:

We have received the complaint from *** ******* and have conducted an investigation into the incident.  This is the second car that he has purchased from us and he seems to experience differing forms of dissatisfaction.

After carefully reading his complaint, it seems to focus on the refund of his “HondaCare – Extended Vehicle Service Contract” and delays installing his accessories. We have reconstructed the sequence of events and it seems that there were two issues on the HondaCare refund.  First, the proper documents had not been signed for the initial refund, which we later emailed to the customer.  Second, when this initial refund request was completed, there was some confusion with the address provided by *** ******* and the refund could not be completed.  *** ******* did contact us the first week of March and let us know he had not received any refunds.  We immediately investigated and let him know about the address issue, but told him it would be processed as soon as possible.

We did receive confirmation from Honda that on 3/24/14 the refund has been mailed to *** ******* and he has been advised.

We also have reviewed the accessories department’s communication logs and it shows they did attempt to schedule an installation time with him, but he did not respond.  At best, this was simply communication difficulty on both ends and in no way ignoring *** *******.  We have apologized to him and have completed all issues associated with the installation.

Lastly, *** ******* has taken issue with our “No-Haggle” approach, but in his complaint, he is frustrated that we would not increase our offer on his trade and did not give him a refund for accessories he purchased on his trade-in over a year prior.  It seems that he may be annoyed that we made our best offer and did not respond to his request to negotiate or “Haggle”.

As always, we stand ready to help solve any issues our customers may have and endeavor to give them the best customer service possible.

Please let me know what other details you may need, or any questions I can answer.

Thanks - *****

 

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased new accord on 11/2/13. I agreed for Loan from ******* ***. I was told that I must buy GAP insurance to get this loan for which I agreed. When I can home I called my auto insurance about this coverage and was told it is not necessary and my policy have this for $ 10/year and I only need for first year. Gap coverage by dealers was costing me more than $ 100/year. Company has policy to cancel sales in 48 hrs and hence I called on 11/4/13 Morning that I would like to cancel the loan and Gap insurance because of cost. I gave them check for full purchase price on 11/4/13. I was told after this that my old contract for loan and insurance is null and void, Finance dept took old contract from me and gave me new . My check was cashed on 11/18/13 after 2 weeks delay for some unknown reasons. I called multiple times and was told I check might have been lost but latter found some how and some where. I was surprised and shocked to get notice from Capital auto finance on 12/6/13 that I owe them money for this car and first payment is due on 12/17/13. I called first Texas Honda and no good explanation was done why this happened. I called ******* ******* , sent him e mail and left voice mail but there was never a response. I was called by ******* ******** whose department n\made this mistake to begin with and assured this will be fixed in 2 days. 10 day letter problems remains to be fixed. When I got a copy of contract from Capital auto finance gap insurance charged were replaced with loan cancellation fee. I COULDN'T BELIEVE THIS. I think it a fraud to get unauthorized and uncalled fee to be minimum or charge price twice I was annoyed with lack of sincerity of general manger , say sorry and take steps to resolve . I was

Desired Settlement: Pay loan money to finance company which they should never have taken to begin with

Business Response:

Dear **** ****:

 

The customer originally chose to finance his car and purchase GAP Coverage, which was his choice and not a requirement.  Several days later he decided he did not want to finance and wanted to change the transaction to a cash purchase.  In our ongoing attempt to offer excellent customer service, we allowed the transaction to be reversed and changed to a cash purchase.  Per the terms of the original transaction, we were under no obligation to change the contract, but strive for customer satisfaction.

 

Inadvertently, the original finance contract was sent to the lender and was not discovered until the lender contacted the customer.  The customer contacted our dealership and we took immediate actions to cancel the loan.  The customer was continually kept abreast of the cancellation process and told when a winter storm in Dallas caused a multiple day delay in cancelling the loan.  At all times, the customer was advised that it was being cancelled and received multiple apologies for the situation.  In fact, after confirmation that the cancellation was done, we had a meeting with the customer here at our dealership and described new procedures that had been put in place to prevent future occurrences. 

 

To our knowledge, any fees associated with this situation were paid by the dealership and in no way was the customer negatively impacted or required to pay any fees.

 

Finally, in gratitude for the situation, we sent a gift as a token of appreciation and thanks for his patience.

 

Please let me know what other details you may need, or any questions I can answer.

 

Thanks -

*****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:half truths. I Cancelled Loan with in 48 hrs as per company policy, in fact 36 hrs.  ( Company website clearly say   48 hrs cancelation policy.)

I was made to buy Gap  Insurance as a condition of Loan, it was never a voluntary.

 

Regards,
**** *****

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2005 Subaru Outback that I purchased used from a Subaru dealer in San Antonio. In Dec. of 2012 I brought my well maintained car with 95,000 miles into the dealer for a check up. I had not had any problems with the engine up to that point. I was told that there was evidence of an oil leak. Although I didn't see an external leak and never had to add oil between oil changes, I was advised to have a major engine reseal done. I paid $3800 to have that done in Jan. 2013. Along with that, they did an oil change. On June 10th, the oil light went on. I was going out of town and didn't drive it until June 26th. I drove it 2 miles, the oil light was not on. When the oil light came on and the engine started sounding wrong, I pulled over and added a quart of oil. It did not register on the dipstick. I drove it the 6 blocks to my house and parked it there. The next morning I added 2 quarts of oil which filled it to the top of the dipstick. I drove it gently around the block and heard only a very faint knocking. Then it began to have a very loud rattling sound. We stopped it and had it towed to the dealer. Now it requires a new engine and over $4,000 worth of repairs. I was not negligent in my care of the car. It has been 5,088 miles since the oil change. The Subaru 2005 Schedule of Inspection and Maintenance Services clearly says that my specific car should have oil changes only every 7,500 miles. This oil problem did not exist before the January repairs. Somehow the engine resealing repairs CAUSED the engine to burn oil or lose at a rate way faster than it had previously. The whole point of the $3800 January repair was to prevent the car from losing oil. Instead, following that service, the car lost or burned oil at an increased rate. The faulty repairs done in January CAUSED the current damage.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Subaru dealer to provide me with a new engine at no cost to me. The $3800 paid to the dealer in January was for the expressed purpose of resealing an engine that supposedly leaked oil. Instead, it somehow changed the pressure of the engine or was done improperly in some way to cause the engine to burn or lose oil at a rate faster than before the repair. The resulting damage to the engine from oil starvation directly led to the current damage.

Business Response: Mr. ****** ******** *****
visited Austin Subaru on January 14, 2013, to replace his head gaskets and
seals that where leaking oil and coolant.  The head gaskets, seals and oil
and filter were replaced at that time to prevent any more oil and coolant to
leak from the engine.  Since then ****** ***** has driven his 2005 Subaru
Legacy Outback 5388 miles.  As he stated he added a total of three quarts
of oil to the engine when the oil light came on.  Starving the car of oil
is what caused the motor to give out.  As per the owner’s manual  it
states that the oil level should be checked every fuel stop.  Mr. ******
***** gave us authorization to replace his motor and that the charge for the
repairs would not exceed $4667.16.  On July 17, 2013 he was told that the
engine replacement was complete and ready for him to pick up his car. 
Austin Subaru discounted that bill and the new total for the repairs was
$3612.79,  $1054.67 in saving.  Mr. ***** will be picking up his car
on 7-20-13.


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

1/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service