Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Continental Cars

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 454-6821 Fax: (512) 454-2434 View Additional Phone Numbers 6757 Airport Blvd, Austin, TX 78752 http://www.continentalcollisiongeorgetown.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Continental Cars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Continental Cars include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Continental Cars
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1963 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated 09/22/1978 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Hardeman, President Mr. Brent Baker, Austin Subaru General Manager Mr. Allen Clauss, Austin Infiniti General Manager Mr. Rick Robinson, Continental Collision Center General Manager Mr. Timothy Shook, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Hardeman, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Austin Subaru Continental Cars Inc Continental Imports First Texas Honda Honda of Austin Honda of Oak Hill Honda of Round Rock
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Buying A Used Car Navigating auto sales

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Continental Cars has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 200 W Huntland Dr

    Austin, TX 78752

  • 201 E Anderson Ln

    Austin, TX 78752

  • 2203 Fm 620 N

    Austin, TX 78734 (512) 236-5821

  • 3400 Steck Ave

    Austin, TX 78757

  • 400 Industrial Blvd

    Austin, TX 78745 (800) 234-4441 (512) 458-2910 (512) 454-6821

  • 6757 Airport Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 381-1339

  • 7720 N Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752

  • 8140 Burnet Rd

    Austin, TX 78757

  • 912 Rockmoor Dr

    Georgetown, TX 78628 (512) 220-8330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday, April 14, 2016, 10:52 AM, *** ******** of First Texas Honda, sent me an e-mail providing a quote of $26,955 for a brand new 2016 Honda Pilot EX-L vehicle (I have e-mails from all correspondence.). I accepted the offer, and I was excited to drive to Austin to purchase the vehicle. However, at 1:36 PM, Mr. ******** replied saying the price was $10,000 above the original quote. I believe this was a shady, misleading, and fraudulent business practice. This is no way to do business: To provide a written price quote to a customer and then hours later jack up the price by $10,000. Texas First Honda advertises a slogan "Austin's Haggle-Free Honda Dealer." Perhaps they should concentrate on telling the truth.

Desired Settlement: I would like First Texas Honda to sell the car at the initial price quoted to me by e-mail on Thursday, April 14, 2016, 10:52 AM: $26,955. This quote was made in writing. We do not want to pay any more or less that the price quoted to us.

Business Response:

Our employee, *** ********, did in fact email Ms. ******* a price quote on one of our Honda models at 10:52 AM on April 14, 2015.  It was a generic quote, in that it didn't reference a specific stock number or vehicle identification number.  Between that email and ***'s next email to the customer at 1:36 PM that same day, Ms. ******* and *** had a phone conversation where it was discovered that *** had made an honest mistake in quoting $26955 instead of $36955.  In the 1:36 PM email, *** referenced the phone conversation and apologized again for his mistake and offered to match any local prices that Ms. ******* had procured during her shopping process.  At 3:55 PM that day, Ms. ******* emailed *** to say that she was prepared to drive the seven hours from Louisiana to Austin to buy the vehicle and indicated that her husband was very upset that we "changed" our price and threatened to contact the Better Business Bureau.  *** responded to Ms. ******* at 4:10 PM to say that he understood how upset they were and that he was so sorry again for his mistake and that he in "no way intended to generate a false interest in our dealership."

 

Our dealership has been in existence for over three decades and our impeccable reputation in the Austin community is well-documented.  We extend our sincerest apologies to the *******'s for our mistake and hope they can understand that we have nothing to gain by quoting a price that we can't ul***ately honor---------and that is why we immediately admitted our mistake when we realized it.

1/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used 2003 Honda Civic a month ago, 4 days after owning it, it overheated. Took it back to the dealer and they fixed or replaced a radiator hose-the supposed problem. next time I went to drive the car it overheated again. Called the dealership and they said it was sold as is and that it was my problem even though they had not repaired the problem and sold it to me with the problem. So I took the car to my own mechanic who replaced a fan switch that had been bad and should have been found originally. the car ran for less than a week before it overheated again and at this point I had my mechanic check out the entire car. Turns out the head is cracked and was sold to me like this. No where in my sales documents does it mention a catastrophic repair being needed to run properly. Now the car is worth $2000 in running order, and the mechanic says it will cost me $2400 to get it to run again. I have driven the car 4 times and each time it has overheated on me. There is a reasonable expectation even on a used car that it will run. I expected some minor repairs, but not a catastrophic one. I have tried to get in touch with the dealer and was bounced around from manager to manager who all said you bought it and it drove off the lot as is, your problem. I have yet to speak to the general manager because he is never in or not available or his "managers" tell me no I can't talk to him. This dealership sold me a bunk car and all I want is a car that runs decently. I went to first Texas Honda because of their good reputation as honest and reputable. However this has been ridiculous the car has not run properly since day 4 of ownership. no where in their inspection that they went over with me prior to buying the car did they mention cooling issues or a cracked head. I would not have bought the car if it needed such catastrophic repairs.

Desired Settlement: either a repair to the vehicle so it is drivable in a reasonable status of operation ie not overheating and having a cracked head. Or exchange the car for one that does meet a reasonable expectation of running for the same price point.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,


This letter is in response to a complaint with the Better Business Bureau against First Texas Honda.  The complaint ID# is ********.  


The customer in question did purchase a pre-owned Honda Civic from us recently.  After the customer purchased the car, they contacted us to let us know that the vehicle overheated and we agreed to look at the vehicle.  Unfortunately, the vehicle did not overheat while it was in our possession, so we took the proactive measure of replacing the upper radiator hose since it looked as though it may have had a small leak.  We did not charge the customer anything during this visit.  During the testing while the car was here, we confirmed that all aspects of the cooling system were operational, but did not attempt to check for any internal problems since we could not get a failure to occur.  The customer took the vehicle to their own mechanic to have them look at it after it failed again, and they determined that one of the cooling fans was not working, in which they repaired.  The customer then took the vehicle, after it failed again, back to their mechanic, and they determined there was an internal problem that could only be determined after the prior failures.  Once we were made  aware of these facts by the BBB, we held a meeting to discuss all of the facts as we knew them, and decided to reach out to the customer to get the car back into our possession, to do further testing to verify the other repair facilities diagnosis.  


As of now, we actually have the car in our possession, and have determined that the vehicle has a blown head gasket, and that we will be repairing at no cost to the customer.  We exercised all proper disclosures that the vehicle is "As Is" and had all proper documentation signed on camera by the customer.  We felt after there was an identifiable problem with the vehicle, that we would gladly stand behind the car and ensure that the overheating problem was addressed.  Once the vehicle has been repaired, we will be returning the vehicle in a reasonable status of operation, and not overheating, back to the customer. 


If there are any further questions or concerns in this matter, please feel free to contact us back at any time.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a certified pre-owned 2009 Honda Accord with a 100,000 mile power-train warranty from First Texas Honda owned by the Continental Auto Group almost three years ago. I called today to set up a service time and I described the problem the car was having. The service rep identified the problem over the phone and said that Honda issued a new part but it was defective and I would have to wait. My warranty expires in less than 1500 miles and that was not an option. I asked to speak to a supervisor but I got his message service. I called the main dealership line and asked to speak to a general manager immediately and each time I was promised a direct connection and each time I was sent to a message service. I called the main number again and was told there was phone trouble and that if I gave my phone number to them they would call me in less than a minute. It has been 30 minutes now. This is not the first time I have received the run around from First Texas Honda. When I first bought the car the dealership never sent in the warranty paperwork so when I brought it in a year later for service they didn't have a record of it. The service department told me to contact the financial department who never answered repeated calls nor returned messages. Finally I contacted the general manager( a woman who no longer works there apparently) and she was able to make things right after a needless lengthy ordeal. Now I have this new problem and a general manager unwilling to help.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed and the warranty agreement honored.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
The purpose of this correspondence is to reply to the BBB complaint against First Texas Honda ID# ******** I apologize for the late response, as the letter just came across my desk. The complaints the customer has are valid, When he purchased his car as a used certified car, it came with additional warranties that are given for the fact of it being "Certified". Unfortunately, there were clerical issues at the time of purchase on our end, which caused it to not actually show as certified by Honda. So in other words, the end result was that when he would bring his car to the service department, it showed that he did not have warranty. This caused major confusion for our Service Department, when in fact he knew of his additional warranty coverage all along. At best, we did a poor job of investigating the issue, but once the proper people became involved, we were able to get down to the root of the problem
As of today, the situation has been handled_ After we finally got down to the bottom of the issue, we paid for the warrantable repairs out of our pocket, and notified Honda of our mistake. They are going to initiate the coverage that was supposed to have been in place already. The customer worked closely with ***** ******* one of our managers, and the concerns have been fixed at no cost to the customer.
This situation helped us identify some potential process problems, and have made the proper people aware of this issue, so we can keep it from happening again.
Please feel free to let me know if there are any further questions or concerns that I can address.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******* *****

5/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First Texas Honda sent coupon for the oil change service . standard models price for $18.95, and ow-20 oil price for $21.95 I called before I go there for the oil change. They remind me " bring the coupon" After the oil change , they charged me $36.87. I showed the cashier the coupon. He ignored it. and still want me paid full amount. First Texas Honda service # 5940 .....04/29/2015.....11-44:11 This is scam and rip me off. Will have my comment about this deler on the web too.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

The purpose of this correspondence is to reply to the BBB complaint against First Texas Honda ID# ********. Your mentioned complainant did come to our business for maintenance on 4-29-15. He presented a coupon after services were rendered, and we explained to him that after visually seeing his coupon, that we could not accept it. The reason given to him was that the coupon did not pertain to the services that he requested to be done. The coupon was for a package service which included an oil and filter change, and a tire rotation. The customer at write up did not present the coupon, as all of our coupons request, and only verbally requested an oil and filter change. When this became an issue, is when he presented the coupon after the work he requested was completed. Our service representative tried to explain to him that the coupon did not apply to the work that he requested, and he requested to speak with a manager. We did not have a manager immediately available for him and he elected to pay the bill. We also told the customer that we would honor the coupon on his next visit if he chose to do so. The customer called in on the same day after leaving the premises, and spoke to one of our managers. He did his best to explain the situation to where the customer could understand, and was unsuccessful in doing so. The customer did in fact did send his complaint to many online resources to explain his perceived dissatisfaction. The bottom line is that the coupon did not apply to the services rendered.

We do care about our customers and their perception of us. We also care very much about our online presence and what people are saying about us. With that being said, First Texas Honda would be willing to accommodate his requests in hopes that he would update his statements in his online postings. This is not a contingency, but is an offer to reimburse him directly for the disputed amount of $15.00. We would just hope that he would take the time to let the appropriate websites know that we did work with him to resolve his concern. In addition we will also offer a $100 credit as a goodwill gesture for any future visits if he chooses to visit our service department for any future maintenance or repair.

Please let me know if there are any more questions or concerns that I can respond to in this matter. We would like to resolve this matter as quickly as possible with a great outcome for all parties involved.

Regards, ******* ****** ******* * ***** ******** ***** ***** ***** ************ **********************************

5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They keep calling me.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling me. Don't even call me to tell me you aren't calling me. Just ... stop. We have no business together. Stop.

Business Response:

We removed Mr ****** from our system and made a request to Subaru of America to stop all communications with him, which they agreed to do. Below is the email chain with the request to  Subaru and their confirmation that it is completed. Is there anything else we need to do?

thank you

 

***** *****

General Manager

Austin Subaru

ph ************

email: ***********@austinsubaru.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of First Texas Honda for seven years. I bought my 2007 Honda Odyssey from them, and they are the only people who have ever worked on it. When this dealer was located on Koenig, I had nothing but positive experiences with them. They were always courteous, they treated me fairly, and if something needed to be done that I wasn't there to have done in the first place, they would explain to me in great detail what needed to be done and why. I always felt that they took good care me and my vehicle. Then they moved to their new location on Steck Avenue. Ever since then I have had filed several complaints at First Texas Honda through their phone/online system. I am filing this complaint with BBB today because their follow up did not address these issues: Service Worksheet: First Texas Honda used to have a great system where they would look over my car and then meet with me face to face with a service worksheet in hand that had red, yellow and green columns: green meaning the area they checked on my car was fine; yellow meaning that area may need serviced in the near future; and red meaning that area needs to be fixed today. During my last three visits this worksheet hasn't popped up until the very end when I pay my bill. Customer Service: I went in several times for an oil change, and each time there was a bigger issue that needed to be fixed. Which is fine, things happen. But I need to know why this extra service needs to be done, not just "Because the mechanic said so". I also need to know why this extra service - that is now in the red column of their service worksheet - did not show up during previous visits. "I don't know" or "Each mechanic has their own thing" or "They didn't catch it last time" are not acceptable answers. I went in today to have an oil change, and was told my brake fluid was due for a change. THey also mentioned that this needs to be done every three years, and apparently had never been done before. I asked why it had never been done before, since I have been coming to First Texas Honda for seven years. ****, my service tech, said he didn't know and that the younger techs don't always catch that the brake fluid needs changed every three years. Again, not an acceptable answer. I ended up paying for a service that may or may not have been needed simply because one mechanic decided it needed to be done.

Desired Settlement: First Texas Honda needs go back to the basics and back to making the customer a priority. I felt bullied into having service done on my car that may or may not have been needed, and I was made to feel inferior. I will be taking my car elsewhere from now on.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, 10-6-14
The purpose of this correspondence is to answer to the complaint of a customer of First Texas Honda to the Better Business Bureau. (IN ********)
Service Worksheet Concern:
After reading the customers concerns and complaints, I can see where the customer is coming from. When we were at our old location on Koenig Lane, things were very different than they are now in our new location. On Koenig, we had a large waiting room that was right by our service advisors which made it possible for them to easily go and talk to their customers to review the multi-point inspection form. It allowed us to have more direct and fast contact with our customers no doubt, and since moving to our new location, this has been a struggle for us and many of our customers. Now at our new location, our waiting room is in another building and makes it very difficult for us to have that one on one consultation time in the waiting area. This is mainly due to us having a tremendous amount of growth, coupled with building restrictions. Later on in this letter, I will talk about a solution that is already in progress to help alleviate these types of concerns.
Customer Service Concern:
Since moving into our new facility, we have been on a hiring "blitz" to try and staff for our new demands. We have had about a 45% increase in the amount of customer almost overnight, and that amount of growth in a short amount of time has caused us to be very inconsistent with what our customers can expect when visiting us, Hiring new personnel always comes with challenges, but we realized that were doing our customers an injustice by not properly training our personnel to be consistent to a process in which the customer will be best taken care of.
By the end of this year, we will have a whole new process that will create a strong sense of consistency in the eyes of our customer. We have hired new management personnel for our Service Department, and they are in the middle of writing a new process manual that will serve two purposes. The first purpose is to train our existing employees with this manual where they will understand that this process is to be followed so as to benefit every customer every time. The second purpose is to use the manual to train all new employees that are being hired into our organization. There is rea ly only one goal in mind, which is to create a super consistent experience for our customers and our employees.
We have purchased a new software that will allow us to provide the customers with a proper explanation from our multi point inspections. This software will allow the technician working on the car to better explain things to the ******* *******, which will result in a stronger explanation of why, instead of "because the tech said so". This software will also allow us to better serve our customers that are not here waiting it allows us to keep in better contact throughout the day by whichever means the customer chooses. Some customers only like to be contacted by either text, email, or by phone. This will allow us to accommodate whichever form of communication the customer chooses, and our multi point forms can be emailed or texted for them to review, instead of only in our presence,
 

I am sure this customer would agree, that if we can fix just a couple of things, we might have the opportunity to be better. Communication and consistency are the two most crucial aspects of where we are trying to improve. We certainly appreciate the customers concerns, and do not take their complaints lightly. We understand that the customer is not going to return to do business with us in the future, but once we have succeeded with all of our changes, I feel confident that they would approve of the changes. Please feel free to contact me directly if there are any questions, or a way that I may provide further assistance.
Regards,
******* ****** ***** *** ******* ********
First Texas Honda
************  

 

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my car was repaired by this body shop after hail damage on 06-12-14; A BRAND NEW CAR..2014, That was purchased on 05-26-14 so only 17 days old when hail damaged it. i have taken it back now a 3rd time to body shop ..well i will be this coming wed. Aug 13.2014. 1st time they it was not repaired correctly. they caused scratches and knicks on hood they did PDR on. which is where they bang out the dents from hail. However the estimate from my insurance company was not to bang them out but replace the hood and the trunk which they did not do. and were paid by insurance company and myself (500 dollar deductable and almost 6,000 from insurance). Monday Aug 4 2014, after it rained a little in an area in Austin where my car was parked. While entering my car i found water damage on drivers seat just right under steering wheel. I investigated and found it to be my windshield was leaking inside my car. A windshield that they replaced from the hail that destroyed it . a new windshield replaced but now is leaking . i guess it was not sealed right. and they did not check before releasing it to me. i have more damage now and my rear mirror keeps falling off. they did not mount it correctly. i have made my insurance company ***** aware but it is really not their issue they say. it is with the body shop, the body shop says to bring it in but i just cant believe what i am going through with having to go back now a 3rd time to the same body shop for work that was not done correctly. please assist and investigate.

Desired Settlement: refund of my deductable and or some of it for work not followed on the estimate on orginal estimate from adjuster and for my leaky windshield to be repaired correctly so i dont have water coming into my car which cause further damage. Quality check was obviously not done other wise this would have been noticed. my rear mirror mounted on right so i can be a safe driver in Texas and have an operating rear mirror.

Business Response: Concerning complaint # ******** for ******* *** *******, I spoke with *** ******* Tuesday 9/2 she had written this letter before the windshield leak had been repaired. At this time all problems have been addressed and she happy. We discussed at length the problems and II think the main problem was lack of communication on our part, but I explained the process to her and she now has a better understanding of the repairs. Also assured her we would work on our processes so this doesn’t happen in the future.


Thank you, 
 ****
**** ******** ******* *******
Continental Collision Centers
************
************ fax
************ cell

 

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Lexus GS350 at First Texas Honda on January 18, 2014. I became concerned about my purchase when I had the oil changed for the first time. The mechanic stated that it looked as if the oil had never been changed. Then, I had the brake pads checked and found that the roaters also needed replacing. After replacing the roaters, the car continued to shake when braking. I then decided to sell the car and purchase a truck for my new business in August. I took the car into ****** for an estimate on the sale value. This is when I found out that the car had been in two accidents. It had evidence of a repair on both the front end and the rear passenger side. The rear passenger side had frame damage. The frame had been welded around the wheel well. These repairs were never disclosed by First Texas Honda, and the price I paid certainly did not reflect such a damaged vehicle. Due to these damages I received only 13,000 for the car, which appraises on ***** **** book for 17,700 on the low end. This price doesn't even include all the bells and whistles the car had such as heated and cooled seats. We decided to sell the car for the reduced price instead of passing it on to another unsuspecting victim.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of the difference in what the resale value actually was and should have been. This difference is $4,700.

Business Response:

**** ****

 

This response is on ID # ********

 

First Texas Honda tries to be as transparent as possible in all our transactions with our guests. With that in mind attached for your review are the following documents:

 

(Please keep in mind that the scanned images are front and back of all documents.  Some pages will be blank as there is nothing on the backs.)

 

Pages 1-2 is the general buyers order                                                             

 

Pages 3-8 is the invoice for the reconditioning that we did on the vehicle before we presented the vehicle for sale.                                   

 

Pages 9-10 is the Quality Inspection Check List filled out by the technician that looked over the car before we presented the vehicle for sale.

 

Pages 11-16 is the vehicle’s Car Fax Vehicle History Report that is available on all our vehicles. This is not only posted on our website but available to our guests as well.

 

Pages 17-18 is the “No Oral Warranties Or Agreements” form signed by the customer.

 

Pages 19-20 is the required Buyers Guide which states that the vehicle is being sold “AS IS with No Warranty”

 

Having stated all this we would have like to have been able to inspect and have been given knowledge of our customers concerns before they got rid of the vehicle just to see if there was anything we could have done.

 

So without having the opportunity to view the customers concerns with his vehicle, we cannot confirm or deny this complaint.

 

If you need anything else please let me know.  If it is not any trouble, could you please let me know that you received this email?

 

 

Thanks,

 

*** ******** *********
First Texas Honda
**** ***** **** ******* ***** *****
***** ********

8/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had repeatedly complained about a stuck door (even while under warranty) and they refused to fix it. I finally took it to another repair shop and the fix simply required lubricating the door. The cost was $22. Furthermore, First Texas Honda, tried to talk us into very expensive repairs on the engine when no problem existed. They told us the engine had a leaky valve cover gasket which would cost over $500 to fix. No leak exists after thorough inspection by another repair shop. We also suspect that they did not properly change our oil as they "forgot" to reset the oil life indicator. When we had the oil changed by another repair shop it was low and excessively worn out even though we changed the oil on schedule.

Desired Settlement: I will not do business with them again. We bought our vehicle from them and have relied on them for repairs for 10 years. The quality of their service has deteriorated to where they can not be relied upon to be honest and trust worthy.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
In reference to the BBB Complaint ID# ********, the customer had his car towed in on 4/29/2014 for a no start issue (mileage at the time was *****). First Texas Honda replaced the alternator to solve the not start issue. The customer also had a complaint that the passenger side sliding door at times would make a popping sound and will not open. First Texas Honda was able to reproduce the customer concern once. We performed an adjustment to the passenger side sliding door and recommend the passenger side actuator assembly replacement if it continues to occur. The parts and labor to install this,part would cost $330.00. We did not charge the customer any money to adjust the sliding door.
The last time First Texas Honda replaced the oil and filter on the customer car was on 10/23/13
and the mileage at the time was *****. On 2/6/2014 we performed a Multi-Point Inspection and advised the customer that the valve cover gaskets are leaking.
We do apologize for any inconvenience that we may have cause and would like to refund the customer $22.00. Also we would like to perform an inspection, at no cost, of the valve cover gaskets with the customer so can verify our findings.
If you have any question please let me know.

******* ***** ******* ***** ******* ************ *** ************  

4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Where do I begin? When I first bought the original Honda 2011 CR-Z, it had some major issues with highway speeds. I recorded them and showed them to FTH and they put me into a Honda CR-Z 2012 EX with navigation model, but then proceeded to charge me the wrong price. They basically shrugged their hands in the air and said "What internet pricing?" and tried to lock me into an amount that was higher than the original purchase. Shady, at best, I thought. Luckily I had a printout of the pricing, as they had removed it from the site and acted like I didn't know what I was talking about. After all the sorries and how much they cared* ****** ***** never sent out any of the things she said she was (no oil changes ever arrived in the mail). FTH has been trying to take me out of my Honda CR-Z ever since I first reported an issue with it, one I deemed very serious. During the sale, I was offered things that weren't available to me i.e.: I test drove the silver Honda Accord Sport, only to be told I couldn't have it and would have to settle with the gun metal grey version. I was also undercut substantially on my trade-in by about $5000. I was told that the car would get about 34MPG and I'd get about 450 miles per tank. Since then, I've driven the car permanently in the ECON mode on primarily highway miles. I get about 20-22MPG, a great deal of difference from what was originally portrayed in this 4 cylinder model. My brand new vehicle came with a substantially less technology, for double the price tag. I was told that my refund on my previous HondaCare warranty would be refunded to me within about a month. I was baffled by all the additional features that weren't included with my vehicle and I constantly asked for more money on my trade-in, so that at least some of these features would be covered. I felt nothing but haggled at this point. The process went on, I got a few features for an outrageous amount. The original tint and polysteel application appointment had to be rescheduled, but I also wanted to use my refund check towards more features. After about a month of silence from both ******* ******* and ***** ***** on additional features I wanted on my car(and still no tint or polysteel), I messaged ***** ****** back wondering about my refund. He sent me some other sheets we had missed in the fastest signing process I had ever been through. He said that the delivery of a new baby had hindered my refund. When does the birth of a child ever stop business? At this point I was feeling incredible hassled. When I finally did hear from *****, the first thing she said to me was "I sent you an email yesterday, I guess you didn't get it..." even after a month of time had passed from the original email. No apology. Not even the originally quoted additions I wanted added to my vehicle were mentioned by. At this point again with my time, money and effort being depleted from me. More lies and attempted deception from the dealership. More missed opportunities to fix previously damaged relations. I've given this company so many chances it's not even laughable at this point. I finally messaged ***** again a few days ago to figure out what was going on with the HondaCare refund. I figured two months was reasonable. I understand he has just left the company, with good reason I'm sure. I had to again re-sign paperwork I had already taken care of month's before and given a blah "We're sorry we keep messing up.." statement.

Desired Settlement: The originally stated refund amount from the HondaCare extended warranty. Complete accessory package for the amount in which was not provided to me during my trade-in including all covers, floor mats, and remote start features. An apology for all the hours of my time and effort wasted by your facility because of your own faults. Removal of the "No Hassle. No Haggle" logo. It's false advertising I've concluded from my own personal experience.

Business Response:

Dear **** ****:

We have received the complaint from *** ******* and have conducted an investigation into the incident.  This is the second car that he has purchased from us and he seems to experience differing forms of dissatisfaction.

After carefully reading his complaint, it seems to focus on the refund of his “HondaCare – Extended Vehicle Service Contract” and delays installing his accessories. We have reconstructed the sequence of events and it seems that there were two issues on the HondaCare refund.  First, the proper documents had not been signed for the initial refund, which we later emailed to the customer.  Second, when this initial refund request was completed, there was some confusion with the address provided by *** ******* and the refund could not be completed.  *** ******* did contact us the first week of March and let us know he had not received any refunds.  We immediately investigated and let him know about the address issue, but told him it would be processed as soon as possible.

We did receive confirmation from Honda that on 3/24/14 the refund has been mailed to *** ******* and he has been advised.

We also have reviewed the accessories department’s communication logs and it shows they did attempt to schedule an installation time with him, but he did not respond.  At best, this was simply communication difficulty on both ends and in no way ignoring *** *******.  We have apologized to him and have completed all issues associated with the installation.

Lastly, *** ******* has taken issue with our “No-Haggle” approach, but in his complaint, he is frustrated that we would not increase our offer on his trade and did not give him a refund for accessories he purchased on his trade-in over a year prior.  It seems that he may be annoyed that we made our best offer and did not respond to his request to negotiate or “Haggle”.

As always, we stand ready to help solve any issues our customers may have and endeavor to give them the best customer service possible.

Please let me know what other details you may need, or any questions I can answer.

Thanks - *****

 

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased new accord on 11/2/13. I agreed for Loan from ******* ***. I was told that I must buy GAP insurance to get this loan for which I agreed. When I can home I called my auto insurance about this coverage and was told it is not necessary and my policy have this for $ 10/year and I only need for first year. Gap coverage by dealers was costing me more than $ 100/year. Company has policy to cancel sales in 48 hrs and hence I called on 11/4/13 Morning that I would like to cancel the loan and Gap insurance because of cost. I gave them check for full purchase price on 11/4/13. I was told after this that my old contract for loan and insurance is null and void, Finance dept took old contract from me and gave me new . My check was cashed on 11/18/13 after 2 weeks delay for some unknown reasons. I called multiple times and was told I check might have been lost but latter found some how and some where. I was surprised and shocked to get notice from Capital auto finance on 12/6/13 that I owe them money for this car and first payment is due on 12/17/13. I called first Texas Honda and no good explanation was done why this happened. I called ******* ******* , sent him e mail and left voice mail but there was never a response. I was called by ******* ******** whose department n\made this mistake to begin with and assured this will be fixed in 2 days. 10 day letter problems remains to be fixed. When I got a copy of contract from Capital auto finance gap insurance charged were replaced with loan cancellation fee. I COULDN'T BELIEVE THIS. I think it a fraud to get unauthorized and uncalled fee to be minimum or charge price twice I was annoyed with lack of sincerity of general manger , say sorry and take steps to resolve . I was

Desired Settlement: Pay loan money to finance company which they should never have taken to begin with

Business Response:

Dear **** ****:

 

The customer originally chose to finance his car and purchase GAP Coverage, which was his choice and not a requirement.  Several days later he decided he did not want to finance and wanted to change the transaction to a cash purchase.  In our ongoing attempt to offer excellent customer service, we allowed the transaction to be reversed and changed to a cash purchase.  Per the terms of the original transaction, we were under no obligation to change the contract, but strive for customer satisfaction.

 

Inadvertently, the original finance contract was sent to the lender and was not discovered until the lender contacted the customer.  The customer contacted our dealership and we took immediate actions to cancel the loan.  The customer was continually kept abreast of the cancellation process and told when a winter storm in Dallas caused a multiple day delay in cancelling the loan.  At all times, the customer was advised that it was being cancelled and received multiple apologies for the situation.  In fact, after confirmation that the cancellation was done, we had a meeting with the customer here at our dealership and described new procedures that had been put in place to prevent future occurrences. 

 

To our knowledge, any fees associated with this situation were paid by the dealership and in no way was the customer negatively impacted or required to pay any fees.

 

Finally, in gratitude for the situation, we sent a gift as a token of appreciation and thanks for his patience.

 

Please let me know what other details you may need, or any questions I can answer.

 

Thanks -

*****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:half truths. I Cancelled Loan with in 48 hrs as per company policy, in fact 36 hrs.  ( Company website clearly say   48 hrs cancelation policy.)

I was made to buy Gap  Insurance as a condition of Loan, it was never a voluntary.

 

Regards,
**** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Continental Cars
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart