BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Charles Maund Automotive Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Charles Maund Automotive Group include:

  • 30 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Charles Maund Automotive Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Charles Maund Automotive Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1980 Business started: 05/01/1957 Business started locally: 05/01/1957 Business incorporated: 05/29/1957 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 558-9368

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dale McConnell, GM Mr. James (Jim) Dimeo, GM of Toyota Division Mr. David "Tiny" Kresta, Service Director Mr. Kenneth Prewitt, Service Manager Danny Smith, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. James (Jim) Dimeo, GM of Toyota Division
Principal: Mr. Dale McConnell, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Charles Maund Toyota Charles Maund VW
Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 6900 Burnet Rd

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 458-1111

  • 8400 Research Blvd

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 458-2222

  • PO Box 1608

    Austin, TX 78767

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 458-2222(Phone)
  • (512) 420-2408 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Toyotal Matrix from Charles Maund a few months ago for about $14,000. Then, I received a letter in the mail with a post-it attached. The post-it stated 'I just received this letter from my General Manager. Our records indicate we should talk'. The letter said 'Do me a favor and contact ******** ***** regarding their purchase of the their 2010 Toyota Matrix. This is one of the high demand vehicles we discussed in our meeting. Let's see if ******** would consider trading in the vehicle or even selling it to us outright... I'd be willing to pay as much as $10,030 + $2,000 for their trade...'

Desired Settlement: I would like them to end this business practice. Offering to buy the car back for less than I bought it for is unacceptable to me.

Business Response: The consumer was accidentally included on a mailing list that they should not have been on.  The letter was sent in error to this customer and we apologize for the inconvenience.

We will respond to the customer directly as well with an apology.

**** *****
Customer Relations Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My original credit application done on May 16th, 2014 had myself and my mother who lives in Louisiana as a co-applicant. The salesman and ******* ******* unknowingly put us as living together to show more income, and we were approved and took the vehicle home, driving it for two weeks thinking it was ours. When we were honest about our living arrangements from the beginning and again on a phone review two weeks later the bank denied the loan. We had to return the vehicle and before returning they ran my husbands credit to try and get us approved together. They called friday may 3oth and told him they could could finance us on a $25,000 vehicle, so he took off work to return the 2013 armada only to be told they really did not have us approved. He said ok and just asked that we have our 2010 chrysler 300 we traded in back and we would be on our way. He sat there for over two hours only to find out that the car has already gone to the auction. So now it is Monday June 2nd and we have no car, theirs or our own. We have a family of 8 and they put us in a toyota camry as a loaner until they "find our car." They promised to have it the next day, saturday the 31st and we have yet to hear from them. What is my next move??

Desired Settlement: At this point we are not sure what to expect or how to proceed. We have been lied to and inconvenienced and now have no way to get our family around together. I want to know what i need to do from this point as soon as possible

Business Response: Charles Maund Toyota has settled this complaint with the customer to everyone's satisfaction with a Toyota Sequoia.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm going through a pretty nasty problem, help me or tell me what to doMy car is a 2013 Toyota pickup with just 9 K milestake my car to the service because START VIBRATE When I stop (SHAKE ENGINE) , waiting for the green light to move forward, and feels up on the seat, that is, without service the A / C. ( I do not like to use much the A / C just required )activating the A / C is stabilized , but little ( 5 or 10 seconds ) becomes feeling . , And this is very annoying. Since, every time I have to stop this sensation have to feel that the vehicle , while being fairly new it does not feel like one.the ******* ******* told me that while no check engine lights , can do nothing . since the computer does not detect it . that's normal ! !these vehicles are well , and if there are many complaints about it. until then they would take it as a failure and would have to make a ( recall ) to correct those flaws .. and meanwhile I say! ! . I HAVE TO HOLD ME WITH A VEHICLE THAT IS NOT IN PERFECT CONDITION, I acquired ( 0) ZERO MILES AND HAS ONLY 9K MILES.I think they have to fix or better. THAT CHANGED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE WITH + - SAME MILES OR LESS .SORRY FOR WRITING , MY FIRST LANGUAGE IS SPANISH . AND THIS IS traduced for ******

Desired Settlement: fix o replacement. ASAP

Business Response: We have checked out ***** ******'s vehicle at great lenghts last Saturday in our Service facility.   Per Toyota recommendation there are no problomatic issues at this time; this truck is a 4 cylinder and so therefore the customer will feel the pull of the engine more so than the 6 cylinder he drove previous.

We have purchased a tail light for *** ****** to accomodate a crack in his rear tail light that he feel happened while in our possesion.

We are also willing to be of service to *** ****** with any other concerns he many have regarding his Toyota purchase.

***** ****** ******** ********* *******
Charles Maund Toyota

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: MY PROBLEM IS NOT WHEN I ACCELERATE THE TRUCK THAT WILL CAUSE A PULL IN THE ENGINE... THE PROBLEM IS WHEN I STOP, WHEN THE VEHICLE COME INTO A COMPLETE STOP. WHEN I COME TO A STOP SIGN AND I STOP THE TRUCK THE ENGINE VIBRATES.. IT DOES NOT PULL.... IT SHAKES TRUCK.. THE ENGINE SHAKES IT DOES NOT PULL.

I felt the need to repeat the vibration in the engine WHEN IT COMES TO A COMPLETE STOP because it seems that they do not undertand or don not want to undertand my problem. I know the difference of a 6 cylinder and 4 cylinde vehicle, I do have a vehicle with 4 cylinder and its from 1982 and it does not shake when I stop it in a red light or stop sign. THE ENGINE WILL ONLY PULL AT THE TIME OF ACCELERATION AND THAT IS NOT MY PROBLEM.. AGAIN THAT IS NOT THE PROBLEM...

**THE PROBLEM IS WHEN THE VEHICLE COMES TO A STOP THE ENGINE VIBRATES AND MAKES THE TRUCK SHAKE AND I COULD FEEL IT IN MY SEAT.. SO IF AM AT A RED LIGHT THE TRUCK IS SHAKING THE TRUCK AND MYSELF... I DONT REALLY APPRECIATE THAT FEELING**!!! 

I really dont know what the deal is with them not wanting to realize that there is problem with the engine when stoping a my 6 months old truck... it is brand new and there should be no vibration felt in the truck when coming to a stop!!! 

Regards,
***** ******

Business Response: Good Morning,

***** ****** has been back to the dealership this week and all has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

***** ****** ******** ********* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put $800 down for a down payment towards a vehicle. Charles Maund finance/preowned employees screwed up my paperwork not once but 4x and they had the nerve to act very rude towards me. After many attempts to make a payment, I decided to returned the car. I feel that since Charles Maund dropped the ball, I should be entitled to my down payment. Ive been making calls to Charles Maund to resolve this issue but my response has been a dial tone. I was talking with ***** and mid way thru the conversation, he hung up on me many times.

Desired Settlement: I would like my down payment back asap

Business Response: Customer has been refunded deposit....


***** ****** ******** ********* ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have three major complaints about Charles Maund Toyota's used car department from which I purchased a 2003 Toyota Camry from Charles Maund Toyota on 09/27/2013. The first being as follows; I financed the vehicle through Toyota Motors at time of purchase. On 10/24/2013(2days before my wedding) I received a letter from Toyota Motors stating that they were not able to finance the vehicle as they violated Toyota's terms of use. The letter went on to state that they would be able to service the loan under modified terms and if to contact the dealer about these terms and accept if they were amicable. I immediately contact the used car department to speak with a Finance Manager and was told he was in a meeting and unavailable. I left a message and never received a response back. I called the next day, Friday, 10/25 and spoke with the operator who then transferred me to the Finance Manager's voicemail. I called and spoke to the operator to ask if there was anyone else who could assist me and she transferred me to Used Sales who then transferred me to a generic voicemail. I called back an hour later and repeated the process. I attempted contact 3 more times that very day all to now avail. Finally at 3pm I spoke with the operator who stated the following, "why don't you come in to discuss, you'll probably have better luck getting in touch." I drove the 20 miles to the dealership and sat and waited while I watch the Finance Manager go in and out of his office 6 times and pass the receptionist who I had already spoke with but was playing on her phone. I approached the Finance Manager in the hall and informed him that when he had a minute I needed to discuss the letter with him. He was very pleasant and said, lets step into my office now. The Finance Manager informed me that the loan had been sold/assigned to ******* One, which the letter I received mentioned nothing about. This highlights my first complaint about this dealership. I only ever received the adverse loan letter from Toyota Motors and never received any letter from the Charles Maund that the loan had been reassigned. He provided me a ******* *** phone number and stated that I should receive a letter from them in regards to the loan prior to the first bill was due on 11/11/2013. I only ever received a bill from ******* One, which I ignored thinking that it was another credit card offer. I never received any notification from Charles Maund about Loan reassignment and was never offered a chance to review and decline or accept the modified loan underwritten by Toyota Motors. I have never heard anything but negative things in regards to Captial *** and most likely would have accepted Toyota's modified terms to avoid dealing with them, however, the lack of a written letter disclosing the loan was sold and assigned from Toyota Motors completely disregards FCRA reporting procedures, and in this day in age, with spam mail and ID fraud, it is impossible to figure out legitimate purposes without this type of letter. My second complaint is as follows, On the purchase date, 09/27/2013, my now wife and I were sold a ********* ********** ****** **** warranty at the additional cost of $2495. We were told this plan would cover the car bumper to bumper again and again during the selling of this plan despite the odometer reading being over 104,000miles. Both our sales representative, ***** *********, and our Finance Representative, Eric, confirmed this information orally again and again. As I was concerned that something wouldn't be covered by the cars high miles. On the document I signed, it lists Optional Surcharges; Seals & Gaskets and Consequential Loss Coverage indicating that this is the Deluxe, not the standard plan. on 11/01/2013 I received a letter from Preferred Protection Plan stating, "the Optional seals and gaskets benefits have been removed from your vehicle service contact due to the vehicle exceeding the mileage of eligibility at the time of contract purchase." As far as I can tell this is the only firm line of delineation between the deluxe plan which I was sold to cover the entire vehicle, bumper to bumper and the Standard warranty plan(which doesn't apply due to the car's high mileage). Because it was voiced to me again and again that it was a bumper to bumper warranty and would cover seals and gaskets is why I ended up paying $2495 extra than the cost of the vehicle and was the primary reason why I purchased this vehicle in the first place. The 3rd complaint I have against Charles Maund is accessibility. Part of the sale included having the front shocks replaced for free. I have been calling my sales representative, ***** ********* since 10/15 in attempt to get this service scheduled. I have not spoken to him since time of sale. I spent all day yesterday, 11/18/2013 contacting, leaving voicemails, with the Sales Manager, ****** to schedule the service. I spoke to him at 9am 11/18 and was told he would research and call me back within an hour and half. He never contacted me back. I then spent the rest of the day attempting to contact him and inform him that i found the "service due bill". He never once returned any of my calls. Finally I caught him at 6:00pm after 3 voicemails and talking to the used sales operator 3 times and 2 Sales Representatives. He then stated he was waiting to hear from his GSM and I stated, I had the "due bill". He then stated our ***** ********* is no longer with Charles Maund and to just call service and schedule the front shock repair. I've essentially wasted 2 weeks prior to getting married to getting this service done and 3 weeks post leaving voicemails for ***** who is no longer with them and getting the runaround from the Sales Manager at Charles Maund. I was never informed when my plates came in and had called 2 times on that finally being told that they had been in for a couple weeks. I called the Service Department and am scheduled this week to go in and get the shocks replaced per the conditions of sale. I have not been able to discuss any of my grievances in regards to any of the above with anybody accountable at this dealership. As far as I can tell, there is no customer service model in existence for them and the lack of information is astounding. I would never have financed through ******* One, and was never offered alternative terms as the Toyota Letter claimed and I was never informed that it had been reassigned. The warranty sold cannot be honored, despite the high price of sale. And I am unable to reach anybody to assist, or that cares, at the Dealership.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is as follows: A refund check in the amount of, $2495, or the full price that was paid for Deluxe Warranty Planned purchased. This refund is to cover any potential gasket and seal repairs that are not covered under the warranty as stated and sold to me. My primary justification is that Engine and Transmission Gaskets cost a fortune after parts, labor and service. I believe this amount will be adequate to cover any potential repairs in the next 24,000m/2years. The Deluxe Warranty plan was the PRIMARY selling point to us from our Sales Representative, ***** *********, and is the reason why my wife and I felt comfortable purchasing a high mileage vehicle. Without the deluxe warranty plan with optional gasket/seal coverage, we would have chosen a lower mileage vehicle as this warranty increased the cost of the vehicle purchased by 1/3. I would like to be compensated with 2 free oil changes, parts, service and labor, for the hours I lost calling and attempting to call various individuals, having to drive to the dealership in person twice in order to talk to someone and the frustration that in turn followed. I want a thorough explanation as to why FCRA laws were not followed in regards to notification and the loan being reassigned. I also want to know what the modified terms were that Toyota Motors offered and if Toyota offered the loan at a more competitive/better and beneficial rate to me, the consumer, based on my credit score of ***. Our monthly rate at 4.9%, with a $2000 down payment is $219 after the Deluxe Warranty Plan Purchase. Without the purchase of the plan it would be somewhere in the $165 region.

Business Response:

****,

 

**** ****** and I were able to have a conversation via phone on 12/18/13 regarding his concerns…  He went in to detail outlining the same concerns he had as pertaining to his statements sent to the BBB.

 

He also had a concern about the brakes on his vehicle and I asked him to bring in the vehicle on Friday the 20th of December for us to make sure that there were not any drivability issues with his brakes.  He did so, and we found air in the lines, took care of that but no issues.  

 

We were able to sit at that time and address in detail face to face *****s concerns.

First being his concern about a violation that Toyota did not take his contract as he had thought they would during the buying process.   Toyota did not accept his loan, and we processed with ******* *** Bank that we as a dealer had full authority to do.

We did express an apology to **** that as a courtesy we should have made a call to let him know that he would be receiving a packet from ******* *** Bank about his payments.

 

I also apologized to **** that no one informed me of his concerns and that he had had a difficult time getting in touch with someone to help him since his Sales Associate no longer was employed here and we had had a change in managers in our Pre-Owned Department.  **** should have been able to expect returned phone calls, but due to a few changes in staff he did not get the help that would have made his concerns easier two manage.

 

****** last concern was pertaining to his extended warranty that he purchased…   I offered to cancel the warranty if he wished; we left that matter that he would discuss everything with his wife last night and we would visit again at the first of the week.  (12/21/13)

 

****, this is the first time I have replied via email in this way on a case…..  normally it’s thru the BBB site, please let me know if you get this and if there is anything else you might need.   As you see, I will be visiting again with **** over the next week to see how he would like to proceed.

 

Kind regards,

 

 

***** ******

Charles Maund Toyota

Customer Relations Manager

 

************  **** ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Complaint: *******

Good Evening ****,

Sorry for the delay in response. I had a family emergency and had to travel to August, GA for a few days over the holidays and am scheduled to return to Austin tomorrow.  ***** ****** and I did meet and have an extensive conversation on 12/20/2013.  We did discuss revisiting at the end of last week, 12/26/27/12/27, however, due to the holiday and family emergency I have not had a chance to call her and discuss further options.  In the meeting that occurred on 12/20/2013, she was very apologetic in regards to the situation surrounding the egregious circumstances surrounding the sale of our purchased vehicle.  I spoke with the Finance Director who further apologized and explained that they Charles Maund is a registered creditor.  If the loan had not gone through Toyota Motors then the dealership in this status would have picked up the Lien and I would have paid them directly.  There was mention that a "courtesy" call would have been the polite and proper thing to do.  
The continued mention of  "courtesy"  call, continues to remain a major point of contention for me as to Charles Maund's internal business practices and how the sale of my particular vehicle occurred. My grievance to this notion is on two fronts. The first being that Toyota Motors does not finance vehicles over 100,000 miles.  The mileage on our purchased vehicle was known to our Sales Representative(who is no longer with the company), his Sales Manager, and our Finance Representative(who is no longer with the company).  The fact that it made it past  our sales Representative and Sales Manager(who supposedly talked back in forth with our Sales Rep the 4 times while we negotiated the sale) and then past our Finance Represenatitive is a really hard pill for me to swallow.  
To me that speaks volumes about the dealerships primary concern, and their concern is illuminated in full spectrum color in our purchase experience. "Make the sale at all costs!"  All costs, including side stepping, Toyota rules, regulations, ethical business practices? Even with all of the failed actions in our case, IF the correct process of notification would have been taken in regards to the loan not going through would have been followed correctly, which to say is legally, by federal law, I think I would find this type of behavior more acceptable.  A sale is a sale after all.  That being said, to say that it is a "courtesy' to provide a call that a loan has been assigned is grossly negligent and a violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act.  

My SSN was used to obtain the credit that financed the vehicle.  The fact that I received a letter that the loan was denied through a pre-adverse letter, as was one done by Toyota Motors, is a clear example of the FCRA law and the proper notification practice. The pre-adverse action taken is not a courtesy but a federal law. The fact that I was not informed by Charles Maund, in writing, or ******* *** in writing, that my loan had been assigned outside of Toyota Motors application, is illegal.  The mention of "Courtesy" is an inappropriate "down play" of the situation at hand.  
To paint a possible circumstance, If I had not searched out an answer from Charles Maund as to why my loan was denied by Toyota Motors, I would not have known who to pay for my loan. I would have ignored past-due letters from ******* *** as we get so much junk mail from them, I would not have been able to differentiate. This could have had potentially devastating results to my credit score.  

There is also zero line of sight into what occurs behind the scenes on the loan without the FCRA.  It's one thing for me to be told verbally in a conversation that a loan would have been picked up by Charles Maund, but without letters of assignment and standard operating procedures in place to legally handle the transfer,  it's impossible to truly tell.  Should I take at face value the word of a dealership who employ(ed) 3 separate individuals who pushed a loan application through knowing full well that Toyota Motors was not going to accept the application? 

There were some options presented to me on the 12/20 meeting and my wife and I are considering. That being said, we are still reticent to go with any of the options, as the primary reason we purchased a vehicle of this mileage was the added security of the warranty.  What I would really like to see, as my previous email stated, is a refund of the full warranty amount of $2495 and to still have the warranty in place. This, however, is not an option that is not considered "doable" by Charles Maund.  I do feel that this is the only fair recourse due to our overall purchasing experience. That experience being, the fact that the sales team(sales rep+sales manager=team) mislead and manipulated the facts surrounding the warranty(as was stated bumper to bumper) to make the sale of our vehicle. Then to add insult to injury, to find out the loan was never to go through Toyota Motors and we were never notified of the loan being picked up, which, I'm sorry, but in this day and age with ID theft and junk and spam mail is in NO way even remotely excuseable, and as I'm sure you can tell, I take my credit score and privacy extremely seriously. And, this from registered creditor? 
Despite being in love with the car, this has been the most abysmal sales/purchasing experience that my wife and I have ever encountered. I will follow up with ***** early on next week.  
I do hope that they figure out a way to refund the $2495 for the warranty and still manage to keep a valid warranty.  



Regards,

**** ****** 
************

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 23rd, 2013 I bought a (or so I thought I was buying) 2004 Toyota Corolla from ******* ***** Toyota. The sales person was named *****. This was the second experience trying to purchase a car via *****, an earlier attempt had failed. On this day there were several attempts made to get a car financed for me with the amount of down payment I had and the amount I could afford to pay each month. Finally a deal had been worked out and the paperwork was drawn with less than 15 minutes to closing (9:00pm). I had been there several hours. I was called into an office and spoke to a man named ***** who presented me with a stack of documents for me to sign. He began verbalizing the basic content of each document and told me where to initial and or where to sign. After signing a few I noticed that my name was spelled incorrectl. I told ***** my name was spelled wrong. (it was about 8:57pm at this time) He responded "that's okay you can come in sometime next week and we can fix that." He continued to say "don't come in on tomorrow Saturday's are usually our busiest day and we wouldn't want to have you waiting around." At the signing of the very last document he stated yeah we have to sign the contract to release the car and to get it off the market. During the following week I had several conversations over the phone with a ******* ***** employee named ******* *********, regarding the process and when would be the best time to come in based on my work schedule. ******* informed me that since I needed to resign the paperwork that changed the date of my first payment. Initially I was told by ***** the first payment was expected September 21st, 2013. ******* told me the new first payment date would be October 6th , 2013 The day I came in to re-do the paperwork I sat for over an hour waiting. During that time I was told they were not able to find my file and that as soon as they figured out who had it (my file) we would complete the transaction. Finally Mr. ****** ***** comes out and stated they didn't actually need my signature, they (******* *****) had power of attorney and signed it for me after the corrections had been made. I made sure to ask "so when is the first payment due?" He responded October 6th. Shortly after returning to my house I received a phone call from the financing company ******** Financial. The purpose of the call was to verify the informatio given to ******* ***** was correct. They told me the first payment was to be expected September 21st, I informed them of what had taken place and of the new date. The ******* agent told me he would call ****** ****** and would then call me back. Five minutes later ******* ********* of ******* ***** calls telling me when ******** calls back I am to tell them the date IS September 21st, and that they (******* *****) would "fix" that and get it all straightened out assuring me the actual first payment date would be October 6th. Also that if I did not agree to the 9/21 date with ******** verification that they might not approve the loan and they (******* *****) would have to take the car and give me my $500.00 back. When speaking to ******** verification for the second time i made them aware of all that had transpired with ******* *****. He said he wasn't aware of any of that and that the first payment due date that he knew of was 9/21. After speaking to ********* verification I called back to ******* ***** asking to speak to ******* however this time the call was answered by ****** ***** stating ******* was with customers and offered to help. He told me that the imformation he saw said initial payment date of October 6th. I explained all that had happened up to this point and asked if he was sure. He replied "trust me Ima take care of you, Ima do something really nice for you, you'll be happy with it." I asked for his name he told me his name was ****** ***** and I said "ok ****** we'll see." On September 22nd, ******** called stating they hadn't received payment and that is was now one day late. I recanted all that had transpired and was told the ppayment is late there had been no changes to the due date that they were aware of. I asked him to tell me how my name was spelled on the contract he confirmed the incorrect spelling thus supporting NO changes had been ,ade nor attempted via******* *****. I informed them that I had not budgeted for a 9/21 due date and that the soonest I could make a payment would actually be 10/6 for which I had budgeted. I called to ******* ***** requesting to speak to either ******* or ******. I was told ******* no longer worked there and that ****** was busy but that he would call me back. That never happened. I made several attempts to reach him to no avail. However I stil received multiple calls from ******** requesting payment. On October the 6th I called ******** to make a payment over the phone. I was told there was a $9.00 processing fee to make payment over the phone (which I didnt have). I asked for other options and was told each option required a processing fee. I told the agent that I would have to get a money order and mail it in because I didn't have an extra $9.00 at that time. I mailed the money order the same day and hadn't heard anything from anyone regarding it until 10/19. At that time ******** informed me they hadn't received payment. I informed them of the last transaction made on 10/6 and had assumed all was well since this was the first I had heard. I told them I would find the receipt and track the money order. I never found that receipt and where I purchased the money order from was unable to track the money order without the receipt nor were they willing to pull the tape from the register for the date and time the purchase was made. I phoned in to ******** asking them to note the account as such, and added I would continue to search for the receipt. On 10/17 ***** ******** from ******* ***** called stating ******** had called to them and made them aware the payment was now 27 day delinguent and wanter to repo the car. I went over everything discussed from DAY ONE. He told me that the infirmation he saw showed a first payment due date od 10/6 also and that he would call me back in a few minutes. he never called back to this day . At any rate 10/21 rolls around and I call to place payment over the phone including processing fee. I was told due to the delinquency in payment my account had been put up for review and ******* may decide to revolk the loan and not work with me . I was told that I had the option of paying if I wanted to or not, and that at this point it didn't make a difference to them. I made him aware that my intent was genuine and that I really wanted them to work with me and that I called in to make pay as soon as the money became available to me. I made the payment received the confirmation number. Ten minutes later ******* ***** (****** *******) calls asking if it is easier for them to come and pick up the car or if it would be easier to bring it in. I once again tell the whole story from DAY ONE. He says the information he sees says the first payment date is due 10/9? Then he says he thinks he understood what happened and to give him 30-45 minutes to work it out and that he would call me back. (there was lots discussed but that was the bulk of the conversation) He called back in like 2 minutes to say he was wrong in giving me that information and that the due date he saw was now 9/21. I asked him to read the spelling of my name he spelled it incorrectly. I told him that somewhere there at ******* ***** there is something that has a due date of 10/6I suggest you find it and get it right! He stated he'd call back in 30-45 minute as he stated earlier. Today 11/20 he called and left a voicemail stating ******** wanted to revolk the deal and they (******* *****) want the car back.

Desired Settlement: I would like for ******* ***** to be accountable for the initial mistake they made. I would like for ******* ***** to own up to the fiasco they created. Granted I lost the money order receipt and have no other means of proving my account however, feeling the effects of a lost 249.88. Removing that fact from the sequence of events. I would still be in good standing with ******** and would not be delinquent at all if A.) ******* ***** had stated the actual due date would be 9/21 and NOT lied to me to complete the sale (thus I would have budgeted accordingly) or B.) Had they owned up to their initial mistake and made the corrections with the finance company. At this point I am at a loss as to how to seek resolution all I know is I will be out of $1008.76 with no car. Now in a mush worse predicament for having gone to ******* ***** Toyota with my business.

Business Response: In correspondance with ****** ******** there were a couple of concerns that needed to be cleared up...  one being the name on her funding; and her first payment that did not arrive at her lender.
We were actually able to get Ms. ******** re-contracted with another lender that fit her needs better.   Her date for first payment was solidified and now Ms. ******** will be able to move forward with the trust that her funding is in tact.... and, she will not have to worry about first payment deliquicies that would have prevented her keeping her vehicle.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:The initial payment s made were nullified and I will have to start all over again with payments. I do understand that there is no recourse for the money order that I cannot account for however there is a matter of 249.88 (cash payment plus a $9.00 processing fee decucted from my debit card) that I am currently out of for no reason. so it appears that the finance company kept that $249.88 for a now defunct contract. I would like to either have that back or have it applied to my firs car payment as deemed by the new contract. I do apologize for the delay in this response, there was an issue with yahoo and I was not able to access my email.

Regards,

Deanna ********

Business Response: Ms. ******** will have to take her concern of the monies she sent to her Funding company up with them (********).   This first attempt at payment was not made to us, it was sent directly to them as a monie order.   The $9.00 in question was the choice of Ms. ******** to make a payment over the phone for her paymnet due.... she was aware that there was a fee when it was processed.

We have helped Ms. ******** percure another lender since she was default in her payments with ******** in her first transactions on lending.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 14th of this year, I brought my 2013 ****** Prius into the collision shop to have my back bumper replaced. I received a written quote at that time for $800, to which I agreed. I picked the car up the following week on August 20th, and was told that the cost was in fact $1200 for the repair. Several days later I noticed that the paint on the bumper was wrinkling and peeling at the edges, and the bumper was beginning to separate from the vehicle. I brought the vehicle back in where I was told that this was not an acceptable repair, and that the work would be redone at no cost to me and a rental car would be provided. On August 27th I picked up the vehicle from its second repair and found the work to be satisfactory. However, on September 24th I noticed identical behavior with the peeling paint and sagging bumper. I promptly called the collision shop and was told by *** *** ********, the ******* in the body shop, that I could come in and have the repair performed a third time. However, I was in the middle of relocating to Dallas, which I explained to *** ********. He said he would call me back the following day with a more preferential solution. I was unable to reach him for the next few days and instead got in touch with ***** in Customer Relations. I called ***** first on Saturday, the 28th, and she promised to discuss a solution with *** and get back to me the following work day. On Monday near close of business, I called ***** again to follow up on this issue, and she again promised to discuss the issue with *** and get back to me the following morning. Today, near close of business, I again called ***** whereby she proposed I drive back to Austin from Dallas, drop my car off for a week and return to Dallas in a loaner car. I should then return to Austin the following weekend to retrieve my car. In addition, this solution presents a large cost to me in both time and money. Having already come in for the same repair twice, I am not anxious to return yet a third time at an even greater cost to me since I’m now living 200 miles away. Additionally, since the repair was defective both times in identical ways (the peeling paint and the sagging bumper), I am concerned that the body shop may not be able to successfully perform the repair.

Desired Settlement: In lieu of just a refund for the twice defective repair, two possible solutions would be for the repair to be completed in Dallas, or for my car to be towed back to the dealership in Austin, repaired, and then returned to me in Dallas while a loaner car is provided.

Business Response: We are facilitating for ******* ******* to be able to take her vehicle to the ****** ** *********/********** ********** group to have the vehicle repairs taken care of.
*** ******* has accepted this as the best way to take of her needs in a timely manner.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary: Understanding that I am new to USA and Austin, Tx, Charles Maund Toyota misused my vulnerability and sold me a wrecked used car without disclosing the information that the car was wrecked in a head-on collision less than a month ago with various repair costs exceeding $4000. In spite of me discovering this information on the same day of purchase and requesting them to refund the money and cancel the transaction, the dealership responded very aggressively and coerced me to accept a lower trade-in price for taking back the same car. My total monetary loss in this whole transaction stands at $2470.51 over the course of just 2 business days. I have also suffered mental anguish, loss of transportation & loss of productivity at office as I had to spend 2 days during office hours to run around back and forth to dealership in this time period. I look forward to your support in resolving my genuine grievance and hope you will help me get justice. Details: My name is Mr. ******* ******** and I am an Indian citizen. I moved from Bangalore, India to Austin, Texas USA on a work Visa on 27 June 2013. When I came here, like many others I soon realized that I would be needing a car for transportation as I was planning to get my family along to join me by 6 September, 2013. My requirements in a car was very simple. I wanted a reliable sedan (So Toyota came first to mind) with a clean history and title by the time my wife and my one year old son joined me in September, 2013. Resale value was also one of the factors as I was planning to go back to India in the next few years after completion of my work responsibilities. From numerous friends and colleagues, I was recommended Charles Maund Toyota in Austin as they have a good collection of used cars. It was also close to where I work and live. From my basic research, I found that Charles Maund was Better Business Bureau (BBB) accredited and was also a ****** advantage dealer. This further enhanced my confidence in them. Based on all these factors, I decided to purchase an used car from Charles Maund Toyota, Austin, Texas. I went to the dealership on Saturday, 10 August, 2013 and booked a used **** ****** ******* ** with VIN number ***************** I was given a clean single owner ****** report with no accident history before finalizing on the car. (****** report copy is provided in the attachment) The history also showed that the previous owner seemed to get most of his regular service/oil change done in Charles Maund which further enhanced my confidence in the car. Even the salesman said that I was getting a very good deal on an excellent car and based on this I immediately booked the car. The total amount was $10,300 for the car plus $920.51 in state taxes and other miscellaneous dealer charges totaling $11,220.51. (Breakup is provided in the attachment) I signed all the documents required as part of the purchase formalities. Also I had no reason to doubt the dealership as they were large, had a good reputation and sold thousands of cars every year. I went on Monday 12 August, 2013 to Charles Maund Toyota with a cashiers cheque to make the payment and collect the car. I took the delivery of the car around 12 PM on 12 August, 2013 and drove back to my office. As I parked the car in my office parking lot, I opened the glove box and saw it contained a file with the car manuals. As I was glancing through them, I came across a receipt from ******* Collision which had the bill for the repair details as well as insurance claim for the car (Dated 2 August, 2013 and copy attached with the letter). I immediately realized that this was a wrecked car which was recently involved in a head-on collision. I immediately called up Mr **** * ***** **., who is the Business Manager in Charles Maund and asked him not to deposit my cheque as I had come across this piece of information and as a result, the car was not acceptable to me. Mr. Eric D Joner Sr. did not respond properly and completely ignored my request. Based on this, after my work at around 5 PM the same day, I went to Charles Maund dealership and showed them the repair receipt and asked them to cancel the transaction, refund my money and take back the car. At this point, the personnel in the dealership started getting aggressive and said it was not their problem now. After ten minutes, they said they were busy and started ignoring me. I was made to wait for more than an hour without any updates or communication. At around 7 PM, Mr. ***** ** ***** **. who is the Used Car Sales Manager came to me and said that they were willing to offer me $7000 for the car. This really disturbed me and it was finally decided that I will go back the next day to the dealership to discuss with Mr. ***** ** ******** who is the Used Car Director and who would be a better person to hear my case. In the whole time I was there (about 2 hours), I was maybe spoken to overall for 5 minutes. The next day, I went back to the dealership at around 12:30 PM to once again plead my case with the Mr. ***** ** ********. Once I reached there, my salesman spoke to Mr. ***** ** ******** a number of times and finally said that they were maximum willing to offer me $8750 to buyback the car. In all this time, Mr. ***** ** ******** did not come out of his office nor directly speak to me even once to address my concerns in spite of me having a genuine grievance. At this point, I was very disturbed as I did not want to lose $11,220.51 as it meant a lot of money for me nor wanted to retain the wrecked car as I was concerned about the safety of my family. In such a stressful situation, I decided to take the cheque and sell the car back as I felt it was better to at least get some of my money with which I could buy another car as I was sure that I did not want to keep the wrecked car. The next day, I did some research on the web and spoke to some well-wishers in USA. All of them were of the opinion that I was a victim of fraud committed by the dealership. This and the whole attitude of the dealership in handling the situation made me realize that I was misled, coerced and victimized into losing a substantial amount of money in an unfair and fraudulent transaction. I believe that the dealership knew about the repairs (The salesman confessed to me later on that even the radiator was replaced/repaired by the dealership. This is not part of the insurance settlement bill attached) and deliberately failed to disclose the information to me. Even if they did not know about it, it was their duty to accept the return and return the entire money back to me as this is basic customer service norms. Even after I reported this to them the same day I purchased the car and asked for a refund, they refused to acknowledge the situation and instead aggressively tried to bully me to retain the car or settle with a huge financial loss. I even wrote an email to the top management and customer relations team but they totally ignored my request There was no effort to apply basic business customer management principles which include making a good faith effort to resolve customer complaints and grievances. At the end of all this, I have suffered losses financially as well as emotionally. I believe that I have a strong case against the dealership and would like the help of “Better Business Bureau" in ensuring that justice is served to me. I hope that you will be willing to lodge my complaint and investigate my case with Charles Maund Toyota dealership. A copy of all supporting documents including the ****** report given to me, breakup paid by me to the dealer, amount refunded by the dealer for the buyback of the car and bill from caliber collision towards repair of the vehicle is attached with this letter. I look forward to your support in resolving my legitimate complaint. Yours Sincerely, ******* ********

Desired Settlement: I would like the Dealer to make good my losses and return back the $2470.51 which I lost in a single day in the whole transaction. Also I would hope that BBB would take suitable action so that no other consumers suffer such a fate.

Business Response: In conversation with ******* ******** we have come to the conclusion of refunding him $1550.00.   Mr ******** since being new to the country didn't understand that Charles Maund Toyota had only to go by the ****** as well for information pertaining to the vehicle.  We were not aware of any collision that the vehicle had been in since we did not do any work to this vehicle pertaining to a wreck.  Mr ******** understands this.... 
Mr ******** also made TXDOT aware of his situation; and they in turn closed their case pertaining to this vehicle and Mr ******** as of 8/4/13.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

The business had a discussion with me and offered various options. 
I agreed for the refund of the entire amount paid for the car except the state taxes and other statutory charges. 
The business informed that they have already made these payments to the state government and gave me the copy of the receipt detailing the same.

I informed them that I will be filing for a tax refund request with the state but will not hold the business accountable for the outcome.
In case the state asks for any other documents from the business (Eg. Letter or other receipts) to grant the refund, I request the business to co-operate with me in the future.


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My financial institution sent my information out letting area dealerships that I was shopping for a car which I agreed to. I was contacted by many different dealerships and only responded to the 3 that were quoting prices close to what I was wanting to pay. I purchased my car in May but every since the middle of May, Charles Maund Toyota's Internet Sales Manager has been sending me strange e-mails. A few days ago, he sent one asking why I am ignoring him and today sent one asking me to tie a note onto a pigeon's foot for him. I have contacted the dealership twice asking for the emails to stop. The first time was by e-mail which caused junk email from the manager. The second time I left messages with no call backs. This is inappropriate and creepy to receive these e-mails.

Desired Settlement: I do not want any e-mails from this company - I feel it is very unprofessional to contact potential customers in this way.

Business Response: Reached out to Ms. ******* to express an apology for the emails that she has been receiveing....  and to let her know that the appropriate measures have been taken to ensure she does not have an additional emails.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The actual odometer reading that was on the truck and on the odometer disclosure statement is not the odometer reading they sent to the warranty company. The actual odometer read 100771. They sent 99128 to the warranty company. When we went to have warranty work completed they told us the warranty had already expired.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot get the information changed with the warranty company they need to take care of my repairs that are covered under the warranty.

Business Response: Concerns about odometer reading not correct has been resolved with warranty company.   Customer is aware that this has been taken care of and they can have their vehicle needs done in the service departmnet.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The actual odometer reading that was on the truck and on the odometer disclosure statement is not the odometer reading they sent to the warranty company. The actual odometer read 100771. They sent 99128 to the warranty company. When we went to have warranty work completed they told us the warranty had already expired.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot get the information changed with the warranty company they need to take care of my repairs that are covered under the warranty.

Business Response: The mileage mistake has been taken care of thru the warranty company.....  customer is well with outcome.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ****** ****** - sudden blow out of rack and pinion seals - while starting the vehicle. Took it to the nearest ******, as I have platinum extended warranty, they refused to honor the warranty due to a lift kit on the truck, HOwever were unable to provde a technical explanation as to why they thought the lift was the cause. I informed them that this is a known issue, and is happening on lifted and non lifted vehicles, as apparent in ****** tech tip ************. Ie: investigating the rack leakage issue on the 09 - 12 trucks. It happens on BOTH lifted and stock vehicles (per the release)…

Desired Settlement: I would like to take my vehicle to another ****** dealership - who admits the issue, but cannot act on it due to the refusal by charles maund.

Business Response:

Contacted **** ******** on 7/*/13 regarding his concerns.  Mr ******** stated that we were not willing to honor his warranty on the vehicle because of the lift kit.  Mr ******** was told that we have to contact ********** with any claim over 1K per his warranty.  *** made a call that the lift kit he had installed on his vehicle was the reason the vehicle needed repairs.  The lift kit that was installed was considered by *** as accessive at 6in., instead of a 2-4in lift kit.  *** also stated that variable could change the sterring angels and this cause the issues.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 1st, 2013, I drove to Charles Maund Toyota to receive a drain and fill of my transmission fluid on my 2007 4runner v6 2wd. I met with ***** **** a service rep. and he directed me to his Master Tech *****. I requested the drain and fill and asked to observe the service being performed. When observing the service, I noticed that the transmission fluid being filled was not Genuine Toyota fluid but rather a generic third-party fluid called MOC Synthetic. Now I know that my vehicle was supposed to only be filled with the required Toyota Genuine Automatic Transmission Fluid World Standard and I voiced my concern with the service rep. ***** ****. ***** **** then told me that the MOC fluid and Toyota fluid were one and the same. When I disagreed, we met the service manager and he confirmed that they were in fact DIFFERENT fluid. ***** then directed his mechanic to re-perform the drain and fill service and I again watched. This time, *****, grabbed 5 quarts of Toyota Genuine ATF WS fluid and proceeded to drain and then pump all the fluid into the transmission. I paid for the $127.04 service with my Bank of America Visa credit card. When I drove home, I proceed to research the proper method for the transmission drain and fill. According to Toyota, the 4runner’s transmission needs to be at a proper temperature before fill to ensure the correct amount of fluid is in the vehicle. The temperature needs to be gauged with a Toyota Scan Tool which shows the proper temperature; the technician never performed this. Next, the fluid needs to be let out via the “overflow plug” to ensure that there is not excessive amount of fluid in the transmission, which could cause damage to the transmission; the technician never performed this. The correct amount of fluid should be around 3 quarts and the technician put in about 5 quarts causing an extremely excessive overfill of the transmission. I am extremely concerned, not only for the potential damage to my own transmission, but the scamming techniques used on other customers. Charles Maund Toyota insinuates that the proper Toyota fluid is going in serviced vehicles, and yet, different thirdy party fluid is in actual use.

Desired Settlement: Now, I am requesting that Charles Maund Toyota first refund the service fee of $127.04 to my card. Next, I request Charles Maund Toyota, to perform a complete flush of the transmission fluid to get the incorrect fluid out of the system, and refill with proper Toyota fluid. This procedure should be done with a different licensed Master Technician. Also, I need a guaranty from Toyota that if my transmission fails due to this incorrect service, they will replace my transmission with a new one. I will also be contacting Toyota Motor Corp. regarding this issue. Please contact me at ************ or *****************. Thank you.

Business Response: Spoke with **** **** yesterday 7/2/13 about his concerns regarding his service visit here.   We will be taking care of the vehicle needs per *** ****'s request on Friday 7/5/13.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me with the condition that if there are transmission problems in the future, do to the initial erroneous service made by Charles Maund Toyota, then Charles Maund Toyota will take full responsibility for the repair and/or replacement of the transmission and any other failed part(s). 

Regards,

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello. In February my 2010 Volkswagen Jetta TDI, originally purchased new from Charles Maund Volkswagen and is still under warranty, stalled and was towed to Charles Maund VW for service. When I received my vehicle back from the dealership there was new body damage. Due to the location and nature of the damage, I initially reported my concern to Volkswagen Roadside Assistance (within 24 hours of picking up my car) thinking it was related to the tow. Volkswagen assigned ****** **** ******************** ************* to my claim. ****** stated he spoke to both the owner and driver from the towing company, both of whom denied causing the damage, although the tow driver stated there was no damage on my car at the time of the tow. ****** also claims to have spoken with the Charles Maund Service Manager, ******* *******. After several weeks of researching the issue, ****** denied my claim saying that the damage appeared to be due to being jacked up inappropriately. He stated he was confident the tow company did not cause this damage and suggested the damage may have been caused by Charles Maund. At that point I followed up with the dealer, emailing both the Service Manager and the General Manager. After over a week without a response to my email, I resent my complaint. ******* finally responded saying that the damage on my car did *not appear to be the result of a jacking incident but rather a due to speed bump or curb, and did not take responsibility for the damage. I reported the damage within 24 hours of receiving my vehicle from the dealer, and provided a picture and repair estimate (from Charles Maund).

Desired Settlement: I want and expect Charles Maund to cover the repair cost for the damage that occurred during my recent warranty claim.

Business Response: I just received an e-mail from our General Manager, **** ********* advising that an open case was filed by a customer with the BBB.

The Case ID ******* customers name of ****** ******** ****.

The nature of the dispute is the damage of the right rear rocker panel area of the car, an e-mail was sent to Mr. **** on the 6th of May 2013 by Our Service Manager ******* *******, the text of the e-mail is as follows.

After review of the lower damage to the rocker panel from the picture provided, and talking with VWoA, VW Roadside, and our body shop. This is not a jacking issue, this is from impact, possible curb, road bump, speed bump, this is a Insurance issue not a Dealer issue if further Assistance is needed please feel free to contact us, Thank you for your time on this matter 

******* *******
Service Manager

Also we have an E-mail from Volkswagen of America on the 26th of April 2013, stating that the customer was ineligible under the BBB Program Summary.

This would have no bearing on whether he can start repairs.

After reviewing the file and the photos sent to us and talking with our Body Shop, in my professional opinion and experience with being a Service Director   And running our Body Shop , I agree that this is an impact issue which should be handled by his insurance company.

Yours in Service
***** * ****** ******
******** ** ***** **********
Charles Maund Companies 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The Volkswagen representative that was assigned my claim, after his extensive investigation, stated the following information (which I have on recorded statement via voicemail):
A) The tow company stated there was no damage on the car when they picked up my car before delivering it to Charles Maund.
B) The damage on the car, based on his professional and personal experience, was "due to being jacked up". In fact the Volkswagen rep said he has another claim for a Jetta in which the exact same damage occurred due to improperly being jacked. 


Regards,

****** ****

Business Response: I regret that Mr. **** has rejected our response, but like I stated in my first comment in my professional opinion this was not caused by our lifts raising the car, and was caused by curb damage or speed bump damage.

If a lift arm was not properly set under the car in all four lifting points the damage would be of a different type it would rip and tear the rocker panel, due to the lift arm pads have up-turned corners to prevent from slipping off the lifting points.

I unfortunately have had some of our lifts kick out or were improperly set and the damage done to the  vehicle is very different and more severe.

This is why I stated that in my professional opinion and professional experience of over 45 years in this field we did not cause the damage to his vehicle.

***** * ****** ******
******** ** ***** **********
Charles Maund Companies

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Nobody from Charles Maund has even asked to look at the vehicle to inspect the damage. The dent is not consistent with damage from a speed bump and Charles Maund would know that if they looked at the pictures I provided or asked to inspect the vehicle. The damage came from pressure being raised from below. The Volkswagen claims adjuster was adamant the damage was related to being improperly jacked. Charles Maund is now saying they are confident it is *not* related to a jack. All I know is my car was dent free before it was sent to Charles Maund, and it had damage when it came out. It's extremely frustrating to be dealing with three parties (Volkswagen claims, Bullet Towing, and Charles Maund) all of whom seem intent on denying responsibility. Bullet stated the damage wasn't on the car when they got it, and that they didn't cause the damage. VW states the damage appears related to a bad jack, but Charles Maund states they didn't cause the damage. Charles Maund has not demonstrated a desire to fairly resolve this issue. At this point I must ask the Better Business Bureau what options I have to further escalate this issue. 

Regards,
****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had issue with Rear Bumper being lose on a new Toyota Prius. Toyota said that it has happened due to Owner or something hitting it. I dont see any scratch and dent, and I beleive this is manufacturer Toyota having not done the job properly.

Desired Settlement: Please fix the loose pins of the rear bumper.

Business Response: In response to Mr. ******** ***** request for help, we have contacted the customer today 5/9/13.   Mr. **** came into the dealership at noon and a bumper bracket was replaced to eleminate the loose fit on the right side.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1