Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cavender Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Cavender Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cavender Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1997 Business started: 11/25/1996 in TX Business started locally: 11/25/1996 Business incorporated 12/23/1999 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stuart Cavender, Owner Mrs. Lana Flores, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stuart Cavender, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Cavender Boerne Acquisition of Texas, Ltd.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 30700 Interstate 10 W

    Boerne, TX 78006

  • PO Box 1102

    Boerne, TX 78006 (210) 477-8300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chev truck transmission burned up next day after transmission was serviced by Cavender; stranded in heat of day until help arrived (added stress to health issues-wife) We then had truck hauled in to Cavenders. Service Tech at Cavenders said they would SELL us a brand new transmission..all OUR COST but Cavenders would not discuss nor accept any responsibility for "transmission service error". We then had to have a wrecker haul the truck to a Transmission Specialist in San Antonio who found definitive proof that it was indeed Cavender's transmission service error; involving lack of lubricants & filter which caused overheating; caused transmission along with sensors to burn up. Specialist called Cavenders to discuss the findings and attempt resolution however Cavenders rep would not even listen...only reply that they wouldn't accept any responsibility. Parts and documentation saved in order to substantiate undeniable proof of our claim against Cavender Chevrolet

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of both towing charges, reimbursement of transmission service done by Cavender that caused the problem, reimbursement of resulting transmission work/parts to get the truck working again and mileage to San Antonio transmission shop.

Business Response: Please see attached letter.

Business Response:

***** ****, Service Advisor received a phone call from Mr. ***** mid week and asked ***** if we had any good transmission technicians. Mr. ***** said he went to another place to find out why his SES light was on and they said he had two stored codes in the computer. Mr. ***** told ***** one was a mass air flow sensor and one was a transmission code. Mr. ***** told ***** he would send it in for a transmission service. Mrs. ***** brought the vehicle in for the transmission service and ***** asked her what she wanted to have done. She told ***** to call Mr. *****. ***** called Mr. ***** and asked what he wanted to have done and Mr. ***** said only perform the transmission service. Our technician noted on the multipoint inspection that the check engine light was on. When Mrs. ***** picked up the vehicle after the transmission was serviced, she mentioned that the check engine light was still on. ***** told her that Mr. ***** said he only wanted to have the transmission serviced. Mr. ***** towed the vehicle in over the weekend. Mr. ***** said the people who scanned the codes said that a transmission service would fix the transmission code concern. Mr. ***** told ***** he was towing a horse trailer over the weekend when the transmission quit working. The technician went to the parking lot to look at the vehicle and inspected the underside of vehicle. There was transmission fluid all around the back half of the transmission. The technician pushed the vehicle into the shop and lifted the vehicle for further inspection. He checked the transmission pan gasket and found no leaks. He checked the transmission fluid level and found it to be about a quart low and very dark in color, burnt and smelled badly.  The technician showed this vehicle to the shop foreman and the shop foreman noticed the fluid was coming from the transmission vent/overflow tube at the top of the transmission and that the electrical connector that goes into the transmission housing and the plastic fittings around the transmission cooler lines were badly melted. The shop foreman instructed the technician to pull the transmission pan for further inspection. After removing the transmission pan the shop foreman and the technician found the transmission filter was badly melted and had cracked from the heat. They also found the transmission solenoid housing was melted. They drained the fluid through a screen and found melted plastic pieces and debris from the filter. The shop foreman tried to remove the transmission filter and the neck of the filter broke off. We then advised ***** that this vehicle would need a transmission and ***** advised Mr. *****. Mr. ***** declined the repair. The shop foreman instructed the technician to lay the filter in the pan in the area of the pickup tube and put the pan back on. This vehicle had a transmission issue before Mr. ***** brought it in for service. Cavender Chevrolet is not responsible for the failure of the transmission.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:



  Ms ***** here.

I just returned from out of town and here is my reply to Cavendar response:  I said upon entry to the dealership that the check engine light was on and to "check it out".  Mr. **** asked what was wrong and I laughed and said "That's why i brought it to you....***** test drove it and didn't notice anything and nothing seems to be different...but the check engine light is on. I told Mr. **** that I understood there was some codes that could be checked and that also the auto parts place checked the codes the day before and ***** suggested I take it on over to Cavendar Chev.  to check out the transmission since one of the codes had something or other to do with the transmission.   Mr. **** asked me if I wanted the transmission serviced, then,  and I said whatever to fix it...call my husband and discuss it with him if you like and decide what needs to be done.   I came back that afternoon to pick up a car seat for the grandchildren from the truck and another service rep said to just take the truck...it was fixed... and that Mr. **** was gone for the day. This was Friday afternoon about 2:30 pm.    As I drove down the highway away from Cavendar to pick up grandaughter from school in Boerne I noticed the light was on and called *****.  He said "call Cavendar and tell them...they may just need to re-set it or something...check with them."    I called the phone number on a business card I'd picked up and reached Mr. **** and told him the engine light was still on... did they need to re-set it or something..was it alright to drive or turn around and  bring it back.  He said "Oh, weren't we just servicing the transmission?"  I said "well, if that's what'll turn that light off".  He then said to just bring it back sometime next week and they'd take care of it.   Had he said "No, I wouldn't drive it until we check it out" then I would not have driven it at all.  As it was, I was left with the impression that it was simply a "re-set" the code so the light would go out.... that having checked the transmission and doing whatever "servicing" meant that they'd checked it out and everything was fine.  I don't know anything about the mechanics of a truck but THEY DO!   The next morning(Saturday) I took the truck to Cascade Caverns (we live in ****** ***** so that's around 5 miles?) and picked up my 800lb little gelding in my small 2 horse slant and headed for the Ranch but only made it to Kerrville when it seemed to be loosing power going up a steep hill. (approximately 95 miles driven).   I had never experienced anything like this...it's a smooth riding 3/4 ton Chevy and I love driving it.    I was in left lane and no place to pull over....very scary...traffic in front back and right side of me....and I worked my way over to the right shoulder at the top of the hill.  I was looking at the guages and all three were where they regularly are (not showing hot) and I did not know what was happening... but then I saw & smelled smoke when I stopped there...jumped out and then a dps officer came to my aid.  I called AAA for assistance....tow.   I drive the truck maybe once a week, and about once a month I take the horse out to the ranch for a weekend.   I drive carefully and safely and do not overextend my truck....and no problems were happening with the truck ....nothing different at all except that light came on and I figured I should have it checked out because I wanted to go out to the ranch with this little horse for the weekend.  This was on Friday got it back from Cavendar and on Saturday I drove it with trailer and transmission burned up....(Approximately 95 miles)…apparently not getting any fluids to the gears as per the transmission specialist.

 

Cavendar’s response does not mention the “servicing” ticket….which says CAVENDAR replaced the transmission filter so says the servicing bill (and crushed it)….THEY (Cavendar) removed the transmission pan (so says the servicing ticket/bill) and it sounds like in Cavendar’s response that they are claiming now that it had previous damage would surely have seen it then, too, when they’d removed the pan wouldn’t you think?  And THEY did a “test drive” ……………… but Cavendar’s response DOES state that after the transmission blew up that they realized the transmission filter was crushed.  That’s the filter THEY put on it.   That’s the filter that would not let any fluids get to the gears causing it to overheat and much damage because of it.   The test drive would have shown the engine light on and they certainly should have been alerted (as was I) that they were letting a vehicle leave “still with a problem”.   We brought the truck in to the dealership with engine light on and for them to check for problems as we could not detect any problem driving it…..as we are not mechanics. What they then did during their transmission servicing is what caused the transmission to overheat. Crushed filter.

***** told me that the tow truck took the truck to the dealership and Cavendar said they would "sell" him a new transmission which would cost us about $4000, then....but would not take any responsibility for their servicing of the transmission….and no further explanation.   Their statement in their response that “Mr. ***** refused any repairs” was a bit ambiguous and deceptive.  Since there is no logical reason provided that a transmission should burn up after being serviced and only traveling 95 miles………. I gathered ***** did not trust Cavendar at that point and opted to get an independent transmission specialist to analyze the situation and correct the problem since Cavendar refused responsibility.   Cavendar again refused to assist or accept with remedies…. I was there at the transmission specialists to pick the truck back up and he said he had called Cavendar and explained what he was looking at and the problem that caused it to burn up was the servicing of the transmission.  He was told by Cavendar that they basically didn't want to discuss it.  The transmission specialist said hands down that the "servicing" would have been the only way that the things that were wrong could have happened.... the filter was crushed and therefore the fluids could not get to the gears and the gears burned up along with the sensors.   His statement is in writing. 




Regards,

***** & ***** *****

Business Response: Please see response.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cavender Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)