BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capitol Chevrolet Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capitol Chevrolet Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capitol Chevrolet Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 02/01/1934 Business started locally: 02/01/1934 Business incorporated: 12/31/1946 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV)
4000 Jackson Ave., Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: 888-368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nancy Nash Harper, Owner Mr. Eric Posey Mr. Robert Ruiz
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Nash Harper, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
BBB tips for buying a new or used car Car repair tips Navigating auto sales

Additional Locations

  • 6200 S Ih 35

    Austin, TX 78745 (512) 444-8888

  • PO Box 1988

    Austin, TX 78767

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 13, 2013 my daughter **** ******** went to Capitol Chevrolet to apply for vehicle financing and purchase a car. She was declined for financing and it was suggested by ******* ******* her *********** to have her father come in and apply under his name. I, ******* ******** was approved for a new car loat of $27, 249.80 thru *** **** ****** ***** for a **** ***** ********. My daughters **** *** ******* was used as a trade in. The *********** ******* ******* knew that my daughter would be the primary driver but told me not to disclose that information to *** **** **. I agreed to this arrangement due to our daughter and her three children's safety was at risk from her ex-husband recognizing her previous vehicle and was stalking and physically assaulting her. My daughter was 30 days last on her car payment on February 2013, but was in contact with *** **** **. *** **** ** verbally told her by phone that they would accept her past due payment. A few days after she made her payment, *** **** ** had her car repossessed on March 4, 2013. I contacted *** **** ** and was told by a *** **** representative named *** ******* that the repo was due to the car sale being a straw purchase. This complaint is being filed for deceptive trade practices.

Desired Settlement: I have already started paying off a reduced amount of $10,463.77 to *** **** ** and now have a remaining balance of $8,713.77. I would like for Capitol Chevrolet to pay the remaining balance and refund the $1,750.00 I have already paid and a $1,000.00 to my daughter **** ******** that was used as a trade in.

Business Response: Capitol Chevrolet first received
notification of this situation from our customer, *** ******* ********, 11
months ago in a certified letter post marked April 22, 2013. 
By letter dated May 2, 2013, our attorney requested that *** ******** provide
us with all written communications from his lender (*******) that he received
prior to the repossession.  *** ******** responded by letter dated May 15,
2013 that ******* never notified him of a pending repossession.  It would
be surprising that no written communication was received from the lender prior
to a repossession.  Because *** ******** could not provide documentation
to support his accusation, we respectfully denied his claim by letter dated
June 10, 2013.

 

In spite of the fact that ***
******** was unable to provide us with any documentation to support his claim,
we also conducted our own investigation in an attempt to determine whether
there was any merit to *** ********’s claim.  We communicated with
*******, and we were verbally advised that the vehicle was repossessed because
of the customer’s failure to make payments.

 

Since June 10, 2013, we have
received no further communication from *** ********.  We concluded that
this matter was closed as we were unable to substantiate his claim, nor could
he provide any supporting documentation of his claim.

 

Capitol Chevrolet has been in
business for nearly 80 years and we do not have a history or reputation of
unethical business practices.  Any evidence that we had done anything
wrong would have been seriously considered.

 

Capitol Chevrolet respectfully
requests that *** ********’s claim be closed and that your file reflect that
the claim could not be substantiated.

 

Thank you for your kind
consideration of this matter, and please do not hesitate to contact us if we
can provide you with anything further.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

To: **** **** at the Better Buisness Bureau:

 

    This is in regard to Capitol Chevrolet's response to my complaint with the BBB. Capitol Chevrolet states this allegation is false due to the fact I did not provide documention to support the accusation that I did not receive any correspondance from *** **** regarding a pending repossesion. How can I provide documention if there was not any? And to their statement that they have a 80 year reputation for good ethics, if you research the online reviews for this company you will find that this does not appear to be true. I am a disabled veteran and a 25 year member of my south Austin commuinity and do not appreciate Capitol Chevrolets insuation that I am not being forthright due to their "reputation".  I do not consider this issue resolved. Thank you, ******* ******** 



Regards,
******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1